Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 and 15-18 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hansen et al. (PG Pub. 2009/0181590).
Regarding claim 1, Hansen et al. teaches a three-dimensional woven structure a plurality of yarns in a particular direction (i.e. shute direction) and a plurality of second yarns (warp elastomeric yarns) in another direction interwoven with the plurality of first yarns wherein at least some of the second yarns include braided yarns wherein the 3D woven structure is a preform (fabric stacked and shaped) [0061]. However, the recitation in the claims that the preform is “for use in aeronautical or aerospace load bearing structure is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Hansen et al. discloses 3D woven structure as presently claimed, it is clear that the 3D woven structure of Hansen et al. would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. use in aeronautical or aerospace load bearing structure, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention. It is noted that Hansen et al. teach the 3D woven structure is load bearing and has use in automotive items and it also would have been obvious to use them in aerospace structures as well.
Regarding claims 14, Hansen et al. are silent regarding the claimed shape of the preform. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any shape, including the presently claimed shaped to suit the intended end use and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 39, Hansen et al. teaches the braided yarns comprise metal fiber [0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen et al. (PG Pub. 2009/0181590) in view of Dapsalmon (PG Pub. 2015/0118425).
Regarding claim 40, Hansen et al. are silent regarding the claimed specific yarns. However, Dapsalmon teaches fabrics for protection including carbon fiber for reinforcement in combination with spandex or lycra. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the carbon fiber of Dapsalmon et al. in Hansen et al. in order to improve reinforcement and strength properties and arrive at the claimed invention.
Art Not Used but Relevant
PG Pub. 2012/0148788 teaches a multidirectional reinforced tape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues because Hansen teaches use of elastomeric yarns, such yarns are not load bearing and that Hansen does not teach load bearing structures. Applicant argues Hansen teaches elasticity and deformability and therefore would be unsuitable for aeronautical and aerospace uses. Hansen teaches the use of his fabric includes, but is not limited to ballistic cloth such as body armor, composites and automobile parts. Hansen teaches inclusion of metal fiber which clearly provides strength and stiffness and is load bearing. Further, as evidenced by CN 105019085, spandex fiber is in fact known and used in aerospace applications. Therefore, Hansen does in fact teach the present limitation of claim 1.
Applicant is invited to amend the claims over the cited art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789