DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He; Hong et al. US 20140293842 A1, in view of Yin; Zhanping et al. US PGPUB 20140269539 A1.
Regarding claim 2. He teaches A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives (Fig. 1, UE Receiver 144) a configuration indicating a plurality of timings for uplink, ([0026] the TDD UL/DL configuration indicated in a system information block (SIB) message. In some embodiments the SIB message indicating of DL subframe or a set of DL subframes conveying the DCI may be the system information block type 1 (SIB1) as described in the 3GPP LTE standards. The SIB1 may be broadcast by the eNB 104, and correspondingly received by the UE 108, on the PDSCH. )
receives a first downlink control information including a first timing information indicating a transmission timing of a HARQ-ACK feedback within a radio frame relative to a reception timing of a physical downlink shared channel within a radio frame, ([0031] the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n, while the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n+1 may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n+1.) and
receives a second downlink control information including a second timing information indicating a transmission timing of the HARQ-ACK feedback within a radio frame relative to a reception timing of the physical downlink shared channel within a radio frame; ([0031] the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n, while the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n+1 may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n+1.) and
performs transmission of the HARQ-ACK feedback at the selected timing, ([0026] In some embodiments, the transmission of data, either from the eNB 104 or the UE 108, and/or the transmission of a HARQ-ACK signal may be performed according to the timing prescribed by one or more of the TDD UL/DL configurations depicted above in Table 1.)
wherein the second timing information is different from the first timing information. ([0044] Otherwise, in a third case, the HARQ-ACK timing for DL type 2 subframes in radio frame n may follow a TDD UL/DL configuration that is different from the TDD UL/DL configuration of radio frames n or n+1 if the DL subframes of the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n is neither a subset nor a superset of the DL subframes of the TDD UL/DL configuration of radio frame n+1.)
He does not teach
a processor that determines whether the first timing information indicates a subframe within a specific range corresponding to one or more subframes assigned to uplink, and determines whether the second timing information indicates a subframe within the specific range,
wherein, when it is determined that the first timing information does not indicates a subframe within the specific range and that the second timing information indicates a subframe within the specific range, the processor does not select, from among the plurality of timings, a timing based on the first timing information, selects, from among the plurality of timings, the timing based on the second timing information,
However, Yin teaches
a processor that determines whether the first timing information indicates a subframe within a specific range corresponding to one or more subframes assigned to uplink, ([0043] For example, the PDSCH HARQ-ACK configuration may follow a first reference UL/DL configuration with a number (e.g., minimum number) of UL subframes in the allowed UL/DL reconfiguration range. The first reference UL/DL configuration may or may not be the same as a default UL/DL configuration.) and determines whether the second timing information indicates a subframe within the specific range, ([0044] The PUSCH scheduling and PUSCH HARQ-ACK timing of a dynamic UL/DL reconfiguration cell may follow a second reference UL/DL configuration with a number (e.g., maximum number) of UL subframes in the allowed UL/DL reconfiguration range.)
wherein, when it is determined that the first timing information does not indicates a subframe within the specific range and that the second timing information indicates a subframe within the specific range, the processor does not select, from among the plurality of timings, a timing based on the first timing information, ([0076] If the UL/DL configurations have different periodicity, the first reference UL/DL configuration is a configuration defined by the fixed UL allocations among all configured configurations, and the second reference UL/DL configuration is defined by the fixed DL or special subframe allocations among all configured UL/DL configurations.)
selects, from among the plurality of timings, the timing based on the second timing information, ([0076] The first reference UL/DL configuration (e.g., the DL-reference UL/DL configuration) and the second reference UL/DL configuration (e.g., the UL-reference UL/DL configuration) may be selected from the seven existing TDD UL/DL configurations.)
in order to increase system efficiency by reducing reconfigurations by supporting dynamic UL/DL reconfiguration ([0046])
He and Yin are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in He with the technique of dynamic UL/DL reconfiguration in order to increase system efficiency.
Regarding claim 3. He and Yin teaches A radio communication method for a terminal comprising the identical steps performed by the UE in claim 2. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4. He teaches A base station comprising: a transmitter (Fig. 1, eNB 104, Transmitter circuitry 124) that
transmits a configuration indicating a plurality of timings for uplink; ([0026] the TDD UL/DL configuration indicated in a system information block (SIB) message. In some embodiments the SIB message indicating of DL subframe or a set of DL subframes conveying the DCI may be the system information block type 1 (SIB1) as described in the 3GPP LTE standards. The SIB1 may be broadcast by the eNB 104, and correspondingly received by the UE 108, on the PDSCH. ) and
a processor (Fig. 1 Processor 128) that determines a first timing information indicating a transmission timing of a HARQ-ACK feedback within a radio frame relative to a reception timing of a physical downlink shared channel within a radio frame, ([0031] the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n, while the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n+1 may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n+1.) determines that a second timing information indicating a transmission timing of the HARQ-ACK feedback within a radio frame relative to a reception timing of a physical downlink shared channel withina radio frame, ([0031] the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n, while the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n+1 may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n+1.) controls transmitting a first downlink control information including the first timing information, and controls transmitting a second downlink control information including the second timing information,([0031] the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n, while the DCI message that indicates the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n+1 may be transmitted in a subframe of radio frame n+1.)
wherein the second timing information is different from the first timing information. . ([0044] Otherwise, in a third case, the HARQ-ACK timing for DL type 2 subframes in radio frame n may follow a TDD UL/DL configuration that is different from the TDD UL/DL configuration of radio frames n or n+1 if the DL subframes of the TDD UL/DL configuration for radio frame n is neither a subset nor a superset of the DL subframes of the TDD UL/DL configuration of radio frame n+1.)
He does not teach
a processor that determines whether the first timing information indicates a subframe within a specific range corresponding to one or more subframes assigned to uplink, and determines whether the second timing information indicates a subframe within the specific range,
wherein, when it is determined that the first timing information does not indicates a subframe within the specific range and that the second timing information indicates a subframe within the specific range, the processor does not select, from among the plurality of timings, a timing based on the first timing information, selects, from among the plurality of timings, the timing based on the second timing information,
However, Yin teaches
a processor that determines whether the first timing information indicates a subframe within a specific range corresponding to one or more subframes assigned to uplink, ([0043] For example, the PDSCH HARQ-ACK configuration may follow a first reference UL/DL configuration with a number (e.g., minimum number) of UL subframes in the allowed UL/DL reconfiguration range. The first reference UL/DL configuration may or may not be the same as a default UL/DL configuration.) and determines whether the second timing information indicates a subframe within the specific range, ([0044] The PUSCH scheduling and PUSCH HARQ-ACK timing of a dynamic UL/DL reconfiguration cell may follow a second reference UL/DL configuration with a number (e.g., maximum number) of UL subframes in the allowed UL/DL reconfiguration range.)
wherein, when it is determined that the first timing information does not indicates a subframe within the specific range and that the second timing information indicates a subframe within the specific range, the processor does not select, from among the plurality of timings, a timing based on the first timing information, ([0076] If the UL/DL configurations have different periodicity, the first reference UL/DL configuration is a configuration defined by the fixed UL allocations among all configured configurations, and the second reference UL/DL configuration is defined by the fixed DL or special subframe allocations among all configured UL/DL configurations.)
selects, from among the plurality of timings, the timing based on the second timing information, ([0076] The first reference UL/DL configuration (e.g., the DL-reference UL/DL configuration) and the second reference UL/DL configuration (e.g., the UL-reference UL/DL configuration) may be selected from the seven existing TDD UL/DL configurations.)
in order to increase system efficiency by reducing reconfigurations by supporting dynamic UL/DL reconfiguration ([0046])
He and Yin are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in He with the technique of dynamic UL/DL reconfiguration in order to increase system efficiency.
Regarding claim 5. He and Pelletier teaches A system comprising: a terminal performing the method in claim 4. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468