DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the arguments and amendment filed November 26, 2025. Claim 20 is pending and examined.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments dated November 26, 2025 have been fully considered.
In light of these amendments, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments dated November 26, 2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that to modify the encoding of Rath to only encode 5 modes using truncated unary code would be contrary to the desire to use a minimum number of bits for the maximum number of modes, thus the coding efficiency of Rath would be frustrated by the 5-bit code of either 11110 or 11111 not being used to signal one of the MPM modes. A similar argument is made with respect to Han.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As is detailed in the rejection below, and in the prior rejection. Lim teaches that the MPM group may contain 5 MPMs and that, when reducing the number of MPMs from 6 to 5, those 5 MPMs may be signaled in 4 bits rather than 5 – namely (as can be seen in Lim’s Table 3) as 0, 10, 110, 1110, and 1111. Examiner explained previously that in view of Lim, Rath’s MPM group may be reduced to 5 MPMs signaled in 4 bits as taught by Lim. Thus, Applicant’s arguments describing that 5 bits are required fail to consider the full scope of the teaching cited in Lim. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
See the rejection below for further details regarding how the art on record reads on the specific claim language as well as the examiner's interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Publication No. 2020/0169752 (“Rath”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0273919 (“Lim”) which corresponds to foreign priority applications dated October 2016 and February 2017.
With respect to claim 20, Rath discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
A method of decoding video data (see Abstract, Fig. 13, describing a method for decoding video data), the method comprising:
(a) determining a first set of probable modes (MPMs) for a current block of said video data that are selectable based upon a MPM index, where one of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index include a directly horizontal mode and another of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index include a directly vertical mode and another of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index include an angular mode, … (see Fig. 13, item 1305, Abstract, ¶¶4, 64-66, 102, 104, 108, 114, Table 3, describing determining a first set of MPMs, e.g., 6, for a current block of said video data selectable based upon an MPM index and that these MPMs may include directly horizontal, directly vertical, and angular modes);
(b) deriving, from a bitstream, a MPM flag comprising a total of 1 bit and another index, at least one of which is used for indicating whether an intra mode for predicting said current block is one of said first set of MPMs, where when said MPM flag has a first value used for indicating an intra prediction mode of said current block is included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs), where when said MPM flag has a second value used for indicating an intra prediction mode of said current block is not included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs), where said MPM flag can only include either said first value or said second value (see Fig. 13, items 1310, 1320, 1340-1350, Abstract, ¶¶66-67, 102-103, 105-107, describing deriving, from a bitstream, an MPM flag comprising a total of 1 bit and a set selection flag, i.e., another index, and that at least the MPM flag is used to indicate whether the intra mode for predicting the current block is one of a set of MPMs, i.e., a first set of MPMs. Namely, as described, when the MPM flag is 1, i.e., has a first value, this indicates the intra prediction mode of the current block is included in the set of MPMs and if it is 0, i.e., second value, this indicates that the intra prediction mode of the current block is not included in the first set of MPMs, i.e., the flag can only include either 1 or 0), where said MPM flag having said first value is used for indicating said intra prediction mode of said current block is included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs) independent of the value of said another index, where said MPM flag having said first value and said another index having a different value than said first value is used for indicating that said intra prediction mode of said current block is included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs) when said first value and the value of said another index have different numerical values (see citations above and Fig. 13, items 1320, 1390, showing and describing that where the MPM flag is 1, i.e., having said first value, it indicates that the intra prediction mode of the current block is in the set of MPMs regardless of the value of the set selection flag (note that in Fig. 13, if the answer to item 1320 is “yes”, item 1350 need not be checked to determine to move to item 1390) and that where the MPM flag is 1, i.e., having said first value, even if the set selection flag were to have a different value than 1, i.e., 0 – a different numerical value than the first value, the answer to item 1320 would still be “yes” and would proceed to item 1390, without needing to decode that set selection value of 0, and the intra prediction mode of said current block would still be understood to be included in the MPM list);
(c) when (i) said MPM flag having said first value is used for indicating said intra prediction mode of said current block is included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs) independent of the value of said another index, and (ii) said MPM flag having said first value and said another index having said different value than said first value is used for indicating that said intra mode for predicting said current block is one of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index when said first value and the value of said another index have said different numerical values, then selecting an intra mode of said current block based upon said MPM index decoded from said bitstream of one of said first set of MPMs (see citations with respect to element above, indicating that when the MPM flag has a value of 1, i.e., said MPM flag having said first value used for indicating said intra prediction mode of said current block is included in said first set of MPMs independent of the value of said another index, and when the MPM flag has a value of 1 and the set selection flag has a value of 0, i.e., said MPM flag having said first value and said another index having said different value than said first value is used for indicating that said intra prediction mode for predicting said current block is one of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index when said first value and the value of said another index have said different numerical values, then the system selects an intra mode of the current block based upon the MPM index (Fig. 13, item 1390-1395, ¶105) decoded from the bitstream of one of said first set of MPMs);
(d) when said MPM flag having said second value and said another index having either said first value or said different value than said first value is used for indicating that said intra mode for predicting said current block is not one of said first set of MPMs, said MPM flag and said another index are used for (i) indicating a second set of at least one mode and (ii) indicating a third set of at least one mode (see citations above, including Fig. 13, items 1320-1370, ¶¶67, 103, 106-107, describing that when the MPM flag has a value of 0, i.e., said second value, and the set selection flag has a value of 1 or 0, i.e., said another index having either said first value or said different value than said first value used for indicating that said intra mode for predicting said current block is not one of said first set of MPMs, then the MPM flag and the set selection flag, i.e., another index, are used to indicate a second set (see Fig. items 13, 1360, 1370, and 1380) or a third set (see Fig. 13, items 1365 and 1385));
(e) where said first set, said second set, and said third set include different modes, where none of said second set of said at least one mode is included within said third set of at least one mode, where none of said third set of at least one mode is included within said second set of at least one mode, where none of said second set of at least one mode is included within said first set of MPMs, where none of said third set of at least one mode is included within said first set of MPMs, where none of said first set of MPMs are included within said second set of said at least one mode, where none of said first set of MPMs are included within said third set of at least one mode, where the combination of said first set, second set, and said third set includes 67 different modes, … (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, e.g., ¶¶64-67, describing the MPM set, i.e., first set, second set (Fig. 13, items 1360, 1370, and 1380), and first set (Fig. 13, items 1365 and 1385), i.e., third set, and that MPMs are not included in the first/selected set or second/non-selected sets, i.e., second or third sets, and v.v. and that the modes of the first/selected set, i.e., second set, are not in the second/non-selected set, i.e., third set, and v.v.; these paragraphs also explain that the total of intra prediction modes, MPM and non-MPM, i.e., first set, second set, and third set, may include 67 different modes);
(f) determining an intra mode of said current block for said second set of at least one mode based upon a first combination of said MPM flag having said second value and said another index having said different value than said first value that do not include any of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index included in said first set of MPMs (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, including Fig. 13, items 1320-1370, describing that the decoder determines the intra mode of the current block is in the second/non-selected group of non-MPMs, i.e., the second set of at least one mode, based upon a combination of the MPM flag being 0, i.e., having a second value, and the set selection flag being 0, i.e., the another index having said different value than said first value (1); see also citations above describing that this second/non-selected set of non-MPMs, i.e., second set, does not include any of the set of MPMs selectable based on the MPM index included in the set of MPMs);
(g) determining an intra mode of said current block for said third set of at least one mode based upon a second combination of said MPM flag having said second value and said another index having said different value than said second value that do not include any of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index included in said first set of MPMs (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, including Fig. 13, items 1320-1350, 1365, 1385, describing that the decoder determines the intra mode of the current block is in the first/selected group of non-MPMs, i.e., the third set of at least one mode, based upon a combination of the MPM flag being 0, i.e., having a second value and the set selection flag being 1, i.e., the another index having a different value than the second value (0); see also citations above describing that this first/selected set of non-MPMs, i.e., third set, does not include any of the set of MPMs selectable based on the MPM index included in the set of MPMs).
Rath does not explicitly recite a combination of 5 MPMs and 62 non-MPMs divided into two groups, i.e., it does not disclose where said first set of MPMs includes only five different modes; and where said first set of MPMs includes said only five different modes and the combination of said second set and said third set includes 62 different modes.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches that it was known to use, instead of 6 MPMs and 61 non-MPMs divided into groups, 5 MPMs and 62 non-MPMs divided into groups, i.e.:
where said first set of MPMs includes only five different modes (see ¶¶50, 86, 100, 104, Table 3, Table 4, describing that the number of MPMs may range from 3 to 10, including 5);
…
where said first set of MPMs includes only said five different modes and the combination of said [non-MPM groups] includes 62 different modes (see citations and arguments with respect to element above describing that the number of non-MPMs in different groups may total 62; ¶¶11, 49, 74, and 86 making clear that the remainder of the 67 modes that are not in the MPM group are put into non-MPM groups, i.e., where there are 5 MPMs 67-5=62 different non-MPM modes; and ¶¶86, 90, 94, describing that any number of groups may be used for non-MPMs).
As detailed above, Rath’s explicit examples use an MPM group of 6 MPMs (i.e., a first group) and a non-MPM group of 61 non-MPMs put into selected and remaining non-MPM groups (i.e., second and third groups) (see citations above). Rath also explicitly states that the specific numeric value of six is “for exemplary purposes” and that its principles “are not limited to [this] specific value[]” (see ¶114). Lim discloses that any number of MPMs may be used and that the remainder of the 67 modes that are not MPMs may be distributed among non-MPM groups (see citations above). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with the use of 67 modes and of splitting these into groups including MPMs and non-MPMs. Such a person would have also understood that, as evidenced by Lim, any number of non-MPMs may be used, e.g., from 3 to 10, including 5, and that the remainder of the 67 modes should be distributed among groups of non-MPMs (see citations above), like the selected and remaining non-MPM groups of Rath. In fact, Lim describes that reducing the number of MPMs will increase compression efficiency (see Lim ¶8, describing that an increase in the number of MPMs reduces compression efficiency and Lim Table 3, which shows that, e.g., 5 MPMs may be signaled in 4 bits). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to reduce the number of MPMs in Rath from 6 to 5 and make the appropriate signaling changes (e.g., using 4 bit signaling), as taught by Lim, in order to obtain this advantage. Moreover, to such a person, doing so would have represented nothing more than the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see citations of Lim above noting that “the number of MPMs… [is] merely exemplary and various combinations thereof are possible within the scope of the [] invention”) and/or obvious to try – the choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (e.g., MPMs ranging from 3-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include 5 MPMs (signaled by 4 binary bits) and 62 non-MPMs divided into Chen’s selected and non-selected non-MPM groups in the coder of Rath as taught by Lim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, Yu, et al., “Improvements for Intra Prediction Mode Coding”, Joint Video Exploration Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JCT 1/SC 29/WG 11, 7th Meeting: Torino, IT, 13-21 July 2017, Output Doc. No. JVET-G0060 (July 5, 2017) (“Han”) and further in view of Lim.
With respect to claim 20, Han discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
A method of decoding video data (see Abstract, describing a method for coding, i.e., including decoding, video data), the method comprising:
(a) determining a first set of probable modes (MPMs) for a current block of said video data that are selectable based upon a MPM index, where one of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index include a directly horizontal mode and another of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index include a directly vertical mode and another of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index include an angular mode, … (see Sections 1 and 2 (including Tables 1 and 2), showing and describing determining a set of 6 MPMs for a current block of said video data selectable based upon an MPM index/bin string and that these MPMs may include directly horizontal, directly vertical, and angular modes selectable by the MPM index);
(b) deriving, from a bitstream, a MPM flag comprising a total of 1 bit and another index, at least one of which is used for indicating whether an intra mode for predicting said current block is one of said first set of MPMs, where when said MPM flag has a first value used for indicating an intra prediction mode of said current block is included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs), where when said MPM flag has a second value used for indicating an intra prediction mode of said current block is not included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs), where said MPM flag can only include either said first value or said second value (see Sections 1 and 2 (including Tables 1 and 2), showing and describing deriving from a bitstream an MPM flag comprising a total of 1 bit and a “Selected flag”, i.e., another index, and that at least the MPM flag is used to indicate whether the intra mode for predicting the current block is one of a set of MPMs, i.e., a first set of MPMs. Namely, as described, when the MPM flag is 1, i.e., has a first value, this indicates the intra prediction mode of the current block is included in the set of MPM modes and when the MPM flag is 0, i.e., has a second value, it indicates that the intra prediction mode of the current block is not included in the first set of MPM modes (as seen in Table 1, the MPM flag may only be 1 or 0)), where said MPM flag having said first value is used for indicating said intra prediction mode of said current block is included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs) independent of the value of said another index, where said MPM flag having said first value and said another index having a different value than said first value is used for indicating that said intra prediction mode of said current block is included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs) when said first value and the value of said another index have different numerical values (see citations above, including Table 1, showing and describing that the MPM flag may have a value of 1, i.e., a first value, which indicates that the current block is included in the first set of MPMs and that this is true independent of the value of the Selected flag (as shown by the “Selected flag” entry in Table 1 being blank when “MPM flag” is 1), i.e., independent of the value of said another index, and that where the MPM flag is 1, i.e., having said first value, even if the Selected flag were to have a different value than 1, i.e., 0 – a different numerical value than the first value, it would be determined that the intra prediction mode of the current block would still be understood to be included in the MPM list b/c as shown in Table 1, it does not matter what the “Selected flag” is if the MPM flag is 1);
(c) when (i) said MPM flag having said first value is used for indicating said intra prediction mode of said current block is included in said first set of probable modes (MPMs) independent of the value of said another index, and (ii) said MPM flag having said first value and said another index having said different value than said first value is used for indicating that said intra mode for predicting said current block is one of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index when said first value and the value of said another index have said different numerical values, then selecting an intra mode of said current block based upon said MPM index decoded from said bitstream of one of said first set of MPMs (see citations with respect to element above, indicating that the MPM flag having a value of 1, i.e., a first value, is used to indicate that the current block is included in the first set of MPMs independent of the Selected flag and that the MPM flag having a value of 1, i.e., first value, and the Selected flag having a value of 0, i.e., different value than said first value, may be used to indicate that the intra prediction ode of the current block is included in the first set of MPMs selectable based on the MPM index, even when the MPM flag of 1 and the Selected flag have different numerical values, and that the intra mode of the current block may be selected from the set of MPMs based upon the MPM index/bin string for the first set of MPMs decoded from the bitstream)
(d) when said MPM flag having said second value and said another index having either said first value or said different value than said first value is used for indicating that said intra mode for predicting said current block is not one of said first set of MPMs, said MPM flag and said another index are used for (i) indicating a second set of at least one mode and (ii) indicating a third set of at least one mode (see citations above, showing and describing that when the MPM flag is 0, i.e., said second value, and when the Selected flag is either 1 or 0, i.e., said another index having said either said first value or said different value than said first value used for indicating that said intra mode for predicting said current block is not one of said first set of MPMs, then the MPM flag and the set selection flag, i.e., another index, are used in combination to indicate a second set (Non-selected modes of Table 1) or a third set (Selected modes of Table 1));
(e) where said first set, said second set, and said third set include different modes, where none of said second set of said at least one mode is included within said third set of at least one mode, where none of said third set of at least one mode is included within said second set of at least one mode, where none of said second set of at least one mode is included within said first set of MPMs, where none of said third set of at least one mode is included within said first set of MPMs, where none of said first set of MPMs are included within said second set of said at least one mode, where none of said first set of MPMs are included within said third set of at least one mode, where the combination of said first set, second set, and said third set includes 67 different modes, … (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, describing the MPM set, i.e., first set, Non-selected set, i.e., second set, and Selected set, i.e., third set, shown in Table 1 and that MPMs, i.e., first set, are not included in the Non-selected set or Selected sets, i.e., second or third sets, and v.v. and that the modes of the Non-selected set, i.e., second set, are not in the Selected set, i.e., third set, and v.v.; these paragraphs also explain that the total of intra prediction modes, MPM and non-MPM, i.e., first set, second set, and third set, may include 67 different modes);
(f) determining an intra mode of said current block for said second set of at least one mode based upon a first combination of said MPM flag having said second value and said another index having said different value than said first value that do not include any of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index included in said first set of MPMs (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above describing that the decoder determines the intra mode of the current block is in the Non-selected group of non-MPMs, i.e., the second set of at least one mode, based upon a combination of the MPM flag being 0, i.e., having a second value, and the Selected flag having a value of 0, i.e., said another index having a different value than said first value (1); see also citations above describing that this Non-selected set of modes, i.e., second set, does not include any of the first set of MPMs selectable based on the MPM index included in said first set of MPMs);
(g) determining an intra mode of said current block for said third set of at least one mode based upon a second combination of said MPM flag having said second value and said another index having said different value than said second value that do not include any of said first set of MPMs that are selectable based upon said MPM index included in said first set of MPMs (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above describing that the decoder determines the intra mode of the current block is in the Selected group of non-MPMs, i.e., the third set of at least one mode, based upon a combination of the MPM flag having a value of 0, i.e., having a second value, and the Selected flag having a value of 1, i.e., said another index having a value different value than said second value (0); see also citations above describing that this Selected set of modes, i.e., third set, does not include any of the first set of MPMs selectable based on the MPM index included in said first set of MPMs).
Han does not explicitly recite a combination of 5 MPMs and 62 non-MPMs divided into two groups, i.e., it does not disclose where said first set of MPMs includes only five different modes; and where said first set of MPMs includes only five different modes and the combination of said second set and said third set includes 62 different modes.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches that it was known to use, instead of 6 MPMs and 61 non-MPMs divided into groups, 5 MPMs and 62 non-MPMs divided into groups, i.e.:
where said first set of MPMs includes only five different modes (see ¶¶50, 86, 100, 104, Table 3, Table 4, describing that the number of MPMs may range from 3 to 10, including 5);
…
where said first set of MPMs includes only five different modes and the combination of said [non-MPM groups] includes 62 different modes (see citations and arguments with respect to element above describing that the number of non-MPMs in different groups may total 62; ¶¶11, 49, 74, and 86 making clear that the remainder of the 67 modes that are not in the MPM group are put into non-MPM groups, i.e., where there are 5 MPMs 67-5=62 different non-MPM modes; and ¶¶86, 90, 94, describing that any number of groups may be used for non-MPMs).
As detailed above, Han discloses the use of an MPM group of 6 MPMs (i.e., a first group) and a non-MPM group of 61 non-MPMs put into non-selected and selected non-MPM groups (i.e., second and third groups) (see citations above). Lim discloses, however, that any number of MPMs may be used and that the remainder of the 67 modes that are not MPMs may be distributed among non-MPM groups (see citations above). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with the use of 67 modes and of splitting these into groups including MPMs and non-MPMs. Such a person would have also understood that, as evidenced by Lim, any number of non-MPMs may be used, e.g., from 3 to 10, and including 5 and that the remainder of the 67 modes should be distributed among groups of non-MPMs (see citations above), like the selected and non-selected non-MPM groups of Chen. In fact, Lim describes that reducing the number of MPMs will increase compression efficiency (see Lim ¶8, describing that an increase in the number of MPMs reduces compression efficiency and Lim Table 3, which shows that, e.g., 5 MPMs may be signaled in 4 bits). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to reduce the number of MPMs in Han from 6 to 5 and make the appropriate signaling changes (e.g., using 4 bit signaling), as taught by Lim, in order to obtain this advantage. Moreover, to such a person, doing so would have represented nothing more than the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see citations of Lim above noting that “the number of MPMs… [is] merely exemplary and various combinations thereof are possible within the scope of the [] invention”) and/or obvious to try – the choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (e.g., MPMs ranging from 3-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include 5 MPMs (signaled by 4 binary bits) and 62 non-MPMs divided into Han’s selected and non-selected non-MPM groups in the coder of Han as taught by Lim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure also includes U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0289301, which corresponds to a priority date of November 2016 and describes MPM flags and “Selected mode flags” (e.g., Figs. 26-27) which encompasses the concepts of Applicant’s Fig. 14, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0099948, which corresponds to a priority date of June 2017 and describes MPM flags and a Selected flag (e.g., ¶¶185-186, 189, 194, 199, 222-225, 233, 241, 251, 254, 258-260) which encompasses the concepts of Applicant’s Fig. 14, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0184082, which corresponds to priority applications filed in 2015-2016 and describes that it was known for the number of MPM candidates to be 5 (or any other value of “N”) (e.g., Tables 6-7). Thus, each of the concepts outlined with respect to the detailed rejections above is also present in several other references within the art.
/LINDSAY J UHL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481