Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 41, 42, 44, 48, 54-56, 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites “a person distal to the camera” which is indefinite because it is unclear what exactly constitutes as distal.
Dependent claims are rejected for depending off independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, 41, 42, 44, 48, 54-56, 59 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. US2013/0253809 in view of Rhoads et al. US2011/0098029 in view of Mikawa et al. US2009/0157696
Regarding claim 18, Jones teaches: Operating a server to (a) generate an operating command, and (b) send the operating command to the piece of equipment such that the piece of equipment provides assistance other than a warning to the person with respect to the circumstance (Jones see paragraphs 0025 0040 0057 0063 0067 0070 0073 0089 server providing application to clients, gathering data and reports of transportation related situations from people and perform an action for other persons about event by experience vibrations in steering wheel or reduction in speed in onboard system or portable or reduced radio volume)
Jones does not distinctly disclose: Obtaining an image passively captured by a camera
Producing a non-image representation of an object within the image
Storing the non-image representation
Obtaining contextual information about a person distal to the camera
Using the contextual information and the non-image representation to dynamically determine that the person may need assistance with respect to the circumstance; and
However, Rhoads teaches: Obtaining an image passively captured by a camera (Rhoads see paragraph 0516 0596 camera worn on user capturing imagery while user is focusing on immediate tasks)
Producing a non-image representation of an object within the image
Storing the non-image representation (Rhoads see paragraph 0516 0517 0591 0596 user to use camera capturing imagery and identifying objects in image such as indicating object in image is a white oak tree, shape information on building and such information is persisted in cloud. Result information of imagery to be stored)
Obtaining contextual information about a person distal to the camera (Rhoads see paragraph 0423 0438 0516 0596 camera viewing a person standing on a carpet such that carpet is the target, context defined as information to characterize situation of a person. Person wearing camera can also be interpreted as distal to camera, Jane’s phone having information on tenants living in a building such that building is depicted in image where tenants read on person distal to camera)
Using the contextual information and the non-image representation to dynamically determine that the person may need assistance with respect to the circumstance; and (Rhoads see paragraph 0596 John’s phone recognizes shape of building, based on information and context Jane’s phone can provide information regarding the building to John)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a method of extracting images as taught by Rhoads for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 41, Jones as modified teaches: wherein producing the non-image representation comprises processing the image to extract characterizations of the object. (Rhoads see paragraph 0591 0596 user to use camera capturing imagery and identifying objects in image such as indicating object in image is a white oak tree, shape information on building also reads on non-image representation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a method of extracting images as taught by Rhoads for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 42, Jones as modified teaches: wherein the characterizations of the object comprise facial features. (Rhoads see paragraph 0145 recognition of face)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a method of extracting images as taught by Rhoads for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 44, Jones as modified teaches: wherein extracting visual features of the object is performed by a software program. (Rhoads see paragraph 0126 software)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a method of extracting images as taught by Rhoads for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 48, Jones as modified teaches: further comprising using the characterizations to obtaining additional information of the object. (Rhoads see paragraph 0596 by similarity in geolocation information and shape, it can be identified that Jane and John are identifying the same building and relating Jane’s assertions about the building to John)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a method of extracting images as taught by Rhoads for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Claim(s) 43 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. US2013/0253809 in view of Rhoads et al. US2011/0098029 in view of Kawanishi et al. US2013/0308829
Regarding claim 43, Jones does not teach: wherein extracting characterizations of the object is performed by a person
However, Kawanishi teaches: wherein extracting characterizations of the object is performed by a person. (Kawanishi see paragraph 0095 0114 0143 extracting facial expression in image based on user selection and user setting imaging apparatus to image extraction mode)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a method of extracting image features as taught by Kawanishi for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Claim(s) 45 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. US2013/0253809 in view of Rhoads et al. US2011/0098029 in view of Fish US2007/0174188
Regarding claim 45, Jones does not teach: wherein the characterizations are organized into parameter-value pairs
However, Fish teaches: wherein the characterizations are organized into parameter-value pairs. (Fish see paragraph 0098 fields stored as parameter value pairs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a method of storing parameter value pairs as taught by Fish for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Claim(s) 46 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. US2013/0253809 in view of Rhoads et al. US2011/0098029 in view of Mersky US2003/0208443
Regarding claim 46, Jones does not teach: further comprising storing the characterizations in a self- evolving database
However, Mersky teaches: further comprising storing the characterizations in a self- evolving database. (Mersky see paragraph 0052 self-evolving database storing information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a self-evolving database as taught by Mersky for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Claim(s) 47 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. US2013/0253809 in view of Rhoads et al. US2011/0098029 in view of Inoue et al. US2011/0058733
Regarding claim 47, Jones does not teach: further comprising organizing the characterizations according to objects, actions, events, and thoughts
However, Inoue teaches: further comprising organizing the characterizations according to objects, actions, events, and thoughts. (Inoue see paragraph 0089 descriptors extracted from image organized based on nearest neighbor searching which reads on object, action and event)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a extracting image features as taught by Inoue for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Claim(s) 49 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. US2013/0253809 in view of Rhoads et al. US2011/0098029 in view of Kwon et al. US2012/0072448
Regarding claim 49, Jones does not teach: further comprising deleting certain characterizations over time.
However, Kwon teaches: further comprising deleting certain characterizations over time. (Kwon see paragraph 0033 0044 image information or identifier information deleted over time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a deleting image features as taught by Kwon for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Claim(s) 50, 52, 53 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. US2013/0253809 in view of Rhoads et al. US2011/0098029 in view of Stolarz et al. US2013/0278492
Regarding claim 50, Jones does not teach: wherein determining a second person from a plurality of persons will need assistance is performed by an artificial intelligence system
However, Stolarz teaches: wherein determining a second person from a plurality of persons will need assistance is performed by an artificial intelligence system. (Stolarz see paragraph 0060 artificial intelligence providing solutions for user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a crowd sourcing method as taught by Stolarz for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 52, Jones does not teach: further comprising asking the second person for feedback.
However, Stolarz teaches: further comprising asking the second person for feedback. (Stolarz see paragraph 0052 presenting user with query)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a crowd sourcing method as taught by Stolarz for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 53, Jones as modified further teaches: further prioritizing the second person’s feedback relative to feedback made by others. (Stolarz see paragraph 0052 0055 0060 0069 crowd sourcing to predict user needs then presenting user with query and taking action based on user feedback)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include a crowd sourcing method as taught by Stolarz for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Claim(s) 51 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. US2013/0253809 in view of Rhoads et al. US2011/0098029 in view of Stolarz et al. US2013/0278492 in view of Cheng at al. US2008/0082463
Regarding claim 51, Jones does not teach: wherein the artificial intelligence system learns from what users collectively describe as relevant features
However, Cheng teaches: wherein the artificial intelligence system learns from what users collectively describe as relevant features. (Cheng see paragraph 0015 artificial intelligence component in learning system to infer tagging behavior from plurality of users)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an alert system as taught by Jones to include artificial intelligence as taught by Cheng for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s argument: Prior art of record does not teach newly amended claims
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument is considered but is not persuasive. Rhoads teaches a system where a camera is viewing a person standing on a carpet such that carpet is the target, context defined as information to characterize situation of a person. Person wearing camera can also be interpreted as distal to camera, Jane’s phone having information on tenants living in a building such that building is depicted in image where tenants read on person distal to camera. Jones teaches a server providing application to clients, gathering data and reports of transportation related situations from people and perform an action for other persons about event by experience vibrations in steering wheel or reduction in speed in onboard system or portable or reduced radio volume. This teaches the newly amended concept.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153