DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 106, 110-114, and 118-122 are pending.
Claim 106 is currently amended.
Claims 1-105, 107-109, and 115-117 are cancelled.
In response to the species election dated 7/12/2019. Applicant elected the species of a polypeptide hFVIII-Δ3-S1657P/D1658E (Δ3-SP/DE) of Group I.
The new claims 118-122 are directed to a non-elected invention comprising nucleic acid and viral vector that were withdrawn in the office action dated 11/27/2019. Thus, The new claims 118-122 are continuously withdrawn.
Claims 106 and 110-114 have been examined.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2017 /013461 filed on 01/13/2017, which claim the benefit of PRO 62/297,352 and PRO 62/278,767 filed on 02/19/2016 and 01/14/2016.
Withdrawn Objection and Rejection
The objection of claims 106 and 108 is withdrawn because the amendment to claim 106 overcomes the objection.
The rejection of claims 106, 108, 110-114 and 116 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn because the amendment to the claims overcome the rejection.
Modified Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 106 and 110-114 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Low et al. (US 2015/0191526 A1, previously cited 4/9/2021) in view of Nguyen et al. (Blood (2014) 124 (21): 104, previously cited 11/27/2019) and evidenced by Pu et al. (The American Journal of Human Genetics 92, 366–374, March 7, 2013).
Claim 106 is directed to a human Factor VIII (hFVIII) variant comprising:
the hFVIII variant comprises a B domain deletion;
the hFVIII variant comprises deletion of the first three underlined amino acids of the PACE/furin cleavage site of R1645HQR1648 with R1648 unchanged;
the hFVII variant comprises amino acid substitutions S1657P and D1658E.
Low et al. teach a single chain human factor VIII variant comprising B domain deletions [Fig 2, 0063], reading on the limitation of A.
Low et al. teach the factor VIII protein is a variant derived from a wild-type human, factor VIII protein [0039]. Low et al. suggest the B-domain deletion of a human factor VIII variant further comprising at least a substitution or mutation (e.g., deletion) selected one from R1645, R1648, S1657, D1658, or any combination thereof to form a single chain of factor VIII. Low et al. suggest the substitution or mutation is an amino acid other than its native amino acid, e.g., S1657→P and D1658→E to prevent or reduce cleavage at the corresponding internal processing domain (p5, [0053]), reading on the limitation (C). Pu et al. is further cited to show common knowledge of Ser-to-Pro substitution on a protein prodomain processing to reduce accessibility to processing proteases such as furin, as a result of a conformational change induced by the rigidity of proline known in the art.
Low et al. and evidenced by Pu et al. do not explicitly teach deletion of the first three amino acid residues from PACE/furin cleavage site of R1645HQR1648.
Similarly, Nguyen et al. teach hFVIII-BDD deletion variants with diminished PACE-Furin cleavage (p1, Abstract). Nguyen et al. teach that beneficial hFVIII expression of del1645-47 from the underlined motif of R1645H1646Q1647R1648 motif with R1648 unchanged was 3-fold higher than the protein of hFVIII-BDD without mutation and higher expression level than other hFVIII-BDD deletion variants comprising del1645, del1645-48, and del1645-46 (p2, para 1), reading on the limitation of B. Because Nguyen et al. teach the benefit of del1645-47 hFVIII-BDD variant with R1648 unchanged comprising enhancement of protein expression of human factor VIII variant with B-domain deletion with diminished PACE-Furin cleavage as suggested by Low et al. and evidenced by Pu et al., one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine Low’s hFVIII-BDD deletion variants comprising deletion of R1645 with Nguyen’s teaching the benefit of hFVIII del1645-47 of R1645H1646Q1647R1648 motif to generate an hFVIII variants, reading on the limitations of A, B, and C of hFVIII variant (Δ3-SP/DE), the elect6ed peptide species, in claim 106 shown above.
With respect to claim 110 and 112-113, it would be obvious to expect the hFVIII variant taught by the cited references superior to a wild type FVIII or a B domain deletion of hFVIII variant with an intact PACE/furin cleavage site. Nguyen et al. teach that a benefit of hFVIII B domain deletion variant expression of del1645-47 from the underlined motif of R1645H1646Q1647 R1648 motif with R1648 unchanged was 3-fold higher than the protein of hFVIII-BDD without mutation and higher expression level than other hFVIII-BDD deletion variants comprising del1645, del1645-48, and del1645-46 (p2, para 1). Low et al. suggest the used of mutated cleavage site of PACE-Furin to create a recombinant single chain FVIII that did not separate into the heavy and light chains to facilitate secretion of a recombinant single chain FVIII [0174, page 19].
With respect to claim 111, Low et al. teach B-domain deleted factor FVIII is aggregated and degraded through proteasomal and lysosomal pathways before secretion know in the art. Low et al. suggest the used of mutated cleavage site of PACE-Furin to create a recombinant single chain FVIII that did not separate into the heavy and light chains to facilitate secretion of a recombinant single chain FVIII [0174, page 19].
With respect to claim 114, Low et al. suggest a single chain FVIII polypeptide formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier [0021, claim 32].
Applicant’s Arguments (Remarks, p1, last two para to p2, para 1)
The amendment to claim 106 overcomes the rejection of record
The Examiner has acknowledged unexpected results when expressed in cells or in a subject following AAV-mediated delivery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons as follows.
Applicant’s argument (i) is not persuasive because the amendment does not overcome the modified rejection based on Low et al. in view of Nguyen et al. and evidenced by Pu et al. described above not repeated here.
Applicant’s argument (ii) is not persuasive because (a) the argument is not commensurate in scope of the claims because AAV is used to deliver nucleic acid not polypeptide as claimed and (b) there is NO “.unexpected result”. Nguyen et al. teach that a benefit of hFVIII B domain deletion variant expression of del1645-47 from the underlined motif of R1645H1646Q1647 R1648 motif with R1648 unchanged was 3-fold higher than the protein of hFVIII-BDD without mutation and higher expression level than other hFVIII-BDD deletion variants comprising del1645, del1645-48, and del1645-46 (p2, para 1). Low et al. suggest the used of mutated cleavage site of PACE-Furin to create a recombinant single chain FVIII that did not separate into the heavy and light chains to facilitate secretion of a recombinant single chain FVIII [0174, page 19]. The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See MPEP 716.02(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 106 and 110-114 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 8,816,054 (the ‘054 patent, previously
cited 11/27/2019) in view of Low et al. (US 2015/0191526 A1, previously cited 4/9/2021) and Nguyen et al. (Blood (2014) 124 (21): 104, previously cited 11/27/2019).
Claim 1 of the ‘054 patent disclosed one or more amino acids at PACE/furin cleavage site of a human FVIII variant are deleted as follows.
Claim 2 of the ‘054 patent disclosed a pharmaceutical composition comprising a FVIII variant and in a biologically compatible carrier.
Claims 1-2 of the ‘054 patent do not explicitly teach R1648 is not substituted or deleted.
The relevancy of Low et al. (US 2015/0191526 A1, previously cited 4/9/2021) in view of Nguyen et al. (Blood (2014) 124 (21): 104, previously cited 11/27/2019) and evidenced by Pu et al. (The American Journal of Human Genetics 92, 366–374, March 7, 2013) as applied to claims 106 and 110-114 described above not repeated here.
Because Low et al. in view of Nguyen et al. and evidenced by Pu et al. teach beneficial deletion of the first three amino acids in the PACE/furin cleavage site of R1645HQR1648 with R1648 unchanged, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the FVIII variant taught by claims 1-2 of the ‘054 patent.
Thus, claims 1-2 of the ‘054 patent in view of Low et al., Nguyen et al. and evidenced by Pu et al. are obvious to the instant claims 106 and 110-114.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See response to arguments above.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
05-December-2025
/LI N KOMATSU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658