DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 106, 110-114, and 118-123 are pending.
Claim 106 is currently amended.
Claims 1-105, 107-109, and 115-117 are cancelled.
In response to the species election dated 7/12/2019. Applicant elected the species of a polypeptide hFVIII-Δ3-S1657P/D1658E (Δ3-SP/DE) of Group I.
The claims 118-123 are directed to a non-elected invention comprising nucleic acid and viral vector that were withdrawn in the office action dated 11/27/2019. Thus, the new claims 118-123 are continuously withdrawn.
Claims 106 and 110-114 have been examined.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2017 /013461 filed on 01/13/2017, which claim the benefit of PRO 62/297,352 and PRO 62/278,767 filed on 02/19/2016 and 01/14/2016.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 106 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 106 recites the limitation "at least 92% of the FVIII variant is in the single chain polypeptide" in the wherein clause (D). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because a single human Factor VIII variant polypeptide is either 100% as a single chain polypeptide or NOT a single chain polypeptide, rendering the metes and bounds of claim 106 indefinite.
Modified Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 106 and 110-114 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Low et al. (US 2015/0191526 A1, previously cited 4/9/2021) in view of Nguyen et al. (Blood (2014) 124 (21): 104, previously cited 11/27/2019) and evidenced by (i) Pu et al. (The American Journal of Human Genetics 92, 366–374, March 7, 2013, previously cited 12/12/2025) and (ii) Winge et al.
Claim 106 is directed to a human Factor VIII (hFVIII) variant comprising:
the hFVIII variant comprises a B domain deletion;
the hFVIII variant comprises deletion of the first three underlined amino acids of the PACE/furin cleavage site of R1645HQR1648 with R1648 unchanged;
the hFVII variant comprises amino acid substitutions S1657P and D1658E.
wherein at least 92% of the hFVIII variant is in the single chain polypeptide form, as determined by optical densitometry following SDS-PAGE analysis under reducing conditions.
It is noted that the wherein limitation (D) of purity and analytic method does not change the function or structure of a human Factor VIII comprising B domain deletion; thus, it play little patent weight.
Low et al. teach the factor VIII protein is a variant derived from a wild-type human, factor VIII protein [0039]. Low et al. teach the factor VIII protein variant is a single chain FVIII polypeptide [Abstract, 0059-0062, claim 1-2). Low et al. suggest the B-domain deletion of a human factor VIII variant further comprising at least a substitution or mutation (e.g., deletion) selected one from R1645, R1648, S1657, D1658, or any combination thereof to form a single chain of factor VIII. Low et al. suggest the substitution or mutation is an amino acid other than its native amino acid, e.g., S1657→P and D1658→E to prevent or reduce cleavage at the corresponding internal processing domain (p5, [0053]), reading on the limitation (C). Pu et al. is further cited to show common knowledge of Ser-to-Pro substitution on a protein prodomain processing to reduce accessibility to processing proteases such as furin, as a result of a conformational change induced by the rigidity of proline known in the art (p373, col 1, para 2).
Low et al. and evidenced by Pu et al. do not explicitly teach deletion of the first three amino acid residues from PACE/furin cleavage site of R1645HQR1648.
Similarly, Nguyen et al. teach hFVIII-BDD deletion variants as single polypeptides with diminished PACE-Furin cleavage (p1, Abstract). Nguyen et al. teach that beneficial hFVIII expression of del1645-47 from the underlined motif of R1645H1646Q1647R1648 motif with R1648 unchanged was 3-fold higher than the protein of hFVIII-BDD without mutation and higher expression level than other hFVIII-BDD deletion variants comprising del1645, del1645-48, and del1645-46 (p2, para 1), reading on the limitation of B. Because Nguyen et al. teach the benefit of del1645-47 hFVIII-BDD variant with R1648 unchanged comprising enhancement of protein expression of human factor VIII variant with B-domain deletion with diminished PACE-Furin cleavage as suggested by Low et al. and evidenced by Pu et al., one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine Low’s hFVIII-BDD deletion variants comprising deletion of R1645 with Nguyen’s teaching the benefit
of hFVIII del1645-47 of R1645H1646Q1647R1648 motif to generate an hFVIII variants, reading on the limitations of A, B, and C of hFVIII variant (Δ3-SP/DE), the elected peptide species, in claim 106 shown above.
With respect to the limitation (D), Winge et al. is cited to demonstrate large-scale of recombinant human FVIII protein with B domain deletion (p166, Fig 1, legend) by sequential purification process to remove host cell protein/DNA and pathogens before formulation was known in the art (p167, Fig 2). Winge et al. show the impurities are < 2% of the final product (p172, col 2, para 1 and p173, Fig 6). Winge et al. further teach protein analysis based on optical densitometry of Bradford assay (p169, col 1, Sec 2.13.4. Total protein) followed by SDS-PAGE analysis (p172, Fig 4-5).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine Low et al. and Nguyen et al. because (a) Low et al. suggest the B-domain deletion of a human factor VIII variant further comprising at least a substitution or mutation (e.g., deletion) selected one from R1645, R1648, S1657, D1658, or any combination thereof to form a single chain of factor VIII. Low et al. suggest the substitution or mutation is an amino acid other than its native amino acid, e.g., S1657→P and D1658→E to prevent or reduce cleavage at the corresponding internal processing domain (p5, [0053]) and (b) Nguyen et al. teach the benefit of del1645-47 hFVIII-BDD variant with R1648 unchanged comprising enhancement of protein expression of human factor VIII variant with B-domain deletion with diminished PACE-Furin cleavage. Pu et al. is further cited to show common knowledge of Ser-to-Pro substitution on a protein prodomain processing to reduce accessibility to processing proteases such as furin, as a result of a conformational change induced by the rigidity of proline known in the art (p373, col 1, para 2). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because both Low et al. and Nguyen et al. teach a recombinant human single chain of factor VIII comprising a B domain deletion. Winge et al. is further cited to show large scale purification and purity analysis of human factor VIII variants with B-domain deletion was known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 110 and 112-113, it would be obvious to expect the hFVIII variant taught by the cited references superior to a wild type FVIII or a B domain deletion of hFVIII variant with an intact PACE/furin cleavage site. Nguyen et al. teach that a benefit of hFVIII B domain deletion variant expression of del1645-47 from the underlined motif of R1645H1646Q1647 R1648 motif with R1648 unchanged was 3-fold higher than the protein of hFVIII-BDD without mutation and higher expression level than other hFVIII-BDD deletion variants comprising del1645, del1645-48, and del1645-46 (p2, para 1). Low et al. suggest the used of mutated cleavage site of PACE-Furin to create a recombinant single chain FVIII that did not separate into the heavy and light chains to facilitate secretion of a recombinant single chain FVIII [0174, page 19].
With respect to claim 111, Low et al. teach B-domain deleted factor FVIII is aggregated and degraded through proteasomal and lysosomal pathways before secretion know in the art. Low et al. suggest the used of mutated cleavage site of PACE-Furin to create a recombinant single chain FVIII that did not separate into the heavy and light chains to facilitate secretion of a recombinant single chain FVIII [0174, page 19].
With respect to claim 114, Low et al. suggest a single chain FVIII polypeptide formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier [0021, claim 32].
Applicant’s Arguments
The cited references, alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest the claimed hFVIII Δ3-SP/DE variant having this particular functional profile. In particular, the amendment of “at least 92% single chain polypeptide form as determined by optical densitometry following SDS-PAGE analysis under reducing conditions” (Remarks, p5, para 3).
The application discloses the combined A3-SP/DE variant exhibited 92% single chain polypeptide form in one SDS-P AGE study and 98% single chain form in a second SDS-PAGE study, compared to 24% for hFVIII-BDD (Remarks, p5, para 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons as follows.
Applicant’s arguments (i) and (ii) are not persuasive because both Low et al. and Nguyen et al. teach a single chain FV III polypeptide variants with B domain deletion. Each reference also teaches further mutations of furin cleavage sites in the polypeptides to make and use the single chain polypeptides of FV III with B domain deletion. The benefits of making and using a single chain polypeptide FV III with B domain deletion are known and/or expected as taught in the cited references described above not repeated here. See MPEP 716.02(II) Expected Beneficial results are evidence of obviousness.
Furthermore, Winge et al. is cited to demonstrate large-scale of recombinant human FVIII protein with B domain deletion (p166, Fig 1, legend) by sequential purification process to remove host cell protein/DNA and pathogens before formulation was known in the art (p167, Fig 2). Winge et al. show the impurities are < 2% of the final product (p172, col 2, para 1 and p173, Fig 6). Winge et al. further teach protein analysis based on optical densitometry of Bradford assay (p169, col 1, Sec 2.13.4. Total protein) followed by SDS-PAGE analysis (p172, Fig 4-5). Another reference of Kaufman et al. (US 2012/0028900 A1) is further cited to show the analysis of Factor VIII protein by optical density [0189] and SDS-PAGE [0147] well known in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 106 and 110-114 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 8,816,054 (the ‘054 patent, previously cited 11/27/2019) in view of Low et al. (US 2015/0191526 A1, previously cited 4/9/2021) in view of Nguyen et al. (Blood (2014) 124 (21): 104, previously cited 11/27/2019) and evidenced by (i) Pu et al. (The American Journal of Human Genetics 92, 366–374, March 7, 2013) and (ii) Winge et al. (Protein Expression and Purification 115 (2015) 165-175).Claim 1 of the ‘054 patent disclosed one or more amino acids at PACE/furin cleavage site of a human FVIII variant are deleted as follows.
Claim 2 of the ‘054 patent disclosed a pharmaceutical composition comprising a FVIII variant and in a biologically compatible carrier.
Claims 1-2 of the ‘054 patent do not explicitly teach R1648 is not substituted or deleted.
The relevancy of Low et al. in view of Nguyen et al. and evidenced by (i) Pu et al. and (ii) Winge et al. as applied to claims 106 and 110-114 described above not repeated here.
Because Low et al. in view of Nguyen et al. and evidenced by (i) Pu et al. and (ii) Winge et al. teach beneficial deletion of the first three amino acids in the PACE/furin cleavage site of R1645HQR1648 with R1648 unchanged, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the FVIII variant taught by claims 1-2 of the ‘054 patent.
Thus, claims 1-2 of the ‘054 patent in view of Low et al., Nguyen et al. and evidenced by (i) Pu et al. and (ii) Winge et al. are obvious to the instant claims 106 and 110-114.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (Remarks, p5, para 4) filed 4/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the request of this rejection to be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated does not overcome the rejection of record.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/J.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
16-May-2026
/Melissa L Fisher/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658