DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s correspondence filed on 1/8/26.
The Examiner notes that citations to United States Patent Application Publication paragraphs are formatted as [####], #### representing the paragraph number.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12, 16-17, 19-23 are currently pending.
Claims 22-23 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-12, 16-17, 19-21 are rejected as set forth below.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection (and corresponding rejections to its dependent claims, if applicable) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 21 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection (and corresponding rejections to its dependent claims, if applicable) is maintained.
Applicant contends Bisikalo fails to teach or suggest “associating public addresses of a plurality of blockchain network participants with one or more identifiers of a first classification type to classify the public addresses based on the first classification type”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bisikalo teaches using tables in a database to associate an account/accountID, i.e. a blockchain network participant, with a public key/public_key, i.e. a public address, and a field tag, i.e. an identifier of a first classification type, such as an account type, e.g. agent, entity, individual.
Applicant contends Bisikalo fails to teach or suggest public addresses comprise public keys of asymmetric cryptography pairs, each of the asymmetric cryptography pairs including one of the public keys and a private key corresponding to the one of the public keys. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Bisikalo teaches the concept of a blockchain implementation such as Bitcoin requiring the use of public/private key pairs ([0006]). Second, Bisikalo teaches storing virtual currency addresses, i.e. the public address, with corresponding public/private keys ([0066]).
Applicant contends Tseng fails to teach or suggest a tree structure to classify public blockchain addresses of blockchain participants. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Specifically, the combination of Bisikalo and Tseng teaches a tree structure to classify public blockchain addresses of blockchain participants. See the 35 USC 103 rejection. Furthermore, the tree structure of Tseng is compatible with public addresses since the tree structure is a key tree, and a public address is functionally equivalent to a public key.
Applicant contends the combination of Bisikalo and Tseng is improper because there is no basis for the modification. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the reference of the base invention is not required to explicitly state a problem in order for a combination to be obvious. Furthermore, it is conceivable that databases are corrupted or made inaccessible. Second, obviousness is established by determining if one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the base invention with a known technique to result in an improved invention. Third, the Office action does not purport to modify the PGPTG database of Bisikalo with the key tree of Tseng. Fourth, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant contends Cao does not teach or suggest a first deterministic key and a second deterministic key as claimed because Cao is not involved with blockchain networks, participant classification, or address generation. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Specifically, the combination of Bisikalo and Cao teaches a first deterministic key and a second deterministic key in the context of blockchain networks and participant classification. See the 35 USC 103 rejection. Furthermore, the tree structure of Cao is compatible with public addresses since the tree structure is a key tree, and a public address is functionally equivalent to a public key.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 6-12, 16-17, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0017936 to Bisikalo in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0256347 to Tseng, United States Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0272260 to Cao, and United States Patent Application Publication No. 20170228731 to Sheng.
As per claims 1, 21¸ Bisikalo teaches:
associating public addresses of a plurality of blockchain network participants with one or more identifiers of a first classification type to classify the public addresses based on the first classification type, wherein the first classification type represents a classification of the public addresses; ([0146], Transactions in a blockchain database are associated with terms and field tags; [0028], Transactions in a blockchain database include public addresses; [0157] – [0172], A plurality of fields can be queried.)
wherein the public addresses comprise public keys of asymmetric cryptography pairs, each of the asymmetric cryptography pairs including one of the public keys and a private key corresponding to the one of the public keys. ([0006], “Bitcoin achieves this trustless anonymous network using public/private key pair.”; [0066], “Virtual wallets provide the following functionality: Storage of virtual currency addresses and corresponding public/private keys on user's computer.”)
receiving, from a communication network, a first identifier of the one or more identifiers of the first classification type, the first identifier identifying a first blockchain network participant of the plurality of blockchain network participants, wherein the first classification type represents a classification of the public addresses by database structure; ([0146], Entered terms along with field tags are submitted for query; [0157], [0159] – [0160], [0169], “An accounts table 1819a includes fields such as, but not limited to: an accountID, accountOwnerID, accountContactID, assetIDs, deviceIDs, paymentIDs, transactionIDs, userIDs, accountType (e.g., agent, entity (e.g., corporate, non-profit, partnership, etc.), individual, etc.)… A users table 1819b includes fields such as, but not limited to: a userID, userSSN, taxID, userContactID, accountID, assetIDs, deviceIDs, paymentIDs, transactionIDs, userType (e.g., agent, participant (e.g., corporate, non-profit, partnership, etc.), individual, etc.), namePrefix, firstName, middleName, lastName, nameSuffix, DateOfBirth, userAge, userName, userEmail, userSocialAccountID. A public key table 1819k includes fields such as, but not limited to: accountID, accountOwnerID, accountContactID, public_key. The public key table 1819k may be used to store and retrieve the public keys generated for clients of the P2PTG system as described herein.”)
determining a set of public addresses associated with the first identifier to determine a first set of public addresses used by the first blockchain network participant, wherein the first set of public address is a subset of the set of public addresses; ([0146], Transaction query results are returned and outputted based on the query; [0028], Transactions in a blockchain database include public addresses.)
accessing a copy of at least one blockchain and identifying a first set of transactions in the at least one blockchain based on the first set of public addresses associated with the first identifier by searching the at least one blockchain for transactions having one of the first set of public addresses used by the first blockchain network participant based on the first identifier and thereby determining the first set of public addresses associated with the first identifier; (Fig 7, [0098] – [0101], “FIG. 7 shows a flowchart of a blockchain auditing process for the P2PTG. The process commences when a client inputs a request to confirm a transaction (step 701). The client may select, enter, retrieve or otherwise provide a public key corresponding to the payer or payee of a transaction or transactions to be audited. Next, the request is transmitted to the P2PTG (step 702). In response, the P2PTG Component performs a Blockchain lookup Process using the public key and other information provided (step 704). The lookup results are then sent to client (step 706. The client next transmits a Decryption Process request (step 708). Responsively, a request to select a public key is displayed to the client (step 710) before the decryption process can commence… The P2PTG Component then decrypts the transaction record in the stored blockchain using the public key (step 724. The decryption results are transmitted to the client 106 (step 726), which, in turn, displays the transaction confirmation details to the user 106a on a display of the client 106 or the like (step 728).”)
extracting or copying at least a portion of data from the first set of transactions in the at least one blockchain; and transmitting the extracted or copied data to another computing resource that is not part of the at least one blockchain; ([0101], “The public key is then transmitted to the P2PTG (step 722. The P2PTG Component then decrypts the transaction record in the stored blockchain using the public key (step 724. The decryption results are transmitted to the client 106 (step 726), which, in turn, displays the transaction confirmation details to the user 106a on a display of the client 106 or the like (step 728).”)
Bisikalo does not explicitly teach, but Tseng teaches:
a classification type that represents a classification of data by a tree structure that links network participants of a plurality of network participants, wherein the one of more identifiers of the classification type comprise deterministic keys associated with the plurality of network participants, wherein the deterministic keys are generated based on the tree structure; wherein the network participants include a parent participant and a child participant associated with the parent participant in the tree structure, wherein the parent participant is associated with a first deterministic key of the deterministic keys, and the child participant is associated with a second deterministic key of the deterministic keys, and the second deterministic key is determined based on the first deterministic key, wherein the first deterministic key and the second deterministic key are based on the tree structure; the deterministic key being based on the position of the participant in the tree structure; (Fig. 3, [0046] – [0048], “In an exemplary embodiment, the CA 100 (or e.g. the key set computation unit 106) may construct a binary key tree by using randomly selected hash functions to generate the children of each corresponding parent node. For example, the CA 100 (or e.g. the key set computation unit 106) may generate each node by applying different randomly selected hash functions to the value of the corresponding the parent node. Although the exemplary embodiment describes a binary key tree using different randomly selected hash functions, other types of key trees may also be constructed using different randomly selected hash functions, such as a tertiary key tree using different randomly selected hash functions to generate the children nodes of each parent node, or an n-ary key tree using different randomly selected hash functions to generate the children nodes of each parent node.”; The Examiner notes a key tree is used to generate keys for each child node based on the parent node.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Tseng to the known invention of Bisikalo would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such key generation features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the first classification type so it represents a classification of data, i.e. public addresses, by a tree structure that links the network participants, i.e. blockchain network participants, and modifying the invention to use a key structure to generate keys based on the tree structure results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures easy backup/recovery by leveraging the tree structure to easily recover lost keys by re-generating the tree structure, thus improving the overall reliability of the invention.
Bisikalo as modified does not explicitly teach, but Cao teaches:
the first deterministic key is determined based on a parent indication associated with the parent participant, and the second deterministic key is determined based on a child indication associated with the child participant; (Fig. 4, [0038], “In the binary tree (for example, binary tree as shown in FIG. 4) where subscriber idblockchain network participants are represented by peer leaf nodes, for each leaf node i, the right key set generating device 302 calculates the right key set DR.sub.i of the leaf node i from the public parameter PK, the idparticipant of the leaf node i and the right primary key SK.sub..epsilon.,R=x.sup..alpha.i obtained by replacing the first random number .alpha. with a second random number .alpha..sub.i, according to the HIBE scheme i.e., the key generating method of the HIBE scheme.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Cao to the known invention of Bisikalo as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such key generation features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the step of generating a deterministic key so it is determined at least in part on an indication associated with the node corresponding to the key results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that a key is generated based on information unique to the corresponding node, thus creating a key unique to the node that can be used to verify the node and therefore improving the overall security of the invention.
Bisikalo as modified does not explicitly teach, but Sheng teaches:
wherein each public address of the plurality of blockchain network participants is derived from a deterministic key corresponding to that participant; ([0183], [0186], “FIG. 22 shows a schematic representation of generating an ownership block for the blockchain maintained by the CETPA. Given ECDSA public-key K, a Bitcoin address is generated using the cryptographic hash functions SHA-256 and RIPEMD-160.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Sheng to the known invention of Bisikalo as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such public address generation features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the public addresses so they are derived from a deterministic key corresponding to each participant results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the public address is generated based on information unique to the corresponding participant, thus creating a public address unique to the participant that can be used to maintain a secure association between the participant and their digital assets and therefore improving the overall security of the invention.
As per claim 2, Bisikalo teaches:
receiving, from the communication network, a first data item associated with the first identifier; and generating a first data output based on the first data item and the first set of transactions. ([0146], Entered terms along with field tags are submitted for query. Transaction query results are returned and outputted based on the query.)
As per claim 6, Bisikalo teaches:
associating the public addresses of the blockchain network participants with one or more identifiers of a second classification type to classify the public addresses based on the second classification type; receiving, from the communication network, a third identifier of one or more classification identifiers of the second classification type; determining a third set of public addresses associated with the third identifier and the first identifier, wherein the third set of public addresses is a subset of the public addresses; and determining a third set of transactions in the blockchain based on the third set of public addresses associated with the third identifier and the first identifier, wherein the third set of transactions is a subset of the transactions. ([0146], Entered terms along with field tags are submitted for query. Transaction query results are returned and outputted based on the query. Multiple terms can be used to identify transactions.)
As per claim 7, Bisikalo teaches:
wherein the first classification type represents a classification of the public addresses by identity of the blockchain network participants. ([0165])
As per claim 8, Bisikalo teaches:
the one or more identifiers of the first classification type includes one or more of the following: names of the blockchain network participants; hexadecimal codes of the names; Australian Business Numbers of the blockchain network participants; Network address; or Australian Company Numbers of the blockchain network participants. ([0159])
As per claim 9, Bisikalo teaches:
wherein the second classification type represents a classification of the public addresses by account type of the blockchain network participants. ([0159])
As per claim 10, Bisikalo teaches:
the one or more identifiers of the second classification type comprise any one or more of the following accounts: credit account; debit account; accounts receivable; accounts receivable; salary account; and/or interest account. ([0159])
As per claim 11, Bisikalo teaches:
wherein associating the public addresses of the blockchain network participants with the one or more identifiers of the first classification type comprises: storing, in entries of a look-up table, the one or more identifiers of the first classification type in association with the public addresses of the blockchain network participants, each entry of the look-up table including one of the one or more identifiers of the first classification type and one of the public addresses. ([0157])
As per claim 12, Bisikalo teaches:
wherein associating the public addresses of the blockchain network participants with the one or more identifiers of the first classification type comprises: using a script to associate the one or more identifiers of the first classification type with the public addresses in the blockchain. ([0157])
As per claim 16, Bisikalo teaches:
determining a fourth set of public addresses associated with the second identifier, wherein the fourth set of public addresses is a subset of the public addresses; determining a fourth set of transactions in the blockchain based on the fourth set of public addresses associated with the second indentifier, wherein the fourth set of transactions is a subset of the transactions; and generating a third data output based on the fourth set of transactions. ([0146], Entered terms along with field tags are submitted for query. Transaction query results are returned and outputted based on the query.)
Tseng teaches:
receiving the parent indication from the communication network; determining the first deterministic key based on the parent indication; determining the second deterministic key based on the first deterministic key and the child indication; (Fig. 3, [0046] – [0048], A key tree is used to generate keys for each child node based on the parent node.)
As per claim 17, Bisikalo teaches:
wherein determining the fourth set of public addresses further comprises determining the fourth set of public addresses based on the second identifier. ([0146], Entered terms along with field tags are submitted for query. Transaction query results are returned and outputted based on the query.)
Tseng teaches:
a second deterministic key; (Fig. 3, [0046] – [0048], A key tree is used to generate keys for each child node based on the parent node.)
As per claim 19, Bisikalo teaches:
wherein the blockchain is generated in accordance with a Bitcoin protocol. ([0028])
As per claim 20, Bisikalo teaches:
wherein the public addresses comprise Bitcoin addresses of the blockchain network participants used in the Bitcoin protocol. ([0028])
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0017936 to Bisikalo in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0256347 to Tseng, United States Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0272260 to Cao, and United States Patent Application Publication No. 20170228731 to Sheng, and further in view of Non-Patent Literature ‘Handbook of Applied Cryptography’ to Applied Cryptography.
As per claim 3, Bisikalo teaches:
receiving, from a communication network, a second data item associated with a second identifier of the one or more identifiers of the first classification type; determining a second set of public addresses associated with the second identifier, wherein the second set of public addresses is a subset of the public addresses; determining a second set of transactions in the blockchain based on the second set of public addresses associated with the second identifier, wherein the second set of transactions is a subset of the transactions; generating a second data output based on the second data item and the second set of transactions; ([0146], Entered terms along with field tags are submitted for query. Transaction query results are returned and outputted based on the query.)
Bisikalo as modified does not explicitly teach, but Applied Cryptography teaches:
performing a first hash operation on the first data output to generate a first output hash representation for the first data output; performing a second hash operation on the second data output to generate a second output hash representation for the second data output; combining the first output hash representation and the second output hash representation; and perform a third hash operation on the combined first output hash representation and second output hash representation to generate a third hash output representation for the combined first output hash representation and second output hash representation. (Page 33, 38, Hashing and concatenation of data are well-known concepts in the field of cryptography.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Applied Cryptography to the known invention of Bisikalo as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such cryptography features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the invention to hash and concatenate the data output results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures data integrity, thus improving the overall security of the invention (Applied Cryptography, page 33).
As per claim 4, Bisikalo as modified does not explicitly teach, but Applied Cryptography teaches:
storing the third output hash representation in a storage device. (Page 33)
As per claim 5, Bisikalo as modified does not explicitly teach, but Applied Cryptography teaches:
combining the first data output and the second data output; and performing a hash operation on the combined first data output and second data output to generate a hash representation for the combined first data output and second data output. (Page 33, 38, Hashing and concatenation of data are well-known concepts in the field of cryptography.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
United States Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0148016 to Davis discloses a method for storing confirmations of electronic transactions using a blockchain includes: storing, in a memory of a processing server, a blockchain, wherein the blockchain includes a plurality of blocks and, for each block of the plurality of blocks, a header and a plurality of transaction values, where each transaction value of the plurality of transaction values is a hash value related to an electronic transaction and generated based on at least a transaction amount, currency code, and invoice identifier associated with the related electronic transaction; receiving, by a receiving device of the processing server, a set of new hash values, wherein each new hash value is related to an additional electronic transaction, and where each new hash value is generated based on application of one or more hashing algorithms to a transaction amount, currency code, and invoice identifier associated with the respective additional electronic transaction; executing, by a querying module of the processing server, a query on the memory to identify a preceding block of the plurality of blocks included in the blockchain based on data stored in the header included in each respective block; generating, by a generation module of the processing server, a proof of work value based on performing one or more predetermined actions; generating, by the generation module of the processing server, a new block, wherein the new block includes at least a new header and the set of new hash values, and wherein the new header includes at least a reference to the identified preceding block and the generated proof of work value; and electronically transmitting, by a transmitting device of the processing server, the generated new block to one or more computing devices associated with the blockchain.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619