DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 12-17, 20-26, 29-31, 35-37, 39-43, and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harandi (US 5,146,032) in view of Chester (US 4,663,492) and Gayubo (Role of Water in the Kinetic Modeling of Catalyst Deactivation in the MTG Process) alone, or further as evidenced by Liederman (Mobil Methanol to Gasoline Process).
Regarding claims 7, 20-21, 23, 30, 39-40, 43, and 46, Harandi teaches reacting olefin (which reads on the claimed hydrocarbon) with methanol (which reads on the claimed water oxygenate) over a catalyst to form conversion product (column 3, line 55-68; column 5, lines 1-65; column 8, lines 21-40); the catalyst comprising HZSM-5 zeolite and binder (column 6, lines 1-5); the methanol (oxygenate) contains 0-50% water (column 7, lines 55-65); which reads on the claimed range; and conducting the reaction at a temperature of 177-371°C and 4237-20780 kpa (column 8, lines 31-38), which overlaps with the claimed ranges.
Harandi does not explicitly disclose (1) steam treating the catalyst at 450-500°C to increase mechanical strength and ability to operate in superheated steam environment (2) the claimed product properties including the claimed sulfur reduction (3) newly amended limitations regarding water increase.
Regarding (1), Chester teaches steam treating H-ZSM-5 at temperatures of 300-650°C to improve stability of methanol-to-gasoline catalysts (column 3, lines 15-column 4, line 53). Chester further teaches that the steaming creates increased stability and resistance to ageing under oxygenate conversion conditions of elevated temperature and pressure (abstract, column 3, lines 1-5). Examiner considers this to translate to the claimed improved operation in superheated steam environments/strength. It is further expected that the same improvements as claimed would be obtained, since the same steaming at the same temperatures is performed to the same HZSM-5 zeolite used for the same type of methanol to gasoline reaction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have obtained the HZSM-5 required by Harandi by the steam treatment of Chester, since Chester teaches such HZSM-5 zeolites which have been steam treated are well suited to reaction of methanol to form gasoline.
Regarding (2), Harandi teaches the conversion products include gasoline and aromatic hydrocarbons (column 12, lines 24-25). Harandi teaches olefin hydrocarbon feedstock with methanol converted to gasoline products using ZSM-5 (column 1, lines 10-20 and column 5, lines 1-60). Applicant’s instant specification similarly teaches light olefin feedstock with methanol converted to gasoline (page 6, lines 1-18). In this regard, it is expected that the light olefin feed of Harandi would also contain the same sulfur content which is reduced by the methanol to gasoline process, since the same steps are performed to the same feeds as claimed.
The previous combination teaches the same process steps as claimed to produce the same gasoline as claimed, therefore, it is expected that the previous combination would result in the same high octane gasoline having the same reduced sulfur content as claimed. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps in this regard.
Alternatively, Liederman teaches that methanol to gasoline processes produce gasoline products having no detectable impurities such as sulfur (see page 341, column 2).
Therefore, it is expected that the methanol to gasoline process of the previous combination would produce a conversion having product having the same or similar sulfur content as claimed, since Liederman teaches that these processes produce gasoline products that are high quality and do not contain detectable concentrations of sulfur. Examiner additionally notes that while sulfur content is reduced by 84%, the hydrocarbon feed described in the instant specification only contains 0.0063 wt% sulfur (see instant spec, table 2). In this regard, the feed does not have significant amounts of sulfur to be removed. It does not appear that sulfur reduction is a significant part of the reaction. Additionally, the prior art teaches similar olefin feedstocks obtained by similar cracking or pyrolysis processes, and are thus expected to contain similar sulfur contents.
Regarding (3), Harandi teaches the methanol (oxygenate) contains 0-50% water (column 7, lines 55-65). In this regard, Examiner notes that the person having ordinary skill in the art may use the Harandi disclosure to select operating conditions of 0% water or 20% water, which would read on the claimed increase in water content.
Further, Gayubo teaches that it is well known to increase water content in methanol to gasoline reactions in order to reduce catalyst fouling (see page 1561). Gayubo teaches increasing water content results in reduced coke content on catalyst (see figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the Gayubo method of increasing water content, in the methanol to gasoline process of the previous combination, for the benefit of obtaining a decrease in catalyst fouling.
Regarding claims 8 and 31, Chester teaches the steam treatment, as discussed above. Chester teaches using any known binder or matrix in combination with the zeolite (column 4, lines 22-27).
Regarding claims 12-14, 16, 35, and 37, Harandi teaches that the olefin hydrocarbon feed can be derived from thermal or catalytic cracking operations (column 7, lines 55-65).
Regarding claims 15 and 36, Harandi teaches the hydrocarbon feed contains olefins in mixture with paraffins (column 2, lines 10-13 and column 8, lines 1-15). Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to appropriately select the amount of olefins as claimed. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 17, Harandi teaches the methanol feed contains 0-50% water (column 7, lines 55-65), which Examiner considers to overlap with the claimed “up to 70% methanol”.
Regarding claim 22, 24-25, and 41-42, Harandi teaches WHSV of 0.01-100 (column 11, lines 35-45). Harandi teaches pressures of 38-10440 kpa and temperatures of 177-538°C (column 11, lines 26-45). Examiner additionally notes that optimization of process conditions is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 26, Harandi teaches using zeolites having silica/alumina ratio of 25-70 (column 5, lines 1-68), which overlaps with the claimed range for each type of zeolite. Further, Givens teaches aqueous alkaline treatment using sodium oxide, sodium silicate, sodium hydroxide to form zeolites (column 4, lines 1-15), as discussed with respect to claims above.
It further would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used each silica/alumina ratio based off availability or economics.
Regarding claims 29 and 45, Harandi teaches 0-50% water in the methanol stream, combined with olefin feed (column 7, lines 55-65). Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately determined the amounts of each component with respect to each other, in order to obtain the desired gasoline product. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Claims 9 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harandi (US 5,146,032) in view of Chester (US 4,663,492) and Gayubo (Role of Water in the Kinetic Modeling of Catalyst Deactivation in the MTG Process) alone, or further as evidenced by Liederman (Mobil Methanol to Gasoline Process) as applied to claims 8 and 31 above, and further in view of Drake (US 6,077,984).
Regarding claims 9 and 32, the previous combinations teaches the limitations of claims 8 and 31 as discussed above.
Chester teaches using any known binder or matrix in combination with the zeolite (column 4, lines 22-27).
Chester does not explicitly disclose the binder is sodium silicate or alumina.
However, Drake teaches common inorganic binder matrix materials in zeolite based catalysts include sodium silicate and alumina (column 6, lines 30-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the well-known binder materials disclosed by Drake in the catalyst of the previous combination, since they are known binders suitable as per disclosure of Chester.
Claims 10-11 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harandi (US 5,146,032) in view of Chester (US 4,663,492) and Gayubo (Role of Water in the Kinetic Modeling of Catalyst Deactivation in the MTG Process) alone, or further as evidenced by Liederman (Mobil Methanol to Gasoline Process) as applied to claims 7 and 30 above, and further in view of Kuvettu (US 2003/0166453).
Regarding claims 10-11 and 33-34, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claims 7 and 30 as discussed above.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose pseudoboehmite binder.
However, Kevettu teaches a similar ZSM-5 zeolite for producing high octane gasoline [0053], [0064]. Kevettu teaches using pseudoboehmite as the alumina binder in combination with silica [0059-0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the alumina in the Binder of Harandi to be pseuodoboehmite form, since Kevettu teaches such form is suitable in use for zeolites used for producing high octane gasoline.
Claims 18-19, 38, 47-48, 52-60, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harandi (US 5,146,032) in view of Chester (US 4,663,492) and Gayubo (Role of Water in the Kinetic Modeling of Catalyst Deactivation in the MTG Process) alone, or further as evidenced by Liederman (Mobil Methanol to Gasoline Process) as applied to claims 7 and 30 above, and further in view of Xie (US 2007/0038010).
Regarding claims 18-19, 38, 47, 55, and 58, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claims 7 and 30 above.
Harandi teaches that the oxygenate is methanol because it is widely available, but could also include other lower aliphatic alcohols or mixtures thereof (column 4, lines 45-65). Harandi further teaches that the methanol stream may contain 0-50% water (column 7, lines 55-65).
Further, Xie teaches a similar process for reaction of olefins and oxygenate to form gasoline [0002], [0022]. Xie teaches suitable oxygenates including methanol and ethanol.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use ethanol as the lower aliphatic alcohol in mixture with the methanol disclosed by Harandi, since Harandi teaches such mixtures are suitable, and Xie teaches Xie is an example of a lower aliphatic alcohol which can be used for such a purpose. Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the amount of water as disclosed by Harandi, and the amounts of ethanol and methanol based on availability, as disclosed by Harandi.
Regarding claims 48, Chester teaches the steam treatment, as discussed above. Chester teaches the binder comprises sodium silicate and aluminum oxide (column 4, lines 5-50).
Regarding claims 53, Harandi teaches the hydrocarbon feed contains olefins in mixture with paraffins (column 2, lines 10-13 and column 8, lines 1-15). Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to appropriately select the amount of olefins as claimed. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 52 and 54, Harandi teaches that the olefin hydrocarbon feed can be derived from thermal or catalytic cracking operations (column 7, lines 55-65).
Regarding claims 56-57, Harandi teaches the conversion products include gasoline and aromatic hydrocarbons (column 12, lines 24-25).
The previous combination teaches the same process steps as claimed to produce the same gasoline as claimed, therefore, it is expected that the previous combination would result in the same high octane gasoline having the same reduced sulfur content as claimed. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps in this regard.
Regarding claim 59, Harandi teaches WHSV of 0.01-100 (column 11, lines 35-45). Harandi teaches pressures of 38-10440 kpa and temperatures of 177-538°C (column 11, lines 26-45). Examiner additionally notes that optimization of process conditions is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 60, Harandi teaches using zeolites having silica/alumina ratio of 25-70 (column 5, lines 1-68), which overlaps with the claimed range for each type of zeolite. Further, Givens teaches aqueous alkaline treatment using sodium oxide, sodium silicate, sodium hydroxide to form zeolites (column 4, lines 1-15), as discussed with respect to claims above.
It further would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used each silica/alumina ratio based off availability or economics.
Regarding claim 62, Harandi teaches 0-50% water in the methanol stream, combined with olefin feed (column 7, lines 55-65). Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately determined the amounts of each component with respect to each other, in order to obtain the desired gasoline product. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Claims 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harandi (US 5,146,032) in view of Chester (US 4,663,492) and Gayubo (Role of Water in the Kinetic Modeling of Catalyst Deactivation in the MTG Process) alone, or further as evidenced by Liederman (Mobil Methanol to Gasoline Process) and Xie (US 2007/0038010) as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Drake (US 6,077,984).
Regarding claim 49, the previous combinations teaches the limitations of claim 48 as discussed above.
Chester teaches using any known binder or matrix in combination with the zeolite (column 4, lines 22-27).
Chester does not explicitly disclose the binder is sodium silicate or alumina.
However, Drake teaches common inorganic binder matrix materials in zeolite based catalysts include sodium silicate and alumina (column 6, lines 30-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the well-known binder materials disclosed by Drake in the catalyst of the previous combination, since they are known binders suitable as per disclosure of Chester.
Claims 50-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harandi (US 5,146,032) in view of Chester (4,663,492) and Gayubo (Role of Water in the Kinetic Modeling of Catalyst Deactivation in the MTG Process) alone, or further as evidenced by Liederman (Mobil Methanol to Gasoline Process) and Xie (US 2007/0038010) as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Kevettu (US 2003/0166453).
Regarding claims 50-51, the pervious combination teaches the limitations of claim 47 above.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose pseudoboehmite binder.
However, Kevettu teaches a similar ZSM-5 zeolite for producing high octane gasoline [0053], [0064]. Kevettu teaches using pseudoboehmite as the alumina binder in combination with silica [0059-0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the alumina in the Binder of Harandi to be pseuodoboehmite form, since Kevettu teaches such form is suitable in use for zeolites used for producing high octane gasoline.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 October 2025 have been fully considered and are addressed by the updated rejections as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 102513142 – Wang teaches hydrothermal ageing to increase stability of HZSM-5 catalysts in methanol to gasoline reactions
US 3,960,978 – Givens teaches steam treatment of ZSM-5
RU 2372988 – cited in ISR.
Chen (US 4,627,911) – reaction of methanol and gas oil over zsm 5 to make gasoline.
US 10,556,846 – related application.
US 2017/0145317 – related application.
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771