Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1. Applicant’s submission of new claim 72 in the reply filed 8/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 70 is withdrawn for being drawn to non-elected species.
As a result, claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-14, 25-27, 29-36, 41, 51, 64-68 and 71-72 are pending and examined on the merits.
2. The rejections and objections not recited in this action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-14, 25-27, 29-36, 41, 51, 64-68 and 71 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Begemann et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0233756) further in view of Dickey et al. (2015, Genbank Accession AKG12737) and Zetsche et al. (2015 Cell 163:759-771).
Instant claims are drawn to an engineered CRISPR-Cas system comprising 1) a guide RNA, wherein the guide sequence hybridizes with a target sequence adjacent to PAM in a mammanlian cell and directing sequence-specific binding of a CRISPR complex to the target sequence in the mammalian cell; 2)a Cpf1 effector protein, wherein Cpf1 effector comprises a heterologous NLS and wherein the guide RNA forms a CRISPR complex with the Cpf1 effector having at least 95% identity to Moraxella bovoculi AAX11_00205; or the target sequence is within a eukaryotic cell; or wherein the CRISPR complex is capable of cleavage distally of the target sequence; or wherein the PAM comprises a 5’T-rich motif; or wherein the Cpf1 is Moraxella bovoculi AAX11_00205/Mb3Cpf1;or wherein the PAM sequence is TTN and Cpf1 effector is Mb3Cpf; or wherein the nucleic acid encoding the Cpf1 is codon optimized for expression in a eukaryotic cell; or wherein the nucleic acid encoding guide RNA and Cpf1 are on one vector; or a eukaryotic cell/particle comprising the system; or a method of modifying a target locus of interest comprising delivering the system according to claim 1 to the locus; or wherein the cell is a plant/animal cell; or wherein the target locus is a DNA molecule in vitro; or wherein the modification is a strand break; or wherein the strand break is a staggered DNA double strand break with a 4 or 5nt 5’ overhang; or wherein the polynucleotide molecule comprises one regulatory elements operably configured to express the Cpf1 effector and the guide RNA; or wherein target locus is a DNA molecule in vitro ;or wherein the polynucleotide molecule are comprised in a delivery system; or wherein the composition is delivered via a vesicle; or wherein the particle is a metal; or wherein the vesicle comprise liposomes;or wherein the viral vectors comprise adenovirus; or wherein that Cpf1 is a dead Cpf1 (dCpf1) having an inactive RuvC domain which do not cleave double-stranded DNA and that dCpf1 is fused to a transcriptional activation domain.
Begemann et al. teach that a method of modifying a nucleotide sequence at a target site in the genome of a eukaryotic cell comprising: introducing into said eukaryotic cell (i) a DNA-targeting RNA, or a DNA polynucleotide encoding a DNA-targeting RNA, wherein the DNA-targeting RNA comprises: (a) a first segment comprising a nucleotide sequence that is complementary to a sequence in the target DNA; and (b) a second segment that interacts with a Cpf1 or Csm1 polypeptide; and (ii) a Cpf1 or Csm1 polypeptide, or a polynucleotide encoding a Cpf1 or Csm1 polypeptide, wherein the Cpf1 or Csm1 polypeptide comprises: (a) an RNA-binding
portion that interacts with the DNA-targeting RNA; and (b) an activity portion that exhibits site-directed enzymatic activity, and wherein said genome of a eukaryotic
cell is a nuclear, plastid, or mitochondrial genome (claim 1); Begemann et al teach that Cpf1-crRNA complexes can cleave target DNA preceded by a short protospacer-adjacent motif (PAM) that is often T-rich and that Cpf1 can introduce a staggered DNA double-strand break with a 4-5-nt 5’overhang (paragraph [0014]. Begemann et al teach that PAM sequence is TTN (paragraph [0090]). Begemann et al teach that nuclear localization signal is linked to Cfp1 protein (paragraph [0062]). Begemann et al teach that sequence encoding Cfp1 protein is optimized for expression in a plant cell (paragraph [0140]). Begemann et al teach that the nucleic acid encoding guide RNA and Cpf1 are on one vector (paragraph [0080]). Begemann et al teach the gold particle is used for bombardment (paragraph [0247]). Begemann et al teach that the vesicle comprises liposomes (paragraph [0101]) and that the viral vectors comprise adenovirus (paragraph [0063]). Begemann et al teach that Cpf1 is from Moraxella bovoculi 237 (Table 3). Begemann et al teach that Cpf1 have an inactive RuvC domain which do not cleave double-stranded DNA and that dCpf1 is fused to a transcriptional activation domain (paragraph [0018]). Begemann et al teach that the method can be used for transformation of mammals (paragraph [0130]).
Begemann et al do not teach Cpf1 that is at least 90% identical to Cpf1 of Moraxella bovoculi AAX11_00205. Begemann et al do not teach target gene is in an isolated human cell.
Dickey et al. teach Cpf1 protein of Moraxella bovoculi AAX11_00205.
Zetsche et al. teach using Cpf1 to modify target gene in human cell (Figure 7).
Given the knowledge that Cpf1 can be used for genome editing in various organisms including mammalian cells, it would have been obvious for skilled in the art to perform it in human cell as taught in Zetsche et al. It would also have been obvious to try the Cpf1 of Dickey et al. given the teaching of Zetsche et al. that Cpf1 is from Moraxella bovoculi 237 do not work well in human cell and that orthologs from different strains of the same species may work better in human cells(LbCpf1 vs Lb2Cpf1 in Figure 7).
Although the combined teachings do not teach target gene is in an isolated human cell, such limitation is merely considered as an obvious design choice given that a human cell is an obvious option for mammals as taught by Begemann et al (paragraph [0130]).
Although the combined teaching do not teach target locus is a DNA molecule in vitro, such limitation is merely considered as an obvious design choice.
Applicants traverse in the paper filed 8/13/2025. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicants argue that Zetsche et al. that Cpf1 from Moraxella bovoculi 237 of Zetsche et al. has at least 95% sequence identity to instant Cpf1 of SEQ ID NO:792 or 794 whereas LbCpf1 and Lb2Cpf1 only share 41.7% sequence similarity (response, pages 8-9). Therefore there is no motivation to try instant Cpf1 of SEQ ID NO:792 or 794 given that Cpf1 from Moraxella bovoculi 237 of Zetsche et al does not work well in human cell.
The Office contends that it is well established in the art that two homologous Cas9 genes from two different strains of the same species with high sequence homology could still exhibit distinct features given the minor difference in a conserved domain (2019 Sun et al. Molecular Cell 76:938-952).
4. Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-14, 25-27, 29-36, 41, 51, 64-68 and 71 remain and claim 72 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Begemann et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0233756) further in view of Dickey et al. (2015, Genbank Accession AKG12737) and Zetsche et al. (2015 Cell 163:759-771) as for claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-14, 25-27, 29-36, 41, 51, 64-68 and 71, further in view of Crabtree et al. (US 6,171,781).
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-14, 25-27, 29-36, 41, 51, 64-68 and 71 are discussed above. Claim 72 further contains the limitation that the Cpf1 effector protein is fused to at least two heterologous NLSs.
The teachings of Begemann et al further in view of Dickey et al. and Zetsche et al. are discussed above.
The teachings of Begemann et al further in view of Dickey et al. and Zetsche et al. fail to teach that the Cpf1 effector protein is fused to at least two heterologous NLSs.
Crabtree et al. teachan NF-AT polypeptide that is covalently linked to one or two copies of a heterologous NLS results in constitutive nuclear localization (column 33, line 35).
It would have been obvious for skilled in the art to fuse the Cpf1 with two copies of a heterologous NLS according to the teaching of Crabtree et al.. One would have been motivated to do so given the teaching of Crabtree et al. that such modification would results in constitutive nuclear localization.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/LI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662