Claims 27-29, 32, 35-36 and 38 are under consideration in the instant Office Action.
Withdrawn Rejection
The rejection of claim 37 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is moot in view of cancelled claim.
The rejection of claims 36-37 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is moot in view of cancelled claim 37.
The rejection of claims 26-29, 32 and 35 and new claims 36-38 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,958,460 in view of Joyce et al., WO2015/130956 (7/31/2024, PTO-892) and Marquez-Sterling et al., 1997 (4/7/2025 PTO-892) is withdrawn in view of newly amended claims and further consideration.
Modified Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 27-29, 32, 35-36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural correlation without significantly more. The claims recite a natural correlation between neuro-derived vesicles from a subject suspected of having Alzheimer’s disease or another neurological disease wherein the biological sample is obtained from blood and has synaptopodin, synaptotagmin or GAP43 as a biomarker as now claimed in independent claim 36. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claimed method only class for the collection of data and making an observation of the biomarker levels in neuro-derived vesicles from a subject suspected of having Alzheimer’s disease or another neurological disease. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims do not require more than the mere observation of the natural correlation between the levels of biomarkers in neuron-derived vesicles and Alzheimer’s disease or other neurological diseases.
The subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101 of natural products (i.e., whether the claimed product is a non-naturally occurring product of human ingenuity that is markedly different from naturally occurring products) was confirmed by the U.S.
Supreme Court decisions including Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 569 U.S. _, 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, 106 USPQ2d 1972 (2013), and Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc., 566 U.S. _, 132 S. Ct. 1289, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012). "[L]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas"
are not patentable. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U. S. 175, 185 (1981); see also Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U. S. __, __ (2010) (slip op., at 5). "Phenomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work." Gottschalkv. Benson, 409 U. S. 63, 67 (1972).
In brief, in Prometheus, a method of optimizing therapeutic efficacy for treatment
of an immune-mediated gastrointestinal disorder is the focus. This method comprises a) administering 6-thioguanine to patients and b) determining the level of 6-thioguanine in the patients and c) correlate the level of 6-thioguanine, i.e. a certain level/red blood cells, with the decision whether a need for increase or decrease the amount of 6-
thioguanine treatment in said patients.
In Prometheus, the Court found that "[i]f a law of nature is not patentable, neither is a process reciting a law of nature, unless that process has additional features that provide practical assurance that the process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the law of nature itself." Additionally, "conventional or obvious" "[pre]solution activity" is normally not sufficient to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such a law". Flook, 437 U. S., at 590; see also Bilski, 561 U. S., at __ (slip op., at 14) ("[T]he prohibition against patenting abstract ideas 'cannot be circumvented by'.., adding 'insignificant post-solution activity'" (quoting Diehr, supra, at 191-192)).
The Court also summarized their holding by stating "[t]o put the matter more succinctly, the claims inform a relevant audience about certain laws of nature; any additional steps consist of well understood, routine, conventional activity already engaged in by the scientific community; and those steps, when viewed as a whole, add nothing significant beyond the sum of their parts taken separately."
Thus, if the claim recites or involves a judicial exception, such as a law of nature/natural principle or natural phenomenon (e.g., the law of gravity, F=ma, sunlight, barometric pressure, etc.), and/or something that appears to be a natural product (e.g., a citrus fruit, uranium metal, nucleic acid, protein, etc.), then the claim only qualifies as eligible subject matter if the claim as a whole recites something significantly different than the judicial exception itself.
In the instant case, based upon an analysis with respect to the claim as a whole, claims 27-29, 32, 35-36 and 38 are determined to be directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The rationale for this determination is explained below in view of controlling legal precedent set forth in 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (79 FR 74618) dated December 16, 2014 and 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (84 FR 50) dated January 07, 2019.
The instant claims 27-29, 32, 35-36 and 38 encompass a process. (Step 1: Yes).
Next, Step 2, is the two-part analysis from Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test) to determine whether the claim is directed to laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas (the judicially recognized exceptions). (In Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014) the Supreme Court sets forth a two-step test for determining patent eligibility. First, determine if the claims encompass a judicial exception (a natural phenomenon/law of nature/abstract idea). If so, then ask whether the remaining elements/steps, either in isolation or combination with the other non-patent-ineligible elements, are sufficient to ‘“transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.” Id. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297). Put another way, there must be a further “inventive concept” to take the claim into the realm of patent eligibility. Id. at 2355. In the recent Myriad v Ambry case, the CAFC found claims (drawn to methods comprising obtaining tissue samples, analyzing sequences of cDNA and comparing germline sequences of a gene to wild-type sequences) to encompass the abstract mental processes of ‘comparing’ and ‘analyzing’. Recitation of specific techniques (in Myriad claims 7 and 8 further recited hybridization and PCR) were deemed not “enough” to make the claims patent-eligible since the claims contained no otherwise new process. The elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception did nothing more than spell out what practitioners already knew). The instant claims 27-29, 32, 35-36 and 38 encompass obtaining biomarkers in neuro-derived vesicles biological samples from suspected Alzheimer’s subject during pathology of Alzheimer’s disease, the process that is governed by a law of nature (a natural correlation), and thus is a judicial exception. The biomarkers in neuro-derived vesicles biological samples are naturally occurring factors, which, as evidenced by the claims and the specification as filed, are present naturally in AD populations. Thus, the relation between the presence and levels biomarkers in neuro-derived vesicles and pathology of Alzheimer’s disease exists in principle and is a consequence of the ways these factors are metabolized by the body, entirely natural process, a natural phenomenon, and thus a judicial exception (Step 2A/1: Yes).
Next, prong two of Step 2A requires identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s) and evaluating those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. “Integration into a practical application” requires an additional element or combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such as the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. In the instant case, there is no need to administer specific treatment when a patient is identified no matter what levels are reported. Therefore, embodiment of instant claim 36 does not recite any additional elements to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because all the steps of the claimed methods are limited to only those that measure naturally occurring factors during a naturally occurring pathology. (Step 2A/2: No in part). The Court also summarized their holding by stating "[t]o put the matter more succinctly, the claims inform a relevant audience about certain laws of nature; any additional steps consist of well understood, routine, conventional activity already engaged in by the scientific community; and those steps, when viewed as a whole, add nothing significant beyond the sum of their parts taken separately." Thus, if the claim recites or involves a judicial exception, such as a law of nature/natural principle or natural phenomenon (e.g., the law of gravity, F=ma, sunlight, barometric pressure, etc.), and/or something that appears to be a natural product (e.g., a citrus fruit, uranium metal, nucleic acid, protein, etc.), then the claim only qualifies as eligible subject matter if the claim as a whole recites something significantly different than the judicial exception itself.
Finally, claims 27-29, 32, 35-36 and 38 do not recite any elements, or combinations of elements to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception because the active steps of the claims – collecting biological samples, measuring the level of biomarkers in neuron-derived vesicles − represent routine steps that are recited at a high level of generality and encompass well-understood and purely conventional routine techniques in the art, as shown by Goetzl US2015/0119278 (3/13/2024 PTO-892),Joyce et al., WO2015/130956 (7/31/2024, PTO-892) and Marquez-Sterling et al., 1997 (4/7/2025 PTO-892) as discussed below. The claims are ineligible because claims reciting elements/steps in addition to the judicial exception at a high level of generality such that substantially all practical applications of the judicial exception are covered. Claims reciting elements/steps in addition to the judicial exception that are well-understood, purely conventional or routine in the relevant field; that are insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g., are merely appended to the judicial exception(s); and that amount to nothing more than a mere field of use.
Note that recited further biomarkers in instant claim 32 cannot add significantly more to satisfy step 2B (Step 2B: No).
Thus for reasons fully explained above, claims 27-29, 32, 35-36 and 38 not satisfy the requirement of 35 U.S.C. 101 and are therefore rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-29, 32, 35-36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzl US2015/0119278 (3/13/2024 PTO-892) in view of Joyce et al., WO2015/130956 (7/31/2024, PTO-892) and Marquez-Sterling et al., 1997 (4/7/2025 PTO-892).
Goetzl teaches methods of diagnosing or prognosing neurodegenerative disorders in a subject by obtaining biological samples from the subject and measuring the levels of biomarkers wherein the method comprising isolating vesicles from the biological sample (see paragraph 5) as in instant claim 36. Goetzl teaches that vesicles are selected from the group of exosomes, microparticles, macrovesicles, nanosomes, extracellular vesicles, and ectosomes (see paragraph 5) as in instant claim 27. Goetzl teaches that the isolated exosomes are selected from the group consisting of neuron derived exosomes, astrocyte-derived exosomes, oligodendrocyte-derived exosomes, and microglia-derived exosomes (see paragraph 5) as in instant claim 28. Goetzl teaches that the level of one or more biomarkers is the protein, phosphorylated protein, mRNA, or miRNA level of the one or more biomarker (see paragraph 5) as in instant claim 29. Goetzl teaches that the samples are selected from whole blood, serum, plasma, urine and cerebrospinal fluid (see paragraph 5) as in instant claims 36 and 38. Goetzl teaches that the isolating vesicles from a biological sample comprises: contacting the biological sample with an agent under conditions wherein a vesicle present in said biological sample binds to said agent to form a vesicle-agent complex; and isolating said vesicle from said vesicle-agent complex to obtain a sample containing said vesicle, wherein the vesicles present in said sample is greater than the vesicles present in said biological sample (see paragraph 6) as in instant claim 36. Goetzl teaches that at least one of the one or more biomarkers are selected from the group consisting of Tau, phosphorylated Tau, Ab1-42, TDP-43,a-synuclein, SOD-1, FUS, FKBP51, IRS-1, phosphorylated IRS-1, cathepsin D (CTSD), type 1 lysosome-associated membrane protein (LAMP1), ubiquitinylated proteins (UBP), heat-shock protein 70 (HSP70), neuron-specific enolase (NSE), neurofilament light chain (NFL), CD9, CD63, CD81, and CD171 (see paragraph 6) as in instant claim 32.
Goetzl teaches that the agent is an antibody and that the antibody is a monoclonal anti human NCAM antibody; a monoclonal CD171 antibody; a monoclonal anti-human CD171 antibody; a monoclonal CD9 antibody; a monoclonal CD63 antibody; and a monoclonal CD81 antibody (see paragraph 6) as in instant claims 36 and 32. Goetzl teaches that the biomarker is measured by a method selected from the group consisting of immunohistochemistry, immunocytochemistry, immunofluorescence, immunoprecipitation, western blotting, and ELISA (see paragraphs 39 and 45) as in instant claim 35. Goetzl does not specifically teach the required biomarker of claim 36, synaptopodin, synaptotagmin or GAP43.
Joyce teaches methods for isolating, measuring, detecting and analyzing extracellular vesicles, such as exosomes, which contain biomarkers including peptides, protein and or nucleic acids that indicate brain diseases like Alzheimer’s disease (see paragraphs 2, 10, 14, 17, 41, 253, 277) as in instant claims 27 and 29. Joyce teaches that the exosomes are derived specifically from brain cells (see paragraph 2, 277) and reads on the exosomes of claim 28 since neurons, astrocytes, oligodendrocytes and microglia are all brain derived cells. Joyce also teaches that the antigens on the exosomes include tau, beta amyloid, neurons specific enolase, NFL and synaptophysin (see paragraph 2, 17, 41, 236, 277, 286) as in instant claim 32. Joyce teaches that the biological samples include whole blood, plasma and serum (see paragraphs 40, 207, 253, 277, 286 ) as in instant claims 36 and 38. Joyce teaches using enzyme linked assay like and ELISA for quantitative analysis of the amount of a biomarker (see paragraphs 159, 189-190, 198) as in instant claim 35. Joyce teaches that biomarker synaptophysin is found in exosomes isolated from biological samples that include blood, serum or plasma and are biomarkers for diseases like Alzheimer’s diseases as in instant claims 36, 27-28. Joyce does not specifically teach the required biomarker of claim 36, synaptopodin, synaptotagmin or GAP43.
Marquez-Sterling teaches that vesicles purified from brains have the recycling synaptic vesicle integral membrane proteins synaptophysin, synaptotagmin and SV2 (see abstract) as in instant claim 36. Marquez-Sterling teaches that the APP protein that is a precursor to amyloid beta in internalized with recycling synaptic vesicle integral membrane proteins (see page 140, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph). Marquez-Sterling teaches immunoisolation of synaptic vesicle using synaptophysin beads and immunocytochemistry to detect synaptophysin, synaptotagmin and SV2 proteins (see page 143, 2nd column and page 144, 2nd column, 1st paragraph) as in instant claims 36 and 35. Marquez-Sterling does not teach the instantly claimed method.
It would have been prima facie obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Goetzl, Joyce and Marquez-Sterling. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because both Goetzl and Joyce teach methods of measuring biomarker levels to determine the status of an Alzheimer’s patient and Marquez-Sterling teaches that synaptophysin, synaptotagmin and SV2 are biomarkers used to identify synaptic vesicles. Therefore, it would be obvious to use the synaptophysin, synaptotagmin and SV2 biomarker taught by Joyce and Marquez-Sterling since Joyce teaches that this biomarker is linked to AD diagnosis as are the methods and biomarkers taught by Goetzl. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to combine biomarkers known to be effective in diagnosing AD and identify synaptic vesicles and would have expected the combination of biomarkers be at least as good as biomarkers alone. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references.
New Rejection Necessitated by Amendment
Double Patenting
Claims 26-29, 32, 35-36 and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,566,183 (previously 17/645,058) in view of Joyce et al., WO2015/130956 (7/31/2024, PTO-892). ‘183 claims a method of analyzing a sample from a subject by obtaining a biological sample comprising vesicles from a subject, (ii) isolating vesicles from the biological sample, and (iii) detecting one or more biomarkers from the isolated vesicles, wherein at least one of the one or more biomarkers is selected from the group NRGN, Tau, phosphorylated Tau, synaptophysin, αβ-42, alpha-synuclein (SNCA), AchE, LAMP1, REST, SYT, SYP, SYNPO, PSD95, SV2A, CCL2, IL34, GYS, OR, DR6, HSP, IL12b, Aβ, and BACE. Note that synaptotagmin (SYT), synaptophysin (SYP), synaptopodin (SYNPO) are part of the list of biomarkers as in the instant claim 36. ‘183 also claim the vesicles are selected from the group consisting of neuron-derived exosomes, astrocyte-derived exosomes, oligodendrocyte-derived exosomes, and microglia-derived exosomes; wherein the isolating vesicles from a biological sample comprises: contacting the biological sample with an agent under conditions wherein a vesicle present in said biological sample binds to said agent to form a vesicle-agent complex; and isolating said vesicle from said vesicle-agent complex to obtain a sample containing said vesicle and wherein the detection of one or more biomarkers is the detection of protein, phosphorylated protein, mRNA, or miRNA of the one or more biomarkers. These limitations read on the instant claims except that they do not claim a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s or blood biological samples as in instant claims 36 and 38. Joyce make up for that deficiency. Joyce teaches biofluid markers for Alzheimer’s disease, a neurodegenerative disease (see abstract and paragraphs 14, 18). Joyce teaches that the exosomes are derived specifically from brain cells (see paragraph 2, 277) and reads on the exosomes of claim 28 since neurons, astrocytes, oligodendrocytes and microglia are all brain derived cells. Joyce also teaches that the antigens on the exosomes include tau, beta amyloid, neurons specific enolase, NFL and synaptophysin (see paragraph 2, 17, 41, 236, 277, 286) as in instant claim 32. Joyce teaches that the biological samples include whole blood, plasma and serum (see paragraphs 40, 207, 253, 277, 286 ) as in instant claims 36 and 38. Joyce teaches using enzyme linked assay like and ELISA for quantitative analysis of the amount of a biomarker (see paragraphs 159, 189-190, 198) as in instant claim 35. Joyce teaches that biomarker synaptophysin is found in exosomes isolated from biological samples that include blood, serum or plasma and are biomarkers for diseases like Alzheimer’s diseases as in instant claims 36, 27-28. The combination of ‘183 and Joyce teach methods of measuring biomarker levels to determine the status of an Alzheimer’s patient. Therefore, it would be obvious to use the synaptotagmin and synaptophysin biomarkers taught by Joyce since the references teach that these biomarkers are linked to identifying synaptic vesicles and are linked to AD diagnosis as are the methods and biomarkers taught by ‘183. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to combine biomarkers known to be effective in diagnosing AD and would have expected the combination of biomarkers be at least as good as biomarkers alone.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. Applicant argues that the 101 rejection is not supported because the new limitations of instant claim 36 requires unconventional physical steps and does not merely provide steps to observe or detect. This is not found persuasive because applicant does not provide any evidence besides their statement of unconventional steps. As set forth in the 101 rejection and in the 103 obvious rejection above, the physical steps required in the instant claims to observe the natural correlation are routine and conventional in the prior art and therefore, are not substantially or markedly different from what is taught in the prior art. The Court also summarized their holding by stating "[t]o put the matter more succinctly, the claims inform a relevant audience about certain laws of nature; any additional steps consist of well understood, routine, conventional activity already engaged in by the scientific community; and those steps, when viewed as a whole, add nothing significant beyond the sum of their parts taken separately." Thus, the assertion that claim 36 requires unconventional physical steps and does not merely provide steps to observe or detect cannot be accepted since the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997). There is no evidence of record that supports this assertion.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The combination of teachings in the prior art point to the fact that the claimed biomarkers as taught by the references Goetzl and Joyce are known to be found in whole blood, serum and plasma. Joyce teaches that the biomarker synaptophysin is found in exosomes isolated from biological samples that include blood, serum or plasma and are biomarkers for diseases like Alzheimer’s diseases. Since Marquez-Sterling teaches immunoisolation of synaptic vesicle using synaptophysin beads and immunocytochemistry to detect synaptophysin, synaptotagmin and SV2 proteins (see page 143, 2nd column and page 144, 2nd column, 1st paragraph), it speaks to the idea that all of these biomarkers are found in whole blood, serum and plasma like the other biomarkers required in this type of assay. The combination of these teachings clearly show that one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation to look for all of these biomarkers in in whole blood, serum and plasma with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further, applicant’s argument that the Joyce reference does not contain empirical data is not found persuasive because Joyce clearly suggest that these biomarkers are found in the requires samples. Further, the Goetzl reference teaches methods of diagnosing or prognosing neurodegenerative disorders in a subject by obtaining biological samples from the subject and measuring the levels of biomarkers wherein the method comprising isolating vesicles from the biological sample (see paragraph 5) and that the samples are selected from whole blood, serum, plasma, urine and cerebrospinal fluid. Joyces teachings are not separate and isolated from the prior art but set forth in view of what is known in the prior art and what would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and would be found reasonable in view of what is disclosed in the prior art. Examples may be “working” or “prophetic” as long as there reasonable exaptation of success provided by the teachings in the prior art, as already show above. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Advisory Information
/AURORA M FONTAINHAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675