DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed 4/23/2026.
Claims 30, 32--35 are pending. Claims 1-29, 31 have been cancelled.
The following rejections for claims 30, 32-35 are modified or newly applied (35 USC 112b) as necessitated by amendment. Response to arguments is provided below.
This action is FINAL.
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 USC 112b and 35 USC 103 made in the previous office action are withdrawn based upon amendments of the claims.
Newly Applied Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30, 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 30, 32-35 are indefinite over the steps of claim 30. Step b recites “comparing each value obtained at step a) for said density values”. It is not clear if density values are different from the density that is measured in step a. Step b requires comprising density values with a corresponding distribution of values obtained for that density value from a reference group. It is not clear what the “corresponding” distribution of values. Are the claims encompassing a particular set of distribution of values? Step c states determining for each density value of the percentile of distribution to which the value obtained correspond, however, it is not clear what the “determining” is encompassing. It is not clear if the claims are intending to determine which of the values are closed to particular distribution, or the same as particular distribution or the relationship.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30, 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galon et al. (US Patent Application 2014/0363472 December 11, 2014 cited on previous PTO 892) in view of Lavotshkin et al (J. Gastrointest Surg March 2015 vol 19 p. 999)
With regard to claim 30, Galon et al. measuring the density of CD8 and CD3 cells in the invasive margin of the tumor and the center (Paragraphs 47-53, figure 1). Galon et al. teaches that the human patient has solid cancer (para 5). Galon et al. teaches invitro measurement of a solid tumor sample (para 62). Although Galon et al. does not teach specifically that the percentile of distribution, Galon et al does teach calculating the mean density (para 62-64). Galon et al. teaches comparison to a reference group to determine survival prognosis (para 5 and 30-35). As the percentile is between 0% to 100% any survival prognosis would be encompassed. Galon et al. teaches percents of survival that includes means that are between 25 to 100% (table 11 and para 65-68). Although Galon et al does not teach administering treatment, Galon suggests such a step. Galon et al. suggests that the method of determining survival time can be used to determine the effectiveness of anticancer treatments (para 42). Galon suggests that with responders to treatment would be associated with good prognosis of survival and determining use of chemotherapy (para 42). Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that a patient could be provided and administered anti-cancer treatment wherein there is an improved survival prognosis based upon the density of CD3 and CD8 cells in the invasive margin of a tumor sample as the treatment would reduce the tumor cells in patients responding to treatment.
With regard to claims 33, Galon et al. teaches that the solid cancer is colorectal cancer (para 58).
With regard to claims 34-35, Galon et al. teaches density at the lowest and highest of the region (para 18-22).
With regard to claim 30, Galon et al. does not specifically teach the amended limitans of calculating density value, comparison to distribution, calculating a mean and determining rather to administer a treatment. However, the prior art teaches such calculation methodology. Lavotshkin et al teaches the use of immunoscores data calculations (p. 1000 1st column). Lavotshkin et al teaches comparing distributions to percentages and then calculating a mean average (figure 2, 4, 1000-1001).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Galon et al. to use known biostatistical methodologies including immunoscore as taught by Lavotshkin et al. Lavotshkin et al cites that this score was developed by the inventor Galon et al and as such the scoring method would be known to the primary reference. It would be obvious to modify Galon to use known biostatistical analysis based upon the suggestion in Galon et al to screen for treatment. Furthermore Lavotshkin et al. teaches that one can used these density values in a calculation method to determine treatment.
Response to Arguments and Declaration
The reply and declaration traverse the rejection. A summary of the arguetmsn and statements in the declaration is set forth below.
The reply asserts that to arrive at the claimed method one would have to discard the outcome optimized cut off model and substituted 4 markers into a percentile relative to a reference distributing and combined in percentile specie into a single treatment driving score (p. 6).
The declaration states that for each of the four density values that the claims require comparison with a distribution of values and determination of the percentile of distribution and then calculation of mean or median (p. 1-2). The declaration states that that Galon does not teach percentile of distribution as this term does not mean a survival percentage and a mean density is not a mean of percentiles (p. 2). The declaration states that Galon teaches a different prognostic framework based upon high and low assignments and the cut offs are based on the patients disease free survival using median and minimum P value (p. 2). The declaration asserts that Galon is directed to an outcome anchored approach which is different from the percentile based workflow of the current invention (p. 2-3). Further the declaration states that Galon generally contemplates treatment but there is no percentile conversion and percentile aggregation methodology (p. 4). The declaration provides two publications for confirmatory evidence of the reliability and accuracy (p. 4-5). The declaration asserts that the publications validate the same percentile based architecture (p. 5).
The arguments and declaration have been reviewed but have not been found persuasive.
The ordinary artisan would be motivated to modify methods of data collection and statistical determinations. The reply asserts that one would not want to discard an outcome of cut off modules for percentile relative to reference, however, Lavotshkin et al teaches that this data measurements has be consistently demonstrated to be predictably correlative (p. 1001). Although it is agreed that Galon et al. does not teach the new amended steps, in combination with Lavotshkin et al. the combination teaches the combination of measurement. Further it is noted that the publications presented are not of record, post filing, and are not limited to the same detection steps of the claimed method.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682