DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the 7/15/2026 amendment to claim 1 incorrectly deleted the word “member” in line 9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata (JP H03272678) in view of Konishi (US 20160355774) and Van Wezel (US 4888294).
With respect to claims 1, 5 and 24, Ogata discloses a perfusion apparatus comprising a bioreactor having a rotatable shaft (Figure 1:41) connected to an impeller (Figure 1:42) and a motor (Figure 1:44). Ogata teaches that the bioreactor may have a diameter of approximately 220 mm. Figure 1 depicts the bioreactor as having a height approximately equal to the diameter and a cylindrical shape, and therefore it is understood that the bioreactor may have a volume of about 4 L. Regardless, it is prima facie obvious to adjust bioreactor volume to arrive at a desired value, especially within the broad range of 3 L to 2,000 L. A hollow tubular member for perfusing the fluid from the bioreactor is provided, wherein the hollow tubular member has a first end defining a first opening and a second and opposite end defining a second opening. A filter member (Figure 1:5b) is located and directly attached to the second end of the hollow tubular member, such that the filter member completely surrounds and encloses the second opening. The second end of the hollow tubular member, which is connected to filter member 5b, is configured as an opening for withdrawing fluid from the reactor (“culture medium is collected through the culture medium filter 5b”, see English translation provided 09 Oct 2024). Ogata, however, does not expressly teach the claimed dimensions relating to the configuration of the hollow tubular member and filter member.
Konishi discloses a perfusion apparatus comprising a bioreactor having a hollow tubular member (Figure 4:17) for perfusion fluid from the bioreactor. Paragraph [0098] states that the hollow tubular member has a diameter from about 2 mm to about 40 mm and a second open end (Figure 4:17b), wherein the second end 17b is defined by a straight section. At least Figures 1 and 4 show that the straight section at the second end has a length greater than the length of the bioreactor. A first open end of the hollow tubular member interfaces with a pump (Figure 1:10). A filter member (Figure 4:21) is directly attached to the straight section at the second end and completely surrounds and encloses the second opening. This is shown in at least Figs. 1-6. From the Figures, it is apparent that the surface area of the filter member is significantly greater than the cross-sectional area of the second opening, such that the ratio between the cross-sectional area of the second opening and the surface area of the filter member is between about 1:20 to about 1:200. More specifically, Konishi discusses dimensions for the second opening (diameter of 1.8 mm) and the filter member (diameter of 8 mm; length of 15 mm) that would put the ratio at about 1:150. Paragraphs [0093] and [0104] teach that the hollow tubular member is configured to withdraw fluid medium from the bioreactor at a flow rate of at least 50% of the bioreactor volume per day.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Ogata bioreactor includes a hollow tubular member having a diameter from 2-40 mm and a filter member that has a surface area at least 20 times greater than the cross-sectional area of the second opening of the tubular member. Konishi teaches that these dimensions are common in the bioreactor art where a filter member is used to treat withdrawn perfusion fluid. Mere changes in size or shape that do not substantially affect device operation, or do so in a predictable, art-recognized manner, are considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04. Konishi further teaches that hollow tubular members and filter members of these sizes and shapes are suitable for withdrawing at least 50% of the bioreactor volume per day, which provides effective transfer of nutrients and oxygen to growing cells and removal of waste products.
With respect to the limitation “wherein the hollow tubular member defining at least one straight section includes a first straight section, a second straight section, and an angled straight section…”, Ogata shows that the hollow tubular member includes a first straight section, a second straight section, and an angled section between the first and second straight section. The angled section functions to direct the hollow tubular member and filter member downward so that they do not contact the rotating shaft and impeller at the center of the bioreactor.
Although Ogata shows that the 2nd vertical axis is parallel to the vertical axis of the bioreactor, Ogata does not depict that the 1st straight section is also parallel to a vertical axis of the bioreactor. Ogata does not show that the angled section form an angle of 20°-60° with each of the first and second straight sections.
Van Wezel discloses a perfusion apparatus comprising a bioreactor having a volume of approximately 3 L (see Tables I and II). A filter member (Figure 6:62,64) is used to treat fluid as it is removed from the bioreactor via a hollow tubular member (Figure 6:5). The hollow tubular member 5 is shown to include a first straight section, an angled section, and a second straight section, wherein the first and second straight sections are parallel to a vertical axis of the bioreactor. Another hollow tubular member 4 is shown to include a first straight section, an angled section, and a second straight section, wherein the first and second straight sections are parallel to a vertical axis of the bioreactor. Both of these hollow tubular members are characterized by an angled section that communicates with the first and second straight sections at an angle of approximately 45 degrees.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to orient the Ogata hollow tubular member such that it includes a first straight section and a second straight section that are both parallel to a vertical axis of the bioreactor. As evidenced by Van Wezel, it is well within the ability of one of ordinary skill to connect and position hollow tubular members in a bioreactor to produce a variety of different fluid flow configurations. More specifically, Van Wezel shows how hollow tubular members may be vertically oriented and include angled sections to avoid contact with other bioreactor elements. Mere changes in design (such as the provision of 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc. vertical straight sections) that produce a predictable and known effect on device operation are considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
With respect to the limitation requiring that the filter member is “at a location adjacent to a bottom surface of the bioreactor”, it is noted that Konishi recommends that the filter member be disposed at such a position in order to improve the removal of fluid from the bioreactor. Paragraph [0066] of Konishi states that “[t]he filter 21 may be in contact with the bottom 15b of the culture tank 15. When the filter 21 is in contact with the bottom 15b, the vicinity of the center of the bottom is occupied by the filter 21. This configuration eliminates a space for stagnation of the solution flow in the vicinity of the center of the bottom due to rotation of the culture solution and prevents precipitation of cell aggregations and the like, which has increased in specific gravity with cell proliferation, in the vicinity of the center of the bottom”. Therefore, those of ordinary skill would have been motivated to provide the Ogata filter member at a location adjacent to a bottom surface of the bioreactor through known means, such as by extending the length of the hollow tubular member. Again, mere changes in shape and size that produce a predictable and known effect on device operation are considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
With respect to claim 6, the cited references disclose the combination as described above. Konishi further teaches in paragraph [0052] the hollow tubular member is made at least in part from stainless steel
With respect to claim 7, the cited references disclose the combination as described above. The Ogata device may be configured as a single-use reactor.
Claims 2-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata (JP H03272678) in view of Konishi (US 20160355774) and Van Wezel (US 4888294) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Larsen (9376655).
With respect to claims 2-4, the cited references disclose the combination as described above, however do not teach a filter member pore size between 60-150 microns.
Larsen discloses a perfusion apparatus comprising a hollow tubular member (Figure 3:151) having a first upper end defining a first opening and a second lower end that is opposite the first end and defines a second opening. A filter member (Figure 3:170) is attached to the second end of the hollow tubular member and completely surrounds and encloses the second opening. This is described in at least column 6, line 8 to column 8, line 12. Larsen further teaches in at least column 7, lines 9-31 that the filter member comprises a porous mesh that is characterized by a pore size as great as 100 microns.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Ogata filter member has a porous mesh with an average pore size between 60-150 microns. Larsen teaches that pores of this size are effective for allowing individual cells to pass through while retaining larger beads, spheres and other cell carriers. Larsen states that this is important because it allows the cell carriers to be isolated, collected and re-used.
With respect to claim 8, the cited references disclose the combination as described above. Konishi and Larsen additionally teach hollow tubular members made from plastics. Thermoplastic polymers (e.g., acrylic, polyester, polypropylene, polystyrene, nylon and Teflon) are well known in the art, and it would have been obvious to use any of them when making the Ogata hollow tubular member. Larsen additionally teaches in at least column 7, lines 9-31 that the filter member includes a polyamide mesh.
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata (JP H03272678) in view of Konishi (US 20160355774) and Van Wezel (US 4888294) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Coleman (3647397).
The cited references disclose the combination as described above, however, do not appear to show a third straight section that extends at an angle from the second straight section and parallel to the bottom surface of the bioreactor to place the filter member below the impeller.
Coleman discloses a perfusion apparatus comprising a reactor (Figure 4:90) and a hollow tubular member (Figure 4:92) having a first opening and a second opening. The second opening is attached to a filter member (Figure 4:20) and is configured to withdraw fluid medium from the reactor. Coleman shows in Figs. 3 and 4, for example, that the hollow tubular member may be flexible and arranged in a variety of shapes, including those that produce at least first, second and third straight sections separated by angled sections. Coleman shows in Figs. 3 and 4 that a third straight section may extend parallel to the bottom of the reactor in order to position the filter member 20 at a central location. Coleman indicates that this facilitates the removal of mixed fluid from the reactor (“As is desired the filter 20 is positioned at the bottom of the inner container at a position at the other extreme from closure 96 in order to permit full withdrawal of the mixed reagent solution”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to use additional (i.e., third) straight and angled sections to locate the Ogata filter member at the bottom of the bioreactor and underneath the impeller. Konishi and Coleman each indicate that this would permit full withdrawal of fluid in the reactor while also preventing settling and agglomeration of particles at the reactor bottom. Coleman shows how it is well within the ability of one of ordinary skill to experiment with the shape of the hollow tubular member to arrive at a variety of configurations, including those that extend the hollow tubular member down a sidewall of the reactor and then angle the hollow tubular member inward from the sidewall at an approximately 90° angle toward the center of the reactor such that the hollow tubular member includes a section that is parallel to a bottom reactor surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant primarily argues that Van Wezel relies on centrifugal action to prevent cells from entering the outlet pipe rather than using a filter member. In response, it is noted that the primary reference to Ogata already teaches a hollow tubular member comprising a filter member. Konishi also shows a hollow tubular member comprising a filter member. Van Wezel is instead relied on for teaching an alternative shape for forming the hollow tubular member. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant also states that Van Wezel fails to disclose locating a filter member at a location adjacent to a bottom surface of the bioreactor. Although this is true, the rejection of record relies on Konishi for teaching this feature. Konishi recommends that the filter member be disposed at a position adjacent to the bottom of the reactor in order to improve removal of fluid from the bioreactor. Paragraph [0066] of Konishi states that “[t]he filter 21 may be in contact with the bottom 15b of the culture tank 15. When the filter 21 is in contact with the bottom 15b, the vicinity of the center of the bottom is occupied by the filter 21. This configuration eliminates a space for stagnation of the solution flow in the vicinity of the center of the bottom due to rotation of the culture solution and prevents precipitation of cell aggregations and the like, which has increased in specific gravity with cell proliferation, in the vicinity of the center of the bottom”.
Conclusion
This is a non-final rejection.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799