DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final office is a response to the papers filed on 10/16/2018.
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hikosaka (Pub. No. 2017/0201102 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hikosaka discloses:
An energy storage system for storing potential energy and providing a regulated output of electrical energy for powering an electrical load (see Fig. 1A, electricity storage 10, see Fig. 5A-5D), the system comprising:
an array of storage capacitors including a plurality of storage capacitors coupled in series (see Fig. 1A, electricity storage 10, see Fig. 5A-5D);
a balance control device operative to balance a voltage on each of the storage capacitors in the array (see Fig. 1A, electricity storage 10, controller 50, see par [0007]);
an input control device adapted to receive an electrical power source input, wherein the input control device is operative to (see Fig. 1A, power source 21):
charge the array of storage capacitors (see par [0002-0003], see par [0006-0009]);
isolate the power source input from the array of storage capacitors when the input voltage falls below a total voltage of the storage capacitor array (see Fig. 1A, switch 23, see Fig. 6, S104, par [0058-0060]); and
isolate the power source input from the array of storage capacitors when the input voltage is above a maximum total voltage of the of the storage capacitor array (see Fig. 1A, switch 23, see Fig. 6, S111, par [0058-0066]);
an output power supply device having an input coupled to the storage capacitor array and operative to provide regulated power to an electrical load (see Fig. 1A, see par [0054], see par [0067-0068], self-discharge of the electricity storage elements….); and
a power monitor device operative to electrically decouple the storage capacitor array from the electrical load when the total voltage of the storage capacitor array falls below a preset minimum level (see par [0090-0091], a terminal voltage difference between the electricity storage elements forming the parallel section P falls to or below a predetermine valued…, see par [0110]).
Regarding claim 2, Hikosaka discloses:
wherein the array of storage capacitors includes a plurality of capacitors coupled in parallel (see Fig. 1A, electricity storage 10, see Fig. 5A-5D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikosaka (Pub. No. 2017/0201102 A1) further in view of Notscj (Pub. No. 2017/0085183 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hikosaka fails to disclose:
wherein the output power supply is configured to provide regulated DC output power at a voltage greater than the total voltage of the storage capacitor array.
Thus, Notsci discloses:
wherein the output power supply is configured to provide regulated DC output power at a voltage greater than the total voltage of the storage capacitor array (see par [0155], buck converter 1810 decreases its duty cycle and powerates in reverse (boost) operation ….. capacitor Cstore to capacitor Cout …., see par [0175], see par [00195], a switched mode DC-DC converter and may operate in a buck mode when power is being transferred to secondary side energy storage 3006 from load 3002, and may operate in a boost mode when ….).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified a two terminal circuit of Hikosaka to include an boost regulator in order to get output voltage higher than the total voltage of the storage capacitor (see Notsci par [00195]).
Regarding claim 4, Notsci to discloses:
wherein the output power supply is configured to provide regulated DC output power at a voltage that is less than the total voltage of the storage capacitor array (see par [0155], buck converter 1810 decreases its duty cycle and powerates in reverse (boost) operation ….. capacitor Cstore to capacitor Cout …., see par [0175], see par [00195], a switched mode DC-DC converter and may operate in a buck mode when power is being transferred to secondary side energy storage 3006 from load 3002, and may operate in a boost mode when ….).
Regarding claim 5, Notsci to discloses:
wherein the output power supply is operative to convert DC power from the storage capacitor array to regulated AC output power (see Fig. 13B, see par [0136]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN NGO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851