DETAILED ACTION
This is the eighth Office action on the merits of the claims.
All citations to the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) refer to Revision 01.2024, which was released in November 2024.
Status of the Claims
In the Reply filed 20 January 2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 25, 27, and 38. Claims 2-5, 8-13, and 32 were previously cancelled by Applicant. Claims 1, 6-7, 14-31, and 33-38 are pending.
Status of the Objections and Rejections
The objections to claims 1, 6-7, 14-31, and 33-38 set forth in the previous Office action (20 October 2025) are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s recent amendments.
The rejection of claims 1, 6-7, 14-31, 33-34, and 38 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayaswal (US 2016/0279048 A1), as evidenced by Bailey (US 2006/0120988 A1), is maintained. Applicant’s arguments are considered in paragraphs 23-27 of this Office action.
The rejection of claims 35-37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayaswal (US 2016/0279048 A1) in view of Bailey (US 2006/0120988 A1) is maintained. Applicant’s arguments are considered in paragraphs 34-38 of this Office action.
The provisional rejection of claims 1, 6-7, 14-31, and 33-38 on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of co-pending Application No. 15/962,327 in view of Jayaswal (US 2016/0279048 A1) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 14-31, 33-34, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayaswal (US 2016/0279048 A1), as evidenced by Bailey (US 2006/0120988 A1).
Jayaswal is directed to hair care compositions that comprise a combination of cationic deposition polymers (para. [0001]).
In Table 1, which is located immediately below paragraphs [0091] and [0100], Jayaswal discloses ten exemplary hair care formulations. Example 10, which is especially relevant to the claims of the present application, comprises 14 wt% sodium laureth sulfate (anionic surfactant), 0.5 wt% climbazole (soluble antidandruff agent), and 0.15 wt% hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride HD1 (cationic polymer). Regarding limitation (a) of claim 1 of the present application, the examiner notes that sodium laureth sulphate is the only species of anionic alkyl sulfate or alkyl ether sulfate included in Example 10 of Jayaswal. Therefore, the concentration range recited in limitation (a) is satisfied.
In paragraph [0087], Jayaswal identifies HD1 as “a high charge density (HD) cationic guar made by Rhodia which has a molecular weight of 1,200,000 g/mol and a cationic charge density of 1.4 meq/g” (emphasis added). The molecular weight of HD1 is overlapped by the corresponding range recited in claim 1, at line 2 of limitation (c). MPEP § 2144.05(I) (“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”). However, the charge density of HD1 is below the minimum of the corresponding range recited in claim 1, which is 1.7 meq/g. See line 3 of limitation (c). Nevertheless, Jayaswal more broadly discloses that “[t]he first cationically-modified guar polymer suitably has a charge density of at least 1.2 meq per gram, preferably from 1.3 to 1.8 meq per gram.” (Emphasis added) Para. [0043]. Both the foregoing broader ranges are overlapped by the corresponding range recited in claim 1, which requires a charge density of 1.7 to 2.2 meq/g. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”). It is important to recognize that “[a] reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments.” MPEP § 2123(I); see also MPEP § 2123(II) (“Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments.”).
Regarding the “deposition efficiency” functional limitation, the examiner notes that Jayaswal discloses, in paragraph [0005], that “the hair care composition of the present invention demonstrates unaffected deposition efficiency of antidandruff actives onto scalp which indicates it can also be used for antidandruff purposes.” Moreover, Bailey evidences that cationic guar assists in depositing water-soluble antidandruff agents onto the scalp (paras. [0034] and [0030]-[0032]). This provides a sound basis for the examiner’s position that the deposition efficiency functional limitation is satisfied. MPEP § 2112(V) (“once a reference teaching a product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant”).
Therefore, claims 1, 6-7, 15-16, 18-22, and 27-28 are prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 14, Jayaswal discloses that the “n” value of the sodium laureth sulphate is from 1 to 3 (para. [0072]).
Regarding claim 17, Example 10 comprises 1.6 wt% cocoamidopropyl betaine (Table 1), which is an amphoteric or zwitterionic surfactant (para. [0075]).
Regarding claims 23-24, Example 10 comprises 0.6 wt% carbomer, which is an acrylic acid polymer (Table 1).
Regarding claims 25-26, Jayaswal discloses that “[s]uitable antidandruff agents include compounds selected from azole based antifungal agents, octopirox, metal pyrithione salts, selenium sulfide and mixtures thereof” (para. [0079]). The examiner notes that octopirox is a tradename for piroctone olamine (INCI).
Regarding claims 29-31 and 33-34, Example 10 comprises 1.0 wt% zinc pyrithione (Table 1).
Regarding claim 38, under the principle of broadest reasonable interpretation, the phrase “having branched alkyl chains” modifies the “alkyl ether sulfates” only. It does not further modify or otherwise limit the “alkyl sulfates,” which are recited earlier in the Markush group of limitation (a). MPEP § 2111 (“During patent examination, the pending claims must be ‘given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.’”). With this in mind, the examiner notes that Jayaswal identifies sodium lauryl sulphate as a preferred anionic surfactant (para. [0070]). In the alternative, Jayaswal teaches as follows, in regard to the anionic alkyl sulfates and anionic alkyl ether sulfates defined in paragraph [0071]: “Most preferably R2 has 12 to 14 carbon atoms, in a linear rather than branched chain.” Emphasis added. Thus, Jayaswal teaches that branched anionic alkyl sulfates and anionic alkyl ether sulfates are suitable. MPEP § 2144.07 (the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness). It is important to acknowledge that “[a] reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments.” MPEP § 2123(I); see also MPEP § 2123(II) (“Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments.”). The charge density of HD1 in Example 10 of Jayaswal is 1.4 meq/g (para. [0087]), which is close enough to the minimum charge density of 1.5 meq/g recited in limitation (c) of claim 38 to establish prima facie obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (“Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close.”). Applicant is referred above, to paragraphs 13-15 of this Office action, for a detailed discussion of Example 10 that addresses the remaining limitations recited in claim 38, which are recited also in claim 1.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Below, the examiner responds to the arguments raised by Applicant on pages 1-10 of the Remarks filed 20 January 2026:
First, Applicant argues: “Applicants respectfully submit, as discussed further below, and in view of the amendments herein to Claim 1, Jayaswal does not disclose the charge density required of 1.7 to 2.2 meq/g, it does not overlap, and asserting that is merely close, is not a prima facie case of obviousness.” Remarks, pages 1-2 (emphasis in original).
In response, the examiner notes that MPEP § 2144.05(I) and MPEP § 2123 control and the principles set forth therein have been properly applied above, in paragraph 14 of this Office action. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. If anything, Applicant is implicitly asserting that the Patent Office needs anticipatory art (i.e., prior art suitable for advancing a proper rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102) to make a proper obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. There simply is no support in the law for that assertion.
Second, Applicant argues as follows: “Applicants respectfully submit that it has been shown that when the hair care composition (Ex. 18) comprises Polyquaternium-10 (Ucare Polymer KG-30M) thus a cationic polymer having a molecular weight (MW) of 2,000,000 g/mol and a charge density (CD) of 1.9 meq/g, an increased piroctone olamine deposition and deposition efficiency versus control (C.Ex. 16) have been obtained versus a hair care composition (Ex. 17) comprising Guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (N-Hance BF-17 ) having a molecular weight (MW) of 800,000 g/mol and a charge density (CD) of 1.5 meq/g.” Remarks, page 7; see also pages 5-6 (setting forth formulation data).
Applicant’s evidentiary arguments based on the data set forth on pages 48-49 of the specification, as originally filed, are not persuasive because neither the control composition (Example 16) nor Example 17 is adequately representative of the closest prior art, which is Example 10 of Jayaswal, as previously identified by the examiner. MPEP § 716.02(e) (the claimed subject matter must be compared with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obvious). For example, Applicant’s control composition (Example 16) does not even comprise a cationic polymer, in contrast to the closest prior art. Furthermore, Example 18 focuses exclusively on polyquaternium-10, which is a quaternary ammonium salt of hydroxyethyl cellulose. That lone species of cationic polymer does not provide an adequate basis for concluding that all other cationic polymers would behave in the same manner. MPEP § 716.02(d) (“Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the ‘objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.’”). In the interest of compact prosecution, Applicant is reminded yet again that the elected species of cationic polymer is guar, not hydroxyethyl cellulose, and Example 10 of Jayaswal is focused on guar. Applicant is additionally referred to Section II.D on pages 7-9 of the Examiner’s Answer (26 September 2023), which is incorporated herein by reference.
* * *
Claims 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayaswal (US 2016/0279048 A1), as applied above to claims 1, 6-7, 14-31, 33-34 and 38, in view of Bailey (US 2006/0120988 A1).
Although Jayaswal provides that the hair care formulations disclosed therein can further comprise a pH adjusting agent (para. [0082]), Jayaswal is silent regarding the pH of those formulations. Consequently, Jayaswal does not expressly satisfy the pH range limitations recited in claims 35-37. As explained below, Bailey compensates for this deficiency.
Bailey is directed to hair treatment compositions comprising an anti-dandruff agent that is in solution, where the compositions have benefits in terms of perceived mildness by users and deposition of anti-dandruff agents (abstract).
In Example 1 (para. [0133]), Bailey teaches a shampoo formulation that comprises: 14 wt% sodium lauryl ether sulphate (anionic surfactant), 1 wt% climbazole (soluble antidandruff agent), and 0.2 wt% Jaguar C17. Example 1 of Bailey has a pH of 6.5 (para. [0133]).
In paragraph [0035], Bailey teaches as follows: “The pH of the compositions of the invention is preferably in the range of from 5 to 8, more preferably in the range of from 6 to 7 e.g., 6.5. The pH of the compositions of the invention can be adjusted using alkaline agents (such as sodium hydroxide, for example) or acidic agents (such as citric acid) as is well-known in the art.” Emphasis added.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the teachings of Bailey would have motivated a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a desired pH of 5 to 8 (preferably 6 to 7) for Example 10 of Jayaswal and achieve that desired pH by adding pH-adjusting agents thereto, as needed, such as those taught in paragraph [0035] of Bailey. The foregoing modification would have been made with a reasonable expectation of success given the substantial similarity between the hair care formulations of Jayaswal (Example 10) and Bailey (Example 1). Therefore, claims 35-37 are prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Below, the examiner responds to the arguments raised by Applicant on pages 10-22 of the Remarks filed 20 January 2026:
First, Applicant’s arguments on pages 10-20 mirror those raised against the §103 rejection of claims 1, 6-7, 14-31, 33-34, and 38. Accordingly, Applicant is referred to the examiner’s remarks in paragraphs 23-27 of this Office action.
Second, Applicant argues, on pages 21-22 of the Remarks, that the examiner engaged in impermissible hindsight reconstruction and failed to set forth a convincing line of reasoning. As explained below, neither of these arguments is persuasive.
From the outset, Applicant overlooks that Example 10 of Jayaswal already has a pH because it is an aqueous hair care composition. Jayaswal is merely silent regarding the pH of the compositions disclosed therein. As established in the foregoing §103 rejection, Bailey teaches that substantially similar hair care compositions have a pH that is “preferably in the range of from 5 to 8, more preferably in the range of from 6 to 7, e.g., 6.5.” Paragraph [0035]. Bailey additionally teaches that “[t]he pH of the compositions of the invention can be adjusted using alkaline agents (such as sodium hydroxide, for example) or acidic agents (such as citric acid) as is well-known in the art.” Id. This teaching, which concerns agents for adjusting pH, is consistent with paragraph [0082] of Jayaswal, which provides that the hair care formulations disclosed therein can further comprise a pH adjusting agent. There is an articulated line of reasoning because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have tested the pH of Example 10 of Jayaswal and optimized it in accordance with the pH ranges taught in Bailey, as needed, using pH adjusting agents. See also MPEP § 2141.03(I) (“The ‘hypothetical person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.”), quoting Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The pH ranges recited respectively in claims 35-37 overlap one or more of the pH ranges taught in Bailey, which is sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”).
In closing, the examiner notes that “‘[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper.’” MPEP § 2145(X)(A), quoting In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392 (CCPA 1971).
* * *
Double Patenting (Non-Statutory)
Claims 1, 6-7, 14-31, and 33-38 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 13-17, and 19-48 of co-pending Application No. 15/962,327 (as amended on 23 February 2026) in view of Jayaswal (US 2016/0279048 A1).
The conflicting claims (the claims of the ’327 application) differ only marginally in scope from the claims of the present application. For example, compare conflicting claims 1, 3, and 4 to claims 1, 18, and 19 of the present application. Paragraph [0043] of Jayaswal, which is discussed above in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, compensates for the deficiency in the conflicting claims concerning the molecular weight and charge density of the cationic polymer.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not yet been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 6-7, 14-31, and 33-38 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER ANTHOPOLOS whose telephone number is 571-270-5989. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday – Friday (9:00 am – 5:00 pm). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bethany P. Barham, can be reached on Monday – Friday (9:00 am – 5:00 pm) at 571-272-6175. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/P.A./
18 April 2026
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611