DETAILED ACTION
Application Status and Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment filed December 30, 2025, amending claim 1 and canceling claims 5 and 19 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, 14-17 and 20-21 are pending. Claims 9-10 and 14-17 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Accordingly, claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 20-21 are under examination.
The amendment to claim 1 incorporates the limitations from canceled claims 5 and 19, and additionally includes a new functional limitation “wherein one or more function of the GPCR in the nanodisc are correctly maintained as confirmed by nanodisc-based functional analysis”. The previous §103 rejections did not address the function of the GPCR in the nanodisc. As such, the amendment overcomes the §103 rejections in the previous office action.
Applicant's amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (Yang and Park, "Characterization of TAAR13c Using Nanodiscs and Cell-Based Assay System for the Selective Detection of Death-Associated Odor.” 2016 Korean Society of Biological Engineering Spring Conference and International Symposium - Conference Materials (April 2016): 270-270), in view of Genbank (NP_001076509.1, trace amine-associated receptor 13c [danio rerio], https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/protein/131889166 [retrieved January 16, 2026]), Inagaki (Inagaki et al., Journal of Molecular Biology (2012) 417:95-111; of record), White (White et al., FEBS Letters (2004) 564:289-293, of record), Michalke (Michalke et al., Analytical Biochemistry (2009), 386: 147-155; of record), Sligar2008 (Nanodisc Protocols (March 2008); http://publish.illinois.edu/sligar-lab/files/2020/01/Nanodisc_Protocols.pdf, retrieved from internet [retrieved March 28, 2022]; of record), Sligar2004 (US 20040053384 A1; of record) and Sirtori (US 5876968 A1, published March 2, 1999; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 20, Yang teaches Trace amine-associated receptors (i.e., olfactory receptors), including TAAR13c, are G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs) (Abstract). Yang teaches expressing and purifying TAAR13c from E. coli cells, and then reconstituting the TAAR13c receptor in a nanodisc (Abstract). Yang teaches confirming the biological characteristics of the TAAR13c-containing nanodisc using a tryptophan fluorescence assay (i.e., confirming maintenance of TAAR13c function in the nanodiscs) (Abstract).
Yang does not teach how the TAAR13c receptor was purified from E. coli. Yang does not teach the components of the nanodisc or how the nanodisc was assembled.
Genbank teaches the amino acid sequence of TAAR13c, which is 341 amino acids in length (pages 1 and 3).
Inagaki teaches a method of making a nanodisc comprising the G-protein coupled receptor (GPCR) protein, NTS1, imbedded in lipids, and surrounded by MSP1D1 (Figure 1; pages 105-106; Abstract). Regarding step i), Inagaki teaches that NTS1 was produced and purified from E. coli (i.e., a prokaryotic host cell) (page 105, ¶4; Figure 1b). Inagaki teaches that NTS1 is tagged with a maltose binding protein (MBP) and a H10 polyhistidine tag (page 105, ¶4). Inagaki teaches the NTS1 was purified as described in White et al., (page 105, ¶4). Regarding step ii), Inagaki teaches that MSP1D1 is a membrane scaffolding protein (page 97, ¶2), which was expressed and purified from BL21Gold(DE3) cells (i.e. a second prokaryotic host cell) (page 105, ¶8 through page 106, ¶2; Figure 1b). Inagaki teaches MSP1D1 is an N-terminal deletion of Apoprotein A-1 (page 105, ¶8). Inagaki teaches MSP1D1 surrounds the lipid-protein complex (Figure 1A). Inagaki demonstrates the purity of NTS1 and MSP1D1 by SDS-PAGE analysis before assembly of the nanodisc (Figure 1b, lanes 2-3). Regarding step iii), Inagaki teaches combining purified NTS1 together with POPC and POPG lipids mixed in a 1:1 ratio to form a mixture (page 106, ¶3-4; Figure 1b). Regarding step iv), Inagaki teaches MSP1D1 was added to the lipid-NTS1 mixture and incubated for 1 hour to form a nanodisc (page 106, ¶4, Figure 1b). Inagaki also teaches "The nanodisc technique has previously been used to study various aspects of GPCR function" (page 96, ¶5). Inagaki also teaches that NTS1 is ~ 35 kDa (Fig. 1). Inagaki teaches NTS incorporated into nanodiscs retains its functions (Figs 4-5).
Regarding step i-1), White teaches that an expression vector encoding NTS1 was introduced into E. coli (Section 2.1). Regarding step i-2), White teaches NTS1 expression was induced by incubating with IPTG (Section 2.1). Regarding steps i-3 and i-4), White teaches NTS1 was purified from E. coli by homogenization and sonication (i.e., released to the outside of the cell) and solubilized in buffer containing the detergent CHAPS (Sections 2.3-2.4). Further regarding step i-4), White teaches NTS1 was purified using an Ni-NTA column (Section 2.3.3).
Regarding the H10-GPCR-expression vector not containing a GST or MBP tag, Michalke teaches expressing GPCRs as inclusion bodies in sufficient quantities for subsequent refolding solubilization and purification (Abstract). Michalke teaches systematically testing purification systems (i.e., fusion tags, bacterial strains, fermentation conditions, etc.) for GPCRs (page 148, ¶6). Michalke teaches cloning the GPCRs in Gateway vectors comprising coding sequences for a polyhistidine tag and no other fusion tag (i.e., the vector encoding the GPCR does not comprise an MBP or GST) (Fig. 1, pDEST17, pDEST17oi, pET15N2, and pET15C2). Michalke teaches GPCRs tagged with only a polyhistidine tag had high expression in several E. coli strains (Table 2, N15, C15, N15+C15, Nis and His-OI rows). Michalke teaches more GPCRs were expressed at higher levels when tagged solely with a polyhistidine tag versus with a His-MBP tag (Table 2, panel A, compare His to His-MBP). Michalke teaches sufficient quantities of His-tagged GPCRs were purified using flask and fermenter conditions (Table 3, pDEST17, pDEST17oi and pET vectors). Michalke teaches that the GPCRs were compartmentalized in inclusions bodies, solubilized, and purified from them (page 152, Fig 4). Michalke teaches the empirical rule that the expression threshold for GPCR expression as IBs in E. coli is ~ 50 kDa (page 154, ¶1).
Sligar2008 teaches general guidelines for making nanodiscs (page 4). Sligar2008 teaches "[t]he general idea is quite simple - cholate-solubilized phospholipids are mixed with MSP and detergent solubilized membrane protein, everything is incubated together, then the detergents are removed (usually with BioBeads), and the self-assembly takes place." (page 4, ¶1). Sligar2008 teaches "the important parameters are: (1) lipid to MSP ratio, (2) temperature, (3) choice of detergent and (4) the final lipid and detergents concentrations in the reconstitution mixture." (page 4, ¶1). Sligar2008 also teaches that "the choice and concentration of the secondary detergent depend entirely on the membrane protein, and have to be worked out for every new target." (page 4, ¶2). Sligar2008 also teaches "[s]ince the entire procedure can be executed quickly, it is not necessary that the target protein be stable in the detergent for very long periods of time (page 4, ¶2). Sligar2008 also teaches mixing the nanodisc reconstitution mixture (page 5, ¶1) and incubating (i.e., settling) the mixture for up to 2 hours (page 5, ¶2). Finally, Sligar2008 teaches that removing some detergents like triton requires more BioBeads for removal (page 5, ¶2).
Sligar2004 teaches methods of producing nanodiscs comprising membrane proteins (Abstract). Sligar2004 teaches producing and purifying tethered and embedded membrane proteins and membrane scaffold proteins from E. coli ([0120]-[0125], [0129] and [0138]). Sligar2004 assembling a nanodisc by mixing the membrane proteins, MSP and lipids together ([0138]). Sligar2004 lists a variety of GPCRs that can be incorporated into nanodiscs, including olfactory receptors ([0066]-[0067], [0149]). Sligar2004 also teaches GPCRs that can bind amines ([0066]).
Sirtori teaches reconstituting high-density lipoproteins by mixing ApoA-I protein with phospholipids (Col. 14, lines 23-43). Sirtori teaches that protein was added to the phospholipid/cholate mixture and the resulting mixture was stirred at room temperature and then incubated overnight at 4 °C (Col. 14, lines 36-39).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have produced Yang’s TAARC13c in E. coli and incorporated into the nanodisc using the nanodisc-assembly method of Inagaki modified by 1) having removed the MBP tag from the MBP/His10-tag on the receptor and 2) using Michalke’s His-GPCR purification method. It would have amounted to producing a known GPCR by known methods using a simple substitution of one known tag set and purification method for producing purified GPCRs from E. coli for another known tag and method to yield predictable results. One would have been motivated to use the His tag, without the MBP, and purification method of Michalke to produce Yang’s TAARC13c in E. coli because Michalke teaches that a sole His tag is sufficient for GPCR expression and purification from E. coli and sometimes is even superior to a dual MBP-His tag. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that His-TAAR13c could be expressed in inclusion bodies and purified from them in E. coli because Michalke teaches that proteins below 50 kDa are predicted to be amenable to such expression/purification. Based on the amino acid sequence from Genbank, TAAR13c is 38.5 kDa. It also would have been predictable that His-TAARC13c purified from inclusion bodies could be integrated into Inagaki’s nanodisc because Inagaki’s NTS1 is similar in size to TAAR13c and also contained a polyhistidine tag.
It also would have been obvious to have allowed the GPCR - lipid mixture to settle. The additional step would have amounted to a simple combination of known method steps for the common purpose of reconstituting membrane proteins. Both Sligar2008 and Sirtori teach "incubating" the mixtures or proteins and lipids, which is substantially the same as "settling". One would have a reasonable expectation that a nanodisc would self-assemble once the surfactant was removed if the receptor-lipid mixture were allowed to settle because Sligar2008 identifies other instances in the "quite simple" method where the mixtures are incubated and mixed together.
Finally, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that the expression, purification and assembly method rendered obvious above would maintain TAAR13c’s function in the nanodisc because 1) SIigar2004 generally teaches that olfactory receptors can be imbedded in nanodiscs and retain function, 2) Yang teaches that TAAR13c has already been successfully integrated into a nanodisc using undisclosed methods of production, and 3) Inagaki demonstrates a different GPCR of approximately the same size as TAAR13c integrated into a nanodisc and retaining it’s receptor function.
Regarding claim 3, Inagaki teaches removing the cholate/detergent from the mixture by mixing it with Bio Beads for 2 hours at 4 °C followed by centrifugation (page 106, ¶4; Figure 1a). Inagaki also teaches after centrifugation, the mixture was comprised of nanodiscs containing NFT and empty nanodiscs, indicating that unassembled proteins were removed (page 106, ¶4).
Regarding claim 6, Inagaki teaches incubating the GPCR and the lipids together at 4 °C for 1 hour.
Regarding claim 7, Inagaki teaches the lipids were POPC and POPG mixed in a 1:1 ratio (page 106, ¶3).
Regarding claim 21, Inagaki teaches the MSP1D1 expression vector includes a coding sequence for heptahistidine (H7, i.e., polyhistidine) tag fused to the MSP1D1 coding sequence (page 105, last ¶).
Response to Arguments - §103
Applicant’s arguments, directed to the previous §103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, the claims are obvious for the reasons stated above in the new §103 rejections, which was necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/ABIGAIL VANHORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636