DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In communications filed on 10/16/2025. Claims 1, 9, 16, 23, and 32 are amended. Claims 4-5, 8, 11-13, 15, 17-20, 22 and 38-39 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 14, 16, 21, 23-37, and 40 are pending in this examination.
Examiner Note
Examiner encourages Applicant to make all the independent claims with same or similar limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims and cancellation of claim 22 obviates previously raised claims 1-3, 6-7,9-10, 14, 16, 21-28, 29-37, and 40 , 35 U.S.C .112(a), first paragraph, and 112(b) , second paragraph rejections.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicant submits on pages 9-10 of remarks filed on 10/16/2025 that Huang at least fails to disclose "causing transmission, via the premises power line network and according to an update schedule that is based on a battery life of the user device, a second access code" of claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant argument for claim 1 filed on 10/16/2025 on pages 9-10 of remarks. Examiner maintain the rejection.
Huang discloses this limitation as: [col. 1 ln 64 to col 2 ln 24 “The long-term storage of network credentials can pose a security risk, since devices are often loaned to others, sold, or compromised by attackers. But since many devices have no way of automatically obtaining access to a wireless network and require user to set up network access with manual input, it is common to store persistent network credentials, so users do not have to manually enter network information each time a device is used. With the techniques of the present application, devices can be configured to store network credentials only in volatile memory, so that powering off the device erases the network credentials and eliminates the risk of the device aiding unauthorized future access. The password or key for the wireless network can have a relatively short duration before it expires, e.g., 2 hours, 6 hours, 1 day, 1 week, etc. Although the credentials needed to access the wireless network change, each device can obtain the new credentials automatically when powered on, through the power line network. This arrangement can allow automatic network access to be provided to devices that are coupled to a particular physical electrical circuit, e.g., the power line network in a user's home. Devices that are currently authenticated on the wireless network and devices connected to the power line may receive up-to-date credentials, while other devices are unable to access the wireless network.”].
[ col. 3 ln 17-23 “to the device over the power line, data indicative of an expiration time period for the one or more credentials, generating a second credential in response to the one or more credentials expiring and the expiration time period having transpired, and transmitting, to the device, the second credential and data indicative of an expiration time period for the second credential.”].
(col. 1 ln 64 to col 2 ln 24) wherein the time interval is based on with considerations where devices so that powering off the device situations to eliminates the risk of the device aiding unauthorized future access. And expressly discloses of setting an interval to generate after the time interval new access codes, (i.e. second, etc.) in accordance “based on” such conditions. The password or key for the wireless network can have a relatively short duration before it expires, e.g., 2 hours, 6 hours, 1 day, 1 week, etc. and [col. 9 ln 52-65, “In some implementations, the key may have an expiration time and may be updated periodically after a certain period of time, for example, 24 hours or 7 days.”.
As such, Huang discloses all the limitations as claimed, hence anticipated. These disclosures of Hwang correspond to the same desirable result in Applicant’s specification, as in [37], “generate a new access code according to a schedule”. As disclosed in the Huang and as claimed by applicant overlap in scope but for the specific example (e.g. battery life) within the claimed range.
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to set a time interval that matches any suitable time (e.g. 16 hours, 8 hours, 1 day, week etc.) as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (i.e. Huang’s discloses such time interval “The password or key for the wireless network can have a duration before it expires, e.g., 2 hours, 6 hours, 1 day, 1 week, etc. ), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005). MPEP 2144.05. And discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-7,9-10, 14, 16, 21, 23-28, 29-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 1, the limitation “receiving, by the gateway from a user device, the first access code to obtain access to the wireless network” renders the claim indefinite, The phrase is not defined by the claim of how the user device receives the access code to provide it to the gateway to access the wireless network? And furthermore , the claim does not indicate that the user device is registered with the gateway, or its access code is stored in the gateway.
The specification in paragraph [34] points out that ,the computing device 308 may comprise a signal generator 310, a signal filter 311, network interface 312, a processor 313, and memory 314. The signal generator 310 may be configured to generate and provide a unique access code to devices in communication with the power line network 307. The content of this paragraph contradicts what is claimed in claim 1.
In regard to Claim 1, the limitation “determining, by the gateway, that one or more of the user device over the wireless network comprises the first access code; based on the determining, reauthenticating, by the gateway…” renders the claim indefinite, because at this stage the gateway does not reauthenticate the first access code, on the contrary it is authenticating the first code, in the following limitations, it reauthenticates with the second access code. The phrase is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining of how the gateway determines that it is time to reauthenticate the user device or when it is time to reauthenticate the user device? The claim does not indicate any relationship limitation between the gateway and user device battery life status!
In regard to Claim 1, the limitation “causing transmission, via the premises power line network and according to an update schedule that is based on a battery life of the user device, a second access code” renders the claim indefinite, The phrase is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining of what the update schedule that is based on a battery life of the user device means?
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 21, 23, 26- 28, 32-35, and 40 do not cure the deficiency of claim 1 and are rejected under 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph, for their dependency upon claim 1.
Claim 9, the limitation “sending, by the user device and after joining the wireless network based on the first access code, a plurality of first messages via the wireless network, wherein each message of the plurality of first messages comprises the first access code for reauthentication with the wireless network”, Renders the claim indefinite, because this limitation claims that the first access code comprises reauthentication , however in the following limitation , it is claimed that a second code is used for authentication.
Claim 9, the limitation “a second access code generated after a time interval since generation of the first access code, wherein the time interval corresponds to a time associated with depletion of a maximum battery life of the user device”, Renders the claim indefinite, since there is no discernable boundary as to what in the method perform or obtained a time interval corresponds to a time associated with depletion of a maximum battery life in the user device.
The specification at [37] merely points to an example as to what the time interval could be “e.g., the computing device 308 may determine a maximum battery life of one of the user device 301, 302, 303 and the signal generator 310 may generate an access code at an interval defined by a time associated with depletion of the maximum battery life of the one of the user devices 301, 302, 303 (e.g., if a user device has a maximum battery life of 16 hours, the signal generator 310 may generate a new access code every 16 hours). The one of the user devices 301, 302, 303 may receive a new access code when, to recharge the battery, the one of the user devices 301, 302, 303 is plugged into one of the power outlets 304a, 304b, 304c, 304d of the premises.
As indicated in the paragraph and example above , the paragraph does not indicated how the gateway determine the maximum battery life? the only way it can determine the maximum batter life is that to set the max. battery life at 16 hours, time interval is set at 16 hours and the depletion is set at 16 hours , which this setup would cause the user device to shut down, and at that time the gateway knows that the user device in disconnected from the network and the device needs to plug in and the restarted and request a new access code for reauthentication. If this is the case then the gateway does not need to know the user device max. batter life or time interval or depletion of the Battery, as soon as the battery is dead and the user device reconnected to network , the gateway will generate a new access code.
Claims 10, 14, and 24, and 29-30, and 31 do not cure the deficiency of claim 9 and are rejected under 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph, for their dependency upon claim 9.
Claim 16, the limitation “the user device over the wireless network comprises comprise the first access code, reauthenticating, by the gateway, the user device with the wireless network”, Renders the claim indefinite, because this limitation claims that the first access code comprises reauthentication , however in the following limitation , it is claimed that a second code is used for authentication.
Claim 16, the limitation “generating, by the gateway after a time interval since generation of the first access code, a second access code, wherein the time interval is associated with depletion of a battery of the user device;”, Renders the claim indefinite, since there is no discernable boundary as to what in the method perform or obtained time interval is associated with depletion of a battery of the user device.
Claims 25, and 36 do not cure the deficiency of claim 16 and are rejected under 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph, for their dependency upon claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-7,9-10, 14, 16, 21, 23-28, 29-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
In regard to Claim 1, the limitation “causing transmission, via the premises power line network and according to an update schedule that is based on a battery life of the user device, a second access code” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant is kindly requested to show the examiner support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure").
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 21, 23, 26- 28, 32-35, and 40 do not cure the deficiency of claim 1 and are rejected under 35 USC 112, 1st paragraph, for their dependency upon claim 1.
Claim 9, the limitation “wherein the time interval corresponds to a time associated with depletion of a maximum battery life of the user device”, which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification at [37] merely points to an example as to what the time interval could be “e.g., the computing device 308 may determine a maximum battery life of one of the user device 301, 302, 303 and the signal generator 310 may generate an access code at an interval defined by a time associated with depletion of the maximum battery life of the one of the user devices 301, 302, 303 (e.g., if a user device has a maximum battery life of 16 hours, the signal generator 310 may generate a new access code every 16 hours). The one of the user devices 301, 302, 303 may receive a new access code when, to recharge the battery, the one of the user devices 301, 302, 303 is plugged into one of the power outlets 304a, 304b, 304c, 304d of the premises.
As indicated in the paragraph and example above , the paragraph does not indicated how the gateway determine the maximum battery life? the only way it can determine the maximum batter life is that to set the max. battery life at 16 hours, time interval is set at 16 hours and the depletion is set at 16 hours , which this setup would cause the user device to shut down, and at that time the gateway knows that the user device in disconnected from the network and the device needs to plug in and the restarted and request a new access code for reauthentication. If this is the case then the gateway does not need to know the user device max. batter life or time interval or depletion of the Battery, as soon as the battery is dead and the user device reconnected to network , the gateway will generate a new access code.
Claims 10, 14, and 24, and 29-30, and 31 do not cure the deficiency of claim 9 and are rejected under 35 USC 112, 1st paragraph, for their dependency upon claim 9.
Claim 16, the limitation “generating, by the gateway after a time interval since generation of the first access code, a second access code, wherein the time interval is associated with depletion of a battery of the user device”, which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification at [37] merely points to an example as to what the time interval could be “e.g., the computing device 308 may determine a maximum battery life of one of the user device 301, 302, 303 and the signal generator 310 may generate an access code at an interval defined by a time associated with depletion of the maximum battery life of the one of the user devices 301, 302, 303 (e.g., if a user device has a maximum battery life of 16 hours, the signal generator 310 may generate a new access code every 16 hours). The one of the user devices 301, 302, 303 may receive a new access code when, to recharge the battery, the one of the user devices 301, 302, 303 is plugged into one of the power outlets 304a, 304b, 304c, 304d of the premises.
As indicated in the paragraph and example above , the paragraph does not indicated how the gateway know about depletion of the user deice battery ? the only way it can generate a second access code is that max. battery life det at 16 hours, time interval is set at 16 hours and the depletion is set at 16 hours, which this setup would cause the user device to shut down, and at that time the gateway knows that the user device in disconnected from the network and the device needs to plug in and the restarted and request a new access code for reauthentication. If this is the case then the gateway does not need to know the user device max. batter life or time interval or depletion of the Battery, as soon as the battery is dead and the user device reconnected to network , the gateway will generate a new access code.
Claims 25, and 36 do not cure the deficiency of claim 16 and are rejected under 35 USC 112, 1st paragraph, for their dependency upon claim 16.
As in MPEP 2161.01 (I), "The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention."). It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-10, 14, 16, 21, 23-37, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent No. (US 9,906,956 A1) issued to Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a method comprising: causing transmission, via a premises power line network, of a first access code, wherein the first access code is for communicating via a wireless network [Col.1 lines 39-54, as discussed further below, the techniques in this application can allow new devices to be authenticated to a secured network with minimal or no effort by a user. For example, when a user brings home a new device and plugs it in for the first time, the device may identify and connect to the user's home wireless network automatically, simply by being connected to a power line. Because information for joining the wireless network is obtained over the power line, the user does not need to setup the device for the network or specify any network ID or password for the wireless network, even for the very first connection to the wireless network. This allows devices requiring network connections to operate in a "plug-and-play" manner simply by being connected to a power line. In some implementations, devices may also receive other information over the power line to automatically set up other aspects of their operation], and [Col. 9 lines 53-65, the power line network controller 140 may communicate with a router that provides access to the selected wireless network to obtain wireless network credentials 150. For example, the power line network controller 140 may obtain a service set identifier (SSID) for the network and a password or key to access the network from the router. The key may be a randomly generated pre-shared key such as a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) protected access key 2 (WPA2). In some implementations, the key may have an expiration time and may be updated periodically after a certain period of time, for example, 24 hours or 7 days. Other types of session keys may also be used. In some cases, the password may be a password set by a user or network administrator], and [see FIG.1 and corresponding text for more detail]; and [ Col 4 lines 38-45, In some implementations, the one or more credentials include a Wi-Fi protected access two (WPA2) session key. The operation of determining, based on the one or more credentials received in the request from the device, that the device is authorized to access the wireless network includes determining that the WPA2 session key received from the device matches a session key at the one or more computing devices], and [Col 13 lines 60-63, the wireless network credentials 150 may include one or more of a digital certificate, a token, one or more session keys, a SSID, and a password], and [Abstract, Col.7 lines 43-63]; and
receiving, by the gateway from the user device, the first access code to obtain access to the wireless network [Abstract, after a device is connected to a power line, wireless network credentials that enable the device to access to a wireless network are transmitted to the device through the power line. A request is received from the device to connect to the wireless network. The request includes the wireless network credentials transmitted to the device through the power line. The device is determined to be authorized to access the wireless network based on the one or more credentials received in the request. In response to determining that the one or more wireless network credentials received in the request from the device are valid, wireless network access is provided to the device], and [Col.1 lines 65-67- Col. 2 lines 1-4, In addition, the security of a wireless network can be enforced. The long-term storage of network credentials can pose a security risk, since devices are often loaned to others, sold, or compromised by attackers. But since many devices have no way of automatically obtaining access to a wireless network and require user to set up network access with manual input], and [Col. 4 lines 16-23, The operations include transmitting, to the one or more computing devices, a request to connect to the wireless network. The request includes the one or more wireless network credentials received from the one or more computing devices through the power line. The operations include receiving, from the one or more computing devices, data indicating that the client device has access to the wireless network], and [ Col. 7 lines 43-63, In FIG. 1, a device 120 is connected to the power line network 110 through power line connector 130-A (A1). The power line network controller 140 may detect the connection (A2) and transmit wireless network credentials 150 that can be used by the device 120 to access a wireless network (A3). The wireless network credentials 150 are transmitted over the power line network 110 through the power line connector 130-A. After receiving the credentials 150, the device 120 may determine whether to connect to the wireless network based on one or more criteria. If the device 120 determines that the one or more criteria are satisfied, the device 120 may transmit a request 160 to join and access the wireless network (A4). The request 160 may include the wireless network credentials 150 received through the power line network 110 and information describing the device 120. The power line network controller 140 may verify the validity of the wireless network credentials 150 (A5). If the wireless network credentials 150 are valid, the power line network controller 140 may transmit a message 170 to the device 120 indicating that the device 120 has been added to the wireless network (A6)], and
after granting, based on the first access code, the user device access to the wireless network, determining, by the gateway, that one or more first communications of the user device over the wireless network comprise the first access code; and based on the determining reauthenticating, by the gateway, the user device with the wireless network [Col. 1 lines 65-67, Col. 2 lines 1-16, In addition, the security of a wireless network can be enforced. The long-term storage of network credentials can pose a security risk, since devices are often loaned to others, sold, or compromised by attackers. But since many devices have no way of automatically obtaining access to a wireless network and require user to set up network access with manual input, it is common to store persistent network credentials so users do not have to manually enter network information each time a device is used. With the techniques of the present application, devices can be configured to store network credentials only in volatile memory, so that powering off the device erases the network credentials and eliminates the risk of the device aiding unauthorized future access. The password or key for the wireless network can have a relatively short duration before it expires, e.g., 2 hours, 6 hours, 1 day, 1 week, etc. Although the credentials needed to access the wireless network change, each device can obtain the new credentials automatically when powered on, through the power line network...], and [ Col. 3 lines 9-17, In some implementations, the operations include transmitting, to the device over the power line, data indicative of an expiration time period for the one or more credentials, generating a second credential in response to the one or more credentials expiring and the expiration time period having transpired, and transmitting, to the device, the second credential and data indicative of an expiration time period for the second credential], and [Col.4 lines 24-29, In some implementations, the operations further include receiving, from the one or more computing devices, data indicative of an expiration time period for the one or more credentials, and storing, by the device in a storage database, the one or more credentials and the data indicative of the expiration time period for the one or more credentials], and [Col.4 lines 30-37, in some implementations, the operations further include determining that the device has been disconnected from the power line, receiving, from the one or more computing devices, an indication that the one or more wireless network credentials for accessing the wireless network have been revoked, and removing, from the storage database, the one or more wireless network credentials and the data indicative of the expiration time period for the one or more credentials], and [ Col. 10 lines 5-41, After obtaining the wireless network credentials 150, the power line network controller 140 may transmit the wireless network credentials 150 to the device 120 through the power line network 110 and power line connector 130A (315)… If the device 120 determines that the one or more criteria for joining the wireless network are satisfied, the device 120 may generate a request 160 and transmit the request 160 to the router. The request 160 may be transmitted wirelessly or through the power line network 110. The request 160 may include the wireless network credentials 150 received through the power line network 110 and device information for the device 120. The device information may include one or more of a device type, a device name or identifier, an IP address, a MAC address, and an operating state of the device 120. Device type information may include information indicating a type or category of the device 120 such as information identifying the device 120 as a television device, a refrigerator device, a phone device, or a laptop device], and [ Col. 10 lines 49-57, In some cases, the device information may also include information indicative of features and characteristics of the device 120. For example, the device information may include data indicative of a make, model, manufacturer, year of manufacturing of the device 120. In some cases, the device information may include the most frequent operating mode of the device 120. In general, various types of information indicative of features and characteristics of the device 120 may be included in the device information], and [Col. 11 lines 1-13, For example, if the wireless network credentials 150 include a digital certificate, the router may determine whether the received digital certificate has been issued or signed by a trusted source and whether the digital certificate has not expired or is not revoked. If the router determines that the digital certificate is issued or signed by a trusted source and has not expired or been revoked, the digital certificate may be validated. In another example, if the wireless network credentials 150 include a password or key, the router may determine whether the password or key match the password or key that are stored and not expired at the time the request 160 to join the wireless network is received].
As indicated above in Huang, the device credential is stored in the volatile storage of the device and has expiration period, hence in in order to re-join the network it has to send a request with the credential and a message (device information such as device type information, device name or identifier and etc.) to re-authenticates itself to the network.
Huang, further discloses causing transmission, via the premises power line network and according to an update schedule that is based on a battery life of the user device, a second access code; and reauthenticating, by the gateway and based on determining that a communication one or more second of the user device comprise the second access code, the user device with the wireless network [col. 1 ln 64 to col 2 ln 24 “The long-term storage of network credentials can pose a security risk, since devices are often loaned to others, sold, or compromised by attackers. But since many devices have no way of automatically obtaining access to a wireless network and require user to set up network access with manual input, it is common to store persistent network credentials, so users do not have to manually enter network information each time a device is used. With the techniques of the present application, devices can be configured to store network credentials only in volatile memory, so that powering off the device erases the network credentials and eliminates the risk of the device aiding unauthorized future access. The password or key for the wireless network can have a relatively short duration before it expires, e.g., 2 hours, 6 hours, 1 day, 1 week, etc. Although the credentials needed to access the wireless network change, each device can obtain the new credentials automatically when powered on, through the power line network. This arrangement can allow automatic network access to be provided to devices that are coupled to a particular physical electrical circuit, e.g., the power line network in a user's home. Devices that are currently authenticated on the wireless network and devices connected to the power line may receive up-to-date credentials, while other devices are unable to access the wireless network.”].
[ col. 3 ln 17-23 “to the device over the power line, data indicative of an expiration time period for the one or more credentials, generating a second credential in response to the one or more credentials expiring and the expiration time period having transpired, and transmitting, to the device, the second credential and data indicative of an expiration time period for the second credential.”].
(col. 1 ln 64 to col 2 ln 24) wherein the time interval is based on with considerations where devices so that powering off the device situations to eliminates the risk of the device aiding unauthorized future access. And expressly discloses of setting an interval to generate after the time interval new access codes, (i.e. second, etc.) in accordance “based on” such conditions. The password or key for the wireless network can have a relatively short duration before it expires, e.g., 2 hours, 6 hours, 1 day, 1 week, etc. and [col. 9 ln 52-65, “In some implementations, the key may have an expiration time and may be updated periodically after a certain period of time, for example, 24 hours or 7 days.”.
As such, Huang discloses all the limitations as claimed, hence anticipated. These disclosures of Hwang correspond to the same desirable result in Applicant’s specification, as in [37], “generate a new access code according to a schedule”. As disclosed in the Huang and as claimed by applicant overlap in scope but for the specific example (e.g. battery life) within the claimed range.
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to set a time interval that matches any suitable time (e.g. 16 hours, 8 hours, 1 day, week etc.) as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (i.e. Huang’s discloses such time interval “The password or key for the wireless network can have a duration before it expires, e.g., 2 hours, 6 hours, 1 day, 1 week, etc. ), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005). MPEP 2144.05. And discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses authenticating, based on receiving the first access code the user device with the wireless network [Abstract, after a device is connected to a power line, wireless network credentials that enable the device to access to a wireless network are transmitted to the device through the power line. A request is received from the device to connect to the wireless network. The request includes the wireless network credentials transmitted to the device through the power line. The device is determined to be authorized to access the wireless network based on the one or more credentials received in the request. In response to determining that the one or more wireless network credentials received in the request from the device are valid, wireless network access is provided to the device], and [Col. 10 lines 34-41, the device information may include one or more of a device type, a device name or identifier, an IP address, a MAC address, and an operating state of the device 120. Device type 41information may include information indicating a type or category of the device 120 such as information identifying the device 120 as a television device, a refrigerator device, a phone device, or a laptop device], and [Col 13 lines 60-63].
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses, receiving an identifier of the first user device: determining, based on the identifier, a manufacturer of the user device; retrieving a list of device identifiers associated with the manufacturing; and determining, based on the identifier and on the list of device identifiers, whether the identifier is a valid identifier and blocking, by the gateway based on determining that the identifier is an invalid identifier, the user device from accessing the wireless network. [Col. 10 lines 34-41, the device information may include one or more of a device type, a device name or identifier, an IP address, a MAC address, and an operating state of the device 120. Device type information may include information indicating a type or category of the device 120 such as information identifying the device 120 as a television device, a refrigerator device, a phone device, or a laptop device], and [Col. 10 lines 51-57, for example, the device information may include data indicative of a make, model, manufacturer, year of manufacturing of the device 120. In some cases, the device information may include the most frequent operating mode of the device 120. In general, various types of information indicative of features and characteristics of the device 120 may be included in the device information], and [Col. 2 lines 16-23, this arrangement can allow automatic network access to be provided to devices that are coupled to a particular physical electrical circuit, e.g., the power line network in a user's home. Devices that are currently authenticated on the wireless network and devices connected to the power line may receive up-to-date credentials, while other devices are unable to access the wireless network], and [Col 13 lines 60-63].
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses denying, based on a failure to receive the first access code from a second user device, access by the second user device to the wireless network [Abstract, in response to determining that the one or more wireless network credentials received in the request from the device are valid, wireless network access is provided to the device. Examiner Note: if the device has no correct credential, the access will be denied to any device trying to access the wireless network], and [Col. 2 lines 16-23, this arrangement can allow automatic network access to be provided to devices that are coupled to a particular physical electrical circuit, e.g., the power line network in a user's home. Devices that are currently authenticated on the wireless network and devices connected to the power line may receive up-to-date credentials, while other devices are unable to access the wireless network].
Regarding claim 9, this claim is interpreted and rejected for the same rational set forth in claim 1 since the mapping from Huang application for claim 1 limitation still apply to the claimed limitations in this claim.
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses receiving, from a third computing device, a request for a third access code different from the first access code; and determining, based on a third communication signal received via a second power line network different from the premises power line network, the third access code [Abstract, after a device is connected to a power line, wireless network credentials that enable the device to access to a wireless network are transmitted to the device through the power line. A request is received from the device to connect to the wireless network. The request includes the wireless network credentials transmitted to the device through the power line. The device is determined to be authorized to access the wireless network based on the one or more credentials received in the request. In response to determining that the one or more wireless network credentials received in the request from the device are valid, wireless network access is provided to the device], and [ Col. 1 lines 25-27, the wireless network access information may include, for example, credentials such as a password, a key, or a certificate].
Examiner Note: examiner did not locate the second power line network in Applicant filed specification and the only one was mentioned was the power line network 307.Examiner encourage Applicant to indicate a paragraph number, which explains the second power line network.
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses receiving, from the gateway, an instruction to connect the user device to a power supply [Col.15 lines 10-17, a power line network controller 500 may be implemented in a wireless network router, a circuit breaker, a power panel, or one or more servers. In some implementations, a power line network controller 500 may be implemented in a device plugged into a power outlet which handles bootstrapping and authentication for devices connected to the power line network], and [abstract].
Regarding claim 16, this claim is interpreted and rejected for the same rational set forth in claim 1 since the mapping from Huang application for claim 1 limitation still apply to the claimed limitations in this claim.
Regarding claim 21, Huang discloses further comprising: retrieving an identifier of the user device for authentication; and adding, based on the identifier of the user device, the user device to a secure network, different from wireless network [Col. 10 lines 34-41, the device information may include one or more of a device types, a device name or identifier, an IP address, a MAC address, and an operating state of the device 120. Device type information may include information indicating a type or category of the device 120 such as information identifying the device 120 as a television device, a refrigerator device, a phone device, or a laptop device], and [Col. 10 lines 51-57, for example, the device information may include data indicative of a make, model, manufacturer, year of manufacturing of the device 120. In some cases, the device information may include the most frequent operating mode of the device 120. In general, various types of information indicative of features and characteristics of the device 120 may be included in the device information], and [Col. 2 lines 16-23, this arrangement can allow automatic network access to be provided to devices that are coupled to a particular physical electrical circuit, e.g., the power line network in a user's home (secured network). Devices that are currently authenticated on the wireless network and devices connected to the power line may receive up-to-date credentials, while other devices are unable to access the wireless network].
wherein the method further comprises casing sending via the secure network a message [Col.1 lines39-41, the techniques in this application can allow new devices to be authenticated to a secured network with minimal or no effort by a user], and [FIG.2A, secure wireless network].
Examiner Note: Examiner searched the applicant specification to determine what the message is or what it includes however was unable to locate neither in dependent claims nor in the Applicant specification. During the interview on 9/20/2021, examiner mentioned it to Applicant representative and the response was that a message could be anything, Examiner interpret that a message could be a request for access to wireless network or session key or digital certificate or SSID or a token or an expiration time or device type, a device name or identifier, an IP address, a MAC address and etc.
Regarding claim 23, Huang discloses, further comprising receiving the one or more first communications after the user device disconnects from the premises power line network [Col 3 lines 43-49, In some implementations, the operations further include determining that the device is disconnected from the power line, and in response to determining that the device is disconnected from the power line: terminating registration of the device by removing the stored device information from the database, and revoking the one or more credentials that enable the device to access to the wireless network].
Regarding claim 24, Huang discloses wherein the sending the plurality of messages comprises sending the plurality of first messages user device disconnects from the premises power line network [ Col 3 lines 43-49, In some implementations, the operations further include determining that the device is disconnected from the power line, and in response to determining that the device is disconnected from the power line: terminating registration of the device by removing the stored device information from the database, and revoking the one or more credentials that enable the device to access to the wireless network].
Examiner Note: examiner is nuclear why the device still receives the access code if it has been discounted from the power line network. Examiner interpret this limitation as the device after discounted from power line will be terminated and its credential will be revoked.
Regarding claim 25, Huang discloses after granting, based on the first access code, the user device access to the wireless network, receiving, by a gateway via the wireless network from the user device, a third message comprising the access code; and based on determining that the message comprises the first access code causing sending of the third message to a second computing device [Abstract], and [ Col.7 lines 7-14 ; Col.7 lines 58-63, Col.7 lines 28-38, Col. 1 lines 25-27; Col 13 lines 60-63,;Col. 9 lines 53-65; Col. 10 lines 34-41], and [Col.9, lines 66-67, Col.10, lines 1-4; Col.8 lines 7-16], and [see FIGS 2A-2B, and corresponding text for more details].
Regarding claim 26, Huang discloses, based on determining that the first access code fails to accompany a second message received from the user device, not sending the second message[ Col.3 lines 2-8, the operations further include determining, based on the one or more credentials received in the request from the device, that the device is authorized to access the wireless network, and providing the device access to the wireless network in response to determining that the one or more wireless network credentials received in the request from the device are valid]. Examiner Note: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate that if the access code is not valid or not provided to not let first device or any device to have access to wireless network.
Regarding claim 27, Huang discloses, wherein the first access code is transmitted at a first time, the method further comprising: causing transmission, via the premises power line network and at a second time, of the second access code; and based on determining that the second access code accompanied a second message, causing, by the gateway, sending of the second message [see FIG 1, 2A-2B and corresponding text for more detail].
Regarding claim 28, Huang discloses, wherein the user device comprises a user device is located at premises and wherein the method further comprises causing, by the gateway, sending of a message from the user device to a second user device located outside premises [See FIG.1, 2A-2B and correspond text for more details, device 120, printer, mobile device].
Regarding claim 29, Huang discloses, wherein the first access code is updated periodically
[ Col.9 lines 60-65, the key may have an expiration time and may be updated periodically after a certain period of time, for example, 24 hours or 7 days], and [Col.9 lines 66-67 – Col.10 lines 1-4, in some implementations, the wireless network credentials 150 may include a digital certificate. The digital certificate may include one or more keys, may have an expiration time, and may be updated periodically. In some implementations, the wireless network credentials 150 may include a token that may be renewed periodically].
Regarding claim 30, Huang discloses, wherein the first access code is updated periodically based on the second communication signal received via the premises power line network [ Col.9 lines 60-65, the key may have an expiration time, and may be updated periodically after a certain period of time, for example, 24 hours or 7 days], and [Col.9 lines 66-67 – Col.10 lines 1-4, in some implementations, the wireless network credentials 150 may include a digital certificate. The digital certificate may include one or more keys, may have an expiration time, and may be updated periodically. In some implementations, the wireless network credentials 150 may include a token that may be renewed periodically].
Regarding claim 31, Huang discloses, wherein the sending the plurality of first messages causes the gateway to reauthenticate the user device with the wireless network to allow sending of each message of the plurality of first messages by the gateway [Abstract, after a device is connected to a power line, wireless network credentials that enable the device to access to a wireless network are transmitted to the device through the power line. A request is received from the device to connect to the wireless network. The request includes the wireless network credentials transmitted to the device through the power line. The device is determined to be authorized to access the wireless network based on the one or more credentials received in the request. In response to determining that the one or more wireless network credentials received in the request from the device are valid, wireless network access is provided to the device], and [Col 13 lines 60-63, the wireless network credentials 150 may include one or more of a digital certificate, a token, one or more session keys, a SSID, and a password], and [Col. 10 lines 34-41, the device information may include one or more of a device type, a device name or identifier, an IP address, a MAC address, and an operating state of the device 120. Device type 41information may include information indicating a type or category of the device 120 such as information identifying the device 120 as a television device, a refrigerator device, a phone device, or a laptop device]. Examiner Note: Examiner searched the applicant specification to determine what the message is or what it includes however was unable to locate neither in dependent claims nor in the Applicant specification. During the interview on 9/20/2021, examiner mentioned it to Applicant representative and the response was that a message could be anything, Examiner interpret that a message could be a request for access to wireless network or session key or digital certificate or SSID or a token or an expiration time or device type, a device name or identifier, an IP address, a MAC address and etc].
Regarding claim 32, Huang discloses determining, by the gateway and based on the determining that the one or more first communications of the user device over the wireless network comprise the first access code, that the user device has not been authenticated with a different network [Col.9 lines 44-65, the power line network controller 140 may not have to select one or several available wireless networks… After selecting a wireless network, the power line network controller 140 may communicate with a router that provides access to the selected wireless network to obtain wireless network credentials 150. For example, the power line network controller 140 may obtain a service set identifier (SSID) for the network and a password or key to access the network from the router. The key may be a randomly generated pre-shared key such as a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) protected access key 2 (WPA2)].
Examiner Note: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate that there might be many different wireless networks with different SSID and the system will recognize which device belongs to which wireless network based on the device SSID and or will recognize that device does not belong to the particular wireless network if wrong access code provided or not providing any access code with the login.
Regarding claim 33, Huang discloses, wherein the message is addressed to the second computing device[ Col.8 lines 7-16, after a secure wireless network connection is established, a power line network controller 230, which, in some implementations may include the network router, may send a message to a network privileged device 240, such as a mobile phone ( equated to second computing device)of a user or other trusted device, to let the user know that a new device was added to the wireless network. A user may refer to a person who is an administrator of the wireless network, who may be a person who lives in a home where the power line network is active], and [see FIGS 2A-2B, and corresponding text for more details].
Regarding claim 34, Huang discloses, wherein causing transmission of the first access code comprises causing transmission of the first access code to the user device via a near field communication (NFC) device communicatively connected with the premise power line network [Col. 16 lines, 16-25, the wireless networks may include a local area network (LAN) or other short-range wireless networks such as Bluetooth, Infrared, Zigbee networks, or an enterprise Internet Protocol (IP) network].
Regarding claim 35, Huang discloses, wherein the first access code is received by the gateway while the user device is authorized to access the wireless network.
[Abstract, A request is received from the device to connect to the wireless network. The request includes the wireless network credentials transmitted to the device through the power line. The device is determined to be authorized to access the wireless network based on the one or more credentials received in the request. In response to determining that the one or more wireless network credentials received in the request from the device are valid, wireless network access is provided to the device], and [Col.7, 28-38, In general, the power line network controller 140 may communicate with the power line connectors 130A-E and any device 120 connected to a power line connector 130A/E. In some implementations, the power line network controller 140 is a power line network router. This power line network router may be integrated with a wireless network router or access point that provides the wireless network. The power line network controller 140 may detect electronic circuit conditions such as power levels, current levels, voltage levels, and new connections with external devices such as a device 120], and [Col. 7 lines 32-38, this power line network router may be integrated with a wireless network router or access point (equated to a gateway) that provides the wireless network. The power line network controller 140 may detect electronic circuit conditions such as power levels, current levels, voltage levels, and new connections with external devices such as a device 120], and [ Col. 1 lines 25-27, the wireless network access information may include, for example, credentials such as a password, a key, or a certificate], and[Col 13 lines 60-63, the wireless network credentials 150 may include one or more of a digital certificate, a token, one or more session keys, a SSID, and a password], and [Col. 9 lines 53-65; Col. 10 lines 34-41].
Regarding claim 36, Huang discloses, wherein the second message requests the user device to connect to the power line network via a near field communication (NFC) device. [Col. 16 lines, 16-25, the wireless networks may include a local area network (LAN) or other short-range wireless networks such as Bluetooth, Infrared, Zigbee networks, or an enterprise Internet Protocol (IP) network].
Regarding claim 37, Huang discloses, further comprising: receiving an identifier of the user device; and retrieving a list of device identifiers associated with a manufacturer of the user device; and 6Application No. 16/181,099Docket No.: 007412.03700\US Amendment dated 01.05.2022 Reply to Office Action of October 8, 2021 wherein the sending the information for accessing the wireless network is based on finding the identifier in the list of device identifiers [Col. 10 lines 34-41, the device information may include one or more of a device type, a device name or identifier, an IP address, a MAC address, and an operating state of the device 120. Device type information may include information indicating a type or category of the device 120 such as information identifying the device 120 as a television device, a refrigerator device, a phone device, or a laptop device], and [Col. 10 lines 51-57, for example, the device information may include data indicative of a make, model, manufacturer, year of manufacturing of the device 120. In some cases, the device information may include the most frequent operating mode of the device 120. In general, various types of information indicative of features and characteristics of the device 120 may be included in the device information], and [Col. 2 lines 16-23, this arrangement can allow automatic network access to be provided to devices that are coupled to a particular physical electrical circuit, e.g., the power line network in a user's home. Devices that are currently authenticated on the wireless network and devices connected to the power line may receive up-to-date credentials, while other devices are unable to access the wireless network], and [Col 13 lines 60-63].
Regarding claim 40, Huang discloses, wherein the sending the request for the first access code comprises: sending, by the gateway via the wireless network to the user device and after the detecting the attempt, the request for the first access code, and wherein the receiving the first access code comprises: receiving, by the gateway from the user device and after the sending the request, the first access code[ Abstract, see FIG.1 and corresponding text for more detail; Col.1 lines 22-54; Col.1 lines 65-67- Col. 2 lines 1-4; Col. 3 lines 9-17; 65-67 Col 4 lines 30-45; Col.7 lines 43-63; Col. 9 lines 53-65; Col. 10 lines 5-57].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. (US 9,906,956 A1) issued to Huang, and view of US Patent No. 2018/0124785 issued to Taylor.
Regarding claim 6, generating, by the gateway, the first access code, wherein the first access code comprises a hash of a media access control address of the gateway.
Even though Huang discloses that: [Col. 10 lines 34-37, the device information may include one or more of a device type, a device name or identifier, an IP address, a MAC address, and an operating state of the device 120], and [ Col. 10 lines 5-20, After obtaining the wireless network credentials 150, the power line network controller 140 may transmit the wireless network credentials 150 to the device 120 through the power line network 110 and power line connector 130A (315). As noted above, the wireless network credentials 150 may include one or more of various types of credentials such as a SSID, a password, key, and a digital certificate. In some cases, the wireless network credentials 150 may also include an Internet Protocol (IP) address and Media Access Control (MAC) address of a network router...].
However, Taylor discloses hash of a media access control address [¶170, the group acknowledgement message may generally include acknowledgments for communications from multiple devices. An acknowledgment may include a device identifier for a device that sent a communication (e.g., a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the device, a hash of the MAC address of the device, etc.) and a communication identifier for the communication (e.g., a sequence number of the communication, a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) code for the communication, etc.)], and [¶50, Regardless of the topology of the AN 106, individual network communication devices may communicate by wireless (e.g., radio frequency) and/or wired (e.g., power line communication, Ethernet, serial, etc.) connections].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huang with the teaching of Taylor in order for a group acknowledgement message allow a relatively large number of communications (e.g., hundreds or thousands) to be acknowledged with relatively little information (e.g., a single message). This may be particularly useful for networks that designate a device to receive communications from many devices (e.g., a star network, etc.) [Taylor, ¶43]. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Laves (US2011/0060669 A1) discloses [0040] FIG. 6, keys may be set to expire based on another factor, such as the value of the downloaded data, or system preference settings related to battery life, etc.
Chin (US2008/0025283) [ [0033] Turning now to FIG. 3 (and with continuing reference to FIG. 1), there is shown generally at 76 a flow diagram of a method for reducing delay during a multiple access attempt exchange in a communications network, including activating the current flow from the battery 12b to the transmit clock 12c at step 78; for example, activating the battery's 12b current to the transmit clock 12c and long code generator and I-channel and Q-channel PN sequence generators. At step 80, the transmit clock 12c and associated PN generators may be synchronized with CDMA system time associated with the communication network 10; for example, synchronizing the transmit clock 12c and long code and I-channel and Q-channel PN sequence generators (not shown) with CDMA system time. Once the transmit clock 12c is accurate with CDMA system time, the MS 12 may send a series of probes to the BSS 16 via the air interface link 14, as shown in step 82. Upon completion of step 82, the timer may be set to the predetermined time interval at step 84. Continuation of the current MAAE may be checked and determined at 86. For example, the program may wait for either timer expiration or a successive access attempt, after which various logic paths may be taken, shown, for example, at 88 and 90], and [¶23].
Monnerat (US2017/0063086) [ Abstract, Methods and systems are disclosed for leveraging user premises supplied electric power to power active components in an information delivery network. In response to one or more conditions, an active component may switch an input power path from using grid-supplied or battery power to draw power from a user premises. The decision to switch the power path may be based on a number of conditions, for example, whether power is available from the grid, the relative cost of power from the user premises and whether the power from the user premises includes power from a renewable source].
JP 2011521206 A [ Abstract, disclosed is a method for determining an end-of-life for a rechargeable battery, the method comprising using a battery 102, charging the battery 112, and estimating a battery life 128. And step 122 for monitoring battery characteristics indicative of battery aging],
GUO (US2017/0223539) [Abstract, disclosed is an authentication method applied to a wireless router, the wireless router being configured with a confirmation key. The method comprises: receiving a first wireless access request from a terminal, the first wireless access request carrying identification information uniquely identifying the terminal. If the identification information is not found in the wireless router, the terminal is determined to be performing a first-time access; upon receipt of a confirmation instruction triggered by a confirmation operation of the confirmation key within a preset time, the terminal is confirmed to be legitimate, and the identification information is stored, the identification information being used to verify the terminal legitimacy the next time the terminal requests access].[0021] An embodiment of the disclosure provides an authentication method applied in a wireless router. A confirmation key is provided on the wireless router. The confirmation key may be a physical key, or may be a virtual key within a confirmation prompt interface displayed on a display screen of the wireless router. Of course, the confirmation key may have other forms, and is not limited to the embodiment. [0022] In practice, when the confirmation key is a physical key and some wireless routers enable a WiFi Protected Setup (WPS) function, a WPS key may be reused as the confirmation key]. [0042] For example, the terminal A is to access the wireless router B. The identification information identifying the terminal A uniquely is denoted by S.[0043-53] FIG. 2 is a schematic flowchart of the method by which the terminal accesses the wireless router according to the embodiment of the disclosure. As shown in FIG. 2, the method includes the following steps.
LIU (US2013/0067081) [ see FIGs 1-2 and corresponding text for more detail, 0020] In particular, mobile device 102 (e.g., User X) may include a processor 112 and a memory 116 configured to execute instructions for implementing a binding agent 114. Memory 116 may be coupled to processor 112 to store instructions for implementation by the processor 112. Thus, mobile device 102 is configured to execute instructions to implement a binding agent 114 to: command transmitting a social profile via a wireless link 122 associated with the mobile device to the router 140 to bind the mobile device 102 to the router and to command transmitting social network credentials requested by the router 140 to the router via wireless link 122 to authenticate the mobile device to the router. Based upon authentication by the router 140, the mobile device 102 may be permitted to access a social network 160 in accordance with control rules set by the router], and [¶31, With brief reference to FIG. 2, a flow diagram is shown to illustrate a process 200 to allow a user of a mobile device 102 to access a social network 160, according to one aspect of the invention. At block 202, mobile device 102 transmits a social profile associated with the mobile device 102 to wireless hotspot router 140 to bind the mobile device 102 to wireless hotspot router 140. At block 204, process 200 authenticates the mobile device 102 to the wireless hotspot router 140 by transmitting social network credentials requested by the wireless hotspot router 140 to the router. Based upon authentication by the wireless hotspot router 140, access to the social network 160 is permitted by the router in accordance with control rules set by the router (block 206)], and [¶34, Further, mobile device 102 may authenticate itself with wireless hotspot router 140 by transmitting social network credentials (e.g., social profile data) requested by wireless hotspot router 140 to authenticate the mobile device 102 to wireless hotspot router 140].
SU SHAOHUA (CN 105933942 A) In step S31, the router receives the sent by the terminal for requesting to access an initial online request of the first frequency band, the initial online request comprises the identifier of the terminal.
a user wants to use a terminal is accessed to a wireless local area network and it is able to operate the terminal, the terminal displays network connection interface, the network connecting interface can be as shown in Figure 3-2, and FIG. 3-2 is a schematic diagram of a network connecting interface according to one exemplary embodiment, the network connection interface may include: ESSID and signal strength corresponding to each ESSID. supposing the first frequency band is a 2.4G band, the corresponding ESSID is ABC-2.4, the second frequency band is a 5G band, the corresponding ESSID is ABC-5. ESSID of the first frequency band and the second frequency band are different and belong to the same wireless local area network. if the user wants a terminal is accessed to the first band, can click the network connection interface ABC-2.4, a trigger terminal generates requests to access the online request of the first frequency band, the on-line request carries the identification of the terminal, the mark can be the MAC address of the terminal, and may also include some auxiliary mark, such as IMEI. after the router receives the online request, it judges whether the terminal is the first request to access the first band, for example, a router can be the identifier of the terminal in the online request and pre-stored in the router of the identifier of the terminal (generally is stored in the white list of the router to match), the identifier of the terminal stored in the router in the presence identifier of the online request of terminal, it is determined that the terminal is not the first request to a first frequency band, when the previously stored in the router identifier of the terminal identifier of the terminal does not exist in the online request. it is determined that the terminal is a first request to a first band, and determines that the request is the initial request.
In step S32, the router receives the connecting password of the first frequency band sent by the terminal after the terminal is accessed to the first frequency band.
when the router determines receiving online request is the initial request, it sends the request of obtaining password to the terminal, the terminal according to the request of obtaining password display password obtaining interface, user input the corresponding connecting password the password obtaining interface. the connecting password is sent to the router, the router according to the connecting password for authentication by the terminal, when it is determined that the connection password is the same as the first frequency band corresponding to the pre-stored password, determining to allow the terminal to access the first band, correspondingly, the router sends the terminal access to the first frequency band, establishing the connection of the terminal to the first frequency band.
Mary (US9769167) [ see FIG.2 and correspond text, (55) With reference to FIG. 2 a method 200 for authentication and authorization using device-based validation is illustrated. At step 210, a user is authenticated. In certain embodiments, the user may be authenticated by entering login credentials such as a username and password. In certain embodiments, a secure token may be also required. In still other embodiments, a security card with a digital fingerprint may be used to authenticate the user.
(56) At step 220, a validation module sends a response with browser code to the authenticated client. The browser code may include, for example, JavaScript code. The JavaScript code may be configured to retrieve device information for establishing the user device for the session.
(57) At step 230, device information is retrieved. The device information retrieved by the browser code may include browser context information, information regarding the screen/monitor size of the device, and other device specific information such as operating system information and the like.
(58) At step 240, session information is stored. The retrieved device information may be stored in an authorization token and/or a policy store. User account information may be linked to the device information. Device validation criteria may also be stored. For example, device validation time-out information may be stored.
(59) At step 250, a request is received from the client after the device validation criteria has been met, triggering validation of the device. In this example, the request is received after the device validation time-out has lapsed. The system may determine that the device validation criteria has been met using information from the authorization token passed in the request. In this example, this includes determining that the device validation time-out has lapsed by using information from the authorization token to look up validation time-out information from a policy store. The session information may indicate that the device validation time-out has lapsed, and that revalidation of the client device is required.
(60) At step 260, device information is retrieved from the requesting device. The same and/or similar device information property values may be retrieved from the requesting client device. The device information may be retrieved in a similar manner as described above.
(61) At step 270, the newly collected device information is compared with the stored device information from the session information stored in the policy server and/or the authorization token.
(62) At step 280, access is granted to the requested resource based on whether the device information property values match the stored device information.
JP 2017535989 A [Device 202 can authenticate to LTE network 112 using user credentials 228 in addition to or instead of device certificate 214 For example, an NH network operated by an enterprise may require device 202 to authenticate using user credentials 228 (e.g., username and password, etc.) as an additional security measure.], and the device 202 can use one or more pen names 246 to authenticate to the LTE network 112 that the device 202 has been previously authenticated using the device certificate 214. For example, to enhance user privacy, after the device 202 successfully authenticates using the device certificate 214, the LTE network 112 can issue a pen name 246 or other re-authentication identifier to the device. In a subsequent attempt to gain access to the LTE network 112, the device 202 can present the pen name 246 to the LTE network 112 rather than sending a device certificate 214. This may allow device 202 to avoid sending device certificate 214 unsuspectingly on subsequent visits to LTE network 112], and Device 202 can store one or more security contexts 216, each security context 216 associated with a visited NH network. The security context 216 may store information about the LTE network 112, the network certificate 110 of the LTE network 112, the pen name 246 associated with the LTE network 112, and the authentication process for the LTE network 112. Device 202 can reconnect to a previously visited NH network using one or more security contexts 216. After the device 202 is authenticated to the LTE network 112 using the device certificate 214, the security context establisher 240 can generate the security context 216.
Yang (US20180295500) [ ¶5…While the eSIM of the eUICC is in the locked state (disabled state), applications and files of the eSIM on the eUICC can be unusable. In some embodiments, the processing circuitry of the mobile device can reuse credentials of the eSIM to re-authenticate with a wireless network in order to deliver the notification to the provisioning server (equated to message)].
WO (2018/013052) [ In step 730, upon receiving the Fast Re-authentication ID from the communication device 1, the communication device 2 uses the Fast Re-authentication ID to authenticate with the core network. Particularly, the communication device 2 starts a Fast Re- authentication procedure with the network authentication entity of the core network. The Fast Re-authentication procedure begins with the communication device 2 generating and transmitting a message to the authentication entity. The message includes the Fast Re- authentication ID and a flag to indicate that the Fast Re-authentication ID does not belong to the current communication device and that the current communication device obtains the Fast Re-authentication ID from another device within the same UE. By extracting the flag from the message, the authentication entity at the network side determines an appropriate action in handling the security context. For example, if the flag indicates that the Fast Re- authentication ID belongs to the communication device, then the server may simply update the security context. If the flag indicates that the fast re-authentication ID does not belong to the communication device, the authentication entity may create a new security context].
Larsson ( US2009/0064346) [0021] In another aspect, the first authentication credentials may include information indicative of a first expiration time and the second authentication credentials may be used to re-authenticate the guest device in the personal network after a time based on the first expiration time], and [0026] In one aspect, a mobile communications device may include a transmitter to send first authentication credentials and connection information for a personal network to a guest device; where the first authentication credentials may be used to authenticate the guest device in the personal network and authorize the guest device to access content stored in the personal network for a guest session; and where the transmitter may send second authentication credentials to the guest device to re-authenticate the guest device in the personal network.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHRIAR ZARRINEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496