DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Applicant’s remarks in the response filed on 05/29/2025 has been considered by the Examiner. Currently claims 1-27 are pending and claim 20 has been amended. Applicant’s amendment to claim 20 has overcome the previously filed claim objection. A complete action on the merits of claims 1-27 follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-13, and 15-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhart (2003/0014096) in view of Bruder (2013/0317459).
Regarding claim 1, Burkhart teaches an eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy to at least one eye of a patient (facial mask 11 [0014] the eye patch regions are a washable, mesh material that allows free egress and permeability of moisture, vapor…[0012] elements then serving to either heat or cool the person's skin and tissues beneath the skin), the eye mask comprising:
at least one eye coverage portion (eye patch regions 15 and 17 against the person's eyes and surrounding area); and
at least one securing strap affixed to the eye coverage portion (19, 21);
wherein the at least one eye coverage portion comprises an enclosure containing a fill material (bags 31 and 33) configured to absorb and release moisture ([0025] facial mask 11 comprising facial contact elements 31 and 33… which are comprised of permeable plastic bags …the contact elements further include slices of vegetables and fruits (cucumbers, etc) [0027] Solid beads can also be used to hold the oils, those beads or seeds also being placed in the bags 31 and 33…[0032] the permeable nature of the facial mask and bags allows for the oils within the aromatherapy bags to be breathed in by the person wearing the mask as well as absorbed through the skin around the eyes), said enclosure being made from a moisture-permeable material and surrounding and containing the fill material ([0025] permeable fabric bags), and preventing removal of the fill material from the enclosure ([0012] sewn bags containing therapeutic materials…[0022] sealed cloth bags such as Silk material sewn into a closed bag).
While Burkhart generally provides for fill material within an enclosure providing for moisture in one embodiment and heat in another embodiment [0022], it is silent about specifically teaching eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy to at least one eye of a patient.
However, Bruder provides for a device within the same field of invention (thermal eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy [0002] embodiments in Figs. 5 and 6) for delivering moist heat ([0008] granular fill material such as a hydrophilic zeolite [0009] The fill material may be prepared wet or moistened, or desiccated to dryness to either deliver or absorb moisture as appropriate to the desired treatment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the fill material in the eye mask of Burkhart so that it simultaneously provides for moist and heat therapy since Bruder provides this would allow for treatment of dry-eye or other eye conditions; for moist heat therapy to a subject's sinus or nasal areas; and/or for treatment of other body parts of a human or animal subject or patient for wound care, epitheliazation, antibacterial, antimicrobial, antiviral, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, analgesic, moist heat therapy and/or other treatment purposes [0025].
While Burkhart generally provides whereby [moist heat] therapy is delivered from the fill material in a first direction toward and through the first side ([0032][0014]), it does not teach a moisture-impermeable material separate from the moisture-permeable material of the enclosure configured to at least partially prevent moisture transmission from the fill material in a first direction, whereby moisture from the fill material is substantially directed toward the patient in a second direction generally opposite the first direction.
However, Bruder further provides for a device within the same field of invention (thermal eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy [0002] embodiments in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising an eye mask that includes a moisture impermeable layer (104 [0009] the backing may be non-permeable if so desired) separate from a moisture permeable layer (102 [0009] the shell is formed to be fluid-permeable i.e. vapor-permeable and liquid permeable…[0025] moist heat is delivered to the subject) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a moisture impermeable layer or to have modified the frontal element in Burkhart to include moisture impermeability for the purposes of preventing moisture from exiting outside of the mask or compress as taught by Bruder [0027] and advantageously directing the moisture towards the wearer [0025]. The Examiner acknowledges that Burkhart in [0032] recites the “advantage to the present invention is that the permeable nature of the facial mask and bags allows for the oils within the aromatherapy bags to be breathed in by the person wearing the mask as well as absorbed through the skin around the eyes. This is not possible when the mask is made from a non-permeable material such as plastic, PVC, and the like.” It is the position of the Examiner that this recitation does not teach away from the combination of Burkhart in view of Bruder (i.e. adding a moisture impermeable layer to the device of Burkhart) since Bruder’s eye mask comprising moisture permeable and impermeable layers performs the function of delivering moist therapy to the eye similar to Burkhart and advantageously directs the moist therapy toward the wearer. Bruder teaches the advantage of adding a moisture impermeable layer is for the retention of moisture [0009].Therefore, adding a moisture impermeable layer to the device of Burkhart would not make the device inoperable for delivering, moisture, heat, or moist heat therapy to the eyes.
Regarding claim 4, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Bruder teaches wherein the fill material comprises a hydrophilic zeolite ([0008] granular fill material such as a hydrophilic zeolite).
Regarding claim 5, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 4, and Bruder teaches wherein the hydrophilic zeolite fill material comprises granules loosely contained within the enclosure ([Abstract] a plurality of loose fill granules contained in an enclosure).
Regarding claim 6, Bruder in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 4, and Bruder teaches wherein the fill material contains an antimicrobial material ([0008] hydrophilic zeolite optionally loaded with at least one metallic antimicrobial agent).
Regarding claim 8, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Bruder teaches wherein the moisture-impermeable material is attached to the back side of the moisture permeable material ([0040] The shell and the backing may be fastened to one another by methods which may include, but are not limited to, adhesive attachment, RF welding, ultra-sonic attachment, sewing, or patterned heat application using a template or forming die to form a seal). The moisture-impermeable material would be indirectly attached to the back side of the moisture permeable material 31, 33 via the pockets 27 and 29.
Regarding claim 9, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the moisture-permeable material (31, 33) surrounding and containing the fill material is surrounded and contained by a second moisture-permeable material (pockets 27 and 29 [0024] The pocket means 27 and 29 are typically made from a synthetic mesh material such as nylon mesh of such a porosity as to allow free permeability of gases and moisture between the mesh in communication between the person's skin and facial contact elements within the pocket means 27 and 29).
Regarding claim 10, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 1. Burkhart teaches wherein the moisture-permeable material is selected from an open cell thermoplastic polyurethane foam, a polyether polyurethane foam, a polyester fabric, rayon, spandex, silk, polyethylene, neoprene, ECA, ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA), polyester felt or other natural and/or synthetic fabrics or materials, and combinations thereof ([0029] synthetic fabric materials such as nylon or polyester may also be used).
Regarding claim 11, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 1. Bruder does not explicitly teach wherein the moisture-impermeable material is selected from a plastic material, nylon, EVOH, or PE, or other natural and/or synthetic fabrics or materials, and combinations thereof.
However, Bruder in paragraph [0040] provides preferred dressing or compress constructions will use formable woven and non-woven synthetic materials or combinations thereof which may include, but are not limited to, synthetic olefin, … urethane, and nylon.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the moisture impermeable layer such that it is nylon since nylon is a well-known and widely used moisture impermeable fabric in the art and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 12, Burkhart teaches an eye compress for delivery of moist heat to a patient (facial mask 11 [0014] the eye patch regions are a washable, mesh material that allows free egress and permeability of moisture, vapor…[0012] elements then serving to either heat or cool the person's skin and tissues beneath the skin), the eye compress comprising:
at least one enclosure containing a fill material and preventing removal of the fill material therefrom, the enclosure having a moisture permeable first side and an opposite moisture permeable second side, with the fill material disposed between the first side and the second side, and wherein the first side is configured for application to a body portion of the patient ([0025] facial mask 11 comprising facial contact elements 31 and 33… which are comprised of permeable plastic bags …the contact elements further include slices of vegetables and fruits (cucumbers, etc.) [0027] Solid beads can also be used to hold the oils, those beads or seeds also being placed in the bags 31 and 33…[0032] the permeable nature of the facial mask and bags allows for the oils within the aromatherapy bags to be breathed in by the person wearing the mask as well as absorbed through the skin around the eyes …[0012] sewn bags containing therapeutic materials…[0022] sealed cloth bags such as Silk material sewn into a closed bag).
While Burkhart generally provides for fill material within an enclosure providing for moisture in one embodiment and heat in another embodiment [0022], it is silent about specifically teaching a fill material capable of absorbing and releasing moist heat.
However, Bruder provides for a device within the same field of invention (thermal eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy [0002] embodiments in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising fill material within the enclosure of the eye compress for delivering moist heat ([0008] granular fill material such as a hydrophilic zeolite [0009] The fill material may be prepared wet or moistened, or desiccated to dryness to either deliver or absorb moisture as appropriate to the desired treatment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace the fill material in Burkhart with the fill material in Bruder so that it simultaneously provides for moist and heat therapy since Bruder provides this would allow for treatment of dry-eye or other eye conditions; for moist heat therapy to a subject's sinus or nasal areas; and/or for treatment of other body parts of a human or animal subject or patient for wound care, epitheliazation, antibacterial, antimicrobial, antiviral, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, analgesic, moist heat therapy and/or other treatment purposes [0025].
While Burkhart generally provides whereby [moist heat] therapy is delivered from the fill material in a first direction toward and through the first side ([0032], [0014]), it does not teach a separate moisture barrier positioned along the second side, whereby moist heat is substantially prevented from transmission from the fill material in a second direction toward the second side.
However, Bruder provides for a device within the same field of invention (thermal eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy [0002] embodiments in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising an eye mask that includes a moisture barrier layer (104 [0009] the backing may be non-permeable if so desired) and a moisture permeable layer (102 [0009] the shell is formed to be fluid-permeable i.e. vapor-permeable and liquid permeable…[0025] moist heat is delivered to the subject) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a moisture barrier layer or to have modified the frontal element in Burkhart to position a moisture barrier member along the moisture permeable second side for the purposes of preventing moisture from exiting outside of the mask or compress as taught by Bruder [0027] and advantageously directing the moisture towards the wearer [0025]. The Examiner acknowledges that Burkhart in [0032] recites the “advantage to the present invention is that the permeable nature of the facial mask and bags allows for the oils within the aromatherapy bags to be breathed in by the person wearing the mask as well as absorbed through the skin around the eyes. This is not possible when the mask is made from a non-permeable material such as plastic, PVC, and the like.” It is the position of the Examiner that this recitation does not teach away from the combination of Burkhart in view of Bruder (i.e. adding a moisture impermeable layer to the device of Burkhart) since Bruder’s eye mask comprising moisture permeable and impermeable layers performs the function of delivering moist therapy to the eye similar to Burkhart and advantageously directs the moist therapy toward the wearer. Bruder teaches the advantage of adding a moisture impermeable layer is for the retention of moisture [0009]. Therefore, adding a moisture impermeable layer to the device of Burkhart would not make the device inoperable for delivering, moisture, heat, or moist heat therapy to the eyes.
Regarding claim 13, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 12. Burkhart teaches comprising a pair of enclosures containing the fill material, each of the pair of enclosures configured for application over a respective one of the patient's eyes (pocket means 27 and 29).
Regarding claim 15, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 12 and Bruder teaches further comprising a head strap for retaining the eye compress over an eye region of the patient (19, 21).
Claim 16 recites the limitations of claim 4 as previously rejected above.
Claim 17 recites the limitations of claim 5 as previously rejected above.
Claim 18 recites the limitations of claim 6 as previously rejected above.
Claim 19 recites the same limitations of claim 11 as previously rejected above.
Regarding claim 20, Burkhart teaches a method of providing [moist heat] therapy to a body part of a human or animal subject (facial mask 11 [0014] the eye patch regions are a washable, mesh material that allows free egress and permeability of moisture, vapor…[0012] elements then serving to either heat or cool the person's skin and tissues beneath the skin), the method comprising:
providing a therapeutic device comprising a first side, a second side, and defining an enclosure between the first side and the second side and further comprising a fill material contained in the enclosure between the first and second sides and wherein the fill material is not removable from the enclosure, the first side and the second side at least partially comprising a moisture-transmissive material allowing passage of moisture therethrough for release from the fill material ([0025] facial mask 11 comprising facial contact elements 31 and 33… which are comprised of permeable plastic bags …the contact elements further include slices of vegetables and fruits (cucumbers, etc.) [0027] Solid beads can also be used to hold the oils, those beads or seeds also being placed in the bags 31 and 33…[0032] the permeable nature of the facial mask and bags allows for the oils within the aromatherapy bags to be breathed in by the person wearing the mask as well as absorbed through the skin around the eyes …[0012] sewn bags containing therapeutic materials…[0022] sealed cloth bags such as Silk material sewn into a closed bag)
While Burkhart generally provides for fill material within an enclosure providing for moisture in one embodiment and heat in another embodiment [0022], it is silent about specifically teaching a method of providing moist heat therapy and whereby the fill material is a hydrophilic fill material capable of absorption and release of moisture.
However, Bruder provides for a device within the same field of invention (thermal eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy [0002] embodiments in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising hydrophilic fill material within the enclosure of the eye compress for delivering moist heat ([0008] granular fill material such as a hydrophilic zeolite [0009] The fill material may be prepared wet or moistened, or desiccated to dryness to either deliver or absorb moisture as appropriate to the desired treatment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace the fill material in Burkhart with the hydrophilic fill material in Bruder so that it simultaneously provides for moist and heat therapy since Bruder provides this would allow for treatment of dry-eye or other eye conditions; for moist heat therapy to a subject's sinus or nasal areas; and/or for treatment of other body parts of a human or animal subject or patient for wound care, epitheliazation, antibacterial, antimicrobial, antiviral, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, analgesic, moist heat therapy and/or other treatment purposes [0025].
While Burkhart generally provides whereby [moist heat] therapy is delivered from the fill material in a first direction toward and through the first side ([0032], [0014]), it does not teach a separate moisture impermeable material positioned along the second side substantially preventing passage of moisture therethrough.
However, Bruder provides for a device within the same field of invention (thermal eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy [0002] embodiments in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising an eye mask that includes a moisture impermeable layer (104 [0009] the backing may be non-permeable if so desired) separate from a moisture permeable layer (102 [0009] the shell is formed to be fluid-permeable i.e. vapor-permeable and liquid permeable…[0025] moist heat is delivered to the subject) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned a moisture impermeable material or to have modified the frontal element in Burkhart to position a moisture impermeable material along the second side for the purposes of preventing moisture from exiting outside of the mask or compress as taught by Bruder [0027] and advantageously directing the moisture towards the wearer [0025]. The Examiner acknowledges that Burkhart in [0032] recites the “advantage to the present invention is that the permeable nature of the facial mask and bags allows for the oils within the aromatherapy bags to be breathed in by the person wearing the mask as well as absorbed through the skin around the eyes. This is not possible when the mask is made from a non-permeable material such as plastic, PVC, and the like.” It is the position of the Examiner that this recitation does not teach away from the combination of Burkhart in view of Bruder (i.e. adding a moisture impermeable layer to the device of Burkhart) since Bruder’s eye mask comprising moisture permeable and impermeable layers performs the function of delivering moist therapy to the eye similar to Burkhart and advantageously directs the moist therapy toward the wearer. Bruder teaches the advantage of adding a moisture impermeable layer is for the retention of moisture [0009]. Therefore, adding a moisture impermeable layer to the device of Burkhart would not make the eye mask inoperable for delivering, moisture, heat, or moist heat therapy to the eyes.
Regarding claim 21, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 20 as previously rejected above. Burkhart teaches wherein the body part of the human or animal subject is an eye ([0032]).
Regarding claim 22, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 20 as previously rejected above. Burkhart generally provides for exposing the therapeutic device to a moisture source ([0027] Solid beads can also be used to hold the oils, those beads or seeds also being placed in the bags 31 and 33). Bruder teaches comprising exposing the therapeutic device to a moisture source to allow absorption of moisture into the hydrophilic fill material ([0036]).
Regarding claim 23, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 22 as previously rejected above. Bruder specifically provides wherein the moisture source is water vapor in ambient air surrounding the therapeutic device ([0036] The inherent hydrophilic nature of the zeolite provides that a substantial water content is available therein by absorption from the atmosphere. The water absorbed may be sufficient, or may be supplemented by manually added water).
Regarding claim 24, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 20 as previously rejected above. Burkhart generally provides bags can hold hot elements to heat a person’s skin [0025] and Bruder specifically teaches exposing the therapeutic device to a heat source to allow transfer of heat into the fill material ([0041] thermal response to microwave heating; Claim 20).
Regarding claim 25, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 24 as previously rejected above. Bruder teaches wherein the heat source is a microwave heating device ([0041] microwave heating).
Regarding claim 26, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 20 as previously rejected above and further comprising directing the application of the first side of the therapeutic device into contact with the body part to provide transmission of moist heat in a first direction from the hydrophilic fill material through the moisture-transmissive material to the body part, and to substantially prevent transmission of moist heat in an opposed second direction from the hydrophilic fill material through the moisture-impermeable material away from the body part (see claim rejection 20).
Regarding claim 27, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 20 as previously rejected above and applying the first side of the therapeutic device into contact with the body part to provide transmission of moist heat in a first direction from the hydrophilic fill material through the moisture-transmissive material to the body part, and to substantially prevent transmission of moist heat in an opposed second direction from the hydrophilic fill material through the moisture-impermeable material away from the body part (see claim rejection 20).
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhart (2003/0014096) in view of Bruder (2013/0317459) and in further view of Hirosawa (WO 9909920 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 1 as previously rejected. Burkhart teaches comprising two independent eye coverage portions (left and right pockets 27, 29).
While Burkhart generally provides for a flexible nose bridge, it does not teach the flexible nose bridge coupled between the two eye coverage portions.
However, Hirosawa teaches a device within the same field of invention (thermal therapy eye mask) whereby a flexible nose bridge is coupled between enclosures (adjustment belt 8 between the lenses 3 or cover2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the section between the lobes in Bruder in order to provide for a flexible nose bridge that couples the two portions since Hirosawa teaches this would allow the two independent portions to be attached and detached from the belt and can further be adjusted in the upward and downward direction by adjusting the length in the left-right direction for the purposes of adjusting the attachment position of the belt according to the shape of the nose and optimizing the contact state between the cover and the skin around the eyes (page 2 paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 3, Burkhart in view of Bruder and Hirosawa teaches the limitations of claim 2. Hirosawa teaches wherein the flexible nose bridge is adjustable (page 2 paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 14, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 12. Burkhart teaches a pair of enclosures ( left and right pockets 27, 29 containing 31, 33). While Burkhart generally provides for a nose bridge (section between the pockets), it does not explicitly teach the nose bridge portion coupled between the pair of enclosures
However, Hirosawa teaches a device within the same field of invention (thermal therapy eye mask) whereby a flexible nose bridge is coupled between enclosures (adjustment belt 8 between the lenses 3 or cover2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the section between the lobes in Bruder in order to provide for a flexible nose bridge that couples the two portions since Hirosawa teaches this would allow the two independent portions to be attached and detached from the belt and can further be adjusted in the upward and downward direction by adjusting the length in the left-right direction for the purposes of adjusting the attachment position of the belt according to the shape of the nose and optimizing the contact state between the cover and the skin around the eyes (page 2 paragraph 6).
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhart (2003/0014096) in view of Bruder (2013/0317459) in a second interpretation.
Regarding claim 1, Burkhart teaches an eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy to at least one eye of a patient (facial mask 11 [0014] the eye patch regions are a washable, mesh material that allows free egress and permeability of moisture, vapor…[0012] elements then serving to either heat or cool the person's skin and tissues beneath the skin), the eye mask comprising:
at least one eye coverage portion (eye patch regions 15 and 17 against the person's eyes and surrounding area); and
at least one securing strap affixed to the eye coverage portion (19, 21);
wherein the at least one eye coverage portion comprises an enclosure containing a fill material (pocket means 27 and 29 include bags 31 and 33) configured to absorb and release moisture ([0025] facial mask 11 comprising facial contact elements 31 and 33… which are comprised of permeable plastic bags …the contact elements further include slices of vegetables and fruits (cucumbers, etc.) [0027] Solid beads can also be used to hold the oils, those beads or seeds also being placed in the bags 31 and 33…[0032] the permeable nature of the facial mask and bags allows for the oils within the aromatherapy bags to be breathed in by the person wearing the mask as well as absorbed through the skin around the eyes), said enclosure being made from a moisture-permeable material and surrounding and containing the fill material ([0024] The pocket means 27 and 29 are typically made from a synthetic mesh material such as nylon mesh of such a porosity as to allow free permeability of gases and moisture between the mesh in communication between the person's skin and facial contact elements within the pocket means 27 and 29), and preventing removal of the fill material from the enclosure ([0019] Both the frontal element and the eye patch regions may be made from the same material, and sewn together in layers, or as a one-layer unit). The fill material is therefore prevented from being removed from the bottom of the mask since the eye patch regions are sewn to the frontal element.
While Burkhart generally provides for fill material within an enclosure providing for moisture in one embodiment and heat in another embodiment [0022], it is silent about specifically teaching eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy to at least one eye of a patient.
However, Bruder provides for a device within the same field of invention (thermal eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy [0002] embodiments in Figs. 5 and 6) for delivering moist heat ([0008] granular fill material such as a hydrophilic zeolite [0009] The fill material may be prepared wet or moistened, or desiccated to dryness to either deliver or absorb moisture as appropriate to the desired treatment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the fill material in the eye mask of Burkhart so that it simultaneously provides for moist and heat therapy since Bruder provides this would allow for treatment of dry-eye or other eye conditions; for moist heat therapy to a subject's sinus or nasal areas; and/or for treatment of other body parts of a human or animal subject or patient for wound care, epitheliazation, antibacterial, antimicrobial, antiviral, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, analgesic, moist heat therapy and/or other treatment purposes [0025].
While Burkhart generally provides whereby [moist heat] therapy is delivered from the fill material in a first direction toward and through the first side ([0032][0014]), it does not teach a moisture-impermeable material separate from the moisture-permeable material of the enclosure configured to at least partially prevent moisture transmission from the fill material in a first direction, whereby moisture from the fill material is substantially directed toward the patient in a second direction generally opposite the first direction.
However, Bruder further provides for a device within the same field of invention (thermal eye mask configured to deliver moist heat therapy [0002] embodiments in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising an eye mask that includes a moisture impermeable layer (104 [0009] the backing may be non-permeable if so desired) separate from a moisture permeable layer (102 [0009] the shell is formed to be fluid-permeable i.e. vapor-permeable and liquid permeable…[0025] moist heat is delivered to the subject) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a moisture impermeable layer or to have modified the frontal element in Burkhart to include moisture impermeability for the purposes of preventing moisture from exiting outside of the mask or compress as taught by Bruder [0027] and advantageously directing the moisture towards the wearer [0025]. The Examiner acknowledges that Burkhart in [0032] recites the “advantage to the present invention is that the permeable nature of the facial mask and bags allows for the oils within the aromatherapy bags to be breathed in by the person wearing the mask as well as absorbed through the skin around the eyes. This is not possible when the mask is made from a non-permeable material such as plastic, PVC, and the like.” It is the position of the Examiner that this recitation does not teach away from the combination of Burkhart in view of Bruder (i.e. adding a moisture impermeable layer to the device of Burkhart) since Bruder’s eye mask comprising moisture permeable and impermeable layers performs the function of delivering moist therapy to the eye similar to Burkhart and advantageously directs the moist therapy toward the wearer. Bruder teaches the advantage of adding a moisture impermeable layer is for the retention of moisture [0009].Therefore, adding a moisture impermeable layer to the device of Burkhart would not make the device inoperable for delivering, moisture, heat, or moist heat therapy to the eyes.
Regarding claim 7, Burkhart in view of Bruder teaches the limitations of claim 1. The combination teaches wherein the moisture-impermeable material is laminated to the moisture-permeable material ([0040] The shell and the backing may be fastened to one another by methods which may include, but are not limited to, adhesive attachment, RF welding, ultra-sonic attachment, sewing, or patterned heat application using a template or forming die to form a seal).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments in the response filed on 05/29/2025 has been considered by the Examine; however, they are not persuasive. On page 8 of the remarks the Applicant recites, “However, the bags 31 and 33 can still be removed in an upwards direction as shown in Fig. 2, so the pocket means 27 and 29 clearly do not prevent removal of the bags 31 and 33 . To put simply the bags 31 and 33 are removable from the pocket means 27 and 39.” The claim recites “said enclosure…containing the fill material and preventing removal of the fill material from the enclosure.” Since the Examiner had interpreted the “enclosure” to specifically be bags 31 and 33 and since the bags are sewn and sealed, therefore the bags or enclosure prevent the removal of the fill material from the enclosure. The Applicant discusses Fig 2 of Burkhart and how the bags can be removed from the top. However, since the Examiner had interpreted “the eye coverage portions” to be eye patch regions 15 and 17 and the “enclosure” to be bags 31 and 33 which contain the fill material then the sewn bags prevent the fill material from being removed from the bags.
If Applicant wishes to claim the structure in Fig. 3 of the disclosure or the teaching in paragraph [0021] of the Specification: “Optionally, an upper attachment strip is stitched along the top edge of the eye coverage portion,” then the limitation “said enclosure…preventing removal of the fill material from the enclosure,” would need to be further amended.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.E/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/KAITLYN E SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794