DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In an Amendment filed on 12/18/2025, claims 2-3, 6-7, 11, 14 and 20 were/had been cancelled. Therefore, Claims 1, 4-5, 8-10, 12-13, 15-19, and 21-27 are still pending in this Application.
Response to Amendment/remarks
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on pages 6-9, with respect to rejections to claims 1, 4-5, 8-10, 12-13, 15-19, and 21-27 under 35 USC § 103(a) have been fully considered and they are respectfully unpersuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims have been maintained.
On pages 6-8, the Applicant argues that:
“…First, Creed does not appear to describe "determining ... an inductive load… However, even assuming arguendo that such describes "an inductive load," cited paragraph [0084] goes on to make clear that "[t]his specific information is provided by the respective coupled DDDs"-not "determined"
as recited in claim 1.
Second, even assuming arguendo that the cited sections of Creed above generally describe "determining ... an inductive load," they do not specifically describe "determining ... an indicative load associated with the operating mode." Nor do the cited sections of Creed describe making such determination specifically "based on the operating mode and stored information comprising power load information for one or more operating modes for a device type associated with the first device…" These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
In response to the argument above, Creed teaches or suggests determining, based on the operating mode and stored information comprising power load information for one or more operating modes for a device type associated with the first device an inductive load associated with the operating mode (see [0057], [0063], [0084] “the energy profile data of energy consumption of appliances…include…inductive..”; also, see [0087] “…The power consumption profile stored information may contain serial numbers, model numbers, resistive, inductive, capacitive, type of consumption…, specific inrush current, power; also, see [0095-0096] “…In addition, control circuitry DOD 5/ can be configured to be in communication with the master FBC so as to communicate the selected mode of operation (such as heating, cooling, or ventilation)… Based on mode selected, energy required to operate associated load 139c may be available but additional energy needed for resistive heating (not shown) or compressor 39c may not be available”; [0093] “… a request for start of the clothes washer (FIG. 4), the energy consumption profile (e.g. resistive, inductive, capacitive), and the associated consumption energy levels are communicated to power supply master FBC 90 (FIG. 3). Transmitted data may include electrical energy profile of type of wash..”; see [0097] also, see claim 1 below for further citations/rationale). Thus, Cred in view of Broe teach or suggest the argued limitations above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9-10, 13, 16 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creed (US 2010/0274407) in view of Broe et al (US 5927598).
As per claim 1, Creed teaches a method (see Abstract “method and apparatus for controlling supply of electric power…”) comprising:
receiving, from a first device, a first signal indicating an operating mode of the first device (e.g. see operating mode as an activation or start request by the load, 0021 e.g. “The method further includes receiving a load activation request indicating requested activation of one or more currently deactivated loads, a load deactivation notification indicating deactivation of one or more currently activated loads and/or a power supply status change notification indicating a change in a status of a currently active power supply…If so, the method includes automatically rebalancing the supply of electrical power to the micro-grid power system by changing an activation state of one or more of the plurality of power supplies based at least partially on the load profile and the active reserve power level”; also, see [0071]; also, see [0093]);
determining, based on the operating mode and stored information comprising power load information for one or more operating modes for a device type associated with the first device, ([0057] “the plurality of appliances 18 is coupled with the mobile electrical power distribution system micro-grid 150 and may send a request for start (load activation request) with accompanying operational load profile information. This request to consume electrical power from the micro-grid 150 is received by FBC 90. This call for operational load is evaluated against…power conversion characteristic data stored in each respective generator FBC memory, and the operational load call (activation request) is compared to running or non-running load profiles stored in the memory of each respective appliance delay demand device (DDD) 5, 5a, 5b. l….”; also, see [0063] “the DDD 5 may be omitted and the request functionality for profiled load operation can be integrated within the appliances 18….The DDDs 5 upon request to begin appliance operation, provide a signal to the master controller FBC 90 containing appliance information, inrush and/or an operational energy value request…provide a signal to the master controller FBC 90 containing appliance information, inrush and/or an operational energy value request…”; also, see 0079 e.g. see in response to determining an operating mode/start request, a load profile or load requirement for available power from a remote generator, see “Adjustment of power supply 97 by ECU 20 and permission to start may be implemented responsive to monitoring by the master FBC 90. A new appliance load start request with accompanying energy profile requirements of at least one appliance load may be implemented by the operator or thermostat (not shown), monitored by the master FBC 90.,”; also, see [0084] the energy profile data of energy consumption of appliances…include…inductive”; also, see [0087], [0093], [0095-0095], [0098], [0102] the profile data comprises energy consumption profile including inductive loads and associated consumption levels for one or more mode modes of each appliance, wherein the first devices/appliances include motors, fans, ac, blowers, etc…which include inductive loads) an inductive load associated with the operating mode (see [0084] “the energy profile data of energy consumption of appliances…include…inductive..”; also, see [0087] “…The power consumption profile stored information may contain serial numbers, model numbers, resistive, inductive, capacitive, type of consumption…, specific inrush current, power; also, see [0093] “In one configuration, a request for start of the clothes washer (FIG. 4), the energy consumption profile (e.g. resistive, inductive, capacitive), and the associated consumption energy levels are communicated to power supply master FBC 90 (FIG. 3). Transmitted data may include electrical energy profile of type of wash cycle selected, total time of selected wash cycle,, power…”; also, see [0095-0096] “…In addition, control circuitry DOD 5/ can be configured to be in communication with the master FBC so as to communicate the selected mode of operation (such as heating, cooling, or ventilation)… Based on mode selected, energy required to operate associated load 139c may be available but additional energy needed for resistive heating (not shown) or compressor 39c may not be available”; [0097] ); and
sending, to a second device, a second signal comprising an instruction for a power source, associated with the second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, (see [0061] “…the master controller 90 makes the activation status change selection according to one or more further considerations, such as …controlling micro-grid power factor… In certain implementations, the master controller 90 preferentially selects one or more currently deactivated non-fuel consuming power supplies 91, such as …battery or capacitive storage-type power supplies for activation…”; also, see [0060]-[061] “…the master controller 90 makes the activation status change selection according to one or more further considerations, such as …controlling micro-grid power factor… In certain implementations, the master controller 90 preferentially selects one or more currently deactivated non-fuel consuming power supplies 91, such as …battery or capacitive storage-type power supplies for activation…”; also, see [0075] “…vehicles my provide power to the micro-grid…” ; also, see [0076]; also, see [0090] “…Generator control master 90 instructs ECU 20 to wait, instructs energy storage system controller 90e to synchronize battery and capacitors 9le to micro-grid 150 (energy storage system batteries and capacitors contain necessary components such as inverters, battery charger, power management controller and disconnect switches for grid tie in) connect to micro-grid 150, to supply electrical inrush energy needed for inrush energy of ECU 20… the disclosure FBC master controller 90 controls the operational (activation) state and stored energy level of a battery storage system by the monitoring and control of charge levels and energy distribution control”, thus, by controlling and starting the batteries and capacitors to provide energy, the reactive power is controlled and reduced for the required inductive loads; also, see [0091] “…For example, the battery and capacitors energy storage may be connected or disconnected to the micro-grid for inrush energy supply, power factor correction or dissipation of stored energy from renewable energy sources, and various other electrical energy inputs…”; see [0102] “…the energy consumption profile (e.g. resistive, inductive, and/or capacitive) and associated consumption levels are analyzed by power supply master controller FBC via an algorithm for fuel efficient selection of supply power assets…”; also, see [0111] “In some cases the batteries and capacitor may be the only energy supply operating the micro-grid. The FBC 510c…”).
While Creed teaches that power supplies are controlled and power is balanced based on determined load profiles of a first device including inductive power consuming appliances, wherein the power supplies includes batteries, capacitors, EV vehicles which provide capacitance or reactive power (see 0021, [0065; [009], [0102]) and suggests power factors control which suggests reactive power control, Creed does not explicitly teach sending an instruction for a power source, associated with the second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, based on the determined inductive load, associated with the first device (This has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of disclosure as starting or connecting batteries or capacitors or reactive power generating sources to reduce the reactive power loads of a first devices/load appliance (see published disclosure, 0016, 0017, 0018)). Thus, controlling and dynamically activating a capacitor/battery/reactive power generating sources to provide a specific amount/allocation of energy to counteract or reduce the reactive power of the inductive appliance imposed on the grid network).
However, Broe teaches an energy management system comprising sending an instruction for a power source, associated with a second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, based on the determined inductive load associated with a first device (see Fig. 1 second device 31 associated with capacitors, wherein the first device is an appliance; also, see Col 5 lines “The controller 23 senses when a load is on-line and operating in a mode where power factor correction is required. Some loads may have more than one operating mode, not all of which would require power factor correction. For example, a load corresponding to walk-in freezer 13 or reach-in cooler 18 might operate in a defrost mode. the defrost mode will not require power factor correction. Alternatively, the freezer 13 and cooler 18 may operate in a chill mode which requires power factor correction. The need for power factor correction is evaluated by monitoring power factor and the appropriate amount of capacitance is engaged to bring power factor closer to unity”, thus, based on the inductive load/power factor correction determined based on the mode of operation of the first device such as an appliance, power factor correction which is the same as reactive power reduction in the system, a capacitor amount of energy/capacitance/reactive power is activated; also, see Col 8 lines 16-23 “When the motors 21, 22 of walk-in freezer 13 and refrigerator 14 are operated, and with reference to FIG. 2, the capacitor bank 31 will also be utilized thereby to improve the power factor of the motors 21, 22. As the power factor increases, electrical consumption is normally decreased as measured by a thermal demand meter thereby reducing demand and again reducing the cost of electricity to the user; also, see Col 9 claim 8; also, see table when an inductive loads mode is activated, then, power reactive from capacitors activation is provided, reducing the unbalance of power reactive in the system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Creed’s invention to include sending an instruction for a power source, associated with a second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, based on the determined inductive load associated with a first device as taught by Broe in order to Dynamically and adjustable recative power to provide power factor correction to the system when the power load in the system changes due to activation or deactivation of appliance/loads (see also, see Col 9 claim 8 “comprising a capacitance bank operably connected to said motor, said capacitance bank providing adjustable or fixed capacitance to said motor and being operable to increase the power factor of said motor during operation of said motor”; also, see Col 5 lines 11-31. )
As per claim 5, Creed-Broe teaches the method of claim 1, Creed further teaches wherein the instruction is further based on the power load information to cause power factor correction (see [0025] “the automatic selection of power supplies for activation state change is done at least in part…to control the power factor of the micro-grid power system…”; also, see [0061], [0074], and [0091] “…the battery and capacitors energy storage may be connected or disconnected to the micro-grid for inrush energy supply, power factor correction or dissipation of stored energy from renewable energy sources….”). Broe also teaches wherein the instruction is further based on the power load information to cause power factor correction (see Col 5 lines 18-23 “…the freezer 13 and cooler 18 may operate in a chill mode which requires power factor correction. The need for power factor correction is evaluated by monitoring power factor and the appropriate amount of capacitance is engaged to bring power factor closer to unity…”).
As per claim 9, Creed-Broe teaches the method of claim 1, Creed further teaches wherein the first device comprises a household appliance (see Fig. 1 appliances; also, see [0016] ad [0083] appliance such as washer). Broe also further teaches first device comprises a household appliance (see Fig. 1 inductive energy consumption appliances).
As per claim 10, Creed teaches a method comprising:
sending, to a first device, a first signal comprising a request for an operating mode status (see [0083] “…When queried by the operator, master FBC 90, using network 6, pings the individual loads or the combined load 39 for consumption profile of appliance (e.g. ECU, washer (not shown) dryer (not shown) …”, in other words, the master controller 90 polls/pings the appliances for their mode status);
receiving, from the first device, a second signal indicating an operating mode of the first device (e.g. see operating mode as an activation or start request by the load, 0021 e.g. “The method further includes receiving a load activation request indicating requested activation of one or more currently deactivated loads, a load deactivation notification indicating deactivation of one or more currently activated loads and/or a power supply status change notification indicating a change in a status of a currently active power supply…If so, the method includes automatically rebalancing the supply of electrical power to the micro-grid power system by changing an activation state of one or more of the plurality of power supplies based at least partially on the load profile and the active reserve power level”; also, see [0057] “the plurality of appliances 18 is coupled with the mobile electrical power distribution system micro-grid 150 and may send a request for start (load activation request) with accompanying operational load profile information.…”; also, see [0071]; also, see [0083] each appliance responds to the ping/master; also, see [0093]);
determining, based on the operating mode and stored information comprising power load information for one or more operating modes for a device type associated with the first device, ([0057] “the plurality of appliances 18 is coupled with the mobile electrical power distribution system micro-grid 150 and may send a request for start (load activation request) with accompanying operational load profile information. This request to consume electrical power from the micro-grid 150 is received by FBC 90. This call for operational load is evaluated against…power conversion characteristic data stored in each respective generator FBC memory, and the operational load call (activation request) is compared to running or non-running load profiles stored in the memory of each respective appliance delay demand device (DDD) 5, 5a, 5b. l….”; also, see [0063] “the DDD 5 may be omitted and the request functionality for profiled load operation can be integrated within the appliances 18….The DDDs 5 upon request to begin appliance operation, provide a signal to the master controller FBC 90 containing appliance information, inrush and/or an operational energy value request…provide a signal to the master controller FBC 90 containing appliance information, inrush and/or an operational energy value request…”; also, see 0079 e.g. see in response to determining an operating mode/start request, a load profile or load requirement for available power from a remote generator, see “Adjustment of power supply 97 by ECU 20 and permission to start may be implemented responsive to monitoring by the master FBC 90. A new appliance load start request with accompanying energy profile requirements of at least one appliance load may be implemented by the operator or thermostat (not shown), monitored by the master FBC 90.,”; also, see [0084] the energy profile data of energy consumption of appliances…include…inductive”; also, see [0087], [0093], [0095-0095], [0098], [0102] the profile data comprises energy consumption profile including inductive loads and associated consumption levels for one or more mode modes of each appliance, wherein the first devices/appliances include motors, fans, ac, blowers, etc…which include inductive loads), an inductive load associated with the operating mode (see [0084] “the energy profile data of energy consumption of appliances…include…inductive..”; also, see [0087] “…The power consumption profile stored information may contain serial numbers, model numbers, resistive, inductive, capacitive, type of consumption…, specific inrush current, power; also, see [0093] “In one configuration, a request for start of the clothes washer (FIG. 4), the energy consumption profile (e.g. resistive, inductive, capacitive), and the associated consumption energy levels are communicated to power supply master FBC 90 (FIG. 3). Transmitted data may include electrical energy profile of type of wash cycle selected, total time of selected wash cycle,, power…”; also, see [0095-0096] “…In addition, control circuitry DOD 5/ can be configured to be in communication with the master FBC so as to communicate the selected mode of operation (such as heating, cooling, or ventilation)… Based on mode selected, energy required to operate associated load 139c may be available but additional energy needed for resistive heating (not shown) or compressor 39c may not be available”; [0097]); and
sending, to a second device,third signal comprising an instruction to cause an allocation of power, associated with a reduction of reactive power, to the first device (see [0061] “…the master controller 90 makes the activation status change selection according to one or more further considerations, such as …controlling micro-grid power factor… In certain implementations, the master controller 90 preferentially selects one or more currently deactivated non-fuel consuming power supplies 91, such as …battery or capacitive storage-type power supplies for activation…”; also, see [0060]-[061] “…the master controller 90 makes the activation status change selection according to one or more further considerations, such as …controlling micro-grid power factor… In certain implementations, the master controller 90 preferentially selects one or more currently deactivated non-fuel consuming power supplies 91, such as …battery or capacitive storage-type power supplies for activation…”; also, see [0075] “…vehicles my provide power to the micro-grid…” ; also, see [0076]; also, see [0090] “…Generator control master 90 instructs ECU 20 to wait, instructs energy storage system controller 90e to synchronize battery and capacitors 9le to micro-grid 150 (energy storage system batteries and capacitors contain necessary components such as inverters, battery charger, power management controller and disconnect switches for grid tie in) connect to micro-grid 150, to supply electrical inrush energy needed for inrush energy of ECU 20… the disclosure FBC master controller 90 controls the operational (activation) state and stored energy level of a battery storage system by the monitoring and control of charge levels and energy distribution control”, thus, by controlling and starting the batteries and capacitors to provide energy, the reactive power is controlled and reduced for the required inductive loads; also, see [0091] “…For example, the battery and capacitors energy storage may be connected or disconnected to the micro-grid for inrush energy supply, power factor correction or dissipation of stored energy from renewable energy sources, and various other electrical energy inputs…”; see [0102] “…the energy consumption profile (e.g. resistive, inductive, and/or capacitive) and associated consumption levels are analyzed by power supply master controller FBC via an algorithm for fuel efficient selection of supply power assets…”; also, see [0111] “In some cases the batteries and capacitor may be the only energy supply operating the micro-grid. The FBC 510c…”).
While Creed teaches that power supplies are controlled and power is balanced based on determined load profiles of a first device including inductive power consuming appliances, wherein the power supplies includes batteries, capacitors, EV vehicles which provide capacitance or reactive power (see 0021, [0065; [009], [0102]) and suggests power factors control which suggests reactive power control, Creed does not explicitly teach sending an instruction for a power source, associated with the second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, based on the determined inductive load, associated with the first device (This has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of disclosure as starting or connecting batteries or capacitors or reactive power generating sources to reduce the reactive power loads of a first devices/load appliance (see published disclosure, 0016, 0017, 0018)). Thus, controlling and dynamically activating a capacitor/battery/reactive power generating sources to provide an specific amount/allocation of energy to counteract or reduce the reactive power of the inductive appliance imposed on the grid network).
However, Broe teaches an energy management system comprising sending an instruction for a power source, associated with a second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, based on the determined inductive load associated with a first device (see Fig. 1 second device 31 associated with capacitors, wherein the first device is an appliance; also, see Col 5 lines “The controller 23 senses when a load is on-line and operating in a mode where power factor correction is required. Some loads may have more than one operating mode, not all of which would require power factor correction. For example, a load corresponding to walk-in freezer 13 or reach-in cooler 18 might operate in a defrost mode. the defrost mode will not require power factor correction. Alternatively, the freezer 13 and cooler 18 may operate in a chill mode which requires power factor correction. The need for power factor correction is evaluated by monitoring power factor and the appropriate amount of capacitance is engaged to bring power factor closer to unity”, thus, based on the inductive load/power factor correction determined based on the mode of operation of the first device such as an appliance, power factor correction which is the same as reactive power reduction in the system, a capacitor amount of energy/capacitance/reactive power is activated; also, see Col 8 lines 16-23 “When the motors 21, 22 of walk-in freezer 13 and refrigerator 14 are operated, and with reference to FIG. 2, the capacitor bank 31 will also be utilized thereby to improve the power factor of the motors 21, 22. As the power factor increases, electrical consumption is normally decreased as measured by a thermal demand meter thereby reducing demand and again reducing the cost of electricity to the user; also, see Col 9 claim 8; also, see table when an inductive loads mode is activated, then, power reactive from capacitors activation is provided, reducing the unbalance of power reactive in the system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Creed’s invention to include sending an instruction for a power source, associated with a second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, based on the determined inductive load associated with a first device as taught by Broe in order to Dynamically and adjustable recative power to provide power factor correction to the system when the power load in the system changes due to activation or deactivation of appliance/loads (see also, see Col 9 claim 8 “comprising a capacitance bank operably connected to said motor, said capacitance bank providing adjustable or fixed capacitance to said motor and being operable to increase the power factor of said motor during operation of said motor”; also, see Col 5 lines 11-31. )
As to claim 13, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the method claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 16, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the method claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 21, Creed Broe teaches the method of claim 1, Creed further teaches wherein the power source comprises at least: one or more capacitor banks, or one or more batteries (see [0025] “the automatic selection of power supplies for activation state change is done at least in part…to control the power factor of the micro-grid power system…”; also, see [0061], [0074], and [0091] “…the battery and capacitors energy storage may be connected or disconnected to the micro-grid for inrush energy supply, power factor correction or dissipation of stored energy from renewable energy sources….”). Broe also teaches wherein the power source comprises at least: one or more capacitor banks, or one or more batteries (see Fig. 2 capacitor bank).
As to claim 22, Creed Broe teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the second device comprises at least: one or more capacitor banks, or one or more batteries (see [0025] “the automatic selection of power supplies for activation state change is done at least in part…to control the power factor of the micro-grid power system…”; also, see [0061], [0074], and [0091] “…the battery and capacitors energy storage may be connected or disconnected to the micro-grid for inrush energy supply, power factor correction or dissipation of stored energy from renewable energy sources….”). Broe also teaches wherein the second device comprises at least: one or more capacitor banks, or one or more batteries (see Fig. 2 capacitor bank).
As to claim 23, Creed-Broe teaches the method of claim 1, Creed further teaches wherein the power source causes the reduction of reactive power associated with the first device by activating a switch to apply power from at least one or more capacitor banks or batteries (see [0090] “…energy storage system batteries and capacitors contain necessary components such as inverters, battery charger, power management controller and disconnect switches … to supply electrical inrush energy needed for inrush energy of ECU 20…”; also, see [0091 “the battery and capacitors energy storage may be connected or disconnected to the micro-grid for inrush energy supply, power factor correction or dissipation of stored energy from renewable energy sources, and various other electrical energy inputs”).
As to claim 24, Creed-Broe teaches the method of claim 10, Creed further teaches wherein the second device causes the allocation of power, associated with the reduction of reactive power, by activating a switch to apply power from at least one or more capacitor banks or batteries (see [0090] “…energy storage system batteries and capacitors contain necessary components such as inverters, battery charger, power management controller and disconnect switches … to supply electrical inrush energy needed for inrush energy of ECU 20…”; also, see [0091 “the battery and capacitors energy storage may be connected or disconnected to the micro-grid for inrush energy supply, power factor correction or dissipation of stored energy from renewable energy sources, and various other electrical energy inputs”).
As to claim 25, Creed-Broe teaches the method of claim 23, Creed further teaches wherein applying power from the at least one or more capacitor banks or the batteries supplies capacitance to circuitry associated with the first device and reduces the reactive power associated with the first device (see [0090] “…energy storage system batteries and capacitors contain necessary components such as inverters, battery charger, power management controller and disconnect switches … to supply electrical inrush energy needed for inrush energy of ECU 20…”; also, see [0091 “the battery and capacitors energy storage may be connected or disconnected to the micro-grid for inrush energy supply, power factor correction or dissipation of stored energy from renewable energy sources, and various other electrical energy inputs”). Broe also, further teaches wherein applying power from the at least one or more capacitor banks or the batteries supplies capacitance to circuitry associated with the first device and reduces the reactive power associated with the first device (see Broe claim 8 “said capacitance bank providing adjustable or fixed capacitance to said motor and being operable to increase the power factor of said motor during operation of said motor”; also, see Col 3 lines 20-25; also, see Col 5 lines 19-31).
Claims 4, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creed (US 2010/0274407) in view of Broe et al (US 5927598) as applied to claim 1, 10, and 17, respectively, and further in view of Yamada et al (JP H11122984 A as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 4, Creed-Broe teaches the method of claim 1, While Creed teaches the stored information indicates inductive consumption/loads, Creed does not explicitly teach further teaches wherein the stored information indicates at least one of: one or more inductances at one or more operating modes for a device type associated with the first device.
Yamada teaches a method and system comprising stored information indicates at least one of: one or more inductances at one or more operating modes for a device type associated with a first device (see page 5 par. 5 “In this motor control device, a finite operation state represented by a combination of the operation parameters and an inductance corresponding to the operation state are stored as a table. Therefore, the motor control device can change the inductance according to the Operation state of the motor by interpolating the table according to the operation state of the motor, detect the electrical angle with high accuracy, and control the motor. Can be properly controlled. In addition, since the change in inductance according to the operating state can be stored relatively faithfully in the table, the electrical angle can be detected with higher accuracy compared to the method of changing the inductance stepwise. it can. Such a table can be obtained experimentally by a method described later in detail. The table may be a one-dimensional table corresponding to one parameter representing the operating state, or may be a table having a higher dimension”; also, see page 5 par. 6-7 “…the inductance is changed according to the operating state of the motor by calculating the function. The electric angle can be accurately detected and the motor can be appropriately controlled…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the combination of Creed-Broe as taught above to include stored information indicates at least one of: one or more inductances at one or more operating modes for a device type associated with the first device as taught by in order to control a first device based on a determined inductance, wherein the inductance is determined in a fast manner (see page 5 par. 7 “…since the inductance is represented as a function having at least a part of the operating parameters as a variable, the inductance is changed according to the operating state of the motor by calculating the function. The electric angle can be accurately detected and the motor can be appropriately controlled… when the above function is expressed in a relatively simple form, there is an advantage that the calculation of the inductance can be performed in a short time.”; also, see page 5 last paragraph and page 6 first par. 1; also, see Fig. 7 and page 14 par. 3).
As to claim 12, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the method claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 18, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the method claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
Claims 8, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creed (US 2010/0274407) in view of Broe et al (US 5927598) as applied to claim 1 and 10, respectively, and further in view of Yamamoto et al (JP 2011-239551).
As per claim 8, Creed-Broe teaches the method of claim 1, while Creed teaches communication using a network via wired or wireless which clearly suggests using MAC addresses, Creed-Broe does not explicitly teach wherein the stored information is retrieved based on a medium access control (MAC) address associated with the first device.
Yamamoto teaches a system comprising wherein stored information is retrieved based on a medium access control (MAC) address associated with a first device (the first device being target device 3; also, see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 databases holds and stores information including operating mode data including power consumption determined with respect to a mode of operation of the target device. Said stored information is stored with a mac address. See page 4 paragraph 1 “In addition, an operation information database 4 and a device information database 5 are connected to the information aggregation server device 2. The operation information database 4 and the device information database 5 each hold information used in various processes executed in the power consumption
Amount estimation system 100. Specifically, the operation information database 4 holds information on detected devices (device type, host name, IP address, etc.) and device operation information (operation time, operation state). The device information database 5 holds in advance device type information and power consumption coefficients for each device type / operating state. The power consumption coefficient may be set individually for each detected target device 3. When performing individual settings, the administrator may manually set the power consumption coefficient or each target device 3”; also, see page 6 par. 5 “…MAC address…”; also, see page 8 last par. The Mac address is associated with an operating status information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Creed-Broe’s combination as taught above to include wherein stored information is retrieved based on a medium access control (MAC) address associated with a first device as taught by Yamamoto in order to easily retrieve information about a specific target device/first device based on the MAC address and determine the correct operating mode data such a power load (also, see page 8 last par.).
As to claim 15, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the method claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 17, Creed teaches a method comprising:
sending, to a device, a first signal comprising a request for an operating mode status (see [0083] “…When queried by the operator, master FBC 90, using network 6, pings the individual loads or the combined load 39 for consumption profile of appliance (e.g. ECU, washer (not shown) dryer (not shown) …”, in other words, the master controller 90 polls/pings the appliances for their mode status);
receiving, from the device, a second signal indicating an operating mode of the device (see e.g. see operating mode as an activation or start request by the load, 0021 e.g. “The method further includes receiving a load activation request indicating requested activation of one or more currently deactivated loads, a load deactivation notification indicating deactivation of one or more currently activated loads and/or a power supply status change notification indicating a change in a status of a currently active power supply…If so, the method includes automatically rebalancing the supply of electrical power to the micro-grid power system by changing an activation state of one or more of the plurality of power supplies based at least partially on the load profile and the active reserve power level”; also, see [0057] “the plurality of appliances 18 is coupled with the mobile electrical power distribution system micro-grid 150 and may send a request for start (load activation request) with accompanying operational load profile information.…”; also, see [0071]; also, see [0083] each appliance responds to the ping/master; also, see [0093]);
determining, based on the operating mode,and stored information comprising power load information for one or more operating modes for a device type associated with the first device ([0057] “the plurality of appliances 18 is coupled with the mobile electrical power distribution system micro-grid 150 and may send a request for start (load activation request) with accompanying operational load profile information. This request to consume electrical power from the micro-grid 150 is received by FBC 90. This call for operational load is evaluated against…power conversion characteristic data stored in each respective generator FBC memory, and the operational load call (activation request) is compared to running or non-running load profiles stored in the memory of each respective appliance delay demand device (DDD) 5, 5a, 5b. l….”; also, see [0063] “the DDD 5 may be omitted and the request functionality for profiled load operation can be integrated within the appliances 18….The DDDs 5 upon request to begin appliance operation, provide a signal to the master controller FBC 90 containing appliance information, inrush and/or an operational energy value request…provide a signal to the master controller FBC 90 containing appliance information, inrush and/or an operational energy value request…”; also, see 0079 e.g. see in response to determining an operating mode/start request, a load profile or load requirement for available power from a remote generator, see “Adjustment of power supply 97 by ECU 20 and permission to start may be implemented responsive to monitoring by the master FBC 90. A new appliance load start request with accompanying energy profile requirements of at least one appliance load may be implemented by the operator or thermostat (not shown), monitored by the master FBC 90.,”; also, see [0084] the energy profile data of energy consumption of appliances…include…inductive”; also, see [0087], [0093], [0095-0095], [0098], [0102] the profile data comprises energy consumption profile including inductive loads and associated consumption levels for one or more mode modes of each appliance, wherein the first devices/appliances include motors, fans, ac, blowers, etc…which include inductive loads), an inductive load associated with the operating mode (see [0084] “the energy profile data of energy consumption of appliances…include…inductive..”; also, see [0087] “…The power consumption profile stored information may contain serial numbers, model numbers, resistive, inductive, capacitive, type of consumption…, specific inrush current, power; also, see [0093] “In one configuration, a request for start of the clothes washer (FIG. 4), the energy consumption profile (e.g. resistive, inductive, capacitive), and the associated consumption energy levels are communicated to power supply master FBC 90 (FIG. 3). Transmitted data may include electrical energy profile of type of wash cycle selected, total time of selected wash cycle,, power…”; also, see [0095-0096] “…In addition, control circuitry DOD 5/ can be configured to be in communication with the master FBC so as to communicate the selected mode of operation (such as heating, cooling, or ventilation)… Based on mode selected, energy required to operate associated load 139c may be available but additional energy needed for resistive heating (not shown) or compressor 39c may not be available”; [0097]); and
causing, associated with a reduction of reactive power, to the device, from a power source (see )
see [0061] “…the master controller 90 makes the activation status change selection according to one or more further considerations, such as …controlling micro-grid power factor… In certain implementations, the master controller 90 preferentially selects one or more currently deactivated non-fuel consuming power supplies 91, such as …battery or capacitive storage-type power supplies for activation…”; also, see [0060]-[061] “…the master controller 90 makes the activation status change selection according to one or more further considerations, such as …controlling micro-grid power factor… In certain implementations, the master controller 90 preferentially selects one or more currently deactivated non-fuel consuming power supplies 91, such as …battery or capacitive storage-type power supplies for activation…”; also, see [0075] “…vehicles my provide power to the micro-grid…” ; also, see [0076]; also, see [0090] “…Generator control master 90 instructs ECU 20 to wait, instructs energy storage system controller 90e to synchronize battery and capacitors 9le to micro-grid 150 (energy storage system batteries and capacitors contain necessary components such as inverters, battery charger, power management controller and disconnect switches for grid tie in) connect to micro-grid 150, to supply electrical inrush energy needed for inrush energy of ECU 20… the disclosure FBC master controller 90 controls the operational (activation) state and stored energy level of a battery storage system by the monitoring and control of charge levels and energy distribution control”, thus, by controlling and starting the batteries and capacitors to provide energy, the reactive power is controlled and reduced for the required inductive loads; also, see [0091] “…For example, the battery and capacitors energy storage may be connected or disconnected to the micro-grid for inrush energy supply, power factor correction or dissipation of stored energy from renewable energy sources, and various other electrical energy inputs…”; see [0102] “…the energy consumption profile (e.g. resistive, inductive, and/or capacitive) and associated consumption levels are analyzed by power supply master controller FBC via an algorithm for fuel efficient selection of supply power assets…”; also, see [0111] “In some cases the batteries and capacitor may be the only energy supply operating the micro-grid. The FBC 510c…”).
While Creed teaches that power supplies are controlled and power is balanced based on determined load profiles of a first device including inductive power consuming appliances, wherein the power supplies includes batteries, capacitors, EV vehicles which provide capacitance or reactive power (see 0021, [0065; [009], [0102]) and suggests power factors control which suggests reactive power control, Creed does not explicitly teach sending an instruction for a power source, associated with the second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, based on the determined inductive load, associated with the first device (This has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of disclosure as starting or connecting batteries or capacitors or reactive power generating sources to reduce the reactive power loads of a first devices/load appliance (see published disclosure, 0016, 0017, 0018)). Thus, controlling and dynamically activating a capacitor/battery/reactive power generating sources to provide an specific amount/allocation of energy to counteract or reduce the reactive power of the inductive appliance imposed on the grid network), and receiving a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the device, and determining, based on the MAC address, inductive load/data associated with the operating mode.
However, Broe teaches an energy management system comprising sending an instruction for a power source, associated with a second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, based on the determined inductive load associated with a first device (see Fig. 1 second device 31 associated with capacitors, wherein the first device is an appliance; also, see Col 5 lines “The controller 23 senses when a load is on-line and operating in a mode where power factor correction is required. Some loads may have more than one operating mode, not all of which would require power factor correction. For example, a load corresponding to walk-in freezer 13 or reach-in cooler 18 might operate in a defrost mode. the defrost mode will not require power factor correction. Alternatively, the freezer 13 and cooler 18 may operate in a chill mode which requires power factor correction. The need for power factor correction is evaluated by monitoring power factor and the appropriate amount of capacitance is engaged to bring power factor closer to unity”, thus, based on the inductive load/power factor correction determined based on the mode of operation of the first device such as an appliance, power factor correction which is the same as reactive power reduction in the system, a capacitor amount of energy/capacitance/reactive power is activated; also, see Col 8 lines 16-23 “When the motors 21, 22 of walk-in freezer 13 and refrigerator 14 are operated, and with reference to FIG. 2, the capacitor bank 31 will also be utilized thereby to improve the power factor of the motors 21, 22. As the power factor increases, electrical consumption is normally decreased as measured by a thermal demand meter thereby reducing demand and again reducing the cost of electricity to the user; also, see Col 9 claim 8; also, see table when an inductive loads mode is activated, then, power reactive from capacitors activation is provided, reducing the unbalance of power reactive in the system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Creed’s invention to include sending an instruction for a power source, associated with a second device, to cause a reduction of reactive power, based on the determined inductive load associated with a first device as taught by Broe in order to Dynamically and adjustable recative power to provide power factor correction to the system when the power load in the system changes due to activation or deactivation of appliance/loads (see also, see Col 9 claim 8 “comprising a capacitance bank operably connected to said motor, said capacitance bank providing adjustable or fixed capacitance to said motor and being operable to increase the power factor of said motor during operation of said motor”; also, see Col 5 lines 11-31.)
Creed-Broe does not explicitly teach receiving a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the device, and determining, based on the MAC address, inductive load/data associated with the operating mode.
Yamamoto teaches a system comprising receiving a medium access control (MAC) address associated with a first device, wherein the medium access control (MAC) address is used to retrieve information associated with the MAC address (the first device being target device 3; also, see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 databases holds and stores information including operating mode data including power consumption determined with respect to a mode of operation of the target device. Said stored information is stored with a mac address. See page 4 paragraph 1 “In addition, an operation information database 4 and a device information database 5 are connected to the information aggregation server device 2. The operation information database 4 and the device information database 5 each hold information used in various processes executed in the power consumption
Amount estimation system 100. Specifically, the operation information database 4 holds information on detected devices (device type, host name, IP address, etc.) and device operation information (operation time, operation state). The device information database 5 holds in advance device type information and power consumption coefficients for each device type / operating state. The power consumption coefficient may be set individually for each detected target device 3. When performing individual settings, the administrator may manually set the power consumption coefficient or each target device 3”; also, see page 6 par. 5 “…MAC address…”; also, see page 8 last par. thus, the Mac address is associated with an operating status information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Creed-Broe’s combination as taught above to include receiving a medium access control (MAC) address associated with a first device, wherein the medium access control (MAC) address is used to retrieve information associated with the MAC address as taught by Yamamoto in order to easily and securely allow communication in a network by using unique MAC addresses and to easily retrieve information about a specific target device/first device based on the MAC address and determine the correct operating mode data such a power load (also, see page 8 last par.; also, see page 4 pars. 3-6 and page 10 par. 2).
As to claim 19, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the method claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creed (US 2010/0274407) in view of Broe et al (US 5927598) and Yamamoto et al (JP 2011-239551) as applied to claim 8 and 17, respectively and further in view of Watanabe (US 20060024075).
As to claim 26, Creed-Broe-Yamamoto teaches the method of claim 8,
Yamamoto further teaches using a MAC address wherein the (see page 6 par. 6 “Next, a method for estimating the device type based on the MAC address of the target device 3 will be described. The device type determination unit 103 can estimate the device type of the target device3 based on the MAC address of the target device 3. The device type determination unit 103 can identify the vendor of the target device 3 by referring to the vendor code of the MAC address and estimate the device type of the target device 3…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Creed-Broe-Yamamoto’s combination as taught above to include w using a MAC address wherein the bits of the MAC address associated with the first device indicate the device type associated with the first device as taught by Yamamoto in order to easily retrieve information about a specific target device/first device based on the MAC address and determine the correct operating mode data such a power load (also, see page 8 last par.).
While Creed teaches the device type of device associated with a MAC address number, Yamamoto does not explicitly teach the first 24 bits of the MAC address associated with the first device indicate the device type associated with the first device. The original published disclosure seems to suggest that this is a known standard wherein the IEEE assigns the OUI by using the first 24 bits if a MAC address (see 0021-0022).
Watanabe teaches a system comprising associating the first 24 bits of a MAC address with a first device to indicate the device type associated with the first device (see [0004] and see [0134] and [0136] “ The IEEE 802-format MAC address is composed of a 48-bit ID. The former 24 bits are a vendor ID 54, and has the same structure as the vendor ID 52 in the IEEE/EUI-64 format MAC address shown in FIG. 12. The latter 24 bits are a board ID 55 in which a unique ID that identifies the network interface processing device of an individual IPv6 compliant terminal apparatus is set”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Creed-Broe-Yamamoto’s combination as taught above to include associating the first 24 bits of a MAC address with a first device to indicate the device type associated with the first device as taught by Watanabe in order to assign a unique globally identifier to each device and easily identify said type of device in a communication network (e.g. identify the brand or vendor who made the device) and to correctly deliver messages/packets to the intended unique device.
As to claim 27, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the method claim 26 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al (The Research of Electric Appliance Running Status Detecting Based on DSP) teaches a system determining, based on the operating mode and stored information comprising power load information for one or more operating modes for a device type associated with the first device (see page 4 “The appliance’s running status information is extracted from the load current wave envelope .The load transient and steady state character is identified by character extraction and fuzzy-identify etc”. the system identifies an inductive load based on operating status of the device and also on stored information such as software or character extraction and fuzzy-identify ),
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117