DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 13, “Amended independent claim 1 recites (emphasis added): "maintaining operation of a third component of the integrated payload array, different from the first component and the second component, when the state of charge of the battery is below the second fault limit to prevent shutting down all payload operations of the integrated payload array.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Symanow discloses two kind of the loads manage by the power management system: Shedd able loads and non-sheddable loads (fig. 3A). symanow further discloses the computer 36 reduces energy supplied to a plurality of loads 102, 104, e.g., the sheddable loads 102, by the low-voltage battery 32. The operational load shedding strategy may be tiered, i.e., at one value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 reduces the energy supplied to some sheddable loads 102, and at a second, lower value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 either reduces the energy supplied to additional sheddable loads 102 or further reduces the energy supplied to the same sheddable loads 102 (paragraph [0060]). It shows that during the second fault protection (where the battery state of charge is lower than the second threshold), the system will still provide power to the non-sheddable load but limit the power given to the sheddable loads.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappaert et al., (US 2016/0251092), herein after Cappaert and further in view of Von Novak et al. (US 2017/0072812), herein after Von Novak and Symanow (US 2019/0375298).
Regarding claim 1, Cappaert discloses a method (FIG. 10 is a flow chart 1000 illustrating example steps that may be executed by the PDU 300 to regulate power distribution in the satellite 120, paragraph [0097]) for autonomous control of electric power consumption by an apparatus (the power distribution unit 300, fig. 4), comprising:
monitoring electric power measurement data (step 1002, fig 10) of electric power generated by a solar array of the apparatus (The EPS 810 may be a power generator such as a solar power system with one or more solar panels 122, paragraph [0036], fig. 4), the solar array is configured to at least charge a battery (The battery 840 may be charged by the EPS 810 while the EPS 810 generates power, paragraph [0038], fig. 4) and provide electrical power to components of the apparatus (The battery 840 may power one or more systems connected to the PDU 300. In some instances, the battery 840 may power all systems in the satellite 120, paragraph [0038], fig. 4);
monitoring a state of charge of the battery (the PDU 300 may implement a finite state machine 312 that monitors states of one or more batteries 840, paragraph [0040], fig. 4);
and autonomously controlling electric power consumption of an integrated payload array (loads within the small form factor satellite system) in response to at least the state of charge of the battery (housekeeping data may include, but not limited to, battery voltage measurement, temperature measurement, watchdog states, and other system information. The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]). Although Cappaert teaches the state of charge of batteries are compared to preset thresholds (state of charge labeled Full, Normal, Safe and Critical as explained in paragraph 0041), Cappaert is silent about the state of charge of the battery being maintained proximate any of the preset thresholds and autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery further comprises: implementing a first fault protection by shutting down a first component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit, wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold; and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down a second component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit, wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit.
Von Novak discloses the state of charge of a battery can be maintained at a preset threshold by cutting off the power to load (the secondary battery BATT2 may be maintained at a state of charge that enables load spikes to be sourced and regeneration spikes to be sunk or absorbed. Such an option requires maintaining the secondary battery (BATT2) at a lower state of charge that is closer to 50%, paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Cappaert et al.’s method of autonomously controlling the electric power consumption to include a step of maintaining the state of charge of the battery at a specific level as taught by Von Novak, in order to protect the whole apparatus from a low voltage condition (paragraph [0062]). Undervoltage protection is crucial for a battery because if the battery is discharged below its rated value, the battery will become damaged and potentially pose a safety hazard.
Cappaert discloses autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery (The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]). However, Cappaert is silent over implementing a first fault protection by shutting down a first component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit, wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold; and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down a second component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit, wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit.
Symanow discloses a battery control module (50, fig. 1)
implementing a first fault protection (s304, fig. 3) by shutting down first component of the integrated load in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit (in blocks 565-595, the computer 36 performs an operational load shedding strategy (described in more detail below with respect to the block 575) in response to the state of charge SoE.sub.actual falling below the second threshold, the charge level SoE.sub.OLS, while the low-voltage battery 32 is discharging, paragraph [0045], [0060] where reducing the power to the load includes reducing the power to components of the load too for example reducing the speed of the fan); and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down second components of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit (In blocks 550-560, the vehicle 30 performs a minimal risk condition in response to the state of charge SoE.sub.actual falling below the first threshold, the charge level SoE.sub.halt. , paragraph [0045] where the controller disable the AV operation)wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold (where the state of charge of the battery is lower than the first threshold 550, fig. 5B), wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit (the second threshold is greater than the first threshold, claim 4);
maintaining operation of a third component of the integrated payload array, different from the first component and the second component, when the state of charge of the battery is below the second fault limit to prevent shutting down all payload operations of the integrated payload array (the computer 36 reduces energy supplied to a plurality of loads 102, 104, e.g., the sheddable loads 102, by the low-voltage battery 32. The operational load shedding strategy may be tiered, i.e., at one value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 reduces the energy supplied to some sheddable loads 102, and at a second, lower value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 either reduces the energy supplied to additional sheddable loads 102 or further reduces the energy supplied to the same sheddable loads 102 (paragraph [0060]). It shows that during the second fault protection (where the battery state of charge is lower than the second threshold), the system will still provide power to the non-sheddable load but limit the power given to the sheddable loads).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cappaert’s power control system to include the instruction to maintain the battery's ability to the level to perform emergency functions as taught by Symanow, in order to manage the battery power to perform essential function of the system even the power supply failure occurred.
Regarding claim 2, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1, Cappaert further discloses wherein autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array comprises autonomously controlling electric power consumption of selected components of the integrated payload array (Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1, Cappaert further discloses receiving a task command (920 issue commands to PDU 300, fig 4) comprising a bandwidth (a user only can send the signal to the aircraft in space from the ground through specific frequency of radio waves. So, it is obvious for person having ordinary skills in the art that the command comprising band width; paragraph [0047] ); and controlling payload communications traffic of the integrated payload array in response to at least one of the electric power measurement data of the solar array (command no. 7, table 2), the state of charge of the battery (command no 9, table 2), temperature measurement data (command no. 4, table 2, paragraph [0051]) from the integrated payload array and the bandwidth of the task command (table 3).
Regarding claim 6, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1. Cappaert et al. further discloses receiving a task command comprising a payload mission task; and accepting the task command in response to the state of charge of the battery (the control unit 310 may maintain and report internal housekeeping data of the PDU 300. Further, the control unit 310 may monitor systems connected to the PDU 300 by collecting housekeeping data from the systems. Housekeeping data may include, but not limited to, battery voltage measurement, temperature measurement, watchdog states, and other system information. The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120. Paragraph [0039], [0041]; Note: the claim does not recite the task command and turning on or off the different power channel is considered a task command here), but does not disclose that the state of charge of the battery being proximate the preset threshold during its operation.
Von Novak discloses the state of charge of a battery can be maintain at the preset threshold during outputting power to the load (paragraph [0082], [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Cappaert’s method of autonomously controlling the electric power consumption to include a step of maintaining the state of charge of the battery at a specific level as taught by Von Novak, in order to protect the whole apparatus from a low voltage condition (paragraph [0062]). Undervoltage protection is crucial for a battery because if the battery is discharged below its rated value, the battery will become damaged and potentially pose a safety hazard.
Regarding claim 8, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1. Cappaert further discloses disabling one or more payload mission tasks performed by the integrated payload array until the state of charge of the battery is achieved that prevents shutting down all payload operations (The battery 840 may be charged by the EPS 810 while the EPS 810 generates power. The battery 840 may power one or more systems connected to the PDU 300. In some instances, the battery 840 may power all systems in the satellite 120. Power distribution to one or more such systems in the satellite 120 may be turned on or off as needed, as controlled by the control unit 310, paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 8. Cappaert further discloses wherein disabling the one or more payload mission tasks performed by the integrated payload array comprises disabling a lowest priority payload mission task and progressing to disable higher priority payload mission tasks until the state of charge of the battery is achieved that prevents shutting down all payload operations (The battery 840 may be charged by the EPS 810 while the EPS 810 generates power. The battery 840 may power one or more systems connected to the PDU 300. In some instances, the battery 840 may power all systems in the satellite 120. Power distribution to one or more such systems in the satellite 120 may be turned on or off as needed, as controlled by the control unit 310, paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1. Cappaert further discloses preventing operation of redundant equipment when the state of charge of the battery is below the preset threshold (the PDU 300 may implement a finite state machine 312 that monitors states of one or more batteries 840. Each battery 840 may have four states “Full,” “Normal,” “Safe,” and “Critical,” indicative of its availability of power or voltage measurement. Based on the availability of power, the PDU 300 may regulate distribution of power to one or more systems by switching on and off certain channels as needed, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1. Cappaert further discloses autonomously controlling operation of selected components of the integrated payload array in response to at least one of premature degradation of the solar array, the state of charge of the battery being below the preset threshold, temperature measurement data of the integrated payload array exceeding a preset temperature operating limit, and a task command bandwidth exceeding an allowable limit (paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 19, Cappaert discloses an apparatus (power distribution unit 300, fig. 4) for autonomous control of electric power consumption, comprising:
an apparatus body (a satellite 120, fig. 2);
a battery (battery 840, fig. 4, paragraph [0076]), wherein the battery is configured to supply electric power to components of the apparatus (The battery 840 may power one or more systems connected to the PDU 300. In some instances, the battery 840 may power all systems in the satellite 120, paragraph [0038], fig. 4);
a solar array (122, fig. 2) attached to the apparatus body, the solar array being configured to at least charge the battery (The battery 840 may be charged by the EPS 810 while the EPS 810 generates power, paragraph [0038], fig. 4) and provide electrical power to the components of the apparatus (The battery 840 may power one or more systems connected to the PDU 300. In some instances, the battery 840 may power all systems in the satellite 120, paragraph [0038], fig. 4);
an integrated payload array (com 400, fig. 4) configured to transmit and receive signals (a communications system 400 configured to handle radio communications for the satellite 120, paragraph [0025]); and
a controller (control unit 310, fig. 4), the controller comprising a processor (The control unit 310 may be any standard off-the-shelf processor or any application customized processor, paragraph [0039]), wherein the controller is configured to monitor electric power measurement data of electric power generated by the solar array, to monitor a state of charge of the battery and to autonomously control electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to at least the state of charge of the battery, (paragraph [0039]-[0042]). but does not explicitly disclose that the state of charge of the battery being maintained proximate a preset threshold and autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery comprises: implementing a first fault protection by shutting down a first component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit, wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold; and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down a second component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit, wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit
Von Novak discloses the state of charge of a battery can be maintain at the preset threshold by cutting off the power to load (the secondary battery (BATT2) may be maintained at a state of charge that enables load spikes to be sourced and regeneration spikes to be sunk or absorbed. Such an option requires maintaining the secondary battery (BATT2) at a lower state of charge that is closer to 50%, paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Cappaert et al.’s method of autonomously controlling the electric power consumption to include a step of maintaining the state of charge of the battery at a specific level as taught by Von Novak, in order to protect the whole apparatus from a low voltage condition (paragraph [0062]). Undervoltage protection is crucial for a battery because if the battery is discharged below its rated value, the battery will become damaged and potentially pose a safety hazard.
Cappaert discloses autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery (The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]). However, Cappaert is silent over implementing a first fault protection by shutting down a first component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit, wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold; and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down a second component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit, wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit.
Symanow discloses a battery control module (50, fig. 1)
implementing a first fault protection (s304, fig. 3) by shutting down first component of the integrated load in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit (in blocks 565-595, the computer 36 performs an operational load shedding strategy (described in more detail below with respect to the block 575) in response to the state of charge SoE.sub.actual falling below the second threshold, the charge level SoE.sub.OLS, while the low-voltage battery 32 is discharging, paragraph [0045], [0060] where reducing the power to the load includes reducing the power to components of the load too for example reducing the speed of the fan); and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down second components of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit (In blocks 550-560, the vehicle 30 performs a minimal risk condition in response to the state of charge SoE.sub.actual falling below the first threshold, the charge level SoE.sub.halt. , paragraph [0045] where the controller disable the AV operation)wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold (where the state of charge of the battery is lower than the first threshold 550, fig. 5B), wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit (the second threshold is greater than the first threshold, claim 4);
maintaining operation of a third component of the integrated payload array, different from the first component and the second component, when the state of charge of the battery is below the second fault limit to prevent shutting down all payload operations of the integrated payload array (the computer 36 reduces energy supplied to a plurality of loads 102, 104, e.g., the sheddable loads 102, by the low-voltage battery 32. The operational load shedding strategy may be tiered, i.e., at one value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 reduces the energy supplied to some sheddable loads 102, and at a second, lower value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 either reduces the energy supplied to additional sheddable loads 102 or further reduces the energy supplied to the same sheddable loads 102 (paragraph [0060]). It shows that during the second fault protection (where the battery state of charge is lower than the second threshold), the system will still provide power to the non-sheddable load but limit the power given to the sheddable loads).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cappaert’s power control system to include the instruction to maintain the battery's ability to the level to perform emergency functions as taught by Symanow, in order to manage the battery power to perform essential function of the system even the power supply failure occurred.
Regarding claim 21, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Faley discloses the apparatus of claim 19. Cappaert further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to autonomously control electric power consumption of selected components of the integrated payload array in response to a parameter related to the integrated payload array (The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]).
Claim(s) 3 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappaert (US 2016/0251092), Von Novak (US 2017/0072812) and Symanow (US 2019/0375298) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of James (US 2020/0361338).
Regarding claim 3, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1. Cappaert further discloses that when the power is low, the PDU 300 may configure orientation of the solar panels 122 to collect more power (paragraph [0036]). But Cappaert, Von Novak and Symanow do not explicitly disclose that the electric power consumption of the payloads array can be controlled in response to the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power. However, controlling the power consumption for proper working of satellite in response to the low sun light intensity is not novel concept in the art.
James discloses that the autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the components of electric aircraft is also in response to the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power (The energy management means 105 may be also configured for managing the capabilities and performance of the aircraft, so as to make it possible, for example, to reduce performance and/or capabilities when there is a need to reduce the power consumption, paragraph [0054]; The electric power that a photovoltaic film can produce is largely variable, depending on the solar altitude angle, clouds presence, obstructing obstacles, and orientation of the photovoltaic film with respect to the direction from which the light comes. On the other hand, the power consumption of an electric aircraft can change depending on the aircraft maneuvers being performed (e.g. takeoff, landing, hovering, high rate climbing), payload, and wind, paragraph [0056]Note: the insufficient sun light condition could be any including eclipse too).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of James in Cappaert’s satellite system in view of Von Novak et al. the power consumption of spacecraft power components could be reduced in response to insufficient solar light as taught by James, which can save the power for satellite to accomplish its most important task and saving power to save it from completely perish during low sunlight.
Regarding claim 20, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the apparatus of claim 19. Cappaert further discloses when the power is low, the PDU 300 may configure orientation of the solar panels 122 to collect more power (paragraph [0036]). But Cappaert, Faley and Von Novak do not explicitly disclose that the electric power consumption of the payloads array can be controlled in response to the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power.
James discloses that the autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array is also in response to the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power (The energy management means 105 may be also configured for managing the capabilities and performance of the aircraft, so as to make it possible, for example, to reduce performance and/or capabilities when there is a need to reduce the power consumption, paragraph [0054]; The electric power that a photovoltaic film can produce is largely variable, depending on the solar altitude angle, clouds presence, obstructing obstacles, and orientation of the photovoltaic film with respect to the direction from which the light comes. On the other hand, the power consumption of an electric aircraft can change depending on the aircraft maneuvers being performed (e.g. takeoff, landing, hovering, high rate climbing), payload, and wind, paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of James in Cappaert satellite system in view of Von Novak the power consumption of spacecraft power components could be reduced in response to insufficient solar light as taught by James, which can save the power for satellite to accomplish its most important task and saving power to save it from completely perish during low sunlight.
Claim(s) 4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappaert (US 2016/0251092), Von Novak (US 2017/0072812) and Symanow (US 2019/0375298) as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Bender et al. US Patent (US 6,021,979), herein after Bender.
Regarding claim 4, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1. Cappaert further discloses monitoring temperature measurement data of temperature of the integrated payload array; and autonomously controlling electric power consumption of selected components of the integrated payload array in response to the temperature measurement (Further, the PDU 300 may track temperature measurements of one or more systems, keep history record thereof, and monitor operations of the systems, paragraph [0046]). But Cappaert, Von Novak and Symanow do not explicitly disclose that the control of power consumption of the payloads array in response to preset temperature. The power control of the payload in response to preset temperature is not a novel concept in the art.
Bender discloses the controller (64, fig. 2A) performs several basic function for spacecraft safety including controlling the power requirements for payloads by maintaining temperature to preset value (Col. 9, lines 10-11, 16-18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Bender in Cappaert’s spacecraft satellite in view of Von Novak et al. and Symanow the temperature of satellite could be maintained at the optimal level. Thermal control is absolutely essential for both the physical integrity of the satellite and for its efficient operation, because electronic equipment has its optimum performance within a certain temperature range.
Regarding claim 22, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the apparatus of claim 21. Cappaert further discloses the parameter related to the integrated payload array comprises temperature of the integrated payload array, the temperature being sensed by a temperature sensor associated with the integrated payload array, the controller being configured to monitor temperature measurement data from the integrated payload array and to autonomously control electric power consumption of selected components of the integrated payload array in response to the temperature measurement data (the control unit 310 may monitor systems connected to the PDU 300 by collecting housekeeping data from the systems. Housekeeping data may include, but not limited to, battery voltage measurement, temperature measurement, watchdog states, and other system information. The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120. In some embodiments, the control unit 310 may hard reset one or more power channels or the whole satellite 120, paragraph [0039]). But Cappaert, Symanow and Von Novak do not explicitly disclose that the control of power consumption of the payloads array in response to preset temperature. The power control of the payload in response to preset temperature is not a novel concept in the art.
Bender discloses the controller (64, fig. 2A) performs several basic function for spacecraft safety including controlling the power requirements for payloads by maintaining temperature to preset value (Col. 9, lines 10-11, 16-18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Bender in Cappaert’s spacecraft satellite in view of Von Novak and Symanow the temperature of satellite could be maintained at the optimal level. Thermal control is absolutely essential for both the physical integrity of the satellite and for its efficient operation, because electronic equipment has its optimum performance within a certain temperature range.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappaert (US 2016/0251092), Von Novak (US 2017/0072812) and Symanow (US 2019/0375298) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kempel (US 10,600,295).
Regrading claim 7, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1. Cappaert further discloses receiving a task command comprising a payload mission task (the control unit 310 may monitor systems connected to the PDU 300 by collecting housekeeping data from the systems, paragraph [0039]); rejecting the task command in response to the state of charge of the battery being below the preset threshold and a priority of the payload mission task being below a chosen priority value (the PDU 300 may implement a finite state machine 312 that monitors states of one or more batteries 840. Each battery 840 may have four states “Full,” “Normal,” “Safe,” and “Critical,” indicative of its availability of power or voltage measurement. Based on the availability of power, the PDU 300 may regulate distribution of power to one or more systems by switching on and off certain channels as needed. Paragraph [0040] please note that the claim does not define the type of task and turning on and off the power channel is also consider as a task), but Cappaert ,Von Novak, and Symanow do not explicitly disclose that transmitting an alarm to mission operations in response to rejecting the task command.
Kempel discloses as the power of the battery depleted and not have enough power to perform task, it transmit an alarm to mission operations in response to rejecting the task command (the power-down procedure can monitor the battery level of personal safety drone 240 and initiate a safe shutdown at a pre-defined battery level threshold that is prior to full battery depletion. A safe shutdown can include a notification that the shutdown is beginning, e.g. an audible alert to Subject 220, Col. 25, lines- 60-64 It is a well-known concept that when the system is shutting down it will not able to do any mission task and reject the task command, it is inherently known that the system would reject the task command while it is shutting down.)
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to include the alarm system of Kempel in Cappaert system in view of Von Novak, and Symanow one can get alert about the low charging state of the battery and allow the user to take the precautionary measures to save the satellite from completely decease.
Claim(s) 13, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappaert (US 2016/0251092), Von Novak (US 2017/0072812) and Symanow (US 2019/0375298), further in view of Kawam (US 2008/0306700).
Regarding claim 13, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1. Cappaert further discloses monitoring a state of health of the battery (In another example, the PDU 300 may interface with the battery 840 over the I.sup.2C 850, where the I.sup.2C 850 may deliver battery state-of-health information such as input/output current, voltages, temperatures, and the like to the PDU 300, paragraph [0076]); controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to the state of health of the battery (the control unit 310 may monitor systems connected to the PDU 300 by collecting housekeeping data from the systems. Housekeeping data may include, but not limited to, battery voltage measurement, temperature measurement, watchdog states, and other system information. The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]); Cappaert discloses the overall health of the system but silent specifically about the state of health of the solar array.
Kawam et al. discloses monitoring a state of health of the solar array (An integrated
photovoltaic (PV) solar array health monitor configured to derive information relating to the health of a string of PV solar cells, Abstract); and controlling the electric power consumption of
the integrated payload array in response to the state of health of the solar array (solar panel 310 generates approximately 100 volts at solar panel output node 348 to power other functions of the desired solar panel application, paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the time
the invention was filed to use the teaching of Kawam in Cappaert about health of the solar array could be determined for optimum performance of the solar array and the efficient working of the satellite’s power component to accomplish the task and missions for a longer time.
Regarding claim 23, Cappaert discloses a controller (control unit 310, fig. 4) for autonomous control of electric power consumption by an apparatus, the controller comprising a processor (The control unit 310 may be any standard off-the-shelf processor or any application customized processor, paragraph [0039]) and the controller being configured to monitor electric power measurement data of electric power being generated by a solar array of the apparatus (the PDU 300 may include power sources 810 (from the solar panels) and 840 that provide power to one or more systems, subsystems, components, devices, parts or peripherals in, which may be collectively referred to as systems. The PDU 300 may include a control unit 310 on board implemented with logic that governs power access by these systems, paragraph [0032]), to monitor a state of charge of a battery (a finite state machine 312 that monitors states of one or more batteries 840, paragraph [0040]); monitoring a state of health of the battery (In another example, the PDU 300 may interface with the battery 840 over the I.sup.2C 850, where the I.sup.2C 850 may deliver battery state-of-health information such as input/output current, voltages, temperatures, and the like to the PDU 300, paragraph [0076]); and to autonomously control electric power consumption of an integrated payload array in response to at least the state of charge of the battery, the state of health of the battery and the state of health of the solar array (paragraph [0040]-[0041]; Note: the claim uses the alternative language at least one, and only one limitation is needed for the complete rejection of the claim under its broadest claim interpretation), but Cappaert does not explicitly disclose monitor state of the health of the solar array and the state of charge of the battery being maintained proximate a preset threshold and autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery further comprises: implementing a first fault protection by shutting down a first component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit, wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold; and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down a second component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit, wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit.
Von Novak discloses the state of charge of a battery can be maintained at a preset threshold by cutting off the power to load (the secondary battery BATT2 may be maintained at a state of charge that enables load spikes to be sourced and regeneration spikes to be sunk or absorbed. Such an option requires maintaining the secondary battery (BATT2) at a lower state of charge that is closer to 50%, paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Cappaert’s method of autonomously controlling the electric power consumption to include a step of maintaining the state of charge of the battery at a specific level as taught by Von Novak, in order to protect the whole apparatus from a low voltage condition (paragraph [0062]). Undervoltage protection is crucial for a battery because if the battery is discharged below its rated value, the battery will become damaged and potentially pose a safety hazard.
Cappaert discloses autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery (The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]). However, Cappaert is silent over implementing a first fault protection by shutting down a first component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit, wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold; and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down a second component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit, wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit.
Symanow discloses a battery control module (50, fig. 1)
implementing a first fault protection (s304, fig. 3) by shutting down first component of the integrated load in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit (in blocks 565-595, the computer 36 performs an operational load shedding strategy (described in more detail below with respect to the block 575) in response to the state of charge SoE.sub.actual falling below the second threshold, the charge level SoE.sub.OLS, while the low-voltage battery 32 is discharging, paragraph [0045], [0060] where reducing the power to the load includes reducing the power to components of the load too for example reducing the speed of the fan); and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down second components of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit (In blocks 550-560, the vehicle 30 performs a minimal risk condition in response to the state of charge SoE.sub.actual falling below the first threshold, the charge level SoE.sub.halt. , paragraph [0045] where the controller disable the AV operation)wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold (where the state of charge of the battery is lower than the first threshold 550, fig. 5B), wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit (the second threshold is greater than the first threshold, claim 4);
maintaining operation of a third component of the integrated payload array, different from the first component and the second component, when the state of charge of the battery is below the second fault limit to prevent shutting down all payload operations of the integrated payload array (the computer 36 reduces energy supplied to a plurality of loads 102, 104, e.g., the sheddable loads 102, by the low-voltage battery 32. The operational load shedding strategy may be tiered, i.e., at one value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 reduces the energy supplied to some sheddable loads 102, and at a second, lower value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 either reduces the energy supplied to additional sheddable loads 102 or further reduces the energy supplied to the same sheddable loads 102 (paragraph [0060]). It shows that during the second fault protection (where the battery state of charge is lower than the second threshold), the system will still provide power to the non-sheddable load but limit the power given to the sheddable loads).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cappaert’s power control system to include the instruction to maintain the battery's ability to the level to perform emergency functions as taught by Symanow, in order to manage the battery power to perform essential function of the system even the power supply failure occurred.
Cappaert, Von Novak, and Symanow do not explicitly disclose monitor a state of health of the solar array. However, monitoring a state of health of the solar array is not an novel concept in the art.
Kawam et al. discloses monitoring a state of health of the solar array (An integrated photovoltaic (PV) solar array health monitor configured to derive information relating to the
health of a string of PV solar cells, Abstract); and controlling the electric power consumption of
the integrated payload array in response to the state of health of the solar array (solar panel 310 generates approximately 100 volts at solar panel output node 348 to power other functions of the desired solar panel application, paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skills in the art, before the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Kawam in Cappaert the health of the solar array could be determined for optimum performance of the solar array and the efficient working of the satellite’s power component to accomplish the task and missions for a longer time.
Claim(s) 14, 15, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappaert (US 2016/0251092), Von Novak (US 2017/0072812) and Symanow (US 2019/0375298), further in view of Cross (US 2016/0127060).
Regarding claim 14, Cappaert discloses a method (FIG. 10 is a flow chart 1000 illustrating example steps that may be executed by the PDU 300 to regulate power distribution in the satellite 120, paragraph [0097]) for autonomous control of electric power consumption by an apparatus (the power distribution unit 300, fig. 4), comprising:
monitoring electric power measurement data (step 1002, fig 10) of electric power being generated by a solar array of the apparatus (The EPS 810 may be a power generator such as a solar power system with one or more solar panels 122, paragraph [0036], fig. 4), the solar array being configured to at least charge a battery (The battery 840 may be charged by the EPS 810 while the EPS 810 generates power, paragraph [0038], fig. 4) and provide electrical power to components of the apparatus (The battery 840 may power one or more systems connected to the PDU 300. In some instances, the battery 840 may power all systems in the satellite 120, paragraph [0038], fig. 4);
monitoring a state of charge of the battery (the PDU 300 may implement a finite state machine 312 that monitors states of one or more batteries 840, paragraph [0040], fig. 4); monitoring temperature measurement data from an integrated payload array (the PDU 300 may track temperature measurements of one or more systems, keep history record thereof, and monitor operations of the systems, paragraph [0046]); and autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to at least one of the state of charge of the battery and the temperature measurement data, (housekeeping data may include, but not limited to, battery voltage measurement, temperature measurement, watchdog states, and other system information. The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]; When a battery 840 reaches about or below the “Critical” state, the PDU 300 may shut off all its power channels. The voltage settings for the states may be configured or overridden, paragraph [0041]). But does not explicitly disclose that the state of charge of the battery being maintained proximate a preset threshold, the temperature of the integrated payload array being maintained below a preset temperature operating limit and autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery comprises: implementing a first fault protection by shutting down a first component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit, wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold; and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down a second component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit, wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit
Von Novak discloses the state of charge of a battery can be maintain at the preset threshold by cutting if the power to load (the secondary battery (BATT2) may be maintained at a state of charge that enables load spikes to be sourced and regeneration spikes to be sunk or absorbed. Such an option requires maintaining the secondary battery (BATT2) at a lower state of charge that is closer to 50%.).
It would have been obvious to one of a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Cappaert’s method of autonomously controlling the electric power consumption to include a step of maintaining the state of charge of the battery at a specific level as taught by Von Novak, in order to protect the whole apparatus from a low voltage condition (paragraph [0062]). Undervoltage protection is crucial for a battery because if the battery is discharged below its rated value, the battery will become damaged and potentially pose a safety hazard.
Cross discloses the terminal (consists of different electrical components of a satellite) may exceed the threshold for a limited period of time. In order to prevent damage to the components of the terminal, the terminal may be shut down so that it may cool to a temperature at or below the threshold (paragraph [0002], [0008], [0009]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teaching of cross in Cappaert system in view of Von Novak the payload or the components of a satellite could be saved from overheating damage.
Cappaert discloses autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery (The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]). However, Cappaert is silent over implementing a first fault protection by shutting down a first component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit, wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold; and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down a second component of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit, wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit.
Symanow discloses a battery control module (50, fig. 1)
implementing a first fault protection (s304, fig. 3) by shutting down first component of the integrated load in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a first fault limit (in blocks 565-595, the computer 36 performs an operational load shedding strategy (described in more detail below with respect to the block 575) in response to the state of charge SoE.sub.actual falling below the second threshold, the charge level SoE.sub.OLS, while the low-voltage battery 32 is discharging, paragraph [0045], [0060] where reducing the power to the load includes reducing the power to components of the load too for example reducing the speed of the fan); and implementing a second fault protection by shutting down second components of the integrated payload array in response to the state of charge of the battery falling below a second fault limit (In blocks 550-560, the vehicle 30 performs a minimal risk condition in response to the state of charge SoE.sub.actual falling below the first threshold, the charge level SoE.sub.halt. , paragraph [0045] where the controller disable the AV operation)wherein the first fault limit is lower than the preset threshold (where the state of charge of the battery is lower than the first threshold 550, fig. 5B), wherein the second fault limit is lower than the first fault limit (the second threshold is greater than the first threshold, claim 4);
maintaining operation of a third component of the integrated payload array, different from the first component and the second component, when the state of charge of the battery is below the second fault limit to prevent shutting down all payload operations of the integrated payload array (the computer 36 reduces energy supplied to a plurality of loads 102, 104, e.g., the sheddable loads 102, by the low-voltage battery 32. The operational load shedding strategy may be tiered, i.e., at one value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 reduces the energy supplied to some sheddable loads 102, and at a second, lower value for the state of charge SoE.sub.actual, the computer 36 either reduces the energy supplied to additional sheddable loads 102 or further reduces the energy supplied to the same sheddable loads 102 (paragraph [0060]). It shows that during the second fault protection (where the battery state of charge is lower than the second threshold), the system will still provide power to the non-sheddable load but limit the power given to the sheddable loads).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cappaert’s power control system to include the instruction to maintain the battery's ability to the level to perform emergency functions as taught by Symanow, in order to manage the battery power to perform essential function of the system even the power supply failure occurred.
Regarding claim 15, Cappaert in view of Von Novak, Cross and Symanow discloses the method of claim 14. Cappaert further discloses wherein autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array comprises autonomously controlling electric power consumption of selected components of the integrated payload array (Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 17, Cappaert in view of Von Novak, Cross and Symanow discloses the method of claim 14. Cappaert further discloses receiving a task command the control unit 310 may monitor systems connected to the PDU 300 by collecting housekeeping data from the systems, paragraph [0039]); comprising a bandwidth(a user only can send the signal to the aircraft in space from the ground through specific frequency of radio waves. So, it is obvious for person having ordinary skills in the art that the command comprising band width; paragraph [0047] );
and controlling payload communications traffic of the integrated payload array in response to at least one of the electric power measurement data of the solar array (command no. 7, table 2), the state of charge of the battery (command no 9, table 2), temperature measurement data (command no. 4, table 2, paragraph [0051]) from the integrated payload array and the bandwidth of the task command (table 3).
Regarding claim 18, Cappaert in view of Von Novak, Cross and Symanow discloses the method of claim 14. Cappaert further discloses autonomously controlling operation of selected components of the integrated payload array in response to at least one of premature degradation of the solar array, the state of charge of the battery being below the preset threshold (paragraph [0040]-[0041]), the temperature measurement data of the integrated payload array exceeding a preset temperature operating limit, and a task command bandwidth exceeding an allowable limit (paragraph [0046]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappaert (US 2016/0251092), Von Novak (US 2017/0072812), Symanow (US 2019/0375298), and Cross (US 2016/0127060) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of James (US 2020/0361338).
Regarding claim 16, Cappaert in view of Von Novak, Cross and Faley discloses the method of claim 14. Cappaert discloses that when the power is low, the PDU 300 may configure orientation of the solar panels 122 to collect more power (paragraph [0036]), receiving a task command for a payload mission task comprising a station keeping maneuver that comprises using thrusters (920 issue commands to PDU 300, fig 4; Note: Cappaert discloses the network 100 may include a constellation of satellites 120 each configured to collect data from a point on the planet from time to time or on a regular basis, paragraph [0022].every satellite rotate above the earth and have the motor for it called thruster. It’s inherently understood that the satellite revolve around to take the mission task; paragraph [0022]); responding to receiving the task command based on the state of charge of the battery, the temperature measurement data, and a priority of the payload mission task (the control unit 310 may maintain and report internal housekeeping data of the PDU 300. Further, the control unit 310 may monitor systems connected to the PDU 300 by collecting housekeeping data from the systems. Housekeeping data may include, but not limited to, battery voltage measurement, temperature measurement, watchdog states, and other system information. The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120. Paragraph [0039], [0041]; Note: turning on some specific power channel receive the task command; the PDU 300 may implement a finite state machine 312 that monitors states of one or more batteries 840. Each battery 840 may have four states “Full,” “Normal,” “Safe,” and “Critical,” indicative of its availability of power or voltage measurement. Based on the availability of power, the PDU 300 may regulate distribution of power to one or more systems by switching on and off certain channels as needed. Paragraph [0040]),
wherein responding to receiving the task command comprises one of:
rejecting the task command in response to one of the state of charge of the battery being below the preset threshold, the temperature measurement data exceeding the preset temperature operating limit, the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power, and a priority of the payload mission task being below a chosen priority value, wherein rejecting the task command comprises transmitting an alarm to mission operations in response to rejecting the task command (the PDU 300 may implement a finite state machine 312 that monitors states of one or more batteries 840. Each battery 840 may have four states “Full,” “Normal,” “Safe,” and “Critical,” indicative of its availability of power or voltage measurement. Based on the availability of power, the PDU 300 may regulate distribution of power to one or more systems by switching on and off certain channels as needed. Paragraph [0040] please note that the claim uses the alternative language “one of” and only one limitation is needed for the complete rejection of the claim under its broadest claim interpretation); but they do not explicitly disclose that autonomously controlling electric power consumption in response to the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power and responding to receiving the task command based on the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power.
James discloses that autonomously controlling electric power consumption in response to the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power and responding to receiving the task command based on the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power The energy management means 105 may be also configured for managing the capabilities and performance of the aircraft, so as to make it possible, for example, to reduce performance and/or capabilities when there is a need to reduce the power consumption, paragraph [0054]; The electric power that a photovoltaic film can produce is largely variable, depending on the solar altitude angle, clouds presence, obstructing obstacles, and orientation of the photovoltaic film with respect to the direction from which the light comes. On the other hand, the power consumption of an electric aircraft can change depending on the aircraft maneuvers being performed (e.g. takeoff, landing, hovering, high rate climbing), payload, and wind, paragraph [0056]Note: the power management unit manages the power consumption of the system based on the energy produces by the solar array).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skills in the art, before the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of James in Cappaert’s satellite system in view of Von Novak and Symanow the power consumption of space craft power components could be reduced in response to insufficient solar light and accept task accordingly as taught by James, which can save the power for satellite to accomplish its most important task and saving power to save it from completely perish during low sun light.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappaert (US 2016/0251092), Von Novak (US 2017/0072812), Symanow (US 2019/0375298) and Kawam (US 2008/0306700), as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of James (US 2020/0361338).
Regarding claim 24, Cappaert in view of Von Novak, Symanow and Kawam discloses the method of claim 23., But they do not explicitly disclose that the electric power consumption of the payloads array can be controlled in response to the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power.
James discloses that the autonomously controlling electric power consumption of the integrated payload array is also in response to the solar array receiving insufficient light to generate electric power (The energy management means 105 may be also configured for managing the capabilities and performance of the aircraft, so as to make it possible, for example, to reduce performance and/or capabilities when there is a need to reduce the power consumption, paragraph [0054]; The electric power that a photovoltaic film can produce is largely variable, depending on the solar altitude angle, clouds presence, obstructing obstacles, and orientation of the photovoltaic film with respect to the direction from which the light comes. On the other hand, the power consumption of an electric aircraft can change depending on the aircraft maneuvers being performed (e.g. takeoff, landing, hovering, high rate climbing), payload, and wind, paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of James in Cappaert’s satellite system in view of Von Novak, Symanow and Kawam the power consumption of spacecraft power components could be reduced in response to insufficient solar light as taught by James, which can save the power for satellite to accomplish its most important task and saving power to save it from completely perish during low sunlight.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappaert (US 2016/0251092), Von Novak (US 2017/0072812), and Symanow (US 2019/0375298) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2015/0046012).
Regarding claim 25, Cappaert in view of Von Novak and Symanow discloses the method of claim 1. Cappaert does disclose autonomously controlling electric power consumption of an integrated payload array (loads within the small form factor satellite system) (housekeeping data may include, but not limited to, battery voltage measurement, temperature measurement, watchdog states, and other system information. The control unit 310 may rely on the housekeeping data to assess an overall health and state of the systems. Based on the collected information, the control unit 310 may determine whether to switch on or off one or more power channels, or the entire satellite 120, paragraph [0039]). However, Cappaert in view Von Novak, and Symanow do not explicitly disclose that controlling the power consumption comprises reducing power consumption by a percentage compared to a nominal power value.
Chen discloses controlling the power consumption comprises reducing power consumption by a percentage compared to a nominal power value (paragraph [0095]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Chen in Cappaert’s satellite system in view of Von Novak, and Symanow in order to disconnect certain loads to conserve the power to run the critical loads safely, and avoid providing low power to the load. Low voltage, or insufficient power, can cause damage to electronics in various ways, primarily by forcing components to work harder and potentially leading to overheating or component failure. While not as immediate as surges or brownouts, consistently operating below the rated voltage can shorten the lifespan of devices.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859