DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: at least one web-based model-structure evaluator associated with a set of tools operable to analyze and restructure the knowledge model and associated with the one or more hardware processors in claims 1, 10, and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-15, 17, 20-21, 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, claims 1, 10, and 21 each recite at least one web-based model-structure evaluator without support in the original disclosure. The term and explanation of a web-based model-structure evaluator cannot be found in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-15, 17, 20-21, 24-30 are rejected. Claim limitation at least one web-based model-structure evaluator associated with a set of tools operable to analyze and restructure the knowledge model and associated with the one or more hardware processors invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The original disclosure does not recite the term web-based model-structure evaluator and therefore no structure can be clearly attributed to it. Therefore, claims 1, 10 and 21 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-15, 17, 20-21, 24-30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, exemplary claim 1 recites, in part, (a) comprises adding…the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records system and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system. It is unclear how adding more data is reducing the size of the data.
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 2 recites by one or more processors. However, claim 1 previously introduced via one or more hardware processors in line 2. It is unclear if this is the same element, a different element, or related elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-15, 17, 20-21, 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is a method claim. Claim 10 is a CRM claim. Claim 21 is a system claim. Therefore, claims 1, 10, and 21 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
With respect to Claim 1:
Step 2A Prong 1:
identifying, by at least one web-based model-structure evaluator associated with a set of tools operable to analyze and restructure the knowledge model and associated with the one or more hardware processors, a model structure that describes the knowledge model and that is associated with the plurality of rules representing the ontology (mental process – user can manually identify a model structure that describes the knowledge model and that is associated with the plurality of rules representing the ontology)
determining, by the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator, a first set of one or more values indicating a data structure metric that (a) describes the model structure prior to adding a new knowledge-model rule to the data structure and (b) is associated with the plurality of rules and the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology (mental process – user can manually determine a first set of one or more values indicating a data structure metric that (a) describes the model structure prior to adding a new knowledge-model rule to the data structure and (b) is associated with the plurality of rules and the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology)
determining, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, a total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules (mental process – user can manually determine a total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules)
determining that a set of two or more rules in the plurality of rules correspond to a same form in a plurality of forms (mental process – user can manually determine that a set of two or more rules in the plurality of rules correspond to a same form in a plurality of forms)
determining that two or more rules in the set of two or more rules have different thresholds (mental process – user can manually determine that two or more rules in the set of two or more rules have different thresholds)
refactoring the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules into a composite threshold that condenses the different thresholds (mental process – user can manually refactor the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules into a composite threshold that condenses the different thresholds)
generating, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule having the composite threshold (mental process – user can manually generate the new knowledge-model rule having the composite threshold)
Step 2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Additional elements:
accessing, via one or more hardware processors, a knowledge model having a plurality of rules that (a) represent a clinical domain knowledge of an ontology and (b) form a data structure at a medical records computer system associated with an electronic memory (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g))
accessing, via one or more hardware processors, a knowledge model having a plurality of rules that (a) represent a clinical domain knowledge of an ontology and (b) form a data structure at a medical records computer system associated with an electronic memory (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
identifying, by at least one web-based model-structure evaluator associated with a set of tools operable to analyze and restructure the knowledge model and associated with the one or more hardware processors, a model structure that describes the knowledge model and that is associated with the plurality of rules representing the ontology (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
determining, by the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator, a first set of one or more values indicating a data structure metric that (a) describes the model structure prior to adding a new knowledge-model rule to the data structure and (b) is associated with the plurality of rules and the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
storing, to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, the first set of one or more values (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g))
determining, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, a total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
generating, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule having the composite threshold (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system, while maintaining a total quantity of different forms, that can be generated, corresponding to the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, wherein modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system (a) comprises adding, via one or both of the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records computer system and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g))
modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system, while maintaining a total quantity of different forms, that can be generated, corresponding to the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, wherein modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system (a) comprises adding, via one or both of the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records computer system and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
electronically writing, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors and to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, electronic encoded data that: (a) identifies the total possible number of different forms; and (b) quantifies, via a second set of one or more values indicating the data structure metric after the modifying, how the modifying of the data structure at the medical records computer system changes the data structure at the medical records computer system, wherein the second set of one or more values differs from the first set of one or more values (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g))
electronically writing, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors and to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, electronic encoded data that: (a) identifies the total possible number of different forms; and (b) quantifies, via a second set of one or more values indicating the data structure metric after the modifying, how the modifying of the data structure at the medical records computer system changes the data structure at the medical records computer system, wherein the second set of one or more values differs from the first set of one or more values (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additional elements:
accessing, via one or more hardware processors, a knowledge model having a plurality of rules that (a) represent a clinical domain knowledge of an ontology and (b) form a data structure at a medical records computer system associated with an electronic memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
accessing, via one or more hardware processors, a knowledge model having a plurality of rules that (a) represent a clinical domain knowledge of an ontology and (b) form a data structure at a medical records computer system associated with an electronic memory (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
identifying, by at least one web-based model-structure evaluator associated with a set of tools operable to analyze and restructure the knowledge model and associated with the one or more hardware processors, a model structure that describes the knowledge model and that is associated with the plurality of rules representing the ontology (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
determining, by the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator, a first set of one or more values indicating a data structure metric that (a) describes the model structure prior to adding a new knowledge-model rule to the data structure and (b) is associated with the plurality of rules and the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
storing, to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, the first set of one or more values (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
determining, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, a total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
generating, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule having the composite threshold (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system, while maintaining a total quantity of different forms, that can be generated, corresponding to the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, wherein modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system (a) comprises adding, via one or both of the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records computer system and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system, while maintaining a total quantity of different forms, that can be generated, corresponding to the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, wherein modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system (a) comprises adding, via one or both of the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records computer system and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
electronically writing, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors and to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, electronic encoded data that: (a) identifies the total possible number of different forms; and (b) quantifies, via a second set of one or more values indicating the data structure metric after the modifying, how the modifying of the data structure at the medical records computer system changes the data structure at the medical records computer system, wherein the second set of one or more values differs from the first set of one or more values (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
electronically writing, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors and to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, electronic encoded data that: (a) identifies the total possible number of different forms; and (b) quantifies, via a second set of one or more values indicating the data structure metric after the modifying, how the modifying of the data structure at the medical records computer system changes the data structure at the medical records computer system, wherein the second set of one or more values differs from the first set of one or more values (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
Conclusion: The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected on the same grounds as claim 1. Additionally for claims 10: Claim 10 has the additional element of one or more non-transitory media. These elements are mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component under Step 2A prong 2 and Step 2B.
Regarding Claim 2: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein determining the total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules comprises identifying a particular number, wherein the particular number indicates a quantity of the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, and further comprising: tracing and identifying, by one or more processors, a number of distinct paths within each individual form.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of wherein determining the total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules comprises identifying a particular number, wherein the particular number indicates a quantity of the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, and further comprising: tracing and identifying, by one or more processors, a number of distinct paths within each individual form.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of by one or more processors are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of by one or more processors amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or operation. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or operation cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 3: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually further comprising determining, by the one or more hardware processors, a total number of different paths available within each of a plurality of the different forms.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of further comprising determining, by the one or more hardware processors, a total number of different paths available within each of a plurality of the different forms.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of by the one or more hardware processors are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of by the one or more hardware processors amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or operation. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or operation cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 4: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually further comprising identifying, by the one or more hardware processors, for each one of the different paths determined within each one of the different forms, at least one rule corresponding to the path.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of further comprising identifying, by the one or more hardware processors, for each one of the different paths determined within each one of the different forms, at least one rule corresponding to the path.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of by the one or more hardware processors are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of by the one or more hardware processors amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or operation. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or operation cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 5: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually further comprising identifying, by the one or more hardware processors, for each of the different forms, the set of two or more rules that correspond to a matching path within the form.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of further comprising identifying, by the one or more hardware processors, for each of the different forms, the set of two or more rules that correspond to a matching path within the form.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of by the one or more hardware processors are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of by the one or more hardware processors amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or operation. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or operation cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional element(s) of XXXXX recite adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 8: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the refactoring comprises merging the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules to generate the composite threshold and merging the set of two or more rules into a composite rule, and further comprising removing the set of two or more rules from the data structure at the medical records computer system.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of wherein the refactoring comprises merging the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules to generate the composite threshold and merging the set of two or more rules into a composite rule, and further comprising removing the set of two or more rules from the data structure at the medical records computer system.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of and further comprising removing the set of two or more rules from the data structure at the medical records computer system recite adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of and further comprising removing the set of two or more rules from the data structure at the medical records computer system recite merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim) (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 9: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually further comprising identifying a plurality of rules within the knowledge model, wherein the accessing, the determining of the total possible number of different forms, the determining that the set of two or more rules correspond to the same form, the determining that the two or more rules have different thresholds, the refactoring, the generating, and the modifying are repeated for each of the plurality of rules within the knowledge model.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of further comprising identifying a plurality of rules within the knowledge model, wherein the accessing, the determining of the total possible number of different forms, the determining that the set of two or more rules correspond to the same form, the determining that the two or more rules have different thresholds, the refactoring, the generating, and the modifying are repeated for each of the plurality of rules within the knowledge model.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of the accessing and the modifying recite adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of the accessing and the modifying recite merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim) (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 11: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the knowledge model further comprises a plurality of axioms, and wherein the operations further comprise:
generating, via the one or more hardware processors, a clinical knowledge axiom based on the refactoring the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules; and
modifying the knowledge model by adding the clinical knowledge axiom to the plurality of the axioms.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of via the one or more hardware processors.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of via the one or more hardware processors are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of via the one or more hardware processors amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or operation. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or operation cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 13: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the operations further comprise modifying the knowledge model by removing one or more of the plurality of rules, determined to be redundant based on at least one of the plurality of axioms, from the knowledge model.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 14: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the operations further comprise:
generating, via the one or more hardware processors, a concept based on the refactoring the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules; and
modifying the knowledge model by adding the concept to the ontology of the knowledge model.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of via the one or more hardware processors.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of via the one or more hardware processors are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of via the one or more hardware processors amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or operation. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or operation cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 15: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the operations further comprise determining that a portion of the forms that can be generated is reusable for one or more other ontologies.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 17: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the operations further comprise: determining that two or more paths of a plurality of paths are input equivalent paths when the two or more paths have a distribution overlap of at least 90%; and designating that the two or more paths are matching paths.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 20: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system:
obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse systems having the electronic records in different data formats;
reconciling the electronic records obtained from the plurality of diverse systems with one another using the knowledge model; and
generating inferential clinical knowledge based on reconciling the electronic records.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse systems having the electronic records in different data formats.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse systems having the electronic records in different data formats recite adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse systems having the electronic records in different data formats recite merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim) (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 24: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system:
obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse systems having the electronic records in different data formats;
reconciling the electronic records obtained from the plurality of diverse systems with one another using the knowledge model; and
generating inferential knowledge based on reconciling the electronic records.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse systems having the electronic records in different data formats.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse systems having the electronic records in different data formats recite adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse systems having the electronic records in different data formats recite merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim) (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 25: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the first set of one or more values and the second set of one or more values each indicate a degree of diversity between each of a plurality of paths that can be generated from the form that corresponds to the set of two or more rules.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 26: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of wherein the data structure at the medical records computer system is modified by reducing the total quantity of the plurality of rules in the knowledge model for the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of wherein the data structure at the medical records computer system is modified by reducing the total quantity of the plurality of rules in the knowledge model for the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology recite adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of wherein the data structure at the medical records computer system is modified by reducing the total quantity of the plurality of rules in the knowledge model for the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology recite merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim) (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 27: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually further comprising:
determining a number of distinct forms capable of being created from the plurality of rules; and
tracing and identifying a number of distinct paths within each individual form.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 28: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules is a number, and wherein the determined set of two or more rules comprises more than two rules.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 29: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of wherein the electronic encoded data further indicates the first set of one or more values.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of wherein the electronic encoded data further indicates the first set of one or more values recite adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of wherein the electronic encoded data further indicates the first set of one or more values recite merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim) (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 30: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the first set of one or more values and the second set of one or more values each indicate a determined total possible number and quantity of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 21, 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludik et al. (hereinafter Ludik), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0041910, in view of Bhatt et al. (hereinafter Bhatt), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0286631, further in view of Tsay et al. (hereinafter Tsay) Action rules discovery: system DEAR2, method and experiments.
Regarding Claim 1, Ludik discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
accessing, via one or more hardware processors, a knowledge model having a plurality of rules that (a) represent a clinical domain knowledge of an ontology and (b) form a data structure [“the operational data 14 is collected and stored in a database. The operational data, namely expert rules and expert actions” ¶26; “capturing of the expert rules is facilitated in software by using Decision Tables” ¶40; Fig. 5] at a medical records computer system associated with an electronic memory [“the engine referring to the computerized and programmed methodology” ¶46; “decision support system comprising a software implementation of a set of computer executable Instructions” ¶13; Examiner Note: computerized and programmed methodology and software implementation of a set of computer executable instructions require one or more processors and electronic memory];
identifying, by at least one web-based model-structure evaluator associated with a set of tools operable to analyze and restructure the knowledge model and associated with the one or more hardware processors [“the engine referring to the computerized and programmed methodology used in fusing of the data driven and expert rules” ¶46], a model structure that describes the knowledge model [“the operational data 14 is collected and stored in a database. The operational data, namely expert rules and expert actions” ¶26; “capturing of the expert rules is facilitated in software by using Decision Tables” ¶40; Fig. 5] and that is associated with the plurality of rules representing the ontology;
determining, by the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator [“the engine referring to the computerized and programmed methodology used in fusing of the data driven and expert rules” ¶46], a first set of one or more values indicating a data structure metric that (a) describes the model structure prior to adding a new knowledge-model rule to the data structure and (b) is associated with the plurality of rules [Fig. 5; Examiner Note: the number of rules in the example first table is a metric that describes the model structure prior to adding a new knowledge-model rule to the data structure and is associated with the plurality of rules] and the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology;
storing, to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, the first set of one or more values [“the engine referring to the computerized and programmed methodology” ¶46; “decision support system comprising a software implementation of a set of computer executable Instructions” ¶13; Fig. 5];
determining, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors [“the engine referring to the computerized and programmed methodology used in fusing of the data driven and expert rules” ¶46], a total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules;
determining that a set of two or more rules in the plurality of rules correspond to a same form in a plurality of forms [Fig. 5; Examiner Note: Form is interpreted as a table, being related to similar information. The rules displayed are all on the same table.];
determining that two or more rules in the set of two or more rules have different thresholds [“subset of rules classified as partially overlapping” ¶55; “contrasting rules” ¶56-57; Fig. 3-5; “temperature, flow and power” ¶56];
refactoring the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules into a composite threshold that condenses the different thresholds [Fig. 6-9; Examiner Note: These figures disclose rules with different thresholds being consolidated into fewer rules by condensing the different thresholds.];
generating, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors [“the engine referring to the computerized and programmed methodology used in fusing of the data driven and expert rules” ¶46], the new knowledge-model rule having the composite threshold [Fig. 5-9; Examiner Note: These figures disclose the consolidation of two or more rules into a single new rule.];
modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system, while maintaining a total quantity of different forms, that can be generated, corresponding to the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, wherein modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system (a) comprises adding, via one or both of the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors [“the engine referring to the computerized and programmed methodology used in fusing of the data driven and expert rules” ¶46], the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records computer system and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system [“fusing of the data-driven rules generated in step 300 and the expert rules captured at step 400 to create a consolidated rule set” ¶42; Fig. 5-9; Examiner Note: the fusion of rules results in the same form (i.e., table topic) while adding a new consolidated rule and reducing the data structure size (e.g., fewer rules/columns)]; and
electronically writing, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors and to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, electronic encoded data that [“the engine referring to the computerized and programmed methodology” ¶46; “decision support system comprising a software implementation of a set of computer executable Instructions” ¶13]:
(a) identifies the total possible number of different forms; and
(b) quantifies, via a second set of one or more values indicating the data structure metric after the modifying, how the modifying of the data structure at the medical records computer system changes the data structure at the medical records computer system, wherein the second set of one or more values differs from the first set of one or more values [Fig. 5; Examiner Note: the number of rules in the example second table is a metric that quantifies how the modifying of the data structure changes the data structure, and the second value differs from the first value].
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose accessing, via one or more hardware processors, a knowledge model having a plurality of rules that (a) represent a clinical domain knowledge of an ontology and (b) form a data structure at a medical records computer system associated with an electronic memory;
identifying, by at least one web-based model-structure evaluator associated with a set of tools operable to analyze and restructure the knowledge model and associated with the one or more hardware processors, a model structure that describes the knowledge model and that is associated with the plurality of rules representing the ontology;
determining, by the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator, a first set of one or more values indicating a data structure metric that (a) describes the model structure prior to adding a new knowledge-model rule to the data structure and (b) is associated with the plurality of rules and the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology;
storing, to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, the first set of one or more values;
determining, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, a total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules;
generating, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule having the composite threshold;
modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system, while maintaining a total quantity of different forms, that can be generated, corresponding to the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, wherein modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system (a) comprises adding, via one or both of the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records computer system and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system; and
electronically writing, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors and to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, electronic encoded data that:
(a) identifies the total possible number of different forms; and
(b) quantifies, via a second set of one or more values indicating the data structure metric after the modifying, how the modifying of the data structure at the medical records computer system changes the data structure at the medical records computer system, wherein the second set of one or more values differs from the first set of one or more values.
Bhatt discloses accessing, via one or more hardware processors, a knowledge model having a plurality of rules that (a) represent a clinical domain knowledge of an ontology and (b) form a data structure at a medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26] associated with an electronic memory;
identifying, by at least one web-based [“accessible from various client devices through a thin client interface such as a web browser” ¶61] model-structure evaluator associated with a set of tools operable to analyze and restructure the knowledge model and associated with the one or more hardware processors, a model structure that describes the knowledge model and that is associated with the plurality of rules representing the ontology [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26];
determining, by the at least one web-based [“accessible from various client devices through a thin client interface such as a web browser” ¶61] model-structure evaluator, a first set of one or more values indicating a data structure metric that (a) describes the model structure prior to adding a new knowledge-model rule to the data structure and (b) is associated with the plurality of rules and the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26];
storing, to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26], the first set of one or more values;
determining, via the at least one web-based [“accessible from various client devices through a thin client interface such as a web browser” ¶61] model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, a total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules;
generating, via the at least one web-based [“accessible from various client devices through a thin client interface such as a web browser” ¶61] model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule having the composite threshold;
modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26], while maintaining a total quantity of different forms, that can be generated, corresponding to the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, wherein modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26] (a) comprises adding, via one or both of the at least one web-based [“accessible from various client devices through a thin client interface such as a web browser” ¶61] model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26] and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26]; and
electronically writing, via the at least one web-based [“accessible from various client devices through a thin client interface such as a web browser” ¶61] model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors and to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26], electronic encoded data that:
(a) identifies the total possible number of different forms; and
(b) quantifies, via a second set of one or more values indicating the data structure metric after the modifying, how the modifying of the data structure at the medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26] changes the data structure at the medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26], wherein the second set of one or more values differs from the first set of one or more values.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik and Bhatt before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ludik to incorporate the medical rules and web-based access from Bhatt.
Given the advantage of storing medical information for ease and speed of retrieval when required, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose determining, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, a total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules;
modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system, while maintaining a total quantity of different forms, that can be generated, corresponding to the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules, wherein modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system (a) comprises adding, via one or both of the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records computer system and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system; and
electronically writing, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors and to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, electronic encoded data that:
(a) identifies the total possible number of different forms; and
(b) quantifies, via a second set of one or more values indicating the data structure metric after the modifying, how the modifying of the data structure at the medical records computer system changes the data structure at the medical records computer system, wherein the second set of one or more values differs from the first set of one or more values.
Tsay discloses determining, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, a total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules [“partition the set of rules discovered from an information system…into a minimal number of subsets, each of which contains rules defining the same decision value” pg. 124 ¶4; “the number of tables representing them is equal to k” pg. 125 ¶1];
modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system, while maintaining a total quantity of different forms, that can be generated, corresponding to the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules [“partition the set of rules discovered from an information system…into a minimal number of subsets, each of which contains rules defining the same decision value” pg. 124 ¶4; “the number of tables representing them is equal to k” pg. 125 ¶1], wherein modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system (a) comprises adding, via one or both of the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors, the new knowledge-model rule to the data structure at the medical records computer system and (b) reduces a size of the data structure at the medical records computer system; and
electronically writing, via the at least one web-based model-structure evaluator and the one or more hardware processors and to the electronic memory at the medical records computer system, electronic encoded data that:
(a) identifies the total possible number of different forms [“partition the set of rules discovered from an information system…into a minimal number of subsets, each of which contains rules defining the same decision value” pg. 124 ¶4; “the number of tables representing them is equal to k” pg. 125 ¶1]; and
(b) quantifies, via a second set of one or more values indicating the data structure metric after the modifying, how the modifying of the data structure at the medical records computer system changes the data structure at the medical records computer system, wherein the second set of one or more values differs from the first set of one or more values.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate table creation approach of Tsay.
Given the advantage of grouping rules into tables based on the decision value which provides related rules in the same table for faster access when those types of decision are to be made, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Regarding Claim 2, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ludik further discloses wherein determining the total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules comprises identifying a particular number, wherein the particular number indicates a quantity of the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules and further comprising: tracing and identifying, by one or more processors, a number of distinct paths within each individual form [Fig. 5; Note: Each rule is a numbered and distinct path within the individual table which is identified and traced].
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose wherein determining the total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules comprises identifying a particular number, wherein the particular number indicates a quantity of the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules and further comprising: tracing and identifying, by one or more processors, a number of distinct paths within each individual form.
Tsay discloses wherein determining the total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules comprises identifying a particular number [“the number of tables representing them is equal to k” pg. 125 ¶1], wherein the particular number indicates a quantity of the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules [“all rules with the decision value di are selected and presented in a table format similar to table 3 in figure 1” pg. 125 ¶2; “partition the set of rules discovered from an information system…into a minimal number of subsets, each of which contains rules defining the same decision value” pg. 124 ¶4] and further comprising: tracing and identifying, by one or more processors, a number of distinct paths within each individual form.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate a particular number of total possible forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules.
Given the advantage of grouping rules into tables based on the decision value which provides related rules in the same table for faster access when those types of decision are to be made, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Regarding Claim 3, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ludik further discloses further comprising determining, by the one or more hardware processors, a total number of different paths available within each of a plurality of different forms [Fig. 5; Note: Each rule is a numbered and distinct path within each individual table].
Regarding Claim 4, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 3. Ludik further discloses further comprising identifying, by the one or more hardware processors, for each one of the different paths determined within each one of the different forms, at least one rule corresponding to the path [Fig. 5; Note: Each rule is a numbered and distinct path within each individual form/table].
Regarding Claim 5, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 3. Ludik further discloses further comprising identifying, by the one or more hardware processors, for each of the different forms, the set of two or more rules that correspond to a matching path within the form [Fig. 5; Note: Contrasting rules are two or more rules that correspond to matching paths within the table.].
Regarding Claim 8, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ludik further discloses wherein the refactoring comprises merging the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules to generate the composite threshold and merging the set of two or more rules into a composite rule, and further comprising removing the set of two or more rules from the data structure [Fig. 5-9; Note: these figures disclose consolidation of two or more rules into one rule] at the medical records computer system.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose at the medical records computer system.
Bhatt discloses at the medical records computer system [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate the medical rules from Bhatt.
Given the advantage of storing medical information for ease and speed of retrieval when required, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claims 21 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 25, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the system of claim 21. Ludik further discloses wherein the first set of one or more values and the second set of one or more values each indicate a degree of diversity between each of a plurality of paths that can be generated from the form that corresponds to the set of two or more rules [Fig. 5; Note: rule consolidated from 9 rules to 4 rules indicates a degree of diversity between the possible paths/rules that can be used since there is no longer overlapping rules].
Regarding Claim 26, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ludik further discloses wherein the data structure at the medical records computer system is modified by reducing the total quantity of the plurality of rules in the knowledge model [Fig. 5] for the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose at the medical records computer system;
for the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology.
Bhatt discloses at the medical records computer [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26];
for the clinical domain knowledge of the ontology [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate the medical rules from Bhatt.
Given the advantage of storing medical information for ease and speed of retrieval when required, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Claim 27 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 28, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ludik further discloses wherein the determined set of two or more rules comprises more than two rules [Fig. 5].
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose wherein the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules is a number.
Tsay discloses wherein the determined total possible number of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules is a number [“partition the set of rules discovered from an information system…into a minimal number of subsets, each of which contains rules defining the same decision value” pg. 124 ¶4; “the number of tables representing them is equal to k” pg. 125 ¶1].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate table creation approach of Tsay.
Given the advantage of grouping rules into tables based on the decision value which provides related rules in the same table for faster access when those types of decision are to be made, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Regarding Claim 29, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ludik further discloses wherein the electronic encoded data further indicates the first set of one or more values [“stored in a database. The operational data, namely expert rules and expert actions, will be used as a source of expert rules of the process, a source of expert actions associated with the expert rules” ¶26; Fig. 5; Examiner Note: the number of rules in the example first table is a metric that describes the model structure prior to adding a new knowledge-model rule to the data structure and is associated with the plurality of rules].
Regarding Claim 30, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first set of one or more values and the set of one or more second values each indicate a determined total possible number and quantity of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules.
Tsay discloses wherein the first set of one or more values and the second set of one or more values each indicate a determined total possible number and quantity of different forms that can be generated from the plurality of rules [“the number of tables representing them is equal to k” pg. 125 ¶1].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate table creation approach of Tsay.
Given the advantage of grouping rules into tables based on the decision value which provides related rules in the same table for faster access when those types of decision are to be made, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay, further in view of Sapir, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0212412.
Regarding Claim 9, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ludik further discloses further comprising identifying a plurality of rules within the knowledge model [Fig. 5]. Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose wherein the accessing, the determining of the total possible number of different forms, the determining that the set of two or more rules correspond to the same form, the determining that the two or more rules have different thresholds, the refactoring, the generating, and the modifying are repeated for each rule within the knowledge model [See Claim 1 rejection above].
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose are repeated.
Sapir discloses are repeated for each data item [“This procedure repeats until all chains have been evaluated” ¶83].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik, Bhatt, Tsay, and Sapir before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate the iteration based on data items to be processed of Sapir.
Given the advantage of ensuring accuracy and completeness by processing iteratively the procedure for each data item being analyzed, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Claims 11, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay, further in view of U.S. Pub. No. US 20170212748 A1 to Agnew, et al. (hereinafter, “Agnew”).
Regarding Claim 11, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the one or more non-transitory media of claim 10.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose wherein the knowledge model further comprises a plurality of axioms, and wherein the operations further comprise:
generating, via the one or more hardware processors, a clinical knowledge axiom based on the refactoring the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules; and
modifying the knowledge model by adding the clinical knowledge axiom to the plurality of the axioms.
Agnew discloses wherein the knowledge model further comprises a plurality of axioms [“The ontology, being logic-based, embodies axioms contained the textual description of the BPMN specification.” ¶49; Examiner Note: Ontologies are a part of knowledge models which consist of axioms];
and wherein the operations further comprise: generating, via the one or more hardware processors, a clinical knowledge axiom based on the refactoring the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules [“The logic rule generation component 208 in FIG. 2 may extract axiom information 212 from a frozen ontology and generate, based on the axiom information 212, a set of logic rules.” ¶54; “The computer system 102 may comprise one or more physical processors” ¶42; Examiner Note: Logic rules are embodiments of axioms. Logic rules are to be generated base off refactoring as disclosed by Ludik above];
modifying the knowledge model by adding the clinical knowledge axiom to the plurality of the axioms [“In an operation 614, logic rules may be augmented with runtime rules of the computer program.” ¶83; Examiner Note: Modifying and adding the generated logic rules/axioms].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination as modified to use the generation of axioms as disclosed by Agnew. The combination would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve variability of a knowledge model by encapsulating knowledge in various other forms.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose clinical knowledge.
Bhatt discloses clinical knowledge [“access a set of medical dictionaries and rules, located in, for example, the predefined rules and dictionaries database” ¶26].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik, Bhatt, Tsay and Agnew before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate the medical information from Bhatt.
Given the advantage of rule consolidation in the medical field to increase speed and efficiency, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Regarding Claim 14, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the one or more non-transitory media of claim 10.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprise:
generating, via the one or more hardware processors, a concept based on the refactoring the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules; and
and modifying the knowledge model by adding the at least one concept to an ontology of the knowledge model.
Agnew discloses wherein the operations further comprise:
generating, via the one or more hardware processors, a concept based on the refactoring the different thresholds of the set of two or more rules [“The logic rule generation component 208 in FIG. 2 may extract axiom information 212 from a frozen ontology and generate, based on the axiom information 212, a set of logic rules.” ¶54; “The computer system 102 may comprise one or more physical processors” ¶42; Examiner Note: Logic rules are embodiments of axioms. Logic rules are to be generated base off refactoring as disclosed by Ludik above. The concept being a logical rule which consists of axioms];
and modifying the knowledge model by adding the at least one concept to an ontology of the knowledge model [“In an operation 614, logic rules may be augmented with runtime rules of the computer program.” ¶83; Fig. 2; Examiner Note: Modifying and adding the generated concepts/logic rules/axioms to the ontology of a knowledge model].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination as modified with the teachings of Agnew for at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 11.
Regarding Claim 15, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the one or more non-transitory media of claim 10.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprise determining that a portion of the forms that are can be generated is reusable for one or more other ontologies
Agnew discloses wherein the operations further comprise determining that a portion of the forms that are can be generated is reusable for one or more other ontologies [“For example, another domain-specific ontology in the different domain of interest and another general ontology instance corresponding to the other application may be obtained, and another supplemental information related to the different functionalities may be generated based on the other general ontology instance and domain-specific ontology and provided as input to the computer program.” ¶99; Examiner Note: Reusing forms for other domain ontologies].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination as modified with the teachings of Agnew for at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 11
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludik, Bhatt, Tsay, further in view of Agnew, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. US 20130204830 A1 to Franke (hereinafter, “Franke”).
Regarding Claim 13, Ludik, Bhatt, Tsay, and Agnew disclose the one or more non-transitory media of claim 11.
Ludik fails to disclose wherein the operations further comprise modifying the knowledge model by removing the one or more of the plurality of rules determined to be redundant based on at least one of the plurality of axioms, from the knowledge model.
Franke further discloses wherein the operations further comprise modifying the knowledge model by removing the one or more of the plurality of rules determined to be redundant based on at least one of the plurality of axioms, from the knowledge model [ “Complexity may also be reduced by discarding redundant rules, such as rules providing only trivial associations.” ¶15].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ludik, Bhatt, Tsay, Agnew, and Franke before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate the medical information from Bhatt.
Given the advantage of increased efficiency and speed by removing duplicate data, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay, further in view of WIPO No. WO 2017188987 A2 to Perez, et al. (hereinafter, “Perez”).
Regarding Claim 17, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the one or more non-transitory media of claim 10.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprise:
determining that two or more paths of a plurality of paths are input equivalent paths when the two or more paths have a distribution overlap of at least 90%;
and designating that the two or more paths are matching paths.
Perez discloses wherein the operations further comprise:
determining that two or more paths of a plurality of paths are input equivalent paths when the two or more paths have a distribution overlap of at least 90% [“Instructions 122 may determine, for each pair of rules in the set of rules, a respective pair overlap between calculated hypervolumes for each individual rule, In some examples, instructions 122 may determine the respective pair overlap by determining a respective Jaccard similarity for the respective sets of hypershapes associated with each pair of rules.” ¶24];
and designating that the two or more paths are matching paths [“A first rule and second rule may be combined as a new individual rule in the set of rules based on overlaps between the calculated hypervolurnes.” ¶13; Examiner Note: Determining that the rules are input equivalent path based on the similarity thus determining to combine them].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination as modified to determine that rules are input equivalent paths as disclosed by Perez. The combination would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to identify if paths are input equivalent quicker so that input equivalent paths may be combined to reduce redundancy of the knowledge base.
Claims 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. US 20170124269 A1 to McNair, et al. (hereinafter, “McNair”)
Regarding Claim 20, Ludik, Bhatt, and Tsay disclose the one or more non-transitory media of claim 10.
However, Ludik fails to explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system:
obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse record systems having the electronic records in different data formats;
reconciling the electronic records obtained from the plurality of diverse systems with one another using the knowledge model; and
and generating inferential clinical knowledge based on reconciling the electronic records.
McNair discloses wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to modifying the data structure at the medical records computer system:
obtaining electronic records from a plurality of diverse systems, the plurality of diverse record systems having the electronic records in different data formats [“At a step 40230, a target set of clinical information associated with a target patient is received from a second set of electronic health records” ¶145; “Embodiments of electronic health record (EHR) systems 160, 162, or 164 include one or more data stores of health records… Example embodiments of EHRs 160, 162, or 164 include hospital, ambulatory, clinic, health exchange, and health plan records systems. EHR systems 160, 162, and 164 may further include record systems, which store real-time or near real-time patient (or user) information,.. Further, in some embodiments EHRs 160, 162, and 164 are affiliated with two or more separate health care entities that use two or more distinct nomenclatures.” ¶30; Examiner Note: Obtaining electronic records that are from diverse systems that have data in different formats];
reconciling the electronic records obtained from the plurality of diverse systems with one another using the knowledge model [“In some embodiments, system 3200 also includes a reconcile component 3260 for learning and relating results from multiple sources” ¶104];
and generating inferential clinical knowledge based on reconciling the electronic records [“A concept recognition component 306 performs synonymic discovery and is generally responsible for reconciling terms used by the various medical organizations, and in some embodiments is facilitated by one or more agents 2135 of FIG. 1C. For instance, if a first medical organization calls a white blood cell count test WBC and a second medical organization calls the same test WC, the concept recognition component 306 would have this information stored to determine that both terms are referring to the same test.” ¶110].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to the combination as modified to reconcile electronic records as disclosed by McNair. The combination would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to gain new knowledge regarding electronic records such that the knowledge of a knowledge model can be further increased thus improving model variability.
Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 20.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claim(s) above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim(s), typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Additionally, any claim amendments for any reason should include remarks indicating clear support in the originally filed specification.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the §101 rejections, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but have been found unpersuasive. Applicant argues that claim 1 recites additional elements that in combination with the other claim elements integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and include additional elements that in combination with other claim elements constrain the content of the claim to significantly more than the judicial exception (see Remarks pg. 14). Applicant appears to base this argument on the assertion that the claims are directed to an improvement in a technology field. Examiner disagrees for at least the following reasons.
As an initial matter, Applicant asserts that the claims include additional elements beyond that identified by the Office (see Remarks pg. 14). However, Applicant does not elucidate as to what those additional elements are. Instead, that statement is followed by numerous paragraph numbers from the Specification. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In reVan Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, any technical improvement alleged in the specification must be realized in the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(a).
Applicant analogizes claim 1 to Examples 37 and 42. Example 37’s claim is not analogous to the instant claim. In the example, the rearranged placement of the icons integrates the abstract idea into a practical application that improves the user interface. However, in the instant claim, the additional elements merely implement the abstract idea in a computing environment. The modifying of data in storage is merely storing and retrieving information in memory (i.e., retrieve data, alter data, store data). See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv). Example 42 is not analogous to the instant claims. Specifically, all of the limitations are additional elements except the converting step. It is these additional elements that integrate the single abstract limitation into a practical application. Specifically, the additional elements recite a specific improvement over prior art systems by allowing remote users to share information in real time in a standardized format regardless of the format in which the information was input by the user. Conversely, the instant claims lack a specific improvement. The instant claims recite the abstract idea of rule consolidation and only includes limited additional elements which do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as outlined in the rejection, but rather implement the idea in a computing environment.
Applicant asserts that claim 1 improves a technical field and then list numerous fields such as “knowledge modeling,” “information engineering,” and “information systems.” By this reasoning, application of generic hardware alone would apply the claim to a technical field. This is not the standard. Additionally, any alleged improvement is to the abstract idea of information consolidation. The computer system is merely the platform on which it is implemented.
For at least these reasons, the 101 rejections are maintained.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but have been found unpersuasive. Applicant argues that 1) Ludik is not analogous art because it deals with industrial processing and not a clinical domain, and 2) Ludik fails to disclose a total possible number of forms. Examiner disagrees for at least the following reasons.
First, in response to applicant's argument that Ludik is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Ludik deals with the same problem as the instant claims. Specifically, implementing rule consolidation. Furthermore, Bhatt was used in the rejection of the clinical/medical information system aspects of the claims. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Second, while Ludik discloses the rule consolidation using the tables as forms, it does not specifically indicate the number of tables (i.e., forms). However, this element is disclosed by Tsay. Again, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
It is the combination of references which disclose the claims. For at least these reasons, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR §1.111(c). Additionally when amending, in their remarks Applicant should particularly cite to the supporting paragraphs in the original disclosure for the amendments.
/R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2148
/MICHELLE T BECHTOLD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2148