DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 21-40 were previously pending and subject to non-final action filed on 01/13/2026. In the response filed 04/09/2026, claims 21, 28 and 35 were amended. Therefore, claims 21-40 are currently pending and subject to final action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 04/09/2026, with respect to claims 21-40 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 abstract idea of claim 21-40 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 04/09/2026, with respect to claims 21-40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Applicant respectfully asserts that the cited references fail to teach or suggest this limitation combined with the limitations "intercepting, by an adversary detector within the cloud service, the query prior to the query reaching the deployed machine learning model" and "in response to determining that the entity is an adversary: passing the query to a shadow machine learning model, instead of the deployed machine learning model, to generate an altered response," as recited in independent claims 21, 28, and 35 as amended herein. In particular, the combination of references fails to teach or suggest the combination of the deployed machine learning model, the adversary detector, and the shadow machine learning model. Neither reference teaches the claimed deployed machine learning model for responding to user queries that a user query is directed to and that is passed to a shadow machine learning model instead. The other cited reference fail to fulfill the deficiencies of Mote and Goldberg. For at least this reason, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections of claims 21, 28, and 35, and their dependent claims, be withdrawn.
Examiner Response: After careful consideration the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Mote teaches: deploying, by a cloud service provider, a machine learning model for responding to user queries; (Mote − [Col. 6 5-25] Fig. 3, Fraudulent submission detector 306 may include a submission analyzer 324. [Col. 8 ll. 1-6] Submission analyzer 324 may use various routines, algorithms and the like that identify comments that are likely to be spam. For example, the routines, algorithms and the like may utilize trained (e.g., machine-learning) models to detect different types of spam messages. [Col. 13 ll. 10-21] Fig. 4, step 404, a fraudulent -submission detector may receive a plurality of -user submissions such as (e.g., ratings, comments, reviews, abuse flags, shares, likes, +1's or other social networking interactions, etc.). The user submissions are inputs sent to the fraudulent submission detector that includes a submission analyzer 324. Submission analyzer 324 may use various routines, algorithms and the like that identify comments that are likely to be spam. For example, the routines, algorithms and the like may utilize trained (e.g., machine-learning) models to detect different types of spam messages. Machine learning model receiving user submission that can be fraudulent submission.)
receiving a query from an entity, at the cloud service provider, the query directed to the deployed machine learning model; (Mote − [Col. 5 ll. 29-35] Fraudulent submission detector 206 may receive submissions (e.g., ratings, comments, reviews, abuse flags, shares, likes, +1's or other social networking interactions, etc.) from one or more client devices (e.g., client device 202) and/or from an application store 208. [Col. 8 ll. 1-10] Submission analyzer 324 may use various routines, algorithms and the like that identify comments that are likely to be spam. For example, the routines, algorithms and the like may utilize trained (e.g., machine-learning) models to detect different types of spam messages. [Col. 12. ll. 53-67])
intercepting, by an adversary detector within the cloud service, (Mote − [Col. 6 5-25] Fig. 3, Fraudulent submission detector 306 may include a submission analyzer 324. [Col. 13 ll. 10-21] Fig. 4, step 404, a fraudulent submission detector may receive a plurality of -user submissions such as (e.g., ratings, comments, reviews, abuse flags, shares, likes, +1's or other social networking interactions, etc.). The user submissions are inputs sent to the fraudulent submission detector that includes a submission analyzer 324. Submission analyzer 324 may use various routines, algorithms and the like that identify comments that are likely to be spam. [Col. 12. ll. 53-67])
determining, by the adversary detector, that the entity is an adversary; (Mote − [Col. 13 ll. 10-21] Fig. 4, At step 406, the fraudulent submission detector may analyze one or more of the submissions to detect a bad or undesirable submission (e.g., a fraudulent, spam-infested or otherwise not legitimate submission) related to at target application (e.g., one of the applications hosted by the application service). At step 408, the fraudulent submission detector may generate a detection conclusion related to the target applications, as explained in detail herein. At step 410, various services, modules, routines or the like may use the detection conclusion to alter their behavior.)
Goldberg teaches: receiving a query from an entity, (Goldberg − [0053] Fig.4 An electronic communication transmitting system 402 is capable of exchanging electronic communication(s) 404 with an electronic communication receiver 406. For example, an electronic communication may be an e-mail message (query input). [0076] For example, assume that the electronic communication is addressed to the addressed entity 412 shown in FIG. 4, and asks the addressed entity 412 for his/her bank account number.)
intercepting, by an adversary detector within the cloud service, (Goldberg − Fig. 2, 5 [0073] Returning now to FIG. 5, a query is made as to whether or not the suspicion level of the initial electronic communications exceeds a predetermined level (query block 506). If so, then a communication switching device reroutes the initial electronic communication from the addressed entity to a cognitive honeypot (block 508).)
the query prior to the query reaching the deployed machine learning model; (Goldberg − Fig. 2, 5 [0073] Returning now to FIG. 5, a query is made as to whether or not the suspicion level of the initial electronic communications exceeds a predetermined level (query block 506). If so, then a communication switching device reroutes the initial electronic communication from the addressed entity to a cognitive honeypot (block 508). Reroutes to cognitive honeypot is the shadow machine learning model.)
and in response to determining that the entity is an adversary: passing the query to a shadow machine learning model, instead of the deployed machine learning model, to generate an altered response, (Goldberg − [0056-0057] away from the addressed entity 412 and towards a natural language processing (NLP) based deep question/answer honeypot 414. Fig. 5, [0073] Returning now to FIG. 5, a query is made as to whether or not the suspicion level of the initial electronic communications exceeds a predetermined level (query block 506). If so, then a communication switching device reroutes the initial electronic communication from the addressed entity to a cognitive honeypot (block 508). Reroutes to cognitive honeypot is the shadow machine learning model.)
and providing the altered response to the query from the shadow machine learning model to the entity instead of a response from the deployed machine learning model. (Goldberg − 0076] For example, assume that the electronic communication is addressed to the addressed entity 412 shown in FIG. 4, and asks the addressed entity 412 for his/her bank account number. [0076-0077] the NLP-based deep Q/A honeypot 414 will ask inappropriate (inane) questions of the sender of the initial electronic communication, such as “Who is your favorite movie star?” After several such non sequitur responses, the nefarious sender of the initial electronic communication will give up and move on to another target.)
Mote teaches analyzing submissions to detect fraudulent, spam submissions and generating a detection conclusion indicating that the submission is fraudulent. Goldberg teaches when the level exceeds a threshold, the communication switching device reroutes the communication from the addressed entity to a cognitive honeypot. Goldberg further teaches the NLP-based honeypot corresponds to the claimed shadow machine-learning model that receives the diverted query and generate substitute response (Goldberg 0073-0080; Fig. 4, Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23, 26, 28, 30, 33, 35, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mote (US PAT: US 9479516 B2, Feb. 11, 2013) in view of Goldberg (US PGPUB: 20160119377 A1, Pub Date: Apr. 28, 2016).
Regarding independent claim 21, Mote teaches: A method, comprising:
deploying, by a cloud service provider, a machine learning model for responding to user queries; (Mote − [Col. 6 5-25] Fig. 3, Fraudulent submission detector 306 may include a submission analyzer 324. [Col. 8 ll. 1-6] Submission analyzer 324 may use various routines, algorithms and the like that identify comments that are likely to be spam. For example, the routines, algorithms and the like may utilize trained (e.g., machine-learning) models to detect different types of spam messages. [Col. 13 ll. 10-21] Fig. 4, step 404, a fraudulent -submission detector may receive a plurality of -user submissions such as (e.g., ratings, comments, reviews, abuse flags, shares, likes, +1's or other social networking interactions, etc.). The user submissions are inputs sent to the fraudulent submission detector that includes a submission analyzer 324. Submission analyzer 324 may use various routines, algorithms and the like that identify comments that are likely to be spam. For example, the routines, algorithms and the like may utilize trained (e.g., machine-learning) models to detect different types of spam messages. Machine learning model receiving user submission that can be fraudulent submission.)
receiving a query from an entity, at the cloud service provider, the query directed to the deployed machine learning model; (Mote − [Col. 5 ll. 29-35] Fraudulent submission detector 206 may receive submissions (e.g., ratings, comments, reviews, abuse flags, shares, likes, +1's or other social networking interactions, etc.) from one or more client devices (e.g., client device 202) and/or from an application store 208. [Col. 8 ll. 1-10] Submission analyzer 324 may use various routines, algorithms and the like that identify comments that are likely to be spam. For example, the routines, algorithms and the like may utilize trained (e.g., machine-learning) models to detect different types of spam messages. [Col. 12. ll. 53-67])
intercepting, by an adversary detector within the cloud service, (Mote − [Col. 6 5-25] Fig. 3, Fraudulent submission detector 306 may include a submission analyzer 324. [Col. 13 ll. 10-21] Fig. 4, step 404, a fraudulent submission detector may receive a plurality of -user submissions such as (e.g., ratings, comments, reviews, abuse flags, shares, likes, +1's or other social networking interactions, etc.). The user submissions are inputs sent to the fraudulent submission detector that includes a submission analyzer 324. Submission analyzer 324 may use various routines, algorithms and the like that identify comments that are likely to be spam. [Col. 12. ll. 53-67])
determining, by the adversary detector, that the entity is an adversary; (Mote − [Col. 13 ll. 10-21] Fig. 4, At step 406, the fraudulent submission detector may analyze one or more of the submissions to detect a bad or undesirable submission (e.g., a fraudulent, spam-infested or otherwise not legitimate submission) related to at target application (e.g., one of the applications hosted by the application service). At step 408, the fraudulent submission detector may generate a detection conclusion related to the target applications, as explained in detail herein. At step 410, various services, modules, routines or the like may use the detection conclusion to alter their behavior.)
Mote teaches determining that the entity is an adversary (Col. 12 ll. 5-35) but does not explicitly teach: intercepting, the query prior to the query reaching the deployed machine learning model; and in response to determining that the entity is an adversary: passing the query to a shadow machine learning model, instead of the deployed machine learning model, to generate an altered response,
However, Goldberg teaches: receiving a query from an entity, (Goldberg − [0053] Fig.4 An electronic communication transmitting system 402 is capable of exchanging electronic communication(s) 404 with an electronic communication receiver 406. For example, an electronic communication may be an e-mail message (query input). [0076] For example, assume that the electronic communication is addressed to the addressed entity 412 shown in FIG. 4, and asks the addressed entity 412 for his/her bank account number.)
intercepting, by an adversary detector within the cloud service, (Goldberg − Fig. 2, 5 [0073] Returning now to FIG. 5, a query is made as to whether or not the suspicion level of the initial electronic communications exceeds a predetermined level (query block 506). If so, then a communication switching device reroutes the initial electronic communication from the addressed entity to a cognitive honeypot (block 508).)
the query prior to the query reaching the deployed machine learning model; (Goldberg − Fig. 2, 5 [0073] Returning now to FIG. 5, a query is made as to whether or not the suspicion level of the initial electronic communications exceeds a predetermined level (query block 506). If so, then a communication switching device reroutes the initial electronic communication from the addressed entity to a cognitive honeypot (block 508). Reroutes to cognitive honeypot is the shadow machine learning model.)
and in response to determining that the entity is an adversary: passing the query to a shadow machine learning model, instead of the deployed machine learning model, to generate an altered response, (Goldberg − [0056-0057] away from the addressed entity 412 and towards a natural language processing (NLP) based deep question/answer honeypot 414. Fig. 5, [0073] Returning now to FIG. 5, a query is made as to whether or not the suspicion level of the initial electronic communications exceeds a predetermined level (query block 506). If so, then a communication switching device reroutes the initial electronic communication from the addressed entity to a cognitive honeypot (block 508). Reroutes to cognitive honeypot is the shadow machine learning model.)
and providing the altered response to the query from the shadow machine learning model to the entity instead of a response from the deployed machine learning model. (Goldberg − 0076] For example, assume that the electronic communication is addressed to the addressed entity 412 shown in FIG. 4, and asks the addressed entity 412 for his/her bank account number. [0076-0077] the NLP-based deep Q/A honeypot 414 will ask inappropriate (inane) questions of the sender of the initial electronic communication, such as “Who is your favorite movie star?” After several such non sequitur responses, the nefarious sender of the initial electronic communication will give up and move on to another target.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote and Goldberg as each inventions relates to preventing attacks on service providers. Incorporating Goldberg’s rerouting and honeypot functionally would have allowed Mote system to divert suspicious queries away from protected machine-learning models and towards a substitute response-generating system. Therefore reducing exposure of the protected services while gathering information regarding the adversarial activity.
Regarding dependent claim 23, depends on claim 21, Mote teaches: wherein the determining comprises comparing a profile of the entity to profiles of known adversaries. (Mote − [Col. 8 ll. 25-41] Submission analyzer 324 may compare a current submission to one or more previously received submissions (e.g., submissions stored/logged in submission information log 322). Similarity between submissions may be determined by looking at various pieces of information/data associated with the submissions, for example,…IP address, account information associated with the user that entered the submission (e.g., age of account), and various other pieces of information.)
Regarding dependent claim 26, depends on claim 21, Mote does not explicitly teach: wherein the shadow machine learning model has different performance characteristics than the deployed machine learning model.
However, Goldberg teaches: wherein the shadow machine learning model has different performance characteristics than the deployed machine learning model. (Goldberg − [0076] For example, assume that the electronic communication is addressed to the addressed entity 412 shown in FIG. 4, and asks the addressed entity 412 for his/her bank account number.) [0076-0077] the NLP-based deep Q/A honeypot 414 will ask inappropriate (inane) questions of the sender of the initial electronic communication, such as “Who is your favorite movie star?” After several such non sequitur responses, the nefarious sender of the initial electronic communication will give up and move on to another target. Examiner notes a different response than what the entity was asking the service provider )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote and Goldberg as each inventions relates to preventing attacks on service providers. Incorporating Goldberg’s rerouting and honeypot functionally would have allowed Mote system to divert suspicious queries away from protected machine-learning models and towards a substitute response-generating system. Therefore reducing exposure of the protected services while gathering information regarding the adversarial activity.
Regarding independent claim 28, is directed to an apparatus. Claim 28 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and claim 28 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 30, depends on claim 28, Mote teaches: wherein the determining comprises comparing a profile of the entity to profiles of known adversaries. (Mote − [Col. 8 ll. 25-41] Submission analyzer 324 may compare a current submission to one or more previously received submissions (e.g., submissions stored/logged in submission information log 322). Similarity between submissions may be determined by looking at various pieces of information/data associated with the submissions, for example,…IP address, account information associated with the user that entered the submission (e.g., age of account), and various other pieces of information.)
Regarding dependent claim 33, depends on claim 28, Mote does not explicitly teach: wherein the shadow machine learning model has different performance characteristics than the deployed machine learning model.
However, Goldberg teaches: wherein the shadow machine learning model has different performance characteristics than the deployed machine learning model. (Goldberg − [0076] For example, assume that the electronic communication is addressed to the addressed entity 412 shown in FIG. 4, and asks the addressed entity 412 for his/her bank account number.) [0076-0077] the NLP-based deep Q/A honeypot 414 will ask inappropriate (inane) questions of the sender of the initial electronic communication, such as “Who is your favorite movie star?” After several such non sequitur responses, the nefarious sender of the initial electronic communication will give up and move on to another target. Examiner notes a different response than what the entity was asking the service provider )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote and Goldberg as each inventions relates to preventing attacks on service providers. Incorporating Goldberg’s rerouting and honeypot functionally would have allowed Mote system to divert suspicious queries away from protected machine-learning models and towards a substitute response-generating system. Therefore reducing exposure of the protected services while gathering information regarding the adversarial activity.
Regarding independent claim 35, is directed to a computer program product. Claim 35 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and claim 35 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 39, depends on claim 35, Mote does not explicitly teach: wherein the shadow machine learning model has different performance characteristics than the deployed machine learning model.
However, Goldberg teaches: wherein the shadow machine learning model has different performance characteristics than the deployed machine learning model. (Goldberg − [0076] For example, assume that the electronic communication is addressed to the addressed entity 412 shown in FIG. 4, and asks the addressed entity 412 for his/her bank account number.) [0076-0077] the NLP-based deep Q/A honeypot 414 will ask inappropriate (inane) questions of the sender of the initial electronic communication, such as “Who is your favorite movie star?” After several such non sequitur responses, the nefarious sender of the initial electronic communication will give up and move on to another target. Examiner notes a different response than what the entity was asking the service provider )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote and Goldberg as each inventions relates to preventing attacks on service providers. Incorporating Goldberg’s rerouting and honeypot functionally would have allowed Mote system to divert suspicious queries away from protected machine-learning models and towards a substitute response-generating system. Therefore reducing exposure of the protected services while gathering information regarding the adversarial activity.
Claim(s) 27, 34 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mote and Goldberg as applied to claims 21, 28 and 35 above, and further in view of MICHIELS (US PGPUB: 20200104673 A1, Filed Date: Sep. 28, 2018).
Regarding dependent claim 27, depends on claim 21, Mote does not explicitly teach: wherein the shadow machine learning model is one of a plurality of shadow machine learning models and wherein each shadow machine learning model is used to provide responses to a different adversary.
However, MICHIELS teaches: wherein the shadow machine learning model is one of a plurality of shadow machine learning models and wherein each shadow machine learning model is used to provide responses to a different adversary. (MICHIELS − [0009] Each of a plurality of machine learning models in the ensemble are implemented differently so that they may produce a different output in response to receiving the same input. Using a piecewise function conceals from which regions of an input space the different machine learning algorithms provide a different output. This makes the machine learning ensemble more difficult to copy.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote Goldberg and MICHIELS as each inventions relates to preventing attacks on machine learning models. Adding the teaching of MICHIELS provides Mote with a plurality of different machine learning models for provide different response to an adversary attack. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification in order to detect nefarious types of communications such as stealing personal information.
Regarding dependent claim 34, depends on claim 28, Mote does not explicitly teach: wherein the shadow machine learning model is one of a plurality of shadow machine learning models and wherein each shadow machine learning model is used to provide responses to a different adversary.
However, MICHIELS teaches: wherein the shadow machine learning model is one of a plurality of shadow machine learning models and wherein each shadow machine learning model is used to provide responses to a different adversary. (MICHIELS − [0009] Each of a plurality of machine learning models in the ensemble are implemented differently so that they may produce a different output in response to receiving the same input. Using a piecewise function conceals from which regions of an input space the different machine learning algorithms provide a different output. This makes the machine learning ensemble more difficult to copy.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote Goldberg and MICHIELS as each inventions relates to preventing attacks on machine learning models. Adding the teaching of MICHIELS provides Mote with a plurality of different machine learning models for provide different response to an adversary attack. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification in order to detect nefarious types of communications such as stealing personal information.
Regarding dependent claim 40, depends on claim 35, Mote does not explicitly teach: wherein the shadow machine learning model is one of a plurality of shadow machine learning models and wherein each shadow machine learning model is used to provide responses to a different adversary.
However, MICHIELS teaches: wherein the shadow machine learning model is one of a plurality of shadow machine learning models and wherein each shadow machine learning model is used to provide responses to a different adversary. (MICHIELS − [0009] Each of a plurality of machine learning models in the ensemble are implemented differently so that they may produce a different output in response to receiving the same input. Using a piecewise function conceals from which regions of an input space the different machine learning algorithms provide a different output. This makes the machine learning ensemble more difficult to copy.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote Goldberg and MICHIELS as each inventions relates to preventing attacks on machine learning models. Adding the teaching of MICHIELS provides Mote with a plurality of different machine learning models for provide different response to an adversary attack. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification in order to detect nefarious types of communications such as stealing personal information.
Claim(s) 22, 29 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mote and Goldberg as applied to claims 21, 28 and 35 above, and further in view of Peppe (US PGPUB: 20170346839 A1, Filed Date: Feb. 11, 2013).
Regarding dependent claim 22, depends on claim 21, Mote does not explicitly teach: wherein the determining comprises determining that the entity has provided a predetermined number of inputs to the deployed machine learning model within a predetermined length of time.
However, Peppe teaches: wherein the determining comprises determining that the entity has provided a predetermined number of inputs to the deployed machine learning model within a predetermined length of time. (Peppe − [0031] For example, an attack vector that performed 100 data communication transactions with another attack vector or asset in a predetermined time period may be assigned a weight value of 1.0, while another attack vector that performed 80 data communication transactions in the predetermined time period may be assigned a weight value of 0.8.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote, Goldberg and Peppe as each inventions relates to preventing attacks. Adding the teaching of Peppe provides Mote with digraph that maps threat to the system. Therefore, providing the benefit of preventing attacks on deployed machine learning models.
Regarding dependent claim 29, depends on claim 28, Mote does not explicitly teach: wherein the determining comprises determining that the entity has provided a predetermined number of inputs to the deployed machine learning model within a predetermined length of time.
However, Peppe teaches: wherein the determining comprises determining that the entity has provided a predetermined number of inputs to the deployed machine learning model within a predetermined length of time. (Peppe − [0031] For example, an attack vector that performed 100 data communication transactions with another attack vector or asset in a predetermined time period may be assigned a weight value of 1.0, while another attack vector that performed 80 data communication transactions in the predetermined time period may be assigned a weight value of 0.8.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote, Goldberg and Peppe as each inventions relates to preventing attacks. Adding the teaching of Peppe provides Mote with digraph that maps threat to the system. Therefore, providing the benefit of preventing attacks on deployed machine learning models.
Regarding dependent claim 36, depends on claim 35, Mote does not explicitly teach: wherein the determining comprises determining that the entity has provided a predetermined number of inputs to the deployed machine learning model within a predetermined length of time.
However, Peppe teaches: wherein the determining comprises determining that the entity has provided a predetermined number of inputs to the deployed machine learning model within a predetermined length of time. (Peppe − [0031] For example, an attack vector that performed 100 data communication transactions with another attack vector or asset in a predetermined time period may be assigned a weight value of 1.0, while another attack vector that performed 80 data communication transactions in the predetermined time period may be assigned a weight value of 0.8.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote, Goldberg and Peppe as each inventions relates to preventing attacks. Adding the teaching of Peppe provides Mote with digraph that maps threat to the system. Therefore, providing the benefit of preventing attacks on deployed machine learning models.
Claim(s) 24-25, 31-32, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mote and Goldberg as applied to claims 21, 28 and 35 above, and further in view of Crabtree (US PGPUB: 20180183766 A1, Filed Date: Dec. 11, 2017).
Regarding dependent claim 24, depends on claim 21, Mote teaches: that identifies an attack threshold corresponding to an input pattern that is indicative of the deployed machine learning model being attacked. (Mote − [Col. 7 ll. 10-11] submission analyzer 324 may detect trends, patterns, etc. [Col. 7 ll. 59-67] Submission analyzer 324 may use various rules and/or thresholds based on past experience with and/or expert knowledge regarding user comments.)
Mote does not explicitly teach: resiliency score for the deployed machine learning model
However, Crabtree teaches: wherein the determining comprises computing a resiliency score for the deployed machine learning model that identifies an attack threshold corresponding to an input pattern that is indicative of the deployed machine learning model being attacked. (Crabtree − [0098] FIG. 14 is a flow diagram of an exemplary method 1400 for continuous network resilience scoring,)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote, Goldberg and Crabtree as each inventions relates to preventing attacks. Adding the teaching of Crabtree provides Mote with statistical data for determining a system vulnerability risk. Therefore, providing the benefit of preventing attacks on deployed machine learning models.
Regarding dependent claim 25, depends on claim 24, Mote teaches: wherein the determining comprises: observing a pattern of input provided by the entity; and identifying the entity as an adversary when the pattern of input reaches the attack threshold. (Mote − [Col. 7 ll. 10-11] submission analyzer 324 may detect trends, patterns, etc. [Col. 7 ll. 59-67] Submission analyzer 324 may use various rules and/or thresholds based on past experience with and/or expert knowledge regarding user comments.)
Regarding dependent claim 31, depends on claim 28, Mote teaches: that identifies an attack threshold corresponding to an input pattern that is indicative of the deployed machine learning model being attacked. (Mote − [Col. 7 ll. 10-11] submission analyzer 324 may detect trends, patterns, etc. [Col. 7 ll. 59-67] Submission analyzer 324 may use various rules and/or thresholds based on past experience with and/or expert knowledge regarding user comments.)
Mote does not explicitly teach: resiliency score for the deployed machine learning model
However, Crabtree teaches: wherein the determining comprises computing a resiliency score for the deployed machine learning model that identifies an attack threshold corresponding to an input pattern that is indicative of the deployed machine learning model being attacked. (Crabtree − [0098] FIG. 14 is a flow diagram of an exemplary method 1400 for continuous network resilience scoring,)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote, Goldberg and Crabtree as each inventions relates to preventing attacks. Adding the teaching of Crabtree provides Mote with statistical data for determining a system vulnerability risk. Therefore, providing the benefit of preventing attacks on deployed machine learning models.
Regarding dependent claim 32, depends on claim 31, Mote teaches: wherein the determining comprises: observing a pattern of input provided by the entity; and identifying the entity as an adversary when the pattern of input reaches the attack threshold. (Mote − [Col. 7 ll. 10-11] submission analyzer 324 may detect trends, patterns, etc. [Col. 7 ll. 59-67] Submission analyzer 324 may use various rules and/or thresholds based on past experience with and/or expert knowledge regarding user comments.)
Regarding dependent claim 37, depends on claim 35, Mote teaches: that identifies an attack threshold corresponding to an input pattern that is indicative of the deployed machine learning model being attacked. (Mote − [Col. 7 ll. 10-11] submission analyzer 324 may detect trends, patterns, etc. [Col. 7 ll. 59-67] Submission analyzer 324 may use various rules and/or thresholds based on past experience with and/or expert knowledge regarding user comments.)
Mote does not explicitly teach: resiliency score for the deployed machine learning model
However, Crabtree teaches: wherein the determining comprises computing a resiliency score for the deployed machine learning model that identifies an attack threshold corresponding to an input pattern that is indicative of the deployed machine learning model being attacked. (Crabtree − [0098] FIG. 14 is a flow diagram of an exemplary method 1400 for continuous network resilience scoring,)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Mote, Goldberg and Crabtree as each inventions relates to preventing attacks. Adding the teaching of Crabtree provides Mote with statistical data for determining a system vulnerability risk. Therefore, providing the benefit of preventing attacks on deployed machine learning models.
Regarding dependent claim 38, depends on claim 37, Mote teaches: wherein the determining comprises: observing a pattern of input provided by the entity; and identifying the entity as an adversary when the pattern of input reaches the attack threshold. (Mote − [Col. 7 ll. 10-11] submission analyzer 324 may detect trends, patterns, etc. [Col. 7 ll. 59-67] Submission analyzer 324 may use various rules and/or thresholds based on past experience with and/or expert knowledge regarding user comments.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178