DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 cites dependency upon claim 8. A claim that is dependent to itself is indefinite. Furthermore, claim 8 cites limitations such as “the cascade of modular circuit blocks,” which are limitations for which claim 8 does not provide antecedent basis.
For examination purposes, claim 8 will be interpreted as depending upon claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected as being dependent upon claim 8.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the mounting holes of the second modular circuit block" in lines 1 & 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 appears to be intended to be dependent upon claim 8, and for examination purposes, will be interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by La Prade et al. (US Patent 4455537)
As per claim 1:
La Prade et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
A radio frequency (RF) system (microwave system 10 has an RF input - RF coaxial cable 32, and an RF output - RF transition connector 36), comprising: an electrically conductive housing (frame 52, comprising a metal structure, col. 3 lines 14-35) including a housing floor (bottom wall 56) having a plurality of mounting holes (subsystems held to the frame by screws 58, col. 3 lines 14-35) arranged in a grid pattern (screws require receiving holes to function, and are placed in a formation that fits a grid pattern), the electrically conductive housing including first and second end walls (modules are placed into recesses such as recess 54, such that the left and right sides of the microwave system 10 forms first and second end walls with the frame 52) coupled to the housing floor (being part of the frame 52), and first and second side walls (top and bottom sides of frame 52 form side walls in accordance with the blind recess 54) coupled to the housing floor (being part of the frame 52); a cascade of modular circuit blocks (microwave substrate circuits 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, connected by an interconnect arrangement col. 2 lines 51-66), each modular circuit block including an input launch and an output launch that exhibit the same launch geometry as other modular circuit blocks in the cascade (related Figs. 2-4 illustrate a connecting wire (174), spring (148), and boss (130) connecting system utilized for the modular blocks in the cascade (col. 4 lines 21-61), each modular circuit block including mounting holes aligned with corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing (subsystems are mounted to the frame by screws 58 through apertures 82 col. 3 lines 14-52); and a lid (cover of cover supporting bosses 57) situated on the electrically conductive housing such that the floor, first and second end walls, and first and second side walls together form a cavity for the cascade of modular circuit blocks.
As per claim 2:
La Prade et al. is silent regarding the cascade being a prototype cascade.
The cascade of La Prade et al. may be inherently used as a prototype cascade, as the limitation of being a prototype is a functional limitation that does not provide a structural limitation, and the system of La Prade et al. may be used as or with a prototype system.
As per claim 3:
La Prade et al. is silent regarding the electrically conductive housing being a production housing.
The electrically conductive housing of La Prade et al. may be inherently used as a production housing, as the limitation of being a production housing is a functional limitation that does not provide a structural limitation, and the system of La Prade et al. may be used as or with a production system.
As per claim 4:
La Prade et al. discloses a plurality of mounting screws (54) extending through the mounting holes of the modular circuit blocks and corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing to hold the modular circuit blocks to the floor of the electrically conductive housing (subsystems held to the frame by screws 58, col. 3 lines 14-35).
As per claim 8:
La Prade et al. discloses in related Fig. 3 the cascade of modular circuit blocks includes first and second modular circuit blocks (microwave substrate circuits 18 & 20) that each include mounting holes (apertures 82, shown in related Fig. 4) aligned with corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing (as seen in Fig. 1 with the screws), the RF system further comprising: a flex jumper (spring 148) including a plurality of flexible conductors (fingers 152, 154, & 156) having opposed ends, the flex jumper coupling conductors of the output launch of the first modular circuit block to respective conductors of the input launch of the second modular circuit block (connects boss 130 to boss 144).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5 & 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chrzan (US Patent 5065124) in view of La Prade et al. (US Patent 4455537).
As per claim 1:
Chrzan discloses in Figs. 3 (a)-(b) & 5(a)-(c) a radio frequency (RF) system (Title, 40 GHz may be considered RF), comprising: housing (11 in Fig. 3(a), 70 in Figs. 5(a)-(c)) including a housing floor (bottom), the housing including first and second end walls coupled to the housing floor (sides located at input feedthrough 78 and output feed through 80), and first and second side walls coupled to the housing floor (top and bottom sides of Fig. 5(a)); a cascade of modular circuit blocks (modules 51), each modular circuit block including an input launch and an output launch that exhibit the same launch geometry as other modular circuit blocks in the cascade (as shown in Fig. 3(b)); and the housing arranged such that the floor, first and second end walls, and first and second side walls together form a cavity (74) for the cascade of modular circuit blocks.
Chrzan further discloses:
The use of hermetically sealed aluminum housing in the prior art (col. 1 lines 54-62).
Chrzan does not disclose:
The housing is an electrically conductive housing including a housing floor having a plurality of mounting holes arranged in a grid pattern.
Each modular circuit block including mounting holes aligned with corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing.
A lid situated on the electrically conductive housing.
La Prade et al. discloses in Fig. 1 the use of screws (58) to mount circuit modules (microwave substrate circuits 11, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, & 30) to an electrically conductive housing (frame 52, comprising a metal structure, col. 3 lines 14-35) with a lid (cover of cover supporting bosses 57).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the housing of Chrzan to be formed of an electrically conductive material such as aluminum with a lid as per the prior art described by Chrzan to provide the benefit of a known housing material that can provide the benefit of being able to be hermetically sealed, as per the prior art described by Chrzan.
It would have been further obvious for the housing to have a plurality of mounting holes arranged in a grid pattern and for the modular circuit blocks to include mounting holes aligned with corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing so as to provide the benefit of an attachment method to secure and remove the circuit modules for replacement, repair, or testing as taught by La Prade et al. (col. 5 line 62- col. 6 line 17), and to adjust as per the number of modules and the ribbon lengths as per Chrzan (col. 4 lines 16-64).
As a consequence of the combination:
The housing is an electrically conductive housing including a housing floor having a plurality of mounting holes arranged in a grid pattern.
Each modular circuit block includes mounting holes aligned with corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing.
A lid is situated on the electrically conductive housing.
As per claim 2:
Chrzan is silent regarding the cascade being a prototype cascade.
The cascade of Chrzan may be inherently used as a prototype cascade, as the limitation of being a prototype is a functional limitation that does not provide a structural limitation, and the system of Chrzan may be used as or with a prototype system.
As per claim 3:
Chrzan is silent regarding the electrically conductive housing being a production housing.
The electrically conductive housing of Chrzan may be inherently used as a production housing, as the limitation of being a production housing is a functional limitation that does not provide a structural limitation, and the system of Chrzan may be used as or with a production system.
As per claim 4:
Chrzan does not disclose:
A plurality of mounting screws extending through the mounting holes of the modular circuit blocks and corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing to hold the modular circuit blocks to the floor of the electrically conductive housing.
La Prade et al. discloses:
A plurality of mounting screws (54) extending through the mounting holes of the modular circuit blocks and corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing to hold the modular circuit blocks to the floor of the electrically conductive housing (subsystems held to the frame by screws 58, col. 3 lines 14-35).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use mounting screws in coordination with corresponding mounting holes in the modular circuit blocks and the electrically conductive housing to provide the benefit of an attachment method to secure and remove the circuit modules for replacement, repair, or testing as taught by La Prade et al. (col. 5 line 62- col. 6 line 17).
As per claim 5:
Chrzan discloses:
The cascade of modular circuit blocks includes an input end (at coaxial input feedthrough 78) and an output end (at output feedthrough 80),
the RF system further comprising: an input connector being situated external to the first end wall of the electrically conductive housing and including a conductive pin that extends through an opening in the first end wall to contact a signal conductor of the input launch of a modular circuit block adjacent the first end wall (Chrzan notes the use of standard microwave connectors to mate with the input and output feedthroughs that are denoted as being coaxial feed throughs, and thus having a center conductor that may be described as a pin extending through the opening of the end wall to contact the input/output launch of the adjacent modular circuit block, col. 5 lines 4-28, and with the positioning of a modular circuit block launch adjacent to an end wall shown in related Fig. 8);
an output connector being situated external to the second end wall of the electrically conductive housing and including a conductive pin that extends through an opening in the second end wall to contact a signal conductor of the output launch of a modular circuit block adjacent the second end wall (Chrzan describes the output and input feed throughs in the same manner, as noted above).
As per claim 7:
Chrzan discloses:
shields between adjacent modular circuit blocks of the cascade (carriers 52 comprise lips 54, which may be interpreted as shields between adjacent the modular circuit blocks, as per Fig. 3(b))
Chrzan does not disclose:
removable shields between adjacent modular circuit blocks of the cascade,
the removable shields including mounting holes that are aligned with corresponding mounting holes in the electrically conductive housing.
La Prade et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
the use of screws (58) to mount circuit modules (microwave substrate circuits 11, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, & 30) to an electrically conductive housing (frame 52, comprising a metal structure, col. 3 lines 14-35).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the carriers with lips of Chrzan to include mounting holes aligned with corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing so as to provide the benefit of an attachment method to secure and remove the circuit modules for replacement, repair, or testing as taught by La Prade et al. (col. 5 line 62- col. 6 line 17).
As per claim 8:
Chrzan discloses:
the cascade of modular circuit blocks includes first and second modular circuit blocks
the RF system further comprising: a flex jumper including a plurality of flexible conductors (ribbon conductors 62 and 64, as seen in Figs. 3-4) having opposed ends (one at each module), the flex jumper coupling conductors of the output launch of the first modular circuit block to respective conductors of the input launch of the second modular circuit block (as seen in Figs. 3-4).
Chrzan does not disclose:
the cascade of modular circuit blocks includes first and second modular circuit blocks that each include mounting holes aligned with corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing
La Prade et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
the use of screws (58) to mount circuit modules (microwave substrate circuits 11, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, & 30) to an electrically conductive housing (frame 52, comprising a metal structure, col. 3 lines 14-35).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the cascade of modular circuit blocks includes first and second modular circuit blocks that each include mounting holes aligned with corresponding mounting holes of the electrically conductive housing.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Chrzan (US Patent 5065124) in view of La Prade et al. (US Patent 4455537) as applied to claims 1 & 5 above, and further in view of Buchanan et al. (US Patent 4995815)
The resultant combination discloses:
RF system of claims 1 & 5
The resultant combination does not disclose:
a first pin bridge situated at the input launch of the modular circuit block adjacent the first end wall,
the first pin bridge including a channel through which the conductive pin of the input connector extends to contact a signal conductor of the input launch of the modular circuit block adjacent the first end wall,
the first pin bridge providing an electrically conductive path between the first end wall and a ground conductor of the input launch of the modular circuit block adjacent the first end wall;
a second pin bridge situated at the output launch of the modular circuit block adjacent the second end wall,
the second pin bridge including a channel through which the conductive pin of the output connector extends to contact a signal conductor of the output launch of the modular circuit block adjacent the second end wall,
the second pin bridge providing an electrically conductive path between the second end wall and a ground conductor of the output launch of the modular circuit block adjacent the second end wall.
Buchanan discloses in Fig. 2:
A coaxial connector (80)
An adjacent launch launch comprising:
a transmission line (58)
a ground plane (52)
A pin bridge (contact member 62)
Situated between the coaxial connector and the launch
Including a channel (dielectric insulation 67 of coaxial transmission line 64) through which a conductive pin of the coaxial connector extends to contact a signal conductor (transmission line 58) of the adjacent launch
The pin bridge providing an electrically conductive path between the outer conductor and flange of the coaxial conductor and a ground conductor of the launch (mounting member 62 may be made of conductive material, otherwise an outer conductor 70 is provided along the outer edge of the channel to provide contact to the ground layer, col. 4 lines 9-23 & 35-55).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the pin bridge of Buchanan between the coaxial connectors of the resultant combination to the launch of the modular circuit blocks to provide the benefit of an art-recognized transition between a coaxial connection and a transmission line, as disclosed by Buchanan (abstract).
Claims 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Chrzan (US Patent 5065124) in view of La Prade et al. (US Patent 4455537) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kosugi et al. (US Patent 475381)
As per claim 11:
The resultant combination discloses:
RF system of claim 1
The resultant combination does not disclose:
a cross section of the electrically conductive housing exhibits an H geometry, the floor of the electrically conductive housing forming a cross member of the H geometry.
Kosugi discloses in Fig. 1:
A microwave circuit arrangement with two principal surfaces (col. 4 lines 9-26) reflecting a top and bottom of a base plate (31)
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide two principle surfaces to the RF system of the resultant combination by providing an opposing surface to the base of the housing to provide the benefit of increasing the area for circuit placement within the housing without increasing the length, as is shown by Kosugi.
As a consequence of the combination, the electrically conductive housing exhibits an H geometry, the floor of the electrically conductive housing forming a cross member of the H geometry.
As per claim 12:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
electrical circuits situated below the floor of the electrically conductive housing.
Kosugi discloses in Fig. 1:
modular circuit components (microwave circuit components 35) below the floor of the electrically conductive housing (base plate 31)
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the RF system of the resultant combination such that the modular circuits are situated below the floor of the electrically conductive housing merely by inverting the apparatus, and it would further be obvious for modular circuit components to be implemented on each of the principle surfaces as per the combination of claim 11, to provide the benefit of increasing the area for circuit placement within the housing without increasing the length, as is shown by Kosugi.
As per claim 13:
The resultant combination discloses in Chrzan:
the electrical circuits include a bias circuit that provides a bias signal to a modular circuit block of the cascade of modular circuit blocks (lower frequency power supply, col. 5 lines 4-28).
As per claim 14:
The resultant combination discloses in Chrzan:
the electrical circuits include a control circuit that provides a control signal to a modular circuit block of the cascade of modular circuit blocks (control modules, col. 5 lines 4-28).
As per claim 15:
The resultant combination discloses in Chrzan:
the electrical circuits include a power source that provides a power signal to a modular circuit black of the cascade of modular circuit blocks (low frequency power supply, col. 5 lines 4-28).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 has been rejected do to a what appears to be a dependency issue, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (claims 1 & 8).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The limitations of claims 9 & 10 in combination with the limitations of claims 1 & 8 were not found in the prior art, nor was a combination found in the prior art to render the combination of claims obvious over the prior art.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/Examiner, Art Unit 2843