DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 9/16/2025 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-23 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 9-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 22, and thus their dependent claims, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites the limitation “the second end of the securement portion” in line 12, however neither a first or second end of the securement portion has been defined by the claim. Rather, only a first and second end of the attachment member has been defined, with the securement portion being disposed at the first end of the attachment member. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 recites the limitation of “wherein the attachment member has a cylindrical transition portion between the first end and the second end, wherein the cylindrical transition section.” Therefore, this claim seems to be missing further limitations/language regarding the cylindrical transition section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4,7, 17-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Fu-An (CN 2179126Y) over Lyu (US 2012/0143081 A1) and in further view of Carmien (US 5,996,442), Dart (US 4,440,206), and in further view of Kinne (4,831,901).
Regarding claim 1, Li Fu-An discloses a device for treating sinus congestion (hammer-like device to be used for various forms of massaging the human body, Figure 1 and Page 6), the device comprising: a handle having a longitudinal axis extending from a first end to a second end (hammer rod 2 extending from hammer head to hammer tail, Figures 1, 2 and Page 5); a head at the first end of the handle (hammer head body 1C atop first end of rod 2, Figure 1), the head having a longitudinal axis extending from a first end to a second end and being perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the handle (see longitudinal axis extending from first end to second end of hammer head body 1C indicated by the dashed line shown in Figure 1, being perpendicular to the axis of hammer rod 2, Figure 1), the first end of the head terminating with a recess (first end of hammer head body 1C terminates with a concave-bowl shaped suction head 1B, Figure 1 and Page 4), wherein the head is formed from a rubber material (hammer head made from a flexible rubber material, Abstract); and, a cap secured to the second end of the handle (sealing cap 3E fixed to end of hammer rod 2, Figure 2 and Page 4).
Although Li Fu-An discloses a cap secured to the second end of the handle, Li Fu-An does not specifically state the cap secured on the second end of the handle being metal.
However, Lyu teaches a massaging device comprising both a head and handle (abstract and Figure 1) further comprising an extending protrusion on the second end of the handle (protrusion 5, Figure 1) that is made from metal (device is made from 99.9% pure silver, Paragraph 0029 and abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the cap of Li Fu-An’s device to be made from a metal material such as silver, as taught by Lyu, as using a metal with a high electrical conductivity better promotes stimulation of various pressure pain points on the body (Paragraph 0012 of Lyu).
Additionally, although Li Fu-An’s device teaches a cap secured to the second end of the handle, Li Fu-An is silent on the cap including a threaded shaft received in a threaded bore in the handle, such that the rotation of an outer surface of the cap relative to the handle removes the cap from the handle.
However, Kinne teaches a hammer device (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a handle (handle 20, Figure 1) and a cap secured on the second end of the handle (cap 36 secured to second end of handle 20, Figure 3) wherein the cap includes a threaded shaft and is received in a threaded bore of the handle, such that rotation of the cap relative to the handle removes the cap from the handle (see threaded shaft 26 of cap 36, received into threaded bore 28 of handle 20, Figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the cap of Li Fu-An’s device by having the connection mechanism between the cap and the handle be a threaded shaft and bore connection, as taught by Kinne, as such a threaded connection between the cap and the handle would provide an alternative means of securing the two components together, allowing for easy removal and reinstallation when needed, such as when the device needs to be cleaned and/or the cap needs to be replaced.
Additionally, although Li Fu-An’s device appears to join the handle to the head via a threaded connection disposed within the head (see Figure 1 in which first end of handle 2 is inserted into head and appears to have a threaded surface), Li Fu-An is silent wherein the head is removably secured to the handle via an attachment member having a threaded shaft at first end and a securement portion with a rough surface at a second end, wherein the threaded shaft extends into the handle such that the attachment member is configured to be entirely disposed within the handle and the head and the securement portion is surrounded by the head, and wherein the rough surface of the attachment member contacts and grips the head.
However, Carmien teaches a hand tool having an interchangeable and replaceable striking head (Abstract and Figure 1) via an attachment member having a threaded shaft at a first end and a securement portion at a second end (connecting stud 30 includes a lower threaded portion 34 and an intermediate body portion 36, Figure 1) wherein the threaded shaft extends into the handle such that the attachment member is configured to be entirely disposed within the handle and the head (lower portion 34 extends into handle 28 such that the entire connecting stud 30 is entirely disposed within the handle 28 and the head 24 when assembled as shown in Figures 2 and 12), and the securement portion is surrounded by the head (intermediate portion 36 of connecting stud 30 is completely surrounded by the head 24 when assembled, Figures 2 and 12) and wherein the attachment member contacts and grips the head (the shoulder 38 of intermediate portion 36 of connecting stud 30 engages a lower surface of the lands 52, the lands 52 being a part of the tool head body 44, Col 5. Lines 50-55; therefore, the intermediate portion 36 engages with the head).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Li Fu-An’s device to include an attachment member entirely disposed within the handle and the head, as taught by Carmien, as this would provide an alternative means of securing the handle to the head, while also providing the user with an effective means of disassembling and reassembling the head from the handle, as required, such as when the head needs replacement or cleaning between use.
Although Carmien teaches an attachment member with a securement portion at a second end that contacts and grips the head via surface engagement (“the connecting stud flanges and the tool head lands have complementary surface contours which prevent rotation of the handle relative to the tool head”, Col. 3 lines 1-5), Carmien doesn’t explicitly state the securement portion having a rough surface.
However, Dart teaches a similar hammer configuration in which the tool head is removeable from the handle (Abstract and Figure 2) via an attachment member (coupling means 20, Figure 2) in which the securement portion has a rough surface (coupling means 20 in the form of conventional screw threads, engage with mating threads 22 in a bore within the hammer head 18, therefore contacting and gripping the head, Col. 2 lines 60-66; the Examiner notes that a conventional threaded surface would read on the limitation of a “rough surface”, as Paragraph 0027 of Applicant’s specification describes “rough surface” as being any “coarse, non-smooth texture surface”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Li Fu-An in view of Lyu and Carmien to include a rough surface on the securement portion of the attachment member, as taught by Dart, as providing a rough or textured surface at the junction of the attachment member and the head may aide in facilitating a firm attachment between the two components as a textured surface would increase the contact surface between the components.
Regarding claim 3, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne teach the device of claim 1, with Li Fu-An further teaching wherein the recess has a hemispherical shape (first end of hammer head body 1C terminates with a concave-bowl shaped suction head 1B, Figure 1 and Page 4).
Regarding claim 4, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne teach the device of claim 1, with Li Fu-An further teaching the head having a cylindrical shape (hammer head body 1C is a rotary body, Page 5 and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne teach the device of claim 1, with Li Fu-An further teaching wherein the second end of the head comprises a convex hemispherical shape (see other end of hammer head body 1C comprising a spherical striking head 1A, Page 4 and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne teach the device of claim 1, with Kinne further teaching wherein the outer surface of the metal cap comprises a knurled surface (see outer surface of cap having a knurled surface and/or raised projections, Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne teach the device of claim 1, with Kinne further teaching wherein the second end of the handle is tapered, in a direction away from the second end, with an increasing diameter (see Figure 1 showing handle 40 tapered on both ends, with the second end tapered away from the first end with increased diameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lu Fu-An’s device to have a tapered handle on both ends of the handle, as a tapered handle on both ends is a common hammer handle configuration well known in the art and may provide a more ergonomic gripping structure for the user.
Regarding claim 20, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne teach the device of claim 1, with Carmien further teaching wherein the second end of the attachment member is entirely disposed within the handle and the head and an entirety of the rough surface is surrounded by the head (intermediate portion 36 of connecting stud 30 is completely surrounded by the head 24 when assembled, Figures 2 and 12).
Regarding claim 21, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne teach the device of claim 1, with Carmien further teaching wherein a diameter of the second end of the attachment member is greater than a diameter of the first end of the attachment member (see intermediate portion 36 of connecting stud 30 having a larger diameter than end 34, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 22, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne teach the device of claim 1, with Carmien further teaching wherein the attachment member has a cylindrical transition portion between the first end and the second end, wherein the cylindrical transition section (the Examiner notes the 112b rejection presented above; Carmien’s intermediate portion 35 of connecting stud 30 is cylindrical, Figures 1-2).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Fu-An (CN 2179126Y) over Lyu (US 2012/0143081 A1) and in further view of Carmien (US 5,996,442), Dart (US 4,440,206), Kinne (4,831,901), and in further view of Meersteiner (US 2183243 A).
Regarding claim 19, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne teach the device of claim 1, and although Dart teaches a rough surface (coupling means 20 in the form of convention screw threads, engage with mating threads 22 in a bore within the hammer head 18, therefore contacting and gripping the head, Col. 2 lines 60-66; the Examiner notes that a conventional threaded surface would read on the limitation of a “rough surface”, as Paragraph 0027 of Applicant’s specification describes “rough surface” as being any “coarse, non-smooth texture surface”), Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne are silent wherein the rough surfaces comprises a plurality of pyramid projections.
However, Meersteiner teaches a fastening device (Figure 1) comprising a rough surface comprising a plurality of pyramid projections (teeth 1 are preferably pyramids, Col. 1 lines 42-45 and Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Carmien, Dart and Kinne by having the rough surface of the attachment member have pyramid projections, as opposed to a threaded surface, as taught by Meersteiner, as providing pyramid projections as opposed to a traditional threaded surface may further enhance the securement between the two components, as the pyramid projections provide engagement regardless of how the attachment member is inserted, whether by rotational or axial drive (Col. 1 lines 50-55 of Meersteiner).
Claims 9-14 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Fu-An (CN 2179126Y) over Lyu (US 2012/0143081 A1), Kinne (4,831,901) and in further view of Carmien (5,996,442).
Regarding claim 9, Li Fu-An teaches a device for treating sinus congestion (hammer-like device to be used for various forms of massaging the human body, Figure 1 and Page 6), the device comprising: a handle having a longitudinal axis extending from a first end to a second end (hammer rod 2 extending from hammer head to hammer tail, Figures 1, 2 and Page 5), the handle being tapered at the second end (second end of hammer rod 2 terminates in a truncated cone shape, Page 6 and Figure 4); the head having a longitudinal axis extending from a first end to a second end and being perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the handle (see longitudinal axis extending from first end to second end of hammer head body 1C indicated by the dashed line shown in Figure 1, being perpendicular to the axis of hammer rod 2, Figure 1), the first end of the head terminating with a concave recess (first end of hammer head body 1C terminates with a concave-bowl shaped suction head 1B, Figure 1 and Page 4); and a cap secured to the second end of the handle (sealing cap 3E fixed to end of hammer rod 2, Figure 2 and Page 4).
However, although Li Fu-An’s device teaches the handle being tapered on the second end (Figure 4), it is unclear whether or not the handle is tapered at the first end and at the second end, wherein the second end of the handle is tapered, in a direct away from the first end, with an increasing diameter.
However, Kinne teaches a hammer device in which both the first end and second end of the handle is tapered (see Figure 1 showing handle 40 tapered on both ends, with the second end tapered away from the first end with increased diameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lu Fu-An’s device to have a tapered handle on both ends of the handle, as a tapered handle on both ends is a common hammer handle configuration well known in the art and may provide a more ergonomic gripping structure for the user.
Additionally, although Li Fu-An’s device appears to join the handle to the head via a threaded connection disposed within the head (see Figure 1 in which first end of handle 2 is inserted into head an appears to have a threaded surface), Li Fu-An is silent on an attachment member having a securement portion surrounded by and embedded in the head and having a threaded shaft for removably securing the head to the handle wherein the threaded shaft extends into the handle such that the attachment member is configured to be entirely disposed within the handle and the head.
However, Carmien teaches a hand tool having an interchangeable and replaceable striking head (Abstract and Figure 1) via an attachment member having a threaded shaft at a first end and a securement portion at a second end (connecting stud 30 includes a lower threaded portion 34 and an intermediate body portion 36, Figure 1) wherein the threaded shaft extends into the handle such that the attachment member is configured to be entirely disposed within the handle and the head (lower portion 34 extends into handle 28 such that the entire connecting stud 30 is entirely disposed within the handle 28 and the head 24 when assembled as shown in Figures 2 and 12), and the securement portion is surrounded by and embedded in the head (intermediate portion 36 of connecting stud 30 is completely surrounded by the head 24 when assembled, Figures 2 and 12) and wherein the attachment member contacts and grips the head (the shoulder 38 of intermediate portion 36 of connecting stud 30 engages a lower surface of the lands 52, the lands 52 being a part of the tool head body 44, Col 5. Lines 50-55; therefore, the intermediate portion 36 engages with the head).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Li Fu-An’s device to include an attachment member entirely disposed within the handle and the head, as taught by Carmien, as this would provide an alternative means of securing the handle to the head, while also providing the user with an effective means of disassembling and reassembling the head from the handle, as required, such as when the head needs replacement or cleaning between use.
Additionally, although Li Fu-An discloses a cap secured to the second end of the handle, Li Fu-An does not specifically state the cap secured on the second end of the handle being a different material from the material of the head.
However, Lyu teaches a massaging device comprising both a head and handle (abstract and Figure 1) further comprising an extending protrusion on the second end of the handle (protrusion 5, Figure 1) that is made from metal (device is made from 99.9% pure silver, Paragraph 0029 and abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the cap of Li Fu-An’s device to be made from a different material than the head, such as silver, as taught by Lyu, as using a metal with a high electrical conductivity better promotes stimulation of various pressure pain points on the body (Paragraph 0012 of Lyu).
Regarding claim 10, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Kinne and Carmien teach the device of claim 9, with Lyu further teaching the cap being metal (whole device comprising end cap protrusion 5 is made from pure silver, abstract and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Kinne and Carmien teach the device of claim 10, with Li Fu-An further teaching the head comprising a rubber material (hammer head made from a flexible rubber material, Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Kinne and Carmien the device of claim 9, with Li Fu-An further teaching wherein the second end of the head comprises a convex hemispherical shape (see end of hammer head body 1C comprising a spherical striking head 1A, Page 4 and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Kinne and Carmien teach the device of claim 9, with Li Fu-An further teaching wherein the recess has a hemispherical shape (first end of hammer head body 1C terminates with a concave-bowl shaped suction head 1B, Figure 1 and Page 4).
Regarding claim 14, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Kinne and Carmien teach the device of claim 13, with Li Fu-An further teaching wherein the head has a cylindrical shape (hammer head body 1C is a rotary body, Page 5 and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 23, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Kinne and Carmien teach the device of claim 9, with Kinne further teaching wherein the outer surface of the cap comprises a knurled surface (see outer surface of cap having a knurled surface and/or raised projections, Figure 3).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Fu-An (CN 2179126Y) over Lyu (US 2012/0143081 A1), Kinne (4,831,901) and in further view of Weck (US 2017/0095689 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Li Fu-An teaches a device for treating sinus congestion (hammer-like device to be used for various forms of massaging the human body, Figure 1 and Page 6), the device comprising: a handle having a longitudinal axis extending from a first end to a second end (hammer rod 2 extending from hammer head to hammer tail, Figures 1, 2 and Page 5); a rubber head (hammer head made from a flexible rubber material, Abstract) the head having a longitudinal axis extending from a first end to a second end and being perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the handle (see longitudinal axis extending from first end to second end of hammer head body 1C indicated by the dashed line shown in Figure 1, being perpendicular to the axis of hammer rod 2, Figure 1), the first end of the head terminating with a concave recess (first end of hammer head body 1C terminates with a concave-bowl shaped suction head 1B, Figure 1 and Page 4) and the second end of the head forming a convex hemispherical shape (see other end of hammer head body 1C comprising a spherical striking head 1A, Page 4 and Figure 1); and a cap secured to the second end of the handle (sealing cap 3E fixed to end of hammer rod 2, Figure 2 and Page 4).
However, Li Fu-An is silent on the handle having a first and second threaded apertures, the head being removably secured at the first end of the handle, an attachment member having a securement portion at a first end and a threaded shaft at a second end opposite the first end of the attachment member for removably securing the head to the first threaded aperture of the handle, the second end of the securement portion embedded in and entirely surrounded by, the head, and wherein the securement portion has a diameter and the threaded shaft has a diameter that is smaller than the diameter of the securement portion; and a metal cap being secured to a second threaded aperture of the handle.
However, Weck discloses a massaging device (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a handle (handle 14, Paragraph 0070 and Figure 11) removably secured to a head (see head 16 removably secured to handle 14, Figure 11 and Paragraph 0070) wherein the first end of the handle comprises a threaded aperture (threaded orifice 66 of handle 14, Paragraph 0082 and Figure 11), further teaching an attachment member having a securement portion at a first end (see annotated Figure 11 below) and a threaded shaft at a second end opposite the first end (see threaded shaft 64, Figure 11) for removably securing the head to the first threaded aperture of the handle (threaded shaft 64 of attachment member allows for the head 16 to be removably secured to handle 14, Figure 11 and Paragraph 82) the second end of the securement portion embedded in and entirely surrounded by, the head (see 112b rejection above regarding this limitation, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to mean to portion of the securement portion that is connected to the head, as shown in Figure 11) wherein the securement portion has a diameter and the threaded shaft has a diameter that is smaller than the diameter of the securement portion (see annotated Figure 11 below, showing threaded shaft portion having a diameter smaller than the securement portion).
Annotated Figure 11
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Li Fu-An’s device by including an attachment member comprising a threaded shaft, to thereby engage with a first threaded aperture of the handle, to thereby allow the head to be removed from the handle, as taught by Weck, as such an arrangement would provide an alternative means of securing the handle to the head, while also providing the user with an effective means of disassembling and reassembling the head from the handle, as required, such as when the head needs replacement or cleaning between use.
Regarding the cap being secured to a second threaded aperture of the handle, Kinne teaches a hammer device (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a handle (handle 20, Figure 1) and a cap secured on the second end of the handle (cap 36 secured to second end of handle 20, Figure 3) wherein the cap includes a threaded shaft and is received in a threaded bore of the handle on a second end of the handle, such that rotation of the cap relative to the handle removes the cap from the handle (see threaded shaft 26 of cap 36, received into threaded bore 28 of handle 20, Figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the cap of Li Fu-An’s device by having the connection mechanism between the cap and the handle be a threaded shaft and bore connection, as taught by Kinne, as such a threaded connection between the cap and the handle would provide an alternative means of securing the two components together, allowing for easy removal and reinstallation when needed, such as when the device needs to be cleaned and/or the cap needs to be replaced.
Regarding the cap being metal, Lyu teaches a massaging device comprising both a head and handle (abstract and Figure 1) further comprising an extending protrusion on the second end of the handle (protrusion 5, Figure 1) that is made from metal (device is made from 99.9% pure silver, Paragraph 0029 and abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the cap of Li Fu-An’s device to be made from a different material than the head, such as silver, as taught by Lyu, as using a metal with a high electrical conductivity better promotes stimulation of various pressure pain points on the body (Paragraph 0012 of Lyu).
Regarding claim 16, Li Fu-An in view of Lyu, Kinne and Weck teach the device of claim 15, with Li Fu-An further teaching the handle being tapered (second end of hammer rod 2 terminates in a truncated cone shape, Page 6 and Figure 4).
Conclusion
/SARAH B LEDERER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785