DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 02/23/2026.
Claims 1-16, 18-27, and 29-42 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on February 23, 2026. Claims 41-42 have been amended. Claims 17 and 28 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-16, 18-27, and 29-42 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed February 23, 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues, at pages 13–15 of the Remarks, that XIAO et al. in view of Persson et al. fails to teach or suggest the limitation of:
“receiving, at the UE, a positioning reference signal (PRS) having parameters configured based on the capability information of the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE,” including parameters such as sequence, numerology, bandwidth, and precoding associated with the PRS, as recited in claim 1. Applicant further argues that the cited references fail to disclose that the “operating bandwidth” is configured based on at least one of the positioning requirement level or the capability information of the UE included in the positioning request from the UE. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
At the outset, the Examiner notes that the claims are interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) standard consistent with the specification as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. During examination, limitations are not interpreted narrowly or in a manner importing exemplary embodiments from the specification into the claims. See MPEP § 2111; see also KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., which explains that an obviousness analysis must account for the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.
Under the BRI standard, the claim language broadly recites PRS parameters configured “based on” capability information of the UE or based on a positioning requirement level. The phrase “based on” does not require that the capability information be the sole factor used in configuring the PRS parameters. Rather, the claim reasonably encompasses configurations where UE capability information contributes to, influences, or is considered in determining PRS parameters such as bandwidth, waveform configuration, numerology, or related transmission characteristics.
Further, the Examiner notes that claim 1 presents two alternative implementations. The claim language encompasses:
configuring PRS parameters based on capability information of the UE; or
configuring PRS parameters based on a positioning requirement level of the UE.
These alternatives are distinct embodiments within the scope of the claim and are interpreted separately under the BRI standard.
With respect to the first embodiment, namely configuration based on capability information of the UE, XIAO et al. discloses:
transmitting, from the UE, a positioning request (see page 10, lines 10–15, and Fig. 6, step S602, transmitting a first positioning request message by the UE);
wherein the positioning request includes capability information of the UE (see page 10, lines 10–15, wherein the positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information);
receiving, at the UE, a positioning reference signal (PRS) having parameters configured based on the capability information of the UE included in the positioning request (see page 32, line 35 through page 33, line 20, and Fig. 6, steps S601–S603, wherein the UE sends a measurement configuration request message to a local area network node, and the request includes location-related information associated with short-range wireless communication capability information included in the positioning request message).
Additionally, XIAO discloses at page 2, lines 10–15, acquisition of wireless communication support capability information and radio frequency pattern recognition (RFPM) information associated with the UE for short-range wireless communication. Under the BRI standard, such disclosed wireless communication capability information reasonably corresponds to claimed UE capability information used in configuring positioning-related signals and measurements.
Moreover, XIAO discloses that the PRS indicates information related to performing at least one of:
the UE positioning (see page 4, lines 1–10, determining first location information of the UE; additionally, see page 47, lines 1–30, wherein a location server sends a capability request message and a first location request message associated with short-range wireless communication support capability information of the UE);
ranging (see page 48, lines 1–5, positioning request messages to local area network nodes corresponding to the first short-range wireless communication); and
UE velocity determination by the UE.
Further, XIAO discloses parameters configured for positioning measurements based on UE capability information (see page 6, lines 1–37, disclosing radio frequency pattern parameters, UE location-related parameters, and capability providing messages used for positioning measurements).
With respect to the additionally-recited PRS parameter characteristics, Persson et al. discloses parameters including sequence, numerology, bandwidth, and PRS transmission characteristics associated with positioning reference signals.
In particular, Persson discloses: “Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an operating bandwidth around sub-carrier” (see paragraph [0017]);
and further discloses:
“PRS transmissions within the operating bandwidth of approximately 1.4 MHz” (see paragraph [0023]).
Under the BRI standard, the claimed “bandwidth associated with the PRS” reasonably encompasses the operating bandwidth disclosed by Persson. The claims do not require a specific proprietary configuration procedure or explicit wording that the bandwidth is “solely” determined by UE capability information. Rather, the claims broadly require PRS parameters configured based on UE capability information, which is reasonably met by Persson’s disclosure of PRS operating bandwidth selection and transmission characteristics in conjunction with XIAO’s disclosure of UE support capability information and positioning request signaling.
Additionally, Applicant’s own specification at paragraph [0080] states that:
“the base station may configure the parameters by selecting one or more of the parameters for the NR-PRS to accommodate the positioning requirement of the at least one device and/or based on the capability information (e.g., supported bandwidth/frequencies, power limitations and such factors) of the at least one device.”
Thus, Applicant’s specification itself broadly describes capability information as including supported bandwidth, frequencies, and power limitations. Persson similarly discloses PRS transmission bandwidth selection and PRS transmission timing associated with operating constraints and device-specific PRS transmissions. Therefore, under the BRI standard, Persson’s disclosure reasonably corresponds to configuring PRS parameters based on UE capability information, including bandwidth and transmission-related operational limitations.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of XIAO and Persson to improve positioning signal configuration based on UE communication capabilities and PRS operating bandwidth considerations in order to optimize positioning performance, transmission efficiency, and signal reception reliability. Such a combination merely applies known PRS bandwidth and transmission parameter techniques to XIAO’s positioning framework using predictable results, consistent with the rationale articulated in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.. Accordingly, the combination of XIAO and Persson teaches or at least suggests the disputed limitations of claim 1 under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 41 and 42 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 11, 15-16, 27, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO et al. (International Patent Application Publication No. WO 2015010282 A1), Machine translation, (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Persson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160291128), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) ([see, page 2, lines 5-10, a method, a device and a system for positioning a user equipment]), comprising:
transmitting, from the UE, a positioning request ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, transmitting, by the UE, a first positioning request message]),
wherein the positioning request includes at least one of capability information of the UE ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, the positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information]), or the capability information of the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, wherein transmitting, by the UE, a first positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information]),
the capability information of the UE …include one or more of: the capability information of the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, wherein transmitting, by the UE, a first positioning request message, the positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: receiving, at the UE, a positioning reference signal (PRS) having parameters configured based on at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE; a positioning requirement level from among a set of different positioning requirement levels; wherein the parameters configured for the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE; the capability information of the UE …include one or more of:
a numerology associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE or
a bandwidth associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE or
a precoding associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE;
wherein the PRS indicates information related to performing at least one of UE positioning, ranging, or a UE velocity determination by the UE.
However, D2 discloses receiving, at the UE, a positioning reference signal (PRS) ([see, [0007, 0017], transmitting, from the base stations, Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE]) having parameters (operating bandwidth accuracy) configured based on at least one of the positioning requirement level ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]);
a positioning requirement level from among a set of different positioning requirement levels ([see, [0008, 0017, 0054-0056], an operating bandwidth requirement based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation from among with a bandwidth in the range of 10 MHz or 20 MHz]);
wherein the parameters (operating bandwidth) configured for the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an parameters of the UE that operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]);
the capability information of the UE …include one or more of:
a numerology associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an parameters of the UE that operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]); or
a bandwidth associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE or
a precoding associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE;
wherein the PRS indicates information related to performing at least one of UE positioning, ranging, or a UE velocity determination by the UE ([see, [0008, 0017, 0054-0056], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE, indicates information related to performing of UE positioning, such as an operating bandwidth requirement based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation from among with a bandwidth in the range of 10 MHz or 20 MHz]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for partial power boosting at the base stations based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation results improving UE positioning accuracy and, specifically positioning accuracy of Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (D2, ¶ [0001]).
As per Claim 11, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication ([see, page 16, the user equipment UE Requesting positioning information]), comprising:
memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory ([see, page 16, a memory, and a processor]) and configured to:
transmit, from the UE, a positioning request ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, transmitting, by the UE, a first positioning request message]),
wherein the positioning request includes at least one of capability information of the UE ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, the positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information]), or
the capability information of the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, wherein transmitting, by the UE, a first positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information]), the capability information of the UE …include one or more of: the capability information of the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, wherein transmitting, by the UE, a first positioning request message, the positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: receiving, at the UE, a positioning reference signal (PRS) having parameters configured based on at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE; a positioning requirement level from among a set of different positioning requirement levels; wherein the parameters configured for the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE; the capability information of the UE …include one or more of:
a numerology associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE or
a bandwidth associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE or
a precoding associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE;
wherein the PRS indicates information related to performing at least one of UE positioning, ranging, or a UE velocity determination by the UE.
However, D2 discloses receiving, at the UE, a positioning reference signal (PRS) ([see, [0007, 0017], transmitting, from the base stations, Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE]) having parameters (operating bandwidth accuracy) configured based on at least one of the positioning requirement level ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]);
a positioning requirement level from among a set of different positioning requirement levels ([see, [0008, 0017, 0054-0056], an operating bandwidth requirement based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation from among with a bandwidth in the range of 10 MHz or 20 MHz]);
wherein the parameters (operating bandwidth) configured for the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an parameters of the UE that operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]);
the capability information of the UE …include one or more of:
a numerology associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an parameters of the UE that operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]); or
a bandwidth associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE or
a precoding associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE;
wherein the PRS indicates information related to performing at least one of UE positioning, ranging, or a UE velocity determination by the UE ([see, [0008, 0017, 0054-0056], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE, indicates information related to performing of UE positioning, such as an operating bandwidth requirement based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation from among with a bandwidth in the range of 10 MHz or 20 MHz]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for partial power boosting at the base stations based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation results improving UE positioning accuracy and, specifically positioning accuracy of Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (D2, ¶ [0001]).
As per Claims 2, 16, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the positioning requirement indicates at least one of a positioning accuracy, a ranging accuracy, and a velocity determination support ([see, [0008, 0017, 0054-0056], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE, indicates information related to performing of UE positioning, such as an operating bandwidth requirement based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation from among with a bandwidth in the range of 10 MHz or 20 MHz]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for partial power boosting at the base stations based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation results improving UE positioning accuracy and, specifically positioning accuracy of Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (D2, ¶ [0001]).
As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses further comprising: performing at least one of UE positioning, the ranging, or the UE velocity determination using the PRS received by the UE ([see, [0008, 0017, 0054-0056], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE, indicates information related to performing of UE positioning, such as an operating bandwidth requirement based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation from among with a bandwidth in the range of 10 MHz or 20 MHz]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for partial power boosting at the base stations based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation results improving UE positioning accuracy and, specifically positioning accuracy of Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (D2, ¶ [0001]).
As per Claim 27, D1 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory ([see, page 16, a memory, and a processor]) and
configured to:
receive, from at least one device that requests to perform a positioning operation ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, transmitting, by the UE, a first positioning request message]), a positioning request, wherein the positioning request includes at least one of capability information of the at least one device that requests to perform the positioning operation ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, the positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information]), or
the capability information that was included in the positioning request from the at least one device ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, wherein transmitting, by the UE, a first positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information]),
the capability information of the at least one device included in the positioning request from the at least one device includes configuring one or more of:
a sequence associated with a Cyclic-Prefix Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform type of the PRS based on the capability information of the at least one device that was included in the positioning request ([see, page 10, lines 10-15, wherein transmitting, by the UE, a first positioning request message, the positioning request message includes wireless communication support capability information]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: a positioning requirement level from among a set of different positioning requirement levels; configure parameters associated with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based on at least one of the positioning requirement level; wherein configuring the parameters based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level of the at least one device or at least one of the positioning requirement level of the at least one device or the capability information of the UE …include one or more of:
a numerology associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level of the at least one device or the capability information of the at least one device, wherein the numerology corresponds to a subcarrier spacing of a frame structure that was included in the positioning request,
a bandwidth associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level of the at least one device or the capability information of the at least one device that was included in the positioning request, or a precoding associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level of the at least one device or the capability information of the at least one device that was included in the positioning request,
wherein the PRS indicates information related to at least one of UE positioning, ranging, or a UE velocity determination; and transmit the PRS having the parameters.
However, D2 discloses a positioning requirement level from among a set of different positioning requirement levels ([see, [0007, 0017], transmitting, from the base stations, Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE]); configure parameters (operating bandwidth accuracy) associated with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based on at least one of the positioning requirement level ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]); wherein configuring the parameters based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level of the at least one device or at least one of the positioning requirement level of the at least one device ([see, [0008, 0017, 0054-0056], an operating bandwidth requirement based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation from among with a bandwidth in the range of 10 MHz or 20 MHz]); or
the capability information of the UE …include one or more of:
a numerology associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an parameters of the UE that operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]); or
a bandwidth associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE or
a precoding associated with the PRS based on the at least one of the positioning requirement level for the UE;
wherein the PRS indicates information related to performing at least one of UE positioning, ranging, or a UE velocity determination by the UE ([see, [0008, 0017, 0054-0056], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE, indicates information related to performing of UE positioning, such as an operating bandwidth requirement based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation from among with a bandwidth in the range of 10 MHz or 20 MHz]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for partial power boosting at the base stations based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation results improving UE positioning accuracy and, specifically positioning accuracy of Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (D2, ¶ [0001]).
As per Claim 15, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 27 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 27. Claim 15 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 27.
As per Claim 38, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the numerology associated the PRS, wherein the numerology for the PRS is configured based on the capability information of the UE ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an parameters of the UE that operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for partial power boosting at the base stations based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation results improving UE positioning accuracy and, specifically positioning accuracy of Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (D2, ¶ [0001]).
As per Claim 39, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the bandwidth associated with the PRS, wherein the bandwidth is configured based on the positioning requirement of the UE ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an parameters of the UE that operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for partial power boosting at the base stations based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation results improving UE positioning accuracy and, specifically positioning accuracy of Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (D2, ¶ [0001]).
As per Claim 40, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the bandwidth associated the PRS, wherein the bandwidth is configured based on the capability information of the UE ([see, 0017-0019], Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmissions that are received by UE listening for PRS transmissions within an parameters of the UE that operating bandwidth based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for partial power boosting at the base stations based on determining that the accuracy of the positioning estimation results improving UE positioning accuracy and, specifically positioning accuracy of Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (D2, ¶ [0001]).
Claims 3, 9, 12, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of XIAO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0349582 A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 3, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein each positioning requirement level in the set of different positioning requirement levels indicates corresponding parameters associated with at least one of a ranging accuracy, velocity determination support, and a bandwidth.
However, D3 discloses wherein each positioning requirement level in the set of different positioning requirement levels indicates corresponding parameters associated with at least one of a ranging accuracy, velocity determination support, and a bandwidth ([see, e.g., wherein a positioning reference signal (PRS), select appropriate PRS configuration information according to the actual velocity level from the velocity level at which a UE is moving, such as divided into three levels of high, medium and low (corresponding to set of different positioning requirement), [0022, 0047-0048]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide selecting the information of a positioning reference signal PRS results effectively improve the positioning accuracy of the user equipment (D3, ¶ [0008]).
As per Claims 9, 23, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the UE is one of a plurality of internet of things (IoT) devices in a cell served by a base station, the method further comprising:
receiving, from the base station, configuration information indicating the parameters for the PRS common to the plurality of IoT devices.
However, D3 further discloses wherein the UE is one of a plurality of internet of things (IoT) devices in a cell served by a base station ([see, e.g., the location server may request an eNB to report the velocity estimate of the UE, [0047], and Fig. 1]), the method further comprising:
receiving, from the base station, configuration information indicating the parameters for the PRS common to the plurality of IoT devices ([see, e.g., receive an LPPa signaling response sent by the eNB, the LPPa signaling response including an identification for the UE to be positioned and the velocity estimate of the UE [0047], and Fig. 1]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide selecting the information of a positioning reference signal PRS results effectively improve the positioning accuracy of the user equipment (D3, ¶ [0008]).
As per Claim 12, D1 and D2 disclose the UE of claim 11, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein each positioning requirement level in the set of different positioning requirement levels indicates corresponding parameters associated with at least one of a ranging accuracy, velocity determination support, and a bandwidth.
However, D3 discloses wherein each positioning requirement level in the set of different positioning requirement levels indicates corresponding parameters associated with at least one of a ranging accuracy, velocity determination support, and a bandwidth ([see, e.g., wherein a positioning reference signal (PRS), select appropriate PRS configuration information according to the actual velocity level from the velocity level at which a UE is moving, such as divided into three levels of high, medium and low (corresponding to set of different positioning requirement), [0022, 0047-0048]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide selecting the information of a positioning reference signal PRS results effectively improve the positioning accuracy of the user equipment (D3, ¶ [0008]).
Claims 5, 14, 18, 29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of EDGE (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0296359), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 5, 18, D1 further discloses wherein the capability information indicates an operating bandwidth supported by the UE ([see, e.g., capability information of the to-be-positioned UE according to the identifier of the UE, [0374-0379], and Fig. 7]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the parameters for the PRS include the bandwidth associated with the PRS, and wherein the bandwidth is configured based on the operating bandwidth supported by the UE.
However, D4 discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the bandwidth associated with the PRS, and wherein the bandwidth is configured based on the operating bandwidth supported by the UE ([see, [0079, 0102, 105], wherein the parameters defining a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmitted by each eNB, the parameters comprising the bandwidth (BW) corresponding to the PRS bandwidth parameter, and the PRS bandwidth based on the operating bandwidth disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide PRS bandwidth results improve location accuracy for a UE that is indoors (D4, ¶ [0011]).
As per Claims 14, 29, D1 further discloses wherein the capability information indicates an operating bandwidth supported by the UE ([see, e.g., capability information of the to-be-positioned UE according to the identifier of the UE, [0374-0379], and Fig. 7]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the parameters for the PRS include the bandwidth associated with the PRS, and wherein the bandwidth is configured based on the operating bandwidth supported by the UE.
However, D4 discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the bandwidth associated with the PRS, and wherein the bandwidth is configured based on the operating bandwidth supported by the UE ([see, [0079, 0102, 105], wherein the parameters defining a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmitted by each eNB, the parameters comprising the bandwidth (BW) corresponding to the PRS bandwidth parameter, and the PRS bandwidth based on the operating bandwidth disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide PRS bandwidth results improve location accuracy for a UE that is indoors (D4, ¶ [0011]).
As per Claims 31, 32, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the parameters configured for the PRS further include a periodicity associated with the PRS.
However, D4 discloses wherein the parameters configured for the PRS further include a periodicity associated with the PRS ([see, [0089], the PRS signal comprising a periodicity for the PRS signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide PRS bandwidth results improve location accuracy for a UE that is indoors (D4, ¶ [0011]).
As per Claims 33, 34, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the parameters configured for the PRS further include a periodicity associated with the PRS.
However, D4 discloses wherein the parameters configured for the PRS further include a periodicity associated with the PRS ([see, [0089], the PRS signal comprising a periodicity for the PRS signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide PRS bandwidth results improve location accuracy for a UE that is indoors (D4, ¶ [0011]).
Claims 19, 25-26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of MODARRES RAZAVI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0045667), (“D5”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 19, 30, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 15, and
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein configuring the parameters comprises selecting the parameters for the PRS based on the positioning requirement and capability information of the at least one device;
However, D5 discloses wherein configuring the parameters comprises selecting the parameters for the PRS based on the positioning requirement and capability information of the at least one device ([see, e.g., UEs should aggregate the DL reference signal (e.g., PRS) includes parameter based on their bandwidth, [0153], and Fig. 3]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide selecting the parameters for the PRS results improve the network coverage, long battery life, low complexity communication design, and network capacity that is sufficient for supporting a massive number of devices (D5, ¶ [0002]).
As per Claim 25, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 15, and
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the at least one device comprises a narrow bandwidth internet of things (IoT) device; and
wherein configuring the parameters associated with the PRS further comprises configuring a muting pattern for the PRS to reduce inter-cell interference.
However, D5 discloses wherein the at least one device comprises a narrow bandwidth internet of things (IoT) device ([see, e.g., the UE capability related to OTDOA positioning with NB-IoT, abstract, [0085, 0123], and Fig. 3]), and
wherein configuring the parameters associated with the PRS further comprises configuring a muting pattern for the PRS to reduce inter-cell interference ([see, e.g., configuration parameters may be introduced alterations and permutations, [0160, 0240]]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide selecting the parameters for the PRS results improve the network coverage, long battery life, low complexity communication design, and network capacity that is sufficient for supporting a massive number of devices (D5, ¶ [0002]).
As per Claim 26, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 15, and
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the at least one device comprises a wide bandwidth internet of things (IoT) device, and wherein configuring the parameters associated with the PRS further comprises configuring a frequency hopping pattern for the PRS.
However, D5 discloses wherein the at least one device comprises a wide bandwidth internet of things (IoT) device, and wherein configuring the parameters associated with the PRS further comprises configuring a frequency hopping pattern for the PRS ([see, e.g., network node 115 sends a positioning request that requests the wireless device 110 to provide information about the capability of the wireless device that relates to OTDOA positioning with NB-IoT or MTC, capability information include one or more of bandwidth, sampling rate, support for inter-frequency measurements, [0200-0205], and Fig. 12]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide selecting the parameters for the PRS results improve the network coverage, long battery life, low complexity communication design, and network capacity that is sufficient for supporting a massive number of devices (D5, ¶ [0002]).
Claims 4, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0111880), (“D6”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 4, 13, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the positioning requirement level is quantized and indicated via a bitmap, wherein the bitmap is transmitted in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or communicated as a group index in a scheduling request.
However, D6 discloses wherein the positioning requirement level is quantized and indicated via a bitmap ([see, e.g., the positioning reference signal transmitting subframe information that expressed in bitmap, [0017], and Fig. 5]), wherein the bitmap is transmitted in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or communicated as a group index in a scheduling request ([see, e.g., a bit number of usable PDCCH, [0017, 0062, 0271], and Fig. 5]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measurement operation results improve the measurement accuracy of the terminal to be effective to control a network overhead problem by the RS transmission (D5, ¶ [0243]).
Claims 7, 8, 10, 20-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of HAN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0043887), (“D7”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 7, 20, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the waveform type of the PRS received by the UE comprises a Cyclic-Prefix Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform.
However, D7 discloses wherein the waveform type of the PRS received by the UE comprises a Cyclic-Prefix Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform ([see, e.g., receive PRSs from a plurality of cells in the positioning subframe, wherein the PRS, includes the length of a CP of OFDM symbols within the positioning subframe, [0020, 0086-0088], and Fig. 11]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D7. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide performance of channel estimation results improve the efficiency of data transmission and reception using multiple transmission antennas and multiple reception antennas (D5, ¶ [0007-0008]).
As per Claims 8, 21, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the CP-OFDM waveform of the PRS received by the UE comprises one of: a discrete linear frequency modulation sequence having a configurable slope and initial frequency, a multi-carrier phase coded constant amplitude zero autocorrelation (CAZAC) sequence, a concatenation of chirp sequences in at least one of a time domain and a frequency domain, a frequency multiplexed sequence of complementary waveforms, or a pair of complementary Golay sequences.
However, D7 discloses wherein the CP-OFDM waveform of the PRS received by the UE comprises one of:
a multi-carrier phase coded constant amplitude zero autocorrelation (CAZAC) sequence ([see, e.g., a Constant Amplitude Zero Auto-Correlation (CAZAC) sequence can be used as the reference signal sequence, [0062], and Fig. 6]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D7. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide performance of channel estimation results improve the efficiency of data transmission and reception using multiple transmission antennas and multiple reception antennas (D7, ¶ [0007-0008]).
As per Claims 10, 24, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and a grant for the PDSCH carrying the configuration information is received in a group common physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
However, D7 discloses wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([see, e.g., the positioning subframe configuration information and the type configuration of each downlink subframe may be transmitted to the UE, the downlink subframe configuration information may be transmitted through an radio resource control (RRC) message, [0082], and Fig. 11]), and
a grant for the PDSCH carrying the configuration information is received in a group common physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([see, e.g., the downlink subframe, (corresponding to PDCCH and PDSCH), includes the configuration information may be transmitted through a radio resource control (RRC) message, [0082], and Fig. 11]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D7. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide performance of channel estimation results improve the efficiency of data transmission and reception using multiple transmission antennas and multiple reception antennas (D7, ¶ [0007-0008]).
As per Claim 22, D1, D2 and D7 discloses the method of claim 21, and D7 further discloses wherein selecting the parameters for the PRS comprises selecting a configuration of the CP-OFDM waveform and a sequence carried by the CP-OFDM waveform ([see, e.g., receive PRSs from a plurality of cells in the positioning subframe, wherein the PRS, includes the length of a CP of OFDM symbols within the positioning subframe, [0020, 0086-0088], and Fig. 11]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D7. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide performance of channel estimation results improve the efficiency of data transmission and reception using multiple transmission antennas and multiple reception antennas (D7, ¶ [0007-0008]).
Claims 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of KIM et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200041604), (“D8”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 35, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the parameters for the PRS include the sequence associated with the CP-OFDM waveform type of the PRS, wherein the sequence associated with the CP-OFDM waveform type is configured based on the positioning requirement of the UE.
However, D8 further discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the sequence associated with the CP-OFDM waveform type of the PRS, wherein the sequence associated with the CP-OFDM waveform type is configured based on the positioning requirement of the UE ([see, [0104-0106], sequence for the PRS is generated by initializing a pseudo-random sequence generator for every OFDM symbol using a function of a slot index, such as cyclic prefix (CP)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D8. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide estimate the position results improve the positioning accuracy (D8, ¶ [0141]).
As per Claim 36, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the parameters for the PRS include the sequence associated with the CP-OFDM waveform type of the PRS, wherein the sequence associated with the CP-OFDM waveform type is configured based on the capability information of the UE.
However, D8 further discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the sequence associated with the CP-OFDM waveform type of the PRS, wherein the sequence associated with the CP-OFDM waveform type is configured based on the capability information of the UE ([see, [0104-0106], sequence for the PRS is generated by initializing a pseudo-random sequence generator for every OFDM symbol using a function of a slot index, such as cyclic prefix (CP)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D8. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide estimate the position results improve the positioning accuracy (D8, ¶ [0141]).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Siomina et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0092737A1), (“D9”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 37, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the parameters for the PRS include the numerology associated with the PRS, wherein the numerology is configured based on the positioning requirement of the UE.
However, D9 discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the numerology associated with the PRS, wherein the numerology is configured based on the positioning requirement of the UE ([see, [0085], one or more configuration parameters of the radio signals transmitted associate with the UE for positioning measurements (e.g., PRS configuration), the UE for positioning measurements configure with a numerology configuration (e.g., CP length, subcarrier spacing, slot length, mini slot length, symbol length, etc.) associated with a carrier frequency]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D9, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D9. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide positioning reference signal configuration information results improve the data rate, capacity, quality, latency and/or power consumption for the network (D9, ¶ [0107]).
Claims 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Gunnarsson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200236644 A1), (“D10”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 41, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the parameters for the PRS include the precoding associated with the PRS, wherein the precoding associated with the PRS is configured based on the positioning requirement level for the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE.
However, D10 discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the precoding associated with the PRS ([see, [0048], The PRS configurations of the two or more PRS configurations may be characterized by parameters, such as different bandwidths, different number of subframes, different number of additional PRS occasions, and/or frequency hopping]), wherein the precoding associated with the PRS ([see, [0065], pre-configured PRS configurations through network signaling]) is configured based on the positioning requirement level for the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE ([see, [0044, 0056], number of positioning request from wireless devices with certain different bandwidth capabilities and a positioning related process such as estimating the position of the wireless device 10, or determining the relevance of configuring two or more PRS configurations]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D10, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D10. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide positioning request from the UE results improved coverage, long battery life, low complexity communication design, and with a network capacity that is sufficient for supporting a massive number of devices (D10, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 42, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the parameters for the PRS include the precoding associated the PRS, wherein the precoding associated with the PRS is configured based on the capability information of the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE. .
However, D10 discloses wherein the parameters for the PRS include the precoding associated the PRS ([see, [0048], The PRS configurations of the two or more PRS configurations may be characterized by parameters, such as different bandwidths, different number of subframes, different number of additional PRS occasions, and/or frequency hopping]), wherein the precoding associated with the PRS ([see, [0065], pre-configured PRS configurations through network signaling]) based on the capability information of the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE that was included in the positioning request from the UE ([see, [0056], number of positioning request from wireless devices with certain different bandwidth capabilities and that may suggest the benefit of having PRS configuration with those bandwidths and enabling the multiple PRS configuration feature for that particular network node]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D10, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D10. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide positioning request from the UE results improved coverage, long battery life, low complexity communication design, and with a network capacity that is sufficient for supporting a massive number of devices (D10, ¶ [0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418