DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 56-67 are pending. New claims 68-78 have been added. Claims 1-55 were previously canceled.
Claim Objections
Claims 77 and 78 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 of claim 77, “inputs” should be changed to --input--, and in line 2 of claim 78, the “T” at the end of the line should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 56-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In accordance with MPEP 2106.04, each of Claims 56-77 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1 per MPEP 2106.04(a)
Each of Claims 56-77 recites at least one step or instruction for determining the risk of a wildfire to a structure, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) or a certain method of organizing human activity in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The recited limitations involve using a control system having a processor and an algorithm, which performs calculations to determine a “risk” for the structure, wherein the control system transmits a signal comprising the defined risk, which involves mitigating risk (i.e., determining the risk of a wildfire damaging or destroying property).
Accordingly, each of Claims 56-77 recites an abstract idea.
Independent claim 56 recites a method of protecting a structure from wildfires, the structure having a wildfire suppression system configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from wildfires, the method comprising:
a) a control system comprising a processor, and an algorithm (additional element);
b) the processor, based upon the algorithm (additional element), conducting calculations, based upon a plurality of factors, to determine a defined risk for the structure, and thereby provide the defined risk (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
c) the processor (additional element) determining that the structure is threatened by a wildfire, based upon using the algorithm to conduct calculations based upon the defined risk (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
d) whereby the determination that the structure is threatened by the wildfire is based upon the defined risk provided by the processor (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
e) the control system then transmitting a signal to a device at a location remote from the wildfire suppression system; wherein the signal comprises the defined risk (additional element); thereby defining a transmitted defined risk (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));and
f) based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk, activating the wildfire suppression system from the device at the location remote from the wildfire suppression system (involves mitigating the risk of damage/loss of property, a fundamental economic practice and/or involves managing interactions between people, namely, humans following rules, either of which is grouped as a method of organizing human activity in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) and/or an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) based on paragraph [0089] of Applicant’s specification where “activating the wildlife suppression system” includes cell phone input).
Independent Claim 68 recites a method of protecting a structure from wildfires, the structure having a wildfire suppression system configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from wildfires, the method comprising:
a) a control system, the control system comprising a processor and an algorithm; (additional element);
b) the control system (additional element), conducting calculations, based upon a plurality of factors, to determine a defined risk for the structure, and thereby provide the defined risk (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
c) the control system (additional element), based at least in part upon the defined risk, determining that the structure is threatened by a wildfire; (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
d) the control system then transmitting a signal to a device at a location remote from the wildfire suppression system; wherein the signal comprises the defined risk, the determination that the structure is threatened by the wildfire, or both (additional element); thereby defining a transmitted defined risk (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));and
f) based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk, activating the wildfire suppression system (involves mitigating the risk of damage/loss of property, a fundamental economic practice and/or involves managing interactions between people, namely, humans following rules, either of which is grouped as a method of organizing human activity in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) and/or an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) based on paragraph [0089] of Applicant’s specification where “activating the wildlife suppression system” includes cell phone input).
Independent Claim 75 recites a method of protecting a structure from wildfires, the structure having a wildfire suppression system configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from wildfires, the method comprising:
a) a control system comprising a processor, and an algorithm (additional element);
b) the processor, based upon the algorithm (additional element), conducting calculations, based upon a plurality of factors, to determine a defined risk for the structure, and thereby provide the defined risk (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
c) the processor (additional element) determining that the structure is threatened by a wildfire, based at least in part upon using the algorithm to conduct calculations based upon the defined risk (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
d) whereby the determination that the structure is threatened by the wildfire is based upon the defined risk provided by the processor (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
e) the control system then transmitting a signal to a device at a location remote from the wildfire suppression system; wherein the signal comprises the defined risk, the determination that the structure is threatened by the wildfire, or both (additional element); thereby defining a transmitted defined risk (involves an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));and
f) based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk, activating the wildfire suppression system (involves mitigating the risk of damage/loss of property, a fundamental economic practice and/or involves managing interactions between people, namely, humans following rules, either of which is grouped as a method of organizing human activity in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) and/or an evaluation or judgement, which is an abstract idea grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) based on paragraph [0089] of Applicant’s specification where “activating the wildlife suppression system” includes cell phone input).
Further, dependent Claims 57-67, 69-74, 76 and 77 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the claimed functions/steps are performed.
Accordingly, as indicated above, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract idea as in MPEP 2106.04(a).
Step 2A, Prong 2 per MPEP 2106.04(d)
The above-identified abstract ideas in each of independent Claims 56, 68, and 75 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d) because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claims 56, 68, and 75), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use according to MPEP 2106.05(h) or represent insignificant extra-solution activity according to MPEP 2106.05(g). Specifically, the additional element of a control system transmitting a signal comprising the defined risk to a device at a location remote from the wildfire suppression system is insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., sending data). Further, the additional elements of: “a control system comprising a processor, and an algorithm” are generically recited computer elements in independent Claims 56, 68, and 75 which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a). Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine according to MPEP 2106.05(b), effect a transformation according to MPEP 2106.05(c), provide a particular treatment or prophylaxis according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e). Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer in accordance with MPEP 2106.05(f). For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 56, 68, and 75 is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d).
Moreover, the above-identified abstract ideas are not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed method and system merely implement the above-identified abstract ideas (e.g., mental process and certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., a control system comprising a processor, and an algorithm and a device as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer according to MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims according to MPEP 2106.05(a). That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 56, 68, and 75 is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Accordingly, independent Claims 56, 68, and 75 (and their respective dependent claims 57-67, 69-74, 76 and 77) are each directed to an abstract idea according to MPEP 2106.04(d).
Step 2B per MPEP 2106.05
None of Claims 56-77 includes additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea in accordance with MPEP 2106.05 for at least the following reasons.
These claims require the additional elements of: “a control system comprising a processor, and an algorithm” and “the control system transmitting a signal comprising the defined risk to a device at a location remote from the wildfire suppression system.”
The above-identified additional elements of “a control system comprising a processor, and an algorithm” are generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. Additionally, the above-identified additional element of “the control system transmitting a signal comprising the defined risk to a device at a location remote from the wildfire suppression system” is nothing more than receiving or transmitting data over a network. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) along with Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Per Applicant’s specification, paragraphs 125-128 and figure 4 describe the “control system comprising a processor” as a generic “computer device” which may include additional generic components and peripheral devices. Specifically, Applicant’s specification discloses
[00125] FIG. 11 is a diagram of an example computer (e.g., processing) device 1104 (which may be incorporated near and/or within the control system 16 and/or near and/or within the remote activation/access 76) wherein one or more of the devices, methods, and/or systems disclosed herein may be implemented, at least in part. In FIG. 11, the computer device 1104 may include one or more of: a processor 1132, a transceiver 1112, a transmit/receive element (e.g., antenna) 1114, a speaker 1116, a microphone 1118, an audio interface (e.g., earphone interface and/or audio cable receptacle) 1120, a keypad/keyboard 1122, one or more input/output devices 1124, a display/touchpad/touch screen 1126, one or more sensor devices 1128,Global Positioning System (GPS)/location circuitry 1130, a network interface 1134, a video interface 1136, a Universal Serial Bus (USB) Interface 1138, an optical interface 1140, a wireless interface 1142, in-place (e.g., non-removable) memory 1144,removable memory 1146, an in-place (e.g., removable or non-removable) power source 1148, and/or a power interface 1150 (e.g., power/data cable receptacle). The computing device 1104 may include one or more, or any sub-combination, of the aforementioned elements.
[00126] The computing device 1104 may take the form of a laptop computer, a desktop computer, one or more circuit boards, a computer mainframe, a server, a terminal, a tablet, a smartphone, and/or a cloud-based computing device (e.g., at least partially), and/or the like.
[00127] The processor 1132 may be a general-purpose processor, a special-purpose processor, a conventional processor, a digital-signal processor (DSP), a plurality of microprocessors, one or more microprocessors in association with a DSP core, a controller, a microcontroller, one or more Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), one or more Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGAs) circuits, any other type of integrated circuit (IC), and/or a finite-state machine, and/or the like. The processor 1132 may perform signal coding, data processing, power control, sensor control, interface control, video control, audio control, input/output processing, and/or any other functionality that enables the computing device 1104 to serve as and/or perform as (e.g., at least partially) one or more of the devices, methods, and/or systems disclosed herein.
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed term “a control system comprising a processor, and an algorithm” is reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available technology, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe in detail any special programming or algorithm required for the “ control system comprising a processor”. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)(2) and 2106.07(a)(III)). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications along with MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in 56, 68, and 75 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f) along with Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(a) along with McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, per MPEP 2106.05(a), the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the methods of Claims 56, 68, and 75 (and their respective dependent claims) are directed to applying an abstract idea as identified above on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself or providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field according to MPEP 2106.05(a), or (ii) providing meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e).
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent Claims 56, 68, and 75 (and their respective dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as whole, the above-identified additional elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e). Moreover, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity according to MPEP 2106.05(g). As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application as required by MPEP 2106.05.
Therefore, for at least the above reasons, none of the Claims 56-77 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, Claims 56-77 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 56-67, 75, and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation “the processor…conducting calculations…to determine a defined risk…and provide a defined risk” in lines 6-7 of claim 56 and lines 5-6 of claim 75 is not supported by the as-filed application. The Specification is devoid of any description that the processor conducts calculations to determine the defined risk and then provides the defined risk.
The as-filed Specification explicitly describes the processor having the following capabilities: sending and receiving data, receiving user input data and sending output data, receiving data stored on a memory and writing data to a memory, receiving specific data from an external device (e.g., GPS device, digital camera, headset, media player), receiving data from a sensor, and connecting to a network interface, a video interface, a USB interface, an optical interface, and a wireless interface. There is no explicit disclosure of the processor having an algorithm, performing calculations, and making a determination that the structure is threatened by a fire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 56-57, 60-61, 66, 68-69, 72-73, and 75-78 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 2010/0000743) in view of Wall (US 7,275,604).
Regarding claim 56, Cohen discloses a method of protecting a structure from wildfires (par. 2; fig. 1), the structure including a wildfire suppression system (10) configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from wildfires (par. 2; fig. 1), the method comprising:
a control system (38/39/40) comprising an algorithm (par. 52 - “programmed”; par. 59 – “identify the need to apply fire retardant and automatically initiate the system”; par. 68 – “But once the system of the present invention identifies a potential fire approaching the area, the system automatically switches from irrigation mode to fire protection mode”), the control system based upon the algorithm determining that at least the structure is threatened by a wildfire using the algorithm to conduct calculations based upon a plurality factors (par. 46 - inputs from the humidity sensors and fire sensors; par. 59 – “measures a drop in humidity” then activates system) and thereby providing a defined risk for the structure (par. 46 - “precipitous drop in humidity” and “rise in heat” indicating the “approach of a wildland fire”; par. 52 - “apply suppressant over intervals or through cycles in the event of a fire so that the suppressant supply does not run out”; par. 53 - “open select distribution valves 34, providing for the application of a mixture of water and fire suppressant to a structure or landscape through appropriate zones 36”);
the control system transmitting a signal (68, see par. 57) to a device (66A or 66B) at a location remote from the wildfire suppression system (par. 56; fig. 1); wherein the signal comprises the defined risk (par. 56 - “monitoring”, which inherently requires the defined risk to be transmitted to the remote location; par. 57 - “provide for supplemental human supervision”); thereby defining a transmitted defined risk (since the signal represents information regarding environmental conditions indicative of a fire and it sent to an alternate location); and,
based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk (par. 57 - “supplemental human supervision” at the remoted control unit inherently requires the human that is monitoring the system to consider the “defined risk”, i.e., the approach of a fire, when making the decisions regarding how to “control” the system), activating the wildfire suppression system from the device at the location remote from the wildfire suppression system (par. 57 - “provide for…control of fire control efforts from a safe location”).
Cohen does not further disclose that the control system comprises a processor.
Wall teaches a method of protecting a structure (11) from fire, the structure having a wildfire suppression system (10) configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from the fire (col. 1, ln. 21-24), the method comprising: a control system (20) comprising a processor (21), the processor comprising an algorithm (col. 5, ln. 9-10); determining a defined risk for the structure (col. 6, ln. 54-56 – “an ambient temperature is detected to be higher than a maximum threshold temperature”), and thereby provide a defined risk (col. 6, ln. 52 – “instruct the control panel 20”); and, based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk, activating the fire suppression system (col. 6, ln. 50-53 – “activate and deactivate the lawn 40 and fire 50 sprinkler assemblies”).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was made to have modified the method of Cohen such that the control system comprises a processor, as taught by Wall, since this was known to provide a structure configured to allow automatic operation of a wildfire suppression system without the need for user input (col. 4, ln. 67-col. 5, ln. 4).
Regarding claim 57, Cohen in view of Wall discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 56, and wherein the control system is not located at the structure (par. 42; fig. 1 - control system 38 is located in an underground vault that is separate from the structure).
Regarding claim 60, Cohen in view of Wall discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 56, and wherein the plurality of factors include a perimeter of an actively burning wildfire (par. 64).
Regarding claim 61, Cohen in view of Wall discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 56, and wherein the plurality of factors include flame detection (par. 60).
Regarding claim 66, Cohen in view of Wall discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 56, and wherein the device (66A/66B) at the location remote from the wildfire suppression system is configured to determine one or more activation triggers (par. 46), and based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk the device determines at least one of the activation triggers (par. 57 – “a remote control unit 66 communicate with the control unit 38”), thereby providing an activation trigger; and the activation of the wildfire suppression system is based in part upon the determined activation trigger (par. 57 – “remote control unit 66 will provide for supplemental human supervision and control of fire control efforts”).
Regarding claim 68, Cohen teaches a method of protecting a structure from wildfires (par. 2; fig. 1), the structure having a wildfire suppression system (10) configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from wildfires (par. 2; fig. 1), the method comprising:
a control system (38/39/40), the control system comprising an algorithm (par. 52 - “programmed”; par. 59 – “identify the need to apply fire retardant and automatically initiate the system”; par. 68 – “But once the system of the present invention identifies a potential fire approaching the area, the system automatically switches from irrigation mode to fire protection mode”); the control system conducting calculations, based upon a plurality factors (par. 46 - inputs from the humidity sensors and fire sensors; par. 59 – “measures a drop in humidity” then activates system) to determine a defined risk for the structure, and thereby provide the defined risk (par. 46 - “precipitous drop in humidity” and “rise in heat” indicating the “approach of a wildland fire”; par. 52 - “apply suppressant over intervals or through cycles in the event of a fire so that the suppressant supply does not run out”; par. 53 - “open select distribution valves 34, providing for the application of a mixture of water and fire suppressant to a structure or landscape through appropriate zones 36”);
the control system, based at least in part upon the defined risk, determining that the structure is threatened by a wildfire (par. 59 – “once a drop in humidity is identified, to be a threat for a wildland fire”);
the control system then transmitting a signal (68, see par. 57) to a device (66A or 66B) at a location remote from the wildfire suppression system (par. 56; fig. 1); wherein the signal comprises the defined risk, the determination that the structure is threatened by the wildfire, or both (par. 56 - “monitoring”, which inherently requires the defined risk to be transmitted to the remote location; par. 57 - “provide for supplemental human supervision”); thereby defining a transmitted defined risk (since the signal represents information regarding environmental conditions indicative of a fire and it sent to an alternate location); and,
based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk (par. 57 - “supplemental human supervision” at the remoted control unit inherently requires the human that is monitoring the system to consider the “defined risk”, i.e., the approach of a fire, when making the decisions regarding how to “control” the system), activating the wildfire suppression system (par. 57 - “provide for…control of fire control efforts from a safe location”).
Cohen does not further disclose that the control system comprises a processor.
Wall teaches a method of protecting a structure (11) from fire, the structure having a wildfire suppression system (10) configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from the fire (col. 1, ln. 21-24), the method comprising: a control system (20) comprising a processor (21), the processor comprising an algorithm (col. 5, ln. 9-10); determining a defined risk for the structure (col. 6, ln. 54-56 – “an ambient temperature is detected to be higher than a maximum threshold temperature”), and thereby provide a defined risk (col. 6, ln. 52 – “instruct the control panel 20”); and, based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk, activating the fire suppression system (col. 6, ln. 50-53 – “activate and deactivate the lawn 40 and fire 50 sprinkler assemblies”).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was made to have modified the method of Cohen such that the control system comprises a processor, as taught by Wall, since this was known to provide a structure configured to allow automatic operation of a wildfire suppression system without the need for user input (col. 4, ln. 67-col. 5, ln. 4).
Regarding claim 69, Cohen in view of Wall discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 68, and wherein the control system is not located at the structure (par. 42; fig. 1 - control system 38 is located in an underground vault that is separate from the structure).
Regarding claim 72, Cohen in view of Wall discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 68, and wherein the plurality of factors include a perimeter of an actively burning wildfire (par. 64).
Regarding claim 73, Cohen in view of Wall discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 56, and wherein the plurality of factors include flame detection (par. 60).
Regarding claim 75, Cohen discloses a method of protecting a structure from wildfires (par. 2; fig. 1), the structure including a wildfire suppression system (10) configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from wildfires (par. 2; fig. 1), the method comprising:
a control system (38/39/40) comprising an algorithm (par. 52 - “programmed”; par. 59 – “identify the need to apply fire retardant and automatically initiate the system”; par. 68 – “But once the system of the present invention identifies a potential fire approaching the area, the system automatically switches from irrigation mode to fire protection mode”), the control system based at least in part upon the algorithm determining that at least the structure is threatened by a wildfire using the algorithm to conduct calculations based upon a plurality factors (par. 46 - inputs from the humidity sensors and fire sensors; par. 59 – “measures a drop in humidity” then activates system) and thereby providing a defined risk for the structure (par. 46 - “precipitous drop in humidity” and “rise in heat” indicating the “approach of a wildland fire”; par. 52 - “apply suppressant over intervals or through cycles in the event of a fire so that the suppressant supply does not run out”; par. 53 - “open select distribution valves 34, providing for the application of a mixture of water and fire suppressant to a structure or landscape through appropriate zones 36”);
the control system then transmitting a signal (68, see par. 57) to a device (66A or 66B) at a location remote from the wildfire suppression system (par. 56; fig. 1); wherein the signal comprises the defined risk, the determination that the structure is threatened by the wildfire, or both (par. 56 - “monitoring”, which inherently requires the defined risk to be transmitted to the remote location; par. 57 - “provide for supplemental human supervision”); thereby defining a transmitted defined risk (since the signal represents information regarding environmental conditions indicative of a fire and it sent to an alternate location); and,
based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk (par. 57 - “supplemental human supervision” at the remoted control unit inherently requires the human that is monitoring the system to consider the “defined risk”, i.e., the approach of a fire, when making the decisions regarding how to “control” the system), activating the wildfire suppression (par. 57 - “provide for…control of fire control efforts from a safe location”).
Cohen does not further disclose that the control system comprises a processor.
Wall teaches a method of protecting a structure (11) from fire, the structure having a wildfire suppression system (10) configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from the fire (col. 1, ln. 21-24), the method comprising: a control system (20) comprising a processor (21), the processor comprising an algorithm (col. 5, ln. 9-10); determining a defined risk for the structure (col. 6, ln. 54-56 – “an ambient temperature is detected to be higher than a maximum threshold temperature”), and thereby provide a defined risk (col. 6, ln. 52 – “instruct the control panel 20”); and, based at least in part upon the transmitted defined risk, activating the fire suppression system (col. 6, ln. 50-53 – “activate and deactivate the lawn 40 and fire 50 sprinkler assemblies”).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was made to have modified the method of Cohen such that the control system comprises a processor, as taught by Wall, since this was known to provide a structure configured to allow automatic operation of a wildfire suppression system without the need for user input (col. 4, ln. 67-col. 5, ln. 4).
Regarding claims 76-78, Cohen, in view of Wall, discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claims 56, 68, and 75, respectively, and further wherein the control system is in communication with a sensor (40, see par. 46 and fig. 1), whereby the control system receives an input from the sensor (par. 46; fig. 1).
Claims 59, 62-63, 67, 71, and 74 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cohen, in view of Wall, and further in view of Smagac et al. (US 5,165,482).
Regarding claims 59 and 71, Cohen, in view of Wall, discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claims 56 and 68, respectively. Cohen, in view of Wall, does not disclose wherein the plurality of factors include fuel distribution patterns for a region proximate to the structure, wherein the fuel distribution patterns comprising fuel distribution patterns of vegetative plant communities, or patterns of structures.
Smagac teaches a method of protecting a structure from fire (col. 1, ln. 7-11), the structure (“R”) including a wildfire suppression system (fig. 2) configured to protect the structure and a desired area around the structure from the fire (fig. 1 - interpreted to be the area in sector “E”), the method comprising: a control system (1) comprising an algorithm (col. 5, ln. 59-63) determining that at least the structure is threatened by the fire using the algorithm to conduct calculations based upon one or more factors (col. 5, ln. 63-65); and activating the fire suppression system from an activation location remote from the wildfire suppression system (col. 5, ln. 68 to col. 6, ln. 1); and wherein the one or more factors include fuel distribution patterns for a region proximate to the structure, the fuel distribution patterns comprising fuel distribution patterns of vegetative plant communities (col. 4, ln. 12-15 and 25-26 - sectors are selected based on vegetation; col. 7, ln. 6-16 - sectors are defined in the computer and used in the calculation to determine risk of fire and application of firefighting resources).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Cohen, in view of Wall, such that the plurality of factors include fuel distribution patterns for a region proximate to the structure, the fuel distribution patterns comprising fuel distribution patterns of vegetative plant communities, as taught by Smagac, since these factors were known to intensify the fire danger (Smagac - col. 4, ln. 26).
Regarding claims 62 and 74, Cohen, in view of Wall, discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claims 56 and 68, respectively. Cohen, in view of Wall, does not disclose wherein the plurality of factors include volumetric sensing, video imaging sensing, or multimodal object recognition.
Smagac teaches the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 59, and further wherein the one or more factors include volumetric sensing (col. 6, ln. 9-12; cl. 13; fig. 3, step 305 - the method senses the volume of water available).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Cohen, in view of Wall, such that the plurality of factors include volumetric sensing, as taught by Smagac, since this was known to account for the available supply of water to fight the fire.
Regarding claim 63, Cohen, in view of Wall, discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 56. Cohen, in view of Wall, does not disclose wherein the plurality of factors include an occurrence of one or more fires burning within a set radius from the structure.
Smagac teaches the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 59, and further wherein the one or more factors include an occurrence of one or more fires burning within a set radius from at least the structure (fig. 3 - step 301).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Cohen, in view of Wall, such that the plurality of factors include an occurrence of one or more fires burning within a set radius from the structure, as taught by Smagac, since this was known to allow the method to use the available firefighting resources at the optimum time to protect the structure.
Regarding claim 67, Cohen, in view of Wall, discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 66. Cohen, in view of Wall, does not disclose the method further comprises providing the device with information and/or data; the device performing a reconfiguration of itself using the information, data or both; and the device adjusting the determined activation trigger based on the reconfiguration.
Smagac teaches the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 56, and further wherein the activating is performed by a device (1) configured to determine one or more activation triggers (col. 5, ln. 65-67) and the method further comprising: providing the device with information, data or both (col. 8, ln. 3-6 - the computer receives the latest information on a fire thread); the device performing a reconfiguration of itself using the information, data or both (col. 8, ln. 6-11 - based on information indicating the fire is moving away, the computer reconfigures to a different protection mode); and the device adjusting the determined activation trigger based on the reconfiguration (col. 8, ln. 15-20 - in the new protection mode the activation triggers are adjusted to a reduced frequency based on fire threat and availability of water).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Cohen, in view of Wall, to further comprise providing the device with information, data or both; the device performing a reconfiguration of itself using the information, data or both; and the device adjusting the determined activation trigger based on the reconfiguration, as taught by Smagac, since this enables the system to adjust the response as the fire threat to the structure and desired area around the structure, as well as the available firefighting resources changes.
Claims 58, 64, and 70 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cohen, in view of Wall, in view of Aamodt et al. (US 2006/0113403).
Regarding claims 58 and 70, Cohen, in view of Wall, discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 56 and 68, respectively. Cohen, in view of Wall, does not disclose wherein the plurality of factors include historical fire patterns for a region proximate to the structure.
Aamodt teaches a method of protecting a structure from fire (par. 1), the structure including a wildfire suppression system (10/12/14) operative to protect a desired area around the structure from the fire (par. 18; fig. 1), the method comprising: determining that at least the structure is threatened by the fire based upon one or more factors (par. 37 - the detectors, 78, or "heat sensors", which are located "around the building" or "near the edge of a canyon area", detect a wildfire); and activating the fire suppression system from an activation location remote from the wildfire suppression system (par. 37 - the system can be activated by telephone); and wherein the one or more factors include historical fire patterns for a region proximate to the structure (par. 46 - "historical fire data...provides a reliable statistical indicator of the direction that wildfires travel").
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Cohen, in view of Wall, such that the plurality of factors include historical fire patterns for a region proximate to the structure, as taught by Aamodt, since this was known to provide a reliable statistical indicator of the direction that wildfires will travel (Aamodt, par. 46).
Regarding claim 64, Cohen, in view of Wall, discloses the method of protecting a structure from fire described regarding claim 56, and further wherein the activating includes wireless remote access (par. 57). Cohen, in view of Wall, does not disclose wher