DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to: an original application filed on 18 May 2026.
2. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and rejected.
Responses to the Argument
3. The applicant’s arguments filed on 18 May 2026 are moot in view of new ground of rejection rendered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C §103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US Patent No. 6067551), hereinafter Brown and in view of Beloussov et al. (US Patent No. 7328225), hereinafter Beloussov.
Regarding claim 1:
receiving, by a server, a plurality of request to retrieve a first data object from a plurality of client devices, each client device operated by a unique user of a plurality of users and having a unique identifier for the client device and/or user (Brown, col 17, line 30-52, col 5, lines 35-58, col 12, lines 12, lines 1-25, FIG.2A, 2B), simultaneous, multi-user editing of a document that is saved on a shared disk on a network. In one aspect of the present invention, the system and method of the present invention create a multi-user control file (MCF) that acts as sort of a traffic cop to perform the tracking functions of all the various versions of the master copy of the document that are being edited by the plurality of users. Through tracking the various versions of the document, the MCF coordinates the synchronization of the various versions of the document during the reconciliation process that is performed when a local copy of the document is being saved and is not yet up to date with the master copy of the document on the shared server. In addition, the multi-user control file controls timing issues related to the reconciliation procedure, conflict resolution, and the sequential order of events which take place during the various saving actions by the plurality of users and create a multi-user control file on the shared server which is associated with the master copy of the document when the master copy is first accessed by a remote user. The computer program also creates a duplicate local copy of the document for each remote user. Thereafter, the multi-user control file assigns the master copy of the document and the local copies of the document a version identifier number. Once the version identifiers are assigned, the multi-user control file tracks the version identifiers of the local copies of the document in order to control the timing of the various saving actions of the users as edits are saved
generating a plurality of unique data objects based on the requested first data object, each unique data object including unique identifier of each client device (Brown, col 12, lines 17-35), the master copy 60 and a duplicate copy of the user record file 86 for User 1 are copied to the local resident memory of User l's remote computer 49 to create a local copy 65 of the document and a local copy 67 of the user record file 86. At this point, User 1 is able to view and/or edit the local copy 65 of the master copy 60 as desired. The master copy 60 remains intact on the file server.
Brown does not explicitly suggest, and providing for each client device access to the unique data object with the unique identifier; however, in a same field of endeavor Beloussov discloses this limitation (Beloussov, abstract, Fig.1, col 6, lines 60-67), provide file sharing in a computer file system to allow for efficient multi-user access and exemplary embodiment of the computer file system of the present invention, indicated generally as 100, and user access thereto. Computer system 100 includes a shared file tree 125 that is associated with the files that may be shared or accessed by the users of computer system 100. Computer 60 system 100 allows for multiple users 115a-c, referred to as Users 1, 2 and 3, respectively. Although three users are depicted in FIG. 1, it should be understood that computer system 100 may be configured to accommodate more or fewer users. Each user 115 has access to the shareable file 65 tree 125. Accordingly, as discussed above, each user may share the file tree 125 to provide multi-user access of the file system of computer system 100.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of document retrieval of Brown with the generating unique file identifier disclosed in Beloussov retrieves any of file contents, file position and file size from the shareable computer file. File attributes relating to the shareable computer file can be retrieved from the stub file, stated by Beloussov at Abstract of the Beloussov.
Regarding claim 2:
wherein at least two or more of the plurality of client devices are provided access to each respective unique data object during overlapping time periods (Brown, col 2, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 3:
Brown does not explicitly suggest, wherein each client device is provided access to the respective unique data object only; however, in a same field of endeavor Beloussov discloses this limitation (Beloussov, col 9, lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 5:
further comprising, in response to receiving one or more of the plurality of requests, retrieving data access information corresponding to the first data object, the data access information comprising the associations of the first data object with the plurality of unique data objects and the associations of the plurality of unique with the plurality of users (Brown, col 14, lines 42-60).
Regarding claim 6:
wherein the data access information further comprises data indicative of a plurality of actions performed by the plurality of client devices with respect to the first data object, wherein the plurality of actions comprises actions performed on one or more of: the first data object and each of the plurality of unique data objects (Brown, abstract).
Regarding claim 7:
wherein the data access information comprises a first data object identifier, wherein the method further comprises: translating the first object data identifier into a plurality of unique data object identifiers corresponding to the plurality of unique data objects; and storing the plurality of unique data object identifiers in association with the plurality of users in the data access information (Brown, Fig.2C).
Regarding claim 8:
further comprising monitoring activity over the server with respect to the first data object based, in part, on the data access information (Brown, col 2, lines 46-65).
Regarding claim 9:
receiving, by a server from a first client device operated by a first user, a request to retrieve the first data object (Brown, col 17, line 30-52, col 5, lines 35-58, col 12, lines 12, lines 1-25, FIG.2A, 2B), simultaneous, multi-user editing of a document that is saved on a shared disk on a network. In one aspect of the present invention, the system and method of the present invention create a multi-user control file (MCF) that acts as sort of a traffic cop to perform the tracking functions of all the various versions of the master copy of the document that are being edited by the plurality of users. Through tracking the various versions of the document, the MCF coordinates the synchronization of the various versions of the document during the reconciliation process that is performed when a local copy of the document is being saved and is not yet up to date with the master copy of the document on the shared server. In addition, the multi-user control file controls timing issues related to the reconciliation procedure, conflict resolution, and the sequential order of events which take place during the various saving actions by the plurality of users and create a multi-user control file on the shared server which is associated with the master copy of the document when the master copy is first accessed by a remote user. The computer program also creates a duplicate local copy of the document for each remote user. Thereafter, the multi-user control file assigns the master copy of the document and the local copies of the document a version identifier number. Once the version identifiers are assigned, the multi-user control file tracks the version identifiers of the local copies of the document in order to control the timing of the various saving actions of the users as edits are saved.
in response to receiving the request from the first client device, retrieving, by the server, a second data object associated with the first user and with the first data object (Brown, col 20, lines 24-33), a master copy of a document is stored in the memory storage device of the shared server. The processor of the remote computer is operative to create a multi-user control file associated with the master copy of the document when the master copy is first accessed by a user. The processor at the same time creates a local copy of the document for the remote user and assigns the master copy of the document and the local copy of the document version identifier numbers. The processor of each remote computer then accesses the MCF on the shared server. The MCF tracks the version identifiers of the various documents and controls the timing of access to the master copy when each respective local user attempts to save edits.
and providing the first client device access to the second data object receiving, by the server from a second client device operated by a second user, a request to retrieve the first data object; however, in same field of endeavor Wei discloses this limitation (Brown, col 11, lines 58-67), the timing issues are handled by the MCF in that the MCF is set to a locked mode during a reconciliation wherein no other users can access the master copy of the document and save changes to it. After the reconciliation procedure is completed, or if conflicts are found, the MCF is set back to the unlocked mode wherein it is free for all users to access the master copy of the document and save edits.
Brown does not explicitly suggest, in response to receiving the request from the second client device, retrieving, by the server, a third data object associated with the second user and with the first data object; however, in same field of endeavor Beloussov discloses this limitation (Beloussov, col 5, lines 10-21).
and providing the second client device access to the third data object; however, in same field of endeavor Wei discloses this limitation; however, in same field of endeavor Beloussov discloses this limitation (Beloussov, col 8, lines 1-15), he computer file system includes a shareable file tree corresponding to the shareable files in the system. The computer file system allows for multiple users such that each has access to the shareable files. Each user has a user file tree that corresponds to the shareable file tree and initially contains links or pointers to each shareable file. Each user also has a private file area to store files. If a user wishes to access a shareable file to perform an action that does not modify the shareable file, then the user file tree will point to the shareable file and allow the user to access the file.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of document retrieval of Brown with the generating unique file identifier disclosed in Beloussov retrieves any of file contents, file position and file size from the shareable computer file. File attributes relating to the shareable computer file can be retrieved from the stub file, stated by Beloussov at Abstract of the Beloussov.
Regarding claim 11:
wherein the first and second client devices access the first and second data objects, respectively, during overlapping time periods (Brown, col 2, lines 35-46).
Regarding claim 12:
wherein the first data object is associated with data access information, the data access information comprising a first data object identifier corresponding to the first data object and a second data object identifier corresponding to the second data object and associated with the first user (Brown, col 1, lines 32-39).
Regarding claim 13:
further comprising, in response to receiving the request to retrieve the first data object: accessing data access information corresponding to the requested first data object; and determining whether the second data object exists (Brown, col 2, lines 47-67).
Regarding claim 14:
Brown does not explicitly suggest, further comprising, if the second data object does not exist, generating a second data object based on the first data object, and associating the second data object with first data object and the first user; however, in same field of endeavor Beloussov discloses this limitation (Beloussov, col 5, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 15:
one or more storage locations configured to store the first data object, a plurality of unique data objects, the first data object being stored in association with the plurality of unique data objects and the plurality of unique data objects are stored in association with a plurality of users (Brown, col 9, lines 1-15), the computer file system includes a shareable file tree corresponding to the shareable files in the system. The computer file system allows for multiple users such that each has access to the shareable files. Each user has a user file tree that corresponds to the shareable file tree and initially contains links or pointers to each shareable file.Each user also has a private file area to store files. If a user wishes to access a shareable file to perform an action that does not modify the shareable file, then the user file tree will point to the shareable file and allow the user to access the file.
a plurality of client devices comprising one or more processors, the plurality of client devices operated by a plurality of users (Brown, 7, col 32-42), multi-user computer systems, restricting access to modified files to the author is generally implemented through directly copying the file system tree for each user. But, as discussed above, this solution requires a great deal of overhead to accommodate multiple copies of the same files for each different user. As a result, this conventional solution is not always possible or efficient due to the 40 additional storage and processing requirements and the adverse effect on system performance.
a secure platform comprising one or more processors and coupled to the one or more storage locations, the secure platform configured to: receive a request to retrieve the first data object from a first client device of the plurality of client devices (Brown, col 6, lines 51-67), Accessing a common file system associated with a computer system that provides for multi-user access. embodiment of the computer file system of the present invention, indicated generally as 100, and user access thereto. Computer system 100 includes a shared file tree 125 that is associated with the files that may be shared or accessed by the users of computer system 100. Computer 60 system 100 allows for multiple users 115a-c, referred to as Users 1, 2 and 3, respectively. Although three users are depicted in FIG. 1, it should be understood that computer system 100 may be configured to accommodate more or fewer users. Each user 115 has access to the shareable file 65 tree 125. Accordingly, as discussed above, each user may share the file tree 125 to provide multi-user access of the file system of computer system 100.
Brown does not explicitly suggest, in response to receiving the request from the first client device, retrieve a second data object of the plurality of data objects associated with the first data object and including a unique identifier with a first user of the plurality of users, and provide the first client device access to the second data object; however, in same field of endeavor Beloussov discloses this limitation (Beloussov, col 12, lines 55-67), shareable area of the file tree so that all changes become visible to all users having access to the area according to the described schema, it is necessary to modify the above-mentioned shared tree, generate specific links to the new files for all users of the system having 60 their own private areas, and delete those links that point to non-existent files. It may also be necessary to generate additional directories in these private areas. For example, to make a change visible, the administrator or user himself should call a special procedure that will generate such a link 65 in the user private area. This link will point to the shared area, and typically it is transparent for the user. The special procedure may generate a "standard" link on the underlying file.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of document retrieval of Brown with the generating unique file identifier disclosed in Beloussov retrieves any of file contents, file position and file size from the shareable computer file. File attributes relating to the shareable computer file can be retrieved from the stub file, stated by Beloussov at Abstract of the Beloussov.
Regarding claim 16:
wherein the plurality of client devices comprises a second client device, the server further configured to: receive a request to retrieve the first data object from a second client device; in response to receiving the request from the second client device, retrieve a third data object associated with the first data object and associated with a second user; and provide the second client device access to the third data object (Brown, col 14, lines 42-60).
Regarding to claim 17:
wherein the one or more storage locations are configured to store a plurality of first data objects and corresponding data access information, each comprising a first data object identifier corresponding to a respective first data object, a respective plurality of unique data object identifiers associated with the first data object identifier, each unique data object identifier associated with a user of the plurality of users (Brown, Fig.2C).
Regarding claim 18:
wherein the one or more storage locations are configured to store a plurality of first data objects and corresponding data access information, each comprising a first data object identifier corresponding to a respective first data object, a respective plurality of unique data object identifiers associated with the first data object identifier, each unique data object identifier associated with a user of the plurality of users (Brown, abstract).
Regarding claim 19:
wherein the data access information further comprises data indicative of a plurality of actions performed with respect to the respective first data object, wherein the plurality of actions comprises actions performed by the plurality of client devices on one or more of: the respective first data object and each of the plurality of unique data objects (Brown, col 2, lines 1-25 Fig.2A-B).
Regarding to claim 20:
wherein the server is further configured to monitoring activity over the server with respect to each of the first data objects based, in part, on the corresponding data access information (Brown, col 14, lines 42-60)
5. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C §103 as being unpatentable over Brown Brown in view of Beloussov and in view of Gladwin et al. (US Publication No. 20110126026), hereinafter Gladwin.
Regarding claim 4:
Brown in view Brown does not explicitly suggest, wherein at least the first data object is disassembled into data fragments and the data fragments are stored in a plurality of different data storage locations; however, in a same filed of endeavor Gladwin discloses this limitation (Gladwin, Fig.6, ¶59, ¶52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of retrieving file of Brown in view of Beloussov with method of data slicing per data segment disclosed in Gladin to reconstruct the original data, stated by Gladwin at ¶45.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Monjour Rahim whose telephone number is (571)270-3890.
/Monjur Rahim/
Patent Examiner
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Art Unit: 2436; Phone: 571.270.3890
E-mail: monjur.rahim@uspto.gov
Fax: 571.270.4890