DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on June 10, 2026 has been received and considered. By this amendment, claims 1 and 6 are amended and claims 1, 3, 6, 13, and 16-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a ruminant animal" in line 3. Claim 1 previously recites a ruminant animal, and it is unclear if claim 6 is intended to refer to the same ruminant animal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riskey et al. (U.S. 2009/0187392) in view of Stewart (U.S. 2014/0336524). Regarding claim 1, Riskey discloses a bolus for oral administration to reside in the reticulorumen of a ruminant animal (“An ingestible bolus may be disposed within the stomach of an animal.”, Abstract), comprising: an antenna 233/235 (see Figure 2 and “transmitter antenna 233” and “receiver antenna 235”, paragraph [0037]); one or more sensors 220/221/222 (see Figure 2 and “bolus 210 may comprise one or more sensors 220”, paragraph [0034]); a power source 260 (see Figure 2 and “power source 260”, paragraph [0058]); a microcontroller comprising a non-transitory memory element 250 (see Figure 2 and “Bolus 210 may comprise a processor 240 communicatively coupled to a memory unit 250.”, paragraph [0038]), said non-transitory memory element containing a power management module comprising i) an activation element, and ii) a timer element, and iii) a power sensor element, said power sensor element executable to determine the remaining amount of energy in the power source (“In addition to transmitting animal characteristics obtained by one or more bolus 210 sensors 220, bolus 210 may be configured to transmit bolus 210 status information including, but not limited to: power available in power source 260”, paragraph [0045]), and said power management module executable to compare the remaining amount of energy in the power source with the amount of energy required to power the bolus through a pre-determined period of time and to employ power regulation events to offset the difference between the energy requirement of the bolus over the pre-determined period of time and the amount of energy remaining in the power source (“Machine readable instructions 252 may specify that one or more sensors 220 should be deactivated in order to reduce the power consumed by bolus 210.”, paragraph [0042]); and a processor 240 in communication with said non-transitory memory element (see Figure 2 and “Bolus 210 may comprise a processor 240 communicatively coupled to a memory unit 250.”, paragraph [0038]). However, Riskey fails to disclose an antenna comprising a pair of electrically conductive loops and a non-electrically conductive substrate disposed between said pair of electrically conductive loops. Stewart teaches an animal health monitoring system comprising a ruminant bolus (Abstract) including one or more sensors (paragraph [0008]), where the bolus includes an antenna comprising a pair of electrically conductive loops and a non-electrically conductive substrate disposed between said pair of electrically conductive loops (“HF loop antenna (204) typically includes an etched conductor path on the PCB substrate, although other form factors (such as a helically wound coil) are possible.”, paragraph [0035] and “LF loop antenna (205) typically includes a conventional ferrite core wire wound antenna of the same type used in the manufacture of low frequency passive transponders.”, paragraph [0036]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the antenna of Riskey with an antenna comprising a pair of electrically conductive loops and a non-electrically conductive substrate disposed between said pair of electrically conductive loops, as taught by Stewart, as it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, Riskey discloses that said one or more sensors is selected from the group consisting of: a temperature sensor (“Monitored animal characteristics may include physiological characteristics, such as animal temperature”, paragraph [0025]), an accelerometer (“accelerometer 221 may be used to detect such movement and/or motion activity characteristics”, paragraph [0029]), a microphone, an inductance sensor, or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Riskey discloses that said non-transitory memory element contains encoded physiological data corresponding to one or more physiological parameters of said ruminant animal (“In this embodiment, bolus 10, 20 may wirelessly transmit data corresponding to monitored animal characteristics to base station 40. Monitored animal characteristics may include physiological characteristics, such as animal temperature, stomach pH, blood pH, heart rate, respiration, stomach or rumen contractions, and the like.”, paragraph [0025], wherein in order to be transmitted, the physiological parameters must at some point be encoded and stored).
Regarding claim 13, Riskey discloses matching elements (“In addition, other pattern matching techniques could be used including, but not limited to: abstract tree matching; Baysian pattern matching; regular expression matching; or the like. As such, this disclosure should not be read as limited to any particular distribution type and/or pattern matching technique.”, paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claims 16-20, Riskey a housing 205 providing an outermost external surface of said bolus (see Figure 2), wherein said outermost external surface of said housing has a length disposed between a pair of ends and said outermost external surface of said housing has a width (see Figure 2). Riskey further discloses that said housing comprises a “substantially spherical” external surface (the rounded ends in Figure 2 are considered to be a “substantially spherical” external surface) and a “substantially cylindrical external surface” (see Figure 2). Further, Riskey discloses that “bolus 10, 20 may be configured to have a size and density which will enable it to remain within the stomach of a bovine 12, 22, ensuring that it is not regurgitated from the animal's reticulum 14, 24 and/or rumen 15, 25” (paragraph [0016]), but fails to disclose that the width is between about 13 mm and about 32 mm, that the diameter of the external surface is between about 13 mm and about 32 mm, or that the bolus density is between about 2.3 grams per centimeter cubed to about 3.3 grams per centimeter cubed ("g/cm3") and selected from the group consisting of about 2.3 g/cm3 to about 2.5 g/cm3, about 2.4 g/cm3 to about 2.6 g/cm3, about 2.5 g/cm3 to about 2.7 g/cm3, about 2.6 g/cm3 to about 2.8 g/cm3, about 2.7 grams g/cm3 to about 2.9 g/cm3; about 2.8 g/cm3 to about g/cm3, about 2.9 g/cm3 to about 3.1 g/cm3; about 3.0 g/cm3 to about 3.2 g/cm3, and about 3.1 g/cm3 to about 3.3 g/cm3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Riskey such that the width and diameter are between about 13 mm and about 32 mm and the bolus density is between about 2.3 grams per centimeter cubed to about 3.3 grams per centimeter cubed ("g/cm3") and selected from the group consisting of about 2.3 grams per centimeter cubed to about 3.3 grams per centimeter cubed ("g/cm3") and selected from the group consisting of about 2.3 g/cm3 to about 2.5 g/cm3, about 2.4 g/cm3 to about 2.6 g/cm3, about 2.5 g/cm3 to about 2.7 g/cm3, about 2.6 g/cm3 to about 2.8 g/cm3, about 2.7 grams g/cm3 to about 2.9 g/cm3; about 2.8 g/cm3 to about g/cm3, about 2.9 g/cm3 to about 3.1 g/cm3; about 3.0 g/cm3 to about 3.2 g/cm3, and about 3.1 g/cm3 to about 3.3 g/cm3, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796