DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 6, 8-10, and 24-30 are currently pending.
Claims 1-5, 7, and 11-23 have been canceled.
Claim 6 is amended.
Claims 25-30 are new.
Claims 6, 8-10, and 24-30 are the subject of this Office action.
The following Office Action is in response to Applicant’s communication dated 05/27/2025. Rejection(s) and/or objection(s) not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejection(s) and/or objection(s) are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103(a)
Brown
Claims 6, 8-10, and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (WO 2016/040524 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 25-30, Brown teaches a method for analyzing genomic DNA, comprising the steps of:
producing a DNA library by a method comprising extracting genomic DNA and conducting a nucleic acid amplification reaction in a reaction solution containing genomic DNA and a single set of primers which only consists of random primers each consisting of 9 to 14, or 16 to 30 nucleotides, using the genomic DNA as a template, to obtain DNA fragments by the nucleic acid amplification reaction, and, at a start of conducting the nucleic acid amplification, any and all nucleic acid matter of the reaction solution consists of the genomic DNA and the single set of primers, and preparing the reaction solution of the nucleic acid amplification reaction comprising the determined concentration of the random primers before conducting the nucleic acid amplification reaction, wherein the random primers consist of 9-14 or 16-30 nucleotides, the concentration of the single set of primers is set at the start of conducting the nucleic acid amplification (e.g., Rapid Nucleic Acid Library preparation method amplifying genomic DNA as per Fig. 1 and/or [0032] using a single set of primers that consists of a fixed 5’- 2-30mer and a random 3’- 5-10mer for a total size of 7-40mer as per [00152]-[00153] at a concentration of about 10 to about 150 µM as per [00326]),
determining all of the nucleotide sequences of DNA fragments contained in the produced DNA library by DNA sequencing, the nucleotide sequences each being of at least 100 nucleotides in length and detecting the presence or absence of particular DNA fragments in the DNA library based on the determined nucleotide sequences (e.g., “Substantially all of the sample sequence is represented in the library by multiple overlapping molecules” and is subsequently sequenced and compared to a reference as per [00183]-[0189]).
Note that the random primer concentration range disclosed by Brown encompasses the ranges recited in the claim (e.g., as per ¶0064) and in accordance with MPEP 2144.05(I), in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Further, as per In re Aller, Lacey, and Hall, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), the court found that "More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." Routine optimization is not considered inventive and no evidence has been presented that the selection of the claimed random primer lengths and concentrations was other than routine or that the results should be considered unexpected in any way as compared to the closest prior art.
Regarding claim 8, Brown teaches the above, wherein the presence or absence of the particular DNA fragments is confirmed based on the number of reads of the particular DNA fragments (e.g., as per [00183]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 9, Brown teaches the above, wherein the nucleotide sequences of DNA fragments contained in the DNA library are compared with known sequence information or with the nucleotide sequences of DNA fragments contained in a DNA library produced using genomic DNA from a different organism or tissue, and the presence or absence of the particular DNA fragments is confirmed based on differences in the nucleotide sequences (e.g., as per [00183]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 10, Brown teaches the above, further comprising the steps of preparing other primers and conducting a nucleic acid amplification reaction using genomic DNA extracted from a target organism as a template and the primers and confirming the presence or absence of the particular DNA fragments in the genomic DNA based on the results of the nucleic acid amplification reaction (e.g., as per [00194]).
Regarding claim 24, Brown teaches the above, wherein the nucleotide sequences are each of 100 to 500 nucleotides in length, (e.g., as per Fig. 2), and the DNA sequencing is by a next-generation sequencer (e.g., as per Fig. 2).
***
Response to Arguments
The 05/27/2025 remarks argue: claims are nonobvious.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons.
Although the rejection herein is not based on any previously presented art, Applicant’s claims to criticality of their concentration ranges will be addressed. Specifically, the remarks at pages 6-7 assert that their “claim features were found to be unexpectedly advantageous, and therefore, impliedly critical”, pointing to the sections of the originally-filed specification at paragraphs [0007]-[0012], [0187], and “related descriptions”.
In response, it is first noted that as per MPEP § 2144.05 that "a prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness" citing In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Furthermore, the same MPEP section states that “a modification of a process parameter may be patentable if it ‘produce[s] a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art" (citing Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
As per MPEP § 716.01(c), allegations of unexpected results must be factually supported, such as by an appropriate affidavit or declaration to be of probative value. Arguments presented by the Applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). Further, as per MPEP § 716.02, it is the burden of applicant to establish that their results are indeed unexpected and significant, to compare the claimed invention with the closest prior art, and to show that objective evidence of nonobviousness is commensurate in scope with the claims.
In the present case, the remarks point to the originally-filed specification at paragraphs [0007]-[0012], [0187], which generally alleges, inter alia, that the method of the invention can produce a DNA library “in a simple manner with excellent reproducibility”, that “genomic DNA can be analyzed in a cost-effective manner with high accuracy”, and that “a DNA library with a molecular size suitable for analysis with a next-generation sequencer can be produced with satisfactory reproducibility, and such DNA library can be suitable for marker analysis with the use of a next-generation sequencer.” There appears to be no discussion regarding if or how these results were unexpected and significant. Further, there was no comparisons to any prior art and no showing that the claimed invention is commensurate in scope with any alleged unexpected results. Notably, Applicant’s examples in the specification appear to use sets of 96 specific sequences of primers per primer length from 9 to 30 nucleotides (with six sets of 96 for length of 10 nucleotides), yet the claims are generically drawn to “random” primer sets whose compositions are not limited at all. For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is proper.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JEREMY C FLINDERS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684