DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 9-12 and 39-42 are pending.
Claims 9-10 and 39-40 are currently amended.
Claims 1-8, 13-38, and 43-61 are cancelled.
Claims 9-12 and 39-42 have been examined.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2017/043614 07/25/2017
PCT/US2017/043614 has PRO of 62366370 07/25/2016
Withdrawn Rejection
All rejections of record are withdrawn because more relevant references are found and used for the new ground of rejection in the following.
New Ground of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 and 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al. (J Biomed Mater Res. 1996 Aug;31(4):545-54, previously cited 7/29/2022) in view of Reves et al. (J Biomed Mater Res Part B: Appl Biomater 90B: 1–10, 2009) and Buschmann et al. (AU 2001268882 B2)
Claim 9 is drawn to a method for coating calcium phosphate particles with a peptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 comprising the steps of:
Add calcium phosphate particles without the peptide to a first aqueous salt solution having an osmolarity value of between 400 and 1,200 mOsm and a pH of between 6.5 and 8.5, followed by drying the calcium phosphate particles to produce dried pretreated calcium phosphate particles;
Combine the dried calcium phosphate particles with a second aqueous salt solution containing the peptide and having an osmolarity value of between 400 and 1,200 mOsm and a pH of between 6.5 and 8.5 to produce coated calcium phosphate particles;
separating the peptide coated calcium phosphate particles from the second aqueous salt solution; and
wherein the peptide binding to the pretreated particles is increased in comparison to peptide binding to calcium phosphate particles that are not pretreated with buffered saline solution
Qian et al. teach “Enhanced cell attachment to anorganic bone mineral in the presence of a synthetic peptide related to collagen” (Title). Qian et al. teach the anorganic bone mineral is pure hydroxyapatite (p546, col 1, Anorganic bone mineral), reading on calcium phosphate particles. Qian et al. teach the coated peptide consisting of GTPGPQGIAGQRGW, P-15, (p545, col 2, Peptide synthesis) with 100% identity to the elected species of SEQ ID NO: 1. Qian et al. teach the peptide coating process comprising incubation of the peptide with calcium phosphate particles (hydroxyapatite) in phosphate-buffered saline (p546, col 1, Preparation of AMP.P15).
Qian et al. do not specify a pretreatment of drying calcium phosphate particles (hydroxyapatite) to increase peptide binding to calcium phosphate particles.
Reves et al. teach taking advantage of the increased porosity due to lyophilization to increase the loading capacity of a composite comprising calcium phosphate (Abstract). Reves et al. teach the calcium phosphate is hydroxyapatite (p2, Fabrication of Composite Microspheres and Scaffolds, para 1). Reves et al. teach lyophilization or freeze-drying has been used to
increase the porosity of biomaterials and increase the loading capacity for therapeutic agents known in the art (p2, col 1, last para). Reves et al. show lyophilization able to increase the porosity of hydroxyapatite composition as expected (p4, Fig 2; see Fig 2(A) compared
to 2(B)) and the surface area also increases significantly shown as follows (p5, Table I). Reves et al. further teach lyophilization increased protein ALP- and BMP-2-loading capacity likely due to the expanded surface area brought about by roughened surface texture and additional porosity capacity of the microspheres (p8, col 1, para 2). Reves et al. further teach the use of calcium phosphates have been used for implant coatings known in the art (p2, col 1, para 3) for bone repair (p2, col 1, para 1-2). Reves et al. further suggest lyophilization of a composition comprising hydroxyapatite for cell attachment (p8, Table III). Because Reves et al. teach advantages of freeze drying comprising (a) increase the porosity of a hydroxyapatite composition (p4, Fig 2) and surface area (p5, Table I), (b) increase loading capacity of proteins (p8, col 1, para 2), and (c) suitable for cell attachment (p8, Table III), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to beneficially dry the calcium phosphate particles before coating a peptide to increase porosity and surface area of hydroxyapatite (calcium phosphate particles) in order to increase loading capacity of Qian’s P-15 peptide.
Qian et al. teach coating the P-15 peptide to hydroxyapatite in a phosphate-buffered saline (p546, col 1, last para) and used on implant surfaces (p548, col 1, para 1), but did not specify pH and osmolarity value.
Buschmann et al. teach optimization of a tissue-repair composition (e.g., medical implant See p23, line 11-18, Fig 9-11) in a buffer to maintain pH between 6.5 and 7.8 and an physiological value of osmolarity between 250 mOsm and 600 mOsm (p20, line 1-12). Buschmann et al. the tissue-repair composition can be used for bone repair (p1, line 5-9, claim 26). Because Buschmann et al. teach pH between 6.5 and 7.8 and an physiological value of osmolarity between 250 mOsm and 600 mOsm is suitable for making an implant for bone repair, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the salt solution of phosphate-buffered saline solution to maintain pH between 6.5 and 7.8 and an physiological value of osmolarity between 250 mOsm and 600 mOsm for (i) making a pretreated dried hydroxyapatite before coating Qian’s peptide P-15 to increase loading capacity of the peptide and (ii) perform coating Qian’s peptide P-15 in substantially the same salt solution to generate a P-15 peptide coated hydroxyapatite, which is expected to have increased loading capacity of P-15 peptide with pretreatment of drying hydroxyapatite compared to a P-15 peptide coated hydroxyapatite without drying.
With respect to step (i) Reves et al. teach lyophilization or freeze-drying has been used to increase the porosity of biomaterials and increase the loading capacity for therapeutic agents known in the art (p2, col 1, last para). Reves et al. show lyophilization able to increase the porosity of hydroxyapatite composition (p4, Fig 2), surface area (p5, Table I), and loading capacity of protein/polypeptide (p8, col 1, para 2). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art is taught to pretreat hydroxyapatite with lyophilization or freeze drying. Furthermore, Buschmann et al. teach optimization of a tissue-repair composition (e.g., medical implant See p23, line 11-18, Fig 9-11) in a buffer to maintain pH between 6.5 and 7.8 and an physiological value of osmolarity between 250 mOsm and 600 mOsm (p20, line 1-12). Buschmann et al. teach the tissue-repair composition can be used for bone repair (p1, line 5-9, claim 26). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is taught to prepare an implant for bone repair in a buffered salt solution at pH 6.5~7.8 with an physiological value of osmolarity between 250 mOsm and 600 mOsm for lyophilization of hydroxyapatite to produce dried pretreated calcium phosphate particles with a peptide.
With respect to step (ii), Qian et al. teach the peptide coating process comprising incubation of the peptide with calcium phosphate particles (hydroxyapatite) in phosphate-buffered saline (p546, col 1, Preparation of AMP.P15). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to performing peptide coating in either the same or substantially the same condition at pH 6.5~7.8 with an physiological value of osmolarity between 250 mOsm and 600 mOsm to generate a composition suitable for implant of bone repair.
With respect to step (iii), Qian et al. teach the unbound peptide was washed away (p546, col 1, last para). Qian et al. teach the coated peptide consisting of GTPGPQGIAGQRGW, P-15, (p545, col 2, Peptide synthesis) with 100% identity to the elected species of SEQ ID NO: 1.
With respect to the wherein clause (iv), Reves et al. teach proteins or drugs incorporated into the pretreatment of freeze-dried composition comprising hydroxyapatite are not lost during the wash step compared to 90% therapeutic agent lost from the composition without pretreatment of freeze-drying (p8, col 2, para 1), reading on the wherein clause.
Thus, Qian et al. in view of Reves et al. and Buschmann et al. is obvious to the instant claim 9.
One or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine (i) Qian et al. and (ii) Reves et al. because (a) Qian et al. a process of coating a peptide to a calcium phosphate particle of hydroxyapatite and (b) Reves et al. teach lyophilization or freeze-drying has been used to increase the porosity of biomaterials and increase the loading capacity for therapeutic agents known in the art (p2, col 1, last para). Reves et al. further teach proteins or drugs incorporated into the pretreatment of freeze-dried composition comprising hydroxyapatite are not lost during the wash step compared to 90% therapeutic agent lost from the composition without pretreatment of freeze-drying (p8, col 2, para 1). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because both references teach a composition comprising hydroxyapatite loading with a protein/polypeptide.
One or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine (i) Qian et al. in view of Reves et al. with (ii) Buschmann et al. because (a) Qian et al. teach the use of a peptide coated hydroxyapatite as an implant for bone repair (p545, col 2, 4th last line; p548, col 1, 2nd line) and (b) Buschmann et al. teach optimization of a tissue-repair composition (e.g., medical implant See p23, line 11-18, Fig 9-11) in a buffer to maintain pH between 6.5 and 7.8 and a physiological value of osmolarity between 250 mOsm and 600 mOsm (p20, line 1-12) used for bone repair (p1, line 5-9, claim 26). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because all references teach an implant for bone repair.
With respect to claims 10 and 39-40, the limitations are substantially the same as claim 9 except for a limitation of “at least two hours” for coating peptide to the pretreated calcium phosphate particles and the other limitation of drying process as freeze followed by drying.
The reaction time for coating Qian’s P-15 peptide to calcium phosphate particles (hydroxyapatite) is a result effective variable can be determined by routine experimentation depending on the concentration of the peptide. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the coating time such as 2 hours, 3 hours, 5 hours, or 24 hours by routine experimentation. For example, Qian et al. teach the coating step comprising incubation of ABM/hydroxyapatite (calcium phosphate particle) with the peptide of P-15 in a coating solution for 24 hours (p546, col 1, Preparation of ABM.P-15). Reves’s teaching of lyophilization is the same of freeze-drying known to freezing followed by drying as claimed.
With respect to claims 11 and 41, Qian et al. teach the buffer is a phosphate buffered saline (p546, col 1, last para). Buschmann et al. teach buffers are selected from glucose phosphate (reading on phosphate buffer), HEPES, or PIPES (p20, line 5-9).
With respect to claims 12 and 42, Buschmann et al. suggest a bone implant composition is preferably initially dissolved or suspended in a buffer containing inorganic salts such as sodium chloride (p20, line 1-3). Buschmann et al. teach optimization of a tissue-repair composition (e.g., medical implant See p23, line 11-18, Fig 9-11) in a buffer to maintain pH between 6.5 and 7.8 and a physiological value of osmolarity between 250 mOsm and 600 mOsm (p20, line 1-12). For osmolarity of 600 mOsm of sodium chloride solution, the concentration of sodium chloride is 300 mM.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 3/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the arguments are not applied to the new ground of rejection based on Qian et al. in view of Reves et al. and Buschmann et al.
New ground of Rejection
Double Patenting
Claims 9-12 and 39-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,415,139 B2 (the ‘139 patent) in view of Wu et al., Bohner et al., Benedict et al., Barbosa-Canovas, Natan et al., Behnam, Will et al. and Qian et al.
Claims 1 and 5 of the ‘139 patent disclosed hydroxyapatite particles (calcium phosphate particles) coated with P-15 peptide.
Claim 16 of the ‘139 patent disclosed P-15 peptide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1.
Claims 1, 5, and 16 of the ‘139 patent do not explicitly teach a method of making P-15 coated hydroxyapatite particles (calcium phosphate particles).
The relevancy of Qian et al., Reves et al. and Buschmann et al. as applied to claims 9-12 and 39-42 above not repeated here.
Because of Qian et al., Reves et al. and Buschmann et al. teach beneficially coating of the P-15 peptide taught by claims 1, 5, and 16 of the ‘139 patent to a calcium phosphate as an implant to treat bone disease, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine claims 1, 5, and 16 of the ‘139 patent with Qian et al. in view of Reves et al. and Buschmann et al.
Thus, claims 1, 5, and 16 of the ‘139 patent in view of Qian et al., Reves et al. and Buschmann et al. are obvious to the instant claims 9-12 and 39-42.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 3/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the arguments are not applied to the new ground of rejection above.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
27-May-2026
/Melissa L Fisher/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658