DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7, 9 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 1023 as being unpatentable over KIM; Jaewon et al. US PGPUB 20190280820 A1, supported by 62/317943, filed on 4/4/2016 (hereinafter ‘943), in view of Papasakellariou; Aris US 20180019843 A1 (hereinafter Papa) supported by provisional application 62/363,542. Filed 07/18/2016 (hereinafter ‘542), further in view of Nogami et al. EP 3101976.
Regarding claim 7, KIM teaches A terminal comprising: a receiver configured to (Fig. 14, Transceiver Unit 1410) receive control information, ([0060] The DCI may include the following information.) which explicitly includes allocation information of a resource for receiving downlink data, ([0061] Information delivered for receiving and decoding downlink data (e.g., including at least one of allocation information of time and frequency resources used for xPDSCH transmission,)
information indicating a transmission time position of a HARQ feedback for the downlink data, and information indicating a frequency position of the HARQ feedback, ([0062] Information about transmission time and frequency resources of the xPUCCH to transmit HARQ feedback
‘943 discloses xPUCCH resource index from page 6 to 14 )
from a base station by a downlink control channel; ([0060] Specifically, when the base station transmits downlink data in the subframe 210, the base station may transmit information for scheduling of downlink data and information for HARQ feedback through the DCI.) and
a transmitter (Fig. 14, Transceiver Unit 1410) configured to transmit the HARQ feedback (Fig. 12, step 1240-1245, [0154] At operation 1245, the terminal may update the decoding result to a location corresponding to the BMI in the identified bitmap message. If the decoding is successful, the bit of the location corresponding to the BMI may be updated to 1.) at the transmission time position and the frequency position based on the information indicating the transmission time position and the information indicating the frequency position that are received by the receiver. (Fig. 12, step step 1245, [0149] At operation 1220, the terminal may extract HARQ related information from the DCI. The HARQ related information may include time resource information and frequency resource information of xPUCCH for transmitting HARQ information, and bitmap index information.
‘943 discloses xPUCCH resource index from page 6 to 14)
Kim does not teach
wherein the information indicating the transmission time position includes k which is a number of slots, and
wherein the receiver is configured to receive the downlink data in slot n, and the transmitter is configured to transmit the HARQ feedback for the downlink data in slot n+k according to the information indicating the transmission time position.
wherein the first number of slot k is from a symbol range provided by a higher layer parameter.
However, Papa teaches
wherein the information indicating the transmission time position includes k which is a number of slots, and wherein the receiver is configured to receive the downlink data in slot n, and the transmitter is configured to transmit the HARQ feedback for the downlink data in slot n+k according to the information indicating the transmission time position. ([0144] A DL DCI format scheduling a PDSCH transmission to a UE on a cell can include a counter DAI field, a total DAI field, and a slot offset field for transmission of HARQ-ACK information in response to a correct or incorrect detection of data TBs conveyed by a respective PDSCH. For a PDSCH transmitted to a UE in slot n, a slot offset k.sub.1 indicates to the UE to transmit respective HARQ-ACK information in slot n+k.sub.1 when k.sub.1 is defined relative to n, or in slot n+k.sub.1+k.sub.0 when k.sub.1 is defined relative to k.sub.0 where k.sub.0 is a predetermined value
Supported by ‘542 Page 19, last paragraph)
wherein the first number of slot k is from a symbol range provided by a higher layer parameter.
([0145] For example, when a UE requires at least 2 slots to transmit HARQ-ACK information in response to a PDSCH reception, k.sub.0=2. The UE can inform a serving gNB of a k.sub.0 value relative to reference slot duration either explicitly though higher layer signaling)
In order to improve scheduling flexibility to assign PDSCH transmission with consecutive HARQ processes ([0188])
Kim and Papa are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of HARQ slot offset in Papa in order to improve scheduling flexibility.
Kim and Papa do not teach
wherein the first number of slot k is from a symbol range provided by a higher layer parameter.
However, Nogami teaches
wherein the first number of slot k is from a symbol range provided by a higher layer parameter.
([0477] line 38 of the page “the HARQ-ACK resource offset field is used for performing determination based on one PUCCH resource of a plurality of PUCCH resources configured in the higher layer.”)
In order to reduce complexity of scheduling of dynamic PUCCH resources ([0556])
Kim and Nogami are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of higher layer configuration of offset in order reduce complexity of the scheduling.
Regarding claim 9. Kim teaches A base station comprising: a transmitter (Fig. 14, transceiver unit 1410) configured to
transmit control information, ([0060] The DCI may include the following information.) which explicit includes allocation information of a resource for receiving downlink data, ([0061] Information delivered for receiving and decoding downlink data (e.g., including at least one of allocation information of time and frequency resources used for xPDSCH transmission,)
information indicating a transmission time position of a HARQ feedback for the downlink data, and information indicating a frequency position of the HARQ feedback, ([0062] Information about transmission time and frequency resources of the xPUCCH to transmit HARQ feedback
‘943 discloses xPUCCH resource index from page 6 to 14)
to a terminal by a downlink control channel; ([0060] Specifically, when the base station transmits downlink data in the subframe 210, the base station may transmit information for scheduling of downlink data and information for HARQ feedback through the DCI.)
and a receiver (Fig. 14, transceiver unit 1410) configured to receive the HARQ feedback transmitted by the terminal (Fig. 12, step 1240-1245, [0154] At operation 1245, the terminal may update the decoding result to a location corresponding to the BMI in the identified bitmap message. If the decoding is successful, the bit of the location corresponding to the BMI may be updated to 1.) at the transmission time position and the frequency position based on the information indicating the transmission time position and the information indicating the frequency position. (Fig. 12, step step 1245, [0149] At operation 1220, the terminal may extract HARQ related information from the DCI. The HARQ related information may include time resource information and frequency resource information of xPUCCH for transmitting HARQ information, and bitmap index information.
‘943 discloses xPUCCH resource index from page 6 to 14)
Kim does not teach
wherein the information indicating the transmission time position includes k which is a number of slots, and wherein the receiver is configured to receive the downlink data in slot n, and the transmitter is configured to transmit the HARQ feedback for the downlink data in slot n+k according to the information indicating the transmission time position.
wherein the first number of slot k is from a symbol range provided by a higher layer parameter.
However, Papa teaches
wherein the information indicating the transmission time position includes k which is a number of slots, and wherein the receiver is configured to receive the downlink data in slot n, and the transmitter is configured to transmit the HARQ feedback for the downlink data in slot n+k according to the information indicating the transmission time position.
([0144] A DL DCI format scheduling a PDSCH transmission to a UE on a cell can include a counter DAI field, a total DAI field, and a slot offset field for transmission of HARQ-ACK information in response to a correct or incorrect detection of data TBs conveyed by a respective PDSCH. For a PDSCH transmitted to a UE in slot n, a slot offset k.sub.1 indicates to the UE to transmit respective HARQ-ACK information in slot n+k.sub.1 when k.sub.1 is defined relative to n, or in slot n+k.sub.1+k.sub.0 when k.sub.1 is defined relative to k.sub.0 where k.sub.0 is a predetermined value
Supported by ‘542 Page 19, last paragraph)
In order to improve scheduling flexibility to assign PDSCH transmission with consecutive HARQ processes ([0188])
Kim and Papa are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of HARQ slot offset in Papa in order to improve scheduling flexibility.
Kim and Papa do not teach
wherein the first number of slot k is from a symbol range provided by a higher layer parameter.
However, Nogami teaches
wherein the first number of slot k is from a symbol range provided by a higher layer parameter.
([0477] line 38 of the page “the HARQ-ACK resource offset field is used for performing determination based on one PUCCH resource of a plurality of PUCCH resources configured in the higher layer.”)
In order to reduce complexity of scheduling of dynamic PUCCH resources ([0556])
Kim and Nogami are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of higher layer configuration of offset in order reduce complexity of the scheduling.
Regarding claim 10. Kim and Papa teaches A communication method executed by a terminal, the communication method comprising steps recited in claim 7. It is rejected for the same reasons above.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468