DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants elected group I (purification and filling of an antibody in a formulation with glycine, histidine, methionine, and trehalose) with traverse in the reply filed on 8 April, 2020. The traversal was found unpersuasive, and the election/restriction requirement made final in the office action of 1 May, 2020. Applicants have since amended the claims so they no longer read on the method elected.
Claims Status
Claims 1-16, 18, 20, and 21 are pending.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 2-10, 12-16, 18, 20, and 21 have been withdrawn due to an election/restriction requirement.
Withdrawn Objections
The objection to the specification due to the incorrect formulation for Herceptin is hereby withdrawn due to amendment.
New Rejections
Specification
The amendment filed 22 April, 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the amendment of Herceptin to Herceptin Hylecta (p81, 2nd and 3d paragraphs, p82, 5th paragraph, p83, 2nd paragraph). Nowhere in the disclosure as filed was Herceptin Hylecta mentioned, making this new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Withdrawn Rejections
Maintained/Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and claims that depend on it, have a limitation that the processing step is carried out “in the presence of a composition having a viscosity of below 10 mPa*s.” There are two issues with this limitation.
First, it is not clear if the conditions under which the viscosity is measured are the same as the process is run or under some standard set of conditions. It has long been known that viscosity is a function of temperature (Misra et al, J. Chem. Eng. Data (1961) 6(2) p194-196, title). Thus, the conditions under which the test is run will affect the viscosity.
Second, and related, many of the steps involve temperature changes. Re-buffering will involve a change in temperature unless the enthalpy of dissolution is zero. Freezing and thawing inherently involve changes in temperature, and chunks of frozen material will affect the viscosity (Reynolds et al (Anal. Chem. (2005) 77 p814-817, p815, 2nd column, 3d paragraph)). This means that, even if we restrict the viscosity measurement to the conditions used in the processing operation, there will be differences depending on when the viscosity is measured during the process.
response to applicant’s arguments
Applicants state that they have amended around this rejection by specifying the temperature.
Applicant's arguments filed 22 April, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Temperature and ice chunks were given as examples of factors that can affect viscosity, but it is not an exhaustive list. The Malvern Pananalytical post of 17 Jan, 2017 lists shear rate and time as additional parameters for some formulations (1st page, 1st paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez-Rey et al (Biotechnol. Bioeng. (2011) 108 p1494-1508, previously cited) in view of Ball (Chemistry World (2009) p58-62, previously cited), Chen et al (Biosci. Biotechnol. Biochem. (2016, available 2 June) 80(10) p1874-1878, previously cited), Arakawa et al (J. Biophys. Soc. (1985) 47 p411-414), Reeg et al (Antiox. Redox Sig. (2015) 23(3) p239-255, previously cited), Hada et al (Int. J. Biol. Macromol. (2016) 82 p192-200, available online Oct, 2015, previously cited), Nayak et al (J. Compl. Integr. Med. (2015) 13(2) p129-136), Chang et al (US 20140127227), and Reynolds et al (Anal. Chem. (2005) 77 p814-817).
Claims 1 and 11 discuss a method of producing a drug product.
Vazquez-Rey et al discuss aggregation in monoclonal antibody manufacturing (title). These aggregates can affect the potency of a formulation (p1496, 2nd column, 4th paragraph), and can have negative biological effects (p1496, 2nd column, 5th paragraph). The aggregates can form during cell culture (p1497, 2nd column, 4th paragraph), purification (p1498, 1st column, 4th paragraph), mixing (p1499, 1st column, 2nd paragraph), buffering (p1499, 1st column, 7th paragraph), due to equipment contact (p1500, 1st column, 1st paragraph), fluids handling (p1500, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph), ultrafiltration for concentration (p1500, 1st column, 3d paragraph), filling (p1501, 1st column, 2nd paragraph), and storage (p1501, 1st column, 6th paragraph). In other words, aggregation of monoclonal antibodies can form at any and all steps in the manufacturing process. This is dealt with by optimizing the manufacturing process, removal of aggregates during downstream processing, and selection of appropriate buffers (p1502, 2nd column, 1st paragraph).
The difference between this reference and the instant claims is that this reference doesn’t teach the buffer used by applicants, or the viscosity.
Ball discusses protein denaturing (title). A denatured protein can, in principle, find its way back to its folded conformation by thermal fluctuations, but the exposed hydrophobic groups tend stick together and cause aggregation, which is more or less irreversible (p59, 1st column, 3d paragraph). This reference teaches that denaturing is a step before aggregation in the aggregation of polypeptides. This implies that preventing denaturization will prevent (or at least reduce) aggregation.
Chen et al discusses an assay system for protein stabilization (title). Protein stabilizers enhance the stability of proteins and prevent denaturation (p1874, 1st column, 1st paragraph), which, as implied by Ball, will reduce aggregation. Trehalose is among the best known protein stabilizers, but amino acids such as histidine are also known in the art for this purpose (p1874, 1st column, 1st paragraph). The effect of combining different stabilization reagents is not clear, with some combinations proving synergistic, while others are merely cooperative (p1874, 1st column, 1st paragraph, continues to 2nd column). This reference teaches trehalose, glycine, and betaine as stabilizing excipients.
Arakawa et al discuss stabilization of proteins by osmolytes (title). Among the compounds tested is Ala and β-Ala, both which protect against thermal denaturing (abstract). This reference discusses Ala as a stabilizing excipient in protein formulation.
Reeg et al discuss protein oxidation (title). Oxidation of proteins leads to partial unfolding, and therefore, to aggregation (abstract). This reference teaches that oxidation induces aggregation, implying that preventing oxidation will help prevent aggregation.
Hada et al examine various antioxidants in protein formulation (title). Oxidation of protein formulations should be minimized by adequate processes with stable formulations (p192, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph). Using a model protein, three common antioxidants were tested for their ability to prevent oxidative damage (p193, 1st column, 3d paragraph). Of the three antioxidants tested, methionine was the most efficient in suppressing oxidation (p199, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph).
Nayak et al discusses the antioxidant properties of tryptophan (title). Tryptophan had a very high oxygen radical absorption capacity compared to controls (abstract). This reference teaches tryptophan is a powerful antioxidant.
Chang et al discusses protein formulations with amino acids (title). While this will increase stability, as noted by other references cited in this rejection, it will also decrease viscosity (paragraph 10). This approach is effective for antibodies (paragraph 20). Viscosity can be reduced to below 20 mpas (paragraph 122). This reference shows that the amino acids used to improve stability will also reduce viscosity.
Reynolds et al uses viscosity to determine parameters of particles, including proteins (abstract). Even at a concentration of 10% (w/v), bovine IgG has a viscosity that is less than 3x PBS (fig 3b, p816, 1st column, 3d paragraph). This reference shows that, even at fairly high concentrations, the viscosity of an immunoglobulin, even without viscosity modifiers, is well below 20 mpas.
Therefore, it would be obvious to add the various amino acids of the cited references to the preparations of Vazquez-Rey et al at each step of the process to stabilize the material and reduce aggregation. As these compounds are known in the art for protein stabilization, an artisan in this field would attempt this modification with a reasonable expectation of success.
Vazquez-Rey et al discuss aggregation at concentration and filling steps. Chen et al renders obvious the addition of trehalose and histidine to these formulations to reduce denaturing which leads to aggregation, as discussed by Ball. Arakawa et al teach that alanine can reduce thermal denaturing. Hada et al show that methionine is an effective antioxidiant, which, as suggested by Reeg et al, should also reduce denaturing and aggregation. Nayak et al teaches that tryptophan is also a powerful antioxidant, making it obvious to add that amino acid. While none of the references discuss the ratio of amino acids to sugar, finding the optimum ratio for stability is considered merely optimization. The MPEP states that “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or working ranges by routine experimentation" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”) (MPEP2144.05.II). Furthermore, none of the cited references discuss glutamic acid, aspartic acid, or analogs of those amino acids as stabilizers. Reynolds et al shows that immunoglobulins, even at fairly high concentrations, will have a viscosity of less than 20 mpas, and Chang states that the amino acids added to improve stability will reduce viscosity, and explicitly state viscosities of less than 20 mpas. Thus, the combination of references renders obvious claim 1.
The compounds of Vazquez-Rey et al are antibodies, a protein, rendering obvious claim 11.
response to applicant’s arguments
Applicants have pointed out that none of the cited references teach the claimed combination, that Reynolds et al is not relevant to formulations, that Chen et al and Chang et al teach away from the claimed formulation, and that the claimed formulations have unexpectedly low viscosity.
Applicant's arguments filed 22 April, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants have described each reference individually, pointing out that it does not teach or suggest the claimed formulation. That is not the standard. This is not a rejection under 35 USC 102; there is no requirement that every reference cited in the rejection be capable of rejecting the claims by itself.
Applicants argue that Reynolds et al is not relevant to formulations. This is an argument of non-analogous art. The test for analogous art is if a reference is either 1) from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or 2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (MPEP 2141.01(a)). Chang et al explicitly discusses viscosity in the context of formulations, so a reference, such as Reynolds et al, making it reasonably pertinent to the problem applicants are trying to solve.
Applicants argue that both Chen et al and Chang et al teach away from adding arginine. In Chen et al, applicants point to an example that shows that, in a specific embodiment, the added stability from arginine is low. But it does not state that arginine hurts stability, and expressly states that other researchers had found that it helps (p1874, 1st column, 1st paragraph). Chang et al, likewise, expressly states that arginine can be included in stabilizing formulations (paragraph 23). This is not consistent with a reference that teaches away from including Arg in a formulation.
Finally, applicants argue that the claimed formulations have unexpectedly low viscosity. There are a number of issues with this argument. First, applicants have not established what an expected viscosity would be; there is no baseline for comparison. It is applicant’s burden to show the results are unexpected (MPEP 716.02(B)(I)), that has not been accomplished. Keep in mind that, as noted in the rejection, Chang et al teaches that adding the amino acids to the formulation can reduce the viscosity of the formulation. Second, the claims are drawn to a very wide range of therapeutics (biopharmaceutical drug product), carriers, and excipients (not specified except that some combination of amino acids must be included). Unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claims (MPEP 716.02(d)). It is not clear, for example, if a peptide in a W/O emulsion would show lower viscosity with the amino acids added to the formulation, much less unexpectedly lower viscosity.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/591,399 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the competing claims render obvious the instant claims.
Competing claim 1 is very similar to examined claim 1, save that it specifies the amino acids as a positively charged amino acid, an anti-oxidant amino acid, and an amino acid with an osmolytic function. The number of amino acids that fit these definitions are limited, rendering at least one of the claimed compositions obvious. Competing claim 10 requires that the biopharmaceutical be an antibody, which reads on examined claim 11. While none of the competing claims specify the viscosity, as it’s the same formulation, it will inherently have the same viscosity.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
response to applicant’s arguments
Applicants request that this rejection be held in abeyance until the application is otherwise in condition for allowance. However, until this rejection is overcome, it will remain valid.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRED H REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658