DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 7/14/2025. As directed by the amendment, claims 9, 13 and 17 have been amended, and claims 1-6, 15, 16 and 18 have been cancelled. As such, claims 9-14 and 17 are pending in the instant application.
Applicant has amended the claims to address the previous claim objection, which is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant has amended the specification in response to the previous drawing objection, but the amendments do not address all of the instances of “stylet 20”; the previous drawing objection is updated below.
Applicant has cancelled claims 16 and 18, rendering the duplicate claim issue moot.
Applicant has amended the claims and cancelled claims 15-16 to address the previous rejections under 35 USC 112(a)/first paragraph, which are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant has amended the claims to remove the language regarding “one and only one aperture” and “a bottom”; the previous rejection of the claims under 35 USC 12(b)/second paragraph is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant has amended the body of claim 13 to be further limiting, but the preamble of claim 13 is now not further limiting because of the amendments to claim 9. The previous rejection of claim 13 under 35 112(d)/fourth paragraph is updated below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/14/2025 (hereinafter “Remarks”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on page 12 of Remarks that “[c]urrent endotracheal tube systems require insertion of multiple tubes to allow for multiple flow paths,” arguing that “[t]his is different than the present invention, which allows for multiple flow paths within the same tube…reducing the need to insert multiple tubes.”
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that current systems “require” multiple tubes to provide multiple flow paths. Endotracheal tube systems that allow for multiple flow paths within the same tube were so well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that they have their own subclass in the CPC classification system: A61M16/0486 Multi-lumen tracheal tubes. Indeed, previously-applied Galel, Adair and Boretos all disclose multi-lumen tubes for providing multiple flow pathways through the same tube. Applicant’s asserted benefits would have been readily predictable to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; Applicant’s argument is unconvincing.
Applicant asserts on page 12 of Remarks that “Gao does not teach or suggest…the elongated flexible conduit defining a first, a second, a third, or a fourth flow path….Galel, Levin and Hete do not remedy the deficiencies of Gao.”
While Gao is no longer applied in the updated rejection in light of the amendments to the claims, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the elongated flexible conduit defining a first, a second, a third, or a fourth flow path) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The amended claims only require “at least two” fluid flow paths, i.e. they require a second but not necessarily a third and/or fourth. However, it is noted that previously-cited Galel, Adair and Boretos all teach that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include two or more than two fluid flow paths to provide increased control over steering, i.e. third and/or fourth fluid paths would not be a point of non-obviousness even if they were included in the claims.
On pages 13-15 of Remarks, Applicant does not argue the application of art to the dependent claims separately from the limitations of claim 9.
Claim 9 remains obvious in view of the prior art as discussed in the updated rejection below, and the teachings of Kolobow, Levin, Boretos and Klima remain applicable; therefore, the rejections of the dependent claims are maintained/updated below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “20” has been used to designate both stylet (paras [0025] and para [0026] of the PGPub of the instant application, i.e. two instances) and conduit (remainder of the specification) within the description of the specification.
The drawings are objected to because the lead line for “stylet 10” in Figs. 1 and 2 appears to point to the system in general (which includes both the stylet and an endotracheal tube 60) and not the stylet in particular, i.e. as an element separate from the endotracheal tube 60, which is how the stylet is presented throughout the written specification.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the conduit with at least two pathways, single valve in communication with the at least two pathways, and nozzle with an inlet port directing the at least two pathways downward to move the conduit (claim 9), particularly in combination with a mechanical hinge or a pivot (claim 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant states on page 5 of Remarks that at least paras [0020] and [0027] of the PGPub of the instant application support the amendments to claim 1. However, para [0020] of the PGPub only describes an embodiment (see e.g. instant Fig. 3) with a single flow path that extends to a single aperture 36 via a single inlet port (understood to be to the left in Fig. 3, i.e. at the location of the label 34). While para [0027] indicates that multiple, independently-controlled air flow paths could extend through the flexible conduit, para [0027] also indicates that each of these pathways would flow from the valve to their own associated aperture in the nozzle, such that an inlet port in the nozzle for each path is inferred, and that any additional apertures would be placed so as to direct air flow to move the distal end of the flexible conduit in a different direction (“air flow through the second, third or fourth aperture can redirect the distal end…in a second direction, e.g. lateral or posterior directions,” para [0027] of the instant PGPub). The specification as originally filed makes no mention of/does not support a single inlet port in a nozzle as claimed directing at least two fluid flow paths, it does not support an inlet port itself directing movement (it is the radially-positioned aperture(s) that provide(s) this functionality), and it does not support two fluid flow paths both directed in the same (downward) direction to move the distal end of the flexible conduit. As such, claim 9 (and thus its dependent claims) contain new matter.
Claims 9-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9 (and thus its dependent claims), the amended claims recite an endotracheal tube, a stylet, and an elongated flexible conduit, each on their own line, which appears to indicate that these are three different elements, in light of 37 C.F.R. 1.75(i). However, it is understood from the previous claim sets as well as the specification as originally filed that the flexible conduit is the stylet, such that the claims are now indefinite because it is unclear how many different elements are being recited/required. As best understood, for purposes of examination, claim 9, line 6 will be considered to read “the stylet comprising an elongated flexible conduit…”.
Further regarding claim 9 (and thus its dependent claims), “downward relative to an orientation of the endotracheal tube and the stylet” is indefinite, because it is unclear in the claim how the “orientation” is positioned in space/what direction relative to the elements of the tube/stylet is “down”, e.g. is the orientation vertical, such that “down” is a longitudinal end of the conduit, or is the orientation horizontal, such that “down” corresponds to a sidewall portion that is arbitrarily positioned facing the ground, or is the orientation angled, or twisted, or curved or combinations thereof? As best understood from e.g. instant Figs. 3 and 7 and para [0027] of the PGPub of the instant application, the pathway(s) are positioned such that fluid flows longitudinally toward the distal end and then exits radially from opening(s) thereof that are located in the sidewall of the nozzle, such that holding the flexible conduit with the distal end down means that flow along the longitudinal axis is downward OR holding the flexible conduit with one of said openings facing toward the ground means fluid radially exiting from said aperture will be directed downward. Therefore, for purposes of examination, as best understood, “downward relative to an orientation of the endotracheal tube and the stylet” will be considered to mean either “toward the distal end” OR “radially outward relative to a longitudinal axis of the flexible conduit.”
Regarding claim 13, line 2 recites “an aperture” that is unassociated with any claimed structure and is attributed no claimed functionality. Where/what is this aperture? Is it on one of the claimed elements, or is it part of e.g. a connected device for providing fluid to the flow paths? As best understood, for purposes of examination, the aperture is on the nozzle/is for directing fluid radially outward relative to a/the longitudinal axis of the flexible conduit, such that Applicant could include either this location or this functionality or both in claim 13 to clarify the claim language and address this rejection.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the aperture" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the claim will be considered to read “an aperture”.
Claims 10-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The preambles of the dependent claims only recite/purport to further limit the “endotracheal tube stylet” (emphasis added) and not the entire system of claim 9; therefore, they fail to include all of the limitations of the claim upon which they depend. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Applicant could address this rejection by amending the preambles of claims 10-14 and 17 to recite “The endotracheal tube system”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galel et al. (US 5,498,239; hereinafter “Galel”) in view of Pagan (US 6,463,927 B1; hereinafter “Pagan”) and Adair (US 5,643,175; hereinafter “Adair”).
Regarding claim 9, Galel discloses a medical tube system (Figs. 1-7 and 17) comprising:
a medical tube (catheter 11);
a stylet (tubular member 12);
as best understood, the stylet comprising an elongated flexible conduit (Figs. 1-3) defining a proximal end (off to the right in Figs. 1-3), a distal end (distal end 14), and at least two fluid flow paths (e.g. within two lumens 34, 35 OR lumens 44, 45) between the proximal end and the distal end (e.g. Figs. 6-7; col. 3, lines 48-51; col. 6, lines 36-59), the elongated flexible conduit extending through the endotracheal tube (Figs. 1-3; col. 5, lines 5-7);
a valve (Fig. 17; variable speed pump 85, 86…valves…single-lever…rather than two individual valves…may be substituted for the variable speed pumps, col. 8, lines 8-36) affixed to the proximal end of the elongated flexible conduit and fluidly-connectable to a source of pressurized oxygen (Fig. 17; i.e. in the same manner as the conduit is taught to be fluidly connected to common reservoir 87), wherein the valve is in fluid communication with the at least two fluid flow paths (Fig. 17; col. 8, lines 8-36); and
directing the at least two fluid flow paths downward relative to an orientation of the endotracheal tube and the stylet to move the distal end of the elongated flexible conduit (Fig. 6, when “downward” is considered towards the distal end of the conduit/into the plane of the drawing, i.e. the fluid must flow first downward/distally before being directed radially outward, OR Fig. 7, because the conduit is fully capable of being positioned such that the direction of the arrows is oriented “downward”) (col. 3, lines 20-34 and lines 48-67; col. 5, lines 35-45; col. 6, line 60-col. 7, line 8), and, in the alternative, see also Adair Fig. 13, which teaches that it was known in the fluid-steerable medical tubing art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include two flow paths (one of each of the tubes 180, 182) that are directed downward/in the same direction, i.e. fluid is directed longitudinally then radially outward from aligned, downward-facing openings 176, 168, such that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally or alternatively include the aligned-openings-on-each-side construction taught by Adair in the conduit of Galel, in order to predictably provide for independent propulsion and steering on each side of the flexible conduit and/or to avoid high pressures at the jets (Galel col. 3, lines 48-67 and col. 7, lines 4-10).
While Galel teaches that the catheter thereof is intended to provide access to internal bodily passages (Galel col. 1, lines 11-12), and Adair demonstrates that it was well known in the fluid-steerable medical tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such tubes for intubation (Adair col. 1, lines 63-65), Galel (or modified Galel) is silent regarding the tube being specifically an endotracheal tube with a balloon coupled to the endotracheal tube, and an inflation line fluidly coupled to the balloon and extending along the endotracheal tube. However, Pagan demonstrates that it was well known in the guided medical tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a stylet (guide 2) to be utilized with an endotracheal tube (endotracheal tube 8/40) (Figs. 1 and 8) with a balloon (inflatable cuff 42) coupled to the endotracheal tube (Figs. 1/8; col. 3, lines 28-29 and 52-58), and an inflation line (inflation lumen 44) fluidly coupled to the balloon and extending along the endotracheal tube (Fig. 8; col. 3, lines 28-29 and 52-58). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Galel (or modified Galel) to include the tube being specifically an endotracheal tube with a balloon coupled to the endotracheal tube, and an inflation line fluidly coupled to the balloon and extending along the endotracheal tube as taught by Pagan, in order to provide the predictable result of a tube/stylet arrangement tailored for intubation using a standard endotracheal tube with balloon for sealing against the trachea and a steerable stylet for increased control during the insertion.
Modified Galel is silent regarding a nozzle coupled to the distal end of the elongated flexible conduit, wherein the nozzle comprises an inlet port for the directing discussed above. However, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.04.V.C, and Pagan further educates modified Galel to include a nozzle (plug 23) coupled to the distal end of the elongated flexible conduit, wherein the nozzle comprises an inlet port (Pagan Fig. 2), which would obviously be divided in modified Galel in order to direct fluid to the individual lateral apertures of modified Galel, in order to provide the end of the flexible conduit with an atraumatic end (Pagan col. 2, lines 45-47) while retaining the steerability of modified Galel, and which would predictably allow for separate machining of the distal outlets apart from the rest of the flexible conduit for ease of manufacturing and/or component sourcing due to the side-apertures-containing portion being a separate piece that can be added onto standard divided tubing and/or to allow the side-apertures-containing portion to be swapped out if the apertures become blocked and/or if different sized apertures are desired.
Regarding claim 12, Galel in view of Pagan and Adair teaches the endotracheal tube [system] of claim 9, wherein Galel further discloses wherein the elongated flexible conduit comprises an elastomeric material that is not gas-permeable (tubular member will be of an elastic material…silicone rubbers, col. 8, lines 40-48).
Regarding claim 13, Galel in view of Pagan and Adair teaches the endotracheal tube [system] of claim 9, wherein Galel further discloses wherein the inlet port is fluidly connected to an aperture (port 37, 38, 46 or 47 of Galel Figs. 6-7 or one of the aligned sidewall openings taught by Adair as discussed above regarding claim 9) (Galel col. 3, lines 20-34 and lines 48-67; col. 5, lines 35-45; col. 6, line 60-col. 7, line 8).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galel in view of Pagan and Adair as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kolobow et al. (US 5,687,714; hereinafter “Kolobow”).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Galel in view of Pagan and Adair teaches the endotracheal tube [system] of claim 9, wherein Galel further discloses wherein the elongated flexible conduit has an inner diameter and an outer diameter (Figs. 1 and 6-7), but modified Galel is silent regarding the outer diameter of the elongated flexible conduit being from 3 to 8 mm and the inner diameter of the elongated flexible conduit being from 2 to 7 mm. However, optimization of ranges of parameters within prior art ranges or through routine experimentation is not sufficient to patentably distinguish the invention over the prior art, see MPEP § 2144.05, Adair teaches an outer diameter of 7 mm (col. 6, lines 3-5), and Kolobow demonstrates that it was well known in the respiratory therapy art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an elongated flexible conduit (tubular catheter 14) (Fig. 1; catheter 14…preferably formed of a flexible plastic, col. 2, lines 59-60) positioned within an endotracheal tube (endotracheal tube 12) to have an outer diameter of from 3 to 8 mm and an inner diameter from 2 to 7 mm ([f]or an adult human…catheter 14 of 3.4 mm outside diameter and 2.64 mm inside diameter has been found to be suitable to sustain the desire air flow rates, col. 2, lines 62-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the elongated flexible conduit of modified Galel to have an outer diameter of from 3 to 8 mm and an inner diameter from 2 to 7 mm as taught by Adair and Kolobow, in order to provide the expected result of a conduit sized to be inserted into small bodily passageways (Adair col. 6, line 6) and thus into a standard endotracheal tube and able to deliver sufficient airflow to a patient of a given size, e.g. an adult human (Kolobow, col. 2, lines 62-67), to provide ventilation during the intubation procedure.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galel in view of Pagan and Adair as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Levin (US 5,676,635; hereinafter “Levin”).
Regarding claim 14, Galel in view of Pagan and Adair teaches the endotracheal tube [system] of claim 9, but modified Galel is silent regarding an illumination device coupled to the distal end of the elongated flexible conduit. However, Adair demonstrates that it was well known in the fluid-steerable medical tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include means for illuminating the distal end of a stylet (e.g. col. 6, lines 15-18), and Levin teaches that it was well known in the stylet art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a stylet (instrument 10) (Figs. 2 and 4) have an illumination device (light source 68) coupled to a distal end (distal end 24) (col. 4, lines 61-64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Galel to include an illumination device coupled to the distal end of the elongated flexible conduit as taught by Levin, in order to provide the predictable result of a standard means by which to aid the user in visualizing the entrance to the bodily passage, e.g. the larynx and/or the location of the stylet within the trachea (Levin col. 1, lines 46-50 and col. 2, lines 7-18).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galel in view of Pagan and Adair as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Boretos (US 4,403,985; hereinafter “Boretos”) and Klima et al. (US 2013/0297013 A1; hereinafter “Klima”).
Regarding claim 17, Galel in view of Pagan and Adair teaches the endotracheal tube [system] of claim 9, wherein Galel further discloses wherein the elongated flexible conduit includes a portion of the distal end configured to actuate (e.g. Figs. 1-3) when a flow of fluid exits [an] aperture (port 37, 38, 46 or 47 of Galel Figs. 6-7 or the aligned sidewall openings taught by Adair as discussed above regarding claim 9) (Galel col. 3, lines 20-34 and lines 48-67; col. 5, lines 35-45; col. 6, line 60-col. 7, line 8), but modified Galel is silent regarding wherein the elongated flexible conduit includes a mechanical hinge or a pivot configured to actuate when a flow of fluid exits [an] aperture. However, Boretos teaches that it was known in the art of hydraulically-steerable medical tubes before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a hydraulically-steerable elongated flexible conduit (elongated tube 11) to include a hinge or pivoting region proximate to the nozzle (pleated section 31) configured to actuate when a flow of fluid exits one of a plurality of radially-directing apertures (port 23) (Fig. 3), and Klima teaches that it was known in the art of steerable medical tubes before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a hinged portion proximate to a nozzle to either be achieved via a flexible material section (flexible portion 330) (Fig. 8; para [0040]) similar to that of Boretos, or by including a mechanical hinge or a pivot (comprising pins 140) comprised by the nozzle (pivot arm 150) and the associated conduit (shaft 110) (Fig. 4B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Galel to include wherein the elongated flexible conduit includes a mechanical hinge or a pivot that is configured to actuate when a flow of fluid exits an aperture as taught by Boretos and Klima, in order to utilize standard hinging means to provide the predictable result of controlling the flexion caused by the hydraulic steering taught by modified Galel such that it causes the distal end of the stylet of modified Galel to readily flex off-axis at a known/predetermined location (Boretos col. 2, lines 57-64 and col. 3, lines 26-34) while rotating only within a single plane relative to the conduit (Klima para [0033]), in order to provide predictable/prescribed movement, e.g. up-and-down, for simplified/constrained steering.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHRYN E DITMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785