DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 47-48, 51-55, 58-62, 65-67 have been considered but moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means selected from…. a pull tab and a snap-fit tab” in claim 47.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47-48, 54-55, 61-62 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis [US 20130144193 A1] in view of Wohlgemuth [US 5642825 A]
As per claim 47, Lewis teaches an ultrasound coupling device (Lewis Fig 7) comprising
an ultrasound coupling adapter for coupling an ultrasound transducer to an ultrasound coupling medium housed in the ultrasound coupling adapter (Lewis Fig 7, ¶0070 “These containment seals are effective to keep the gel, gel-like material, or hydrogel contained within the coupling compartment ”), said ultrasound coupling adapter comprising:
an interface support region for operably interfacing the ultrasound transducer to the ultrasound coupling medium (Lewis ¶0070 “Transducer Gel Cup Holder”); and
an integrated portion for rendering the ultrasound coupling adapter inoperable upon manipulation by dislodging the ultrasound transducer from the ultrasound coupling adaptor, thereby rendering the ultrasound coupling device inoperable (Lewis ¶0070 “removal of the transducer from the holder can be accomplished by actually breaking the gel cup holder by pulling the pull tab 21 (e.g., a plastic tab) on the side (e.g., similar to a tab on a milk container before you open it), which will break the gel cup holder (see break apart area 26) and allow for easy removal of the ultrasound transducer from the coupling device”, ¶0073 “a pull tab in order to break away the … while also destroying the bandage/gel cup holder to make it only one time use.” i.e., similar to a milk jar the gel cup holder is inoperable for its intended purpose of showing that is not a new bottle, if the seal is broken, and cannot be returned to a sealed position. Further, the claims encompass a human dislodging the transducer by manipulation. It is possible, and common for humans /users to use hands or tools in dislodging components, using excessive force, and hence breaking them, and rendering it inoperable),
wherein the integrated portion functions to permanently alter the interface support region , thereby rendering the interface support region inoperable for performing its mechanical function of maintaining the ultrasound coupling medium therein (Lewis ¶0073 “a pull tab in order to break away the … while also destroying the bandage/gel cup holder to make it only one time use.”, gel cup holds gel),
wherein the integrated portion consists essentially of
said integrated portion being configured to facilitate permanently altering a portion of the interface support region (Lewis ¶0073 “a pull tab in order to break away the … while also destroying the bandage/gel cup holder to make it only one time use.”, gel cup holds gel), and
wherein the
Lewis does not expressly recite that the area 26 is perforated or thinned.
Wohlgemuth, in the field of caps for use with containers, teaches the area is perforated or thinned (Wohlgemuth Fig 1 tab 121 and annular tear groove 112).
Lewis refers to tabs and area as that similar to that as used in a milk container. Wohlgemuth evidences that, such structure for a pull tab with perforations were known in the art of containers (including that for milk). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Lewis by including grooves as shown in Wohlgemuth. As per MPEP 2143.I.F, known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In this case, the variations are predictable since Lewis provides direction towards a milk container for implementing the tab and break apart area. One design incentive is to provide tamper-indicating cap which is equally convenient to both the left-handed and the right-handed user while being easy for that user to remove (Wohlgemuth Col 2 lines 59-62).
As per claim 48, 55, Lewis in view of Wohlgemuth further teaches wherein the pull tab serves as a lever capable of rendering the ultrasound coupling device inoperable (Wohlgemuth Col 4 lines 41- Col 5 line 10 “Each pull-tab includes an easily graspable pinch end 121 which allows a user to firmly grasp the tab for pulling. …Removal of the frangible ring further provides tamper-indication by alerting the user that the cap has likely been removed since initial assembly.”).
As per claim 54, Lewis in view of Wohlgemuth further teaches an ultrasound coupling system comprising: an ultrasound coupling device according to claim 47; and an ultrasound transducer configured for operable attachment to the ultrasound coupling device (Lewis Fig 6A, item 9, ¶0069).
As per claims 61-62, they are directed to method of using claims 47-48 and are rejected for same reasons as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51-53, 58-60, 65-67 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis in view of Wohlgemuth as applied to claims 47, 54, 61 above and further in view of Baril [US 20060163111 A1].
As per claims 51-53, 58-60, 65-67, Lewis in view of Wohlgemuth teaches 47, 54, 61 as discussed above. Lewis in view of Wohlgemuth does not expressly teach an adhesive fabric for interfacing the ultrasound coupling device with a subject, wherein the fabric has adhesive properties that substantially diminish after first use by the subject, an adhesive fabric for interfacing the ultrasound coupling device with a subject, wherein the fabric has adhesive properties that diminish by 50% or greater using the ASTM D903 standard.
Baril teaches an adhesive fabric for interfacing the ultrasound coupling device with a subject (Baril Fig 1B items 20, 22), wherein the fabric has adhesive properties that substantially diminish after first use by the subject., an adhesive fabric for interfacing the ultrasound coupling device with a subject, wherein the fabric has adhesive properties that diminish by 50% or greater using the ASTM D903 standard (As per ¶0113, applicant refers to adhesives made of “acrylics, silicones, or the like”. Baril ¶0022 “In alternate embodiments, the adhesive is acrylic”. ¶0025 “he release liner 22 is any substrate coated with silicone” The claim limitations are directed to properties of the adhesive fabric. Since Baril uses similar materials properties is also the same).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in , Lewis in view of Wohlgemuth by integrating liner and adhesive as in Baril. The motivation would be to maintain the ultrasound device and ultrasound gel pad 38 in the desired location on the patient's skin (Baril ¶0033).
Conclusion
/Oommen Jacob/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797