DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the claim amendments filed on 10/28/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 6, 9, and 20 have been amended; claims 2, 11, and 14-17 have been cancelled; claims 18-19 have been withdrawn; and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1, 3-10, 12-13, 18-24 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 regarding claim 1 are considered moot in view of claim 1 amendments. As the amended limitations of claim 1 differentiate over the prior art of record. Examiner notes no arguments regarding claim 3 were received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "access to the payload comprising liquid or solid material" in line 2 of claim 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the “liquid or solid material” limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests "access to the payload comprising a liquid or a solid material".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7,779,831 B1 to Von Hollen et al. in view of US 2013/0029030 A1 to Larsen.
In regard to claim 3:
An aerosol provision (AP) system (Fig. 1 elements 30 and 60), comprising: a hand-held case (Fig. 1 external shells of module elements 30, and 60) enclosing: a power supply (Para. 24 “ The device electronics 300 operatively connect to the piezoelectric transducer 200 to energize the transducer 200. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the device electronics deliver A/C current to the transducer 200 to drive the transducer 200 at a frequency, e.g., 2.5 MHz.”(emphasis added)); an airflow generator powered in operation by the power supply (Para. 44 “The piezoelectric transducer 200 generates acoustic waves, which propagate sequentially through the transmitting medium 230, the barrier 210, the coupling medium 160, the barrier 130, and the drug solution 120. The drug solution 120 present at the focal point of the acoustic waves will absorb the ultrasonic energy to create a fountain from drug solution 120 present in the reservoir 110. That is, the focused acoustic waves will generate a focused stream of drug solution 120, which stream begins at a point that can also be considered the beginning of the fountain. The fountain extends up through the guide tube 100. Towards the top of the stream or fountain, the energized drug solution 120 within drug solution reservoir 110 is nebulized to form aerosolized drug solution 120 particles.” (Emphasis added), Para. 24 “The device electronics 300 operatively connect to the piezoelectric transducer 200 to energize the transducer 200. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the device electronics deliver A/C current to the transducer 200 to drive the transducer 200 at a frequency, e.g., 2.5 MHz.”); a nozzle extending from the hand-held case (Fig. 1 elements 30, 100 and 80, para. 12 “The mouthpiece module 30 includes a guide tube 100 to direct a stream of drug solution 120, as described below. Prior to delivery of nebulized drug solution particles via the outlet port 80, the mouthpiece module 30”); and a receiver arranged to receive a separate, second AP systemcomprising an atomizer (Fig. 1 elements 50 and 200. Para. 10 “the device 10 may be formed from four modules, including a mouthpiece module 30, a cup module 40, an ultrasonic wave generating module 50, and a base module 60 that can be coupled and decoupled from one another.”), wherein the airflow generator is arranged in operation to generate an airflow that passes firstly through the atomizer to generate an aerosolized payload, and secondly through the nozzle (para. 44 cited above, para. 12 “the mouthpiece module 30 includes a guide tube 100 to direct a stream of drug solution 120, as described below. Prior to delivery of nebulized drug solution particles via the outlet port 80,”), and the nozzle is arranged in operation to emit the aerosolized payload (Para. 44 “The drug solution 120 present at the focal point of the acoustic waves will absorb the ultrasonic energy to create a fountain from drug solution 120 present in the reservoir 110. That is, the focused acoustic waves will generate a focused stream of drug solution 120, which stream begins at a point that can also be considered the beginning of the fountain. The fountain extends up through the guide tube 100. Towards the top of the stream or fountain, the energized drug solution 120 within drug solution reservoir 110 is nebulized to form aerosolized drug solution 120 particles”), for inhalation by a user without the need to touch the aerosol provision system with lips of the user (Para. 57 “While the illustrated embodiments are designed to aerosolize a liquid drug solution for inhalation by a patient, one or more embodiments of the present invention may alternatively be used to aerosolize a variety of other solutions without deviating from the scope of the present invention (e.g., liquid air freshener, disinfectant, water, etc.)”(emphasis added). Alternative solutions to be aerosolized considered evidence the device is fully capable of inhalation without the need to the aerosol provision system with the lips as it does not require the user’s inhalation to function.).
Von Hollen does not explicitly disclose having a dispersion angle in a range of 0 to 5 degrees during a first 3 centimeters beyond the nozzle in an absence of disruptive air flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing, to modify the dispersion angle of Von Hollen to be within a range of 0-5 degrees within the first 3 centimeters beyond the nozzle in an absence of disruptive air flow, since it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the device of Von Hollen discloses the nozzle and atomizer. Merely determining, through routine experimentation, the nozzle parameters to achieve the workable dispersion angles is therefore not considered novel and thus obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Von Hollen does not explicitly disclose emitting the payload as a ribbon. Larsen teaches, and the nozzle is arranged in operation to emit the aerosolized payload as a ribbon (Fig. 1B “Flat”).
Larsen is considered analogous art as it is working to solve the same problem of nozzle spray patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of filing, to modify the payload delivery shape taught by Von Hollen to be a ribbon as taught by Larsen. This would have been motivated by Larsen Para. 152 “Its purpose is to spread out the spray. Some applications require that the spray be very narrow. In those cases, the atomizing surface is sculptured into a flat or nearly-flat surface. Depending on the width requirements of the spray pattern and the required flow rate, the atomizing surface may have a very small diameter or an extended, flat section. Non limiting possibilities are shown in FIG. 1B.”. This would have been further motivated by design choice as merely picking between known spray pattern shapes is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. SEE MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). Spray pattern shape is considered known as it is demonstrated to be known by Larsen Fib. 1B.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 12-13, and 21-24 are allowed.
The following is an examiner' s statement of reasons for allowance: The claims in this application are allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose either singly or in combination the claimed aerosol provision system.
12. The closest prior art of record is US 7,779,831 B1 to Von Hollen et al.
13. Regarding claim 1, Von Hollen fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious “an atomizer comprising a heater configured to generate vapor from a payload” in combination with “the airflow generator is arranged in operation to generate an airflow that passes firstly through the atomizer to combine with the vapor to generate an aerosolized payload”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783