Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34-45,47-51,53-61, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyng-5301472 in view of Japan-5945679.
Lyng discloses 34. (New) A tool 14 for machining an object, the tool comprising: multiple finger layers (row of fingers 42,516,370-Fig 5,6,7,20,24)/44/512 (Fig 24), wherein each finger layer includes elastically bendable (col 5, lines 1-4) multiple fingers 42 that together define a front surface (Figs and claim 1) and a back surface (opposite the front surface) and a thickness therebetween (Figs 5,6,24 show front to back thickness) and a width and a length each perpendicular to the thickness (Figs 5,6,20,24) in an undeflected state in which: adjacent first and second finger layers are stacked with a back surface of the first finger layer facing a front surface of the second finger layer (Fig 5,20,24); adjacent fingers of the first finger layer are arranged to be spaced apart (space 52-Fig 5,514-Fig 24) from one another to define corresponding gaps having a respective distance greater than zero (Figs 5,20,24); individual fingers of the second finger layer are aligned with the corresponding gaps in the first finger layer(Fig 5,20, col 4, lines 65-68); and adjacent finger layers of the multiple finger layers are spaced apart from one another at a distance of at least twice the thickness (Fig 22, side view of Fig 20, shows adjacent layer at least twice thickness spaced from a first layer, Fig 5 shows spacing of adjacent layers to be at least twice thickness). It appears, in Fig 22, that the rows are spaced about three thickness of the finger layer from an adjacent row (at the base of layers attached to core). In addition, JP’679 teaches a flexible finger tool with rows about a cylinder, wherein the rows are spaced 0-three thicknesses apart (Fig 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space the finger layers of Lyng apart at any desired distance, such as 0-3 thickness layers apart, as taught by JP’679, in order to obtain desired finish on workpiece as varying the spacing between the layers would provide different amount of abrasion and different finishes.
Lyng discloses 35. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein each finger in the multiple finger layers are elastically
bendable independently of one another from the undeflected state. (col 5, lines 1-4).
36. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein, in the undeflected state, the adjacent fingers in an individual finger layer each extend parallel to one another. (Figs 5,22,24)
37. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein the corresponding gaps between the adjacent fingers of an individual finger layer are greater than the width of the adjacent fingers in a direction in which the adjacent fingers are adjacent (Fig 5 shows the gap width greater than the finger width, i.e. no overlap).
38. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein one or more fingers of the first finger layer are arranged so as to overlap with corresponding fingers of the second finger layer when viewed from in front of or behind the first finger layer toward the second finger layer or vice-versa (Fig 20 shows the gap width smaller than the finger width and thus overlapping).
39. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein adjacent finger layers of the multiple finger layers are spaced apart from one another at a distance of at least three times the thickness. (Figs 5,20,24 show the spacing of layers greater than three times the thickness).
40. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein fingers of one layer of the multiple finger layers are arranged in a manner so that they overlap with fingers of one or more adjacent finger layers when viewed from in front of or behind the one layer toward the one or more adjacent finger layers or vice-versa. (Fig 20 shows the gap width smaller than the finger width and thus overlapping).
41. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein fingers of at least two of the multiple finger layers overlap when viewed from one of the at least two of the multiple finger layers toward the other of the at least two of the multiple finger layers. (Fig 20 shows the gap width smaller than the finger width and thus overlapping).
42. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein the multiple finger layers form an angle of greater than zero degrees and smaller than 180 degrees with a line along which the multiple finger layers are arranged one behind another. (Fig 15,20 show two layers enclosing an angle between 0-180 degrees about cylindrical surface).
43. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein each finger of the elastically bendable multiple fingers includes an abrasive surface on at least one of the front surface or the back surface. (Abstract, col 5, lines 18-21)
44. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein the tool further comprises: a base 70,500 and wherein the elastically bendable multiple fingers 42/516,respectivey, are configured as grinding members on the base.
49. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein all finger layers in the multiple finger layers are arranged one behind another parallel to one another, and wherein a total area that is spanned by all of the multiple finger layers in a plane perpendicular to the multiple finger layers is rectangular. (Fig 5).
57. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein the multiple finger layers are arranged one behind another along a closed circular line, wherein each of the elastically bendable multiple fingers extend with their longitudinal direction radially with respect to an axis which runs through a center point of the closed circular line and are each arranged perpendicularly to, and on, the closed circular line. (Figs 20,22,24)
60. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein one or more of the elastically bendable multiple fingers include at least one slot. (Fig 7 shows fingers 42 with slots forming 62)
61. (New) The tool of claim 34, wherein the tool is at least one of: a tool for deburring edges of a workpiece, a tool for rounding edges of a workpiece, a deburring tool, or a rounding tool. (Sanding/abrading tool capable of rounding edges-Abstract, col 4, lines 62-65, col 5, lines 18-21).
Lyng ‘472 in view of JP’679 teaches the invention as detailed above, but does not teach the exact distance between fingers/width of fingers (cl 48,55), the tool base/finger being cotton or polyester (cl 45), the exact length (cl 47) or width (cl 17) or depth (cl 56) of finger(s), or width/depth/diameter of tool (cl 50,51,54,58,59) or concentric tools with different radius (cl 53).
Lyng does disclose two different concentric tools at Figs 1,3, but not having different radii. However, the materials and these values of the dimensions of the fingers, spacings and tool width/depth/diameter, and being concentric with different radii are slight variations therefrom and would not produce an unexpected outcome and would have therefore constituted an obvious mechanical expedient at the time of applicants’ invention.
PRIOR ART
The prior art relied upon in the rejection is cited because the references show similar flexible flail devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 34-45,47-51,53-61 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim 34 now requires the thickness between layer rows to be zero to three thicknesses apart. Lyng, at Fig 22, shows layers about 3 thicknesses apart at the base, however, JP 679 is relied upon to show a polishing tool with layers of fingers 7 spaced apart zero to three thicknesses at the base (Fig 12.) Therefore, this limitation is now addressed in the new rejection.
EM
November 30, 2024
/EILEEN P MORGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723