DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites “wherein the magnetizable layer comprises magnetizable particles retained in a binder”. It is unclear to the examiner if the binder is included in the magnetizable layer as being magnetizable and what the magnetizable layer encompasses. For purpose of examination, examiner interprets the magnetizable layer to have magnetizable particles and a binder used to retain the magnetizable particles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-27, 29-30, 32 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van (US 2014/0256238, previously presented) in view of Oliver (US 4,916,869, previously presented) and Schladitz (US 3,495,960, previously presented).
Regarding Claim 25, Van teaches a bonded abrasive wheel (Ref. 100, Fig. 1, [0019]) comprising:
a central portion (Fig. 1, the depressed central portion) adjacent to a central hub (Ref. 190, Fig. 1, [0019]);
an outer circumference (See annotated Fig. 1 below);
a rotational axis (See annotated Fig. 1 below) extending through the central hub (Fig. 1); and
abrasive particles (Ref. 174, Fig. 2, [0019]) retained in a first organic binder (Ref. 150, Fig. 2, [0019]), wherein the abrasive particles comprise ceramic bodies (Ref. 140, Fig. 2, [0019] descries ceramic bodies), and wherein the ceramic bodies have an aspect ratio of at least 2 ([0011] describes the ceramic abrasive particles having a ratio of at least 2, examiner notes aspect ratio is interpreted as length to thickness).
Van fails to explicitly teach each ceramic body having a unitary magnetizable layer disposed thereon, wherein each unitary magnetizable layer consists essentially of a metal or metal alloy, wherein each unitary magnetizable layer is a continuous coating disposed on an entire outer surface of the ceramic body, and wherein a majority of the magnetizable abrasive particles are aligned during curing of the first organic binder by application of an externally applied magnetic field such that the majority of the magnetizable abrasive particles are substantially parallel to the rotational axis.
Oliver teaches an abrasive grit structure with abrasive particles retained in a binder and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor of abrasives used to grind/wear a surface. Oliver teaches abrasive particles (Ref. 420, Fig. 10) with each having a respective unitary magnetizable layer (Ref. 421, Fig. 10, [Col. 8, Line 19-32], examiner notes the term unitary is interpreted as parts to be made a whole) disposed thereon (Fig. 10), wherein each unitary magnetizable layer consists essentially of a metal or metal alloy ([Col. 8, Lines 30-32] describes “…any substance can be used which is of sufficiently fine particle size and will interact magnetically with the magnet to align these diamonds… While any substance can be used which is of sufficiently fine particle size and will interact magnetically with the magnet to align these diamonds, a fine magnetic iron oxide powder”, examiner notes that the iron oxide powder consists essentially of a metal or metal alloy would interact magnetically with the magnet), wherein each unitary magnetizable layer is a continuous coating disposed on an entire outer surface of the abrasive particles (Fig. 10, [Col. 8, Lines 19-20] shows and describes the magnetizable layer continuously coating the outer surface of the abrasive particles);
wherein a majority of the magnetizable abrasive particles are aligned during curing of the first organic binder by application of an externally applied magnetic field ([Col. 8, Lines 29-32]) such that the majority of the magnetizable abrasive particles are substantially parallel [Col. 8, Line 26-32], Fig. 10 shows the magnetic abrasives would be capable of having a majority of the magnetic abrasive particles aligned during curing of the first organic binder by application of an externally applied magnetic field to be substantially parallel, [Col. 8, Lines 24-31] describes “a magnet 431 is placed below the glass surface … the axis passing through lengthwise dimensions of the particles is perpendicular to the plane of the glass surface…”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceramic abrasive particles in the first organic binder, as taught by Van, with the unitary magnetizable layer made of a metal or alloy that are aligned due to application of a magnetic field such that the majority of the magnetizable abrasive particles are substantially parallel to be magnetizable abrasive particles, as taught by Oliver, as to provide further functionality of being able to be aligned in the correct orientation for effective polishing to provide a more useful longer wearing structure ([Col. 8 Line 14-17]).
Van as modified further fails to explicitly teach wherein a majority of the magnetizable abrasive particles are substantially parallel to the rotational axis. Schladitz teaches an abrasive disk with abrasive particles retained in a binder and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor of abrasive disks. Schladitz teaches magnetizable abrasive particles (Ref. 14, Fig. 4, [Col 2, Lines 60-Col 3, Line 3] & [Col. 4, Line 5-31]), wherein a majority of the magnetizable abrasive particles (14) are substantially parallel (Fig. 2&4) and sit in a direction from a top surface to a bottom surface ([Col. 2, Line 32-43] Fig. 2&4 shows the particles parallel in a direction from the top surface to the bottom surface). Given the rotational axis is parallel to the direction of a top surface to a bottom surface of the disk, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the abrasive particles in the first organic binder, as taught by Van as modified, to be in a direction of a top surface to a bottom surface, as taught Schladitz, thereby being parallel to the rotational axis to add the functionality of being able to be aligned in the correct orientation for effective polishing ([Col. 4, Line 5-31]).
Regarding Claim 26, Van as modified teaches the limitations of claim 25, as described above, and given the teaching of the magnetizable particles ,as taught by Oliver above, Van as modified further teaches a primary abrasive layer (Ref. 120, Fig. 2, [0019]) comprising the magnetizable abrasive particles retained in the first organic binder (Fig. 2);
a secondary abrasive layer (Ref. 160, Fig. 2, [0019]) comprising non-magnetizable abrasive particles (Ref. 170, Fig. 2, [0019]) retained in a second organic binder (Ref. 175, Fig. 2, [0019]); and
a first reinforcing material (Ref. 117 Fig. 2, [0019]) disposed between and contacting the primary abrasive layer and the secondary abrasive layer (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 27, Van as modified teaches the limitations of claim 26, as described above, and Van further teaches a second reinforcing material (Ref. 166, Fig. 2, [0019]) contacting the secondary abrasive layer opposite the first reinforcing material (fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 29, Van as modified teaches the limitations of claim 25, as described above, and Van teaches that the ceramic abrasives have a length between 0.001mm to 26mm ([0060]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of ceramic particles of Van from between 0.001mm to 26mm to a length greater than 50 micrometers since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 30, Van as modified teaches the limitations of claim 25, as described above, and Van further teaches the ceramic abrasives can have different shaped ([0057]) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the ceramic bodies comprise platelets, rods, or truncated pyramids. Schladitz further teaches abrasive particles within a resin bond and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Schladitz teaches wherein the ceramic bodies comprise ceramic platelets (examiner interprets platelets as having a shape having a flat face, Fig. 4 shows the ceramic bodies having a flat face at the end of the rod shaped filaments). Given the teachings of Van that the abrasive particles can be different shapes and suggests shapes such as truncated pyramids ([0056-0057]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the rod shaped abrasives with flat faces, as taught by Van as modified, since such a modification is merely an alternate equivalent structure to abrade a face and to ensure proper abrading of a surface and providing greater and more consistent surface area of the abrasive particles.
Regarding Claim 32, Van as modified teaches the limitations of claim 25, as described above, and Oliver further teaches a magnetizable layer (Ref. 421, Fig. 10, [Col. 8, Line 19-32]) comprising magnetizable particles are retained in a binder (Ref. 422, Fig. 10, [Col. 8, Line 19-32 & Abstract]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the magnetizable layer, as taught by Van as modified, with the magnetizable abrasive particles being retained in a binder, as taught by Oliver, to provide further functionality of holding the abrasive particles in of being able to be aligned in the correct orientation for effective polishing ([Col. 8, Line 29-32]).
Regarding Claim 45, Van as modified teaches the limitations of claim 25, as described above, and Van teaches a secondary abrasive layer (Ref. 160, Fig. 2, [0019]) comprising non-magnetizable abrasive particles (Ref. 170, Fig. 2, [0019]) retained in a second organic binder (Ref. 175, Fig. 2, [0019]).
Regarding Claim 46, Van as modified teaches the limitations of claim 25, as described above, and given the teachings of the magnetizable abrasive particles as taught by Oliver, Van as modified further teaches the magnetizable abrasive particles (140, Van) has a length at least half the thickness of the bonded abrasive wheel (Fig. 2, [0060] describes “…the shaped abrasive particle may have a length greater than half the thickness of the bonded composite abrasive wheel….”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are acknowledged and examiner withdraws the claim objections.
Applicant’s amendments to the specifications are acknowledged and examiner withdraws the specification objections.
Applicant's arguments filed 17 July, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 25, Applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to teach a unitary magnetizable layer due to not having a continuous coating disposed on the entire outer surface of the ceramic body has been fully considered and is not persuasive. Examiner has applied Oliver to the 35 USC 103 rejection above. Oliver teaches that the abrasive particles are coating with the magnetic power coating ([Col. 8 Lines 19-20]) further figure 10 of Oliver shows the coating of the abrasive particles are continuously coating the entire outer surface of the particles. Given both the teaching from the description of the magnetic power coating the abrasive particles along with the figures, Oliver teaches a unitary magnetizable layer is continuously coating disposed on the entire outer surface of the ceramic body. If applicant intends for the
Further applicant’s arguments that the Oliver reference fails to teach the magnetizable layer consists essentially of a metal or metal alloy has been fully considered and is not persuasive. Oliver teaches wherein each unitary magnetizable layer consists essentially of a metal or metal alloy ([Col. 8, Lines 30-32] describes “…any substance can be used which is of sufficiently fine particle size and will interact magnetically with the magnet to align these diamonds… While any substance can be used which is of sufficiently fine particle size and will interact magnetically with the magnet to align these diamonds, a fine magnetic iron oxide powder”) Oliver teaches that iron oxide powder is used and contains the metal iron. Oliver further teaches different materials that will interact magnetically can be used. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the magnetic coating of Oliver be any ferromagnetic metal or alloy.
In response to applicant's argument that there is no reason to combine the magnetizable layer of Oliver onto the particles of Van, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Further In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both Van and Oliver teach abrasive particles that are used for grinding/abrading a surface. Oliver further teaches the magnetizable layer and moving them to be perpendicular to the surface provides the abrading structures are more effective and useful for polishing a surface and are capable of being used for a longer period of time without replacement or ineffectiveness ([Col. 8 Line 14-17]).
Applicant’s arguments of the product by process limitation have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Examiner was merely stating only the claimed structure of substantially parallel magnetizable abrasive particles are required for the limitation whether the function of during curing of the first organic binder by application of an externally applied magnetic field on the magnetizable particles is actually performed is not. However, applicant’s argument is moot as examiner has applied Oliver in view of Schladitz to teach the claim limitation. Examiner has applied Oliver to teach the function of wherein a majority of the magnetizable abrasive are aligned during curing of the first organic binder by application of an externally applied magnetic field ([Col. 8, Lines 29-32]) such that the majority of the magnetizable abrasive particles are substantially parallel ([Col. 8, Line 26-32], Fig. 10 shows the magnetic abrasives would be capable of having a majority of the magnetic abrasive particles aligned during curing of the first organic binder by application of an externally applied magnetic field to be substantially parallel, [Col. 8, Lines 24-31] describes “a magnet 431 is placed below the glass surface … the axis passing through lengthwise dimensions of the particles is perpendicular to the plane of the glass surface…”). Schladitz teaches magnetizable abrasive particles (Ref. 14, Fig. 4, [Col 2, Lines 60-Col 3, Line 3] & [Col. 4, Line 5-31]), wherein a majority of the magnetizable abrasive particles (14) are substantially parallel (Fig. 2&4) and sit in a direction from a top surface to a bottom surface ([Col. 2, Line 32-43] Fig. 2&4 shows the particles parallel in a direction from the top surface to the bottom surface). Given the rotational axis is parallel to the direction of a top surface to a bottom surface of the disk, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the abrasive particles in the first organic binder, as taught by Van as modified, to be in a direction of a top surface to a bottom surface, as taught Schladitz, thereby being parallel to the rotational axis to add the functionality of being able to be aligned in the correct orientation for effective polishing ([Col. 4, Line 5-31]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723