DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Request
The applicant is requested to provide line numbers to each claim in all future claim submissions to aide in examination and communication with the applicant about claim recitations. The applicant is thanked for aiding examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-13, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regard to claim 1, the recitation, “a first heat exchanger coupled to both the cooling loop and to the pre-cooling loop, the first heat exchanger for transferring heat from both of a natural gas and the second refrigerant to the first refrigerant” encompasses new matter as there is no support for a single heat exchanger to provide heat transfer to both natural gas and the second refrigerant. The original disclosure only has support for a plurality of heat exchangers that perform the recited function.
Every recitation of “the at least four compressor stages” in the amended section introduces new matter as there is only the at least four first compressor stages and the at least four second compressor stages and there is no support for some other at least four compressor stages as presently recited.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-13, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, the recitation, “a first heat exchanger coupled to both the cooling loop and to the pre-cooling loop, the first heat exchanger for transferring heat from both of a natural gas and the second refrigerant to the first refrigerant” is indefinite since it is unclear if the recitation requires a single heat exchanger to provide heat transfer to both natural gas and the second refrigerant. The original disclosure only has support for a plurality of heat exchangers that perform the recited function.
Every recitation of “the at least four compressor stages” in the amended section is indefinite as there is no way to determine whether this is referencing the at least four first compressor stages, the at least four second compressor stages, or some other set of at least four compressor stages.
The recitations, “the discharge from the second” and “the discharge form the third” are indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis for “the discharge”.
In regard to claim 10, the recitation, “the first heat exchanger device” is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis and is a relic of former amendments.
All of the claims have been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, and it is considered that none of the claim recitations should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-13, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellagotti (US 2016/0040927) in view of Jager (US 2009/0314030) and Prumper (US 5154571). See the 112 rejections and note that the prior art teaches the limitations as far as supported and understood.
In regard to claim(s) 1, 6, 13, Pellagotti teaches a natural gas liquefaction system (see whole disclosure, including Fig. 2), comprising:
an integrally-geared turbo-compressor (109; para. 33, 36) comprising:
a first gear wheel (163),
a first shaft (159) and a second shaft (161) coupled to the first gear wheel (163),
at least four first compressor stages (109ABCD) coupled with the first gear wheel (163, via shafts 159, 161);
at least four second compressor stages (131, 133, see at least two stages of 131 and at least two stages of 133 - para. 48);
a first intercooling stage (137) disposed between an upstream side (before 131) and a downstream side (after 133) of the second compressor stages (131, 133), the first intercooling stage (137) receives flow from the first pair of the second compressor stages (131) and delivers the flow to the second pair of the second compressor stages (133);
a prime mover (gas turbine, para. 36) coupled to the first gear wheel (163);
a pre-cooling loop (103; para. 31, 33) comprising a first condenser (115; para. 40), wherein the pre-cooling loop (103) circulates a first refrigerant (first refrigerant - propane - para. 31) through the first condenser (115) and wherein the at least four first compressor stages (109ABCD, propane stages) are adapted to pressurize the first refrigerant (propane) upstream of the first condenser (115);
a cooling loop (105) comprising a second condenser (139, para. 50), wherein the cooling loop circulates a second refrigerant (second refrigerant - mixed refrigerant - para. 31) through the second condenser (139, para. 50) and returns the second refrigerant to a first (first of 131) of the at least four second compressor stages (131, 133) and wherein the at least four second compressor stages (mixed refrigerant stages; para. 48) are adapted to pressurize the second refrigerant (mixed refrigerant) upstream of the second condenser (139);
a first heat exchanger (125ABCD, 123ABCD) coupled to both the cooling loop (105) and to the pre-cooling loop (103), the first heat exchanger (125ABCD, 123ABCD) for transferring heat from both a natural gas (para. 32) and the second refrigerant (second refrigerant - mixed refrigerant) to the first refrigerant (first refrigerant - propane); and
a second heat exchanger (145) coupled only to the cooling loop (105), the second heat exchanger (145) for transferring heat from the natural gas (para. 51) to the second refrigerant (second refrigerant - mixed refrigerant);
wherein the pre-cooling loop (103) is configured to divide the first refrigerant (first refrigerant - propane) into a four separate precooling streams (130ABCD), and to direct the first refrigerant into the four separate (130ABCD) as follows,
a first stream (130D) into a first (109D) of the at least four first compressor stages (109ABCD),
a second stream (130C) mixed with a discharge from the first (109D) of the at least four first compressor stages (109ABCD) upstream of a second (109C) of the at least four compressor stages (109ABCD),
a third stream (130B) into a discharge from the second (109C) of the at least four first compressor stages (109ABCD) and upstream of a third (109B) of the at least four first compressor stage (109ABCD), and
a fourth stream (130A) mixed with a discharge from the third of the at least four first compressor stages (109ABCD) and upstream of a fourth of the at least four first compressor stages (109ABCD),
wherein the prime mover (gas turbine, para. 36) drives each of the at least four first compressor stages (multi-stages para. 35).
Pellagotti does not explicitly teach that the prime mover is a single prime mover that also drives the at least four second compressor stages (131, 133, mixed refrigerant stages) by driving the first gear wheel (163), and the first gear wheel (163) drives a second gear wheel engaged with the first gear wheel (163), a third shaft and a fourth shaft coupled with the second gear wheel, the at least four second compressor stages (131, 133) coupled with the second gear wheel.
However, Pellagotti teaches that the first compressor stages (propane stages) and second compressor stages (mixed refrigerant stages) may each be driven by a gas turbine (para. 36, 49). In addition, Jager teaches that a single prime mover (116) may be used to drive both propane compression stages (114, para. 40, 53, 63) and mixed refrigerant compression stages (122; para. 40, 53, 63) for the purpose of reducing the space requirements (para. 54) lowering capital and running costs (para. 63) and teaches that such a single prime mover may desirably be a gas turbine (para. 64).
In addition, it is well known to combine the transmissions of several multistage turbocompressors as taught by Prumper. Prumper teaches a multistage turbocompressor (see figure and whole disclosure) that comprises: a second gear wheel (5, 51, 52) engaged with a first gear wheel (2), a third shaft (shaft of 6) and a fourth shaft (shaft of 7) coupled with the second gear wheel (5, 51, 52), a first pair of second compressor stages (compression stages mounted to shaft of 6) coupled with the third shaft (shaft of 6), and a second pair of second compressor stages (compression stages mounted to shaft of 7) coupled with the fourth shaft (shaft of 7); wherein a prime mover (connected to driveshaft 1, column 2, line 31) drives the first gear wheel (2). In addition, Prumper teaches a first shaft (shaft of 3) and a second shaft (shaft of 4) coupled with the first gear wheel (2), a first pair of first compressor stages (compressor stages mounted on shaft of 3) coupled with the first shaft (shaft of 3), a second pair of first compressor stages (compressor stages mounted on shaft of 4) coupled with the second shaft (4) (column 2, line 35-38). Prumper teaches that the first and the second gear wheel permit two turbocompressors to be arranged in one housing (column 2, line 10-15) and provide high pressure ratios, satisfactory efficiencies and provide suitable control of the compression stages (column 1, line 65-67) and permits a single driver (see driveshaft 1) to provide power to many compression stages that operate at differing speeds.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pellagotti to drive the first and the second pair of the first compressor stages (propane stages) and the first and the second pair of second compressor stages (mixed refrigerant stages) with a single gas turbine for the purpose of reducing space requirements and reducing capital costs and running costs; and further to modify the second compression stages (131, 133) of Pellagotti to be provided with the second gear wheel, third shaft, and fourth shaft as detailed above by Prumper for the purpose of distributing the power from the gas turbine not only to the propane compression stages but also to the mixed refrigerant compression stages to permit the ability to operate both multistage compressors with the same power source and also be able to operate the stages at different speeds and to reduce the space requirements by providing one housing (column 2, line 10-15) and providing desirable pressure ratios and efficiencies and suitable control of (column 1, line 65-67) so as to obtain the operational advantages provided by the transmission of Prumper while maintaining low costs with a single prime mover.
Note that the modification of Pellagotti by the teachings of Jager and Prumper, as outlined, results in the second gear wheel (5, 51, 52-Prumper) engaged with the first gear wheel (163-Pellagotti), a third shaft (shaft of 6-Prumper) and a fourth shaft (shaft of 7-Prumper) coupled with the second gear wheel (5, 51, 52-Prumper), the at least four second compressor stages (131, 133) coupled with the second gear wheel (5, 51, 52-Prumper), the single prime mover (as modified from Jager -116) drives the first gear wheel (163), the first gear wheel (163) drives the second gear wheel (Prumper- 5, 51, 52) so that the single prime mover (Jager -116) drives each of the at least four first compressor stages (109ABCD) and the at least four second compressor stages (131, 133).
In addition, Pellagotti does not teach a first inter-cooling stage between a second and third of the at least four second compressor stages (131, 133) and a second inter-cooling stage between the third and a fourth of the at least second compressor stages (131, 133).
However, providing intercooling between compression stages is routine and ordinary as immediately demonstrated by the inter-cooling teachings of the first compressor stages of Pellagotti (see at least a first inter-cooling stage 155 between a second 109C and a third compressor stage 109B, and a second inter-cooling stage 157 between the third 109B and a fourth compressor stage 109A). Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the at least four second compressor stages (131, 133) of Pellagotti to provide intercooling at least between the second stage and the third stage of the at least four second compressors (131, 133) and between the third stage and the fourth stage of the at least four second compressors (131, 133) for the purpose of reducing the temperature of the compressed fluid and for improving the efficiency of the second compressing stages as is routine and ordinary for compression stages.
In regard to claim 6, Pellagotti, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 6, since Prumper teaches that the diameter of the second gear wheel (5, 51, 52-Prumper) is smaller than the diameter of the first gear wheel (2-Prumper corresponding to the first gear wheel 163 in Pellagotti).
In regard to claim 9, Pellagotti teaches a plurality of first expansion elements (119ABCD) sequentially arranged in the pre-cooling loop (103) and configured for expanding the first refrigerant (first refrigerant - propane) at a plurality of decreasing pressure levels (para. 42).
In regard to claim 10, Pellagotti teaches at least one first auxiliary expansion element (one of 121ABCD) arranged in the pre-cooling loop (103) and at least one first auxiliary heat exchanger (one of 125ABCD) of the first heat exchanger (125ABCD) configured for receiving a portion of said first refrigerant (propane) expanded through the at least one first auxiliary expansion element (one of 121ABCD) and for transferring the heat from the second refrigerant (mixed refrigerant) to the first refrigerant (propane refrigerant).
In regard to claim 11, Pellagotti teaches a plurality of first auxiliary expansion elements (121ABCD) sequentially arranged in the pre-cooling loop (103) and configured for expanding the first refrigerant (propane) at a plurality of decreasing pressure levels (para. 44).
In regard to claim 12, Pellagotti teaches that the first refrigerant (propane) comprises a gas with a molecular weight of 40 (para. 31).
In rehearsal in regard to claim 13, Pellagotti, as modified, teaches that the single prime mover is a gas turbine (see para. 36, 49 and modification above).
In regard to claim 19, Pellagotti, as modified, teaches that the first gear wheel (2-Prumper corresponding to the first gear wheel 163 of Pellagotti) and the second gear wheel (5, 51, 52) mesh directly with one another (see the figure).
In regard to claim 20, Pellagotti, as modified, teaches that the second refrigerant (second refrigerant - mixed refrigerant) is a mixed refrigerant (para. 31).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/2026 have been fully considered and are that the amendment overcomes the prior art, however they are not persuasive as the detailed rejection makes clear above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on the 892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN F PETTITT whose telephone number is (571)272-0771. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 9-5p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR): http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN F PETTITT, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763