DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 5-6, 9, 12-14, and 16-26 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleim (US 3,165,463) in view of Soled (US 6,162,350) and Dysard (WO 2005/056728).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Gleim teaches mixing a distillate hydrocarbon feed with an activated organometallic compound to obtain a combined feed (column 1, lines 1-45 and column 2, lines 45-column 3, lines 75); mixing the combined feed with gaseous hydrogen to hydroprocess the combined feed under hydrogen atmosphere at a temperature in the range of 225-500°C and a pressure range of 500-5000 psig to decompose the organometallic catalyst (column 3, lines 1-75). Gleim teaches separating the first gaseous phase from a hydrocarbon liquid phase free from catalyst and a catalyst containing sludge (column 3, lines 50-75). Gleim teaches the hydrocarbon liquid is separated from the catalyst sludge by centrifugal separation (column 8, lines 1-40), reading on the claimed “metal capture unit being a centrifuge”.
Gleim teaches 0.1-10% activated catalyst (column 4, lines 30-70). Gleim teaches the organo metallic compound is selected from iron, and molybdenum (column 4, lines 1-65).
Gleim teaches hydrofining various sulfur/nitrogen containing feedstocks including heavy hydrocarbons, crude oil, and distillates obtained therefrom (column 1, lines 20-45).
Gleim does not explicitly disclose (1) which distillates are used as feedstocks (2) further fractionation of the products (3) adsorption as the metal removal step.
Regarding (1), Soled teaches a similar hydrofining process in which various distillates are treated to remove sulfur and nitrogen therefrom, including naphtha and diesel (column 23, line 59-column 24, line 30). Examiner considers diesel feeds to be treated to remove sulfur to read on the claimed “sour diesel or partially hydrotreated diesel”, as they have sulfur to be removed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected an appropriate sulfur/nitrogen containing distillate feed in the process of Gleim, such as the naphtha and diesel disclosed by Soled, since Soled teaches that naphtha and diesel feeds contain nitrogen and sulfur compounds that may be removed by hydroprocessing.
Regarding (2), Examiner notes that fractionation of hydrotreated effluent is well known in the art in order to recover various product fractions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed well known fractionation to the effluent, in order to recover desired product fractions. It is not seen where such fractionation would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding (3), Dysard teaches a method for treating diesel to remove sulfur and nitrogen (abstract). Dysard teaches that after hydrotreatment stage, the effluent is fed to an adsorbent stage to further remove contaminants [0014]. Dysard teaches various sorbents including silica, alumina, activated carbon, sieves, or clay [0014].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Dysard adsorption step in combination with the hydrotreatment of the previous combination, for the benefit of obtaining further purification. It is expected that the same metal capture would occur as claimed, since Dysard teaches the same contact with the same adsorbents as claimed. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps in this regard.
Regarding claim 5, Gleim does not explicitly disclose residence time.
However, Examiner notes that residence time is a well-known process variable for hydrotreatment. Soled teaches selection of appropriate reaction times including 1 min to 24 hours (column 11, lines 14-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected an appropriate residence time, such as that disclosed by Soled, for the benefit of obtaining the desired sulfur and nitrogen removal.
Regarding claim 6, Gleim teaches slurry reactor (column 2, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 9, Gleim teaches recycling the recovered catalyst in elemental or combined form (column 6, lines 1-50). The instant claims appear to contain an additional metal recovery step. Examiner considers this to be mere duplication of steps. Alternatively, the person having ordinary skill in the art may combine two or more of the Gleim catalyst recovery steps, such as centrifuge, in order to recover the desired catalytic metal.
Regarding claims 13-14, Dysard teaches that the adsorbents may be desorbed by an elution solvent such as diesel, so that the adsorbents can be reused in the process [0014]. Examiner notes that the instant specification teaches the same treatment with diesel to perform desorption of metal [0032]. In this regard, it is not clear where Applicant has distinguished the Dysard diesel wash desorption step from the claimed diesel desorption step to recover metal.
Claims 16-20 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleim (US 3,165,463) in view of Soled (US 6,162,350) and Dysard (WO 2005/056728) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aldridge (US 4,066,530).
Regarding claims 16-20 and 22-24, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. The further claims contain a slightly different order of separation. Examiner notes that order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, C).
Further, Aldridge teaches a similar process for hydroconversion with organometallic catalyst followed by separation steps. Aldridge teaches multiple separation steps, in different orders, in order to obtain the same recovery of catalytic materially and liquid products (see figure, column 5, line 35-column 6, line 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the order of fractions, such as disclosed by Aldridge, since the order of steps does not appear to impact the result. Each of the prior art results in the same separation of solids, liquid products, and gas products.
Regarding claims 25-26, Dysard teaches various sorbents including silica, alumina, activated carbon, sieves, or clay [0014].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleim (US 3,165,463) in view of Soled (US 6,162,350) and Dysard (WO 2005/056728) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Aldridge (US 4,066,530).
Regarding claim 21, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. The further claims contain a slightly different order of separation. Examiner notes that order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, C).
Further, Aldridge teaches a similar process for hydroconversion with organometallic catalyst followed by separation steps. Aldridge teaches multiple separation steps, in different orders, in order to obtain the same recovery of catalytic materially and liquid products (see figure, column 5, line 35-column 6, line 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the order of fractions, such as disclosed by Aldridge, since the order of steps does not appear to impact the result. Each of the prior art results in the same separation of solids, liquid products, and gas products.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 17 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s arguments to be:
The claims have been amended based on the working example which results in 12.98 ppm sulfur in the final product.
Gleim discloses a supported fixed bed catalyst, and is fundamentally different from the instant process which encompasses in-situ decomposition of metals in slurry mode hydrotreatment. The person having ordinary skill in the art would not combine the references as discussed in the office action, since Gleim is a fixed bed.
Regarding Applicant’s first argument, it is not clear how the examples in the specification show evidence of new or unexpected results in comparison with the Gleim reference. Gleim teaches the claimed iron/molybdenum organometallic catalyst in a slurry reactor operated at conditions encompassing the claimed ranges (columns 3-4). The examples in the instant specification are more limited, and require SOSCAT-9 molybdenum in an amount of 10000 ppm and with 0.5 g dimethyl disulfide and 50 grams of sour diesel, using specific conditions, in order to obtain the sulfur reduction discussed. In contrast, the instant claims are simply drawn to “organometallic compound”, and do not require the amounts of reactants or sulfur reduction as discussed in the instant specification example. In this regard, Applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the claim language.
Regarding Applicant’s second argument, Gleim teaches organometallic iron/molybdenum catalyst in colloidally dispersed unsupported form, and decomposed in a slurry reactor (column 2, 45- column 4, line 70). In this regard, Examiner emphasizes that Gleim teaches colloidal organometallic catalyst in a slurry reactor, which is not a fixed bed heterogeneous catalyst. Gleim teaches that the invention related to hydrofining heavy hydrocarbon charges to remove sulfur and nitrogen (column 1, lines 19-25). Gleim teaches that crude petroleum, heavy hydrocarbons, and distillates obtain therefrom contain nitrogen and sulfur in large quantities (column 1, lines 25-40). In this regard, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use distillate feeds in the Gleim process, since Gleim teaches that they are also examples of hydrocarbon feeds that contain large quantities of nitrogen and sulfur that must be removed. Dysard is similarly analogous, in that it is also drawn to hydrotreatment of diesel hydrocarbon feeds to remove contaminants.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gatsis (US 4,943,548) – previously relied upon teaches i. mixing a hydrocarbon feed and an organometallic catalyst to obtain a combined feed (column 2, lines 48-67); mixing the combined feed with gaseous hydrogen to hydroprocess the combine feed (column 2, lines 48-67) at temperatures of 343-538°C and pressure of 500-5000 psig (34.48-344 bar) (column 4, lines 55-65), which overlaps with the claimed ranges. Gatsis teaches the hydroconverted product is separated from the catalyst by centrifuge (column 4, line 55-column 5, line 5).
Derouane (US 4,578,181) – previously relied upon teaches a similar process for hydroconversion of hydrocarbon feeds with organometallic catalysts. Derouane teaches similar centrifuge steps to recover recycle catalyst material 43 as well as gas and further distillable liquids 46 (see figure, column 5, line45-column 6, line14).
Kramer (US 5,298,152) - Kramer shows two separators followed by two distillation units (see figure). Kramer teaches an atmospheric distillation column (see figure 24).
Havlik (US 2014/0138283) – previously relied upon, Havlik teaches a similar method for recovering catalytic metal using adsorption in addition or alternative to centrifugal separation [0010], [0021], [0024], [0025]. Havlik teaches using clay sorbent [0025].
Prajapati (US 2016/0288101) – previously relied upon teaches hydroprocessing followed by solvent extraction to recover metals from the product stream [0033-0048].
Reynolds (US 2008/0135450) – previously relied upon teaches centrifuging and metals recovery steps [0016-0022]. Reynolds teaches fractionating liquid products prior to metals recovery steps.
Natori (US 5,792,824) – previously relied upon teaches adsorption separation and filtration are well known in the art to separate organometallic hydrogenation catalyst from hydrotreated hydrocarbons (column 44, lines 30-37 and column 42, lines 26-50).
Kalnes (US 5,028,313) – teaches multiple separation and distillation steps after hydrotreatment (see figure).
Bauer (US 2010/0122939) – teaches filtration and product fractionation after slurry processing (see figure).
Biswas (US 2009/0008290) – teaches recovery of catalyst slurry by solvent deasphalting, followed by product separation (See figure).
Chabot (US 2010/0065472) – teaches methods for recovery recycle slurry catalyst in hydroprocessing systems (see figure).
Lott (US 2005/0241991) – teaches catalyst withdrawal followed by fractionation steps (see figure 2c).
Doubrava (US 2003/0209106) – teaches filter steps to recover catalytic metals (abstract).
Odueyungbo (US 2012/0198718) – teaches filtration to recover hydroprocessing catalyst (abstract).
Gotteland (US 2013/0150232) – teaches recovery of slurry catalyst (see figure).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771