DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 01/19/2026 concerning application no. 16/349,405 filed on 05/13/2019.
Claims 1, 14, 17, 19, 35, 37, 39, 41, 45, 48, 50-54, and 73-76 are pending (Claims 53-54 are withdrawn from consideration).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Yodh ‘997, Applicant argues that it does not disclose the light intensity information for each of the source and detector distances.
Examiner disagrees. Mere allegation that the reference does not teach the amended language is unpersuasive, without support, and contradictory to the very teachings of Yodh ‘997. MPEP 716.01(c) establishes “Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).” Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Furthermore, Yodh ‘997 clearly accounts for “light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance”. Paragraph 0019 establishes that the noninvasive probes have short and long source detector separations. Fig. 1 shows that each of the source detector separations have their respective normalized intensity autocorrelation functions with respect to the time, tau. Paragraph 0042 teaches that these intensity fluctuations are being characterized by the normalized intensity autocorrelation functions. Paragraph 0097 even establishes that the intensity autocorrelation function accounts for the source detector separation and the detected light intensity.
Assuming, arguendo, Yodh ‘997 was deficient regarding “light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance”, the use of light intensity information for each source detector distance is not novel. It is extremely well-known in the art as evidenced by at least Benni (PGPUB No. US 2001/0047128), Li et al. (PGPUB No. US 2011/0112387), Benni (PGPUB No. US 2009/0182209), Funane et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0102907), Steuer et al. (PGPUB No. US 2004/0116817), Yu et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0278715), Kirby et al. (US Patent No. 11,147,481), Khalil et al. (US Patent No. 6,615,061), Zubkov et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0007132), Cheng et al. (PGPUB No. US 2002/0035317), Bernreuter (PGPUB No. US 2011/0060200), Khalil et al. (PGPUB No. US 2002/0026106), Seetamraju et al. (PGPUB No. US 2012/0184831), Chen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2004/0024297), Yu et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0278715), and Cheng et al. (PGPUB No. US 2002/0033454).
Examiner maintains the rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Yodh ‘995, Applicant argues that it does not disclose the light intensity information for each of the source and detector distances.
Examiner disagrees. Mere allegation that the reference does not teach the amended language is unpersuasive, without support, and contradictory to the very teachings of Yodh ‘995. MPEP 716.01(c) establishes “Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).” Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Furthermore, Yodh ‘995 clearly accounts for “light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance”. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the light intensity and wavelengths are recorded at each detector position. Paragraph 0074 teaches that the intensity data at both the both wavelengths will be fit to a multi-distance, two-layer diffusion model, yielding the oxy- and deoxyhemoglobin concentrations. Paragraph 0052 teaches that the source detector separations are the basis for assessment of the blood flow measure where the light is quantified and with respect to the optical properties and thickness are considered. See Fig. 4 that shows the biological assessment according to the source detector separations. MPEP 2145 establishes “If a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case. See, e.g., In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 692, 16 USPQ2d 1897, 1901 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (en banc). Rebuttal evidence and arguments can be presented in the specification, In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746, 750, 34 USPQ2d 1684, 1687 (Fed. Cir. 1995), by counsel, In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 299, 36 USPQ2d 1089, 1094-95 (Fed. Cir. 1995), or by way of an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, e.g., Soni, 54 F.3d at 750, 34 USPQ2d at 1687; In re Piasecki, 745 F.2d 1468, 1474, 223 USPQ 785, 789-90 (Fed. Cir. 1984). However, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).” In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Verdeccchia teaches the intensity function with respect to the source detector distances. Page 12 teaches that the intensity autocorrelation curves are from the three source detector distances. Fig. 1 shows each of these intensity relationships with respect to the source detector separation. Page 1 teaches that the insanity correlation functions are according to the detected light intensity fluctuations.
Examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 74-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 74 recites “wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined without a property of the target medium resulting from a separate near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS) system”. The cited phraseology clearly signifies a “negative” or “exclusionary” limitation for which the applicants have no support in the original disclosure. Negative limitations in a claim which do not appear in the specification as filed introduce new concepts and violate the description requirement of 35 USC 112(a), Ex Parte Grasselli, Suresh, and Miller, 231 USPQ 393, 394 (Bd. Pat. App. and Inter. 1983); 783 F. 2d 453. The insertion of the above phraseology as described above positively excludes “a separate NIRS system” and the determination “without a property of the target medium resulting from” the separate NIRS system, however, there is no support in the originally filed specification for such exclusions. While the originally filed specification is silent with respect to the use of “a separate NIRS system” and the determination “without a property of the target medium resulting from” the separate NIRS system, it is noted that as stated in MPEP 2173.05(i), the “mere absence of a positive recitation is not the basis for an exclusion.”
Claim 75 recites “wherein the processor is configured to estimate, using the DCS detector signal, static properties of the target medium, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined based on the static properties”. While paragraph 0100 establishes assessment of the static properties of tissue, the disclosure clearly states “We aim to decouple the contribution of static (absorption and scattering) and dynamic (flow) properties of the tissue at large separations”. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art how the decoupling will yield dynamics such that they are “determined based on the static properties”. Therefore, the claim contains subject matter which is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one with ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claim invention at the time of filing.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are also rejected because they inherit the deficiencies of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claims 73-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 73 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “wherein the processor is configured to extract, from the DCS detector signal, measurement information related to a flow of fluid within the target medium, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined using the measurement information extracted from the DCS detector signal”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the flow is assessed based on the information that indicates it, which would be the dynamics or that the dynamics are assessed based on the flow. Fluid flow is inherently dynamic and changes over time.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 74 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined without a property of the target medium resulting from a separate near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS) system”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the separate NIRS is actively claimed or not. That is, the assessment of the dynamics can be performed via an integrated NIRS or a system without NIRS entirely.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 75 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined based on the static properties”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art how the dynamics of a target medium are based on static properties. A static property is a constant and dynamic properties are prone to alteration.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, 17, 35, 37, 41, 45, 48, 51-52, and 73-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yodh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0353997) in view of Mayer et al. (US Patent No. 8,320,981).
Regarding claim 1, Yodh teaches a multi-distance, multi-wavelength diffuse correlation spectroscopy (MD-MW DCS) system comprising:
a set of DCS light sources (Paragraph 0027 teaches source detector pairs and differing distances and with two, three, or more separation distances. Paragraph 0116 teaches a user may use two, three, or even more source-detector pairs. Paragraph 0117 teaches application of diffuse correlation spectroscopy) including:
a first DCS light source associated with a first source location (Paragraph 0027 teaches source detector pairs and differing distances and with two, three, or more separation distances. Paragraph 0116 teaches a user may use two, three, or even more source-detector pairs. Paragraph 0117 teaches application of diffuse correlation spectroscopy) and configured to:
emit, from the first source location, a first light having a first wavelength (Paragraph 0112 teaches illumination may be light between 300 nm and 1500 nm in wavelength; one suitable typical wavelength range is between about 660 and about 930 nm. The illumination is conducted by the source detector pairs. Paragraph 0104 teaches operation at multiple wavelengths); and
transmit, from the first source location, the first light into a target medium at a single transmission location (Paragraph 0026 teaches the illumination of the cerebral tissue via the multiple source detector pairs. Fig. 1); and
a second DCS light source associated with a second source location and configured to:
emit, from the second source location, a second light having a second wavelength (Paragraph 0112 teaches illumination may be light between 300 nm and 1500 nm in wavelength; one suitable typical wavelength range is between about 660 and about 930 nm. The illumination is conducted by the source detector pairs. Paragraph 0104 teaches operation at multiple wavelengths); and
transmit, from the second source location, the second light into the target medium at the single transmission location (Paragraph 0026 teaches the illumination of the cerebral tissue via the multiple source detector pairs. Fig. 1);
a set of DCS detectors (Paragraph 0027 teaches source detector pairs and differing distances and with two, three, or more separation distances. Paragraph 0116 teaches a user may use two, three, or even more source-detector pairs. Paragraph 0117 teaches application of diffuse correlation spectroscopy) including:
a first DCS detector (Paragraph 0027 teaches source detector pairs and differing distances and with two, three, or more separation distances. Paragraph 0116 teaches a user may use two, three, or even more source-detector pairs. Paragraph 0117 teaches application of diffuse correlation spectroscopy) configured to:
receive, from the target medium, at least a portion of the first light (Paragraph 0026 teaches the collection of the illumination of the cerebral tissue via the multiple source detector pairs. Fig. 1);and
generate a first DCS detector signal in response to receiving the at least a portion of the first light (Paragraph 0020 teaches the collection of the DCS flow signals with respect to the anatomy. Paragraph 0026 teaches the collection of the signal that represents the hemodynamics); and
a second DCS detector (Paragraph 0027 teaches source detector pairs and differing distances and with two, three, or more separation distances. Paragraph 0116 teaches a user may use two, three, or even more source-detector pairs. Paragraph 0117 teaches application of diffuse correlation spectroscopy) configured to:
receive, from the target medium, at least a portion of the second light (Paragraph 0026 teaches the collection of the illumination of the cerebral tissue via the multiple source detector pairs. Fig. 1); and
generate a second DCS detector signal in response to receiving the at least a portion of the second light (Paragraph 0020 teaches the collection of the DCS flow signals with respect to the anatomy. Paragraph 0026 teaches the collection of the signal that represents the hemodynamics);
wherein the first DCS detector receives the at least a portion of the first light at a first detector location positioned at a first source-detector distance relative to the single transmission location, and the second DCS detector receives the at least a portion of the second light at a second detector location positioned at a second source-detector distance relative to the single transmission location, wherein the first source-detector distance is different than the second source-detector distance, wherein the first detector location and the second detector location are external to the target medium such that the first DCS detector receives the at least a portion of the first light non-invasively and the second DCS detect receives the at least a portion of the second light non-invasively (Paragraph 0027 teaches source detector pairs and differing distances and with two, three, or more separation distances. Paragraph 0116 teaches a user may use two, three, or even more source-detector pairs. Paragraph 0117 teaches application of diffuse correlation spectroscopy. Paragraph 0020 teaches the collection of the DCS flow signals with respect to the anatomy. Paragraph 0026 teaches the collection of the signal that represents the hemodynamics. Paragraph 0019 teaches noninvasively assessment of the head with short and long source-detector separations. The anatomy is assessed based on these pairs to get information of the parts of the anatomy. See Fig. 1);
a memory storing one or more equations relating a correlation function to dynamics of scattering particles within the target medium (Paragraph 0271 teaches a device configured to compute intensity correlation functions from photon counts. Such a device may be in electronic communication, optical communication, or both with at least one of the detectors of the first and second source-detector pairs. Suitable such devices include computers (stationary and portable), smartphones, tablet computers, microcontrollers and processors, field programmable gate arrays, electronic circuits and the like. It is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions); and
a processor coupled to the set of DCS detectors and the memory (Paragraph 0271 teaches a device configured to compute intensity correlation functions from photon counts. Such a device may be in electronic communication, optical communication, or both with at least one of the detectors of the first and second source-detector pairs. Suitable such devices include computers (stationary and portable), smartphones, tablet computers, microcontrollers and processors, field programmable gate arrays, electronic circuits and the like. It is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions.), the processor configured to:
receive the first DCS detector signal and the second DCS detector signal, thereby generating a DCS detector signal including photon arrival time information, wavelength information, source-detector distance information, and light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance; (Paragraphs 0020-21 teaches the extension of Modified Beer Lambert to the DCS measurement where the monitoring time, delay time, and the source detector separation are considered in the functions. Paragraph 0112 teaches illumination may be light between 300 nm and 1500 nm in wavelength; one suitable typical wavelength range is between about 660 and about 930 nm. The illumination is conducted by the source detector pairs. Paragraph 0104 teaches operation at multiple wavelengths. Paragraph 0104 teaches that the cerebral absorption monitoring at multiple light wavelengths in turn enables the computation of cerebral oxy-hemoglobin, deoxy-hemoglobin, and blood oxygen saturation. Paragraph 0019 establishes that the noninvasive probes have short and long source detector separations. Fig. 1 shows that each of the source detector separations have their respective normalized intensity autocorrelation functions with respect to the time, tau. Paragraph 0042 teaches that these intensity fluctuations are being characterized by the normalized intensity autocorrelation functions. Paragraph 0097 establishes that the intensity autocorrelation function accounts for the source detector separation and the detected light intensity); and
determine the dynamics of the target medium non-invasively using the DCS detector signal, and the one or more equations relating the correlation function to dynamics of scattering particles within the target medium, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined based at least in part on the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance (Paragraphs 0020-21 teaches the extension of Modified Beer Lambert to the DCS measurement where the monitoring time, delay time, and the source detector separation are considered in the functions. Paragraph 0112 teaches illumination may be light between 300 nm and 1500 nm in wavelength; one suitable typical wavelength range is between about 660 and about 930 nm. The illumination is conducted by the source detector pairs. Paragraph 0104 teaches operation at multiple wavelengths).
However, Yodh is silent regarding a system,
wherein the plurality of sources are emitting such that their respective light enters the target medium at the single transmission location.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding spectroscopy for blood parameters with multiple light sources and detectors, Mayer teaches a system,
emit, from the first source location, a first light having a first wavelength (Abstract taches that the light sources are to transmit toward vascularized tissue, in a time multiplexed manner, light having a first wavelength of approximately 660 nm, light having a second wavelength of approximately 810 nm, light having a third wavelength of approximately 910 nm, and light having a fourth wavelength of approximately 980 nm); and
transmit, from the first source location, the first light into a target medium at a single transmission location such that the first light enters the target medium at the single transmission location (Fig. 1 shows the plurality of sources located at differing locations. Fig. 3 shows transmission at a single target location for analysis of the blood. Abstract taches that the light sources are to transmit toward vascularized tissue, in a time multiplexed manner, light having a first wavelength of approximately 660 nm, light having a second wavelength of approximately 810 nm, light having a third wavelength of approximately 910 nm, and light having a fourth wavelength of approximately 980 nm);
emit, from the second source location, a second light having a second wavelength (Abstract taches that the light sources are to transmit toward vascularized tissue, in a time multiplexed manner, light having a first wavelength of approximately 660 nm, light having a second wavelength of approximately 810 nm, light having a third wavelength of approximately 910 nm, and light having a fourth wavelength of approximately 980 nm); and
transmit, from the second source location, the second light into the target medium at the single transmission location such that the second light enters the target medium at the single transmission location (Fig. 1 shows the plurality of sources located at differing locations. Fig. 3 shows transmission at a single target location for analysis of the blood. Abstract taches that the light sources are to transmit toward vascularized tissue, in a time multiplexed manner, light having a first wavelength of approximately 660 nm, light having a second wavelength of approximately 810 nm, light having a third wavelength of approximately 910 nm, and light having a fourth wavelength of approximately 980 nm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yodh with Mayer’s teaching of targeting a common single transmission location with varying wavelength transmitting sources. This modified apparatus would allow the user to measure blood oxygen saturation, tissue oxygen saturation, hemoglobin concentration, and/or tissue hydration (Abstract of Mayer). Furthermore, the modification would be beneficial to increase the accuracy of such sensors (Col. 1, lines 47-51 of Mayer).
Regarding claim 14, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS detectors includes a third DCS detector configured to receive at least a portion of the third light from the target medium, wherein the third DCS detector is configured to generate a third DCS detector signal in response to receiving the at least a portion of the third light, wherein the third DCS detector receives the at least a portion of the third light at a third detector location positioned a third source-detector distance relative to the single transmission location, wherein the first source-detector distance, the second source-detector distance, and the third source-detector distance are different (Paragraph 0027 teaches source detector pairs and differing distances and with two, three, or more separation distances. Paragraph 0116 teaches a user may use two, three, or even more source-detector pairs. Paragraph 0117 teaches application of diffuse correlation spectroscopy. Paragraph 0112 teaches illumination may be light between 300 nm and 1500 nm in wavelength; one suitable typical wavelength range is between about 660 and about 930 nm. The illumination is conducted by the source detector pairs. Paragraph 0104 teaches operation at multiple wavelengths).
However, Yodh is silent regarding a system, wherein the set of DCS light sources includes a third DCS light source associated with a third source location and configured to emit a third light having a third wavelength, the third DCS light source configured to transmit, from the third source location, the third light into the target medium at the single transmission location such that the third light enters the target medium at the single transmission location, wherein the first wavelength, the second wavelength, and the third wavelength are different.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding spectroscopy for blood parameters with multiple light sources and detectors, Mayer teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS light sources includes a third DCS light source associated with a third source location and configured to emit a third light having a third wavelength, the third DCS light source configured to transmit, from the third source location, the third light into the target medium at the single transmission location such that the third light enters the target medium at the single transmission location, wherein the first wavelength, the second wavelength, and the third wavelength are different (Fig. 1 shows the plurality of sources located at differing locations. Fig. 3 shows transmission at a single target location for analysis of the blood. Abstract taches that the light sources are to transmit toward vascularized tissue, in a time multiplexed manner, light having a first wavelength of approximately 660 nm, light having a second wavelength of approximately 810 nm, light having a third wavelength of approximately 910 nm, and light having a fourth wavelength of approximately 980 nm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yodh with Mayer’s teaching of a third source with a different location and varying wavelengths. This modified apparatus would allow the user to measure blood oxygen saturation, tissue oxygen saturation, hemoglobin concentration, and/or tissue hydration (Abstract of Mayer). Furthermore, the modification would be beneficial to increase the accuracy of such sensors (Col. 1, lines 47-51 of Mayer).
Regarding claim 17, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the first source-detector distance is between 0.1 cm and 2.0 cm and the second source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 3.0 cm, wherein the second source-detector distance is greater than the first source-detector distance (Paragraph 0027 teaches source detector pairs and differing distances and with two, three, or more separation distances. Paragraph 0019 teaches that the source detector pairs can be 0.5 cm and 2.5 cm).
Regarding claim 35, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS light sources includes at least one of a diode laser, a solid-state laser, a fiber laser, a vertical cavity surface- emitting laser (VCSEL), a DBR laser, a Fabry-Perot laser, a ridge laser, or a tapered laser (Paragraph 0119 teaches that the target is illuminated with coherent laser light using fiber optics).
Regarding claim 37, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS light sources are configured to emit light at a wavelength of between 400 nm and 1800 nm or an average power of between 10 pW and 10W (Paragraph 0112 teaches illumination may be light between 300 nm and 1500 nm in wavelength; one suitable typical wavelength range is between about 660 and about 930 nm).
Regarding claim 41, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, the system further comprising a near infrared spectroscopy light source separate from the set of DCS light sources and a near infrared spectroscopy detector separate from the set of DCS light detectors, wherein the near infrared spectroscopy light source is configured to emit light having at least one property different from the first light and the second light (Paragraph 0010. Teaches that a combination of DCS and NIRs can be applied. Paragraph 0237 teaches in the DCS measurement, a continuous wave, long coherence length 785 nm laser and in the NIRS measurement, three lasers with operation of 690 nm, 785 nm, and 830 nm are used at 70 MHz with sequential cycling).
Regarding claim 45, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS detectors includes a detector selected from the group consisting of a single-photon avalanche photodiode detector, a photomultiplier tube, a Si, Ge, InGaAs, PbS, PbSe or HgCdTe photodiode or PIN photodiode, phototransistors, MSM photodetectors, CCD and CMOS detector arrays, LCD, silicon photomultipliers, multi-pixel-photon-counters, and combinations thereof (Paragraph 0144 teaches that the detector can be a photon counting avalanche diode, a photomultiplier tube (PMT), a photo diodes (PD), an avalanche photodiode (APD), a charge coupled device (CCD), a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS), or any combination thereof).
Regarding claim 48, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, the system further comprising at least one of: a plurality of waveguides or a plurality of lenses, wherein the at least one of the plurality of waveguides or the plurality of lenses is configured to couple the set of DCS light sources to the target medium (Paragraph 0147 teaches a fiber optic, a prism or mirror, a short optical component, and a lens or other optical component that interfaces with the skin. Paragraphs 0154-55 teaches the use of a lens and fiber optic).
Regarding claim 51, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS detectors are configured to collect light from one speckle (Paragraph 0163 teaches that DCS detects tissue blood flow using speckle correlation techniques).
Regarding claim 52, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Yodh is silent regarding a system, wherein the first wavelength and the second wavelength are separated from one another by between 20 nm and 500 nm.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding spectroscopy for blood parameters with multiple light sources and detectors, Mayer teaches a system, wherein the first wavelength and the second wavelength are separated from one another by between 20 nm and 500 nm (Abstract taches that the light sources are to transmit toward vascularized tissue, in a time multiplexed manner, light having a first wavelength of approximately 660 nm, light having a second wavelength of approximately 810 nm, light having a third wavelength of approximately 910 nm, and light having a fourth wavelength of approximately 980 nm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yodh with Mayer’s teaching of varying wavelengths that are close to each other with respect to a specified range. This modified apparatus would allow the user to measure blood oxygen saturation, tissue oxygen saturation, hemoglobin concentration, and/or tissue hydration (Abstract of Mayer). Furthermore, the modification would be beneficial to increase the accuracy of such sensors (Col. 1, lines 47-51 of Mayer).
Regarding claim 73, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the processor is configured to extract, from the DCS detector signal, measurement information related to a flow of fluid within the target medium, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined using the measurement information extracted from the DCS detector signal (Paragraph 0005 teaches that DCS can be used in the continuous measure of blood flow and volume. Paragraph 0006 teaches that the system addresses the need for collecting and monitoring hemodynamic information in the body tissue including blood flow. Paragraphs 0020-22 teaches the assessment of blood flow via the extension of Modified Beer Lambert to the DCS measurement where the monitoring time, delay time, and the source detector separation are considered in the functions).
Regarding claim 74, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined without a property of the target medium resulting from a separate near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS) system (Paragraph 0008 teaches assessment and monitoring via DCS. Paragraph 0010 teaches that DCS and DOS can operate together).
Regarding claim 75, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the processor is configured to estimate, using the DCS detector signal, static properties of the target medium, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined based on the static properties (Paragraph 0165 teaches the use of the absorption and scattering coefficients. Paragraph 0171 teaches the characterization of the coefficients).
Regarding claim 76, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 75, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the static properties includes at least one of: an absorption coefficient; or a reduced scattering coefficient (Paragraph 0165 teaches the use of the absorption and scattering coefficients. Paragraph 0171 teaches the characterization of the coefficients).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yodh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0353997) in view of Mayer et al. (US Patent No. 8,320,981) further in view of Tachtsidis et al. ("A Hybrid Multi-Distance Phase and Broadband Spatially Resolved Spectrometer and Algorithm for Resolving Absolute Concentrations of Chromophores in the Near-Infrared Light", 2010).
Regarding claim 19, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 14, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Yodh and Mayer is silent regarding a system, wherein the first source-detector distance is between 0.1 cm and 2.0 cm, the second source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 3.0 cm, and the third source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 5.0 cm, wherein the second source- detector distance is greater than the first source-detector distance and the third source-detector distance is greater than the second source-detector distance.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding multiple sources and detectors for spectroscopy, Tachtsidis teaches a system, wherein the first source-detector distance is between 0.1 cm and 2.0 cm, the second source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 3.0 cm, and the third source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 5.0 cm, wherein the second source- detector distance is greater than the first source-detector distance and the third source-detector distance is greater than the second source-detector distance (Fig. 1 shows the distance between the lower source to the bottom left detector to be 2 cm and the upper right source to the upper detector to be 3 cm. The upper left source is 3.5 cm to the upper detector).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Yodh and Mayer with Tachtsidis’s teaching of varying distances of the detector to sources. This modified apparatus would allow the user to acquire data with better resolution and better signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (Introduction of Tachtsidis). Furthermore, the modification will allow a more accurate quantification of chromophores (Discussion of Tachtsidis).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yodh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0353997) in view of Mayer et al. (US Patent No. 8,320,981) further in view of Fantini et al. ("Frequency--domain multichannel optical detector for noninvasive tissue spectroscopy and oximetry", January 1995, Optical Engineering).
Regarding claim 39, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, the system further comprising a light source driver coupled to a computer and the set of DCS light sources (Paragraph 0271 teaches a device configured to compute intensity correlation functions from photon counts. Such a device may be in electronic communication, optical communication, or both with at least one of the detectors of the first and second source-detector pairs. Suitable such devices include computers (stationary and portable), smartphones, tablet computers, microcontrollers and processors, field programmable gate arrays, electronic circuits and the like. See Fig. 3).
However, the combination of Yodh and Mayer is silent regarding a system, wherein the light source driver is configured to control the first DCS light source and the second DCS light source to multiplex the first light and the second light.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding noninvasive tissue spectroscopy with multiple light sources, Fantini teaches a system, wherein the light source driver is configured to control the first DCS light source and the second DCS light source to multiplex the first light and the second light (Paragraph 1 of the “Feature 3” section teaches that the 8 light sources are controlled with a multiplexer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Yodh and Mayer with Fantini’s teaching of multiplexing of light sources. This modified system would allow the user to real-time monitoring of measured parameters that include hemoglobin values with a cost-effective, reliable, and safe device (Abstract and Description of the Instrument of Fantini). Furthermore, the modification a compact portable unit (Abstract of Fantini).
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yodh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0353997) in view of Mayer et al. (US Patent No. 8,320,981) further in view of Baker et al. (PGPUB No. US 2008/0146906).
Regarding claim 50, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Yodh and Mayer is silent regarding a system, wherein the system is contained in one or more handheld units.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding spectroscopy for blood parameters with multiple sources and detectors, Baker teaches a system, wherein the system is contained in one or more handheld units (Paragraph 0044 teaches that the device is held in the user hand).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Yodh and Mayer with Baker’s teaching of a handheld system. This allows for a compact and easy-to-hold means for the sensor (Paragraph 0044 of Baker). This modified apparatus would allow the user to facilitate early diagnosis of skin wounds and compartment syndromes (Abstract of Baker). Furthermore, the modification allows for the assessment and indication of a patient’s condition status (Paragraphs 0015-16 of Baker).
Claims 1, 17, 35, 37, 39, 45, 48, 51-52, and 73-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yodh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2006/0063995) in view of Verdeccchia et al. (“Multi-Distance Depth-Resolved Diffuse Correlation Spectroscopy", 2014, Biomedical Optics).
Regarding claim 1, Yodh teaches a multi-distance, multi-wavelength diffuse correlation spectroscopy (MD-MW DCS) system comprising:
a set of DCS light sources (Fig. 9 shows two laser sources and the common location of emission. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the second laser source is added and used with the plurality of detectors. The lasers operate at 735 and 690 nm) including:
a first DCS light source associated with a first source location and (Fig. 9 shows two laser sources and the common location of emission. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the second laser source is added and used with the plurality of detectors. The lasers operate at 735 and 690 nm) configured to:
emit, from the first source location, a first light having a first wavelength (Fig. 9 shows two laser sources and the common location of emission. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the second laser source is added and used with the plurality of detectors. The lasers operate at 735 and 690 nm); and
transmit, from the first source location, the first light into a target medium at a single transmission location such that the first light enters the target medium at the single transmission location (Fig. 9 shows two laser sources and the common location of emission. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the second laser source is added and used with the plurality of detectors. The lasers operate at 735 and 690 nm): and
a second DCS light source associated with a second source location and (Fig. 9 shows two laser sources and the common location of emission. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the second laser source is added and used with the plurality of detectors. The lasers operate at 735 and 690 nm) configured to:
emit, from the second source location, a second light having a second wavelength (Fig. 9 shows two laser sources and the common location of emission. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the second laser source is added and used with the plurality of detectors. The lasers operate at 735 and 690 nm); and
transmit, from the second source location, the second light into the target medium at the single transmission location such that the second light enters the target medium at the single transmission location (Fig. 9 shows two laser sources and the common location of emission. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the second laser source is added and used with the plurality of detectors. The lasers operate at 735 and 690 nm);
a set of DCS detectors (Fig. 9 shows the two detectors situated and differing distances from the source to which the lasers are connected and the use of APD detection modules. Paragraphs 0067-68 teach the light detection and outputting of measurements. Paragraphs 0072-73 teaches the use of detectors with respect to the lasers. The device can use CCD camera, photomultiplier, photodiode, avalanche diode, photomultiplier tubes, etc. Paragraph 0029 teaches that varying light wavelengths are used and the detectors are used in receiving the light. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. Paragraph 0030 teaches Source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS) including:
a first DCS detector (Fig. 9 shows the two detectors situated and differing distances from the source to which the lasers are connected and the use of APD detection modules. Paragraphs 0067-68 teach the light detection and outputting of measurements. Paragraphs 0072-73 teaches the use of detectors with respect to the lasers. The device can use CCD camera, photomultiplier, photodiode, avalanche diode, photomultiplier tubes, etc. Paragraph 0029 teaches that varying light wavelengths are used and the detectors are used in receiving the light. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. Paragraph 0030 teaches Source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS) configured to:
receive, from the target medium, at least a portion of the first light (Fig. 9 shows the two detectors situated and differing distances from the source to which the lasers are connected and the use of APD detection modules. Paragraphs 0067-68 teach the light detection and outputting of measurements. Paragraphs 0072-73 teaches the use of detectors with respect to the lasers. The device can use CCD camera, photomultiplier, photodiode, avalanche diode, photomultiplier tubes, etc. Paragraph 0029 teaches that varying light wavelengths are used and the detectors are used in receiving the light. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. Paragraph 0030 teaches Source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS); and
generate a first DCS detector signal in response to receiving the at least a portion of the first light (Fig. 9 shows the two detectors situated and differing distances from the source to which the lasers are connected and the use of APD detection modules. Paragraphs 0067-68 teach the light detection and outputting of measurements. Paragraphs 0072-73 teaches the use of detectors with respect to the lasers. The device can use CCD camera, photomultiplier, photodiode, avalanche diode, photomultiplier tubes, etc. Paragraph 0029 teaches that varying light wavelengths are used and the detectors are used in receiving the light. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. Paragraph 0030 teaches Source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS):and
a second DCS detector (Fig. 9 shows the two detectors situated and differing distances from the source to which the lasers are connected and the use of APD detection modules. Paragraphs 0067-68 teach the light detection and outputting of measurements. Paragraphs 0072-73 teaches the use of detectors with respect to the lasers. The device can use CCD camera, photomultiplier, photodiode, avalanche diode, photomultiplier tubes, etc. Paragraph 0029 teaches that varying light wavelengths are used and the detectors are used in receiving the light. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. Paragraph 0030 teaches Source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS) configured to:
receive, from the target medium, at least a portion of the second light (Fig. 9 shows the two detectors situated and differing distances from the source to which the lasers are connected and the use of APD detection modules. Paragraphs 0067-68 teach the light detection and outputting of measurements. Paragraphs 0072-73 teaches the use of detectors with respect to the lasers. The device can use CCD camera, photomultiplier, photodiode, avalanche diode, photomultiplier tubes, etc. Paragraph 0029 teaches that varying light wavelengths are used and the detectors are used in receiving the light. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. Paragraph 0030 teaches Source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS); and
generate a second DCS detector signal in response to receiving the at least a portion of the second light (Fig. 9 shows the two detectors situated and differing distances from the source to which the lasers are connected and the use of APD detection modules. Paragraphs 0067-68 teach the light detection and outputting of measurements. Paragraphs 0072-73 teaches the use of detectors with respect to the lasers. The device can use CCD camera, photomultiplier, photodiode, avalanche diode, photomultiplier tubes, etc. Paragraph 0029 teaches that varying light wavelengths are used and the detectors are used in receiving the light. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. Paragraph 0030 teaches Source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS):
wherein the first DCS detector receives the at least a portion of the first light at a first detector location positioned at a first source-detector distance relative to the single transmission location, and the second DCS detector receives the at least a portion of the second light at a second detector location positioned at a second source-detector distance relative to the single transmission location, wherein the first source-detector distance is different than the second source-detector distance, wherein the first detector location and the second detector location are external to the target medium such that the first DCS detector receives the at least a portion of the first light non-invasively and the second DCS detect receives the at least a portion of the second light non-invasively (Fig. 9 shows the two detectors situated and differing distances from the source to which the lasers are connected and the use of APD detection modules. Paragraphs 0067-68 teach the light detection and outputting of measurements. Paragraphs 0072-73 teaches the use of detectors with respect to the lasers. The device can use CCD camera, photomultiplier, photodiode, avalanche diode, photomultiplier tubes, etc. Paragraph 0029 teaches that varying light wavelengths are used and the detectors are used in receiving the light. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. Paragraph 0030 teaches source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS. Paragraphs 0065-67 teach the implementation for non-invasive measurements. See Figs. 9-10);
a memory storing one or more equations relating a correlation function to dynamics of scattering particles within the target medium (Paragraphs 0034-35 teaches the DCS measurement of relative blood flow and assessment of tracking via autocorrelation and consideration of correlation time and equations. Paragraph 0027 teaches the use of a computer. It is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions); and
a processor coupled to the set of DCS detectors and the memory (Paragraph 0027 teaches computer processor with the appropriate software that implements the correlation diffusion theory described below determines the scattering, absorption and dynamic characteristics of the medium from the diffusion correlation wave and thereby reconstructs an image of the dynamically heterogeneous medium. Also, the computer may include software that allows a calculation of a correlation function. The computer can be any known, standard processor which can utilize the correlation information output by the autocorrelator. In this manner, a reconstructed image of the medium having the object therein can be produced as a function of the scattering and absorption of the diffuse correlation wave as it propagates diffusing through the medium. It is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions), the processor configured to:
receive the first DCS detector signal and the second DCS detector signal, thereby generating a DCS detector signal including photon arrival time information, wavelength information, and source-detector distance information, and light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance (Paragraph 0068 teaches the detector is a fast, photon counting avalanche photodiode (APD) with low dark current, for example a model SPCM-AQR-14, manufactured by Perkin-Elmer of Canada. The APD may include an amplifier-discriminator unit that outputs a standard TTL signal corresponding to the number of photons counted. See Fig. 9. Paragraph 0033 teaches multi-distance and multi-wavelength DRS measurements of diffusive waves on the tissue surface provide information about tissue absorption. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the light intensity and wavelengths are recorded at each detector position. Paragraph 0074 teaches that the intensity data at both the both wavelengths will be fit to a multi-distance, two-layer diffusion model, yielding the oxy- and deoxyhemoglobin concentrations. Paragraph 0052 teaches that the source detector separations are the basis for assessment of the blood flow measure where the light is quantified and with respect to the optical properties and thickness are considered. See Fig. 4 that shows the biological assessment according to the source detector separations); and
determine the dynamics of the target medium non-invasively using the DCS detector signal, and the one or more equations relating the correlation function to dynamics of scattering particles within the target medium (Paragraph 0033 teaches multi-distance and multi-wavelength DRS measurements of diffusive waves on the tissue surface provide information about tissue absorption. Paragraphs 0034-35 teaches the DCS measurement of relative blood flow and assessment of tracking via autocorrelation and consideration of correlation time and equations. Paragraph 0036 teaches that images can be generation based on the diffusion equation analysis. Paragraphs 0065-67 teach the implementation for non-invasive measurements. See Figs. 9-10. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. See Figs. 4-5. Paragraph 0030 teaches source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS. Paragraph 0027 teaches the use of a computer. It is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions).
However, Yodh is silent regarding a system, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined based at least in part on the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding spectroscopy for blood parameters with multiple sources and detectors, Verdeccchia teaches a system, a processor coupled to the set of DCS detectors and the memory (Instrumentation teaches that the output of the multiple detector and source distances is sent to the photon correlator board via the SPCM that is performing the counting and utilizes the detectors1. Furthermore, processors are inherently present in computational and electronic systems as they are required to perform the data inputting/outputting), wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined based at least in part on the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance (Fig. 2 shows that change in the cerebral blood flow based on the source detector distances. The relative change of the CBF is a function of the source detector separation as stated in the Results. Experimental Procedure and Data Analysis teaches that that autocorrelation functions are performed on each source detector pair that has varying distances. Discussion teaches that the distances between the source detectors influences the CBF values);
receive the first DCS detector signal and the second DCS detector signal, thereby generating a DCS detector signal including source-detector distance information, and light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance (Page 12 teaches that the intensity autocorrelation curves are from the three source detector distances. Fig. 1 shows each of these intensity relationships with respect to the source detector separation. Page 1 teaches that the insanity correlation functions are according to the detected light intensity fluctuations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yodh with Verdeccchia’s teaching of dynamics that are determined based on varying distances between the sources and detectors. This modified apparatus would allow the user to study the effects on varying head layers based on DCS signals and is able to allow for the monitoring key physiological parameters, including oxygenation, blood flow and volume (Introduction of Verdeccchia). Furthermore, the modification addresses the problem of light propagation into extracerebral tissue which can lead to underestimations of blood flow (Introduction of Verdeccchia).
Regarding claim 17, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the first source-detector distance is between 0.1 cm and 2.0 cm and the second source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 3.0 cm, wherein the second source-detector distance is greater than the first source-detector distance (Fig. 9 shows the two detectors situated and differing distances from the source to which the lasers are connected and the use of APD detection modules. Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of source detector pairings for DCS measurement and 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 cm. Paragraph 0030 teaches source-detector separation may range, for example, from 0.5-3 cm for DCS. Fig. 9 shows an upper limit of 3 cm).
Regarding claim 35, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS light sources includes at least one of a diode laser, a solid-state laser, a fiber laser, a vertical cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL), a DBR laser, a Fabry-Perot laser, a ridge laser, or a tapered laser (Paragraph 0071 teaches the use of a diode pumped laser diode).
Regarding claim 37, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS light sources are configured to emit light at a wavelength of between 400 nm and 1800 nm or an average power of between 10 pW and 10W (Fig. 9 shows two laser sources and the common location of emission. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the second laser source is added and used with the plurality of detectors. The lasers operate at 735 and 690 nm).
Regarding claim 39, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, the system further comprising a light source driver coupled to a computer and the set of DCS light sources, wherein the light source driver is configured to control the first DCS light source and the second DCS light source to multiplex the first light and the second light (Paragraph 0072 teaches that the laser sources can be switched via the computer system. Fig. 9 shows the use of the system that has two laser sources operating at differing wavelengths).
Regarding claim 45, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS detectors includes a detector selected from the group consisting of a single-photon avalanche photodiode detector, a photomultiplier tube, a Si, Ge, InGaAs, PbS, PbSe or HgCdTe photodiode or PIN photodiode, phototransistors, MSM photodetectors, CCD and CMOS detector arrays, LCD, silicon photomultipliers, multi-pixel-photon-counters, and combinations thereof (Paragraphs 0072-73 teaches the use of detectors with respect to the lasers. The device can use CCD camera, photomultiplier, photodiode, avalanche diode, photomultiplier tubes, etc.).
Regarding claim 48, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, the system further comprising at least one of: a plurality of
waveguides or a plurality of lenses, wherein the at least one of the plurality of waveguides or the plurality of lenses is configured to couple the set of DCS light sources to the target medium (Paragraph 0037 teaches that multiple source fibers can be used. Paragraph 0072 teaches the use of source fibers for emission).
Regarding claim 51, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS detectors are configured to collect light from one speckle (Paragraph 0026 teaches that the intensity fluctuations of the signal speckle is observed as it is collected by the photomultiplier tube).
Regarding claim 52, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the first wavelength and the second wavelength are separated from one another by between 20 nm and 500 nm (Fig. 9 shows two laser sources and the common location of emission. Paragraph 0072 teaches that the second laser source is added and used with the plurality of detectors. The lasers operate at 735 and 690 nm. This is within the 20-500 nm separation range).
Regarding claim 73, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the processor is configured to extract, from the DCS detector signal, measurement information related to a flow of fluid within the target medium, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined using the measurement information extracted from the DCS detector signal (Paragraph 0074 teaches that the DCS operation can be used to analyze blood flow. It is well known to one with ordinary skill in the art that blood flow can be analyzed and modeled. Title teaches “Optical Measurement Of Tissue Blood Flow, Hemodynamics And Oxygenation”).
Regarding claim 74, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined without a property of the target medium resulting from a separate near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS) system (Paragraphs 0004 and 0006 teaches the operation of a DCS system for determining the characteristics of deep tissue and measuring blood flow rate and oxygenation characteristics of the tissue, and determining oxygen metabolism of the tissue as a function of the measure blood flow rate and measure oxygenation).
Regarding claim 75, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the processor is configured to estimate, using the DCS detector signal, static properties of the target medium, wherein the dynamics of the target medium are determined based on the static properties (Paragraphs 0032-33 teaches the use and characterizations of absorption and scattering coefficients. Paragraph 0028 teaches the coefficients are used in assessing the imaged media).
Regarding claim 76, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 75, as discussed above.
Yodh further teaches a system, wherein the static properties includes at least one of: an absorption coefficient; or a reduced scattering coefficient (Paragraphs 0032-33 teaches the use and characterizations of absorption and scattering coefficients. Paragraph 0028 teaches the coefficients are used in assessing the imaged media).
Claims 14 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yodh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2006/0063995) in view of Verdeccchia et al. (“Multi-Distance Depth-Resolved Diffuse Correlation Spectroscopy", 2014, Biomedical Optics) further in view of Baker et al. (PGPUB No. US 2008/0146906).
Regarding claim 14, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Yodh and Verdeccchia is silent regarding a system, wherein the set of DCS light sources includes a third DCS light source associated with a third source location and configured to emit a third light having a third wavelength, the third DCS light source configured to transmit, from the third source location, the third light into the target medium at the single transmission location such that the third light enters the target medium at the single transmission location, wherein the first wavelength, the second wavelength, and the third wavelength are different, wherein the set of DCS detectors includes a third DCS detector configured to receive at least a portion of the third light from the target medium, wherein the third DCS detector is configured to generate a third DCS detector signal in response to receiving the at least a portion of the third light, wherein the third DCS detector receives the at least a portion of the third light at a third detector location positioned a third source-detector distance relative to the single transmission location, wherein the first source-detector distance, the second source-detector distance, and the third source-detector distance are different.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding spectroscopy for blood parameters with multiple sources and detectors, Baker teaches a system, wherein the set of DCS light sources includes a third DCS light source associated with a third source location and configured to emit a third light having a third wavelength, the third DCS light source configured to transmit, from the third source location, the third light into the target medium at the single transmission location such that the third light enters the target medium at the single transmission location, wherein the first wavelength, the second wavelength, and the third wavelength are different, wherein the set of DCS detectors includes a third DCS detector configured to receive at least a portion of the third light from the target medium, wherein the third DCS detector is configured to generate a third DCS detector signal in response to receiving the at least a portion of the third light, wherein the third DCS detector receives the at least a portion of the third light at a third detector location positioned a third source-detector distance relative to the single transmission location, wherein the first source-detector distance, the second source-detector distance, and the third source-detector distance are different (Fig. 7 shows the emitter at a common location situated with respect to four detectors. Each at a different distance from the other 3. Paragraph 0033 teaches the implementation of the three wavelengths. Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches that the detector receives the emitted light that passes through the medium).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Yodh and Verdeccchia with Baker’s teaching of three detector source relationships with three wavelengths. This modified apparatus would allow the user to facilitate early diagnosis of skin wounds and compartment syndromes (Abstract of Baker). Furthermore, the modification allows for the assessment and indication of a patient’s condition status (Paragraphs 0015-16 of Baker).
Regarding claim 50, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Yodh and Verdeccchia is silent regarding a system, wherein the system is contained in one or more handheld units.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding spectroscopy for blood parameters with multiple sources and detectors, Baker teaches a system, wherein the system is contained in one or more handheld units (Paragraph 0044 teaches that the device is held in the user hand).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Yodh and Verdeccchia with Baker’s teaching of a handheld system. This allows for a compact and easy-to-hold means for the sensor (Paragraph 0044 of Baker). This modified apparatus would allow the user to facilitate early diagnosis of skin wounds and compartment syndromes (Abstract of Baker). Furthermore, the modification allows for the assessment and indication of a patient’s condition status (Paragraphs 0015-16 of Baker).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yodh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2006/0063995) in view of Verdeccchia et al. (“Multi-Distance Depth-Resolved Diffuse Correlation Spectroscopy", 2014, Biomedical Optics) further in view of Baker et al. (PGPUB No. US 2008/0146906) further in view of Tachtsidis et al. ("A Hybrid Multi-Distance Phase and Broadband Spatially Resolved Spectrometer and Algorithm for Resolving Absolute Concentrations of Chromophores in the Near-Infrared Light", 2010).
Regarding claim 19, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 14, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Yodh, Verdeccchia, and Baker is silent regarding a system, wherein the first source-detector distance is between 0.1 cm and 2.0 cm, the second source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 3.0 cm, and the third source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 5.0 cm, wherein the second source-detector distance is greater than the first source-detector distance and the third source- detector distance is greater than the second source-detector distance.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding multiple sources and detectors for spectroscopy, Tachtsidis teaches a system, wherein the first source-detector distance is between 0.1 cm and 2.0 cm, the second source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 3.0 cm, and the third source-detector distance is between 1.0 cm and 5.0 cm, wherein the second source-detector distance is greater than the first source-detector distance and the third source- detector distance is greater than the second source-detector distance (Fig. 1 shows the distance between the lower source to the bottom left detector to be 2 cm and the upper right source to the upper detector to be 3 cm. The upper left source is 3.5 cm to the upper detector).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Yodh, Verdeccchia, and Baker with Tachtsidis’s teaching of varying distances of the detector to sources. This modified apparatus would allow the user to acquire data with better resolution and better signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (Introduction of Tachtsidis). Furthermore, the modification will allow a more accurate quantification of chromophores (Discussion of Tachtsidis).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yodh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2006/0063995) in view of Verdeccchia et al. (“Multi-Distance Depth-Resolved Diffuse Correlation Spectroscopy", 2014, Biomedical Optics) further in view of Zubkov et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0007132).
Regarding claim 41, modified Yodh teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Yodh, Verdeccchia, and Baker is silent regarding a system, the system further comprising a near infrared spectroscopy light source separate from the set of DCS light sources and a near infrared spectroscopy detector separate from the set of DCS light detectors, wherein the near infrared spectroscopy light source is configured to emit light having at least one property different from the first light and the second light.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding multiple sources and detectors for spectroscopy, Zubkov teaches a system, the system further comprising a near infrared spectroscopy light source separate from the set of DCS light sources and a near infrared spectroscopy detector separate from the set of DCS light detectors, wherein the near infrared spectroscopy light source is configured to emit light having at least one property different from the first light and the second light (Paragraph 0041 teaches that the DCS and DNIRS can be used. Paragraph 0043 teaches that the DCS is used in assessing the movement of the particles and paragraph 0043 teaches that the NIRS is used in assessing concentrations in a near infrared window of 650 and 850 nm. Paragraph 0044 teaches the DCS operates in 785 nm. Paragraph 0053 teaches the use of different source and detectors. Paragraph 0048 teaches separations for the source and detector).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Yodh, Verdeccchia, and Baker with Zubkov’s teaching of NIRS along with DCS. This modified apparatus would allow the user to determine the skin's optical scattering and absorption coefficients (Paragraph 0014 of Zubkov). Furthermore, the modification useful for detecting and/or assessing the severity of Peripheral Arterial Disease (PAD) and/or vascular effects of smoking in adults (Paragraph 0041 of Zubkov).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Benni (PGPUB No. US 2001/0047128): Teaches assessment of light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance.
Li et al. (PGPUB No. US 2011/0112387): Teaches assessment of light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance.
Benni (PGPUB No. US 2009/0182209): Teaches assessment of light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance.
Funane et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0102907): Teaches assessment of light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance.
Steuer et al. (PGPUB No. US 2004/0116817): Teaches assessment of light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance.
Yu et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0278715): Teaches assessment of light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance.
Kirby et al. (US Patent No. 11,147,481): Teaches assessment of light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance.
Khalil et al. (US Patent No. 6,615,061): Teaches assessment of light intensity information for each of the first source-detector distance and the second source-detector distance.
Dong et al. ("Diffuse correlation spectroscopy with a fast Fourier transform-based software autocorrelator", 2012): Teaches assessment of light intensity for DCS.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798
1 The data sheet of the board has been provided and it teaches that architecture has a memory in the chip that processing the channels. See Fig. 3 of data sheet