DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 12, 14, 16-17, 19, 24, 30-31, 34, 38, 43, 51, & 58 of U.S. Application No. 16/349943 filed on 01/09/2026 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed01/09/2026. Claims 1, & 31 are presently amended. Claims 2, 6-7, 9-11, 13, 15, 18, 20-23, 25-29, 32-33, 35-37, 39-42, 44-50, 52-57, & 59-67 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 12, 14, 16-17, 19, 24, 30-31, 34, 38, 43, 51, & 58 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 2018/0056985A1 (“Coulter”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 51, & 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0114753A1 (“Biderman”), in view of US 2018/0056985A1 (“Coulter”), in view of US 2016/0121198A1 (“Doerksen”), in view of US 2017/0144056A1 (“Evans”), .
As per claim 1 Biderman discloses
An electrically motorised wheel to releasably couple to and convert a non-motorised wheeled vehicle to an electrically motorised vehicle (see at least Biderman, para. [0788]: The static system 902 and the rotating system 904 are arranged around an axis of rotation A of the electrically motorized wheel 900, and the static system 902 is coupled to the non-motorized wheeled vehicle via a torque arm assembly ( or via torque transmitting features designed into the axle) 928 (FIG. 91) such that the rotating system 904 is rotatable relate to the static system 902.), wherein the electrically motorised wheel includes:
a ground engaging assembly (see at least Biderman, para. [0787]: a tire 922,);
a coupling assembly to receive an axle of the vehicle and to releasably couple the electrically motorised wheel to the axle of the vehicle (see at least Biderman, para. [0788]: The static system 902 and the rotating system 904 are arranged around an axis of rotation A of the electrically motorized wheel 900, and the static system 902 is coupled to the non-motorized wheeled vehicle via a torque arm assembly ( or via torque transmitting features designed into the axle) 928 (FIG. 91) such that the rotating system 904 is rotatable relate to the static system 902.),
the electrically motorised wheel being rotatable in a first direction, and a second, opposite direction (see at least Biderman, para. [0702]: In embodiments the electrically motorized wheel may have a sensor system to sense applied force, vehicle movement, and other data. Sensors may include ones for sensing torque applied to electrically motorized wheel, sensors for measuring wheel rotation velocity, speed and direction (forward or backward), sensors to measure force applied to vehicle handles, sensors on wheel fork to sense source/ direction of force reduction, and others.); and
a housing for (see at least Biderman, para. [0787]: a hub shell assembly 916 (FIG. 91),):
an electric motor operatively coupled to the ground engaging assembly (see at least Biderman, para. [0788]: The electric motor 908 is selectively operable to rotate the rotating system 904 relative to the static system 902 to drive the spokes 918, the rim 920, and tire 922 thereof.);
a control system including or coupled to an inertial measurement unit, which is stationary within the housing during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel (see at least Biderman, Fig. 9H & para. [0787]: a control system 914 (FIG.9H)… sensor system 912 (FIG. 9H)… It should be understood that, although particular systems and components are separately defined, each, or any, may be otherwise combined or separated via hardware and/or software except where context indicates otherwise. & para. [0822]: It should also be understood that other sensors such as a GSM, GPS, inertial measurement sensors, …and other sensors may be provided and integrated into the one or more of the boards.), and
a controller configured to control operation of the electric motor based on one or more sensor signals received from the inertial measurement unit (see at least Biderman, para. [0790]: The sensor system 912 may be operable to identify parameters indicative of the rotational input, such that the control system 914 in communication with the sensor system 912 is operable to continuously control the electric motor 908 in response to the input, such as that induced by a user pedaling.);
wherein the control system includes memory, the memory having direction data stored therein (see at least Biderman, para. [0719]: These interfaces may facilitate the support of accessory devices and peripherals such as environmental sensors, gyroscopes, supplemental memory and others by providing power to operate the accessory device and an interface for data transfer between the accessory device and data storage in the motorized wheel hub 110.); and
a power source electrically connected to the control system and the electric motor (see at least Biderman, para. [0787]: a battery system 906 (FIG. 9E)... )… It should be understood that, although particular systems and components are separately defined, each, or any, may be otherwise combined or separated via hardware and/or software except where context indicates otherwise.),
wherein the electric motor is a bidirectional electric motor, allowing the electrically motorised wheel to operate in the first direction and the second direction (see at least Biderman, para. [0702]: In embodiments the electrically motorized wheel may have a sensor system to sense applied force, vehicle movement, and other data. Sensors may include ones for sensing torque applied to electrically motorized wheel, sensors for measuring wheel rotation velocity, speed and direction (forward or backward), sensors to measure force applied to vehicle handles, sensors on wheel fork to sense source/ direction of force reduction, and others.),
wherein a direction of operation of the electric motor is controlled by the controller based on sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals received from the inertial measurement unit (see at least Biderman, para. [0790]: The sensor system 912 may be operable to identify parameters indicative of the rotational input, such that the control system 914 in communication with the sensor system 912 is operable to continuously control the electric motor 908 in response to the input, such as that induced by a user pedaling.),
wherein the controller uses the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals and the mounting orientation data to determine direction of the electrically motorised wheel (see at least Biderman, para. [0773]: By monitoring various motion and acceleration parameters and the forces/torque applied, outside forces applied to the vehicle (both positive and negative) may be estimated. The estimated outside forces are then used to power the electric motor in a direction in which the vehicle is moving or in a direction opposite the direction the vehicle is moving, causing a braking effect or acceleration in a reverse direction.),
wherein the direction of operation of the electric motor is controlled according to the direction to rotate the electrically motorised wheel in one of the first or second direction according to the direction (see at least Biderman, para. [0773]: By monitoring various motion and acceleration parameters and the forces/torque applied, outside forces applied to the vehicle (both positive and negative) may be estimated. The estimated outside forces are then used to power the electric motor in a direction in which the vehicle is moving or in a direction opposite the direction the vehicle is moving, causing a braking effect or acceleration in a reverse direction.).
Biderman discloses an inertial unit and/or a gyroscope that is able to detect orientation of the wheel.
However Biderman does not explicitly disclose
An electrically motorized wheel that operates as one wheel in a pair of electrically motorized wheels,
the mounting orientation being an orientation of the wheel relative to the vehicle and is selected from the mounting orientations of a left mounting orientation and a right mounting orientation to determine whether the wheel is a left or a right mounted wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels;
wherein the mounting orientation is determined according to an additional wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels having an opposite mounting orientation, the additional wheel being opposing wheel on the vehicle.
Coulter teaches
An electrically motorized wheel that operates as one wheel in a pair of electrically motorized wheels (see at least Coulter, para. [0282]: The left and right wheel motors can drive the main wheels on the either side of the device. The front and back wheels can be coupled to drive together, so the two left wheels can drive together and the two right wheels can drive together. Turning can be accomplished by driving the left and right motors at different rates. The cluster motor can rotate the wheel base in the fore/aft direction. This can allow the MD to remain level while the front wheels become higher or lower than the rear wheels.),
the mounting orientation being an orientation of the wheel relative to the vehicle and is selected from the mounting orientations of a left mounting orientation and a right mounting orientation to determine whether the wheel is a left or a right mounted wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels (see at least Coulter, para. [0382-0384]: Cluster motor drive processor A/B 1050/27 can drive cluster motor processors A/B 83/89 that can rotate the wheel base in the fore/aft direction which can allow the MD to remain level while front wheels 21201 (FIG. 6A) are higher or lower than rear wheels 21201 (FIG. 6A)….The data from the cluster position sensors and seat position sensors can be communicated among processors 43A-43D and can be used by processor set A/B 39/41 to determine information to be sent to, for example, right wheel motor drive processor A/B 19/31, cluster motor drive processor A/B 15/27, and seat motor drive processor A/B 25/37. The independent control of clusters 21100 (FIG. 3) and drive wheels 21201 (FIG. 7B) can allow the MD to operate in several modes, thereby allowing the user or processors 43A-43D to switch between modes, for example, in response to the local terrain.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of An electrically motorized wheel that operates as one wheel in a pair of electrically motorized wheels,
the mounting orientation being an orientation of the wheel relative to the vehicle and is selected from the mounting orientations of a left mounting orientation and a right mounting orientation to determine whether the wheel is a left or a right mounted wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels of Coulter in order to provide a reliable, lightweight, and stable mobility device that includes an automatic response capability to situations that are commonly encountered by a disabled user (see at least Coulter, para. [0006]).
Doerksen teaches
wherein the controller uses the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals and the mounting orientation data to determine a mounting orientation of the electrically motorised wheel (see at least Doerksen, para. [0077]: In some embodiments, the gyro and accelerometer 314 may be collectively configured to sense orientation information sufficient to estimate the lean angle of frame 104 including pivotation about the pitch, roll and yaw axes.);
wherein the direction of operation of the electric motor is controlled according to the mounting orientation to rotate the electrically motorised wheel in one of the first or second direction according to the mounting orientation (see at least Doerksen, para. [0069]: In particularly, motor controller 254 may be configured to receive orientation information measured by the at least one sensor of sensors 270 and to cause motor assembly 254 to propel the electric vehicle based on the orientation information. For example, motor controller 254 maybe configured to drive hub motor 144 based on received sensed movement of board 104 from sensors270 via microcontroller 269 to propel and/or actively balance vehicle 100.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of a mounting orientation of Doerksen in order to cause the motor assembly to propel the electric vehicle based on the board orientation information and the rider presence information (see at least Doerksen, para. [0004]).
Evans teaches
wherein the mounting orientation is determined according to an additional wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels having an opposite mounting orientation, the additional wheel being opposing wheel on the vehicle (see at least Evans, para. [0063-0064]: The powered wheel 300 can include a position encoder 318. The position encoder can be disposed between the inner motor support 316 and a stator 320. The stator 320 can be similar to stator 119 illustrated in FIG. 2. The position encoder 318 can be a mechanical encoder, an optical encoder, a magnetic encoder, a capacitive encoder and/or another type of encoder. The encoder 318 can be configured to convert the angular position of motion of the powered wheel 300 relative to the axle 304 to an analog or digital code. The analog or digital code can be used by a microprocessor (such as microprocessor 604 of FIG. 6) to determine the orientation of the stator 320 relative to the known position of the encoder 318. The position encoder 318 can include a hall effect sensor. The position encoder 318 can include a printed circuit board having one or more electrical components included thereon. para. [0141]: Motion sensors 1314 can be configured to determine an orientation of the powered skateboard 1204. In particular, motion sensors 1314 can provide information to the controller 1224 that the powered skateboard 1204 is performing a manual, or wheelie. In some instances, a user may deliberately perform a manual. In other instances, a user may accidentally perform a manual because the their center of mass has been displaced to a position that makes them instable on the powered skateboard 1204, for example, aft of the rear axle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of wherein the mounting orientation is determined according to an additional wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels having an opposite mounting orientation, the additional wheel being opposing wheel on the vehicle of Evans in order for continued use of the powered skateboard (see at least Evans, para. [0022]).
As per claim 3 Biderman discloses
wherein the coupling assembly is configured to releasably couple the electrically motorised wheel to the axle of the vehicle in a first coupled position (see at least Biderman, para. [0788]: The static system 902 and the rotating system 904 are arranged around an axis of rotation A of the electrically motorized wheel 900, and the static system 902 is coupled to the non-motorized wheeled vehicle via a torque arm assembly ( or via torque transmitting features designed into the axle) 928 (FIG. 91) such that the rotating system 904 is rotatable relate to the static system 902.):
where rotation of the ground engaging assembly is controlled by the electric motor (see at least Biderman, para. [0788]: The electric motor 908 is selectively operable to rotate the rotating system 904 relative to the static system 902 to drive the spokes 918, the rim 920, and tire 922 thereof.), and
a second coupled position: where rotation of the ground engaging assembly is not controlled by the electric motor (see at least Biderman, para. [0788]: The static system 902 and the rotating system 904 are arranged around an axis of rotation A of the electrically motorized wheel 900, and the static system 902 is coupled to the non-motorized wheeled vehicle via a torque arm assembly ( or via torque transmitting features designed into the axle) 928 (FIG. 91) such that the rotating system 904 is rotatable relate to the static system 902. The electric motor 908 is selectively operable to rotate the rotating system 904 relative to the static system 902 to drive the spokes 918, the rim 920, and tire 922 thereof.).
As per claim 51 Biderman discloses
A kit for converting a non-motorised wheeled vehicle to an electrically motorised vehicle, wherein the kit includes a first electrically motorised wheel and a second electrically motorised wheel according claim 1 (see at least Biderman, para. [0778]: The electrically motorized wheel 720 includes a multiple of motorized wheel hubs 710 comparable to those described above but that are daisy changed together. That is, the plurality of electrically motorized wheels 720 operate in concert. The motorized wheel hub 710 rotates around an axle 708 that is fixed relative to a handle 712 (FIG. 7C).).
As per claim 58 Biderman discloses
An electrically motorised vehicle including:
A non-motorised wheeled vehicle (see at least Biderman, para. [0778]: The electrically motorized wheel 720 includes a multiple of motorized wheel hubs 710 comparable to those described above but that are daisy changed together. That is, the plurality of electrically motorized wheels 720 operate in concert. The motorized wheel hub 710 rotates around an axle 708 that is fixed relative to a handle 712 (FIG. 7C).).; and
a first electrically motorised wheel and a second electrically motorised wheel, wherein each electrically motorised wheel is adapted to the non-motorised wheeled vehicle and configured according to claim 1 (see at least Biderman, para. [0778]: The electrically motorized wheel 720 includes a multiple of motorized wheel hubs 710 comparable to those described above but that are daisy changed together. That is, the plurality of electrically motorized wheels 720 operate in concert. The motorized wheel hub 710 rotates around an axle 708 that is fixed relative to a handle 712 (FIG. 7C).).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biderman, in view of Coulter, in view of Doerksen, in view of Evans, in view of US 2018/0133075A1 (“Jacobsson”).
As per claim 4 Biderman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the coupling assembly includes a pair of axially separated engagement components and an engagement actuator component, wherein actuation of the engagement actuator component causes the pair of axially separated engagement components to move between an engaged position and a disengaged position so as to allow the electrically motorised wheel to be axially movable between the first coupled position and the second coupled position.
Jacobsson teaches
wherein the coupling assembly includes a pair of axially separated engagement components and an engagement actuator component, wherein actuation of the engagement actuator component causes the pair of axially separated engagement components to move between an engaged position and a disengaged position so as to allow the electrically motorised wheel to be axially movable between the first coupled position and the second coupled position (see at least Jacobsson, para. [0040-0042]: Each drive motor 13, 14 is operatively connected to a clutch 21 via the gearboxes 13a, 13b for connecting and disconnecting the hub assemblies 15, 16—and thereby the drive wheels 6, 7—from the drive motors 13, 14. The drive motors 13, 14 used in the shown embodiment are electric motors and the drive unit 1 includes a power supply and control interface unit 22 allowing power supply to the drive motors 13, 14 from an external battery pack 23 and connection with said control input means 8…Again with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, each quick release coupling 11 in this embodiment includes a quick-release shaft 24 connected to the hub assembly 15, 16 and provided with male splines 25 that mesh with corresponding female splines in the output shaft 26 of the clutch 21.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of wherein the coupling assembly includes a pair of axially separated engagement components and an engagement actuator component, wherein actuation of the engagement actuator component causes the pair of axially separated engagement components to move between an engaged position and a disengaged position so as to allow the electrically motorised wheel to be axially movable between the first coupled position and the second coupled position of Jacobsson in order for enabling a driver-demand power assist function to the wheelchair (see at least Jacobsson, para. [0001]).
As per claim 5 Biderman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the pair of axially separated engagement components include a first and second retaining clip, and wherein the engagement actuator component is a camshaft, wherein actuation of the camshaft simultaneously causes the first retaining clip to move from the engaged position to the disengaged position and the second retaining clip to move from the disengaged position to an intermediary position, wherein axial movement of the electrically motorised wheel causes a groove of the axle to align with the second retaining clip and self-bias to the engaged position to engage the axle.
Jacobsson teaches
wherein the pair of axially separated engagement components include a first and second retaining clip, and wherein the engagement actuator component is a camshaft, wherein actuation of the camshaft simultaneously causes the first retaining clip to move from the engaged position to the disengaged position and the second retaining clip to move from the disengaged position to an intermediary position, wherein axial movement of the electrically motorised wheel causes a groove of the axle to align with the second retaining clip and self-bias to the engaged position to engage the axle (see at least Jacobsson, para. [0042]: In FIG. 5 and FIG. 6, the cut-out perspective views of the quick-release coupling 11 is shown up close externally, showing the drive unit 1 just before installation. The male splines 25 are clearly visible in FIG. 5 in a position just before entering the female splines 26 of the clutch 21. When connecting or disconnecting the drive wheels 6, 7 from the drive unit 1, a quick-release button 27 located in each hub assembly 15, 16 is pushed axially towards the drive unit 1. The quick-release buttons 27 are clearly visible in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 and when pushed they axially move a push rod 28 which releases the quick-release shaft 24 from the clutch 21. The drive shaft housing 10 is mounted or dismounted from the lateral frame elements 4, 5 of the structural frame 3 of the wheelchair 2 by means of two quick-release levers 29 allowing easy removal or installation of the drive unit 1. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of wherein the pair of axially separated engagement components include a first and second retaining clip, and wherein the engagement actuator component is a camshaft, wherein actuation of the camshaft simultaneously causes the first retaining clip to move from the engaged position to the disengaged position and the second retaining clip to move from the disengaged position to an intermediary position, wherein axial movement of the electrically motorised wheel causes a groove of the axle to align with the second retaining clip and self-bias to the engaged position to engage the axle of Jacobsson in order for enabling a driver-demand power assist function to the wheelchair (see at least Jacobsson, para. [0001]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biderman, in view of Coulter, in view of Doerksen, in view of Evans, in view of US 2014/0039745A1 (“Belon”).
As per claim 8 Biderman discloses
determine, based on the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals, a current angular rotation (see at least Biderman, para. [0729]: The electrically motorized wheel 100 may additionally support a plurality of sensors that collect and process attributes related to the vehicle and the electrically motorized wheel 100 itself such as torque applied, velocity, "steadiness" of the vehicle, acceleration of the vehicle, & para. [0702]: Sensors may include ones for sensing torque applied to electrically motorized wheel, sensors for measuring wheel rotation velocity, speed and direction (forward or backward), sensors to measure force applied to vehicle handles, sensors on wheel fork to sense source/ direction of force reduction, and others.).
Biderman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the mounting orientation data includes a plurality of angular rotation ranges, wherein each angular rotation range has a respective mounting orientation, wherein the controller is configured to:
determine, based on the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals, a current angular rotation; and
determine a matching angular rotation range from the plurality of angular rotation ranges which the current angular rotation falls within, wherein the mounting orientation of the electrically motorised wheel is the respective mounting orientation of the matching angular rotation range.
Belon teaches
wherein the mounting orientation data includes a plurality of angular rotation ranges, wherein each angular rotation range has a respective mounting orientation (see at least Belon, para. [0030]: The sensor data from the accelerometer 14 can be converted from time domain to frequency domain by an FFT and placed within an LUT. The LUT can be read to provide the angle at which wheel assembly 10 currently exists.), wherein the controller is configured to:
determine, based on the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals, a current angular rotation (see at least Belon, para. [0036]: The value of acceleration is read by the electronics together with the encoder 18 reading. The encoder 18 reading can be initialized by artificially setting to Zero when the wheel is in a flat surface. Once initialized, the electronics keeps track of the encoder position and the accelerometer readings. In an embodiment, the encoder 18 position and accelerometer 14 readings are used by the processor on main circuit board 16 to calculate the speed and position, respectively. The phase angle of the accelerometer can be calculated to provide a measure of the slope.); and
determine a matching angular rotation range from the plurality of angular rotation ranges which the current angular rotation falls within, wherein the mounting orientation of the electrically motorised wheel is the respective mounting orientation of the matching angular rotation range (see at least Belon, para. [0039-0040]: In embodiments using a single strain gage sensor 28, the electronics associated with the strain gage sensor 28 can calculate a centroid of the stress value to identify the placement angle of the wheel assembly.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of wherein the mounting orientation data includes a plurality of angular rotation ranges, wherein each angular rotation range has a respective mounting orientation, wherein the controller is configured to determine, based on the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals, a current angular rotation; and determine a matching angular rotation range from the plurality of angular rotation ranges which the current angular rotation falls within, wherein the mounting orientation of the electrically motorised wheel is the respective mounting orientation of the matching angular rotation range of Belon in order to retrofit a conventional bicycle to create a hybrid bicycle without any tools for conventional bicycles that have a quick release skewer (see at least Belon, para. [0013]).
Claim(s) 12, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biderman, in view of Coulter, in view of Doerksen, in view of Evans, in view of US 2013/0069420A1 (“Manus”).
As per claim 12 Biderman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the housing at least partially houses a transmission assembly operatively connected between the electric motor and the ground engaging assembly, wherein the transmission assembly includes a hub having a mounting surface that is exposed from the housing and that rotates relative to the housing, wherein said transmission assembly is configured to cause rotation of a ground engaging assembly of the electrically motorised wheel in response to actuation of the electric motor.
Manus teaches
wherein the housing at least partially houses a transmission assembly operatively connected between the electric motor and the ground engaging assembly, wherein the transmission assembly includes a hub having a mounting surface that is exposed from the housing and that rotates relative to the housing, wherein said transmission assembly is configured to cause rotation of a ground engaging assembly of the electrically motorised wheel in response to actuation of the electric motor (see at least Manus, para. [0072-0073]: Furthermore, the wheel 1 comprises a transmission 9 for transferring the torque from the motor 4 to the rim 3. The transmission 9 is arranged in the compartment about the hub 2, and the transmission 9 is located between the bottom 6 and the motor 4…The transmission 9 comprises a first drive wheel 10, a second drive wheel 11, and a belt 12. The first drive wheel 10 is driven by the motor 4 and the second drive wheel 11 is driven by the first drive wheel 10 via the belt 12. To facilitate driving of the first and second drive wheels 10, 11, the drive wheels 10, 11 are provided with a toothed outer surface whereas the belt 12 is provided with a toothed inner surface (see FIG. 2).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching wherein the housing at least partially houses a transmission assembly operatively connected between the electric motor and the ground engaging assembly, wherein the transmission assembly includes a hub having a mounting surface that is exposed from the housing and that rotates relative to the housing, wherein said transmission assembly is configured to cause rotation of a ground engaging assembly of the electrically motorised wheel in response to actuation of the electric motor of Manus in order to provide an improved driving wheel (see at least Manus, para. [0004]).
As per claim 14 Biderman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the mounting surface includes a fastening arrangement to operatively connect a ground engaging assembly of the electrically motorised wheel to the hub such that rotation of the hub causes the ground engaging assembly to rotate therewith (see at least Biderman, para. [0787] & para. [0795]: With continued reference to FIG. 91, the non-drive side ring 942 typically includes a multiple of spoke interfaces 952 such as arcuate grooves to receive the spokes 918. The non-drive side ring 942 is held in contact with the drive side shell 940 via the tension of the spokes 918, fasteners, or a combination thereof.), wherein the ground engaging assembly includes:
an outer frame which is secured to the hub (see at least Biderman, para. [0787]: a hub shell assembly 916 (FIG. 91),);
a rim coupled to the outer frame that surrounds a perimeter of the housing (see at least Biderman, para. [0787]: a hub shell assembly 916 (FIG. 91), a multiple of spokes 918, a rim 920,); and
a tyre secured to the rim (see at least Biderman, para. [0787]: a hub shell assembly 916 (FIG. 91), a multiple of spokes 918, a rim 920, a tire 922, a shaft 924, and a free hub torque assembly 926 (FIG. 9G).).
Claim(s) 16-17, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biderman, in view of Coulter, in view of Doerksen, in view Evans, in view of Manus, in view of US 2010/0013294A1 (“Chan”).
As per claim 16 Biderman does not explicitly discloses
further including an inner cover which is secured to the housing,
wherein the inner cover has a central hole for locating the coupling assembly , and one or more mounting holes located about the central hole for receiving a mounting leg,
wherein the mounting leg is part of or coupled to the non-motorised wheeled vehicle.
Chan teaches
further including an inner cover which is secured to the housing (see at least Chan, Fig. 1 & para. [0027]: With reference to FIGS. 1 to 3, a lug nut in accordance with the present invention for a golf trolley wheel (80) having a center, an external sidewall, a wheel axle (81), multiple threaded holes (82) and a mounting recess (83), the lug nut has a base panel (10), an engaging element (20), a spring (30) and an optional cover (40).),
wherein the inner cover has a central hole for locating the coupling assembly, and one or more mounting holes located about the central hole for receiving a mounting leg (see at least Chan, para. [0029]: The base panel (10) is shaped corresponding to the mounting recess (83) of the trolley wheel (80) and has a center, an outer side, a mounting hole (11), a chamber (12) and multiple connecting holes (13).),
wherein the mounting leg is part of or coupled to the non-motorised wheeled vehicle (see at least Chan, para. [0040]: With further reference to FIG. 4, when assembling the lug nut with the wheel axle (81) and the mounting recess (83) of the trolley wheel (80), the engaging element (20) is mounted in the chamber (12) of the base panel (10) and the spring (30) is mounted on the mounting protrusion (23) of the engaging element (20). Then, the base panel (10), the engaging element (20) and the spring (30) are inserted in the mounting recess (83) of the trolley wheel (80) to make the engaging hole (22) of the engaging element (20) engage the annular groove (811) of the wheel axle (81) by the spring (30) pushing the engaging element (20) to the engaging position. Then the cover (40) is mounted on the outer side of the base panel (10) to hold and protect the engaging element (20) and the spring (30) in the base panel (10).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching further including an inner cover which is secured to the housing, wherein the inner cover has a central hole for locating the coupling assembly , and one or more mounting holes located about the central hole for receiving a mounting leg, wherein the mounting leg is part of or coupled to the non-motorised wheeled vehicle of Chan in order for mounting the wheel to a golf trolley conveniently (see at least Chan, para. [0002]).
As per claim 17 Biderman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the central hole of the inner cover extends inwardly defining a hollow column housing the coupling assembly, wherein the coupling assembly includes a cap having a pair of resilient fingers, wherein each finger includes a notched end which engages a respective hole in the hollow column to retain the coupling assembly within the hollow column in an assembled state.
Evans teaches
wherein the central hole of the inner cover extends inwardly defining a hollow column housing the coupling assembly (see at least Evans, Fig. 4a-b & para. [0074]: The powered wheel can include a hub 570. The hub 570 can include a hollow through-portion 572. The hollow through-portion 572 can be configured to receive the axle 504 of the truck 502.) ,
wherein the coupling assembly includes a cap having a pair of resilient fingers, wherein each finger includes a notched end which engages a respective hole in the hollow column to retain the coupling assembly within the hollow column in an assembled state (see at least Evans, para. [0077]: A clip 586 can be employed to secure the bearing 506 into the inner motor support 516. The clip 586 can be configured to engage with a lateral groove 588 of the hub 570. The lateral groove 588 can circumvent the hub 570. The clip 586, engaged with the lateral groove 588 can prevent components of the powered wheel 500 from moving too far inward toward the truck 502.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching further wherein the central hole of the inner cover extends inwardly defining a hollow column housing the coupling assembly, wherein the coupling assembly includes a cap having a pair of resilient fingers, wherein each finger includes a notched end which engages a respective hole in the hollow column to retain the coupling assembly within the hollow column in an assembled state of Evans in order for continued use of the powered skateboard (see at least Evans, para. [0022]).
As per claim 19 Biderman does not explicitly disclose
further including a chassis which is secured within the housing such that the chassis is rotationally stationary within the housing during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel, wherein the hub is supported upon the chassis via a bearing such that the hub is rotatable relative to the chassis during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel.
Evans teaches
further including a chassis which is secured within the housing such that the chassis is rotationally stationary within the housing during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel, wherein the hub is supported upon the chassis via a bearing such that the hub is rotatable relative to the chassis during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel (see at least Evans, Fig. 3A & para. [0066]: The powered wheel 300 can include an outer bearing 332. The outer bearing 332 can include an outer race 334 and an inner race 338. The outer race 334 can be configured to engage with an inner surface 336 of the outer motor support 326. The inner race 338 of the outer bearing 332 can be configured to engage with at least a portion 340 of the axle 304 of the skateboard truck 302. The inner bearing 306 and the outer bearing 332 can be configured to facilitate rotation of the inner motor support 316, stator 320, rotor can 322 and outer motor support 326 about the axle 304.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching further including a chassis which is secured within the housing such that the chassis is rotationally stationary within the housing during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel, wherein the hub is supported upon the chassis via a bearing such that the hub is rotatable relative to the chassis during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel of Evans in order for continued use of the powered skateboard (see at least Evans, para. [0022]).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biderman, in view of Coulter, in view of Doerksen, in view of Evans, in view of Manus, in view of US 2012/0159916A1 (“Ishii”).
As per claim 24 Biderman discloses
wherein the controller includes a magnetic field sensor which is located substantially adjacent a portion of the hub, wherein the hub has embedded therein one or more magnets (see at least Biderman, para. [0710]: With reference to FIG. 4C, a torque sensor system 238 can alternatively or additionally include a velocity sensor system including one or more Hall Effect sensors 254 and a plurality of magnets 258. In embodiments, the magnets 258 are provided in an alternating configuration on an outer surface of the inner sleeve 240, and spaced apart by a predetermined distance dl. ), wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, from the magnetic field sensor, one or more magnetic field sensor signals indicative of a rotational speed of the hub (see at least Biderman, para. [0687]: The plurality of sensors may also include sensors operable to measure various properties and parameters related to the wheel and elements of the wheel, such as wheel rotation velocity, angular momentum, speed and direction (forward and backward), acceleration, sensors to measure force applied to mechanical components and structures of the vehicle (such as handles, pedals, the frame, the handlebars, the fork, the seat), such as to sense forces, weight, strain, stress, sources and direction of force, increases and reductions in force, and others.); receive,
However Biderman teaches
from a motor controller of the motor, a signal indicative of a rotational speed of the motor; and
determining if a ratio of the rotational speed of the hub and the rotational speed of the motor changes over time, wherein in response to determining the change the controller is configured to stop operation of the motor.
Ishii teaches
from a motor controller of the motor, a signal indicative of a rotational speed of the motor (see at least Ishii, para. [0316]: Thus, when the number of revolutions of the electric motor 288 per unit time becomes lower than a predetermined ratio with respect to the vehicle speed, i.e. the rotational speed of the caster wheels 222 and 224…); and
determining if a ratio of the rotational speed of the hub and the rotational speed of the motor changes over time, wherein in response to determining the change the controller is configured to stop operation of the motor (see at least Ishii, para. [0316]: For example, when the slip ratio of the main drive wheels 212 and 214 is less than 5%, the switching module stops the electric power supply to the electric motors 288 (see FIG. 33 etc.) for driving the caster wheels 222 and 224 to travel to thereby stop power generation of the electric motors 288 so as to implement the first drive mode that drives only the main drive wheels 212 and 214. The "slip ratio" is obtained by comparing a target movement speed V.sub.0 of the main drive wheels 212 and 214 that is obtained based on the rotational speed of the electric motors 216 and 218 for driving the main drive wheels 212 and 214 with a movement speed V.sub.1 of the caster wheels 222 and 224 that is obtained based on the rotational speed of the electric motors 288 for driving the caster wheels 222 and 224 to travel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching from a motor controller of the motor, a signal indicative of a rotational speed of the motor; and determining if a ratio of the rotational speed of the hub and the rotational speed of the motor changes over time, wherein in response to determining the change the controller is configured to stop operation of the motor of Ishii in order for improvement in the aspect of enhancing control performance and maintenance servicing efficiency of a control system for a motor-driven lawnmower vehicle (see at least Ishii, para. [0025]).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biderman, in view of Coulter, in view of Doerksen, in view of Evans, in view of US 2010/0252338A1 (“Xie”).
As per claim 30 Biderman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the electrically motorised wheel is an electrically motorised golf cart wheel that converts a non-motorised golf cart to an electrically motorised golf cart.
Xie teaches
wherein the electrically motorised wheel is an electrically motorised golf cart wheel that converts a non-motorised golf cart to an electrically motorised golf cart (see at least Xie, para. [0034]: The motor gear 221 is preferably embodied as a clutch mounting between the motor 22 and the transmitting gear 261 for controlling the motor 22 and the transmitting gear 261 to detach from each other. The clutch switches the golf bag Vehicle between a driving mode and a manual mode. In the driving mode, the motor 22 works to save people's energy, while in the manual mode, the wheel circle rotates freely, especially adapt for downhill path.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching wherein the electrically motorised wheel is an electrically motorised golf cart wheel that converts a non-motorised golf cart to an electrically motorised golf cart of Xie in order for the golf bag vehicle to work stably, and operated conveniently, and therefore is applicable to long-time and long-distance work (see at least Xie, para. [0011]).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biderman, in view of Coulter, in view of Manus, in view of Doerksen, in view of Evans.
As per claim 31 Biderman discloses
A control module for an electrically motorised wheel, wherein control module includes (see at least Biderman, para. [0788]: The static system 902 and the rotating system 904 are arranged around an axis of rotation A of the electrically motorized wheel 900, and the static system 902 is coupled to the non-motorized wheeled vehicle via a torque arm assembly ( or via torque transmitting features designed into the axle) 928 (FIG. 91) such that the rotating system 904 is rotatable relate to the static system 902.):
a housing (see at least Biderman, para. [0787]: a hub shell assembly 916 (FIG. 91),);
an electric motor housed within the housing (see at least Biderman, para. [0788]: The electric motor 908 is selectively operable to rotate the rotating system 904 relative to the static system 902 to drive the spokes 918, the rim 920, and tire 922 thereof.);
a control system housed within the housing and electrically coupled to the electric motor, wherein the control system includes or is coupled to an inertial measurement unit, which is stationary within the housing during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel (see at least Biderman, para. [0788]: The electric motor 908 is selectively operable to rotate the rotating system 904 relative to the static system 902 to drive the spokes 918, the rim 920, and tire 922 thereof.), and
a controller configured to control operation of the electric motor based one or more sensor signals received from the inertial measurement unit (see at least Biderman, para. [0790]: The sensor system 912 may be operable to identify parameters indicative of the rotational input, such that the control system 914 in communication with the sensor system 912 is operable to continuously control the electric motor 908 in response to the input, such as that induced by a user pedaling.),
wherein the control system includes memory, the memory having direction data stored therein (see at least Biderman, para. [0719]: These interfaces may facilitate the support of accessory devices and peripherals such as environmental sensors, gyroscopes, supplemental memory and others by providing power to operate the accessory device and an interface for data transfer between the accessory device and data storage in the motorized wheel hub 110.) and
a power source housed within the housing and electrically connected to the control system and the electric motor (see at least Biderman, para. [0787]: a battery system 906 (FIG. 9E)... )… It should be understood that, although particular systems and components are separately defined, each, or any, may be otherwise combined or separated via hardware and/or software except where context indicates otherwise.),
wherein the electric motor is a bidirectional electric motor, allowing the electrically motorised wheel to operate in the first direction and the direction (see at least Biderman, para. [0702]: In embodiments the electrically motorized wheel may have a sensor system to sense applied force, vehicle movement, and other data. Sensors may include ones for sensing torque applied to electrically motorized wheel, sensors for measuring wheel rotation velocity, speed and direction (forward or backward), sensors to measure force applied to vehicle handles, sensors on wheel fork to sense source/ direction of force reduction, and others.),
wherein a direction of operation of the electric motor is controlled by the controller based on sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals received from the inertial measurement unit (see at least Biderman, para. [0790]: The sensor system 912 may be operable to identify parameters indicative of the rotational input, such that the control system 914 in communication with the sensor system 912 is operable to continuously control the electric motor 908 in response to the input, such as that induced by a user pedaling.),
wherein the controller uses the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals and the mounting orientation data to determine direction of the electrically motorised wheel (see at least Biderman, para. [0773]: By monitoring various motion and acceleration parameters and the forces/torque applied, outside forces applied to the vehicle (both positive and negative) may be estimated. The estimated outside forces are then used to power the electric motor in a direction in which the vehicle is moving or in a direction opposite the direction the vehicle is moving, causing a braking effect or acceleration in a reverse direction.),
wherein the direction of operation of the electric motor is controlled according to the direction to rotate the electrically motorised wheel in one of the first or second direction according to the direction (see at least Biderman, para. [0773]: By monitoring various motion and acceleration parameters and the forces/torque applied, outside forces applied to the vehicle (both positive and negative) may be estimated. The estimated outside forces are then used to power the electric motor in a direction in which the vehicle is moving or in a direction opposite the direction the vehicle is moving, causing a braking effect or acceleration in a reverse direction.).
Biderman discloses an inertial unit and/or a gyroscope that is able to detect orientation of the wheel.
However Biderman does not explicitly disclose
A transmission and control module for an electrically motorised wheel that operates as one wheel in a pair of electrically motorized wheels, wherein the transmission and control module includes,
the mounting orientation being an orientation of the wheel relative to the vehicle and is selected from the mounting orientations of a left mounting orientation and a right mounting orientation to determine whether the wheel is a left or a right mounted wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels;
wherein the mounting orientation is determined according to an additional wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels having an opposite mounting orientation, the additional wheel being opposing wheel on the vehicle.
Coulter teaches
A transmission and control module for an electrically motorised wheel that operates as one wheel in a pair of electrically motorized wheels (see at least Coulter, para. [0282]: The left and right wheel motors can drive the main wheels on the either side of the device. The front and back wheels can be coupled to drive together, so the two left wheels can drive together and the two right wheels can drive together. Turning can be accomplished by driving the left and right motors at different rates. The cluster motor can rotate the wheel base in the fore/aft direction. This can allow the MD to remain level while the front wheels become higher or lower than the rear wheels.),
wherein the control system includes memory, the memory having mounting orientation data stored therein, the mounting orientation being an orientation of the wheel relative to the vehicle and is selected from the mounting orientations of a left mounting orientation and a right mounting orientation to determine whether the wheel is a left or a right mounted wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels (see at least Coulter, para. [0382-0384]: Cluster motor drive processor A/B 1050/27 can drive cluster motor processors A/B 83/89 that can rotate the wheel base in the fore/aft direction which can allow the MD to remain level while front wheels 21201 (FIG. 6A) are higher or lower than rear wheels 21201 (FIG. 6A)….The data from the cluster position sensors and seat position sensors can be communicated among processors 43A-43D and can be used by processor set A/B 39/41 to determine information to be sent to, for example, right wheel motor drive processor A/B 19/31, cluster motor drive processor A/B 15/27, and seat motor drive processor A/B 25/37. The independent control of clusters 21100 (FIG. 3) and drive wheels 21201 (FIG. 7B) can allow the MD to operate in several modes, thereby allowing the user or processors 43A-43D to switch between modes, for example, in response to the local terrain.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of An electrically motorized wheel that operates as one wheel in a pair of electrically motorized wheels, wherein the control system includes memory, the memory having mounting orientation data stored therein, the mounting orientation being an orientation of the wheel relative to the vehicle and is selected from the mounting orientations of a left mounting orientation and a right mounting orientation to determine whether the wheel is a left or a right mounted wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels of Coulter in order to provide a reliable, lightweight, and stable mobility device that includes an automatic response capability to situations that are commonly encountered by a disabled user (see at least Coulter, para. [0006]).
Manus teaches
A transmission and control module for an electrically motorised wheel, wherein the transmission and control module includes (see at least Manus, para. [0072-0073]: Furthermore, the wheel 1 comprises a transmission 9 for transferring the torque from the motor 4 to the rim 3. The transmission 9 is arranged in the compartment about the hub 2, and the transmission 9 is located between the bottom 6 and the motor 4…):
a transmission assembly operatively connected to the electric motor and at least partially housed within the housing, wherein the transmission assembly is configured to cause rotation of a ground engaging portion of the electrically motorised wheel (see at least Manus, para. [0072-0073]: Furthermore, the wheel 1 comprises a transmission 9 for transferring the torque from the motor 4 to the rim 3. The transmission 9 is arranged in the compartment about the hub 2, and the transmission 9 is located between the bottom 6 and the motor 4…The transmission 9 comprises a first drive wheel 10, a second drive wheel 11, and a belt 12. The first drive wheel 10 is driven by the motor 4 and the second drive wheel 11 is driven by the first drive wheel 10 via the belt 12. To facilitate driving of the first and second drive wheels 10, 11, the drive wheels 10, 11 are provided with a toothed outer surface whereas the belt 12 is provided with a toothed inner surface (see FIG. 2).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching A transmission and control module for an electrically motorised wheel, wherein the transmission and control module includes, a transmission assembly operatively connected to the electric motor and at least partially housed within the housing, wherein the transmission assembly is configured to cause rotation of a ground engaging portion of the electrically motorised wheel of Manus in order to provide an improved driving wheel (see at least Manus, para. [0004]).
Doerksen teaches
wherein the controller uses the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals and the mounting orientation data to determine a mounting orientation of the electrically motorised wheel (see at least Doerksen, para. [0077]: In some embodiments, the gyro and accelerometer 314 may be collectively configured to sense orientation information sufficient to estimate the lean angle of frame 104 including pivotation about the pitch, roll and yaw axes.);
wherein the direction of operation of the electric motor is controlled according to the mounting orientation to rotate the electrically motorised wheel in one of the first or second direction according to the mounting orientation (see at least Doerksen, para. [0069]: In particularly, motor controller 254 may be configured to receive orientation information measured by the at least one sensor of sensors 270 and to cause motor assembly 254 to propel the electric vehicle based on the orientation information. For example, motor controller 254 maybe configured to drive hub motor 144 based on received sensed movement of board 104 from sensors270 via microcontroller 269 to propel and/or actively balance vehicle 100.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of a mounting orientation of Doerksen in to cause the motor assembly to propel the electric vehicle based on the board orientation information and the rider presence information (see at least Doerksen, para. [0004]).
Evans teaches
wherein the mounting orientation is determined according to an additional wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels having an opposite mounting orientation, the additional wheel being opposing wheel on the vehicle (see at least Evans, para. [0063-0064]: The powered wheel 300 can include a position encoder 318. The position encoder can be disposed between the inner motor support 316 and a stator 320. The stator 320 can be similar to stator 119 illustrated in FIG. 2. The position encoder 318 can be a mechanical encoder, an optical encoder, a magnetic encoder, a capacitive encoder and/or another type of encoder. The encoder 318 can be configured to convert the angular position of motion of the powered wheel 300 relative to the axle 304 to an analog or digital code. The analog or digital code can be used by a microprocessor (such as microprocessor 604 of FIG. 6) to determine the orientation of the stator 320 relative to the known position of the encoder 318. The position encoder 318 can include a hall effect sensor. The position encoder 318 can include a printed circuit board having one or more electrical components included thereon. para. [0141]: Motion sensors 1314 can be configured to determine an orientation of the powered skateboard 1204. In particular, motion sensors 1314 can provide information to the controller 1224 that the powered skateboard 1204 is performing a manual, or wheelie. In some instances, a user may deliberately perform a manual. In other instances, a user may accidentally perform a manual because the their center of mass has been displaced to a position that makes them instable on the powered skateboard 1204, for example, aft of the rear axle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of wherein the mounting orientation is determined according to an additional wheel of the pair of electrically motorised wheels having an opposite mounting orientation, the additional wheel being opposing wheel on the vehicle of Evans in order for continued use of the powered skateboard (see at least Evans, para. [0022]).
Claim(s) 34 & 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biderman, in view of Coulter, in view of Manus, in view of Doerksen, in view of Evans, further in view of Belon.
As per claim 34 Biderman discloses
determine, based on the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals, a current angular rotation (see at least Biderman, para. [0729]: The electrically motorized wheel 100 may additionally support a plurality of sensors that collect and process attributes related to the vehicle and the electrically motorized wheel 100 itself such as torque applied, velocity, "steadiness" of the vehicle, acceleration of the vehicle, & para. [0702]: Sensors may include ones for sensing torque applied to electrically motorized wheel, sensors for measuring wheel rotation velocity, speed and direction (forward or backward), sensors to measure force applied to vehicle handles, sensors on wheel fork to sense source/ direction of force reduction, and others.).
Biderman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the mounting orientation data includes a plurality of angular rotation ranges, wherein each angular rotation range has a respective mounting orientation, wherein the controller is configured to:
determine, based on the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals, a current angular rotation; and
determine a matching angular rotation range from the plurality of angular rotation ranges which the current angular rotation falls within, wherein the mounting orientation of the electrically motorised wheel is the respective mounting orientation of the matching angular rotation range.
Belon teaches
wherein the mounting orientation data includes a plurality of angular rotation ranges, wherein each angular rotation range has a respective mounting orientation (see at least Belon, para. [0030]: The sensor data from the accelerometer 14 can be converted from time domain to frequency domain by an FFT and placed within an LUT. The LUT can be read to provide the angle at which wheel assembly 10 currently exists.), wherein the controller is configured to:
determine, based on the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals, a current angular rotation (see at least Belon, para. [0036]: The value of acceleration is read by the electronics together with the encoder 18 reading. The encoder 18 reading can be initialized by artificially setting to Zero when the wheel is in a flat surface. Once initialized, the electronics keeps track of the encoder position and the accelerometer readings. In an embodiment, the encoder 18 position and accelerometer 14 readings are used by the processor on main circuit board 16 to calculate the speed and position, respectively. The phase angle of the accelerometer can be calculated to provide a measure of the slope.); and
determine a matching angular rotation range from the plurality of angular rotation ranges which the current angular rotation falls within, wherein the mounting orientation of the electrically motorised wheel is the respective mounting orientation of the matching angular rotation range (see at least Belon, para. [0039-0040]: In embodiments using a single strain gage sensor 28, the electronics associated with the strain gage sensor 28 can calculate a centroid of the stress value to identify the placement angle of the wheel assembly.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching of wherein the mounting orientation data includes a plurality of angular rotation ranges, wherein each angular rotation range has a respective mounting orientation, wherein the controller is configured to determine, based on the sensed acceleration indicated by the one or more sensor signals, a current angular rotation; and determine a matching angular rotation range from the plurality of angular rotation ranges which the current angular rotation falls within, wherein the mounting orientation of the electrically motorised wheel is the respective mounting orientation of the matching angular rotation range of Belon in order to retrofit a conventional bicycle to create a hybrid bicycle without any tools for conventional bicycles that have a quick release skewer (see at least Belon, para. [0013]).
As per claim 38 Biderman does not explicitly disclose
further including a chassis which is secured within the housing such that the chassis is rotationally stationary within the housing during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel, wherein the hub is supported upon the chassis via a bearing such that the hub is rotatable relative to the chassis during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel.
Evans teaches
further including a chassis which is secured within the housing such that the chassis is rotationally stationary within the housing during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel, wherein the hub is supported upon the chassis via a bearing such that the hub is rotatable relative to the chassis during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel (see at least Evans, Fig. 3A & para. [0066]: The powered wheel 300 can include an outer bearing 332. The outer bearing 332 can include an outer race 334 and an inner race 338. The outer race 334 can be configured to engage with an inner surface 336 of the outer motor support 326. The inner race 338 of the outer bearing 332 can be configured to engage with at least a portion 340 of the axle 304 of the skateboard truck 302. The inner bearing 306 and the outer bearing 332 can be configured to facilitate rotation of the inner motor support 316, stator 320, rotor can 322 and outer motor support 326 about the axle 304.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching further including a chassis which is secured within the housing such that the chassis is rotationally stationary within the housing during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel, wherein the hub is supported upon the chassis via a bearing such that the hub is rotatable relative to the chassis during motorised rotation of the electrically motorised wheel of Evans in order for continued use of the powered skateboard (see at least Evans, para. [0022]).
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biderman, in view of Coulter, in view of Manus, in view of Doerksen, in view of Evans, in view of Belon, in view of Ishii.
As per claim 43 Biderman discloses
wherein the controller includes a magnetic field sensor which is located substantially adjacent a portion of the hub, wherein the hub has embedded therein one or more magnets (see at least Biderman, para. [0710]: With reference to FIG. 4C, a torque sensor system 238 can alternatively or additionally include a velocity sensor system including one or more Hall Effect sensors 254 and a plurality of magnets 258. In embodiments, the magnets 258 are provided in an alternating configuration on an outer surface of the inner sleeve 240, and spaced apart by a predetermined distance dl. ), wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, from the magnetic field sensor, one or more magnetic field sensor signals indicative of a rotational speed of the hub (see at least Biderman, para. [0687]: The plurality of sensors may also include sensors operable to measure various properties and parameters related to the wheel and elements of the wheel, such as wheel rotation velocity, angular momentum, speed and direction (forward and backward), acceleration, sensors to measure force applied to mechanical components and structures of the vehicle (such as handles, pedals, the frame, the handlebars, the fork, the seat), such as to sense forces, weight, strain, stress, sources and direction of force, increases and reductions in force, and others.); receive,
However Biderman teaches
from a motor controller of the electric motor, a signal indicative of a rotational speed of the electric motor; and
determining if a ratio of the rotational speed of the hub and the rotational speed of the electric motor changes over time, wherein in response to determining the change the controller is configured to stop operation of the electric motor.
Ishii teaches
from a motor controller of the electric motor, a signal indicative of a rotational speed of the electric motor (see at least Ishii, para. [0316]: Thus, when the number of revolutions of the electric motor 288 per unit time becomes lower than a predetermined ratio with respect to the vehicle speed, i.e. the rotational speed of the caster wheels 222 and 224…); and
determining if a ratio of the rotational speed of the hub and the rotational speed of the electric motor changes over time, wherein in response to determining the change the controller is configured to stop operation of the electric motor (see at least Ishii, para. [0316]: For example, when the slip ratio of the main drive wheels 212 and 214 is less than 5%, the switching module stops the electric power supply to the electric motors 288 (see FIG. 33 etc.) for driving the caster wheels 222 and 224 to travel to thereby stop power generation of the electric motors 288 so as to implement the first drive mode that drives only the main drive wheels 212 and 214. The "slip ratio" is obtained by comparing a target movement speed V.sub.0 of the main drive wheels 212 and 214 that is obtained based on the rotational speed of the electric motors 216 and 218 for driving the main drive wheels 212 and 214 with a movement speed V.sub.1 of the caster wheels 222 and 224 that is obtained based on the rotational speed of the electric motors 288 for driving the caster wheels 222 and 224 to travel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Biderman to incorporate the teaching from a motor controller of the electric motor, a signal indicative of a rotational speed of the electric motor; and determining if a ratio of the rotational speed of the hub and the rotational speed of the electric motor changes over time, wherein in response to determining the change the controller is configured to stop operation of the electric motor of Ishii in order for improvement in the aspect of enhancing control performance and maintenance servicing efficiency of a control system for a motor-driven lawnmower vehicle (see at least Ishii, para. [0025]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668