DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2026, 06/30/2026, 07/30/2026, and 09/16/2026 have been considered by examiner. Examiner notes that the references in the IDS which have been crossed out, and therefore not considered, were not considered because there is no English translation provided for those references.
Priority
This Application claims priority to Application 16273058 as a Continuation-In-Part. The subject matter of claims 13, 15, and 18 are not supported in the aforementioned Application and are, therefore, not afforded the previous filing date(s) of the priority chain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strauser et al. (US6887290), hereinafter Strauser, in view of Brown et al. (US20050229777), hereinafter Brown.
Regarding claim 13, Strauser discloses a dust collection apparatus comprising:
a rotatable filter (Fig. 2 element 70, 23:7-15, where the filter being “suspended from the tube plate 80” and the body of the filter passing through “filter exhaust passageways 82” and only “the tops of the sock filters 72 are retained” where, based on Figs. 1 and 4, the top of the filter (72) appears to only be retained because the diameter of the top of the filter is greater than the diameter of the filter exhaust passageways (82) means that the filter is freely suspended and therefore capable of rotating);
a filter housing (Fig. 1 element 10 excluding elements 50, 52, and 53, 22:10-15) configured to house the rotatable filter (Fig. 1, 22:21-24); and
an inlet (Fig. 1 element 50) coupled to the filter housing (Fig. 1, 24:60 – 25:5), wherein the inlet is configured to receive a flow of airborne dust drawn by a negative pressure (Fig. 6, 26:15-24), and wherein the inlet is aligned away from the rotatablefilter and toward a curved inner wall (Fig. 1 element 30) of the filter housing to facilitate having the flow of airborne dust traverse the curved inner wall prior to entering the rotatable filter (Figs. 1 and 6, 24:60 – 25:5, where “The tangential orientation of the inlet 50 causes airflow entering the housing 10 through the inlet 50 to move along the interior of the sidewall 30, rather than in a direct path to the center of the system 1, and thereby causes a centrifugal airflow to form in the centrifugal separation chamber” corresponds to the inlet being aligned away from the filter and toward a curved inner wall to facilitate having the flow of airborne dust traverse the curved inner wall prior to entering the filter).
Strauser fails to disclose a mesh positioned upstream from the rotatable filter and perpendicular to the flow of airborne dust on an end of the inlet where the inlet transitions into the filter housing, wherein the mesh is configured to reduce a dust velocity of the airborne dust prior to the airborne dust entering the filter housing to mitigate an impact of the airborne dust on the rotatable filter.
Brown is also concerned with filtering air flow and teaches a mesh (Fig. 2B element 212) positioned perpendicular to the flow of airborne dust (0049-0050), wherein the mesh is configured to reduce a dust velocity of the airborne dust prior to the airborne dust entering the filter housing to mitigate an impact of the airborne dust on the filter (0023-0025, where these paragraph discuss how “Upon impact by the filter, particulate matter within a filtered air-flow may…be…deflected from the air-flow in a manner that facilitates collection and disposal of the…deflected particles” where deflection from the airflow would reduce the velocity of that particle (i.e. dust) and thus would result in a reduction of a dust velocity of the airborne dust prior to the airborne dust entering the filter housing which would then mitigate an impact of the airborne dust on any downstream filter). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the dust collection apparatus of Strauser to have a mesh filter positioned perpendicular to the flow of airborne dust which is capable of reducing a dust velocity of airborne dust, as taught by Brown, because Brown teaches that this type of filter is effective at removing particles from the air while reducing the rate at which the back-pressure increases due to increased mass from collected particles (0025).
Strauser, as modified, fails to disclose the mesh filter is positioned upstream from the rotatable filter on an end of the inlet where the inlet transitions into the filter housing. However, it has been held that an “obvious to try” rationale when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is a support for a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham, if the following findings can be established: (1) a finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem; (2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(E).
In the instant case, and as per (1), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there is a need in the art to provide a mesh to improve filtration of air flow (based at least on the teachings of Brown; see at least paragraphs 0045-0046). As per (2), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there is a finite number of identifiable, predictable potential solutions for the relative arrangement of the mesh filter, namely that the mesh filter must be positioned where all incoming airflow will pass through it before moving to the next stage (i.e. be located upstream from the rotatable filter) to ensure proper filtration of the air flow. As per (3), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the particular positioning of the mesh filter could have been pursued with a reasonable expectation of success, since said finite number of potential arrangements would have not yielded unpredictable results, nor would have rendered the prior art inoperable for its intended purpose. That is, the position of the mesh would have still expectedly have resulted in a dust collection apparatus to collect dust. As per (4), based on the above analysis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the teachings of Strauser, as modified, and to have modified them by positioning the mesh upstream from the rotatable filter on an end of the inlet where the inlet transitions into the filter housing, as a matter of trying a set of obvious, finite and predictable solutions, in order to obtain the best structural arrangement of components that best suits a filtration arrangement, without yielding unpredictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Strauser, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and further discloses the filter housing is substantially cylindrical (Strauser, Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 18, Strauser discloses a dust collection apparatus comprising:
a filter (Fig. 2 element 70);
a filter housing (Fig. 1 element 10 excluding elements 50, 52, and 53, 22:10-15) configured to house the filter (Fig. 1, 22:21-24); and
an inlet (Fig. 1 element 50) coupled to the filter housing (Fig. 1, 24:60 – 25:5), wherein the inlet is configured to receive a flow of airborne dust (Fig. 6, 26:15-24).
Strauser fails to disclose an aluminum mesh positioned perpendicular to the flow of airborne dust on an end of the inlet where the inlet transitions into the filter housing, wherein the aluminum mesh is configured to reduce a dust velocity of the airborne dust prior to the airborne dust entering the filter housing to mitigate an impact of the airborne dust on the filter.
Brown is also concerned with filtering air flow and teaches an aluminum mesh (Fig. 2B element 212, 0079, where “aluminum” is the selected material) positioned perpendicular to the flow of airborne dust (0049-0050), wherein the aluminum mesh is configured to reduce a dust velocity of the airborne dust prior to the airborne dust entering the filter housing to mitigate an impact of the airborne dust on the filter (0023-0025, where these paragraph discuss how “Upon impact by the filter, particulate matter within a filtered air-flow may…be…deflected from the air-flow in a manner that facilitates collection and disposal of the…deflected particles” where deflection from the airflow would reduce the velocity of that particle (i.e. dust) and thus would result in a reduction of a dust velocity of the airborne dust prior to the airborne dust entering the filter housing which would then mitigate an impact of the airborne dust on any downstream filter). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the dust collection apparatus of Strauser to have an aluminum mesh filter positioned perpendicular to the flow of airborne dust which is capable of reducing a dust velocity of airborne dust, as taught by Brown, because Brown teaches that this type of filter is effective at removing particles from the air while reducing the rate at which the back-pressure increases due to increased mass from collected particles (0025).
Strauser, as modified, fails to disclose the aluminum mesh filter is positioned on an end of the inlet where the inlet transitions into the filter housing. However, it has been held that an “obvious to try” rationale when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is a support for a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham, if the following findings can be established: (1) a finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem; (2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(E).
In the instant case, and as per (1), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there is a need in the art to provide a mesh to improve filtration of air flow (based at least on the teachings of Brown; see at least paragraphs 0045-0046). As per (2), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there is a finite number of identifiable, predictable potential solutions for the relative arrangement of the mesh filter, namely that the mesh filter must be positioned where all incoming airflow will pass through it before moving to the next stage to ensure proper filtration of the air flow. As per (3), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the particular positioning of the aluminum mesh filter could have been pursued with a reasonable expectation of success, since said finite number of potential arrangements would have not yielded unpredictable results, nor would have rendered the prior art inoperable for its intended purpose. That is, the position of the mesh would have still expectedly have resulted in a dust collection apparatus to collect dust. As per (4), based on the above analysis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the teachings of Strauser, as modified, and to have modified them by positioning the aluminum mesh on an end of the inlet where the inlet transitions into the filter housing, as a matter of trying a set of obvious, finite and predictable solutions, in order to obtain the best structural arrangement of components that best suits a filtration arrangement, without yielding unpredictable results.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strauser et al. (US6887290), hereinafter Strauser, in view of How Do Vacu-Valve Dust Valves Work found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rxu9a1K6MrU with a PDF of screenshots provided, hereinafter referred to as Vacu-Valve.
Regarding claim 17, Strauser discloses a dust collection apparatus comprising:
a filter (Fig. 2 element 70);
a filter housing (Fig. 1 element 10 excluding elements 50, 52, and 53, 22:10-15) configured to house the filter (Fig. 1, 22:21-24), wherein the filter and the filter housing are substantially cylindrical (Figs. 1 and 2); and
an inlet (Fig. 1 element 50) coupled to the filter housing (Fig. 1, 24:60 – 25:5), wherein the inlet is configured to receive a flow of airborne dust drawn by a negative pressure (Fig. 6, 26:15-24), and wherein the inlet is aligned away from the filter and toward a curved inner wall (Fig. 1 element 30) of the filter housing to facilitate having the flow of airborne dust traverse the curved inner wall prior to entering the filter (Figs. 1 and 6, 24:60 – 25:5, where “The tangential orientation of the inlet 50 causes airflow entering the housing 10 through the inlet 50 to move along the interior of the sidewall 30, rather than in a direct path to the center of the system 1, and thereby causes a centrifugal airflow to form in the centrifugal separation chamber” corresponds to the inlet being aligned away from the filter and toward a curved inner wall to facilitate having the flow of airborne dust traverse the curved inner wall prior to entering the filter).
Strauser fails to disclose a moveable barrier positioned below the filter housing and configured to automatically open and close according to a mode of the dust collection apparatus, wherein the moveable barrier is configured to remain closed during an operating mode to isolate the filter, and wherein the moveable barrier is configured to open during an idle mode to function as a dump door for dust collected by the filter.
Vacu-Valve is also concerned with a dust collection apparatus and teaches a moveable barrier (page 1, where “sleeve” corresponds to a movable barrier) positioned below the filter housing (page 1, where the movable barrier is positioned below the rest of the dust collector and therefore would also be positioned below a filter housing of the dust collector) and configured to automatically open and close according to a mode of the dust collection apparatus (pages 1-2, where the movable barrier is capable of remaining closed to isolate the filter during an operating mode as it would depend on how long the operating mode is active, how much weight of material is collected, and how the springs are adjusted and page 4, where “When the dust collection system is shut down, any residual head of material will discharge completely” corresponds to the moveable barrier is configured to open during an idle mode) wherein the moveable barrier is configured to remain closed during an operating mode to isolate the filter (pages 1-2, where the movable barrier is capable of remaining closed during an operating mode to isolate the filter as it would depend on how long the operating mode is active, how much weight of material is collected, and how the springs are adjusted), and wherein the moveable barrier is configured to open during an idle mode to function as a dump door for dust collected by the filter (page 4, where “When the dust collection system is shut down, any residual head of material will discharge completely” corresponds to the moveable barrier is configured to open during an idle mode to function as a dump door for dust collected by the filter). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the dust collection apparatus of Strauser to include a moveable barrier positioned below the filter housing with the capability of performing the claimed functions, as taught by Vacu-Valve, because Vacu-Valve teaches that including a moveable barrier positioned below the filter housing with the capability of performing the claimed functions allows for “maintaining system pressure” during operation (page 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 13, Applicant argues that Brown does not teach “a mesh positioned upstream from a rotatable filter” and that “it would be contrary to Brown’s design to place an upstream mesh in front of its spinning disk”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner finds that examiner has not relied upon the teachings of Brown for the location of the mesh and examiner has not suggested modifying the vacuum system of Brown, but instead examiner has relied upon and obvious to try rationale (See MPEP § 2143(I)(E)) on the dust collection apparatus of Strauser, as modified by Brown. Examiner finds that Applicant has not argued against examiner’s obvious to try rationale or why the placement of a mesh filter in the claimed orientation would not be obvious in the dust collection apparatus of Strauser and therefore examiner finds this argument unpersuasive.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant argues that Vacu-Valve fails to teach “a moveable barrier positioned below [a] filter housing and configured to automatically open and close according to a mode of [a] dust collection apparatus” because Vacu-Valve “does not teach or suggest a barrier that automatically opens and closes dictated by the operating mode (on/off) of the apparatus”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner finds that Vacu-valve does teach a moveable barrier (i.e. sleeve) which automatically closes when the system is in the “on” mode (i.e. when there is negative pressure being drawn by the system as shown on page 1 of Vacu-Valve) and automatically opens when the system is in the “off” mode (i.e. when the “dust collection system is shut down” as shown on page 4 of Vacu-Valve). Examiner further finds that Applicant has not addressed examiner’s interpretation that “the movable barrier is capable of remaining closed to isolate the filter during an operating mode as it would depend on how long the operating mode is active, how much weight of material is collected, and how the springs are adjusted”. Therefore examiner finds this argument unpersuasive.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant Argues that examiner’s current prior art fails to disclose the limitations of claim 18. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner finds that Strauser in view of Brown discloses the limitations of claim 18. See rejection of claim 18 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3723 /MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723