DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to amendments filed on 10/12/2025. Claims 2-3, 5, 7-9, 14 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 4, 6 and 10-13 are pending and examined below.
Claim Interpretation
“retention means” is described as being an adhesive support as described in paragraph [0077] of the Instant Applications PG Pub US20190313932A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by US 20150257674 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Jordan”) in view of US 20140081369 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Sosa”).
Regarding claim 1, Jordan, an EEG headgear device, teaches a system for detecting electroencephalographic signals (Figure 1) comprising:
A cup shaped electrode for transmission of the detected signal (paragraphs [0093], [0100]-[0105]);
a conduction and fixation system of said cup-shaped electrode configured to be interposed between the electrode and the scalp of a patient (uses hydrogel to improve electrical conductivity; paragraph [0104]); and
wherein said conduction and fixation system is constituted of a single hydrogel (paragraph [0104]), and
wherein said single hydrogel is shaped to be received within the cup-shaped housing (the hydrogel is placed in the lower portion of an electrode (thus would become shaped like a drop); paragraphs [0093], [0100]-[0105]; Figures 1-5); but does not explicitly teach a blister pack containing one or more hydrogel drops and wherein said conduction and fixation system is constituted of a single hydrogel drop provided in a dose amount sufficient to conduct the signal and having an outer surface sufficient for adhering to the scalp of the patient, the single hydrogel drop having a density sufficient to define a finite element of predetermined shape that can be handled individually to be positioned in the cup-shaped electrode and removed from the scalp of the patient, and wherein the density of the single hydrogel drop is further sufficient to cause the outer surface of the single hydrogel drop to be adaptable to a contour of the scalp of the patient.
However, Sosa, an electrode based head gear device, teaches a blister pack containing one or more hydrogel drops and the hydrogel drop being able to be applied to an electrode (paragraph [0025]) and wherein said conduction and fixation system is constituted of a single hydrogel drop provided in a dose amount sufficient to conduct the signal and having an outer surface sufficient for adhering to the scalp of the patient, the single hydrogel drop having a density sufficient to define a finite element of predetermined shape that can be handled individually to be positioned in the cup-shaped electrode and removed from the scalp of the patient, and wherein the density of the single hydrogel drop is further sufficient to cause the outer surface of the single hydrogel drop to be adaptable to a contour of the scalp of the patient (paragraphs [0092], [0107]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jordan, to have a blister pack of hydrogels drops, because doing so provides a packaging having a preset amount of hydrogel in each bubble of the blister pack and allows for easy access when supplying the hydrogel to the electrode.
Regarding claim 4, Jordan, in view of Sosa, teaches wherein the blister pack has a plurality of bubbles each containing one of the hydrogel drops (paragraph [0025]; as taught by Sosa).
Regarding claim 10, Jordan, in view of Sosa, teaches a method of detecting encephalographic signals (paragraphs [0006]-[0013]; as taught by Jordan), said method comprising:
Providing a system for detecting electroencephalographic signals according to claim 1 (as discussed in claim 1 rejection discussed above); and
Fixing the cup shaped electrode to the scalp of a patient to transmit detected electrical signals (paragraphs [0006]-[0013]; Figures 1-3; as taught by Jordan),
Wherein said fixing includes the following steps:
Positioning the drop/table element in contact with said electrode said single hydrogel drop within said cup shaped housing (paragraphs [0102]-[0105]; Figures 1-3; as taught by Jordan; paragraph [0025]; as taught by Sosa);
Bonding said electrode to the scalp of the patient by way of said single hydrogel drop (paragraphs [0102]-[0105]; Figures 1-3); and
Detecting electroencephalographic signals through said single hydrogel drop (paragraphs [0006]-[0013]; Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Jordan, in view of Sosa, wherein step (a) further comprises collecting said one of the hydrogel drops from the blister pack (is a cup electrode; paragraph [0013]; as taught in Jordan; gel held in blister pack pockets and transferred onto individual electrodes; paragraph [0025]; as taught by Sosa).
Regarding claim 13, Jordan, in view of Sosa, teaches the blister pack has a plurality of blister bubbles each containing one of the one or more hydrogel drops (paragraph [0025]; as taught by Sosa).
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan, in view of Sosa, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20150238106 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Lappalainen”).
Regarding claim 6, Jordan, in view of Sosa, teaches a headgear to keep the electrodes in position on the scalp of the patient (headgear 10; paragraphs [0094]-[0100]; as taught by Jordan); but does not explicitly teach a retention means having an adhesive support.
However, Lappalainen, an EEG device, teaches the retention means are composed of an adhesive support (paragraph [0005]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jordan, in view of Sosa, to have adhesive support, as taught by Lappalainen, because doing so provides additional support to keep the electrodes in a fixed position.
Regarding claim 12, Jordan teaches step (b) including a step of retaining said electrode in position on the scalp using a retention means; but does not explicitly teach the retention means are composed of an adhesive support.
However, Lappalainen, an EEG device, teaches the retention means are composed of an adhesive support (paragraph [0005]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jordan, to have adhesive support, as taught by Lappalainen, because doing so provides additional support to keep the retention means in a fixed position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/12/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 112(a) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(a) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/12/2025 with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Sosa does not teach "the single hydrogel drop having a density sufficient to define a finite element of predetermined shape that can be handled individually". Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sosa teaches hydrogels being individually packed in a blister pack that each of these hydrogels can be used for an electrode. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation meets the limitation of “being handled”. As such Applicant’s argument is found to be unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791