DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 24-33 and 38-39 are withdrawn. Claims 2-16, 18-23, 34-35 and 40-41 are cancelled. Claims 17 and 44-45 are amended. Claims 17, 36 and 42-45 are presently examined.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 11/12/2025 is overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 36 and 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (WO 2017/139963, English language equivalent EP 3417726 relied upon) in view of Davis (US 10,194,694) and Liu (US 2017/0035109).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses an atomizing device including an atomizer ([0008], figure 1, reference numeral 10), having a body ([0009], figure 3, reference numeral 100), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a shell, through which an air inhalation channel passes ([0009], figure 3, reference numeral 160), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a smoke outlet communicating with the outside. The shell also contains a liquid storage chamber (figure 3, reference numeral 140) and an atomizing element ([0009], figure 3, reference numeral 200). The atomizing element is located between the liquid storage chamber and a first sub-channel [0009] below the atomizing element ([0014], figure 3, reference numeral 232), which is considered to define an atomizing chamber. The porous body itself is considered to meet the claim limitation of a cover. The airflow channel extends through the interior of the porous body [0010]. The sealing gasket has a first portion ([0019], figure 6, reference numeral 242). A heat generating structure is located on the atomizing surface of the porous body ([0009], figure 4, reference numeral 224) in the form of a heating circuit layer [0011], indicating that it is configured to heat the porous body. It is evident that the heat of the porous body would then heat the liquid. The smoke is generated at the atomizing surface [0010], indicating that the porous body must guide the liquid through it from the top to the bottom to reach the atomizing surface. An airflow channel is formed through the porous body to interconnect the atomizing surface and the inhalation channel ([0009], figure 5). The airflow tunnel is formed by the smoke travelling in sequence through a first sub channel (figure 3, reference numeral 232), into the porous body through a second sub channel (figure 3, reference numeral 234), and then out of the porous body through a third sub channel ([0014], figure 3, reference numeral 236). There are multiple first and second sub channels [0015], indicating that the sub channels would be located at different surfaces of the porous body, since they would otherwise merge together. The first, second, and third subchannels together form a smoke tunnel that passes through multiple side surfaces and the top of the porous body, and also connects to the atomizing surface [0014], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of the smoke tunnel passing having first and second sub tunnels. Chen does not explicitly teach a (a) liquid tunnel, (b) a separate liquid guiding member and (c) the second liquid guide cloth being detachable.
Regarding (a), Davis teaches a porous monolithic material in the form of a single unit that (column 11, lines 31-42) that has a three dimensional interconnected porous microstructure (column 11, lines 31-67, column 12, lines 1-7). The interconnected structure is considered to define a liquid tunnel. Davis additionally teaches that this porous material is particularly suited for transporting a liquid to a heater in an aerosol generating device (column 3, lines 12-23).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the porous monolith material of Davis to make the porous body of Chen. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding (b), Liu teaches an atomizer having a second liquid guide cloth (figure 11, reference numeral 1201), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a liquid guiding element, that fits on the opposite side of an electric heating element (figure 11, reference numeral 203) from a first liquid guide cloth ([0150], figure 11, reference numeral 204) so that both sides of the electric heating element are close to a liquid guide cloth so that the atomizer may atomize the cigarette liquid to generate an increased quantity of smoke [0152].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second liquid guide cloth of Liu on the opposite side of the plated heating circuit layer from the atomizing surface of Chen. One would have been motivated to do so since Liu teaches a second liquid guide cloth that allows the atomizer to generate an increased quantity of smoke.
Regarding (c), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second liquid guide cloth be detachable. The Courts have held that making known elements separable is within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 V C.
Regarding claim 36, Chen discloses that the two sub tunnels are perpendicular to each other (figure 3).
Regarding claim 42, Chen discloses that a silicone gasket is located above the porous body ([0019], figure 5, reference numeral 240), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a sealing component. The gasket is disposed in a gap (figure 3).
Regarding claim 43, modified Chen teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Chen additionally discloses that the porous body includes a side surface located below an overhanging portion of the porous body ([0009], figure 4, reference numeral 225), indicating that any components mounted on the side would be located under the cover. Modified Chen does not explicitly teach the heat generating structure located on the side wall.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the heat generating surface of modified Chen to the side wall of modified Chen. One would have been motivated to do so since there is no evidence that the specific location of the heat generating surface is critical. Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding claims 44 and 45, modified Chen teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Chen additionally discloses that the heat generating structure is located on the atomizing surface [0009] and is plated to the atomizing surface [0011]. Modified Chen does not explicitly teach the atomizing surface located at the bottom of the porous body.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the heat generating surface of modified Chen to the bottom of the porous body of modified Chen. One would have been motivated to do so since there is no evidence that the specific location of the heat generating surface is critical. Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are entered as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755