DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 7–9, 11, 13–22, 24, 25, 27–36 and 40-44 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 5, 6, 10, 12, 23 and 26 were cancelled.
Claim 37 is cancelled.
Claims 38 and 39 were withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the list of cited references was considered in full by the examiner. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this Office action.
Withdrawn Rejections/Objections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby
withdrawn in view of the amendments filed 06/03/2026.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection to claim 37 in the office action filed 12/16/2025 has been withdrawn in view of amendments received 06/03/2026 specifically due to the cancellation claim 37.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection to claim 1 in the office action filed 12/16/2025 has been withdrawn in view of amendments received 06/03/2026 specifically by amending the claim to recite the diagnosis step prior to the administering step.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection to claim 37 in the office action filed 12/16/2025 has been withdrawn in view of amendments received 06/03/2026 specifically due to the cancellation of claim 37.
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection to claim 37 in the office action filed 12/16/2025 has been withdrawn in view of amendments received 06/03/2026 specifically due to the cancellation of claim 37.
The following rejections and/or objections are either maintained or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Priority
Applicant’s claim under 35 USC § 119(e) for the benefit of prior-filed Provisional Application No. 62/659495 is acknowledged.
In this action, all claims are examined as though they had an effective filing date of 18 Apr 2018. In future actions, the effective filing date of one or more claims may change, due to amendments to the claims, or further analysis of the disclosure(s) of the priority application(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–4, 11, 13–22, 24, 25, 27–36, 40 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid (US 2017/0286594 A1; as previously cited on IDS form dated 11 Sep 2019), in view of Kingsmore (US20170061070; as previously cited on IDS form dated 11 Sep 2019), and further in view of Robinson (The Human Phenotype Ontology: A Tool for Annotating and Analyzing Human Hereditary Disease, The American Society of Human Genetics, 09/17/2008; as cited in the attached 892 form).
With respect to claim 1, Reid teaches a method comprising:
a) Determining a phenome of a subject from an electronic medical record (EMR), wherein the phenome comprises a plurality of clinical phenotypes extracted from the EMR (a phenotypic data component configured for determining one or more phenotypes for one or more patients (claim 1); algorithms can be utilized to analyze electronic medical record (EMR) and electronic health record (EHR) data" (0104)
b) Translating the clinical phenotypes into standardized vocabulary using a hierarchical reference vocabulary for mapping terms associated with genetic diseases (the Local Data/Processing Center can analyze the de-identified medical information to assign one or more phenotypes to each patient (for example, by assigning International Classification of Diseases 'ICD' and/or Current Procedural Terminology 'CPT' codes)" (0122); the one or more codes can be, for example, International Classification of Diseases codes (ICD-9, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10)" (0148)); Reid further discloses the binary phenotype component that can be configured for analyzing de-identified medical information to identify one or more codes assigned to a patient in the de-identified medical information. The one or more codes can be, for example, International Classification of Diseases codes (ICD-9, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10), Systematized Nomenclature of Medicine-Clinical Terms (SNOMED CT) codes, Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) codes, RxNorm codes, Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes, Logical Observation Identifier Names and Codes (LOINC) codes, MedDRA codes, drug names, billing codes, and the like. The one or more codes are based on controlled terminology and assigned to specific diagnoses and medical procedures. The binary phenotype component 214 can identify the existence (or non-existence) of the one or more codes, determine a phenotype(s) associated with the one or more codes, and assign the phenotype(s) to the patient associated with the de-identified medical information via a unique identifier [0148]. See also, the quantitative, categorical, and clinical narrative phenotype components [0147-0152]).
c) determining a phenotype matching score by quantifying the number of phenotype terms from the EMR that match phenotype terms of each genetic disease and weighting each genetic disease that has matched phenotypes according to the number of matched phenotypes and the information content of the matched phenotypes (Reid discloses scoring and weighting EMR data: In an aspect, the clinical narrative phenotype component 220 can be a natural language processing (NLP) phenotype component configured for analyzing de-identified medical information to identify terms that can be used to assign a phenotype to a patient. The NLP phenotype component 220 can analyze, for example, narrative (unstructured) data contained in the de-identified medical information. The NLP phenotype component 220 can process text to extract information using linguistic rules. The NLP phenotype component 220 can break down sentences and phrases into words, and assign each word a part of speech—for example, a noun or adjective. The NLP phenotype component 220 can then apply linguistic rules to interpret the possible meaning of the sentence. In so doing, the NLP phenotype component 220 can identify concepts contained in the sentences. The NLP phenotype component 220 can link several terms to a concept by accessing one or more databases that standardize health terminologies, define the terms, and relate terms to each other and to a concept (e.g., an ontology). Such databases include the SNOMED CT, which organizes health terminologies into categories (such as body structure or clinical finding), RxNorm, which links drug names to other drug names in major pharmacy and drug interaction databases, and the Phenotype KnowledgeBase website (PheKB)[0151]; Reid further discloses factors involved in the number of genetic variant-phenotype association and/or gene-phenotype association results that can be generated include the number of genes and/or genetic variants, the number of phenotypes and the number of statistical tests or models that are performed. Thus, the genetic variant-phenotype association data component 206 is thus infinitely scalable. In one embodiment, a genetic variant-phenotype association result and/or gene-phenotype association result analysis for a desired number of genes and/or genetic variants, a desired number of phenotypes and the number of applied statistical tests or models [0163]). Additionally, Kingsmore discloses that upon entry of the clinical features of an individual patient, SSAGA or Phenomizer identified the corresponding superset of relevant diseases and genes, rank ordered by number of matching terms or probability [0071]. Kingsmore further discloses that Human Phenotype Ontology terms for the clinical features in each of the 51 affected children were mapped to ˜5,300 MIM diseases and ˜2,900 genes (ND Table s2). The Phenomizer rank of the correct diagnosis among the prioritized list of diseases matching the observed clinical features was a measure of the goodness of fit between the observed and expected presentations [0083];
d) Deriving a first list of weighted or scored differential diagnoses of the subject based on c) (Reid discloses that the method 500 can comprise determining one or more de-identified medical records (e.g., phenotype data, including medical information) associated with the one or more criteria at 504. The one or more de-identified medical records can be associated with the first cohort and that the method 500 can comprise grouping the one or more de-identified medical records into a first result [0176) Fig.5).
e) Performing genetic sequencing of a biological sample containing DNA from the subject using a method selected from whole genome sequencing (WGS), rapid whole genome sequencing (rWGS), ultra-rapid whole genome sequencing, or whole exome sequencing (WES), or rapid whole exome sequencing (rWES) (Reid discloses receiving a plurality of variants from exome sequencing data; assessing a functional impact of the plurality of variants; generating an effect prediction element for each of the plurality of variants; and assembling the effect prediction element into a searchable database comprising the plurality of variants [0021]. Reid further discloses that "the genetic variant data are obtained from genomic sequencing of the subjects for whom genetic variant and phenotype data are contained in the system. In another aspect, the genetic variant data are obtained from exome (for example, whole exome) sequencing of the subjects for whom genetic variant and phenotype data are contained in the system" (0103). “The NGS Sequencing Facility 106 can comprise one or more sequencers (e.g., Illumina HiSeq 2500, Pacific Biosciences PacBio RS II, and the like). The one or more sequencers can be configured for exome sequencing, whole exome sequencing, RNA-seq, whole-genome sequencing, targeted sequencing, and the like… resulting in annotated variant files for each sample” (0123-0124)).
f) Determining genetic variants of the DNA and a genotype of the subject based on d) ("variant identification component 210 can identify (e.g., call) one or more variants, including CNV identification" (0136); using the genetic information for diagnosis (0109), which can be done using variant pathogenicity information (0321–0324) and mode-of-inheritance information (0107; 0423–0424)).
g) Deriving a second list of differential diagnoses of the subject based on assessment of a pathogenicity of each of the genetic variants of e) ("the genetic variant-phenotype association data component 206 can be configured for determining, storing, analyzing, receiving, and the like, one or more associations between the one or more genetic variants in the genetic variant data and the one or more phenotypes in the phenotypic data" (0152); Reid further discloses variant restriction to those with a Pathogenic classification [0321-0322]. Reid further discloses that The variant annotation component 212 can be configured to determine and assign functional information to the identified variants. The variant annotation component 212 can be configured to categorize each variant based on the variant's relationship to coding sequences in the genome and how the variant may change the coding sequence and affect the gene product [0140]).
h) Integrating first and second differential diagnoses lists; (Reid discloses that "genetic variant-phenotype association data component can be configured to generate genetic variant-phenotype association results" (0163); this component combines the diagnoses from the genetic data component and the phenotypic data component (206; Fig. 2)).
i) Ranking and ordering the differential diagnoses based on the results of integrating in g) (determining the top 3 diagnoses based on the phenotype and genetic data (407 and 408; Fig. 4E))
j) Generating a report comprising results of the analysis of h), thereby providing an autonomous diagnosis; wherein at least one of the steps is performed using a computer. ("a data analysis component configured for generating, storing and indexing the one or more associations from the genetic variant-phenotype association data component" (0013); "a genetic variant-phenotype association data component to determine an association result between the variant and a phenotype of the cohort; passing the association result to a data analysis component to store and index the association result by at least one of the variant and the phenotype" (0022); the systems and methods disclosed herein can be implemented via a general-purpose computing device in the form of a computer (0237)).
k) administering to the subject a targeted treatment earlier than such treatment would be administered using a standard rapid testing result; (Reid discloses: The present methods and systems facilitate the nomination identification of biological drug targets [0011] and that the discloses method would improve diagnostic rates and eventually inform patient treatments [0409]; see also, present system and methods facilitate the study of the biological pathway(s) that are relevant to a phenotype identified as being associated with a genetic variant. The biological pathway can be studied in detail, for example, in support of drug development, to identify a putative biological target for pharmacologic intervention [0253]).
Further regarding claim 1, Reid discloses analyzing the de-identified medical information to assign one or more phenotypes to each patient (for example, by assigning International Classification of Diseases “ICD” and/or Current Procedural Terminology “CPT” codes) [0122] and the NLP phenotype component that can link terms to concepts by accessing one or more databases that standardize health terminologies, define the terms, and relate terms to each other and to a concept (e.g., an ontology) [0151], as well as identification of drugs [0011].
Reid does not expressly teach that the translating step uses Human Phenotype Ontology terms and administering to the subject a targeted treatment earlier than such treatment would be administered using a standard rapid testing result.
Kingsmore discloses a method of genetic disease diagnosis comprising genome sequencing, variant detection, comparing a database of genetic diseases with disease phenotype information to produce a prioritized list of probable genetic diseases, and integrating the superset of sensitive variant calls and the prioritized list of probable genetic diseases (claim 1).
Kingsmore further discloses examining electronic medical record for each affected individual and recording the clinical features of the patient's illness using Human Phenotype Ontology (HPO) terms [0056].
Kingsmore further discloses that earlier diagnosis of Mendelian diseases can enable earlier institution of specific treatments, which may engender improved patient outcomes [0001]. Kingsmore further discloses that saving costs of intensive care by earlier diagnosis, either through withdrawal of care where the prognosis rendered medical care futile, or as a result of institution of an effective treatment upon diagnosis was omitted [0088]. Kingsmore further discloses administering a treatment/ immunosuppressants [0051].
Further regarding claim 1 Step c), Reid and Kingsmore do not teach that the information content of each matched phenotype is derived from the frequency of the phenotype term in a reference database of genetic diseases. Robinson teaches a tool for annotating and analyzing human hereditary diseases and teaches an ontological similarity measure that defines a highly significant phenotypic-similarity metric among hereditary diseases listed in OMIM. Robinson further discloses that the information content of a term is based on the frequency of annotations to that term among the 4779 diseases in the OMIM database that were annotated to terms of the HPO. Robinson further discloses that for each term t of the HPO, the information content is quantified as the negative logarithm of its probability: −log p(t), in which the probability of a term is taken to be its frequency among annotations to all 4779 annotated diseases (Abstract; pg. 613, col. 1, para. 1).
With respect to claim 2, Reid teaches a population of subjects who seek care at a medical system at which detailed longitudinal electronic health records are maintained on the subjects (0142).
With respect to claim 3, Reid teaches the clinical narrative phenotype component can be a natural language processing (NLP) phenotype component configured for analyzing de-identified medical information to identify terms that can be used to assign a phenotype to a patient. Reid further teaches, the NLP phenotype component can analyze, for example, narrative (unstructured) data contained in the de-identified medical information (0151).
With respect to claim 4, Reid teaches "a program can invoke parallel operations such as mapping, filtering, or reduction on [a resilient distributed data set] by passing a function to a scheduler, which then schedules the function's execution in parallel in the cluster" (0233).
With respect to claim 11, Reid teaches "the NLP phenotype component can link several terms to a concept by accessing one or more databases that standardize health terminologies, define the terms, and relate terms to each other and to a concept (e.g., an ontology)" (0151).
With respect to claim 13, Reid teaches one or more CNVs can be detected in all whole-exome sequencing samples using CLAMMS. Every CNV can be defined by start and end coordinates, expected copy number state, and/or confidence level. Reid further teaches Copy number state is the most likely state (# of copies) as predicted by the probabilistic CLAMMS (non-limiting example of a method for calling a copy number variant, [0135]) mixture models… [0137].
With respect to claim 14, Reid teaches within the pilot set, after bioinformatic filtration, 641 variants in the G76 were reviewed: 32 (5.0%) were considered "pathogenic", 23 (3.6%) were considered "likely pathogenic", and the remainder 586 (91.4%) were considered either variants of uncertain significance, likely benign, benign, or false positives [0324].
With respect to claim 15, Reid teaches sample size required for detecting a variant is influenced by both the frequency of the variant, for example the minor allele frequency (MAF), and the effect size of the variant [0112]. Reid further teaches within one embodiment the MAF of a genetic variant is at least 1%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9% or 10%, while in another the MAF of a genetic variant is less than 10%, 9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4%, 3%, 2%, 1%, 0.9%, 0.8%, 0.7%, 0.6%, 0.5%, 0.4%, 0.3%, 0.2%, 0.1%, 0.09%, 0.08%, 0.07%, 0.06%, 0.05%, 0.04%, 0.03%, 0.02% or 0.01% [0113].
With respect to claim 16, Reid teaches, after bioinformatic filtration, 641 variants in the G76 were reviewed: 32 (5.0%) were considered "pathogenic", 23 (3.6%) were considered "likely pathogenic", and the remainder 586 (91.4%) were considered either variants of uncertain significance, likely benign, benign, or false positives [0324].
With respect to claim 17, Reid teaches that of 641 variants in the G76 that were reviewed: 32 (5.0%) were considered "pathogenic", 23 (3.6%) were considered "likely pathogenic", and the remainder 586 (91.4%) were considered either variants of uncertain significance, likely benign, benign, or false positives. Furthering teaching, variants that are classified as "pathogenic" or "likely pathogenic" and confirmed in a CLIA-certified molecular diagnostic laboratory are considered as eligible for return to patients and providers [0324].
With respect to claim 18, Reid teaches the probability of observing at least one duplication or deletion in a gene relative to its rank by the pLI metric. Reid further teaches genes ranked by probability of SNV (genetic variant) loss-of-function intolerance (pLI; ExAC v0.3) correlate with the observed probability of observing CNVs (genetic variant) in the same gene [0381, see Fig. 37].
With respect to claim 19, Kingsmore teaches performing genetic sequencing of a DNA sample from a biological parent of the subject (STATseq was performed on both parents and affected infants simultaneously. Genomic DNA extraction from whole blood, library preparation, sequencing, and data analysis were performed using validated protocols (0140).)
With respect to claims 20 and 21, Kingsmore teaches the genetic sequencing is performed for both biological parents and only results in which trio diplotypes fit a known inheritance pattern of a specific genetic disease are obtained and that wherein parental health status is used to obtain only results in which parental diplotypes fit a known inheritance pattern of a specific genetic disease (all inheritance patterns were examined. Where a single likely causative variant for a recessive disorder was identified, the locus was manually inspected using the Integrated Genome Viewer in the trio for uncalled variants. Kingsmore further teaches familial relationships were confirmed by segregation analysis of private variants in STATseq diagnoses associated with de novo mutations. An infant was classified as having a definitive diagnosis if a pathogenic or likely pathogenic genotype in a disease gene that overlapped with a reported phenotype was reported in the medical record (0142)).
With respect to claim 22, Kingsmore teaches the genetic variants present in the subject's genome and not in the parental genome are utilized to determine a diagnosis for the subject (genome sequencing that refers to methods that decode the sequence of those regions of the genome that are relevant for disease diagnosis (0069)).
With respect to claims 24 and 25, Kingsmore teaches that the subject is less than 5 years old, an infant, fetus or neonate (Subjects are neonates and infants (0005) subject is a 5-month-old male (0174)).
With respect to claim 27, Reid teaches methods and systems disclosed support large-scale, automated statistical analysis of genetic variant-phenotype associations, on a rolling basis, as genetic variant and phenotype data for new subjects are added over time [0103].
With respect to claims 28 and 29, Reid teaches the present methods and systems also facilitate the identification of therapeutic methods for influencing the expression of a gene that contains the variant identified in the genetic variant-phenotype association. Non-limiting examples of suitable therapeutic methods include genome editing, gene therapy [0257].
With respect to claim 30, Reid teaches the phenotypic data component can be configured for determining, storing, analyzing, receiving, and the like, one or more phenotypes for a patient (subject) [0146]. Reid further teaches the binary phenotype component can be configured for analyzing de-identified medical information to identify one or more codes assigned to a patient in the de-identified medical information. Reid additionally discloses one or more codes can be, for example, International Classification of Diseases codes (ICD-9, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10), Systematized Nomenclature of Medicine-Clinical Terms (SNOMED CT) codes, Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) codes…the one or more codes are based on controlled terminology and assigned to specific diagnoses and medical procedures. Further teaching the binary phenotype component can identify the existence (or non-existence) of the one or more codes, determine a phenotype(s) associated with the one or more codes, and assign the phenotype(s) to the patient associated with the de-identified medical information via a unique identifier [0148].
With respect to claims 31–34, Reid teaches, the genetic data component can comprise identification and functional annotation of variants derived from sequencing subjects in a general population, for example, a population of subjects who seek care at a medical system at which detailed longitudinal electronic health records are maintained on the subjects [0142]. Reid further teaches, the phenotypic data component can be configured for determining, storing, analyzing, receiving, and the like, one or more phenotypes for a patient (subject). The phenotypic data component can be configured to determine one or more phenotypes for each of at least 100,000 patients (subjects). The patients (subjects) can be patients for whom sequencing data has been obtained and analyzed by the genetic data component. A result of determining one or more phenotypes is generation of phenotypic data [0146].
With respect to claims 35 and 36, Reid teaches determining the frequency of a variant (in genetic data component or in another database to which data exchange interface is linked) [0189].
With respect to claim 40, Reid teaches that the phenotypes are derived from electronic medical record fields (0122).
With respect to claim 41, Reid teaches a plurality of subjects, each having their own electronic medical record (0176–0179).
With respect to claim 42, Reid discloses potential clinical actionability that includes opportunities for either preventive measures or early therapeutic interventions to ameliorate pathologic features of the condition [0322]. Additionally, Kingsmore discloses that earlier diagnosis of Mendelian diseases can enable earlier institution of specific treatments, which may engender improved patient outcomes. Kingsmore further discloses that it is possible to have molecular diagnosis in 50 hours by rapid whole genome sequencing (STATseq) [0001]. Kingsmore further discloses genome sequencing for diagnosis of genetic diseases with enhanced sensitivity in 24 hours [0005] [0013] [0046].
With respect to claim 43, Kingsmore discloses that the targeted treatment is immunoglobulin [0160].
With respect to claim 44, Reid discloses that the subject is pediatric [0421]. Further, Kingsmore discloses that the subject is a pediatric admitted to ICU [0160].
Rationale for combining Reid, Kingsmore, and Robinson:
In KSR Int 'l v. Teleflex, the Supreme Court, in rejecting the rigid application of the teaching, suggestion, and motivation test by the Federal Circuit, indicated that “The principles underlying [earlier] cases are instructive when the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious. When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability.” KSR Int'l v. Teleflex lnc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007).
Applying the KSR standard to Reid, Kingsmore, and Robinson, Examiner concludes that this combination represents applying known techniques to a known method. Reid, Kingsmore, and Robinson are directed to characterization of genetic diseases by utilizing genomic data. Reid disclosed determining a phenome from an electronic medical record, translating phenotypes by analyzing de-identified medical information to identify one or more codes assigned to a patient in the de-identified medical information, where, the one or more codes can be, for example, International Classification of Diseases codes (ICD-9, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10), Systematized Nomenclature of Medicine-Clinical Terms (SNOMED CT) codes, Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) codes, RxNorm codes, Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes, Logical Observation Identifier Names and Codes (LOINC) codes, MedDRA codes, drug names, billing codes, and the like [0148]. In the same field of research, Kingsmore (previously cited on the (09/11/2019) IDS form) provided translating phenotypes using Human Phenotype Ontology (HPO) terms, for the purpose of describing phenotypic variations in humans, including those associated with diseases, as well as early drug administration. Robinson provided deriving the information content of each phenotype from frequency of the phenotype term in a reference database, for the purpose of indicating the importance of specific phenotypes for matching.
Combining the known technique of Phenotypic translation of Kingsmore using HPO terms and the known technique of information content sorting of Robinson with disease characterization of Reid would have allowed for assembling a more granular and phenotype-focused approach, particularly for rare diseases. One ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success at combining these methods. This combination would have been expected to have provided a more differential diagnosis. Therefore, the invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 7–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid, Kingsmore, and Robinson, as applied to claims 1–4, 11, 13–22, 24, 25, 27–36, 40 and 41 above, further in view of Clark (WO 2016164474 A1; as previously cited in the 892 form dated 05/14/2025).
The instant claims 7-9 depend from claim 1 with the extra limitations of the biological sample is serum, saliva, buccal smear/swab, plasma, feces, cerebrospinal fluid, urine; blood; dried blood spot.
Reid and Kingsmore are applied to claims 1–4, 11, 13–22, 24, 25, 27–37, 40 and 41 above. Reid discloses that the sample is blood [0264] and serum [0304]. Reid and Kingsmore do not expressly teach that the sample is a dried blood spot.
Clark discloses a method of determining whether a subject is at risk of having a disease, the method comprising obtaining a biological sample from a subject and determining the presence of one or more variants (claim 1). Clark further discloses medical annotation analysis using human phenotype ontology database to assess clinical phenotypes (pg. 63, para. 1) and that the sample is dried blood spot (pg. 79, para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Reid and Kingsmore to have used various biological sample types such as blood, serum, saliva and buccal swap, as shown by Morrison ((0008) and (0099)) to detect genetic variations. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in combining the technique of Morrison to the method of Reid and Kingsmore because they are all in the field of diagnosing genetic diseases from variations identified in genomic sequence data.
Applying the KSR standard to Reid, Kingsmore, and Clark, the examiner concludes that the combination of Reid and Kingsmore represents using a known technique to improve similar method. Reid, Kingsmore, and Clark are directed to characterization of genetic diseases by genome sequencing. Reid and Kingsmore disclosed determining a phenome from an electronic medical record, translating phenotypes using Human Phenotype Ontology (HPO) terms, for the purpose of describing phenotypic variations in humans, including those associated with diseases. In the same field of research, Clark provided dried blood spot sample type.
Combining the disease characterization of Reid and Kingsmore with sample type of Clark would have allowed ease of collection (specially, in case of obtaining sample from pediatric patients), storage, and transportation of sample. One ordinary skilled in the art before he effective filing data of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success at combining the method of Reid, Kingsmore, and Clark. This combination would have been expected to have provided an improved disease characterization method. Therefore, the invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Response to Applicant’s Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants submit (pg. 4, para. 3) that Clark does not disclose deriving information content from the frequency of phenotype terms in a reference database of genetic diseases for the purpose of weighting matched phenotypes in a phenotype matching score calculation.
As stated in the above art rejection, amendments to the claims necessitated a new rounds of art rejections, and as such, the combination of Reid, Kingsmore, and Robinson teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Double Patenting
A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-4, 7–9, 11, 14–18, 20–22, 24, 25, 27–33, 35–36, and 40-41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–14, 20-27, 30–34 and 36 of copending Application No. 17/838,115 (reference application) in view of Reid (US 2017/0286594 A1; as previously cited on IDS form dated 11 Sep 2019), in view of Kingsmore (US20170061070; as previously cited on IDS form dated 11 Sep 2019), and further in view of Robinson (The Human Phenotype Ontology: A Tool for Annotating and Analyzing Human Hereditary Disease, The American Society of Human Genetics, 09/17/2008; as cited in the attached 892 form).
The claims are directed to identifying one or more genetic variants associated with a disease.
Instant Application
'115 Application
Claim (s)
Limitation
Claim (s)
Limitation
1, 411
a) determining a phenome of a subject from an electronic medical record (EMR), wherein the phenome comprises a plurality of clinical phenotypes extracted from the EMR;b) translating the clinical phenotypes into standardized vocabulary using a hierarchical reference vocabulary for mapping Human Phenotype Ontology terms associated with genetic diseases;
c) determining a phenotype matching score by quantifying the number of phenotype terms from the EMR that match phenotype terms of each genetic disease and weighting each genetic disease that has matched phenotypes according to the number of matched phenotypes and the information content of the matched phenotypes wherein the information content of each matched phenotype is derived from the frequency of the phenotype term in a reference database of genetic diseases; d[[c]]) deriving a first list of weighted or scored differential diagnoses of the subject based on c[[b]]);e[[d]]) performing genetic sequencing of a biological sample containing DNA from the subject using a method selected from whole genome sequencing (WGS), rapid whole genome sequencing (rWGS), ultra-rapid whole genome sequencing, or whole exome sequencing (WES), or rapid whole exome sequencing (rWES);f[[e]]) determining genetic variants of the DNA and a genotype of the subject based one[[d]]);g[[c]]) deriving a second list of differential diagnoses of the subject based on assessment of a pathogenicity of each of the genetic variants of f[[e]]), andKingsmore et al Attorney Docket No. RADY 110-1
comparison of the genotype of f[[e]]) with a pattern of inheritance of genetic diseases;h[[g]]) integrating first and second differential diagnoses lists;i[[h]]) ranking and ordering the differential diagnoses based on the results of integrating in h[[g]]);j_[[i]]) generating a report comprising results of the analysis of i[[h]]; andk[[j]]) administering to the subject a targeted treatment earlier than such treatment would be administered using a standard rapid testing result,thereby providing an autonomous diagnosis;wherein at least one of the steps is performed using a computer.
1 and 5
A method comprising: a) determining a phenome of a subject from an electronic medical record (EMR), wherein the phenome comprises a plurality of clinical phenotypes extracted from the EMR; b) translating the clinical phenotypes into a standardized vocabulary; c) generating a first list of potential differential diagnoses of the subject, the first list optionally being rank ordered; d) performing genetic sequencing of a DNA sample from the subject; e) determining genetic variants of the DNA; f) analyzing the results of (c) and (e) to generate a second list of potential differential diagnoses of the subject, the second list being rank ordered; g) determining the efficacy and/or quality of evidence of efficacy of available treatments for the second list of potential differential diagnoses; h) analyzing the results of (f) and (g) to generate a third list of potential differential diagnoses of the subject, the third list being rank ordered, together with available treatments; and i) generating a report comprising results of any of (a)-(h).
wherein genetic sequencing comprises, genome sequencing, rapid whole genome sequencing (rWGS), ultra-rapid whole genome sequencing, exome sequencing, or rapid whole exome sequencing (rWES).
2
further comprising generating the EMR for the subject prior to (a).
2
further comprising generating the EMR for the subject prior to (a).
3
wherein (b) utilizes natural language processing to perform the translation.
3
wherein (b) utilizes natural language processing to perform the translation.
4
wherein (a)-(c) and (d)-(e) are performed in parallel.
4
wherein (a)-(c) and (d)-(e) are performed in parallel.
7
wherein the sample is serum, saliva, buccal smear/swab, plasma, feces, cerebrospinal fluid or urine.
7
wherein the sample is blood, dried blood spot, serum, saliva, buccal smear/swab, plasma, feces, cerebrospinal fluid or urine.
8
wherein the sample is blood.
9
wherein the biological sample is a dried blood spot.
11
wherein the ranked list is performed via query of a database populated with known clinical phenotypes expressed in the same vocabulary as the standardized vocabulary of (b).
8
wherein the first, second and/or third ranked list is generated via query of a database populated with known clinical phenotypes of all known genetic diseases expressed in the same vocabulary as the standardized vocabulary of (b).
14
wherein the genetic variants are annotated and classified as being of uncertain significance (VUS), pathogenic (P) or likely pathogenic (LP).
10
wherein the genetic variants are utilized to generate a probabilistic diagnosis and/or are annotated and classified as being of uncertain significance (VUS), pathogenic (P) or likely pathogenic (LP).
15
wherein only genetic variants with an allele frequency of <5%, 2.5%, 1%, 0.1 % or less in a population of healthy individuals is retained.
11
wherein only genetic variants with an allele frequency of <5%, 2.5%, 1%, 0.1% or less in a population of healthy individuals is retained.
16
wherein determining genetic variants of (e) further comprises annotation of the genetic variants to identify and rank all diplotypes as being of uncertain significance (VUS), pathogenic (P) or likely pathogenic (LP) on the basis of pathogenicity.
12
wherein determining genetic variants of (e) further comprises annotation of the genetic variants to identify and rank all diplotypes as being of uncertain significance (VUS), pathogenic (P) or likely pathogenic (LP) on the basis of pathogenicity.
17
herein the second list of potential differential diagnoses is generated by comparing the annotated VUS, LP and P diplotypes on a regional genomic basis with corresponding genomic regions associated with the first list of potential differential diagnoses of (c).
13
wherein the second list of potential differential diagnoses is generated by comparing the annotated VUS, LP and P diplotypes on a regional genomic basis with corresponding genomic regions associated with the first list of potential differential diagnoses of (c).
18
wherein the genetic variants are ranked based on a combination of rank of goodness of fit of clinical phenotypes, rank of pathogenicity of diplotypes, and/or allele frequencies of the genetic variants in a population of health individuals.
14
wherein the genetic variants are ranked based on a combination of rank of goodness of fit of clinical phenotypes, rank of pathogenicity of diplotypes, and/or allele frequencies of the genetic variants in a population of health individuals.
20
wherein genetic sequencing is performed for both biological parents and only results in which trio diplotypes fit a known inheritance pattern of a specific genetic disease are obtained.
20
wherein genetic sequencing is performed for both biological parents and only results in which trio diplotypes fit a known inheritance pattern of a specific genetic disease are obtained.
21
wherein genetic sequencing is performed for both biological parents, wherein parental health status (healthy or affected) is used to obtain only results in which parental diplotypes fit a known inheritance pattern of a specific genetic disease.
21
wherein genetic sequencing is performed for both biological parents, wherein parental health status (healthy or affected) is used to obtain only results in which parental diplotypes fit a known inheritance pattern of a specific genetic disease.
22
wherein genetic variants present in the subject's genome and not in the parental genome are utilized to determine a diagnosis for the subject.
22
wherein genetic variants present in the subject's genome and not in the parental genome are utilized to determine a diagnosis for the subject.
24
wherein the subject is less than 5 years old.
23
wherein the subject is less than 5 years old.
25
wherein the subject is an infant, fetus or neonate.
24
wherein the subject is an infant, fetus or neonate.
27
wherein the method is automated.
26
wherein the method is automated.
28
further comprising generating a therapy regime for the subject based on (g).
27
further comprising generating a therapy regime for the subject and/or providing a therapy to the subject.
29
further comprising providing a therapy to the subject.
30
wherein (a) further comprises analyzing supplemental clinical information to determine the phenome.
30
wherein (a) further comprises analyzing supplemental clinical information to determine the phenome.
31
wherein (a) is performed for a plurality of subjects thereby generating a plurality of EMRs, a plurality of phenomes, and a plurality of clinical phenotypes.
31
wherein (a) is performed for a plurality of subjects thereby generating a plurality of EMRs, a plurality of phenomes, and a plurality of clinical phenotypes.
32
wherein (a) is performed for a plurality of subjects thereby generating a plurality of EMRs, a plurality of phenomes, and a plurality of clinical phenotypes.
32
wherein (a) is performed for a plurality of subjects thereby generating a plurality of EMRs, a plurality of phenomes, and a plurality of clinical phenotypes.
33
further comprising storing on a non-transitory memory the plurality of EMRs, the plurality of phenomes, and the plurality of clinical phenotypes to generate a searchable database.
33
further comprising storing on a non-transitory memory the plurality of EMRs, the plurality of phenomes, and the plurality of clinical phenotypes to generate a searchable database.
35
further comprising utilizing the database to screen for genetic data, a genotype, or a disease or disorder in a second subject or to update a diagnosis of the subject.
34
further comprising utilizing the database to screen for genetic data, a genotype, or a disease or disorder in a second subject or to update a diagnosis of the subject.
36
further comprising utilizing the database to screen for genetic data, a genotype, or a disease or disorder in a second subject or to update a diagnosis of the subject.
40
one or more phenotypes selected from structured electronic health records (EHR) fields
1
determining a phenome of a subject from an electronic medical record (EMR), wherein the phenome comprises a plurality of clinical phenotypes extracted from the EMR
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Reference provisional Application No. 17/838,115 does not teach the limitations of claim 1 regarding determining a phenotype matching score by quantifying the number of phenotype terms from the EMR that match phenotype terms of each genetic disease and weighting each genetic disease that has matched phenotypes according to the number of matched phenotypes and the information content of the matched phenotypes, using Human Phenotype Ontology terms and administering to the subject a targeted treatment earlier than such treatment would be administered using a standard rapid testing result. Kingsmore discloses examining electronic medical record for each affected individual and recording the clinical features of the patient's illness using Human Phenotype Ontology (HPO) terms [0056].
Reid discloses scoring and weighting EMR data: In an aspect, the clinical narrative phenotype component 220 can be a natural language processing (NLP) phenotype component configured for analyzing de-identified medical information to identify terms that can be used to assign a phenotype to a patient. The NLP phenotype component 220 can link several terms to a concept by accessing one or more databases that standardize health terminologies, define the terms, and relate terms to each other and to a concept (e.g., an ontology). Such databases include the SNOMED CT, which organizes health terminologies into categories (such as body structure or clinical finding), RxNorm, which links drug names to other drug names in major pharmacy and drug interaction databases, and the Phenotype KnowledgeBase website (PheKB)[0151]). Reid further discloses quantifying the number of phenotype terms from the EMR that match phenotype terms of each genetic disease: factors involved in the number of genetic variant-phenotype association and/or gene-phenotype association results that can be generated include the number of genes and/or genetic variants, the number of phenotypes and the number of statistical tests or models that are performed [0163].
Additionally, Kingsmore discloses that upon entry of the clinical features of an individual patient, SSAGA or Phenomizer identified the corresponding superset of relevant diseases and genes, rank ordered by number of matching terms or probability [0071]. Kingsmore further discloses that Human Phenotype Ontology terms for the clinical features in each of the 51 affected children were mapped to ˜5,300 MIM diseases and ˜2,900 genes (ND Table s2). The Phenomizer rank of the correct diagnosis among the prioritized list of diseases matching the observed clinical features was a measure of the goodness of fit between the observed and expected presentations [0083].
Kingsmore further discloses that earlier diagnosis of Mendelian diseases can enable earlier institution of specific treatments, which may engender improved patient outcomes [0001]. Kingsmore further discloses that saving costs of intensive care by earlier diagnosis, either through withdrawal of care where the prognosis rendered medical care futile, or as a result of institution of an effective treatment upon diagnosis was omitted [0088]. Kingsmore further discloses administering a treatment/ immunosuppressants [0051].
Further regarding claim 1 Step c), Reid and Kingsmore do not teach that the information content of each matched phenotype is derived from the frequency of the phenotype term in a reference database of genetic diseases. Robinson teaches a tool for annotating and analyzing human hereditary diseases and teaches an ontological similarity measure that defines a highly significant phenotypic-similarity metric among hereditary diseases listed in OMIM. Robinson further discloses that the information content of a term is based on the frequency of annotations to that term among the 4779 diseases in the OMIM database that were annotated to terms of the HPO. Robinson further discloses that for each term t of the HPO, the information content is quantified as the negative logarithm of its probability: −log p(t), in which the probability of a term is taken to be its frequency among annotations to all 4779 annotated diseases (Abstract; pg. 613, col. 1, para. 1).
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because they are drawn to the related field of genetic analysis and diagnosis, and one ordinary skilled in the art could have combine the known techniques and the combination of known techniques would have yielded predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicants request that the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance. The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1686
/G. STEVEN VANNI/ Primary patents examiner, Art Unit 1686
1 As explained above, merely repeating a method does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art, absent evidence that the repetition causes unexpected results.