DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8, it is unclear how the longitudinal bore of the first coupling portion can be
slightly smaller than the longitudinal bore of the second coupling portion and also have both bores be able to form a tight fit with a pipe of a first size, as the pipe of the first size would have the same outer diameter with or without the thread and also be large enough to form a tight fit with the second coupling portion. Therefore, if the second coupling portion is sized to form a tight fit with the first size pipe, it is unclear how the pipe of the first size could be inserted into the first coupling portion, as the bore of the first coupling portion is slightly smaller. Clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zavertnik 3,093,703.
In regard to claim 1, Zavertnik discloses an electrical conduit coupler, comprising:
a body 10 having:
a first coupling portion 15;
a second coupling portion 14;
a stop portion 16 positioned between the first coupling portion and the second coupling
portion, and
a longitudinal bore extending from the first coupling portion through the stop portion to
the second coupling portion;
wherein the longitudinal bore within the first coupling portion 15 has a diameter that is
larger than a diameter of the longitudinal bore within the stop portion 16 and slightly smaller than a diameter of the longitudinal bore within the second coupling portion 14;
wherein the longitudinal bore within the first coupling portion 15 is a threaded bore that
is adapted to receive only a threaded end of a first threaded electrical conduit of a first size such that there is a tight fit between the threaded bore 15 and the threaded end of the first thread electrical conduit of the first size;
wherein the diameter of the longitudinal bore 14 within the second coupling portion is
adapted to receive at any one time only one a threaded end of a second threaded conduit of the first size and an unthreaded end 20 of an unthreaded the second conduit of the first size (if a thread were to be cut into the outer surface of 20, it would also fit tightly within the bore of 14 because 20 would have the same outer diameter with or without a thread present), such that there is a tight fit between the longitudinal bore within the second coupling portion and the threaded end of the second threaded conduit of the second size or the unthreaded end of the unthreaded second conduit of the second size; and
wherein the diameter of the longitudinal bore within the stop portion 16 has the diameter that provides a wire passage between the first threaded conduit and the second threaded conduit.
In regard to claim 4, wherein the stop portion 16 comprises a ring integrally formed into the body.
In regard to claim 5, wherein a length of the second coupling portion 14 is greater than a length of the first coupling portion 15.
In regard to claim 6, wherein the longitudinal bore 14 within the second coupling portion has a smooth wall.
In regard to claim 7, wherein the first coupling portion 15 comprises a female coupling portion and the second coupling portion 14 comprises a female coupling portion.
Claim(s) 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith 9,705,295.
In regard to claim 14, Smith discloses (fig. 8) an electrical conduit coupler, comprising;
a body 22 having:
a male coupling portion 26;
a female coupling portion 24;
a stop portion 48 positioned between the male coupling portion and the female coupling portion;
and
a longitudinal bore extending from the male coupling portion through the stop portion to the female coupling portion;
wherein the male coupling portion comprises an exteriorly threaded nipple 44 that extends from an end wall of the stop portion 48, wherein the longitudinal bore within the stop portion 48 has a diameter that is equal to a diameter of the longitudinal bore within the male coupling portion and smaller than a diameter of the longitudinal bore within the female coupling portion 24 (see fig. 8),
wherein the diameter of the longitudinal bore within the female coupling portion 24 is adapted to receive at any one time only one of a threaded end of a conduit 28 of a first size and an unthreaded end of the conduit of the first size, (see fig. 10, where there is no space between the exterior of 28 and the interior of 20, if a thread were to be cut into the outer surface of 28, it would also fit tightly within the bore of 20 because 28 would have the same outer diameter with or without a thread present), such that there is a tight fit between the longitudinal bore within the female coupling portion and the threaded end of the conduit of the first size or the unthreaded end of the conduit of the first size; and
wherein the diameter of longitudinal bore within the stop portion provides a wire passage from the threaded conduit or the unthreaded conduit.
In regard to claim 15, wherein the female coupling portion of the body includes at least one aperture 30, and at least one fastener 32 within the at least one aperture used to releasably secure the threaded conduit or the unthreaded conduit 28 to the body.
In regard to claim 16, the female coupling portion of the body includes a plurality of spaced apart apertures 30 and a plurality of fasteners 32 for securing the conduit 28.
In regard to claim 17, the male coupling portion 26 is configured to receive a threaded end of another threaded conduit.
In regard to claim 18, wherein the diameter of the longitudinal bore 26 within the male coupling portion is substantially equal to an inside diameter of the threaded end of the threaded conduit or the unthreaded end of the unthreaded conduit 28.
In regard to claim 19, wherein the longitudinal bore within the female coupling portion 24 has a smooth wall (see fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrame 2008/0238091 in view of Hooley 1,737,242.
In regard to claim 1, Vrame discloses an electrical conduit coupler 10, comprising;
a body 16 having;
a first coupling portion 14;
a second coupling portion 12;
a stop portion 17 positioned between the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion, and
a longitudinal bore extending from the first coupling portion through the stop portion to the second coupling portion;
wherein the longitudinal bore within the first coupling portion 14 has a diameter that is larger than a diameter of the longitudinal bore within the stop portion 17;
wherein the longitudinal bore within the first coupling portion has a threaded bore 20 that is adapted to receive only a threaded end of a first electrical conduit of a first size such that there is a tight fit between the threaded bore 20 and the threaded end of the first electrical conduit of the first size (see paragraph 20),
wherein the diameter of the longitudinal bore within the second coupling portion 12 is adapted to receive at any one time only one of a threaded end of a second conduit of the first size and an unthreaded end of the second conduit E of the first size such that there is a tight fit between the longitudinal bore within the second coupling portion 12 and the unthreaded end of the unthreaded conduit of the second size (the diameter of E is the same either with or without a threaded end), and
wherein the diameter of the longitudinal bore within the stop portion 17 provides a wire passage between the first conduit and the second conduit.
Vrame discloses an electrical conduit coupler as described above for joining two conduits, but does not disclose the bore of the first portion as being smaller than a bore of the second coupling portion.
Hooley teaches that providing similar types of couplers 12 with first and second ends (see fig. 1) with the same bore diameter, in order to join conduit (a) of the same diameter, or coupler ends 12 with different diameters, for joining conduit (a) of different diameters (see fig. 4), is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coupler of Vrame to include coupling ends with different diameters because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 2, the second coupling portion 12 includes at least one aperture (hole for 18), and at least one fastener 18 within the at least one aperture used to releasably secure the second unthreaded conduit E to the body 16.
In regard to claim 3, wherein the second coupling portion 12 of the body includes a plurality of spaced apart apertures (holes for 18) and a plurality of fasteners 18 (see paragraph 17, where it states that there can be multiple fasteners 18 spread around the coupling portion 12 and set 180 degrees apart),
wherein one of the plurality of fasteners 18 is within one of the plurality of apertures, and
wherein the plurality of fasteners 18 are used to releasably secure the second unthreaded conduit E to the body.
In regard to claim 5, the length of the second coupling portion 12 is equal to a length of the first coupling portion 14.
In regard to claim 6, wherein the longitudinal bore within the second coupling portion 12 has a smooth wall.
In regard to claim 7, wherein the first coupling portion 14 comprises a female coupling and the second coupling portion 12 comprises a female coupling portion.
Claims 8-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrame 2008/0238091 in view of Hooley 1,737,242 and further in view of Smith 7,563,100.
In regard to claim 8, Vrame discloses an electrical conduit coupler 10, comprising;
a body 16 having;
a first coupling portion 14;
a second coupling portion 12;
a stop portion 17 positioned between the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion, and
a longitudinal bore extending from the first coupling portion through the stop portion to the second coupling portion;
wherein the longitudinal bore within the first coupling portion 14 has a diameter that is larger than a diameter of the longitudinal bore within the stop portion 17;
wherein the longitudinal bore within the first coupling portion has a threaded bore 20 that receives only a threaded end of a first threaded conduit of a first size such that there is a tight fit between the threaded bore 20 and the threaded end of the first threaded electrical conduit of the first size (see paragraph 20),
wherein the diameter of the longitudinal bore within the second coupling portion 12 is adapted to receive at any one time only one of a threaded end of a second threaded conduit E of a first size such and an unthreaded end of the second conduit of the first size, such that there is a tight fit between the longitudinal bore within the second coupling portion 12 and the threaded end of the second conduit or the unthreaded end of the second conduit (the diameter of E is the same either with or without a threaded end), and
wherein the diameter of the longitudinal bore within the stop portion 17 provides a wire passage between the first conduit and the second conduit, and
wherein the second coupling portion 12 includes at least one stop mounting aperture (hole for 18), and at least one stop member 18 movable between an engaging position and a non-engaging position.
Vrame discloses an electrical conduit coupler as described above for joining two conduits, but does not disclose the bore of the first portion as being smaller than a bore of the second coupling portion.
Hooley teaches that providing similar types of couplers 12 with first and second ends (see fig. 1) with the same bore diameter, in order to join conduit (a) of the same diameter, or coupler ends 12 with different diameters, for joining conduit (a) of different diameters (see fig. 4), is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coupler of Vrame to include coupling ends with different diameters because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
Vrame does discloses first and second coupling portions with a length, for slidingly receiving the ends of adjacent conduit, but does not disclose the second coupling portion as being at least twice the length of the first coupling portion.
Smith teaches that providing a similar type of coupling 11 that slidingly receives adjacent ends of conduit 14, 15 with one end 11A that is twice as large as the other 11B, in order to allow for expansion and contraction of the coupling, is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art modify the coupling portion length of one end of the coupler of Vrame, in order to allow for additional sliding of a conduit relative to the coupler, as taught by Smith.
In regard to claim 9, the second coupling portion 12 includes at least one aperture (hole for another hole 18), and at least one fastener (another bolt 18) (see paragraph 17) within the at least one aperture used to releasably secure the second unthreaded conduit E to the body 16.
In regard to claim 10, wherein the second coupling portion 24 of the body includes a plurality of spaced apart apertures (holes for 18) and a plurality of fasteners 18 (see paragraph 17),
wherein one of the plurality of fasteners 18 is within one of the plurality of apertures, and
wherein the plurality of fasteners 18 are used to releasably secure the second unthreaded conduit E to the body 16.
In regard to claim 12, wherein the longitudinal bore within the second coupling portion 12 has a smooth wall.
In regard to claim 13, wherein the first coupling portion 14 comprises a female coupling and the second coupling portion 12 comprises a female coupling portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 14, Applicant argues that the female bore of Smith ‘295 is not adapted to receive at any one time only one of a threaded end of a conduit of a first size and an
unthreaded end of the conduit of the first size, such that there is a tight fit between the longitudinal bore within the female coupling and the threaded end of the conduit. The Examiner disagrees, as there is no space between the exterior of 28 and the interior of 20, if a thread were to be cut into the outer surface of 28, it would also fit tightly within the bore of 20 because 28 would have the same outer diameter with or without a thread present. Therefore the Smith rejection has been maintained.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Applicant argues that the female bore 12 of Vrame is not adapted to receive at any one time only one of a threaded end of a conduit of a first size and an unthreaded end of the conduit of the first size, such that there is a tight fit between the longitudinal bore within the female coupling and the threaded end of the conduit. The Examiner disagrees, as there is a tight fit between the female bore 12 and conduit E , if a thread were to be cut into the outer surface of E, it would also fit tightly within the bore of 12 because E would have the same outer diameter with or without a thread present. Therefore the rejection in view of Vrame has been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679