DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 15-18, 22, and 25-26 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 07/21/2025, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections. The reasons set forth below.
Drawings
The formal drawings received on 07/20/2022 have been entered.
Interviews
In the applicant’s interview summary, on page 9 of the remarks dated 07/21/2025, the applicant’s representative, RICHARD HOLZER, stated that “The Examiner suggested adding a limitation relating to the API to address the Section 101 rejection.” The Examiner suggested that the applicant’s representative to look into the concept of API mentioned in paragraphs [0140] and [0178] when the subject of abstract idea under 35 U.S.C. 101 was broached during the interview on 06/30/2025. However, the Examiner did not mention how this concept should be added to the claims. The Examiner even stated during the telephonic conversation on 06/30/2025 that the applicant’s representative must make sure that the amendments must comply with the written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as the applicant’s specification just merely mentions the API without connecting it to the claimed concept.
In addition, during a detailed interview on 07/24/2025, the Examiner proposed potentially allowable subject matter, which is subject to further search and considerations. However, while reviewing the attached proposed independent claims sent by the applicant’s representative on 08/15/2025, the Examiner noticed that the independent claims did not include all of the limitations of claim 7, specifically “the first key is a required key of a further predicate and not all the required keys of the further predicate have been satisfied, …,” which was the most important part of claim 7 and essential subject matter. The amendment made by the applicant’s representative did not change the scope of the independent claims to render the case allowable. Since there are several outstanding issues associated with 35 U.S.C 112 and 103, the claims are not allowable and therefore, this action is being issued. The Examiner looks forward to resolving the outstanding issues to move the case forward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 15-18, 22, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 22, 25 recite “receiving … a configuration input via one or more APIs from one or more provider,” which lack written description support in the applicant’s specification. The term “API” is mentioned merely three times in only two paragraphs [0140] and [0178]. The three mentions of the API do not connect the concept of receiving a configuration input from one or more provider with the APIs. As it can be seen below in both paragraphs, the specification merely discloses “… providers may get access to … a user plane service API discovery method (this may be to initialise the API-Clients)” and “REST API may permit … create templates; list templates; list placeholders; create trigger from template; activate a trigger; and deactivate a trigger.” None of these paragraphs disclose receiving a configuration input via one or more APIs from one or more provider.
The specification, in paragraph [0140], states “The providers may get access to one or more of: a user token; a user plane service API discovery method (this may be to initialise the API-Clients); ….”
The specification, in paragraph [0178], states “A REST API may permit one or more of the following actions: create templates; list templates; list placeholders; create trigger from template; activate a trigger; and deactivate a trigger.”
Claim 22 recite “responsive to determining … and without requiring intervening user action, generating … output key,” which lack written description support in the applicant’s specification. The concept “without requiring intervening user action” is not mentioned anywhere in the applicant’s specification nor the applicant provides support for this amendment in the response.
Claim 1-9, 12-13, 15-18, 22, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a first predicate" in “as a result of determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user, triggering generation ….” This claim also recites the limitation “a first predicate” earlier in this claim in “in response to receiving the first key, determining, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user;” Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The meaning of these two instances of “a first predicate” is also not clear; thus, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "a first predicate" in “responsive to determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user and without requiring intervening user action, generating ….” This claim also recites the limitation “a first predicate” earlier in this claim in “in response to receiving the first key, determining, by the at least one processor, that all required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user;” Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The meaning of these two instances of “a first predicate” is also not clear; thus, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "a first predicate" in “as a result of determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user, triggering generation ….” This claim also recites the limitation “a first predicate” earlier in this claim in “in response to receiving, by the at least one processor, the first key, determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user;” Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The meaning of these two instances of “a first predicate” is also not clear; thus, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12-13, 15-18, 22, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US 20220176253) in view of Kulfan (US 9131339), and further in view of Wang (US 20120253814).
Claims 1, 25. Nishikawa teaches:
A computer implemented method performed by a computer apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, wherein: – in paragraph [0031] (The information processing device 10 includes a processor 100 and a communication unit 102. The processor 100 includes game software 110, an event information acquiring section 120, a routing section 122, a transmission processing section 124, an output processing section 126, a state managing section 130, a first memory 140, and a second memory 142.)
the at least one memory is configured to store one or more computer implemented games and at least one stored condition for a first user; and – in paragraphs [0014], [0039] (A user plays game software, i.e., a console game, installed in an information processing device. The configuration file included in the game software 110 describes how event information output from the game and conditions for unlocking trophies are associated with each other.)
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause performance of a method comprising: – in paragraph [0031] (The information processing device 10 includes a processor 100 and a communication unit 102.)
receiving, by the computer apparatus, a configuration input, the configuration input comprising information defining a plurality of predicates, – in paragraphs [0039], [0041] (When the state managing section 130 is provided with the configuration file from the game software 110, the state managing section 130 generates records, i.e., stats, for trophy management in the first memory 140. The configuration file included in the game software 110 describes how event information output from the game and conditions for unlocking trophies are associated with each other.)
each predicate being satisfied by one or more keys, – in paragraph [0015] (Events of at least some kinds are related to an unlocking condition for a trophy. Game software outputs event information, and system software determines whether an unlocking condition for a trophy is satisfied.)
each predicate being associated with the delivery of content associated with one or more computer implemented games, – in paragraph [0038] (For the purpose of keeping a motivation for the user, various missions are established in the game. When the user clears a mission, a virtual award, i.e., a trophy, for the mission is given to the user. A condition for unlocking a trophy, i.e., a condition for the user to clear a mission and acquire a trophy, is related to a particular event. For example, in the case where a mission of “greeting 10 villagers” is established for a bronze trophy, the player is given a bronze trophy by greeting 10 villagers. In the case where a mission of “greeting 100 villagers” is established for a silver trophy, the player is given a silver trophy by greeting 100 villagers. In the case where a mission “greeting 500 villagers” is established for a gold trophy, the player is given a gold trophy by greeting 500 villagers.)
the one or more computer implemented games being run on the at least one processor of the computer apparatus; – in paragraphs [0023]-[0030] (The main CPU has a function to activate an OS (Operating System) and execute game programs installed in the auxiliary storage device 2 in an environment provided by the OS.)
receiving, at least one processor, a first key; – in paragraph [0046] (The configuration file from the game software 110 includes a list of event codes related to unlocking of trophies. The code list is given to the routing section 122 before the game is played. When provided with the event information, the routing section 122 supplies all the event information to the transmission processing section 124, and supplies the event information related to the unlocking of trophies to the state managing section 130 according to the code list.)
Nishikawa does not explicitly teach:
in response to receiving the first key condition, determining, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user; and causing, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, first content associated with one or more computer implemented games to be displayed on a display of the computer apparatus associated with the first user in response to determining by the at least one processor that all the required keys for the first predicate are satisfied by the first key and the at least one stored key for the first user; as a result of determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user, triggering generation, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, of at least one output key, the at least one key being a required key of at least one other predicate; storing, by the at least one processor in the at least one memory, the at least one output key; determining, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that a further predicate is satisfied by the at least one output key and the at least one stored key for the first user; and causing, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, second content associated with the one or more computer implemented games to be displayed on the display of the computer apparatus in response to determining by the at least one processor that all the required keys for the further predicate are satisfied by the at least one output key and the at least one stored key for the first user.
However, Kulfan teaches:
in response to receiving the first key condition, determining, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user; and – on lines 66-67 in column 9, on lines 1-10 in column 10, on lines 4-27 in column 12, on lines 34-67 in column 17, on lines 1-58 in column 18 (Block 506 illustrates determining that the criteria have been satisfied by a user. Based at least in part on actions performed by the user 102 with respect to a corresponding user device 104, the content server 108 may determine that the criteria 130 have been satisfied. Block 508 illustrates unlocking the content item with respect to the user. Users 102 may also specify their interests/preferences and/or the type of content items 128 that they would like to unlock and receive. The content server 108, or a service provider or administrator that is associated with the game, may identify users 102 that are playing the game and obtain information about those users 102 with respect to the game (e.g., how far they have progressed, an amount of currency or points obtained, etc.). The user access module 210 may restrict access to the content items 128 to particular users 102 or to users 102 that have been authorized to unlock the content items 128.)
causing, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, first content associated with one or more computer implemented games to be displayed on a display of the computer apparatus associated with the first user in response to determining by the at least one processor that all the required keys for the first predicate are satisfied by the first key and the at least one stored key for the first user; – on lines 34-67 in column 17, on lines 1-58 in column 18, on lines 66-67 in column 9, on lines 1-10 in column 10 (Upon determining that the criteria 130 have been satisfied, the content server 108 may unlock the content item 128 for the user(s) 102 that have caused the criteria 130 to be satisfied. By unlocking the content item 128, that content item 128 may become available to, or accessible by, the user 102 via the corresponding user device 104. That is, when the criteria 130 associated with the content item 128 are satisfied, the content item 128, or at least a portion of the content item 128, may be automatically provided or displayed via the application. The systems and/or processes described herein may also apply in the gaming context.)
as a result of determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user, triggering generation, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, of at least one output key, – on lines 1-65 in column 9, on lines 1-10 in column 10 (The unlocked content item 128 may include audio content, video content, textual content, etc., that includes a clue that may help direct the user 102 to a different physical location.)
the at least one key being a required key of at least one other predicate; – on lines 1-65 in column 9 (The next physical location may also be associated with a different content item 128 and the foregoing process may be repeated.)
storing, by the at least one processor in the at least one memory, the at least one output key; – on lines 1-65 in column 9 (The unlocked content item 128 may include audio content, video content, textual content, etc., that includes a clue that may help direct the user 102 to a different physical location.)
determining, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that a further predicate is satisfied by the at least one output key and the at least one stored key for the first user; and – on lines 1-65 in column 9 (The order in which physical locations are visited may have an effect on whether certain content items 128 are unlocked and which content items 128 are unlocked. For example, assume that a user 102 may visit multiple different physical locations--a first location and a second location. The user 102 may receive access to different content items 128 (e.g., the first content item 128 and the second content item 128) based on the order in which locations are visited.)
causing, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, second content associated with the one or more computer implemented games to be displayed on the display of the computer apparatus in response to determining by the at least one processor that all the required keys for the further predicate are satisfied by the at least one output key and the at least one stored key for the first user. – on lines 1-65 in column 9, on lines 34-67 in column 17, on lines 1-58 in column 18 (The user 102 may receive access to different content items 128 (e.g., the first content item 128 and the second content item 128) based on the order in which locations are visited. That is, when the criteria 130 associated with the content item 128 are satisfied, the content item 128, or at least a portion of the content item 128, may be automatically provided or displayed via the application.) The systems and/or processes described herein may also apply in the gaming context.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nishikawa with Kulfan to include in response to receiving the first key condition, determining, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user; and causing, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, first content associated with one or more computer implemented games to be displayed on a display of the computer apparatus associated with the first user in response to determining by the at least one processor that all the required keys for the first predicate are satisfied by the first key and the at least one stored key for the first user; as a result of determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user, triggering generation, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, of at least one output key, the at least one key being a required key of at least one other predicate; storing, by the at least one processor in the at least one memory, the at least one output key; determining, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that a further predicate is satisfied by the at least one output key and the at least one stored key for the first user; and causing, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, second content associated with the one or more computer implemented games to be displayed on the display of the computer apparatus in response to determining by the at least one processor that all the required keys for the further predicate are satisfied by the at least one output key and the at least one stored key for the first user, as taught by Kulfan, on lines 61-67 in column 1, on lines 1-23 in column 2, to provide a technique for unlocking, or making available to consumers, media content that is relate to a game being played by the user.
Combination of Nishikawa and Kulfan does not explicitly teach:
receiving, by the computer apparatus, a configuration input via one or more APIs from one or more providers.
However, Wang teaches:
receiving, by the computer apparatus, a configuration input via one or more APIs from one or more providers – in paragraphs [0044]-[0056] (Multiple aggregation modules 54 may each be configured for retrieving web content from a particular content provider 18 using the appropriate application programming interface (API) defined by the content provider, which may include various HTTP and XML protocols.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nishikawa and Kulfan with Wang to include receiving, by the computer apparatus, a configuration input via one or more APIs from one or more providers, as taught by Nishikawa, in paragraphs [0001]-[0016], to provide a technique for managing events that occur in a game and providing user a motivation for playing games.
Claim 22. Claim 22 is substantially similar to Claims 1 and 25, except for the limitation:
Kulfan teaches:
responsive to determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user and without requiring intervening user action, generating, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, at least one output key, – on lines 1-65 in column 9, on lines 1-10 in column 10 (The unlocked content item 128 may include audio content, video content, textual content, etc., that includes a clue that may help direct the user 102 to a different physical location.)
In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (Appellant argued that claims to a permanent mold casting apparatus for molding trunk pistons were allowable over the prior art because the claimed invention combined "old permanent-mold structures together with a timer and solenoid which automatically actuates the known pressure valve system to release the inner core after a predetermined time has elapsed." The court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art.). See MPEP 2144 (III).
Claim 2. The computer implemented method of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Nishikawa teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of: receiving, by the at least one processor, one or more further keys associated with the one or more computer implemented games, and – in paragraphs [0039], [0041] (When the state managing section 130 is provided with the configuration file from the game software 110, the state managing section 130 generates records, i.e., stats, for trophy management in the first memory 140. The configuration file included in the game software 110 describes how event information output from the game and conditions for unlocking trophies are associated with each other.)
Kulfan further teaches:
determining by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that the respective further key causes one or more of the plurality of predicates to be satisfied for a respective user. – on lines 1-65 in column 9 (The order in which physical locations are visited may have an effect on whether certain content items 128 are unlocked and which content items 128 are unlocked. For example, assume that a user 102 may visit multiple different physical locations--a first location and a second location. The user 102 may receive access to different content items 128 (e.g., the first content item 128 and the second content item 128) based on the order in which locations are visited.)
Claim 3. The computer implemented method of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Nishikawa teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of: determining by at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that one or more of the plurality of predicates are respectively satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user in parallel for each of the predicates. – in paragraphs [0039], [0041] (When the state managing section 130 is provided with the configuration file from the game software 110, the state managing section 130 generates records, i.e., stats, for trophy management in the first memory 140. The configuration file included in the game software 110 describes how event information output from the game and conditions for unlocking trophies are associated with each other.)
Claim 4. The computer implemented method of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Nishikawa teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of: receiving, by the computer apparatus, a plurality of first keys at substantially the same time and determining, by the at least one processor, in parallel for each of the plurality of predicates predicate is satisfied by one or more of the first keys and at least one stored key. – in paragraphs [0039], [0041] (When the state managing section 130 is provided with the configuration file from the game software 110, the state managing section 130 generates records, i.e., stats, for trophy management in the first memory 140. The configuration file included in the game software 110 describes how event information output from the game and conditions for unlocking trophies are associated with each other.)
Claim 5. The computer implemented method of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Nishikawa teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of storing, by the at least one processor in the at least one memory, the first key. – in paragraphs [0039], [0041] (When the state managing section 130 is provided with the configuration file from the game software 110, the state managing section 130 generates records, i.e., stats, for trophy management in the first memory 140. The configuration file included in the game software 110 describes how event information output from the game and conditions for unlocking trophies are associated with each other.)
Claim 6. The computer implemented method of claim 5 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Kulfan further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of: receiving, by the computer apparatus a subsequent key associated with the first user and determining, by at least one processor of the computer apparatus, that one or more of the plurality of predicates are respectively satisfied by the subsequent key and at least one stored key for the first user, at least one stored key being the stored first key. – on lines 1-65 in column 9 (The order in which physical locations are visited may have an effect on whether certain content items 128 are unlocked and which content items 128 are unlocked. For example, assume that a user 102 may visit multiple different physical locations--a first location and a second location. The user 102 may receive access to different content items 128 (e.g., the first content item 128 and the second content item 128) based on the order in which locations are visited.)
Claim 7. The computer implemented method of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Kulfan further teaches:
when the first key is a required key of a further predicate and not all the required keys of the further predicate have been satisfied, – on lines 1-65 in column 9 (The order in which physical locations are visited may have an effect on whether certain content items 128 are unlocked and which content items 128 are unlocked. For example, assume that a user 102 may visit multiple different physical locations--a first location and a second location. The user 102 may receive access to different content items 128 (e.g., the first content item 128 and the second content item 128) based on the order in which locations are visited.)
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of: causing, by the at least one processor of the computer apparatus, the first key to be a stored key stored in the at least one memory of the computer apparatus for a subsequent determining by the at least one processor. – on lines 1-65 in column 9, on lines 34-67 in column 17, on lines 1-58 in column 18 (The user 102 may receive access to different content items 128 (e.g., the first content item 128 and the second content item 128) based on the order in which locations are visited. That is, when the criteria 130 associated with the content item 128 are satisfied, the content item 128, or at least a portion of the content item 128, may be automatically provided or displayed via the application.) The systems and/or processes described herein may also apply in the gaming context.)
Claim 12. The computer implemented method of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Kulfan further teaches:
wherein the causing, by the at least one processor, the first content to be provided comprises providing, by the computer apparatus, an output to a content provider to cause the content provider to provide the first content to be displayed to the first user. – on lines 1-65 in column 9, on lines 34-67 in column 17, on lines 1-58 in column 18 (The user 102 may receive access to different content items 128 (e.g., the first content item 128 and the second content item 128) based on the order in which locations are visited. That is, when the criteria 130 associated with the content item 128 are satisfied, the content item 128, or at least a portion of the content item 128, may be automatically provided or displayed via the application.) The systems and/or processes described herein may also apply in the gaming context.)
Claim 13. The computer implemented method of claim 12 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Kulfan further teaches:
wherein the output to the content provider comprises information indicating one or more of the first content to be provided and the first user. – on lines 66-67 in column 9, on lines 1-10 in column 10, on lines 4-27 in column 12, on lines 34-67 in column 17, on lines 1-58 in column 18 (Block 506 illustrates determining that the criteria have been satisfied by a user. Based at least in part on actions performed by the user 102 with respect to a corresponding user device 104, the content server 108 may determine that the criteria 130 have been satisfied. Block 508 illustrates unlocking the content item with respect to the user. Users 102 may also specify their interests/preferences and/or the type of content items 128 that they would like to unlock and receive. The content server 108, or a service provider or administrator that is associated with the game, may identify users 102 that are playing the game and obtain information about those users 102 with respect to the game (e.g., how far they have progressed, an amount of currency or points obtained, etc.). The user access module 210 may restrict access to the content items 128 to particular users 102 or to users 102 that have been authorized to unlock the content items 128.)
Claim 15. The computer implemented method of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Nishikawa teaches:
wherein one or more of the keys comprises an event. – in paragraph [0015] (Events of at least some kinds are related to an unlocking condition for a trophy. Game software outputs event information, and system software determines whether an unlocking condition for a trophy is satisfied.)
Claim 16. The computer implemented method of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Nishikawa teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of: receiving, by the computer apparatus, one or more keys from one or more key providers. – in paragraphs [0014], [0039] (A user plays game software, i.e., a console game, installed in an information processing device. The configuration file included in the game software 110 describes how event information output from the game and conditions for unlocking trophies are associated with each other.)
Claim 17. The computer implemented method of claim 16 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Nishikawa teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of: receiving, by the computer apparatus, one or more triggers as a key from one or more of the key providers. – in paragraphs [0014], [0039] (A user plays game software, i.e., a console game, installed in an information processing device. The configuration file included in the game software 110 describes how event information output from the game and conditions for unlocking trophies are associated with each other.)
Claim 18. The computer implemented method of claim 16 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Nishikawa teaches:
wherein one or more of the key providers is configured to define a set of users of the one or more computer implemented games, at least one key of at least one of the plurality of groups of required keys defining at least a part of the set of users as a key. – in paragraphs [0014], [0039] (A user plays game software, i.e., a console game, installed in an information processing device. The configuration file included in the game software 110 describes how event information output from the game and conditions for unlocking trophies are associated with each other.)
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US 20220176253) in view of Kulfan et al. (US 9131339), and further in view of Wang (US 20120253814) and Pittman (US 20200402099).
Claim 8. The computer implemented method of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Nishikawa, Kulfan, and Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of storing, by the at least one processor in the at least one memory, expiry information for at least one stored key.
However, Pittman teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of storing, by the at least one processor in the at least one memory, expiry information for at least one stored key. – in paragraph [0701] (The advertisement content may include each of an advertisement, a category associated with the advertisement, an optical code, a promotional code, an expiration date associated with the promotional code and a URL of a webpage.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nishikawa, Kulfan, and Wang with Pittman to include wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause performance of storing, by the at least one processor in the at least one memory, expiry information for at least one stored key, as taught by Pittman, in paragraph [0003], to provide a technique for managing and/or delivering location and time-based advertisements.
Claim 9. The computer implemented method of claim 8 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Pittman further teaches:
wherein the expiry information indicates one or more of a length of time for which the respective stored key is valid and a number of times the key can be used to satisfy one or more predicates. – in paragraph [1445] (Specifying an amount of time any consumer can be delivered the media content; specifying times of day any consumer can be delivered the media content; and specifying a number of times a particular consumer can receive the media content.)
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US 20220176253) in view of Kulfan et al. (US 9131339), and further in view of Wang (US 20120253814) and Nanjundaswamy (US 20110258579).
Claim 26. The computer implemented method of claim 1, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Nishikawa, Kulfan, and Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein generation of the at least one output key is triggered according to at least one sequence indicating deliverables to be delivered by the computer apparatus upon determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user, wherein the at least one sequence includes delivery of the first content, generation of at least one output key, and determining that a further predicate is satisfied by the at least one output key and the at least one stored key for the first user.
However, Nanjundaswamy teaches:
wherein generation of the at least one output key is triggered according to at least one sequence indicating deliverables to be delivered by the computer apparatus upon determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user, wherein the at least one sequence includes delivery of the first content, generation of at least one output key, and determining that a further predicate is satisfied by the at least one output key and the at least one stored key for the first user. – in paragraphs [0055]-[0070] (The business process engine can utilize tokens to control the execution of business processes. Tokens are associated with individual activities of a business process, and are dynamically allocated during execution of the business process. The business process engine can check for the presence of an activity's token prior to executing that activity. This prevents activities from executing out of sequence, or before a previous activity has completed its execution. When one activity completes, it generates the token or tokens for the subsequent activity or activities. As tokens are generated, they can be added to a token pool. Then, when an activity is ready to execute, its token can be retrieved and consumed from the token pool, prior to execution.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nishikawa, Kulfan, and Wang with Nanjundaswamy to include wherein generation of the at least one output key is triggered according to at least one sequence indicating deliverables to be delivered by the computer apparatus upon determining that all the required keys for at least a first predicate of the plurality of predicates are satisfied by the first key and at least one stored key for the first user, wherein the at least one sequence includes delivery of the first content, generation of at least one output key, and determining that a further predicate is satisfied by the at least one output key and the at least one stored key for the first user, as taught by Nanjundaswamy, in paragraphs [0055]-[0065], to prevent activities from executing out of sequence, or before a previous activity has completed its execution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD RAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449