DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on May 12, 2026 concerning application No. 16/414,215 filed on May 16, 2019.
Claims 35-40, 49, 60-65, 69, and 73-80 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2026 regarding the priority have been fully considered. The amendments to the claims have been entered and overcome the priority issue previously set forth. However, the newly filed claim amendments have led to further priority issues.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 35 and 73 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new reference is being applied to teach the newly filed claim amendment.
For the same reason as above claims 36-40, 49, 60-65, 69, and 74-79 are rejected by the prior art.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. PCT/US2017/062109, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior filed application fails to teach, “receiving, at the computer, a further input from the touchscreen display, the further input in the form of a user selection of a preset group of image control settings associated with an anatomical structure from among a plurality of presets for separate anatomical structures, wherein each of the separate anatomical structures is associated with an imaging protocol performed by a separate machine learning operation”. Therefore the effective filing date of the present application is March 15, 2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35, 69, 73 and 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg et al. (US 20140300720, hereinafter Rothberg) in view of Yu et al. (US 20150313578, hereinafter Yu), Ralovich et al. (US 20160287214, hereinafter Ralovich), Dewaraja et al. (“GPU engine enhances ultrasound detected brain motion calculations”, hereinafter Dewaraja) and Avendi et al. (US 20190355149, hereinafter Avendi).
Regarding claim 35, Rothberg teaches a method of operating a portable medical ultrasound imaging device ([0006]-[0008] discloses a method for providing an ultrasound image using a portable ultrasound device), the portable medical ultrasound imaging device comprising a transducer probe ([0034] discloses the device includes ultrasound imaging elements such as transducers), a tablet housing ([0032] “tablet device”) having a computer and a graphics processing unit in the tablet housing ([0034] discloses the portable device includes one or more computers or processors. [0041] further discloses a graphic processing unit included in the device) that is configured to be powered by a battery during an ultrasound imaging operation ([0049] discloses the imaging circuity is powered by a battery), the computer including a central processing unit ([0041] discloses a CPU included in the device) configured to perform at least one of a scan conversion and a doppler processing operation ([0041] discloses the CPU is responsible for processing the received signals in order to generate an image which is an example of scan conversion), and at least one memory ([0038] “random access memory or other storage device of portable electronic device 100”), a touchscreen display ([0036] discloses imaging interface 102 is a touch-screen that displays images) for displaying an ultrasound image ([0032] discloses the image is an ultrasound image) in response to a plurality of touch gestures on the touch screen display ([0038] discloses the imaging being displayed may be adjusted through one or more inputs through the touch screen), and wherein the graphics processing unit is mounted on a tablet circuit board in the tablet housing ([0040]-[0041] discloses the imaging elements which include the processing components are integrated within a circuit board of the portable device 100 (tablet) and the processing circuitry includes a GPU, meaning the GPU is mounted on a tablet circuit board in the tablet housing) and communicably coupled to the central processing unit ([0041] “the GPU may be utilized to render an image based on the information received from the CPU” meaning the GPU and CPU are in communication) that is mounted on the tablet circuit board ([0040] discloses the CPU is also mounted on the circuit board of the portable device 100 (tablet)), the method comprising the steps of:
processing signals from a transducer in the transducer probe during the ultrasound imaging operation, the processing creating ultrasound image data ([0041] discloses the imaging elements include processing circuitry for processing the signals and generating an image in real-time, the processed signals are considered ultrasound image data. [0039] discloses the imaging elements emit ultrasound radiation meaning the signals are from a transducer during an ultrasound imaging operation);
processing the ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit ([0041] “the CPU of portable electronic device 100 may be utilized to process computations based on received signals (e.g., back-scattered signals and/or transmissive signals) in order to generate an image or topography”. [0056] discloses a program with computer code is used for executing the process. The program that executes the process is considered the ultrasound software application);
receiving at the computer, a first input from the touchscreen display ([0036] discloses the imaging interface 102 receives user input through the touch screen);
generating a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit during the ultrasound imaging operation with the transducer probe ([0041] “the GPU may be utilized to render an image based on the information received from the CPU to generate a real-time or substantially real-time image display”. The abstract discloses “the generated image may be a real-time continuous image of the internal features of the target”. By having the image be displayed in real time, the image is being output during the ultrasound imaging operation with the transducer probe); and
displaying the processed ultrasound diagnostic image output on the touchscreen display during the ultrasound imaging operation ([0041] discloses the GPU generates an image to be displayed on imaging interface 102 which is a touch screen [0036]).
Rothberg does not specifically teach the signals from the transducer are processed with an ultrasound beamforming device, the processing creating beamformed ultrasound data; storing beamformed ultrasound image data in a shared memory located in the portable tablet housing, the shared memory being connected to the computer and the graphics processing unit; processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application by the central processing unit; receiving at the computer, a input from the touchscreen display to actuate an operation of the graphics processing unit to process the stored ultrasound image data; and accessing the shared memory with the graphics processing unit in response to the input, and thereby processing stored ultrasound image data with the graphics processing unit.
However,
Yu in a similar field of endeavor teaches processing the signals received from the transducer with an ultrasound beamforming device ([0051]-[0052] discloses the beamformer 66 processes the data received from the transducer probe 14. [0074]-[0076] discloses in act 26 the image processing of the data includes beamforming. Also see [0084]), the processing creating beamformed ultrasound data ([0075]-[0076] disclose the result of beamforming data is beamformed data, thereby creating beamformed ultrasound data);
storing the beamformed ultrasound image data in a shared memory located in the tablet housing ([0028] discloses the ultrasound images are cached in the cache 20, [0031], “the cache 20 is a memory, such as…shared graphics and main memory” and [0032], “the cache 20 stores the image information”. Fig. 4 shows that the cache 20 is located at the client interface which [0020] discloses is a portable device. [0023] discloses the probe 14 includes a beamformer and [0051] discloses the received signals are beamformed, thereby generating beamformed data), the shared memory being connected to the computer and the graphics processing unit ([0028] discloses images received from the server are stored in the cache 20 and [0032] discloses the GPU accesses the tiles stored in the cache, therefore the cache is connected to the computer and the GPU. Additionally, [0034] discloses the display includes the GPU and/or CPU, meaning the display can have both);
processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application by the central processing unit ([0076] discloses “the beamformed data is further processed, such as filtering or gain adjustment. [0034] discloses the CPU of the display 18 performs the filtering and gain adjustment. [0028]-[0029] discloses the display includes an application or program which is considered the software application);
receiving at the computer, a input from the touchscreen display to actuate an operation of the graphics processing unit to process the stored ultrasound image data ([0029] discloses the display 18 includes a touch screen user interface that the user used to configured the display 18 for generating and displaying ultrasound images and [0032] discloses the GPU of the display 18 assembles the one or more images from the tiles stored in the cache 20. Therefore by receiving an input through the touchscreen from the user to configure the display for generating the image, the input is actuating an operation of the GPU to process the stored data); and
accessing the shared memory with the graphics processing unit in response to the input, and thereby processing stored ultrasound image data with the graphics processing unit ([0032] discloses the display 18 includes a graphics processing unit (GPU) that assembles images using the data stored in the cache 20, the GPU therefore accesses the shared memory and processes the ultrasound image data. [0029] discloses input options are displayed and received in order to configure the display 18 for generating and displaying the ultrasound images meaning the inputs control the GPU’s ability to access the cache 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Rothberg to process transducer signals to create beamformed ultrasound image data, store beamformed ultrasound image data in a shared memory located in the portable housing, process the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit and access the shared memory with the graphics processing unit in response to an input, and thereby processing ultrasound image data with the graphics processing unit. The motivation to apply the known technique of processing transducer signals to create beamformed ultrasound image data, storing beamformed ultrasound image data in a shared memory located in the portable housing, processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit and accessing the shared memory with the graphics processing unit in response to an input, and thereby processing ultrasound image data with the graphics processing unit of Yu to the method of Rothberg would be to allow for the predictable results of having multiple different processors be able to access the image data and perform the processing, thereby increasing the speed in which the data is processed.
Rothberg in view of Yu does not specifically disclose processing ultrasound image data with the graphics processing unit includes executing a machine learning program configured to perform an iterative computational process to generate a diagnostic data output from the graphics processing unit during the ultrasound imaging operation with the transducer probe.
However,
Ralovich in a similar field of endeavor teaches processing ultrasound image data ([0004] discloses that the imaging is ultrasound based meaning ultrasound data is generated) with the graphics processing unit executing a machine learning program configured to perform an iterative computational process ([0039], “a machine learnt classifier is applied by a processor (e.g., …graphics processing unit)”, [0039] goes on to further explain the machine learnt classifier is used to indicate whether an object is represented by the data. [0039]-[0041] disclose that the machine learnt classifiers are learning and relearning from the training data and feedback to improve the machine-learnt classifiers, meaning the program is an iterative computational process) to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit ([0039] discloses “the machine-learnt classifier… indicates whether the object is represented by the data for the volume and where” the ultrasound image with the indication is considered to be the generated ultrasound diagnostic image output and because the machine learnt classifier is being performed by the graphics processing unit the indication is considered to be from the graphics processing unit) during the ultrasound imaging operation with the transducer probe ([0035] discloses the imaging is happening in real-time, meaning the output of the image is during the ultrasound imaging operation with the transducer probe, “during live or real-time imaging (scanning and outputting images at the same time or while the patient has a transducer placed against them)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu to process ultrasound image data with the graphics processing unit executing a machine learning program configured to perform an iterative computational process to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit during the ultrasound imaging operation with the transducer probe. The motivation to apply the known technique of processing ultrasound image data with the graphics processing unit executing a machine learning program configured to perform an iterative computational process to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit during the ultrasound imaging operation with the transducer probe of Ralovich to the method of Rothberg in view of Yu would be to allow for the predictable results of providing an automated method for analyzing the ultrasound data, thereby allowing unskilled user to perform the operation.
Rothberg in view of Yu and Ralovich does not specifically teach the graphics processing unit is configured to perform at least 1000 giga floating point operations per second.
However,
Dewaraja in a similar field of endeavor teaches a graphics processing unit that is configured to perform more than 1000 giga float point operations per second (pg. 4, para. 1 discloses “the GTX 280 GPU used in this study was capable of handling 1,000 GFLOPS”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the graphics processing unit of Rothberg in view of Yu and Ralovich for the graphics processing unit of Dewaraja because it amount to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of processing images faster.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu and Ralovich to have the graphics processing unit be configured to perform more than 1000 giga float point operations per second in order to process the data faster, as recognized by Dewaraja (pg. 4, para. 2).
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich and Dewaraja does not specifically teach receiving, at the computer, a further input from the touchscreen display, the further input in the form of a user selection of a preset group of image control settings associated with an anatomical structure from among a plurality of presets for separate anatomical structures, wherein each of the separate anatomical structures is associated with an imaging protocol performed by a separate machine learning operation.
However,
Avendi in a similar field of endeavor teaches receiving, at the computer, a input from the touchscreen display ([0061] discloses receiving an input selection of an anatomical region. [0058] discloses the inputs are received via a touch-screen user interface), the input in the form of a user selection of a preset group of image control settings associated with an anatomical structure from among a plurality of presets for separate anatomical structures ([0061]-[0062] disclose the selected anatomical region is utilized for generating an anatomical specific deep learning network. Since the deep learning network is generated for the specific selected anatomical region each anatomical region is associated with settings for generating the deep learning network), wherein each of the separate anatomical structures is associated with an imaging protocol performed by a separate machine learning operation ([0062] discloses the anatomical structure is associated with its own deep learning network that performs analysis of the anatomical structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of receiving a further input from the display to select a machine learning operation or computer aided operation displayed on a menu on the display from a plurality of such operations of Avendi to the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich and Dewaraja to allow for the predictable results of ensuring the correct processing is being performed, thereby ensuring an accurate result.
Regarding claim 69, Chiang in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 35, as set forth above. Yu further teaches streaming ultrasound video data through the shared memory ([0092], “the processed images may be rendered or created and encoded as compressed image or video streams to the client portable device to display” because the images used to create the video streams are being stored in the cache it is understood that the cache is involved with streaming the video data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich and Dewaraja to stream ultrasound video data with the shared memory. The motivation to apply the known techniques of streaming ultrasound video data with the shared memory of Yu to the method of Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich and Dewaraja would be to allow for the predictable results of having the user be able to see the ultrasound procedure by streaming a real-time video of the ultrasound procedure on the display device.
Regarding claim 73, Rothberg teaches a method of performing an ultrasound imaging operation with a touchscreen table ultrasound imaging system ([0006]-[0008] discloses a method for providing an ultrasound image using a portable ultrasound device such as a tablet computer. [0036] discloses the portable device includes a touch screen), the touchscreen tablet ultrasound imaging system comprising a transducer probe ([0034] discloses the device includes ultrasound imaging elements such as transducers), and a tablet housing ([0032] “tablet device”) having a computer and a graphics processing unit (GPU) in the tablet housing ([0034] discloses the portable device includes one or more computers or processors. [0041] further discloses a graphic processing unit included in the device) that is configured to be powered by a battery during an ultrasound imaging operation ([0049] discloses the imaging circuity is powered by a battery), the computer including a central processing unit ([0041] discloses a CPU included in the device) configured to perform at least one of a scan conversion and a doppler processing operation in response to touch actuated operations on a touchscreen display ([0041] discloses the CPU is responsible for processing the received signals in order to generate an image which is an example of scan conversion. [0038] discloses the image to be displayed on the user interface 104 is controlled by a user interaction on the touch screen, therefore the processing of the received signals in order to generate an image are in response to the input on the touch screen), and at least one memory ([0038] “random access memory or other storage device of portable electronic device 100”), the touchscreen display configured for displaying an ultrasound image ([0036] discloses imaging interface 102 is a touch-screen that displays images and [0032] discloses the image is an ultrasound image) and one or more touch actuated menus ([0036] discloses the image being displayed is adjusted based on inputs to the touch screen such as zoom, positioning, and depth which require touch actuated menus to be displayed in order to perform the adjustments), and wherein the graphics processing unit is mounted on a tablet circuit board in the tablet housing ([0040]-[0041] discloses the imaging elements which include the processing components are integrated within a circuit board of the portable device 100 (tablet) and the processing circuitry includes a GPU, meaning the GPU is mounted on a tablet circuit board in the tablet housing) and communicably coupled to the central processing unit ([0041] “the GPU may be utilized to render an image based on the information received from the CPU” meaning the GPU and CPU are in communication) that is mounted on the tablet circuit board ([0040] discloses the CPU is also mounted on the circuit board of the portable device 100 (tablet)), the method comprising the steps of:
processing signals from a transducer in the transducer probe, the processing of signals from the transducer creating ultrasound image data ([0041] discloses the imaging elements include processing circuitry for processing the signals and generating an image in real-time, the processed signals are considered ultrasound image data. [0039] discloses the imaging elements emit ultrasound radiation meaning the signals are from a transducer during an ultrasound imaging operation),
processing the ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit ([0041] “the CPU of portable electronic device 100 may be utilized to process computations based on received signals (e.g., back-scattered signals and/or transmissive signals) in order to generate an image or topography”. [0056] discloses a program with computer code is used for executing the process. The program that executes the process is considered the ultrasound software application);
processing ultrasound image data with the graphics processing unit to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit during the imaging operation ([0041] “the GPU may be utilized to render an image based on the information received from the CPU to generate a real-time or substantially real-time image display”), and
displaying the processed ultrasound diagnostic image output on the display during the imaging operation ([0041] discloses the GPU generates an image to be displayed on imaging interface 102 which is a touch screen [0036]).
Rothberg does not specifically teach processing the signals from the transducer with an ultrasound transmit and receive beamforming device wherein the transmit and receive beamforming device is in the transducer probe or wherein the transmit and receive beamforming device includes a first receive beamformer in the transducer probe and a second receive beamformer in the tablet housing, the transducer probe further including a controller that controls a beamforming operation, the processing of signals from the transducer creating beamformed ultrasound image data; and processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit.
However,
Yu in a similar field of endeavor teaches processing the signals processing the signals from the transducer with an ultrasound transmit and receive beamforming device ([0080] “the transducer probe performs receive beamforming”, the device that performs the beamforming is considered the transmit and receive beamforming device) wherein the transmit and receive beamforming device is in the transducer probe ([0022] “the transducer probe 14 includes a transmit beamformer” and [0023] “the transducer probe 14 includes a receive beamformer” the combination of the transmit and receive beamformers in the transducer is considered the transmit and receive beamforming device) or wherein the transmit and receive beamforming device includes a first receive beamformer in the transducer probe and a second receive beamformer in the tablet housing, the transducer probe further including a controller that controls the beamformer operation ([0022] discloses the transducer probe 14 includes a transmit beamformer that includes “pulsers, a memory, timer, delays, phase adjustors, amplifiers, and/or other components for generating transmits beams of acoustic energy with electronic steering”, the combinations of components that are in control of generating and steering the beams is considered the controller that controls the beamformer operation), the processing of signals from the transducer creating beamformed ultrasound data ([0075]-[0076] disclose the result of beamforming data is beamformed data, thereby creating beamformed ultrasound data);
processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit ([0076] discloses “the beamformed data is further processed, such as filtering or gain adjustment. [0034] discloses the CPU of the display 18 performs the filtering and gain adjustment. [0028]-[0029] discloses the display includes an application or program which is considered the software application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Rothberg to process the signals from the transducer with an ultrasound transmit and receive beamforming device wherein the transmit and receive beamforming device is in the transducer probe, the transducer probe further including a controller that controls a beamformer operation, the processing of signals from the transducer creating beamformed ultrasound image data; and processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit. The motivation to apply the known technique of processing the signals from the transducer with an ultrasound transmit and receive beamforming device wherein the transmit and receive beamforming device is in the transducer probe, the transducer probe further including a controller that controls a beamformer operation, the processing of signals from the transducer creating beamformed ultrasound image data; and processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit of Yu to the method of Rothberg would be to allow for the predictable results transmitting already processed ultrasound signals to the tablet, thereby reducing the processing needs of the tablet.
Rothberg in view of Yu does not specifically teach the graphics processing unit executes a machine learning operation configured to perform an iterative computational process to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit.
However,
Ralovich in a similar field of endeavor teaches processing ultrasound image data ([0004] discloses that the imaging is ultrasound based meaning ultrasound data is generated) with the graphics processing unit executing a machine learning program configured to perform an iterative computational process ([0039], “a machine learnt classifier is applied by a processor (e.g., …graphics processing unit)”, [0039] goes on to further explain the machine learnt classifier is used to indicate whether an object is represented by the data. [0039]-[0041] disclose that the machine learnt classifiers are learning and relearning from the training data and feedback to improve the machine-learnt classifiers, meaning the program is an iterative computational process) to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit ([0039] discloses “the machine-learnt classifier… indicates whether the object is represented by the data for the volume and where” the ultrasound image with the indication is considered to be the generated ultrasound diagnostic image output and because the machine learnt classifier is being performed by the graphics processing unit the indication is considered to be from the graphics processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu to have the graphics processing unit execute a machine learning program configured to perform an iterative computational process to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit.. The motivation to apply the known technique of having the graphics processing unit execute a machine learning program configured to perform an iterative computational process to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit of Ralovich to the method of Rothberg in view of Yu would be to allow for the predictable results of providing an automated method for analyzing the ultrasound data, thereby allowing unskilled user to perform the operation.
Rothberg in view of Yu and Ralovich does not specifically teach the graphics processing unit is configured to perform at least 1000 giga floating point operations per second.
However,
Dewaraja in a similar field of endeavor teaches a graphics processing unit that is configured to perform more than 1000 giga float point operations per second (pg. 4, para. 1 discloses “the GTX 280 GPU used in this study was capable of handling 1,000 GFLOPS”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the graphics processing unit of Rothberg in view of Yu and Ralovich for the graphics processing unit of Dewaraja because it amount to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of processing images faster.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu and Ralovich to have the graphics processing unit be configured to perform more than 1000 giga float point operations per second in order to process the data faster, as recognized by Dewaraja (pg. 4, para. 2).
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich and Dewaraja does not specifically teach receiving, at the computer, a further input from the touchscreen display, the further input in the form of a user selection of a preset group of image control settings associated with an anatomical structure from among a plurality of presets for separate anatomical structures, wherein each of the separate anatomical structures is associated with an imaging protocol performed by a separate machine learning operation.
However,
Avendi in a similar field of endeavor teaches receiving, at the computer, a input from the touchscreen display ([0061] discloses receiving an input selection of an anatomical region. [0058] discloses the inputs are received via a touch-screen user interface), the input in the form of a user selection of a preset group of image control settings associated with an anatomical structure from among a plurality of presets for separate anatomical structures ([0061]-[0062] disclose the selected anatomical region is utilized for generating an anatomical specific deep learning network. Since the deep learning network is generated for the specific selected anatomical region each anatomical region is associated with settings for generating the deep learning network), wherein each of the separate anatomical structures is associated with an imaging protocol performed by a separate machine learning operation ([0062] discloses the anatomical structure is associated with its own deep learning network that performs analysis of the anatomical structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of receiving a further input from the display to select a machine learning operation or computer aided operation displayed on a menu on the display from a plurality of such operations of Avendi to the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich and Dewaraja to allow for the predictable results of ensuring the correct processing is being performed, thereby ensuring an accurate result.
Regarding claim 77, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 73, as set forth above. Rothberg further teaches the image data is processed by the graphic processing unit and a central processing unit ([0041] “the CPU of portable electronic device 100 may be utilized to process computations based on received signals (e.g., back-scattered signals and/or transmissive signals) in order to generate an image or topography, while the GPU may be utilized to render an image based on the information received from the CPU to generate a…image display”).
Yu further teaches storing the beamformed image data in a shared memory ([0028] discloses the ultrasound images are cached in the cache 20, [0031], “the cache 20 is a memory, such as…shared graphics and main memory” and [0032], “the cache 20 stores the image information”. Fig. 4 shows that the cache 20 is located at the client interface which [0020] discloses is a portable device. [0023] discloses the probe 14 includes a beamformer and [0051] discloses the received signals are beamformed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi to have stored the beamformed image data in a shared memory. The motivation to apply the known technique of storing the beamformed image data in a shared memory of Yu to the method of Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi would be to allow for the predictable results of ensuring each of the processors has access to the data in order for the processing of the data to be shared.
Claim 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi, as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Chiang et al. (US 20140114190, hereinafter Chiang).
Regarding claim 36, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 35, as set forth above. Rothberg further teaches the touchscreen display is mounted on a front panel of the tablet housing having a tablet form factor (fig. 2A shows that the imaging surface which includes the touch screen as disclosed in [0036] is mounted on a front panel of the case), the transducer probe being communicatively coupled to the tablet housing by wired or wireless connection ([0033] discloses the portable device (tablet) is coupled “via suitable communication connection or port such as a USB link” to the transducers, meaning the probe is at least communicatively coupled to the tablet housing via a wired connection. [0049] further discloses “the imaging circuit 712 may receive power through wired and/or wireless connection(s) to the portable electronic device”, meaning the probe (imaging circuit 712) is wirelessly connected to the tablet (portable device)).
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi does not specifically teach the portable tablet housing is mounted on a cart.
However,
Chiang in a similar field of endeavor teaches mounting the portable tablet housing on a cart ([0141] “the cart configuration 2100 is configured to dock tablet 2104”, see fig. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi to have the portable tablet housing be mounted on a cart. The motivation to apply the known technique of mounting the portable tablet housing to a cart of Chiang to the method of Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi would be to allow for the predictable results of being able to provide accessories such as additional processing power, user controls, and extended battery power that increase the capabilities of the portable tablet.
Claims 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Chiang as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Courtney et al. (US 20150366536, hereinafter Courtney).
Regarding claim 37, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi and Chiang teaches the method of claim 36, as set forth above. Chiang further teaches receiving, at the computer, a second input from the touchscreen display (claim 3 teaches that the computer receives a second input from the touch screen) of the tablet housing ([0070] states that display 104 is a touch screen display and display 104 is located within the portable housing located in fig. 9A and [0069] discloses the housing can be implemented in a tablet form factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi and Chiang to have received a second input from the touchscreen display. The motivation to apply the known technique of receiving a second input from the touchscreen display would be to allow for the predictable results of accessing other features of the portable tablet housing for further processing of the image.
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi and Chiang does not specifically teach the input selects from a plurality of automated classifiers of the machine learning program.
However,
Courtney in a similar field of endeavor teaches the input selects from a plurality of automated classifiers of the machine learning program ([0125] teaches inputting image data parameters into a pattern recognition algorithm where the algorithm can be a neural network and [0127] discloses that the input parameters influence the identification of the region of interest meaning the parameters are used to select the classifiers used in the neural network to identify the region of interest. Additionally, [0127] discloses that the system is automated making the classifiers automated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi and Chiang to have the input select from a plurality of automated classifiers of the machine learning program. The motivation to make this modification is so that the input can influence the identification of regions of interest, as recognized by Courtney ([0127]).
Regarding claim 38, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, Chiang and Courtney teaches the method of claim 37, as set forth above. Chiang further teaches the second input corresponds to a double tap gesture against the touchscreen display (claim 4 teaches that the second input is a double tap gesture on the touch screen).
Regarding claim 39, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, Chiang and Courtney teaches the method of claim 37, as set forth above. Chiang further teaches in response to the second input from the touchscreen display, displaying a first cursor inside a region of a virtual window displaying a magnified image (claim 5 teaches that the second input leads to the display of a first cursor).
Claim 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, Chiang and Courtney as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Rothberg et al. (US 20170360412, hereinafter Rothberg ‘412).
Regarding claim 40, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, Chiang and Courtney teaches the method of claim 39, as set forth above. Chiang further teaches receiving, at the computer, a third input from the touchscreen display (claim 29 teaches receiving a third input from the touch screen display).
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, Chiang and Courtney does not specifically teach that the input is configured to actuate an ejection fraction measurement of a heart.
However,
Rothberg ‘412 in a similar field of endeavor teaches the input is configured to actuate an ejection fraction measurement of a heart ([0216]-[0217] and fig. 7D shows that when the user selects the “begin measurement” button at 724 an ejection fraction measurement is actuated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, Chiang and Courtney to have the input be configured to actuate an ejection fraction measurement of a heart. The motivation to make this modification is so that the system can assess the current condition of the heart, as recognized by Rothberg ‘412 ([0216]).
Claim 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Rothberg et al. (US 20170360412, hereinafter Rothberg ‘412).
Regarding claim 49, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 35, as set forth above.
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja and Avendi does not specifically teach the selected machine learning operation generates instructions for modifying a transducer probe position for a cardiac imaging procedure.
However,
Rothberg ‘412 in a similar field of endeavor teaches a machine learning operation generates instructions for modifying a transducer probe position for a cardiac imaging procedure ([0185], “the computing device 04 may use a machine learning technique to directly map the ultrasound image 110 to an output to provide to the user such as an indication of proper positioning or an instruction to reposition the ultrasound device 102 (e.g., instruction 108)” and [0192], “the target position 204 may be over a heart of the subject”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja and Avendi to have an operation comprising modifying a transducer probe position for a cardiac imaging procedure. The motivation to make this modification is so that the transducer probe can be in the correct position for imaging, as recognized by Rothberg ‘412 ([0192]).
Claims 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Chiang et al. (US 20140114190, hereinafter Chiang) and Slayton et al. (US 20070167709, hereinafter Slayton).
Regarding claim 60, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 35, as set forth above. Rothberg further teaches the tablet housing has a tablet form factor ([0005] “portable electronic device…tablet computer”), the tablet housing having a front panel (fig. 2A shows the portable device 100 has a front panel shown as the outer border. Also see case 711 in fig. 7C), wherein the touchscreen display ([0036] discloses the imaging interface 102 which is considered the display is a touch screen) is disposed on the front panel (fig. 2A shows the imaging interface 102 which is the touch screen is disposed on the front panel of device 100), the method further comprising the steps of: receiving ultrasound image data of the region of interest ([0007] “portable electronic device is provided that includes a processor configured to generate an image (e.g., ultrasound image) of an internal feature of a target” meaning the portable electronic device received ultrasound image data in order to generate the image).
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi does not specifically disclose the portable medical ultrasound imaging device includes an ultrasound beamformer circuit of the ultrasound beamforming device disposed in the tablet housing, the touchscreen display and the ultrasound beamforming device being communicably coupled to the computer.
However,
Chiang in a similar field of endeavor teaches the portable medical ultrasound imaging device includes an ultrasound beamformer circuit of the ultrasound beamforming device disposed in the tablet housing (fig. 11 shows that beamformer 1110 is located within the ultrasound engine 108 which fig. 9A shows is located within the portable housing), the touchscreen display and the ultrasound beamforming device being communicably coupled to the computer (fig. 9A shows that the display 104 and the ultrasound engine 108 are coupled to the computer 106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the beamforming device of Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi for the beamforming circuit of the ultrasound beamforming device of Chiang because it amounts to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of processing the received ultrasound data.
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi and Chiang does not specifically teach the transducer probe has an electromagnetic sensor and the system receives camera image data of a region of interest.
However,
Slayton in a similar field of endeavor teaches the transducer probe has an electromagnetic sensor ([0054], “the positioning indicator can comprise an electromagnetic device configured within transducer 102 that can be suitably by electromagnetic sensors”) and the system receives camera image data of a region of interest ([0057] describes a video camera that captures footage of the position and orientation of the transducer 602 on with respect to the treatment area where the treatment area includes the region of interest).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi and Chiang so that the transducer probe has an electromagnetic sensor and the system receives camera image data of a region of interest. The motivation to make this modification would be to allow for the position of the transducer to be known in relation to the region of interest, as recognized by Slayton ([0052], [0057]).
Claims 61-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Pelissier et al. (US 20160278739, hereinafter Pelissier).
Regarding claim 61, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 35, as set forth above. Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi does not specifically teach encrypting data with the portable medical ultrasound imaging device.
However,
Pelissier in a similar field of endeavor teaches encrypting data with the portable medical ultrasound imaging device ([0103], “ultrasound imaging device 104 encrypts ultrasound image data” and [0027] teaches the ultrasound device is a laptop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi to encrypt data with the portable medical ultrasound imaging device. The motivation to make this modification is to ensure better security, as recognized by Pelissier ([0103]).
Regarding claim 62, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier teaches the method of claim 61, as set forth above. Pelissier further teaches the encrypting step is performed with an encryption circuit ([0144] teaches a multitude of circuits are capable of performing the steps of the method and embodiments described in the application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier to have the encrypting step be performed with an encryption circuit. The motivation to make this modification is to ensure better security, as recognized by Pelissier ([0103]).
Regarding claim 63, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier teaches the method of claim 61, as set forth above. Pelissier further teaches operating an encryption program ([0103], “ultrasound imaging device 104 encrypts ultrasound image data using a separate protocol”, where the protocol is considered the program).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier to operate an encryption program. The motivation to make this modification is to ensure better security, as recognized by Pelissier ([0103]).
Claim 64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Chiang et al. (US 20140114190, hereinafter Chiang).
Regarding claim 64, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier teaches the method of claim 61, as set forth above. Pelissier further teaches ultrasound images are communicated to an external device ([0114] discloses the ultrasound data is sent from the ultrasound imaging device to the display device via the Wi-Fi communication channel, where the Wi-Fi communication channel is considered the external network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier to communicate ultrasound images to an external device. The motivation to apply the known technique of communicating ultrasound images to an external device would be to allow for the predictable results of transferring the images to other displays so the images can be viewed at multiple locations.
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier does not specifically teach communication of the data occurs using a graphics chipset connected to the central processing unit.
However,
Chiang in a similar field of endeavor teaches ultrasound images are communication of the data occurs using a graphics chipset connected to the central processing unit ([0132] discloses the graphics chipset 1704 is used to control the input/output through peripherals such as USB ports and video display ports. Fig. 17 shows that the graphics chipset 1704 is connected to computer motherboard 106 which is considered the central processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the output devices of Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier for the graphics chip of Chiang because it amounts to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of outputting the data to an external device/network.
Claim 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Shaya (US 20120029303).
Regarding claim 65, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier teaches the method of claim 61, as set forth above. Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier does not specifically teach encrypting patient data.
However,
Shaya in a similar field of endeavor teaches encrypting patient data ([0058], “patient device 36 encrypts patient diagnostic information and information identifying the patient”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi, and Pelissier to encrypt patient data. The motivation to make this modification is to securely transmit patient information, as recognized by Shaya ([0057]).
Claim 74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi, as applied to claim 73 above, and further in view of Ryu et al. (US 20170020490, hereinafter Ryu).
Regarding claim 74, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 73, as set forth above.
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi does not specifically teach the tablet housing includes a first circuit stacked over a second circuit mounted on a circuit board.
However,
Ryu in a similar field of endeavor teaches the portable housing has a first circuit stacked over a second circuit mounted on the tablet circuit board ([0060], “the plurality of circuit boards 600 may be arranged in a vertical stacking structure from a top to a bottom of the circuit portion accommodating space in the external housing 500”, [0058] teaches the external housing 500 is a part of the portable ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus and fig. 3 shows that the circuits are mounted on top of an initial circuit board, [0056] further discloses the device is a tablet device meaning the circuit board is a tablet circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi to have the portable device include a first circuit board stacked over a second circuit board mounted on the tablet circuit board. The motivation to make this modification it to free up space in the system, as recognized by Ryu ([0060]).
Claim 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi as applied to claim 73 above, and further in view of Chiang et al. (US 20140114190, hereinafter Chiang) and Mullick et al. (US 20150087982, hereinafter Mullick).
Regarding claim 75, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 73, as set forth above. Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi does not specifically teach a process for detecting a cancerous lesion in response to a touchscreen actuated menu of diagnostic operations for breast, liber, or thyroid.
However,
Chiang in a similar field of endeavor teaches receiving a response to a touchscreen actuated menu of diagnostic operations ([0073] teaches that the user inputs implement at least one of many operational and/or functions of the device and figs. 4A-4C shows that the operations are laid out on the touchscreen in a menu format).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the touch screen controls of Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi for the touch screen controls of Chiang because it amounts to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of selecting a diagnostic operation.
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi and Chiang does not specifically teach wherein one of the diagnostic operations is to detect a cancerous lesion for a breast, liver, or thyroid.
However,
Mullick in the same field of endeavor teaches a diagnostic operation for detecting a cancerous lesion for a breast, liver, or thyroid ([0030], “the method may be performed for detecting a lesion in the breast thereby detect breast cancer”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi and Chiang to have an operation for detecting a cancerous lesion for a breast, liver, or thyroid. The motivation to make this modification is so that the system can identify whether cancer is present in the ultrasound image, as recognized by Mullick ([0030]).
Claims 76 and 78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, Avendi as applied to claims 35 and 73 above, and further in view of Chiang et al. (US 20140114190, hereinafter Chiang)
Regarding claim 76, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 35, as set forth above. Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi does not specifically disclose the ultrasound beamforming device is disposed in the tablet housing.
However,
Chiang in a similar field of endeavor teaches the ultrasound beamforming device is disposed in the tablet housing(fig. 11 shows that beamformer 1110 is located within the ultrasound engine 108 which fig. 9A shows is located within the portable housing. [0006] discloses the housing is in a tablet form factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the beamforming device of Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi for the ultrasound beamforming device disposed in the tablet housing of Chiang because it amounts to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of processing the received ultrasound data.
Regarding claim 78, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 73, as set forth above. Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi does not specifically teach the tablet housing is mounted on a cart, the cart including a battery providing power to the beamformer and the tablet housing.
However,
Chiang in a similar field of endeavor teaches mounting the tablet housing on a cart ([0141] “the cart configuration 2100 is configured to dock tablet 2104”, see fig. 21), the car including a battery providing power to the beamformer and the tablet housing ([0142] “a battery 220 that provides power for extended operation of the tablet” fig. 9A discloses the tablet housing includes a beamformer 108, therefore by providing battery power to the housing the battery is providing power to the beamformer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi to have the tablet housing be mounted on a cart, the cart including a battery providing power to the beamformer and the tablet housing. The motivation to make this modification is in order to extend the operation of the tablet, as recognized by Chiang ([0142]).
Claim 79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi, as applied to claim 73 above, and further in view of Chiang et al. (US 20140114190, hereinafter Chiang).
Regarding claim 79, Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi teaches the method of claim 73, as set forth above. Rothberg further teaches a touchscreen display controller to process touch actuated operations ([0036] discloses the imaging interface 102 received inputs through a touchscreen to adjust the image. The part of imaging interface 102 that processes the inputs is considered the touchscreen display controller), and a graphics chip mounted with the computer in the tablet housing ([0040]-[0041] discloses the imaging elements which include the processing components are integrated within a circuit board of the portable device 100 (tablet) and the processing circuitry includes a GPU and CPU, meaning a graphics chipset is mounted with the computer in the tablet housing), the transducer probe is communicatively coupled to the table housing by wired or wireless connection ([0033] discloses the portable device (tablet) is coupled “via suitable communication connection or port such as a USB link” to the transducers, meaning the probe is at least communicatively coupled to the tablet housing via a wired connection. [0049] further discloses “the imaging circuit 712 may receive power through wired and/or wireless connection(s) to the portable electronic device”, meaning the probe (imaging circuit 712) is wirelessly connected to the tablet (portable device)).
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi does not specifically teach a graphics chip configured to control a connection to a universal serial (USB) to output data to an external device.
However,
Chiang in a similar field of endeavor teaches a graphics chip mounted on a circuit board configured to control a connection to a universal serial (USB) to output data to an external device ([0132] “an input/output (I/O) and graphics chipset 1704 which includes a co-processor configured to control I/O and graphic peripherals such as USB ports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the output devices of Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, Dewaraja, and Avendi disclosed in [0062] of Rothberg for the graphics chip mounted on a circuit board configured to control a connection to a universal serial (USB) to output data to an external device of Chiang because it amounts to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of outputting the data to an external device such as another display.
Claim 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg et al. (US 20140300720, hereinafter Rothberg) in view of Yu et al. (US 20150313578, hereinafter Yu), Ralovich et al. (US 20160287214, hereinafter Ralovich), Avendi et al. (US 20190355149, hereinafter Avendi), and Chiang et al. (US 20140114190, hereinafter Chiang).
Regarding claim 80, Rothberg teaches a method of performing an ultrasound imaging operation in real-time with a touchscreen tablet ultrasound imaging system ([0006]-[0008] discloses a method for providing an ultrasound image using a portable ultrasound device such as a tablet computer. [0036] discloses the portable device includes a touch screen), the touchscreen table ultrasound imaging system comprising a transducer probe ([0034] discloses the device includes ultrasound imaging elements such as transducers), and a tablet housing ([0032] “tablet device”) having a computer and a graphics processing unit (GPU) in the tablet housing ([0034] discloses the portable device includes one or more computers or processors. [0041] further discloses a graphic processing unit included in the device) that is configured to be powered by a battery during an ultrasound imaging operation ([0049] discloses the imaging circuity is powered by a battery), the computer including a central processing unit ([0041] discloses a CPU included in the device) configured to perform at least one of a scan conversion and a doppler processing operation in response to touch actuated operations on a touchscreen display ([0041] discloses the CPU is responsible for processing the received signals in order to generate an image which is an example of scan conversion. [0038] discloses the image to be displayed on the user interface 104 is controlled by a user interaction on the touch screen, therefore the processing of the received signals in order to generate an image are in response to the input on the touch screen), and at least one memory ([0038] “random access memory or other storage device of portable electronic device 100”), the touchscreen display configured for displaying an ultrasound image ([0036] discloses imaging interface 102 is a touch-screen that displays images and [0032] discloses the image is an ultrasound image) and one or more touch actuated menus ([0036] discloses the image being displayed is adjusted based on inputs to the touch screen such as zoom, positioning, and depth which require touch actuated menus to be displayed in order to perform the adjustments), and wherein the graphics processing unit is mounted on a tablet circuit board in the tablet housing ([0040]-[0041] discloses the imaging elements which include the processing components are integrated within a circuit board of the portable device 100 (tablet) and the processing circuitry includes a GPU, meaning the GPU is mounted on a tablet circuit board in the tablet housing) and communicably coupled to the central processing unit ([0041] “the GPU may be utilized to render an image based on the information received from the CPU” meaning the GPU and CPU are in communication) that is mounted on the tablet circuit board ([0040] discloses the CPU is also mounted on the circuit board of the portable device 100 (tablet)), the method comprising the steps of:
processing signals from a transducer in the transducer probe, the processing of signals from the transducer creating ultrasound image data ([0041] discloses the imaging elements include processing circuitry for processing the signals and generating an image in real-time, the processed signals are considered ultrasound image data. [0039] discloses the imaging elements emit ultrasound radiation meaning the signals are from a transducer during an ultrasound imaging operation),
processing the ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit ([0041] “the CPU of portable electronic device 100 may be utilized to process computations based on received signals (e.g., back-scattered signals and/or transmissive signals) in order to generate an image or topography”. [0056] discloses a program with computer code is used for executing the process. The program that executes the process is considered the ultrasound software application);
processing ultrasound image data with the graphics processing unit to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit during the imaging operation ([0041] “the GPU may be utilized to render an image based on the information received from the CPU to generate a real-time or substantially real-time image display”), and
displaying the processed ultrasound diagnostic image output on the display during the imaging operation ([0041] discloses the GPU generates an image to be displayed on imaging interface 102 which is a touch screen [0036]).
Rothberg does not specifically teach the signals from the transducer are processed with an ultrasound beamforming device to generate beamformed ultrasound data; processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit.
However,
Yu in a similar field of endeavor teaches processing the signals received from the transducer with an ultrasound beamforming device ([0051]-[0052] discloses the beamformer 66 processes the data received from the transducer probe 14. [0074]-[0076] discloses in act 26 the image processing of the data includes beamforming. Also see [0084]) to generate beamformed ultrasound data ([0075]-[0076] disclose the result of beamforming data is beamformed data, thereby creating beamformed ultrasound data); and
processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application by the central processing unit ([0076] discloses “the beamformed data is further processed, such as filtering or gain adjustment. [0034] discloses the CPU of the display 18 performs the filtering and gain adjustment. [0028]-[0029] discloses the display includes an application or program which is considered the software application)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of processing the signals from the transducer are processed with an ultrasound beamforming device to generate beamformed ultrasound data; processing the beamformed ultrasound image data with an ultrasound software application executed by the central processing unit of Yu to the method of Rothberg to allow for the predictable results of transmitting already processed ultrasound signals to the tablet, thereby reducing the processing needs of the tablet.
Rothberg in view of Yu does not specifically teach the graphics processing unit executes a machine learning operation configured to perform an iterative computational process to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit.
However,
Ralovich in a similar field of endeavor teaches processing ultrasound image data ([0004] discloses that the imaging is ultrasound based meaning ultrasound data is generated) with the graphics processing unit executing a machine learning program configured to perform an iterative computational process ([0039], “a machine learnt classifier is applied by a processor (e.g., …graphics processing unit)”, [0039] goes on to further explain the machine learnt classifier is used to indicate whether an object is represented by the data. [0039]-[0041] disclose that the machine learnt classifiers are learning and relearning from the training data and feedback to improve the machine-learnt classifiers, meaning the program is an iterative computational process) to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit ([0039] discloses “the machine-learnt classifier… indicates whether the object is represented by the data for the volume and where” the ultrasound image with the indication is considered to be the generated ultrasound diagnostic image output and because the machine learnt classifier is being performed by the graphics processing unit the indication is considered to be from the graphics processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of having the graphics processing unit execute a machine learning program configured to perform an iterative computational process to generate a processed ultrasound diagnostic image output from the graphics processing unit of Ralovich to the method of Rothberg in view of Yu to allow for the predictable results of providing an automated method for analyzing the ultrasound data, thereby allowing unskilled user to perform the operation.
Rothberg in view of Yu, and Ralovich does not specifically teach receiving, at the computer, a further input from the touchscreen display, the further input in the form of a user selection of a preset group of image control settings associated with an anatomical structure from among a plurality of presets for separate anatomical structures, wherein each of the separate anatomical structures is associated with an imaging protocol performed by a separate machine learning operation.
However,
Avendi in a similar field of endeavor teaches receiving, at the computer, a input from the touchscreen display ([0061] discloses receiving an input selection of an anatomical region. [0058] discloses the inputs are received via a touch-screen user interface), the input in the form of a user selection of a preset group of image control settings associated with an anatomical structure from among a plurality of presets for separate anatomical structures ([0061]-[0062] disclose the selected anatomical region is utilized for generating an anatomical specific deep learning network. Since the deep learning network is generated for the specific selected anatomical region each anatomical region is associated with settings for generating the deep learning network), wherein each of the separate anatomical structures is associated with an imaging protocol performed by a separate machine learning operation ([0062] discloses the anatomical structure is associated with its own deep learning network that performs analysis of the anatomical structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of receiving a further input from the display to select a machine learning operation or computer aided operation displayed on a menu on the display from a plurality of such operations of Avendi to the method disclosed by Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich and Dewaraja to allow for the predictable results of ensuring the correct processing is being performed, thereby ensuring an accurate result.
Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, and Avendi does not specifically teach the touchscreen tablet is mounted on a cart.
However,
Chiang in a similar field of endeavor teaches mounting the touchscreen tablet on a cart ([0141] “the cart configuration 2100 is configured to dock tablet 2104”, see fig. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of mounting the portable tablet housing to a cart of Chiang to the method of Rothberg in view of Yu, Ralovich, and Avendi to allow for the predictable results of being able to provide accessories such as additional processing power, user controls, and extended battery power that increase the capabilities of the portable tablet.
Conclusion
/ANDREW W BEGEMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798