DETAILED ACTION
The status of the 07/27/2026 claims, is as follows: Claims 11 and 19 have been amended; Claims 10 and 20 have been canceled; and claims 1-9, 11-19, and 21 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
In claim 1 (similarly applying to claim 11 line 5):
The limitation “a first input device” in line 3
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“input” is the functional language.
In claim 8 (similarly applying to claim 17 line 2):
The limitation “a second input device” in line 2
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“input” is the functional language.
In claim 19:
The limitation “a display device” in line 25
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“display” is the functional language.
A review of the specification shows that, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
The limitation “a first input device" of claim 1 has been described in originally-filed specification in para. 0055 as a wire feed speed adjustment knob 224 that enables the adjustment of wire feed speed output by a wire feeder 104.
The limitation “a second input device" of claim 8 has been described in originally-filed specification in para. 0055 as a voltage adjustment knob 222.
The limitation “a display device" of claim 19 has been described in originally-filed specification in para. 0068 as display 220.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knoener’717 (US 20160271717) in view of Dantinner (US 20090152251)
Regarding Claim 1, Knoener’717 discloses a welding equipment interface (user interface 38 for a welding system 10; fig. 2), comprising:
a first button (welding process selector 40) (para. 0019. The selector 40 allows the user to selector a welding process i.e. MIG. The first button also allows the user to select the wire type, i.e. aluminum electrode, the first button also allows the user to select the gas type i.e. argon),
a first input device (wire feed speed adjustment dial 44) configured to adjust a wire feed speed (wire feed speed) (para. 0020. Also, the dial 44 allows the user to select the wire size (electrode size) (para. 0020); and
a display (display) (“user interface 38 may also change the display or highlight a graphical element (e.g., parameter indicator) on the display based on a user input.”, para. 0029 and also “the parameter indicators 50, 52, 54, 56, the light graphical indicator 60, or any combination thereof, may be displayed as graphical elements on the display screen”, para. 0028);
control circuitry (control circuitry) configured to:
in response to an input from the first button (welding process selector 40), select a welding process of power conversion circuitry (welding process) based on a sequence of welding processes (plurality of welding processes) (para. 0019);
in response to an input from the first button, select an electrode wire type (electrode type i.e. aluminum) based on a sequence of electrode wire types (electrode types i.e. aluminum, steel etc.) (para. 0019);
in response to an input from the dial 44, select an electrode wire size (electrode size i.e. 0.024”) based on a sequence of electrode wire sizes (0.024″, 0.030″, and 0.035″ etc.) (para. 0020);
in response to an input from the first button (welding process selector 40), select a shielding gas composition (gas type i.e. argon) from a sequence of shielding gas compositions (C25, C100, Argon, etc.) (para. 0019);
based on input via the first input device (wire feed speed adjustment dial 44), select a wire feed speed (wire feed speed) (para. 0020);
based on the selected wire feed speed (wire feed speed), automatically select a voltage (voltage) based on a relationship between the wire feed speed and the voltage, the relationship based on the electrode wire size (based on the size of the wire electrode) (it is noted Stanzel (US 20070181553), which is incorporated by reference, discloses the linkage between the voltage and the wire feed speed during “auto” setting, which determines the wire feed speed based on the selected voltage, para. 0018-0020);
determine, based on the wire feed speed (wire feed speed) selected via the first input device (wire feed speed adjustment dial 44) (“the wire feed speed adjustment dial 44 has a first parameter indicator 54 indicative of a wire feed speed selection”, para. 0020), a material thickness (material thickness) corresponding to the wire feed speed (wire feed speed) selected via the first input device (wire feed speed adjustment dial 44) (“the control circuitry 30 and/or the auto-set function may automatically adjust one or more of the welding process, voltage (or amperage or power), wire feed speed, material thickness, electrode diameter, or other operating parameter to enable workable, feasible operation of the welding system”, para. 0026. It is noted when the parameter settings input by the user using dials 40, 44, and 42 are not feasible for a welding operation, the control circuitry 30 automatically adjusts the at least one of the parameter settings to enable workable, feasible operation. For example, the control circuitry 30 automatically adjusts the material thickness that corresponds to the wire feed speed such that they are feasible and workable for welding operation);
display the determined material thickness (material thickness) on the display (“user interface 38 may also change the display or highlight a graphical element (e.g., parameter indicator) on the display based on a user input.”, para. 0029 and also “the parameter indicators 50, 52, 54, 56, the light graphical indicator 60, or any combination thereof, may be displayed as graphical elements on the display screen”, para. 0028); and
control at least one of an output of the power conversion circuitry (internal circuity of power source 16) based on the selected voltage (voltage) (para. 0017 and 0013).
Knoener’717 does not disclose:
a second button, a third button, and a fourth button.
However, Dantinne discloses a user interface 26 comprising a second button (electrode switch 42; fig. 6) (para. 0019. It is noted the switch 42 allows the user to select an electrode type i.e. E6010), a third button (wire size switch 56) (para. 0022. It is noted the switch 56 allows the user the select the electrode size i.e. 0.035”), and a fourth button (gas selection button 60) (para. 0023. It is noted the button 60 allows the user to select the gas type i.e. mixture of argon and carbon dioxide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated button, i.e. second button, separate from the selector 40 such that the user can select the wire type, to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated button, i.e. third button, separate from the selector 44 such that the user can select the wire size, and to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated button, i.e. fourth button separate from the selector 40 such that the user can select the gas type as taught by Dantinne. Doing so would simplify the design and provide ease for the user by using the separate buttons for associated settings such as the wire type, wire size, and gas type.
Regarding Claim 2, the modification discloses the first button (welding process selector 40 of Knoener’717), the second button (electrode switch 42 of Dantinne), the third button (wire size switch 56 of Dantinne), and the fourth button (gas selection button 60 of Dantinne) comprise software buttons implemented on the display (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717).
Regarding Claim 3, the modification discloses the control circuitry (control circuit 30 of Knoener’717) is configured to:
in response to the input from the first button (welding process selector 40 of Knoener’717), output an indication of the welding process via the display (display of Knoener’717) (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717);
in response to an input from the second button (electrode switch 42 of Dantinne), output an indication of the electrode wire type (wire type) via the display (display of Knoener’717) (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717);
in response to an input from the third button (wire size switch 56 of Dantinne), output an indication of the electrode wire size (wire size) via the display (display of Knoener’717) (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717); and
in response to an input from the fourth button (gas selection button 60 of Dantinne), output an indication of the shielding gas composition (gas type) via the display (display of Knoener’717) (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717).
Regarding Claim 4, Knoener’717 discloses the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) is configured to select a welding program (operating parameter) based on the welding process (welding process), the electrode wire type (wire type), the electrode wire size (wire size), and the shielding gas composition (gas type) (para. 0026-007).
Regarding Claim 6, Knoener’717 discloses the power conversion circuitry (internal circuity of power source 16) is configured to convert input power to welding power based on the voltage, the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) configured to control the power conversion circuitry (para. 0013, 0017, and 0026).
Regarding Claim 7, Knoener’717 discloses the interface, further comprising the wire feeder (wire feeder) configured to feed an electrode wire based on the wire feed speed (wire feed speed) (para. 0006).
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Knoener’717 (US 20160271717) and Dantinner (US 20090152251) as applied to claim 4 and 1 respectively, further in view of Stanzel (US 20070181553)
Regarding Claim 5, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above. Knoener’717 discloses the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) is configured to, in response to an input from the voltage adjustment dial 42 (para. 0017), display the selected voltage (voltage) (para. 0028-0029).
The modification does not disclose the input is entered using a fifth button.
However, Stanzel discloses a fifth button (voltage controller 40) is utilized to input voltage selection (para. 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated fifth button (i.e. voltage controller 40 of Stanzel), separate from the material thickness, such that the user can select voltage using the fifth button. Doing so would simplify the design and provide ease for the user by using the separate button dedicated for voltage setting.
Regarding Claim 8, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above. Knoener’717 discloses the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) is configured to modify the voltage based on an input to the voltage adjustment dial 42 (para. 0017).
The modification does not disclose the input is entered using a second input device.
However, Stanzel discloses a second input device (voltage controller 40) is utilized to input voltage selection (para. 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide the dedicated second input device (i.e. voltage controller 40 of Stanzel), separate from the material thickness, such that the user can select voltage using the second input device. Doing so would simplify the design and provide ease for the user by using the separate button dedicated for voltage setting.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Knoener’717 (US 20160271717), Dantinner (US 20090152251), and Stanzel (US 20070181553) as applied to claim 8, further in view of Knoener’429 (US 20120241429)
Regarding Claim 9, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the interface further comprising an indicator configured to output an indication of whether the voltage is within a voltage range, higher than the voltage range, or lower than the voltage range, the control circuitry configured to determine the voltage range based on the wire feed speed selected via the first input device.
However, Knoener’429 discloses an interface (user interface 38) further comprising an indicator (graphical range indicator 60) configured to output an indication of whether the voltage is within a voltage range, higher than the voltage range, or lower than the voltage range (acceptable ranges of values) (para. 0049), the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) configured to determine the voltage range (acceptable ranges of values) based on the wire feed speed selected via the first input device (dial 52) (para. 0049-0050) (it is noted Stanzel (US 20070181553), which is incorporated by reference, discloses the linkage between the voltage and the wire feed speed during “auto” setting, which determines the wire feed speed based on the selected voltage, para. 0018-0020 and 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to include the indicator configured to indicate whether the voltage is within the acceptable voltage range or not, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the voltage range based on the selected wire feed speed. The interface would assist the operator to correctly set the voltage within the acceptable range based on the selected wire feed speed and other welding parameters.
Claims 21, 11-14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Knoener’717 (US 20160271717) and Dantinner (US 20090152251), further in view of Sickels (US 20060196862)
Regarding Claim 21, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the control circuitry is configured to:
select the sequence of electrode wire types based on the selected welding process;
select the sequence of electrode wire sizes based on the selected electrode wire type; and
select the sequence of shielding gas compositions based on at least one of the selected welding process, the selected electrode wire type, or the selected electrode wire size.
However, Dantinne discloses the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) is configured to:
select the sequence of electrode wire types (multiple possible electrodes i.e. E6010 and E7018) based on the selected welding process (stick welding process) (para. 0019); and
select the sequence of shielding gas compositions (gas selection i.e. C8-C15, based on MIG type) based on the selected welding process (MIG welding process) (para. 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the control circuitry of Knoener’717 such that it is configured to select the sequence of electrode wire types based on the selected welding process and it is configured to select the sequence of the shield gas composition based on the selected welding process as further taught by Dantinne. Doing so would further assist the operator to select the welding wire type that corresponds to the selected welding process by providing the options of welding wire types that only corresponds to the selected welding process. Similarly, the operator is assisted to select the gas type based on the selected welding process by providing the options of gas types that only corresponds to the selected welding process.
The modification does not disclose the control circuitry is configured to select the sequence of electrode wire sizes based on the selected electrode wire type.
However, Sickels discloses a table 1 that indicates known associations between the electrode wire size and the electrode wire type (para. 0043-0044 and 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the control circuitry of Knoener’717 to associate the sequence of the electrode wire sizes i.e. 0.030, 0.035 to the electrode wire type i.e. FCAW as known in the art to perform a certain welding process as taught by Sickels. Doing so would further assist the operator to select the appropriate wire size from the options of the electrode wire sizes that have known associations with the electrode wire type. For example, when the electrode wire type is selected, the operator is assisted by giving the options of the wire sizes that are associated with the selected electrode wire type.
Regarding Claim 11, Knoener’717 discloses a welding-type power supply (welding system 10; fig. 1), comprising:
power conversion circuitry (power supply 16) configured to convert input power to welding power based on an output voltage (voltage set by the voltage adjustment dial 42) (para. 0013 and 0017);
a first button (welding process selector 40) (para. 0019. The selector 40 allows the user to selector a welding process i.e. MIG. The first button also allows the user to select the wire type, i.e. aluminum electrode, the first button also allows the user to select the gas type i.e. argon),
a first input device (wire feed speed adjustment dial 44) configured to adjust a wire feed speed (wire feed speed) (para. 0020); and
control circuitry (control circuitry) configured to:
in response to an input from the first button (welding process selector 40), select the welding process of power conversion circuitry based on a sequence of welding processes (plurality of welding processes) (para. 0019);
in response to an input from the first button, select the electrode wire type (electrode type i.e. aluminum) based on a sequence of electrode wire types (electrode types i.e. aluminum, steel etc.) (para. 0019),
in response to an input from the dial 44, select the electrode wire size (electrode size i.e. 0.024”) based on a sequence of electrode wire sizes (0.024″, 0.030″, and 0.035″ etc.) (para. 0020),
in response to an input from the first button (welding process selector 40), select the shielding gas composition (gas type i.e. argon) from a sequence of shielding gas compositions (C25, C100, Argon, etc.) (para. 0019),
in response to input from the first input device (wire feed speed adjustment dial 44), select a wire feed speed (wire feed speed) (para. 0020);
based on the selected wire feed speed (wire feed speed), automatically select a voltage (voltage) based on a relationship between the wire feed speed and the voltage, the relationship based on the electrode wire size (based on the size of the wire electrode) (it is noted Stanzel (US 20070181553), which is incorporated by reference, discloses the linkage between the voltage and the wire feed speed during “auto” setting, which determines the wire feed speed based on the selected voltage, para. 0018-0020);
based on the wire feed speed (wire feed speed) selected via the first input device (wire feed speed adjustment dial 44) (“the wire feed speed adjustment dial 44 has a first parameter indicator 54 indicative of a wire feed speed selection”, para. 0020), determine a material thickness (material thickness) corresponding to the wire feed speed (wire feed speed) selected via the first input device (wire feed speed adjustment dial 44) (“the control circuitry 30 and/or the auto-set function may automatically adjust one or more of the welding process, voltage (or amperage or power), wire feed speed, material thickness, electrode diameter, or other operating parameter to enable workable, feasible operation of the welding system”, para. 0026. It is noted when the parameter settings input by the user using dials 40, 44, and 42 are not feasible for a welding operation, the control circuitry 30 automatically adjusts the at least one of the parameter settings to enable workable, feasible operation. For example, the control circuitry 30 automatically adjusts the material thickness that corresponds to the wire feed speed such that they are feasible and workable for welding operation);
display the determined material thickness (material thickness) via a display (“user interface 38 may also change the display or highlight a graphical element (e.g., parameter indicator) on the display based on a user input.”, para. 0029 and also “the parameter indicators 50, 52, 54, 56, the light graphical indicator 60, or any combination thereof, may be displayed as graphical elements on the display screen”, para. 0028); and
control at least one of an output of the power conversion circuitry (power source 16) based on the selected voltage (voltage) (para. 0017 and 0013).
Knoener’717 does not disclose:
a second button, a third button, and a fourth button.
However, Dantinne discloses a user interface 26 comprising a second button (electrode switch 42; fig. 6) (para. 0019. It is noted the switch 42 allows the user to select an electrode type i.e. E6010), a third button (wire size switch 56) (para. 0022. It is noted the switch 56 allows the user the select the electrode size i.e. 0.035”), and a fourth button (gas selection button 60) (para. 0023. It is noted the button 60 allows the user to select the gas type i.e. mixture of argon and carbon dioxide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated button, i.e. second button, separate from the selector 40 such that the user can select the wire type, to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated button, i.e. third button, separate from the selector 44 such that the user can select the wire size, and to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated button, i.e. fourth button separate from the selector 40 such that the user can select the gas type as taught by Dantinne. Doing so would simplify the design and provide ease for the user by using the separate buttons for associated settings such as wire type, wire size, and gas type.
The modification does not disclose:
the sequence of electrode wire types being set based on the selected welding process;
the sequence of electrode wire sizes being set based on the selected electrode wire type and the selected welding process;
the sequence of shielding gas compositions being set based on the selected electrode wire size, the selected electrode wire type, and the selected welding process.
However, Dantinne discloses an interface 26, wherein
the sequence of electrode wire types (multiple possible electrodes i.e. E6010 and E7018) is set based on the selected welding process (stick welding process) (para. 0019); and
the sequence of shielding gas compositions (gas selection i.e. C8-C15, based on MIG type) is based on the selected welding process (MIG welding process) (para. 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the control circuitry of Knoener’717 such that it is configured to select the sequence of electrode wire types based on the selected welding process and it is configured to select the sequence of the shield gas composition based on the selected welding process as further taught by Dantinne. Doing so would further assist the operator to select the welding wire type that corresponds to the selected welding process by providing the options of welding wire types that only corresponds to the selected welding process. Similarly, the operator is assisted to select the gas type based on the selected welding process by providing the options of gas types that only corresponds to the selected welding process.
The modification does not disclose the sequence of electrode wire sizes is set based on the selected electrode wire type and the selected welding process.
However, Sickels discloses a table 1 that indicates the known associations between the electrode wire sizes and the electrode wire types (para. 0043-0044 and 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the control circuitry of Knoener’717 to associate the sequence of the electrode wire sizes i.e. 0.030, 0.035 to the electrode wire type i.e. FCAW as taught by Sickels. Doing so would further assist the operator to select the appropriate wire size i.e. 0.030 from the options of the electrode wire sizes i.e. 0.030 or 0.035 that have known associations with the electrode wire type i.e. FCAW. For example, when the electrode wire type is selected i.e. FCAW selected, the operator is assisted by giving the options of the wire sizes i.e. 0.030, or 0.035 that are associated with the selected electrode wire type i.e. FCAW.
The modification would result in the sequence of electrode wire sizes is set based on the selected electrode wire type and the selected welding process because Dantinne discloses the sequence of wire types is set based on the selected welding process (para. 0019; fig. 3) and Sickels discloses the wire type i.e. FCAW is associated with the wire sizes i.e. 0.030, or 0.035 according to Table 1, therefore the sequence of electrode wire sizes i.e. options of 0.030, or 0.035 are set based on the selected electrode wire type i.e. FCAW and indirectly based the selected welding process i.e. sticking welding because the wire sizes have known associations with the wire types and the wire types are associated with the welding process.
Advantageously, the operator can select the appropriate wire size from the options of the wire sizes that are set based on the electrode wire type and indirectly based on the welding process.
The modification does not disclose the sequence of shielding gas compositions being set based on the selected electrode wire size, the selected electrode wire type.
However, Sickels discloses a table 1 that indicates the known associations between the shielding gas, the electrode wire size, and the electrode wire type (para. 0043-0044 and 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the control circuitry of Knoener’717 to associate the sequence of the shielding gas with the electrode wire and the electrode type as taught by Sickels. Doing so would ensure that the operator selects the appropriate shielding gas from the options of the shield gas types that has known associations with the selected wire size and selected wire type. The modification would result in the sequence of shielding gas is set based on the selected electrode wire size, the selected electrode wire type, and the selected welding process because Dantinne discloses the sequence of gas types is set based on the selected welding process (para. 0023) and Sickels discloses the associations of the gas types, the wire sizes, and the wire types according to Table 1, therefore the sequence of gas is set based on the selected welding process (according to Dantinne, para. 0023) and is set based the selected wire size and the selected wire type because the wire sizes and the wire types have known associations with the types of shielding gas (Table 1 of Sickels).
Advantageously, the operator can select the appropriate gas type from the options of gas types that are set based on the welding process and are set based on the selected electrode wire size and selected electrode wire type.
Regarding Claim 12, the modification discloses the first button (welding process selector 40 of Knoener’717), the second button (electrode switch 42 of Dantinne), the third button (wire size switch 56 of Dantinne), and the fourth button (gas selection button 60 of Dantinne) comprise software buttons implemented on the display (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717).
Regarding Claim 13, the modification discloses the control circuitry (control circuit 30 of Knoener’717) is configured to:
in response to the input from the first button (welding process selector 40 of Knoener’717), output an indication of the welding process via the display (display of Knoener’717) (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717);
in response to an input from the second button (electrode switch 42 of Dantinne), output an indication of the electrode wire type (wire type) via the display (display of Knoener’717) (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717);
in response to an input from the third button (wire size switch 56 of Dantinne), output an indication of the electrode wire size (wire size) via the display (display of Knoener’717) (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717); and
in response to an input from the fourth button (gas selection button 60 of Dantinne), output an indication of the shielding gas composition (gas type) via the display (display of Knoener’717) (para. 0028-0029 of Knoener’717).
Regarding Claim 14, Knoener’717 discloses the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) is configured to select a welding program (operating parameter) based on the welding process (welding process), the electrode wire type (wire type), the electrode wire size (wire size), and the shielding gas composition (gas type) (para. 0026-007).
Regarding Claim 16, Knoener’717 discloses the interface, further comprising the wire feeder (wire feeder) configured to feed an electrode wire based on the wire feed speed (wire feed speed) (para. 0006).
Regarding Claim 19, Knoener’717 discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, via a first button (welding process selector 40) (para. 0019. The selector 40 allows the user to selector a welding process i.e. MIG), a selection of a welding process from a sequence of welding processes, the first button also allows the user to select the wire type, i.e. aluminum electrode, the first button also allows the user to select the gas type i.e. argon,
receiving, via the first button (welding process selector 40), a selection of an electrode wire type (wire type) from the sequence of electrode wire types (para. 0019);
receiving, via a third button (dial 44), a selection of an electrode wire size (electrode size i.e. 0.024”) from the sequence of electrode wire sizes (0.024″, 0.030″, and 0.035″ etc.) (para. 0020);
receiving, via the first button (welding process selector 40), a selection of a shielding gas composition (gas type i.e. argon) from the sequence of shielding gas compositions (para. 0019);
receiving, via an input device (wire feed speed adjustment dial 44), a selection of a wire feed speed (wire feed speed) (para. 0020);
based on the selected wire feed speed (wire feed speed), selecting, via control circuitry (control circuitry), a voltage (voltage) based on a relationship between the wire feed speed and the voltage, the relationship based on the electrode wire size (based on the size of the wire electrode) (it is noted Stanzel (US 20070181553), which is incorporated by reference, discloses the linkage between the voltage and the wire feed speed during “auto” setting, which determines the wire feed speed based on the selected voltage, para. 0018-0020) and
controlling, via the control circuitry (control circuitry), at least one of an output of power conversion circuitry (internal circuity of power source 16) based on the selected voltage (voltage) (para. 0017 and 0013); and
determining, via the control circuitry (control circuitry), a workpiece thickness (material thickness) corresponding to the selected wire feed speed (wire feed speed) in response to the selection of the wire feed speed (“the wire feed speed adjustment dial 44 has a first parameter indicator 54 indicative of a wire feed speed selection”, para. 0020) (“the control circuitry 30 and/or the auto-set function may automatically adjust one or more of the welding process, voltage (or amperage or power), wire feed speed, material thickness, electrode diameter, or other operating parameter to enable workable, feasible operation of the welding system”, para. 0026. It is noted when the parameter settings input by the user using dials 40, 44, and 42 are not feasible for a welding operation, the control circuitry 30 automatically adjusts the at least one of the parameter settings to enable workable, feasible operation. For example, the control circuitry 30 automatically adjusts the material thickness that corresponds to the wire feed speed such that they are feasible and workable for welding operation); and
displaying the workpiece thickness (material thickness) on a display device (“user interface 38 may also change the display or highlight a graphical element (e.g., parameter indicator) on the display based on a user input.”, para. 0029 and also “the parameter indicators 50, 52, 54, 56, the light graphical indicator 60, or any combination thereof, may be displayed as graphical elements on the display screen”, para. 0028).
Knoener’717 does not disclose:
a second button, a third button, and a fourth button.
However, Dantinne discloses a user interface 26 comprising a second button (electrode switch 42; fig. 6) (para. 0019. It is noted the switch 42 allows the user to select an electrode type i.e. E6010), a third button (wire size switch 56) (para. 0022. It is noted the switch 56 allows the user the select the electrode size i.e. 0.035”), and a fourth button (gas selection button 60) (para. 0023. It is noted the button 60 allows the user to select the gas type i.e. mixture of argon and carbon dioxide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated button, i.e. second button, separate from the selector 40 such that the user can select the wire type, to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated button, i.e. third button, separate from the selector 44 such that the user can select the wire size, and to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated button, i.e. fourth button separate from the selector 40 such that the user can select the gas type as taught by Dantinne. Doing so would simplify the design and provide ease for the user by using the separate buttons for associated settings such as wire type, wire size, and gas type.
The modification does not disclose:
setting a sequence of electrode wire types based on the selected welding process;
setting a sequence of electrode wire sizes based on the selected electrode wire type and the selected welding process; and
setting a sequence of shielding gas compositions based on the selected electrode wire size, the selected electrode wire type, and the selected welding process;
However, Dantinne discloses the sequence of electrode wire types (multiple possible electrodes i.e. E6010 and E7018) is set based on the selected welding process (stick welding process) (para. 0019); and
the sequence of shielding gas compositions (gas selection i.e. C8-C15, based on MIG type) is based on the selected welding process (MIG welding process) (para. 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the control circuitry of Knoener’717 such that it is configured to select the sequence of electrode wire types based on the selected welding process and it is configured to select the sequence of the shield gas composition based on the selected welding process as further taught by Dantinne. Doing so would further assist the operator to select the welding wire type from the options of wire types that are set based the selected welding process and to select the shield gas from the options of gas types that are set based on the selected welding process.
The modification does not disclose the sequence of electrode wire sizes is set based on the selected electrode wire type and the selected welding process.
However, Sickels discloses a table 1 that indicates the associations between the electrode wire sizes and the electrode wire types (para. 0043-0044 and 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the control circuitry of Knoener’717 to associate the sequence of the electrode wire sizes i.e. 0.030, 0.035 to the electrode wire type i.e. FCAW as taught by Sickels. Doing so would ensure that the operator selects the appropriate wire size i.e. 0.030 from the options of the wire sizes that have known associations with the wire type i.e. FCAW. For example, when the electrode wire type is selected i.e. FCAW selected, the operator is assisted by giving the options of the wire sizes i.e. 0.030, or 0.035 that are associated with the selected electrode wire type i.e. FCAW.
The modification would result in the sequence of electrode wire sizes is set based on the selected electrode wire type and the selected welding process because Dantinne discloses the sequence of wire types is set based on the selected welding process (para. 0019; fig. 3) and Sickels discloses the wire type i.e. FCAW is associated with the wire sizes i.e. 0.030, or 0.035 according to Table 1, therefore the sequence of electrode wire sizes i.e. options of 0.030, or 0.035 is set based on the selected electrode wire type i.e. FCAW and indirectly based the selected welding process sticking welding, because the wire sizes have known associations with the wire types and the wire types are associated with the welding process.
Advantageously, the operator can select the appropriate wire size from the options of the wire sizes that are set based on the electrode wire type and indirectly based on the welding process.
The modification does not disclose the sequence of shielding gas compositions being set based on the selected electrode wire size and the selected electrode wire type.
However, Sickels discloses a table 1 that indicates the known associations between the shielding gas, the electrode wire size, and the electrode wire type (para. 0043-0044 and 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the control circuitry of Knoener’717 to associate the sequence of the shielding gas with the electrode wire and the electrode type as taught by Sickels. Doing so would ensure that the operator selects the appropriate shielding gas from the options of the shield gas types that has known associations with the selected wire size and selected wire type. The modification would result in the sequence of shielding gas is set based on the selected electrode wire size, the selected electrode wire type, and the selected welding process because Dantinne discloses the sequence of gas types is set based on the selected welding process (para. 0023) and Sickels discloses the associations of the gas types, the wire sizes, and the wire types according to Table 1, therefore the options of gas are set based on the selected welding process (according to Dantinne, para. 0023) and are set based the selected wire size and the selected wire type because the wire sizes and the wire types have known associations with the types of shielding gas (Table 1 of Sickels).
Advantageously, the operator can select the appropriate gas type from the options of gas types that are set based on the welding process and are set based on the selected electrode wire size and selected electrode wire type.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Knoener’717 (US 20160271717), Dantinner (US 20090152251), and Sickels (US 20060196862) as applied to claim 14 and claim 11 respectively, further in view of Stanzel (US 20070181553)
Regarding Claim 15, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above. Knoener’717 discloses the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) is configured to, in response to an input from the voltage adjustment dial 42 (para. 0017), display the selected voltage (voltage) (para. 0028-0029).
The modification does not disclose the input is entered using a fifth button.
However, Stanzel discloses a fifth button (voltage controller 40) is utilized to input voltage selection (para. 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated fifth button (i.e. voltage controller 40 of Stanzel), separate from the material thickness, such that the user can select voltage using the fifth button. Doing so would simplify the design and provide ease for the user by using the separate button dedicated for voltage setting.
Regarding Claim 17, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above. Knoener’717 discloses the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) is configured to modify the voltage based on an input to the voltage adjustment dial 42 (para. 0017).
The modification does not disclose the input is entered using a second input device.
However, Stanzel discloses a fifth button (voltage controller 40) is utilized to input voltage selection (para. 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to provide a dedicated second input device (i.e. voltage controller 40 of Stanzel), separate from the material thickness, such that the user can select voltage using the second input device. Doing so would simplify the design and provide ease for the user by using the separate button dedicated for voltage setting.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Knoener’717 (US 20160271717), Dantinner (US 20090152251), Sickels (US 20060196862), and Stanzel (US 20070181553) as applied to claim 17, further in view of Knoener’429 (US 20120241429)
Regarding Claim 18, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the interface further comprising an indicator configured to output an indication of whether the voltage is within a voltage range, higher than the voltage range, or lower than the voltage range, the control circuitry configured to determine the voltage range based on the wire feed speed selected via the first input device.
However, Knoener’429 discloses an interface (user interface 38) further comprising an indicator (graphical range indicator 60) configured to output an indication of whether the voltage is within a voltage range, higher than the voltage range, or lower than the voltage range (acceptable ranges of values) (para. 0049), the control circuitry (control circuitry 30) configured to determine the voltage range (acceptable ranges of values) based on the wire feed speed selected via the first input device (dial 52) (para. 0049-0050) (it is noted Stanzel (US 20070181553), which is incorporated by reference, discloses the linkage between the voltage and the wire feed speed during “auto” setting, which determines the wire feed speed based on the selected voltage, para. 0018-0020 and 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface of Knoener’717 to include the indicator configured to indicate whether the voltage is within the acceptable voltage range or not, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the voltage range based on the selected wire feed speed. The interface would assist the operator to correctly set the voltage within the acceptable range based on the selected wire feed speed and other welding parameters.
Response to Amendment
With respect to claim objections: upon further consideration, therefore the claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are respectfully not persuasive because:
Applicant’s Arguments: with respect to claim 1 (similarly applying to claims 11 and 19) on p. 8-9 of the Remarks “Claim 1 sets forth, inter alia, a welding equipment interface comprising a display and control circuitry configured to: "determine, based on the wire feed speed selected via the first input device, a material thickness corresponding to the wire feed speed selected via the first input device," and "display the determined material thickness on the display." The Knoener '717 and Dantinne combination does not teach such a welding equipment interface.
The Office Action alleges that Knoener '717 discloses determining the material thickness
corresponding to the wire feed speed selected via the first input device ("the control circuitry 30
and/or the auto-set function may automatically adjust one or more of the welding process, voltage (or amperage or power), wire feed speed, material thickness, electrode diameter, or other operating parameter to enable workable, feasible operation of the welding system", para. 0026"). See Office Action, p. 9. Paragraph [0026] does not disclose determining the material thickness based on the wire feed speed selected via the first input device. Instead, paragraph [0026] states that, when a selected combination of operating settings is infeasible, control circuitry may adjust one or more settings to enable workable, feasible combination. Other auto settings are suggested: "based on a 'best mode' or 'best available mode' determined by an algorithm or other programmable logic of the control circuitry," however Knoener '717 does not disclose or suggest determining the material thickness based on the wire feed speed selected via the first input device corresponding to the wire feed speed selected via the first input device.
Knoener '717' s disclosed operating modes establish a different relationship. In the
operating mode of paragraph [0023], dial 44 selects wire feed speed while dial 42 selects
voltage. In the auto-set mode of paragraphs [0024]-[0025], dial 44 selects electrode diameter and dial 42 selects material thickness, after which wire-feed speed and voltage may be adjusted based on the selected electrode diameter, material thickness, and welding process. Thus, Knoener '717 uses material thickness as an operator-selected input for adjusting wire-feed speed and voltage; it does not determine material thickness based on an operator-selected wire-feed speed.
Paragraphs [0028]-[0029] do not disclose displaying the claimed determined material
thickness and generally disclose graphical input elements. Notably, in one embodiment,
paragraph [0029] explains that, when an operator selects wire-feed speed using dial 44, the
interface may display only the voltage adjustment dial and not the material-thickness adjustor, or may emphasize the voltage indicator rather than the material-thickness indicator. The example suggests Knoener '717 does not even consider determining the material thickness in based on the wire feed speed.
Dantinne does not overcome the deficiencies of Knoener '717. Because Knoener '717
and Dantinne are missing the same aspects of claim 1, the combination of Knoener '717 and
Dantinne is missing these aspects. Accordingly, the combination of Knoener '717 and Dantinne
does not support a prima facie case of obviousness against claim 1. Therefore, claims depending
on claim 1 are not obvious and present patentable matter. As such, claim 1 and all claims
depending thereon are allowable.”
Examiner’s Responses:
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 (similarly applying to claims 11 and 19) are respectfully not persuasive because para. 0026 of Knoener’717 states “the control circuitry 30 and/or the auto-set function may automatically adjust one or more of the welding process, voltage (or amperage or power), wire feed speed, material thickness, electrode diameter, or other operating parameter to enable workable, feasible operation of the welding system” (emphasis added). In other words, when the parameter settings input by the user using dials 40, 44, and 42 are not feasible for a welding operation, the control circuitry 30 automatically adjusts the material thickness that corresponds to the wire feed speed to enable workable and feasible welding operation. The phrase “and/or” in para. 0026 is interpreted to mean “or”. The control circuitry 30 automatically adjusts the material thickness that corresponds to the wire feed speed to enable workable and feasible welding operation without the auto-set function. The user of the welder may input the wire feed speed using the dial 44 (“the wire feed speed adjustment dial 44 has a first parameter indicator 54 indicative of a wire feed speed selection”, para. 0020). When the parameter settings input by the user using dials 42, 40, and 44 are not feasible for a welding operation, the control circuitry 30 automatically adjusts at least one of the parameter settings i.e. material thickness that corresponds to other parameter settings i.e. wire feed speed to enable workable and feasible welding operation.
With respect to the limitation “display the determined material thickness on the display”, Knoener’717 discloses the material thickness indicator is displayed on the display (“user interface 38 may also change the display or highlight a graphical element (e.g., parameter indicator) on the display based on a user input.”, para. 0029 and also “the parameter indicators 50, 52, 54, 56, the light graphical indicator 60, or any combination thereof, may be displayed as graphical elements on the display screen”, para. 0028, and also “a second parameter indicator 52 indicative of a material thickness selection (e.g., 24 gauge, 20/22 gauge, 18 gauge, 16 gauge, 14 gauge, ⅛″, 3/16″, ¼″, and ⅜″”, para. 0020).
For the above reasons, the rejections to all of the claims are respectfully sustained by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761