DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/16/2025.
2. Claims 4-6, 10, 11, 14, and 16 are canceled.
3. Claims 1-3, 7-9, 12, 13, 15, and 17-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed on October 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, the Applicant argues in substance that:
The combination of Vincelette and Chin fails to disclose the limitation “capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties,” as recited in independent claim 1.
In response to argument:
a) Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the Examiner would like to remind the applicant that the rejection is based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. The Applicant argues on page 6 of the remarks that the cited art does not teach or suggest the limitation “capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties.” However, Vincelette discloses deriving operational parameters and/or geological parameters of a subterranean formation such as an installation for extracting a hydrocarbon based fluid from a subterranean reservoir. More specifically, the techniques are implemented by measuring temperature and/or pressure at a multiplicity of locations in a well located in the subterranean reservoir…application of the invention include geological and mining survey, water tables mapping, water tables control, geothermal mapping, geothermic energy control, oil and gas characterization and extraction process control (see, [0001]-[0002]). Further, Fig. 1 shows a typical SAGD installation 10. A tar sand vein 12 runs underground. Typically, a tar sand vein is located at depths ranging from 200 feet to 1500 feet below the surface 14. An impermeable cap rock 16 (i.e., high density rock) or other overburden exists immediately above the tar sand vein. To extract heavy oil, the SAGD installation typically includes two main wells, namely an injection well and a production well. The injection well 18 is vertically drilled through the cap rock 16 and once it reaches the tar sands vein 12, is oriented horizontally to run within the tar sand vein 12 (see, [0045]-[0046]). Furthermore, Vincelette discloses the system illustrated in Fig. 16 can be used to perform the following: 1. Initial/periodic geological measurements, such as seismic surveys, core samples, LIDAR . . . 2. Real-time continuous well data logging, including temperature and pressure profiles in the injector, producer and observation wells;... 3. Real-time continuous operational data logging, including steam injected temperature, pressure, flow-rate and toe/heel ratio, as well as, producer flow-rate; 4. Real-time visualization and alarm reports, including those generated by operational parameters module 1610 and also deviations from actual chamber growth and performance from the ones predicted by models; 5. Generation of geological phases data bank; well layout scenarios, including retrofits; operational scenarios, such as steaming and extraction strategies; 6. Multiple dimension, such as 4D visualization with or without history revision to include latest information; geological model, including steam chamber and fluid pool growths; performance parameters resulting from scenarios, including instantaneous and cumulative extraction rates and steam-to-oil ratios and bitumen mobilization ratios. 7. Real-time geological model corrections based on in-well measurements and including steam chamber and fluid pool growth; 8. Studies of operational scenarios, via the SAGD simulator, based on actual well conditions; 9. Planning of wells layout, including retrofits, in association to operational scenarios before and during exploitation; 10. Upgradeability to include other field measurements, even in real-time; to change in well configurations, including multi-ports adjustable injector and/or producer; to process and manage auxiliary information such as ESP aging, field containment (see, [0261]-[0271]). Moreover, Vincelette discloses mechanical properties of the rock usually vary slightly along the well and pressure stabilizes rapidly inside the zone (see, [0296]), which corresponds to the limitation capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties within the claim.
In addition, Chin also discloses determining the optimal safe steam injection pressure for enhanced oil recovery techniques…In step 100, a reservoir simulation model is constructed. The reservoir simulation model is used to predict the flow of fluids, such as oil, water and/or gas, through the subterranean formation. In step 102, a geomechanical model is constructed. Geomechanical modeling accounts for rock deformation due to pore pressure and temperature changes resulting from production and fluid injection. Furthermore, the geomechanical model simulates the rock deformation and failure in the modeled domain, including the overburden region, caprock, reservoir, and the underburden region. In step 104, the reservoir simulation and the geomechanical models for performing a parametric simulation run are coupled together. Several methods for coupling the reservoir simulation and geomechanical models have been developed. For example, models can be one-way coupled, fully-coupled, or iteratively coupled…For a given parametric case with a steam injection pressure, geological setting, and pad locations, the reservoir simulation model generates the pressure front and the temperature front as a function of time. The geomechanical model uses the pressure front and the temperature front as the input and also shares the same geological setting and the pad location as the reservoir simulation model to generate distributions of stress, strain, plastic strain, and displacement in the modeled regime that includes overburden, caprock, reservoir, and underburden….In step 106, a plurality of parametric simulation runs are conducted using the coupled reservoir simulation-geomechanical model built in step 104. During this parametric study, each parametric simulation run corresponds to a specific set of numerical values of physical parameters. These physical parameters for the steam-assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) process, for example, include, but are not limited to: reservoir depth, reservoir thickness, steam injection pressure, steam injector depth, pressure and temperature fronts, geometric descriptions of geological settings, and pad locations. In step 108, the equivalent plastic strain distribution in the caprock is calculated from the distribution of plastic strain tensor obtained in step 104 for each parametric simulation run (see, [0012]-[0019]). Thus, the combination of Vincelette and Chin meets the scope of broadly claimed limitation as currently presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3, 7-9, 12-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincelette et al. 2011/0229071 (hereinafter, Vincelette).
in view of Chin et al. US 2012/0203524 et al. (hereinafter, Chin).
7. Regarding claim 1, Vincelette discloses a method for recovering hydrocarbons from a subterranean formation, the method comprising:
obtaining an initial geomechanical model of the subterranean formation including geological and geomechaical properties of a caprock ([0001], [0045]-[0046]: Fig. 1 shows a typical SAGD installation 10. A tar sand vein 12 runs underground. Typically, a tar sand vein is located at depths ranging from 200 feet to 1500 feet below the surface 14. An impermeable cap rock 16 or other overburden exists immediately above the tar sand vein. To extract heavy oil, the SAGD installation typically includes two main wells, namely an injection well and a production well. The injection well 18 is vertically drilled through the cap rock 16 and once it reaches the tar sands vein 12, is oriented horizontally to run within the tar sand vein 12….[Further], [0176]: a model of the subterranean formation is generated. The model is a collection of data that normally resides in the machine readable storage 502. The data is a three dimensional representation (in any suitable format) of the subterranean formation, or a sub-structure thereof, subdivided in discrete areas. The collected temperature and/pressure values are assigned to the various discrete areas. Accordingly, the three-dimensional model of the subterranean formation depicts temperature and/or pressure variations in the underground fluid from one discrete area to another….[Furthermore], [0254]: The proposed approach enables a wide range of new information that serves for daily operation and also to better understand the reservoir characteristics and behavior. In consequence, it can serve as a base for an expert system continuously updating reservoir characteristic, on which simulation can be run and strategies tested for wells layout and operative scenarios. By integrating it with daily operation, this expert system can also manage the alarms and feed-back control automated operations. Integrating the two aspects, it is possible to develop or refine the geological model to take into account daily performances and also develop a platform that can display the process full life cycle (past and future as expected) to enable global optimization…For the geological modeling, real-time in-situ apparent porosities and bitumen mobilization energies can be combined to all other geological characterization measurements, these constitute a bank of global properties. A library of the individual geological properties of all geological phases potentially present can also be build. Then standard combination optimization algorithms can be used to determine the most representative geological phases repartition in the geological model matching the ensemble of the measured properties bank (see also, [0157]-[0158], [0267]);
capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties ([0001]-[0002]: deriving operational parameters and/or geological parameters of a subterranean formation such as an installation for extracting a hydrocarbon based fluid from a subterranean reservoir. More specifically, the techniques are implemented by measuring temperature and/or pressure at a multiplicity of locations in a well located in the subterranean reservoir…application of the invention include geological and mining survey, water tables mapping, water tables control, geothermal mapping, geothermic energy control, oil and gas characterization and extraction process control…[Further], [0045]-[0046], : Fig. 1 shows a typical SAGD installation 10. A tar sand vein 12 runs underground. Typically, a tar sand vein is located at depths ranging from 200 feet to 1500 feet below the surface 14. An impermeable cap rock 16 or other overburden exists immediately above the tar sand vein. To extract heavy oil, the SAGD installation typically includes two main wells, namely an injection well and a production well. The injection well 18 is vertically drilled through the cap rock 16 and once it reaches the tar sands vein 12, is oriented horizontally to run within the tar sand vein 12… [Furthermore], [0261]-[0271]: the system illustrated in Fig. 16 can be used to perform the following: 1. Initial/periodic geological measurements, such as seismic surveys, core samples, LIDAR . . . 2. Real-time continuous well data logging, including temperature and pressure profiles in the injector, producer and observation wells;... 3. Real-time continuous operational data logging, including steam injected temperature, pressure, flow-rate and toe/heel ratio, as well as, producer flow-rate; 4. Real-time visualization and alarm reports, including those generated by operational parameters module 1610 and also deviations from actual chamber growth and performance from the ones predicted by models; 5. Generation of geological phases data bank; well layout scenarios, including retrofits; operational scenarios, such as steaming and extraction strategies; 6. Multiple dimension, such as 4D visualization with or without history revision to include latest information; geological model, including steam chamber and fluid pool growths; performance parameters resulting from scenarios, including instantaneous and cumulative extraction rates and steam-to-oil ratios and bitumen mobilization ratios. 7. Real-time geological model corrections based on in-well measurements and including steam chamber and fluid pool growth; 8. Studies of operational scenarios, via the SAGD simulator, based on actual well conditions; 9. Planning of wells layout, including retrofits, in association to operational scenarios before and during exploitation; 10. Upgradeability to include other field measurements, even in real-time; to change in well configurations, including multi-ports adjustable injector and/or producer; to process and manage auxiliary information such as ESP aging, field containment… [0296]: mechanical properties of the rock usually vary slightly along the well and pressure stabilizes rapidly inside the zone….(see also, [0147], [0157]-[0158], Fig. 16)); Examiner interpreters an impermeable cap rock 16 is equivalent to high density rock within the claim;
generating an updated geomechanical model of the subterranean formation ([0176], [0202], [0254], [0296]-[0303]);
determining an integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation ([0202]-[0207], [0297]);
spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation ([0045]-[0046], [0207], [0253]-[0245], Fig. 11); and
updating at least one operating parameter of the hydrocarbon production based on the integrity of the caprock at the subterranean formation ([0202]-[0207], [0254], Fig. 1).
Vincelette does not disclose:
generating an updated geomechanical model of the subterranean formation by recalibrating the initial model with the caprock mechanical properties; and determining an integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation based on the updated geomechanical model.
However, Chin discloses:
generating an updated geomechanical model of the subterranean formation by recalibrating the initial model with the caprock mechanical properties ([0007], [0015], [0017], [0020], Fig. 1);
determining an integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation based on the updated geomechanical model ([0007], [0018]-[0022], Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vincelette to use generating an updated geomechanical model of the subterranean formation by recalibrating the initial model with the caprock mechanical properties; and determining an integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation based on the updated geomechanical model as taught by Chin. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine safe steam injection pressure for enhanced oil recovery operations (Chin, [0002]).
8. Regarding claim 2, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the high resolution geomechanical data is captured continuously over a duration of the drilling operation at a plurality of capture times ([0158], [0173], [0261]-[0263]).
9. Regarding claim 3, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 2, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses capture high resolution geomechanical data ([0157]- [0158]).
Vincelette does not disclose:
wherein the updated geomechanical model is recalibrated continuously at each of the plurality of capture times with the geomechanical data.
However, Chin discloses:
wherein the updated geomechanical model is recalibrated continuously at each of the plurality of capture times with the geomechanical data ([0007], [0015], [0020]-[0021], Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vincelette to use wherein the updated geomechanical model is recalibrated continuously at each of the plurality of capture times with the geomechanical data as taught by Chin. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine safe steam injection pressure for enhanced oil recovery operations (Chin, [0002]).
10. Regarding claim 7, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the initial geomechanical model relates a set of physical properties of the subterranean formation ([0176], [0202]-[0207], [0254], [0276]).
11. Regarding claim 8, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 7, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the set of physical properties includes one or more of mechanical properties, poroelastic properties, formation pore pressure, orientation of at least one principal stress, and magnitude of at least one principal stress ([0254], [0296]).
12. Regarding claim 9, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 7, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the updated geomechanical model dynamically models changing stress and mechanical properties of the caprock over a duration of the drilling operation ([0176], [0202]-[0207], [0254], [0296]-[0303], Fig. 1). See also Chin ([0007], [0015], [0020]-[0021], Fig. 1).
13. Regarding claim 12, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the at least one sensor is deployed at one or more subsurface locations in the subterranean formation ([0045]-[0046]).
14. Regarding claim 13, Vincelette discloses a system for recovering hydrocarbons from a subterranean formation, the system comprising:
a drilling system executing at least one drilling operation at the subterranean formation (Fig. 1);
a measurement system deployed at the subterranean formation and including at least one sensor, the measurement system continuously capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling at least one drilling operation, said high density rock mechanics data collected while drilling through the overburden and caprock said high density rock mechanics data collected during drilling through overburden providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties ([0001]-[0002]: deriving operational parameters and/or geological parameters of a subterranean formation such as an installation for extracting a hydrocarbon based fluid from a subterranean reservoir. More specifically, the techniques are implemented by measuring temperature and/or pressure at a multiplicity of locations in a well located in the subterranean reservoir…application of the invention include geological and mining survey, water tables mapping, water tables control, geothermal mapping, geothermic energy control, oil and gas characterization and extraction process control… [0045]-[0046], : Fig. 1 shows a typical SAGD installation 10. A tar sand vein 12 runs underground. Typically, a tar sand vein is located at depths ranging from 200 feet to 1500 feet below the surface 14. An impermeable cap rock 16 or other overburden exists immediately above the tar sand vein. To extract heavy oil, the SAGD installation typically includes two main wells, namely an injection well and a production well. The injection well 18 is vertically drilled through the cap rock 16 and once it reaches the tar sands vein 12, is oriented horizontally to run within the tar sand vein 12… [Further], [0147], [0157]-[0158]: the temperature and the pressure sensors may not be co-located. For example the sensor arrays 36, 40 and 1800 may be constructed such that the temperature and the pressure sensors alternate with one another, such as for example each temperature sensor is followed by a pressure sensor, a pair of consecutive temperature sensors are followed by a pressure sensor, etc. The number and the spacing between the sensing pairs 38a . . . n, 42a . . . n may vary. In the example shown, the spacing between the sensing pairs 38a . . . n, 42a . . . n is constant but this may be changed to provide more or less measurement resolution in certain areas. For example, if it is desired to read the temperature and pressure with a higher resolution near the heel of the injector well 18, the density of the sensing pairs 38a . . . n can be increased in that area …[Furthermore], [0261]-[0271]: the system illustrated in Fig. 16 can be used to perform the following: 1. Initial/periodic geological measurements, such as seismic surveys, core samples, LIDAR . . . 2. Real-time continuous well data logging, including temperature and pressure profiles in the injector, producer and observation wells;... 3. Real-time continuous operational data logging, including steam injected temperature, pressure, flow-rate and toe/heel ratio, as well as, producer flow-rate; 4. Real-time visualization and alarm reports, including those generated by operational parameters module 1610 and also deviations from actual chamber growth and performance from the ones predicted by models; 5. Generation of geological phases data bank; well layout scenarios, including retrofits; operational scenarios, such as steaming and extraction strategies; 6. Multiple dimension, such as 4D visualization with or without history revision to include latest information; geological model, including steam chamber and fluid pool growths; performance parameters resulting from scenarios, including instantaneous and cumulative extraction rates and steam-to-oil ratios and bitumen mobilization ratios. 7. Real-time geological model corrections based on in-well measurements and including steam chamber and fluid pool growth; 8. Studies of operational scenarios, via the SAGD simulator, based on actual well conditions; 9. Planning of wells layout, including retrofits, in association to operational scenarios before and during exploitation; 10. Upgradeability to include other field measurements, even in real-time; to change in well configurations, including multi-ports adjustable injector and/or producer; to process and manage auxiliary information such as ESP aging, field containment… [0296]: mechanical properties of the rock usually vary slightly along the well and pressure stabilizes rapidly inside the zone….(see also, [0147], [0157]-[0158], Fig. 16)); Examiner interpreters an impermeable cap rock 16 is equivalent to high density rock within the claim;
a measurement system dynamically [updating] a geomechanical model of the subterranean formation as the high resolution geomechanical data is continuously captured during the at least one drilling operation ([0157]-[0158], [0176], [0202]-[0207], [0254], [0296]-[0303]),
the measurement system dynamically adjusting at least one operating parameter based on an integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation ([0202]-[0207], [0254], [0276], Fig. 1),
the integrity of the caprock determined based on the geomechanical model high density rock mechanics data captured during drilling through the overburden ([0157]-[0158], [0202]-[0207], [0254], [0297], Fig. 1); and
spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation ([0045]-[0046], [0207], [0243]-[0245], Fig. 11).
Vincelette does not disclose:
dynamically recalibrating a geomechanical model of the subterranean formation, and the integrity of caprock determined based on the geomechanical model updated.
However, Chin discloses:
dynamically recalibrating a geomechanical model of the subterranean formation ([0007], [0015], [0017], [0020], Fig. 1); and
the integrity of caprock determined based on the geomechanical model updated ([0007], [0018]-[0022], Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vincelette to use dynamically recalibrating a geomechanical model of the subterranean formation, and the integrity of caprock determined based on the geomechanical model updated as taught by Chin. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine safe steam injection pressure for enhanced oil recovery operations (Chin, [0002]).
15. Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 13.
16. Regarding claim 15, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 13, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the at least one operating parameter is adjusted locally at one or more locations based on the integrity of the caprock at each of the one or more locations ([0008], [0045]-[0046], [0185]-[0189], [0202], [0233], Fig. 1).
17. Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 15.
18. Regarding claim 18, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 17, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses adjusting one or more operating parameters of a hydrocarbon production based on the integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation
([0008], [0045]-[0046], [0185]-[0189], [0202], [0233], Fig. 1).
19. Regarding claim 20, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 17, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the high resolution geomechanical data is captured without ceasing the at least one drilling operation ([0158], [0197], [0264], [0292], [0297], Fig. 1).
Conclusion
20. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, and/or paragraphs, and/or pages in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
21. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eyob Hagos/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857