DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 4-6, 10-12, 14, and 16 are canceled.
Claims 21-23 have been added.
4. Claims 1-3, 7-9, 13, 15, and 17-23 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed on July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, the Applicant argues in substance that:
The combination of Vincelette and Chin fails to disclose the limitation “capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden, the high density rock mechanics providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties,….spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation” as recited in independent claim 1.
In response to argument:
a) Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the Examiner would like to remind the applicant that the rejection is based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. The Applicant argues on pages 3-14 of the remarks that the cited art does not teach or suggest the limitation “capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden, the high density rock mechanics providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties,….spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation.” However, Vincelette discloses deriving operational parameters and/or geological parameters of a subterranean formation such as an installation for extracting a hydrocarbon based fluid from a subterranean reservoir. More specifically, the techniques are implemented by measuring temperature and/or pressure at a multiplicity of locations in a well located in the subterranean reservoir…application of the invention include geological and mining survey, water tables mapping, water tables control, geothermal mapping, geothermic energy control, oil and gas characterization and extraction process control (see, [0001]-[0002]). Further, Fig. 1 shows a typical SAGD installation 10. A tar sand vein 12 runs underground. Typically, a tar sand vein is located at depths ranging from 200 feet to 1500 feet below the surface 14. An impermeable cap rock 16 (i.e., high density rock) or other overburden exists immediately above the tar sand vein. To extract heavy oil, the SAGD installation typically includes two main wells, namely an injection well and a production well. The injection well 18 is vertically drilled through the cap rock 16 and once it reaches the tar sands vein 12, is oriented horizontally to run within the tar sand vein 12 (see, [0045]-[0046]). Furthermore, Vincelette discloses the system illustrated in Fig. 16 can be used to perform the following: 1. Initial/periodic geological measurements, such as seismic surveys, core samples, LIDAR . . . 2. Real-time continuous well data logging, including temperature and pressure profiles in the injector, producer and observation wells;... 3. Real-time continuous operational data logging, including steam injected temperature, pressure, flow-rate and toe/heel ratio, as well as, producer flow-rate; 4. Real-time visualization and alarm reports, including those generated by operational parameters module 1610 and also deviations from actual chamber growth and performance from the ones predicted by models; 5. Generation of geological phases data bank; well layout scenarios, including retrofits; operational scenarios, such as steaming and extraction strategies; 6. Multiple dimension, such as 4D visualization with or without history revision to include latest information; geological model, including steam chamber and fluid pool growths; performance parameters resulting from scenarios, including instantaneous and cumulative extraction rates and steam-to-oil ratios and bitumen mobilization ratios. 7. Real-time geological model corrections based on in-well measurements and including steam chamber and fluid pool growth; 8. Studies of operational scenarios, via the SAGD simulator, based on actual well conditions; 9. Planning of wells layout, including retrofits, in association to operational scenarios before and during exploitation; 10. Upgradeability to include other field measurements, even in real-time; to change in well configurations, including multi-ports adjustable injector and/or producer; to process and manage auxiliary information such as ESP aging, field containment (see, [0261]-[0271]). Moreover, Vincelette discloses determination of geological parameters of the SAGD installation… obtain two geological parameters: the apparent porosity and the apparent bitumen mobilization energy; knowing the different geological phases composing the newly energized layer, we can calculate the dimension of this layer. Observation wells can be used to monitor the energy chamber growth and confirm the calculation; in that case, these measurements can be used to determine the layer dimension and the apparent geological properties can be used to determine more precisely the geological phases it contains and would globally give the same apparent resulting properties… For the geological modeling, real-time in-situ apparent porosities and bitumen mobilization energies can be combined to all other geological characterization measurements; these constitute a bank of global properties. A library of the individual geological properties of all geological phases potentially present can also be build (see, [0205], [0225], [0254]). In addition, Vincelette discloses mechanical properties of the rock usually vary slightly along the well and pressure stabilizes rapidly inside the zone (see, [0296]), In summary, Vincelette discloses periodic geological measurements, such as seismic surveys, core samples, properties of the rock (i.e., capturing high density rock mechanics), and performing real-time continuous well and operational data logging (i.e., during drilling). These measurements can be used to determine layer dimension and apparent geological properties can be used to determine more precisely the geological phases it contains, which corresponds to the limitation capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden, the high density rock mechanics providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties within the claim.
Further, Examiner note: per the Applicant’s Specification (paragraph 0007), “The drilling operation includes an injection operation at one or more injection points in the subterranean formation.” In the same way, Vincelette discloses the rate of energy supplied to the reservoir, as well as its longitudinal distribution, can also be regulated in real-time according to the thermal and pressure measurements in-situ. For example, the injector well could be provided with several steam injection points spaced apart along its length. The injection points are regulated by automatic valves along it such that each injection point can be set independently to deliver a desired amount of steam. The in-situ measurements discussed earlier, namely the temperature and/or pressure measurements can be processed to derive a steam injection profile, along the length of the injector well such that the energy chamber radius or growth rate is longitudinally (with relation to the longitudinal axis of the injector well) generally uniform. Such uniform growth rate can be accomplished irrespective of geological differences in the underground. For instance, the geological parameters of the subterranean reservoir may vary along the length of injector well… Real-time dynamic computation on the basis of pressure and temperature profiles in the pressurized zone (updated at the appropriate time interval), enables to determining where the cracks are created and where the fluid went, and to adjust fluid injection and pressurization accordingly to reach ultimate rock pressure at the strongest side before the cracks created in the weakest portion reach too far. This real-time feedback loop permits obtaining much more uniformly cracked zone in term of permeability, so as to mobilize a higher fraction of the gas trapped in the reservoir (see, [0158], [0197], [0297]-[0298]). Therefore, Vincelette meets the scope of broadly claimed limitation as disclosed above.
Furthermore, Vincelette discloses steps of a process for monitoring the operation of the SAGD installation for steam-breakthrough conditions… The process is illustrated best by the flowchart at FIG. 11. At step 1100 the pressure in the steam chamber is read. As indicated previously, the pressure can be measured by a pressure sensor in anyone of the observation wells 50. At the next step 1102 the pressure is read from a pressure sensor 42a . . . n in the production well. The pressure would typically be read from the first pressure sensor relative to a reference point, say the heel. The pressure readings are compared at 1104. If the pressure is below a certain minimal value, indicating that the weight of the liquid head above the production well 20 is too low for a continued operation without undue stream-breakthrough risk, then an alarm is triggered, at step 1106. In addition to the alarm or alternatively to triggering the alarm corrective actions can be initiated, such as discussed earlier. If the pressure difference assessed at step 1104 is within acceptable limits, the processing continues at step 1108 where the pressure sensor index is incremented. This in effect sets the next iteration of the pressure monitoring to be run in connection with the following pressure sensor in the sensor array 40. The process is therefore repeated with every pressure sensor 42a . . . n, therefore scanning the entire length of the horizontal run of the production well 20 for localized pressure drops signaling the possibility of steam-breakthrough conditions (see, [0022], [0243]-[0245]). Further, Vincelette discloses the data collected by the data acquisition module 402 is processed to perform a monitoring of the SAGD installation which can be used to regulate operational parameters of the SAGD installation (see, [0046], [0207]), which corresponds to the limitation spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation within the claim.
In addition, Chin also discloses determining the optimal safe steam injection pressure for enhanced oil recovery techniques…In step 100, a reservoir simulation model is constructed. The reservoir simulation model is used to predict the flow of fluids, such as oil, water and/or gas, through the subterranean formation. In step 102, a geomechanical model is constructed. Geomechanical modeling accounts for rock deformation due to pore pressure and temperature changes resulting from production and fluid injection. Furthermore, the geomechanical model simulates the rock deformation and failure in the modeled domain, including the overburden region, caprock, reservoir, and the underburden region. In step 104, the reservoir simulation and the geomechanical models for performing a parametric simulation run are coupled together. Several methods for coupling the reservoir simulation and geomechanical models have been developed. For example, models can be one-way coupled, fully-coupled, or iteratively coupled…For a given parametric case with a steam injection pressure, geological setting, and pad locations, the reservoir simulation model generates the pressure front and the temperature front as a function of time. The geomechanical model uses the pressure front and the temperature front as the input and also shares the same geological setting and the pad location as the reservoir simulation model to generate distributions of stress, strain, plastic strain, and displacement in the modeled regime that includes overburden, caprock, reservoir, and underburden….In step 106, a plurality of parametric simulation runs are conducted using the coupled reservoir simulation-geomechanical model built in step 104. During this parametric study, each parametric simulation run corresponds to a specific set of numerical values of physical parameters. These physical parameters for the steam-assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) process, for example, include, but are not limited to: reservoir depth, reservoir thickness, steam injection pressure, steam injector depth, pressure and temperature fronts, geometric descriptions of geological settings, and pad locations. In step 108, the equivalent plastic strain distribution in the caprock is calculated from the distribution of plastic strain tensor obtained in step 104 for each parametric simulation run (see, [0012]-[0019]). Thus, the combination of Vincelette and Chin meets the scope of broadly claimed limitation as currently presented.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., neither reference discloses dynamically adjusting maximum operating pressure on a spatial basis for different injection location, nor do they disclose temporally revising such pressure limits based upon newly acquired drilling-derived geomechanical data collected over the life of a field) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In response to the Applicant’s argument that “the Examiner’s proposed combination of Vincelette and Chin lacks the requisite articulated reasoning with rational underpinning needed to support a conclusion of obviousness.” Examiner respectfully disagrees because the method of recovering hydrocarbon from a subterranean formation by obtaining geomechanical model of the formation and measuring geological features based on, such as seismic surveys, core samples, properties of rocks, and performing real-time continuous well and operational data logging provided in Vincelette is further enhanced by the method of determining an integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation based on updated geomechanical model as disclosed by Chin. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of Vincelette and Chin in order to measuring geological characteristics and determine safe steam injection pressure for enhanced oil recovery operations (see, Vincelette [0254], and Chin, [0002]). Thus, the combination of Vincelette and Chin meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-3, 7-9, 13, 15, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The representative claim 1 recites:
A method for recovering hydrocarbons from a subterranean formation, the method comprising:
obtaining an initial geomechanical model of the subterranean formation including geological and geomechanical properties of a caprock;
capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden, the high density rock mechanics data providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties;
generating an updated geomechanical model of the subterranean formation by recalibrating the initial model with the caprock mechanical properties;
determining an integrity of the caprock at the subterranean formation based on the updated geomechanical model;
spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation; and
updating at least one operating parameter of the hydrocarbon production based on the integrity of the caprock at the subterranean formation.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements”.
Under step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claims are considered to be in a statutory category (process).
Under Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitation that fall into/recite abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter that, when recited as such in a claim limitation, covers mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) and/or mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
Next, under Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional limitations in the claim are only: capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden, the high density rock mechanics data providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties; and spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation.
The limitation “a capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden, the high density rock mechanics data providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties” is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., gathering or collecting data during drilling) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic sensors and/or gathering means.
The limitation “spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation” is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., hydrocarbon recovery technology) such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic hydrocarbon recovery method.
Finally, under Step 2B, we consider whether the additional elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as noted above, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic gathering data and generic hydrocarbon recovery method). Further, the additional elements are conventional in the art, as evidenced by the art of record (see, Vincelette et al. 2011/0229071 (hereinafter, Vincelette), ([0045], [0261]-[0271]) and Chin et al. US 2012/0203524 et al. (hereinafter, Chin), ([0003]-[0004]). Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 3, 7, 9, 15, 18, and 19, add further details of the identified abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2, recites additional element of “wherein the high resolution geomechanical data is captured continuously over a duration of the drilling operation at a plurality of capture times.” However, this limitation is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., gathering or collecting data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic sensors and/or gathering means. Further, the additional element is conventional in the art, as evidenced by the art of record (see, Vincelette, ([0045], [0261]-[0271]) and Chin ([0003]-[0004]). Therefore, claim 2 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 8, recites additional element of “wherein the set of physical properties includes one or more of mechanical properties, poroelastic properties, formation pore pressure, orientation of at least one principal stress, and magnitude of at least one principal stress.” However, this limitation is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., physical properties) such that it amounts no more than mere physical properties includes one or more of mechanical properties. Further, the additional element is conventional in the art, as evidenced by the art of record (see, Vincelette, ([0261]-[0271]) and Chin ([0003]-[0004]). Therefore, claim 8 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 20, recites additional element of “wherein the high resolution geomechanical data is captured without ceasing the at least one drilling operation.” However, this limitation is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., gathering or collecting data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic sensors and/or gathering means. Further, the additional element is conventional in the art, as evidenced by the art of record (see, Vincelette, ([0261]-[0271]) and Chin ([0003]-[0004]). Therefore, claim 20 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 21, recites additional element of “wherein the drilling operation comprises drilling a well selected from the group consisting of an exploration well, a delineation well, a development well, an observation well, and an infill well.” However, this limitation is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., drilling operations) such that it amounts no more than mere kinds of drilling operations. Further, the additional element is conventional in the art, as evidenced by the art of record (see, Vincelette, ([0218], [0225]) and Chin ([0003]-[0004], [0021]). Therefore, claim 21 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 22 and 23, the claims are rejected with the same rationale as in claim 21 as explained above.
Independent claims 13 and 17, the claims are rejected with the same rationale as in claim 1 as explained above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 2, 3, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
10. Claims 2, 3, and 20 recite the limitation “… the high resolution geomechanical data….” However, The claims do not include any earlier recitation or limitation of a “the high resolution geomechanical data” and as a result, it is not clear what element the description “the high resolution geomechanical data” refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
For examination purpose, Examiner interprets the above limitations as, high density rock mechanics data. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-3, 7-9, 13, 15, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincelette et al. 2011/0229071 (hereinafter, Vincelette).
in view of Chin et al. US 2012/0203524 et al. (hereinafter, Chin).
13. Regarding claim 1, Vincelette discloses a method for recovering hydrocarbons from a subterranean formation, the method comprising:
obtaining an initial geomechanical model of the subterranean formation including geological and geomechaical properties of a caprock ([0001], [0045]-[0046]: Fig. 1 shows a typical SAGD installation 10. A tar sand vein 12 runs underground. Typically, a tar sand vein is located at depths ranging from 200 feet to 1500 feet below the surface 14. An impermeable cap rock 16 or other overburden exists immediately above the tar sand vein. To extract heavy oil, the SAGD installation typically includes two main wells, namely an injection well and a production well. The injection well 18 is vertically drilled through the cap rock 16 and once it reaches the tar sands vein 12, is oriented horizontally to run within the tar sand vein 12….[Further], [0176]: a model of the subterranean formation is generated. The model is a collection of data that normally resides in the machine readable storage 502. The data is a three dimensional representation (in any suitable format) of the subterranean formation, or a sub-structure thereof, subdivided in discrete areas. The collected temperature and/pressure values are assigned to the various discrete areas. Accordingly, the three-dimensional model of the subterranean formation depicts temperature and/or pressure variations in the underground fluid from one discrete area to another….[Furthermore], [0254]: The proposed approach enables a wide range of new information that serves for daily operation and also to better understand the reservoir characteristics and behavior. In consequence, it can serve as a base for an expert system continuously updating reservoir characteristic, on which simulation can be run and strategies tested for wells layout and operative scenarios. By integrating it with daily operation, this expert system can also manage the alarms and feed-back control automated operations. Integrating the two aspects, it is possible to develop or refine the geological model to take into account daily performances and also develop a platform that can display the process full life cycle (past and future as expected) to enable global optimization…For the geological modeling, real-time in-situ apparent porosities and bitumen mobilization energies can be combined to all other geological characterization measurements, these constitute a bank of global properties. A library of the individual geological properties of all geological phases potentially present can also be build. Then standard combination optimization algorithms can be used to determine the most representative geological phases repartition in the geological model matching the ensemble of the measured properties bank (see also, [0157]-[0158], [0267]);
capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling through overburden, the high density rock mechanics data providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties ([0001]-[0002]: deriving operational parameters and/or geological parameters of a subterranean formation such as an installation for extracting a hydrocarbon based fluid from a subterranean reservoir. More specifically, the techniques are implemented by measuring temperature and/or pressure at a multiplicity of locations in a well located in the subterranean reservoir…application of the invention include geological and mining survey, water tables mapping, water tables control, geothermal mapping, geothermic energy control, oil and gas characterization and extraction process control…[Further], [0045]-[0046]: Fig. 1 shows a typical SAGD installation 10. A tar sand vein 12 runs underground. Typically, a tar sand vein is located at depths ranging from 200 feet to 1500 feet below the surface 14. An impermeable cap rock 16 or other overburden exists immediately above the tar sand vein. To extract heavy oil, the SAGD installation typically includes two main wells, namely an injection well and a production well. The injection well 18 is vertically drilled through the cap rock 16 and once it reaches the tar sands vein 12, is oriented horizontally to run within the tar sand vein 12… [Furthermore], [0261]-[0271]: the system illustrated in Fig. 16 can be used to perform the following: 1. Initial/periodic geological measurements, such as seismic surveys, core samples, LIDAR . . . 2. Real-time continuous well data logging, including temperature and pressure profiles in the injector, producer and observation wells;... 3. Real-time continuous operational data logging, including steam injected temperature, pressure, flow-rate and toe/heel ratio, as well as, producer flow-rate; 4. Real-time visualization and alarm reports, including those generated by operational parameters module 1610 and also deviations from actual chamber growth and performance from the ones predicted by models; 5. Generation of geological phases data bank; well layout scenarios, including retrofits; operational scenarios, such as steaming and extraction strategies; 6. Multiple dimension, such as 4D visualization with or without history revision to include latest information; geological model, including steam chamber and fluid pool growths; performance parameters resulting from scenarios, including instantaneous and cumulative extraction rates and steam-to-oil ratios and bitumen mobilization ratios. 7. Real-time geological model corrections based on in-well measurements and including steam chamber and fluid pool growth; 8. Studies of operational scenarios, via the SAGD simulator, based on actual well conditions; 9. Planning of wells layout, including retrofits, in association to operational scenarios before and during exploitation; 10. Upgradeability to include other field measurements, even in real-time; to change in well configurations, including multi-ports adjustable injector and/or producer; to process and manage auxiliary information such as ESP aging, field containment… [0205], [0225], [0254]: determination of geological parameters of the SAGD installation… obtain two geological parameters: the apparent porosity and the apparent bitumen mobilization energy; knowing the different geological phases composing the newly energized layer, we can calculate the dimension of this layer. Observation wells can be used to monitor the energy chamber growth and confirm the calculation; in that case, these measurements can be used to determine the layer dimension and the apparent geological properties can be used to determine more precisely the geological phases it contains and would globally give the same apparent resulting properties… For the geological modeling, real-time in-situ apparent porosities and bitumen mobilization energies can be combined to all other geological characterization measurements; these constitute a bank of global properties. A library of the individual geological properties of all geological phases potentially present can also be build… [0296]: mechanical properties of the rock usually vary slightly along the well and pressure stabilizes rapidly inside the zone….(see also, [0147], [0157]-[0158], Fig. 16)); Examiner interpreters an impermeable cap rock 16 is equivalent to high density rock within the claim;
generating an updated geomechanical model of the subterranean formation ([0176], [0202], [0254], [0296]-[0303]);
determining an integrity of the caprock at the subterranean formation ([0202]-[0207], [0297]);
spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation ([0022], [0243]-[0245]: illustrating steps of a process
for monitoring the operation of the SAGD installation for steam-breakthrough conditions… The process is illustrated best by the flowchart at FIG. 11. At step 1100 the pressure in the steam chamber is read. As indicated previously, the pressure can be measured by a pressure sensor in anyone of the observation wells 50. At the next step 1102 the pressure is read from a pressure sensor 42a . . . n in the production well. The pressure would typically be read from the first pressure sensor relative to a reference point, say the heel. The pressure readings are compared at 1104. If the pressure is below a certain minimal value, indicating that the weight of the liquid head above the production well 20 is too low for a continued operation without undue stream-breakthrough risk, then an alarm is triggered, at step 1106. In addition to the alarm or alternatively to triggering the alarm corrective actions can be initiated, such as discussed earlier. If the pressure difference assessed at step 1104 is within acceptable limits, the processing continues at step 1108 where the pressure sensor index is incremented. This in effect sets the next iteration of the pressure monitoring to be run in connection with the following pressure sensor in the sensor array 40. The process is therefore repeated with every pressure sensor 42a . . . n, therefore scanning the entire length of the horizontal run of the production well 20 for localized pressure drops signaling the possibility of steam-breakthrough conditions... [Further], [0207]: the data collected by the data acquisition module 402 is processed to perform a monitoring of the SAGD installation which can be used to regulate operational parameters of the SAGD installation. (see also [0046], [0253]-[0254]); and
updating at least one operating parameter of hydrocarbon production based on the integrity of the caprock at the subterranean formation ([0202]-[0207], [0254], Fig. 1).
Vincelette does not disclose:
generating an updated geomechanical model of the subterranean formation by recalibrating the initial model with the caprock mechanical properties; and determining an integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation based on the updated geomechanical model.
However, Chin discloses:
generating an updated geomechanical model of the subterranean formation by recalibrating the initial model with the caprock mechanical properties ([0007], [0015], [0017], [0020], Fig. 1);
determining an integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation based on the updated geomechanical model ([0007], [0018]-[0022], Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vincelette to use generating an updated geomechanical model of the subterranean formation by recalibrating the initial model with the caprock mechanical properties; and determining an integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation based on the updated geomechanical model as taught by Chin. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine safe steam injection pressure for enhanced oil recovery operations (Chin, [0002]).
14. Regarding claim 2, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the high resolution geomechanical data is captured continuously over a duration of the drilling operation at a plurality of capture times ([0158], [0173], [0261]-[0263]).
15. Regarding claim 3, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 2, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses capture high resolution geomechanical data ([0157]- [0158]).
Vincelette does not disclose:
wherein the updated geomechanical model is recalibrated continuously at each of the plurality of capture times with the geomechanical data.
However, Chin discloses:
wherein the updated geomechanical model is recalibrated continuously at each of the plurality of capture times with the geomechanical data ([0007], [0015], [0020]-[0021], Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vincelette to use wherein the updated geomechanical model is recalibrated continuously at each of the plurality of capture times with the geomechanical data as taught by Chin. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine safe steam injection pressure for enhanced oil recovery operations (Chin, [0002]).
16. Regarding claim 7, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the initial geomechanical model relates a set of physical properties of the subterranean formation ([0176], [0202]-[0207], [0254], [0276]).
17. Regarding claim 8, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 7, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the set of physical properties includes one or more of mechanical properties, poroelastic properties, formation pore pressure, orientation of at least one principal stress, and magnitude of at least one principal stress ([0254], [0296]).
18. Regarding claim 9, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 7, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the updated geomechanical model dynamically models changing stress and mechanical properties of the caprock over a duration of the drilling operation ([0176], [0202]-[0207], [0254], [0296]-[0303], Fig. 1). See also Chin ([0007], [0015], [0020]-[0021], Fig. 1).
19. Regarding claim 13, Vincelette discloses a system for recovering hydrocarbons from a subterranean formation, the system comprising:
a drilling system executing at least one drilling operation at the subterranean formation (Fig. 1);
a measurement system deployed at the subterranean formation and including at least one sensor, the measurement system continuously capturing high density rock mechanics data during drilling the at least one drilling operation, said high density rock mechanics data collected while drilling through the overburden and caprock said high density rock mechanics data being collected during drilling through overburden providing insight into vertical variability of the caprock mechanical properties ([0001]-[0002]: deriving operational parameters and/or geological parameters of a subterranean formation such as an installation for extracting a hydrocarbon based fluid from a subterranean reservoir. More specifically, the techniques are implemented by measuring temperature and/or pressure at a multiplicity of locations in a well located in the subterranean reservoir…application of the invention include geological and mining survey, water tables mapping, water tables control, geothermal mapping, geothermic energy control, oil and gas characterization and extraction process control… [0045]-[0046], : Fig. 1 shows a typical SAGD installation 10. A tar sand vein 12 runs underground. Typically, a tar sand vein is located at depths ranging from 200 feet to 1500 feet below the surface 14. An impermeable cap rock 16 or other overburden exists immediately above the tar sand vein. To extract heavy oil, the SAGD installation typically includes two main wells, namely an injection well and a production well. The injection well 18 is vertically drilled through the cap rock 16 and once it reaches the tar sands vein 12, is oriented horizontally to run within the tar sand vein 12… [Further], [0147], [0157]-[0158]: the temperature and the pressure sensors may not be co-located. For example the sensor arrays 36, 40 and 1800 may be constructed such that the temperature and the pressure sensors alternate with one another, such as for example each temperature sensor is followed by a pressure sensor, a pair of consecutive temperature sensors are followed by a pressure sensor, etc. The number and the spacing between the sensing pairs 38a . . . n, 42a . . . n may vary. In the example shown, the spacing between the sensing pairs 38a . . . n, 42a . . . n is constant but this may be changed to provide more or less measurement resolution in certain areas. For example, if it is desired to read the temperature and pressure with a higher resolution near the heel of the injector well 18, the density of the sensing pairs 38a . . . n can be increased in that area …[Furthermore], [0261]-[0271]: the system illustrated in Fig. 16 can be used to perform the following: 1. Initial/periodic geological measurements, such as seismic surveys, core samples, LIDAR . . . 2. Real-time continuous well data logging, including temperature and pressure profiles in the injector, producer and observation wells;... 3. Real-time continuous operational data logging, including steam injected temperature, pressure, flow-rate and toe/heel ratio, as well as, producer flow-rate; 4. Real-time visualization and alarm reports, including those generated by operational parameters module 1610 and also deviations from actual chamber growth and performance from the ones predicted by models; 5. Generation of geological phases data bank; well layout scenarios, including retrofits; operational scenarios, such as steaming and extraction strategies; 6. Multiple dimension, such as 4D visualization with or without history revision to include latest information; geological model, including steam chamber and fluid pool growths; performance parameters resulting from scenarios, including instantaneous and cumulative extraction rates and steam-to-oil ratios and bitumen mobilization ratios. 7. Real-time geological model corrections based on in-well measurements and including steam chamber and fluid pool growth; 8. Studies of operational scenarios, via the SAGD simulator, based on actual well conditions; 9. Planning of wells layout, including retrofits, in association to operational scenarios before and during exploitation; 10. Upgradeability to include other field measurements, even in real-time; to change in well configurations, including multi-ports adjustable injector and/or producer; to process and manage auxiliary information such as ESP aging, field containment… [0205], [0225], [0254]: determination of geological parameters of the SAGD installation… obtain two geological parameters: the apparent porosity and the apparent bitumen mobilization energy; knowing the different geological phases composing the newly energized layer, we can calculate the dimension of this layer. Observation wells can be used to monitor the energy chamber growth and confirm the calculation; in that case, these measurements can be used to determine the layer dimension and the apparent geological properties can be used to determine more precisely the geological phases it contains and would globally give the same apparent resulting properties… For the geological modeling, real-time in-situ apparent porosities and bitumen mobilization energies can be combined to all other geological characterization measurements; these constitute a bank of global properties. A library of the individual geological properties of all geological phases potentially present can also be build… [0296]: mechanical properties of the rock usually vary slightly along the well and pressure stabilizes rapidly inside the zone….(see also, [0147], [0157]-[0158], Fig. 16)); Examiner interpreters an impermeable cap rock 16 is equivalent to high density rock within the claim;
a measurement system configured dynamically [update] a geomechanical model of the subterranean formation as the high resolution geomechanical data is continuously captured during the at least one drilling operation ([0157]-[0158], [0176], [0202]-[0207], [0254], [0296]-[0303]),
the measurement system dynamically adjusting at least one operating parameter based on an integrity of caprock of the subterranean formation ([0202]-[0207], [0254], [0276], Fig. 1),
the integrity of the caprock determined based on the geomechanical model high density rock mechanics data captured during drilling through the overburden ([0157]-[0158], [0202]-[0207], [0254], [0297], Fig. 1); and
spatially and temporally setting maximum injection operating pressure for a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) system for producing hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation ([0045]-[0046], [0207], [0243]-[0245], Fig. 11).
Vincelette does not disclose:
dynamically recalibrating a geomechanical model of the subterranean formation, and the integrity of caprock determined based on the geomechanical model updated.
However, Chin discloses:
dynamically recalibrate a geomechanical model of the subterranean formation ([0007], [0015], [0017], [0020], Fig. 1); and
the integrity of caprock determined based on the geomechanical model having been updated ([0007], [0018]-[0022], Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vincelette to use dynamically recalibrate a geomechanical model of the subterranean formation, and the integrity of caprock determined based on the geomechanical model having been updated as taught by Chin. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine safe steam injection pressure for enhanced oil recovery operations (Chin, [0002]).
20. Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 13.
21. Regarding claim 15, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 13, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the at least one operating parameter is adjusted locally at one or more locations based on the integrity of the caprock at each of the one or more locations ([0008], [0045]-[0046], [0185]-[0189], [0202], [0233], Fig. 1).
22. Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 15.
23. Regarding claim 18, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 17, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses adjusting one or more operating parameters of hydrocarbon production based on the integrity of caprock at the subterranean formation
([0008], [0045]-[0046], [0185]-[0189], [0202], [0233], Fig. 1).
24. Regarding claim 20, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 17, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the high resolution geomechanical data is captured without ceasing the at least one drilling operation ([0158], [0197], [0264], [0292], [0297], Fig. 1).
25. Regarding claim 21, Vincelette in view of Chin disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Vincelette further discloses wherein the drilling operation comprises drilling a well selected from the group consisting of an exploration well, a delineation well, a development well, an observation well, and an infill well ([0225], [0254]: discloses an observation well).
26. Regarding claims 22 and 23, the claims are rejected with the same rationale as in claim 21.
Conclusion
27. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, and/or paragraphs, and/or pages in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/Eyob Hagos/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857