DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 21 has been amended.
Claims 26 and 29 have been cancelled.
Claims 38-39 have been added.
Claims 1-25, 27-28, and 30-39 are currently pending.
The official correspondence below is an after non-final on an RCE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, 22-23, 32-35, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava (US 20160216711 A1) in view of Obaidi (US 20170090484 A1) in further view of Gil (US 20190161190 A1) and Gupta (US 20170032315 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Srivastava discloses, at least one computing system (Srivastava: [0016] UAV platform 230) operable by a UAV delivery service provider (Srivastava: [0037] user device 210 and the pool of UAVs 220 may be owned and/or operated by an emergency service provider (e.g., a fire station, a police station, a hazardous materials handler, etc.), a delivery company; [0066] the mission instructions may include information instructing the identified UAVs 220 to deliver packages (e.g., food, medicine, etc.) to a particular region (e.g., to survivors of a natural disaster than cannot be reached by emergency personnel)), having a non-transient memory with executable instructions (Srivastava: [0029] Memory 330 may include a random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), and/or another type of dynamic or static storage device (e.g., a flash memory, a magnetic memory, an optical memory, etc.) that stores information and/or instructions for use by processor 320), the executable instructions including a flight management system (Srivastava: [0041] UAV platform 230 may determine that the flight path; [0021] UAV platform 230 may generate mission plan instructions for the most efficient mission plan); a first UAV zone (Srivastava: [ABS] one or more first locations); a second UAV zone (Srivastava: [ABS] a second location), the first and the second UAV zones being operable by the UAV delivery service provider (Srivastava: [ABS] the identified UAVs to travel from the one or more first locations to the second location, via the flight path, and to perform the mission operations; [0037]; [0066]); a database storing details of a flight route network comprising the first and second UAV zones (Srivastava: [0023] Data storage 235 may include one or more storage devices that store information in one or more data structures, such as databases, tables, lists, trees, etc. In some implementations, data storage 235 may store information, such as UAV account information (e.g., serial numbers, model numbers, user names, etc. associated with UAVs 220); capability information associated with UAVs 220 (e.g., thrust, battery life, etc. associated with UAVs 220); weather information associated with a geographical region (e.g., precipitation amounts, wind conditions, etc.); air traffic information associated with the geographical region (e.g., commercial air traffic, other UAVs 220, etc.); obstacle information (e.g., buildings, mountains, towers etc.) associated with the geographical region; regulatory information (e.g., no-fly zones, government buildings, etc.) associated with the geographical region; historical information (e.g., former flight paths, former weather conditions, etc.) associated with the geographical region; etc.), a plurality of nodes (Srivastava: [0057] one or more waypoints), a plurality of route sections connecting the UAV zones and the nodes to form the flight route network (Srivastava: [0057] UAV platform 230 may determine one or more waypoints along the flight path for stopping and recharging or refueling; [0065] instructs the identified UAVs 220 to fly forty-five degrees northeast for ten kilometers and at an altitude of five-hundred meters, then fly three-hundred and fifteen degrees northwest for ten kilometers and at an altitude of four-hundred meters), the route sections having been pre-approved by a regulatory body (Srivastava: [0008] Such proposals for UAVs may need to meet various requirements, such as federal and state regulatory approval, public safety ...; [0061] UAV platform 230 may further determine that the most efficient mission plan travels over a restricted facility based on the regulatory information ... UAV platform 230 may change the most efficient mission plan to avoid flying over the restricted facility); wherein the computing system is operable with said instructions: a) to provide an article delivery portal (Srivastava: [0040] determine the required UAV capabilities based on physical requirements (e.g., payload capacity …; [0066] information instructing the identified UAVs 220 to deliver packages (e.g., food, medicine, etc.) to a particular region (e.g., to survivors of a natural disaster than cannot be reached by emergency personnel)), to receive at the portal, from a customer of the UAV delivery service provider, at least one delivery request to deliver at least one article from the first UAV zone to the second UAV zone (Srivastava: [ABS] determines required capabilities and constraints for the mission based on the request; [0010] As further shown in FIG. 1A, user A may instruct user device A to generate a request for a mission that includes traversal of a flight path (e.g., from location A to location B) and performance of mission operations by multiple UAVs in the pool of UAVs, and to provide the request to the UAV platform); b) to determine if the first UAV zone is available for the at least one delivery request (Srivastava: see at least [FIG. 1A-B], [FIG. 5A-E], and [0011] the UAV platform may determine that the mission is constrained by the number of available UAVs in the pool, the locations of the UAVs in the pool, operational states of the available UAVs, costs associated with operating the available UAVs, the timing of the mission, the type of mission, etc.; [0039]); c) when the first UAV zone is available, to determine if a UAV is available at the first UAV zone (Srivastava: [FIG. 5B-C], [0082] FIGS. 5A-5E are diagrams of an example 500 relating to example process 400 shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B. Assume that user device 210 (e.g., a tablet 210) is associated with a user (e.g., a firefighter) that is located at an origination location; [0043] determine availability of UAVs 220, in a pool of UAVs 220), and when a UAV is available at the first UAV zone, to assign the UAV to the delivery request and designate the UAV as an assigned UAV (Srivastava: [0049] UAV platform 230 may identify UAVs 220, from UAVs 220 in the pool, when the identified UAVs 220 are capable of performing the mission operations ... UAV platform 230 may identify multiple UAVs 220, from UAVs 220 in the pool, and may select, as the identified UAVs 220, ones of the multiple UAVs 220 that are capable of traversing the flight path and performing the mission operations; ¶'s [0082-0090] describe figure 5 and selecting available UAV's from a pool of available UAV's to perform specific tasks and dispatching accordingly); d) when the first UAV zone is not available (Srivastava: [0043] assume that UAV platform 230 is associated with a pool of ten UAVs 220, and that two UAVs 220 in the pool are currently being used for other missions and are unavailable. Further, assume that the two unavailable UAVs 220 are the only UAVs 220 in the pool with radiation sensors. In such an example, UAV platform 230 may determine that the two UAVs 220 are unavailable and that the pool of UAVs 220 does not include an available UAV 220 with a radiation sensor), f) to determine a flight path for the assigned UAV, from the first UAV zone to the second UAV zone, at least part of the flight path being predetermined (Srivastava: [0012] The UAV platform may calculate a most efficient mission plan based on the identified UAVs, the required UAV capabilities, and/or the constraints. The most efficient mission plan may schedule the identified UAVs for performance of the mission in such a manner that the cost is minimized, the amount of information retrieved by the UAVs is maximized, the UAVs are utilized in an efficient manner, etc. For example, the UAV platform may determine that most efficient mission plan includes a particular number of UAVs (e.g., with particular capabilities) traversing a particular flight path and performing particular operations of the mission; [0015] Systems and/or methods described herein may provide a platform that enables UAVs to safely traverse flight paths from origination locations to destination locations. The systems and/or methods may calculate a most efficient mission plan for UAVs; [0052] linear programming techniques may calculate the most efficient flight path and/or the most efficient mission operations); g) to communicate the UAV flight path to the assigned UAV (Srivastava: [FIG. 1B(see "mission plan instructions")]).
Srivastava does not explicitly disclose the contingent limitations, to determine if the first UAV zone will be available within a predetermined duration of time, and if so, determine if a UAV will be available at the first UAV zone within the predetermined duration of time and if so, to assign the UAV, when available, to the delivery request and designate the UAV as the assigned UAV; e) to determine if the second UAV zone is available for the at least one delivery request within a predetermined time period around an expected arrival time of the assigned UAV, and if the second UAV zone is available, reserve the second UAV zone.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Obaidi discloses, to determine if the first UAV zone will be available within a predetermined duration of time, and if so, determine if a UAV will be available at the first UAV zone within the predetermined duration of time and if so, to assign the UAV, when available, to the delivery request and designate the UAV as the assigned UAV; e) to determine if the second UAV zone is available for the at least one delivery request within a predetermined time period around an expected arrival time of the assigned UAV, and if the second UAV zone is available, reserve the second UAV zone (Obaidi: [0023] Remote servers 150A-150N can include a variety of servers that collect and manage a variety of information. As illustrated in FIG. 1, these remote servers can include an availability server 150A, a registration server 150B, and a location server 150N. Drone management engine 140 may submit a query to availability server 150A to determine which delivery drones 120A-120N are available for completing a delivery within a specified time window. The results of the query may then be used by drone management engine 140 for the coordination and scheduling of a package pick-up and delivery ... based on location, timing availability; [0025] A variety of codes can indicate the status. For example, “IR” may indicate in-route, “B” may indicate busy, “CS8” may indicate charging station eight, “A” may indicate available, or “U” may indicate unknown), for the benefit of providing quick personalized pick-up and delivery within smaller geographic regions.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method disclosed by Srivastava to include reservations taught by Obaidi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide quick personalized pick-up and delivery within smaller geographic regions.
Srivastava, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, to monitor the flight of the assigned UAV from the first UAV zone to the second UAV zone and the delivery of the article.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gil discloses, “[0432] a variety of types of messages can be provided to various electronic destination addresses in response completing or attempting pick-ups or deliveries. Such notifications/messages may include links or access to parcel information/data and/or the real time location of the parcel. The links or access to information/data sources may be used to provide real-time location information/data of the corresponding UAV computing entity 808. Such notifications/messages can be provided on a periodic or regular basis and/or in response to certain triggers/events; [0450] This type of information/data can be used to provide real time status updates for specific geographic areas”, for the benefit of convenience for parcel users (e.g., consignees) is also enhanced.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Srivastava to include updates taught by Gil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to convenience for parcel users (e.g., consignees) is also enhanced.
The examiner respectfully submits, Srivastava in view of Obaidi discloses, “if the second UAV zone is available, reserve the second UAV zone”.
However, should it be found that the prior art fails to disclose, if the second UAV zone is available, reserve the second UAV zone, in the same field of endeavor, Gupta discloses, see [0046-0048] for reserving a time and date, see [0051] for reserving delivery location, for the benefit of generating reservation information describing a position and an environment of the recipient platform, and providing the information to the delivery entity for security measures, such as authentication and authorization measures.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Srivastava to include reserving an available platform taught by Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to generate reservation information describing a position and an environment of the recipient platform, and providing the information to the delivery entity for security measures, such as authentication and authorization measures.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the delivery request includes at least: a UAV category request, a timeframe request, and article description (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 2, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the article description includes a weight and a set of dimensions of the article (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0037]; [0044]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 3, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the computing system is operable with the instructions to receive a response from the flight management system in response to the delivery request to convert the response into a customer update, and to communicate the update to the portal (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Srivastava also discloses, wherein at least one of the first and second UAV zones includes an enclosure, an opening in the enclosure, a closure for the opening and 4 lock for the closure, providing for controlled access to the UAV zone by the customer, the lock being connected to flight management system for control thereof, and wherein the flight management system only permits a UAV to enter each UAV zone when that zone is secured and free of obstructions (Srivastava: ) [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0008]; [0037]; [0066].
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the first UAV zone is operable with the computing system to provide for a takeoff of a UAV from the first UAV zone, and the second UAV zone is operable with the computing system to provide for a landing of the UAV in the second UAV zone (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the computing system is operable with the executable instructions to generate a unique identifier for the article, to communicate the unique identifier to the portal for access by the customer, and to provide an instruction to the customer via said portal to attach said unique identifier to the article (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0008]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 7, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the UAV delivery system includes at least one UAV; the at least one UAV has a sensor and a communications module; and the sensor and communications module are in communication with a processor and are operable with the processor to: a) read the unique identifier, b) generate a corresponding validation signal, and c) communicate the validation signal to the computing system (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the UAV has a label to identify the UAV (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the UAV has a display operable to display user-instructions to the customer, and the computing system is operable with the executable instructions to validate the validation signal and generate a corresponding result, to generate a set of user-instructions based on the result, and to display the set of user-instructions via the display for the customer (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the set of user-instructions includes at least one of: a) an instruction to reduce the weight of the article by a stated amount, b) an instruction to assign the article to the assigned UAV, and c) an instruction to position the assigned UAV on the first UAV zone (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the second UAV zone includes a landing identifier and the assigned UAV is operable with the computing system and flight management system to identify the landing identifier at least during an approach of the assigned UAV to the second UAV zone, and to land at the landing identifier (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0056]).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 12, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the second UAV zone includes a portable portion, and said portable portion includes the landing identifier (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0008]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the computing system is operable with the executable instructions to perform at least a landing at the second UAV zone (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 11, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the first UAV zone includes at least one sensor operable with the computing system to determine when the assigned UAV has been positioned on the UAV zone, and the computing system is operable to request a confirmation from the customer that the customer has readied the assigned UAV for takeoff (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the second UAV zone includes at least one sensor operable with the computing system to detect an approach and landing of the assigned UAV and to record a video of the approach and landing (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 16, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the assigned UAV includes at least one sensor operable with the computing system to detect an approach to and landing of the assigned UAV at the second UAV zone and to record a video of the approach and landing (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the assigned UAV is operable to engage at least one article and includes at least one sensor mountable to the article, and the sensor is operable with at least one of the computing system and the processor to sense at least one of: a) forces applied to the article, and b) acceleration of the article (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 18, and further, Srivastava also discloses, said computing system is operable with said executable instructions to perform at least one of: a) provide for the viewing of the forces and acceleration via the portal in at least one of: real-time, near real-time, and at custom time interval; b) record a time plot of the forces and acceleration and provide the time-plot for at least one of review and download via the portal; and c) identify a maximum force and a maximum acceleration in the forces and acceleration, respectively, and provide the maximum force and acceleration for at least one of review and download via the portal (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 19, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the computing system is operable to determine at least one safe range of the forces and acceleration, and to provide the range for at least one of: review, download, and analysis via the portal (Srivastava: [Fig. 1A-5E]; [ABS]; [0048]; [0037]; [0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 32, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Gil also discloses, the computer platform additionally includes at least one of a billing system, a ticketing system and ground control (Gil: [0336]).
REGARDING CLAIM 33, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 32, and further, Srivastava also discloses, including a plurality of different communication channels, optionally including Wi-Fi, cellular and satellite (Srivastava: [0025]).
REGARDING CLAIM 34, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the computer system is operable with said instructions, to check that the route does not exceed the capabilities of the assigned UAV, optionally including accounting for at least one of the weight of the article and available battery life for the UAV, and where required determining and providing route sections not in the database (Srivastava: [0051-0052]).
REGARDING CLAIM 35, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 34, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the computer system is operable with said instructions to adjust the route depending upon weather conditions, optionally including enhancing the effect of any tailwind and minimizing the effect of any headwind (Srivastava: [0058]).
REGARDING CLAIM 35, Srivastava discloses, at least one computing system (Srivastava: [0016] UAV platform 230) operable by a UAV delivery service provider (Srivastava: [0037] user device 210 and the pool of UAVs 220 may be owned and/or operated by an emergency service provider (e.g., a fire station, a police station, a hazardous materials handler, etc.), a delivery company; [0066] the mission instructions may include information instructing the identified UAVs 220 to deliver packages (e.g., food, medicine, etc.) to a particular region (e.g., to survivors of a natural disaster than cannot be reached by emergency personnel)), having a non-transient memory with executable instructions (Srivastava: [0029] Memory 330 may include a random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), and/or another type of dynamic or static storage device (e.g., a flash memory, a magnetic memory, an optical memory, etc.) that stores information and/or instructions for use by processor 320), the executable instructions including a flight management system (Srivastava: [0041] UAV platform 230 may determine that the flight path); a first UAV zone (Srivastava: [ABS] one or more first locations); a second UAV zone (Srivastava: [ABS] a second location), the first and the second UAV zones being operable by the UAV delivery service provider (Srivastava: [ABS] the identified UAVs to travel from the one or more first locations to the second location, via the flight path, and to perform the mission operations; [0037] user device 210 and the pool of UAVs 220 may be owned and/or operated by an emergency service provider (e.g., a fire station, a police station, a hazardous materials handler, etc.), a delivery company; [0066] the mission instructions may include information instructing the identified UAVs 220 to deliver packages (e.g., food, medicine, etc.) to a particular region (e.g., to survivors of a natural disaster than cannot be reached by emergency personnel)); a database storing details of a flight route network comprising the first and second UAV zones (Srivastava: [0023] one or more data structures, such as databases, tables, lists, trees, etc. ... weather information associated with a geographical region (e.g., precipitation amounts, wind conditions, etc.); air traffic information associated with the geographical region (e.g., commercial air traffic, other UAVs 220, etc.); obstacle information (e.g., buildings, mountains, towers etc.) associated with the geographical region; regulatory information (e.g., no-fly zones, government buildings, etc.) associated with the geographical region; historical information (e.g., former flight paths, former weather conditions, etc.) associated with the geographical region), a plurality of nodes (Srivastava: [0057] one or more waypoints), a plurality of route sections connecting the UAV zones and the nodes to form the flight route network (Srivastava: [0057] one or more waypoints along the flight path for stopping and recharging or refueling; [0065] instructs the identified UAVs 220 to fly forty-five degrees northeast for ten kilometers and at an altitude of five-hundred meters, then fly three-hundred and fifteen degrees northwest for ten kilometers and at an altitude of four-hundred meters); wherein the computing system is operable with said instructions: a) to provide an article delivery portal (Srivastava: [0040] determine the required UAV capabilities based on physical requirements (e.g., payload capacity …; [0066] information instructing the identified UAVs 220 to deliver packages (e.g., food, medicine, etc.) to a particular region (e.g., to survivors of a natural disaster than cannot be reached by emergency personnel)), to receive at the portal, from a customer of the UAV delivery service provider, at least one delivery request to deliver at least one article from the first UAV zone to the second UAV zone (Srivastava: [ABS] determines required capabilities and constraints for the mission based on the request; [0010] As further shown in FIG. 1A, user A may instruct user device A to generate a request for a mission that includes traversal of a flight path (e.g., from location A to location B) and performance of mission operations by multiple UAVs in the pool of UAVs, and to provide the request to the UAV platform); b) to assign the first UAV zone for the at least one delivery request, wherein the first UAV zone is available for the delivery request (Srivastava: [0011] determine that the mission is constrained by the number of available UAVs in the pool, the locations of the UAVs in the pool, operational states of the available UAVs, costs associated with operating the available UAVs, the timing of the mission, the type of mission, etc. In some implementations, the UAVs in the pool may be located at the origination location; [FIG. 5A-E], [0082] FIGS. 5A-5E are diagrams of an example 500 relating to example process 400 shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B. Assume that user device 210 (e.g., a tablet 210) is associated with a user (e.g., a firefighter) that is located at an origination location); c) to assign a UAV to the delivery request and to designate the UAV as an assigned UAV, wherein: the UAV is available at the first UAV zone, or the UAV is available at a selected duration of time, and to designate the UAV as the assigned UAV at the selected duration of time (Srivastava: [FIG. 5B-C], [0082] FIGS. 5A-5E are diagrams of an example 500 relating to example process 400 shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B. Assume that user device 210 (e.g., a tablet 210) is associated with a user (e.g., a firefighter) that is located at an origination location; [0043] determine availability of UAVs 220, in a pool of UAVs 220; [0049] UAV platform 230 may identify UAVs 220, from UAVs 220 in the pool, when the identified UAVs 220 are capable of performing the mission operations ... UAV platform 230 may identify multiple UAVs 220, from UAVs 220 in the pool, and may select, as the identified UAVs 220, ones of the multiple UAVs 220 that are capable of traversing the flight path and performing the mission operations; ¶'s [0082-0090] describe figure 5 and selecting available UAV's from a pool of available UAV's to perform specific tasks and dispatching accordingly); f) to generate and select a flight path for the assigned UAV, from the first UAV zone to the second UAV zone, at least part of the flight path being predetermined (Srivastava: [0012] The UAV platform may calculate a most efficient mission plan based on the identified UAVs, the required UAV capabilities, and/or the constraints. The most efficient mission plan may schedule the identified UAVs for performance of the mission in such a manner that the cost is minimized, the amount of information retrieved by the UAVs is maximized, the UAVs are utilized in an efficient manner, etc. For example, the UAV platform may determine that most efficient mission plan includes a particular number of UAVs (e.g., with particular capabilities) traversing a particular flight path and performing particular operations of the mission; [0015] Systems and/or methods described herein may provide a platform that enables UAVs to safely traverse flight paths from origination locations to destination locations. The systems and/or methods may calculate a most efficient mission plan for UAVs; [0052] linear programming techniques may calculate the most efficient flight path and/or the most efficient mission operations); g) to communicate the UAV flight path to the assigned UAV (Srivastava: [FIG. 1B(see "mission plan instructions")]).
Srivastava does not explicitly disclose the contingent limitations, reserve the second UAV zone for receipt of the assigned UAV, wherein the second UAV zone is available for the at least one delivery request within a predetermined time period around an expected arrival time of the assigned UAV.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Obaidi discloses, reserve the second UAV zone for receipt of the assigned UAV, wherein the second UAV zone is available for the at least one delivery request within a predetermined time period around an expected arrival time of the assigned UAV (Obaidi: [0015] scheduling coordinator can identify a delivery drone that meets the necessary requirements for the pick-up and delivery (e.g., battery power, range, availability, size, weight constraints, etc.); [0023-0026] Remote servers 150A-150N can include a variety of servers that collect and manage a variety of information. As illustrated in FIG. 1, these remote servers can include an availability server 150A, a registration server 150B, and a location server 150N. Drone management engine 140 may submit a query to availability server 150A to determine which delivery drones 120A-120N are available for completing a delivery within a specified time window. The results of the query may then be used by drone management engine 140 for the coordination and scheduling of a package pick-up and delivery ... based on location, timing availability ... A variety of codes can indicate the status; [0027] the delivery system to automatically schedule a pick-up and drop-off with the seller and buyer; [0036] high-level instructions or pick-up/drop-off destinations can be communicated to the drone via communication system; [0041] Drone application 565 may be used to register a user, confirm pick-up/drop-off locations and/or times, convey the current location of a delivery drone, provide real-time video or images from a delivery done, reschedule pick-up/drop-off times/locations, and the like; [0047] The request may include a variety of information such as user/account identifiers, pick-up/drop-off locations, desired time windows, information about the package being delivered, and the like. During determination operation 720, pick-up and drop-off locations are determined. This may be accomplished, for example, by parsing the request for package delivery, accessing real-time mobile device information, accessing pre-set pick-up/drop-off locations from a user account, and the like; [0051]), for the benefit of providing quick personalized pick-up and delivery within smaller geographic regions.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method disclosed by Srivastava to include reservations taught by Obaidi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide quick personalized pick-up and delivery within smaller geographic regions.
Srivastava, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, to monitor the flight of the assigned UAV from the first UAV zone to the second UAV zone and the delivery of the article.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gil discloses, “[0432] a variety of types of messages can be provided to various electronic destination addresses in response completing or attempting pick-ups or deliveries. Such notifications/messages may include links or access to parcel information/data and/or the real time location of the parcel. The links or access to information/data sources may be used to provide real-time location information/data of the corresponding UAV computing entity 808. Such notifications/messages can be provided on a periodic or regular basis and/or in response to certain triggers/events; [0450] This type of information/data can be used to provide real time status updates for specific geographic areas”, for the benefit of convenience for parcel users (e.g., consignees) is also enhanced.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Srivastava to include updates taught by Gil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to convenience for parcel users (e.g., consignees) is also enhanced.
The examiner respectfully submits, Srivastava in view of Obaidi discloses, “if the second UAV zone is available, reserve the second UAV zone”.
However, should it be found that the prior art fails to disclose, if the second UAV zone is available, reserve the second UAV zone, in the same field of endeavor, Gupta discloses, see [0046-0048] for reserving a time and date, see [0051] for reserving delivery location, for the benefit of generating reservation information describing a position and an environment of the recipient platform, and providing the information to the delivery entity for security measures, such as authentication and authorization measures.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Srivastava to include reserving an available platform taught by Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to generate reservation information describing a position and an environment of the recipient platform, and providing the information to the delivery entity for security measures, such as authentication and authorization measures.
Claim(s) 21-24, 27-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava (US 20160216711 A1) in view of Obaidi (US 20170090484 A1), Gil (US 20190161190 A1), and Gupta (US 20170032315 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Jarrell (US 9087451 B1).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Srivastava as modified, does not explicitly disclose, each route section has minimum and maximum altitudes and a lateral width, and wherein at least some of the route sections comprise two or more corridors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jarrell discloses, each route section has minimum and maximum altitudes (Jarrell: (Col. 2, Ln. 7-9); [FIG. 2(170-176)]) and a lateral width (Jarrell: (Col. 14, Ln. 29-34); [FIG. 2(170-176)]), and wherein at least some of the route sections comprise two or more corridors (Jarrell: [FIG. 2(170-176)]), for the benefit of reducing collisions between UAVs and improve safety relating to UAV operating conditions.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Srivastava to include corridors taught by Jarrell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce collisions between UAVs and improve safety relating to UAV operating conditions.
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Gil also discloses, each route section is defined by a center line and a cross section around the center line (Gil: [0317-0318]).
REGARDING CLAIM 23, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 22, and further, Gil also discloses, the cross-section is rectangular (Gil: [0317-0318]).
REGARDING CLAIM 27, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Jarrell also discloses, the corridors are spaced apart vertically and/or horizontally (Jarrell: [FIG. 2]).
REGARDING CLAIM 24, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 27, and further, Gil also discloses, the cross-section is circular or elliptical (Gil: [0317]; [0318]).
REGARDING CLAIM 28, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 27, and further, Jarrell also discloses, at least one corridor is designated for travel in one direction and at least one other corridor is designated for travel in an opposite direction (Jarrell: (Col. 16, Ln. 9-13)).
REGARDING CLAIM 30, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Jarrell also discloses, the altitudes are absolute altitudes relative to local terrain (Jarrell: (Col. 15, Ln. 66-67 – Col. 16, Ln. 1)).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava (US 20160216711 A1) in view of Obaidi (US 20170090484 A1), Gil (US 20190161190 A1), Gupta (US 20170032315 A1) and Jarrell (US 9087451 B1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Pokorny (US 20220309932 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 25, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Srivastava as modified, does not explicitly disclose, for at least some route sections, a portion of each route section is straight and a portion of each route section is curved.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pokorny discloses, for at least some route sections, a portion of each route section is straight and a portion of each route section is curved (Pokorny: [0022]), for the benefit of avoiding a collision or intersecting a position and time of a weather constraint.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Srivastava to include altering a route taught by Pokorny. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid a collision or intersecting a position and time of a weather constraint.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava (US 20160216711 A1) in view of Obaidi (US 20170090484 A1), Gil (US 20190161190 A1), Gupta (US 20170032315 A1) and Jarrell (US 9087451 B1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Klaus (US 10402646 B2).
REGARDING CLAIM 31, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Srivastava as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the altitudes are true altitudes relative to mean sea level.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Klaus discloses, the altitudes are true altitudes relative to mean sea level (Klaus: (98) As used herein, the terms “forward” flight or “horizontal” flight refer to flight in a direction substantially parallel to the ground (i.e., sea level)), for the benefit of vertical direction change from one altitude to another altitude (e.g., upward or downward, from a first point on land, on sea or in the air to a second point in the air, or vice versa) substantially normal to the surface of the Earth, or hovers (e.g., maintains a substantially constant altitude), with an insubstantial change in horizontal or lateral position over the surface of the Earth.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method disclosed by a modified Srivastava to include sea level vehicle elevation taught by Klaus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to change from one altitude to another altitude (e.g., upward or downward, from a first point on land, on sea or in the air to a second point in the air, or vice versa) substantially normal to the surface of the Earth, or hovers (e.g., maintains a substantially constant altitude), with an insubstantial change in horizontal or lateral position over the surface of the Earth.
Claim(s) 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava (US 20160216711 A1) in view of Obaidi (US 20170090484 A1), Gil (US 20190161190 A1), and Gupta (US 20170032315 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Boyd (US 10121117 B1).
REGARDING CLAIM 36, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 5, and further, Srivastava as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the computing system is operable with said instructions: to have the assigned UAV approach and land at the first UAV zone, only when the first UAV zone is secure and clear of all personnel; with the assigned UAV stationary at the first UAV zone, to permit access to the first UAV zone, for loading of an article to the assigned UAV; after loading the article to the assigned UAV, to permit the assigned UAV to depart after all personnel have left the first UAV zone and the first UAV zone has been secured; to permit the assigned UAV to land at the second UAV zone, only when the second UAV zone is secure and clear of all personnel; and after the assigned UAV has landed at the second UAV zone, to permit access to the second UAV zone, to retrieve the article.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Boyd discloses, the computing system is operable with said instructions: to have the assigned UAV approach and land at the first UAV zone, only when the first UAV zone is secure and clear of all personnel; with the assigned UAV stationary at the first UAV zone, to permit access to the first UAV zone, for loading of an article to the assigned UAV; after loading the article to the assigned UAV, to permit the assigned UAV to depart after all personnel have left the first UAV zone and the first UAV zone has been secured; to permit the assigned UAV to land at the second UAV zone, only when the second UAV zone is secure and clear of all personnel; and after the assigned UAV has landed at the second UAV zone, to permit access to the second UAV zone, to retrieve the article (Boyd: (Col. 5, Ln.56-60)), for the benefit of aborting or finding alternate delivery locations.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method disclosed by a modified Srivastava to include avoiding obstructions taught by Boyd. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to abort or find alternate delivery locations.
REGARDING CLAIM 37, Srivastava, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 36, and further, Srivastava also discloses, the computer system is operable with said instructions, at the first UAV zone, to permit access to personnel having permission from the customer, and at the second UAV zone and until the article is separated from the assigned UAV and removed from the second UAV zone, to permit only access to personnel having permission from the customer (Srivastava: [0010] an appropriate authority (e.g., a government agency)).
Alternate Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gil (US 20190161190 A1) in view of Obaidi (US 20170090484 A1) and in further view of Ubhi (US 20150379874 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Gil discloses, at least one computing system operable by a UAV delivery service provider (Gil: [0209]), having a non-transient memory with executable instructions, the executable instructions including a flight management system and a mission planner (Gil: [0166]); a first UAV zone; a second UAV zone, the first and the second UAV zones being operable by the UAV delivery service provider (Gil: [FIG. 24]; [FIG. 25]; [FIG. 32(610)]; [FIG. 36]; [FIG. 44]; [0345-0347, 0394] see first and secondary delivery points); a database storing details of a flight route network comprising the first and second UAV zones (Gil: [0254]; see all of [0315-0318] ... a geographic information/data database may include node data, waypoint records, street/flight/route segment records; [0370]; [0389]), a plurality of nodes, a plurality of route sections connecting the UAV zones and the nodes to form the flight route network (Gil: [0317]; [0318])), a) to provide an article delivery portal, to receive at the portal, from a customer of the UAV delivery service provider, at least one delivery request to deliver at least one article from the first UAV zone to the second UAV zone (Gil: [FIG. 50(4700)]; [0286]); b) to determine if the first UAV zone is available for the at least one delivery request (Gil: [0402-0405] see availability of first and second delivery points or location); f) to determine a flight path for the assigned UAV, from the first UAV zone to the second UAV zone, at least part of the flight path being predetermined (Gil: [0254]; see all of [0315-0318] ... a geographic information/data database may include node data, waypoint records, street/flight/route segment records; [0370]; [0389]); g) to communicate the UAV flight path to the assigned UAV (Gil: [0254]; see all of [0315-0318] ... a geographic information/data database may include node data, waypoint records, street/flight/route segment records; [0370]; [0389]); and h) to monitor the flight of the assigned UAV from the first UAV zone to the second UAV zone and the delivery of the article (Gil: [0341]; [0432]; [0450]).
Gil does not explicitly disclose, c) when the first UAV zone is available, to determine when a UAV is available at the first UAV zone, and if a UAV is available at the first UAV zone, to assign the UAV to the delivery request and designate the UAV as an assigned UAV; d) when the first UAV zone is not available, to determine if the first UAV zone will be available within a predetermined duration of time, and if so, determine if a UAV will be available at the first UAV zone within the predetermined duration of time and if so, to assign the UAV, when available, to the delivery request and designate the UAV as the assigned UAV; e) to determine if the second UAV zone is available for the at least one delivery request within a predetermined time period around an expected arrival time of the assigned UAV, and when the second UAV zone is available, reserve the second UAV zone.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Obaidi discloses, c) if the first UAV zone is available, to determine if a UAV is available at the first UAV zone, and if a UAV is available at the first UAV zone, to assign the UAV to the delivery request and designate the UAV as an assigned UAV; d) if the first UAV zone is not available, to determine if the first UAV zone will be available within a predetermined duration of time, and if so, determine if a UAV will be available at the first UAV zone within the predetermined duration of time and if so, to assign the UAV, when available, to the delivery request and designate the UAV as the assigned UAV; e) to determine if the second UAV zone is available for the at least one delivery request within a predetermined time period around an expected arrival time of the assigned UAV, and if the second UAV zone is available, reserve the second UAV zone (Obaidi: [0015]; [0023-0026]; [0027] the delivery system to automatically schedule a pick-up and drop-off with the seller and buyer; [0036] high-level instructions or pick-up/drop-off destinations can be communicated to the drone via communication system; [0041] Drone application 565 may be used to register a user, confirm pick-up/drop-off locations and/or times, convey the current location of a delivery drone, provide real-time video or images from a delivery done, reschedule pick-up/drop-off times/locations, and the like; [0047] The request may include a variety of information such as user/account identifiers, pick-up/drop-off locations, desired time windows, information about the package being delivered, and the like. During determination operation 720, pick-up and drop-off locations are determined. This may be accomplished, for example, by parsing the request for package delivery, accessing real-time mobile device information, accessing pre-set pick-up/drop-off locations from a user account, and the like; [0051]), for the benefit of providing quick personalized pick-up and delivery within smaller geographic regions.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the delivery method disclosed by Gil to check time relevant availability and making a reservation taught by Obaidi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide quick personalized pick-up and delivery within smaller geographic regions.
Gil, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the route sections having been pre-approved by a regulatory body and the database being connected to the flight management system and the mission planner.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ubhi discloses, the route sections having been pre-approved by a regulatory body and the database being connected to the flight management system and the mission planner (Ubhi: [0041]), to permit the particular UAV to travel from the first location to the second location via the flight path and to avoid flying over the restricted facility.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the delivery method disclosed by a modified Gil to include compliance with regulating bodies taught by Ubhi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to permit the particular UAV to travel from the first location to the second location via the flight path and to avoid flying over the restricted facility.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 39 is allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11-19-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. To the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant has contended that the prior art of Obaidi (US 20170090484 A1) fails to disclose:
determine if the first UAV zone will be available within a predetermined duration of time,
[0023] timing availability … and/or other factors (e.g., weather conditions, landing areas, etc.)
[0047] The request may include a variety of information such as user/account identifiers, pick-up/drop-off locations, desired time windows
and if so, determine if a UAV will be available at the first UAV zone within the predetermined duration of time and if so, to assign the UAV, when available, to the delivery request and designate the UAV as the assigned UAV
[0023] an availability server 150A, a registration server 150B, and a location server 150N. Drone management engine 140 may submit a query to availability server 150A to determine which delivery drones 120A-120N are available for completing a delivery within a specified time window. The results of the query may then be used by drone management engine 140 for the coordination and scheduling of a package pick-up and delivery ... based on location, timing availability … and/or other factors (e.g., weather conditions, landing areas, etc.);
[0025] a user 210 schedules a pick-up at a desired location (examiner: scheduling a desired time and location is a reservation)
[0041] Drone application 565 may be used to register a user, confirm pick-up / drop-off locations and/or times … reschedule pick-up / drop-off times /locations
[0047] The request may include a variety of information such as user/account identifiers, pick-up/drop-off locations, desired time windows
determine if the second UAV zone is available for the at least one delivery request within a predetermined time period around an expected arrival time of the assigned UAV, and if the second UAV zone is available, reserve the second UAV zone
[0023] an availability server 150A, a registration server 150B, and a location server 150N. Drone management engine 140 may submit a query to availability server 150A to determine which delivery drones 120A-120N are available for completing a delivery within a specified time window. The results of the query may then be used by drone management engine 140 for the coordination and scheduling of a package pick-up and delivery ... based on location, timing availability … and/or other factors (e.g., weather conditions, landing areas, etc.);
[0025] a user 210 schedules a pick-up at a desired location (examiner: scheduling a desired time and location is a reservation)
[0041] Drone application 565 may be used to register a user, confirm pick-up / drop-off locations and/or times … reschedule pick-up / drop-off times /locations
[0047] The request may include a variety of information such as user/account identifiers, pick-up/drop-off locations, desired time windows
The examiner respectfully submits, verifying drop-off location and time windows implies or suggests a reservation confirmation for a drop zone. The examiner respectfully submits, rescheduling drop-off location and times implies or suggests a reservation confirmation for a drop zone.
Further, Gupta (US 20170032315 A1) discloses, “[0046] Reservation 340 repository includes information related to pending delivery reservations. Such information includes a Scypad 120 identifier (e.g., an identification number, a name, or other identifier) at an intended delivery site, and may include one or more of a date and time that the reservation was requested, a requested date and time for delivery, a reservation duration, information about the parcel to be delivered (e.g., a size, a shape, a weight, a dimension, a content, or other information), authorization for the reservation and delivery, a status of the reservation or the parcel to be delivered to the Scypad 120, a log (e.g., a log of movement of the parcel to be delivered to the Scypad 120, or a log of communications related to the reservation), a reservation identifier e.g., an identification number, a name, or other identifier), a reservation contact identifier (e.g., a name, an identification number, or other identifier), a note, a feedback, or other information related to the reservation.
[0047] Reservation Contact 350 repository includes information related to persons making or having made delivery reservations. Such information includes a reservation contact identifier (e.g., a name, an identification number, or other identifier), and may further include one or more of an authorization date and time for authorization to make reservations, an authorization status, a log (e.g., a log of reservations associated with the reservation contact identifier), a reservation contact locator (e.g., a phone number, an email address, a URL, or other locator), a verified status, a key, or other information related to persons making or having made delivery reservations.
[0048] By way of example (referring to FIGS. 1, 2 and 3), a Buyer associated with Scypad 120 may place an order for an Item on a mobile computing device 200 (e.g., smart phone) via a communication interface 240 (e.g., a Wi-Fi connection), which order traverses network 140 (e.g., the Internet) and is received by Vendor 150. The order includes an address of the Buyer. Vendor 150 locates such an item (e.g., by accessing an inventory database in memory 220), and contacts Scybase 110 to request a delivery reservation for delivery of the item to the name and/or address in the order. To request a delivery reservation, Vendor 150 provides a reservation request and information to populate Reservation Contact 350 repository, or, if already in Reservation Contact 350 repository, provides information such as a reservation contact identifier to auto-populate part of a reservation request. The reservation request may include information about the packaged Item, such as size, weight, contents, or special delivery instructions. Scybase 110 identifies a Scypad 120 in Member Descriptor 320 repository from the name and/or address in the order, and creates a reservation in Reservation 340 repository. Scybase 110 then verifies that the identified Scypad 120 has the capability to receive the requested delivery, such as whether the identified Scypad 120 is functional, in place, durable enough to accept the parcel weight when dropped or otherwise delivered, has an appropriately shaped receptacle for the parcel, and so forth. Such verification may be achieved by a review of the information in Member Descriptor 320 and Platform Master 310 repositories. If the identified Scypad 120 has the capability to accept the requested delivery of the parcel, Scybase 110 may notify one or both of the Buyer and Vendor 150 of the capability, and may also determine contact information for a person associated with the Scypad 120 from Notification 330 repository, and send a notification to the person. If the identified Scypad 120 does not have the capability to accept the delivery of the parcel, Scybase 110 may notify one or both of the Buyer and Vendor 150 of the lack of capability, and may also notify a person associated with the identified Scypad 120, as found in Notification 330 repository.” And “[0051] As shown in FIG. 4 for this example, User 410 orders (at 425) from Vendor 415 an item to be delivered to Scypad 120. Vendor 415 communicates (at 430) with Delivery Company 420, identifying that the item is to be delivered. Delivery Company 420 negotiates (at 435) a reservation (e.g., comes to an agreement on a date and time for delivery) with Scybase 110. Scybase 110 creates the reservation, and sends (at 440) location information of Scypad 120 and other information (e.g., capabilities of Scypad 120) to Delivery Company 420. Delivery Company 420 schedules (at 445) the delivery. At the scheduled date and time, the packaged item is taken (at 450) to the general location of Scypad 120 by a UAV, the UAV vertically aligns (at 455) with Scypad 120, and drops (at 460) or otherwise delivers the parcel towards Scypad 120, and returns (at 465) to base (or continues with the next delivery). In one or more embodiments, Scypad 120 may provide (at 470) environment information to Scybase 110, and Scybase 110 updates Scypad 120 environment information in Member Descriptor 320 repository, which may be accessed by Delivery Company 420 or by the UAV prior to or during UAV flight. Alternatively, in one or more embodiments, Scypad 120 may provide (at 470) environment information to Scybase 110, Scybase 110 updates Scypad 120 environment information in Member Descriptor 320 repository, and Scybase 110 makes (at 490) notifications to Delivery Company 420. Scypad 120 may additionally or alternatively communicate directly with the UAV to provide environment information. In one or more embodiments, Scypad 120 provides (at 480) a beacon signal for the UAV when the UAV is positioned near Scypad 120, to facilitate the drop (at 460) or other delivery of the parcel”. Which, confirms availability of a skypad, delivery zone. Because the prior art of record discloses that which is claimed, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of claim 1 (and claim 38, similar in scope and spirit) under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663