DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 14, 18-19, 27-32, 59-70 and 73-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (KR 20180091156 A) in view of Takenouchi et al (CA 3083379 A1) and Verma (US 2017/0012278 A1). These prior art references will be cited to as Jung, Takenouchi, and Verma, respectively, hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a method of preparing an electrode (“a method of manufacturing a negative electrode active material for a secondary battery” [0065]) comprising:
providing an electrode material comprising silicon (“Silicon nanoparticles (denoted as "Si NPs" in FIG. 3)” [0066]);
exposing the electrode material to a liquid solution (“silicon nanoparticles and TiO2 nanoparticles are ultrasonically dispersed to form a precursor solution. The solvent for forming the precursor solution may be selected from a suitable solvent capable of dispersing the precursor material, and in one example, the precursor solution may be prepared using distilled water.” [0070]), wherein the solution comprises a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) enhancement precursor of an SEI enhancement compound (“titanium oxide nitride constituting the primary nanoparticles” [0016]); and
whereby said conversion forms an SEI layer comprising the SEI enhancement compound on the electrode material (“Titanium dioxide-coated silicon particles are prepared through spray drying using the precursor solution” [0072] where “The negative electrode active material for a secondary battery according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a silicon-titanium oxide nitride composite having a structure in which a hollow titanium oxide nitride surrounds silicon nanoparticles” [0043]);
wherein the SEI enhancement compound comprises a metal oxynitride compound (“titanium oxide nitride constituting the primary nanoparticles” [0046]); and
wherein the electrode material comprises the silicon as Si particles which are substantially pure silicon (Fig. 3 shows the ‘Si NPs’ to be singular particles that comprise only of silicon).
Jung does not disclose exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution;
whereby said exposing converts the SEI enhancement precursor into said SEI enhancement compound;
wherein the SEI enhancement compound comprises a metal phosphide compound; and
wherein the Si particles have a median largest dimension between 1 µm and 50 µm.
However, Takenouchi discloses a method of preparing an electrode (“alloy (alloy containing copper, nickel and cobalt) is charged as an anode” last paragraph of p. 12) comprising exposing the electrode to a liquid solution (“anode into a sulfuric acid solution” last paragraph of p. 12) that comprises a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) enhancement precursor (“Further, in a lithium ion battery, an electrolyte solution containing phosphorus in addition to fluorine such as hexafluorophosphate may be used, and in particular, fluorine is easily volatilized and removed by the roasting treatment, but some of phosphorus may be distributed in the alloy.” fourth paragraph of p. 12 with italics added for emphasis on the corresponding SEI enhancement precursor).
Takenouchi teaches exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution (“it is preferable that the electrolyte solution is subjected to the electrolytic treatment while the pH thereof is adjusted in a range of 0 or more and 1.5 or less and maintained.” last paragraph of p. 14 to first paragraph of p.15);
whereby said exposing converts the SEI enhancement precursor into said SEI enhancement compound (“as copper, nickel and cobalt are eluted from the alloy according to electrolysis, phosphorus is condensed in an adhered substance produced as slime on the anode surface” last paragraph of p.18); and
wherein the SEI enhancement compound comprises a metal phosphide compound (“Phosphorus is considered to be present in the form of copper phosphide (CuP), nickel phosphide (NiP), or the like in the alloy serving as an anode” last paragraph of p. 18).
Takenouchi further teaches that exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution is known in the art as an electrolytic purification step (first paragraph of p. 8) where certain aqueous solution pH levels correspond to certain metal elements being separated from the electrode and lower pH values separates copper from nickel, cobalt, and iron (p. 17 to first paragraph of p. 18), and that the SEI enhancement compound comprised of a metal phosphide compound present on the electrode has an effect of passivation of the electrode (last paragraph of p. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the SEI enhancement compound of a metal oxynitride compound with a metal phosphide compound,
and add a step of exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution; whereby said exposing converts the SEI enhancement precursor into said SEI enhancement compound to the method of Jung in view of Takenouchi, in order to achieve a selective electrolytic purification step, and a means to passivate the electrode.
Additionally, Verma discloses a method of preparing an electrode (“an electrode or an electrode material, which includes a silicon-carbon composite according to the present invention and/or a silicon-carbon composite manufactured” [0046]) comprising exposing an electrode material comprising silicon to a liquid solution (“surface modification of silicon particles with the aid of the first functional group is achieved by ultrasonic treatment of the silicon particles, in an optionally acidified water bath” [0029]), and exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution (“acidified water bath” [0029]).
Verma teaches wherein the Si particles have a median largest dimension between 1 µm and 50 µm (“the silicon particles may have an average particle size (d50) in the range of ≧1 μm to ≦90 μm. In particular, the silicon particles may have an average particle size (d50) in a range of ≧1 μm to ≦80 μm.” [0035]), and that this dimension range of the Si particles has a favorable effect on the cycle stability when using the electrode in a battery cell ([0035]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the Si particles of the method of preparing the electrode of Jung in view of Verma, wherein the Si particles have a median largest dimension between 1 µm and 50 µm, in order to achieve the favorable effect of cycle stability when using the electrode in a battery cell.
Regarding claim 2, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and further comprising forming the electrode material into the electrode (Jung [0057] “to prepare a composition for a negative electrode for a secondary battery”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 2 above, and wherein the electrode is an anode (Jung [0023] “The negative electrode composition may be formed in the form of an electrode by coating the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery with the metal foil. Alternatively, the composition for the negative electrode of the secondary battery may be formed into an electrode shape by pressing the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery, Casting by a doctor blade method to form an electrode, And drying the resultant to form a negative electrode of the secondary battery”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 2 above, and wherein the electrode material comprises 50% or more silicon by weight (Jung [0052] “the TiO2 nanoparticles and the silicon nanoparticles are mixed in a weight ratio of 0.1: 1 to 5: 1”, which is equivalent to a silicon nanoparticle percentage range of 16.7% - 90.9%, which is an overlapping range to the claimed percentage by weight range).
Regarding claim 7, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 6 above, and wherein the electrode material comprises the silicon at about 70% to about 100% by weight (Jung [0052] “the TiO2 nanoparticles and the silicon nanoparticles are mixed in a weight ratio of 0.1: 1 to 5: 1”, which is equivalent to a silicon nanoparticle percentage range of 16.7% - 90.9%, which is an overlapping range to the claimed percentage by weight range).
Regarding claim 8, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the electrode comprises the electrode material (Jung [0023] “The negative electrode composition may be formed in the form of an electrode by coating the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery with the metal foil. Alternatively, the composition for the negative electrode of the secondary battery may be formed into an electrode shape by pressing the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery, Casting by a doctor blade method to form an electrode, And drying the resultant to form a negative electrode of the secondary battery”).
Regarding claim 9, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the electrode is an anode (Jung [0023] “The negative electrode composition may be formed in the form of an electrode by coating the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery with the metal foil. Alternatively, the composition for the negative electrode of the secondary battery may be formed into an electrode shape by pressing the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery, Casting by a doctor blade method to form an electrode, And drying the resultant to form a negative electrode of the secondary battery”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the electrode material comprises 50% or more silicon by weight (Jung [0052] “the TiO2 nanoparticles and the silicon nanoparticles are mixed in a weight ratio of 0.1: 1 to 5: 1”, which is equivalent to a silicon nanoparticle percentage range of 16.7% - 90.9%, which is an overlapping range to the claimed percentage by weight range).
Regarding claim 11, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 10 above, and wherein the electrode material comprises about 70% to about 100% silicon by weight (Jung [0052] “the TiO2 nanoparticles and the silicon nanoparticles are mixed in a weight ratio of 0.1: 1 to 5: 1”, which is equivalent to a silicon nanoparticle percentage range of 16.7% - 90.9%, which is an overlapping range to the claimed percentage by weight range).
Regarding claim 14, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein said step of exposing the electrode material to the solution comprises exposing the electrode material to the solution comprising the SEI enhancement precursor subsequent to said step of exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution (Jung Fig. 3 where the indicated ‘Si NPs’ are exposed to the distilled water of the indicated ‘Droplet’ before it is exposed, or makes contact with, the indicated ‘TiO2’ particles).
Regarding claim 18, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the SEI layer comprises nanoparticles of the SEI enhancement compound on the electrode material (Jung [0043] “The negative electrode active material for a secondary battery according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a silicon-titanium oxide nitride composite having a structure in which a hollow titanium oxide nitride surrounds silicon nanoparticles”).
Regarding claim 19, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the SEI layer comprises a film of the SEI enhancement compound on the electrode material (Jung [0081] “titanium dioxide coated silicon particles have a structure in which titanium dioxide (TiO2) surrounds the silicon nanoparticles”).
Regarding claim 27, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the metal phosphide compound comprises TiP, Ni5P4, NiP3, NiP2, Sn4P3, MnP, FeP, Cu3P, or a combination thereof (Takenouchi “Phosphorus is considered to be present in the form of copper phosphide (CuP), nickel phosphide (NiP)” last paragraph of p. 18).
Regarding claim 28, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the weight ration of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:1 to about 1:20 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an overlapping range to the claimed weight ratio range).
Regarding claim 29, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 28 above, and wherein the weight ratio of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:2.5 to about 1:15 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an overlapping range to the claimed weight ratio range).
Regarding claim 30, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 29, and wherein the weight ratio of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:5 to about 1:10 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an encompassing range to the claimed weight ratio range).
Regarding claim 31, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 30 above, and wherein the weight ration of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:5 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an encompassing range to the claimed weight ratio point).
Regarding claim 32, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 30 above, and wherein the weight ratio of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:10 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an encompassing range to the claimed weight ratio point).
Regarding claim 59, Jung discloses a method of preparing an electrode (“a method of manufacturing a negative electrode active material for a secondary battery” [0065]) comprising:
providing an electrode material comprising silicon (“Silicon nanoparticles (denoted as "Si NPs" in FIG. 3)” [0066]);
exposing the electrode material to a liquid solution (“silicon nanoparticles and TiO2 nanoparticles are ultrasonically dispersed to form a precursor solution. The solvent for forming the precursor solution may be selected from a suitable solvent capable of dispersing the precursor material, and in one example, the precursor solution may be prepared using distilled water.” [0070]), wherein the solution comprises a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) enhancement precursor of an SEI enhancement compound (“titanium oxide nitride constituting the primary nanoparticles” [0016]); and
whereby said conversion forms an SEI layer comprising the SEI enhancement compound on the electrode material (“Titanium dioxide-coated silicon particles are prepared through spray drying using the precursor solution” [0072] where “The negative electrode active material for a secondary battery according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a silicon-titanium oxide nitride composite having a structure in which a hollow titanium oxide nitride surrounds silicon nanoparticles” [0043]);
wherein the SEI enhancement compound comprises a metal oxynitride compound (“titanium oxide nitride constituting the primary nanoparticles” [0046]); and
wherein the electrode material comprises the silicon as Si particles and are substantially pure silicon (Fig. 3 shows the ‘Si NPs’ to be singular particles that comprise only of silicon).
Jung does not disclose exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution whereby said exposing converts the SEI enhancement precursor into said SEI enhancement compound;
wherein the SEI enhancement compound comprises a metal phosphide compound; and
wherein the Si particles have an average particle size between 1 µm and 50 µm.
However, Takenouchi discloses a method of preparing an electrode (“alloy (alloy containing copper, nickel and cobalt) is charged as an anode” last paragraph of p. 12) comprising exposing the electrode to a liquid solution (“anode into a sulfuric acid solution” last paragraph of p. 12) that comprises a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) enhancement precursor (“Further, in a lithium ion battery, an electrolyte solution containing phosphorus in addition to fluorine such as hexafluorophosphate may be used, and in particular, fluorine is easily volatilized and removed by the roasting treatment, but some of phosphorus may be distributed in the alloy.” fourth paragraph of p. 12 with italics added for emphasis on the corresponding SEI enhancement precursor).
Takenouchi teaches exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution (“it is preferable that the electrolyte solution is subjected to the electrolytic treatment while the pH thereof is adjusted in a range of 0 or more and 1.5 or less and maintained.” last paragraph of p. 14 to first paragraph of p.15);
whereby said exposing converts the SEI enhancement precursor into said SEI enhancement compound (“as copper, nickel and cobalt are eluted from the alloy according to electrolysis, phosphorus is condensed in an adhered substance produced as slime on the anode surface” last paragraph of p.18); and
wherein the SEI enhancement compound comprises a metal phosphide compound (“Phosphorus is considered to be present in the form of copper phosphide (CuP), nickel phosphide (NiP), or the like in the alloy serving as an anode” last paragraph of p. 18).
Takenouchi further teaches that exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution is known in the art as an electrolytic purification step (first paragraph of p. 8) where certain aqueous solution pH levels correspond to certain metal elements being separated from the electrode and lower pH values separates copper from nickel, cobalt, and iron (p. 17 to first paragraph of p. 18), and that the SEI enhancement compound comprised of a metal phosphide compound present on the electrode has an effect of passivation of the electrode (last paragraph of p. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the SEI enhancement compound of a metal oxynitride compound with a metal phosphide compound,
and add a step of exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution; whereby said exposing converts the SEI enhancement precursor into said SEI enhancement compound to the method of Jung in view of Takenouchi, in order to achieve a selective electrolytic purification step, and a means to passivate the electrode.
Additionally, Verma discloses a method of preparing an electrode (“an electrode or an electrode material, which includes a silicon-carbon composite according to the present invention and/or a silicon-carbon composite manufactured” [0046]) comprising exposing an electrode material comprising silicon to a liquid solution (“surface modification of silicon particles with the aid of the first functional group is achieved by ultrasonic treatment of the silicon particles, in an optionally acidified water bath” [0029]), and exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution (“acidified water bath” [0029]).
Verma teaches wherein the Si particles have an average particle size between 1 µm and 50 µm (“the silicon particles may have an average particle size (d50) in the range of ≧1 μm to ≦90 μm. In particular, the silicon particles may have an average particle size (d50) in a range of ≧1 μm to ≦80 μm.” [0035]), and that this dimension range of the Si particles has a favorable effect on the cycle stability when using the electrode in a battery cell ([0035]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the Si particles of the method of preparing the electrode of Jung in view of Verma, wherein the Si particles have a median largest dimension between 1 µm and 50 µm, in order to achieve the favorable effect of cycle stability when using the electrode in a battery cell.
Regarding claim 60, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 59 above, and further comprising forming the electrode material into the electrode (Jung [0057] “to prepare a composition for a negative electrode for a secondary battery”).
Regarding claim 61, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 60 above, and wherein the electrode is an anode (Jung [0023] “The negative electrode composition may be formed in the form of an electrode by coating the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery with the metal foil. Alternatively, the composition for the negative electrode of the secondary battery may be formed into an electrode shape by pressing the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery, Casting by a doctor blade method to form an electrode, And drying the resultant to form a negative electrode of the secondary battery”).
Regarding claim 62, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 60 above, and wherein the electrode material comprises 50% or more silicon by weight (Jung [0052] “the TiO2 nanoparticles and the silicon nanoparticles are mixed in a weight ratio of 0.1: 1 to 5: 1”, which is equivalent to a silicon nanoparticle percentage range of 16.7% - 90.9%, which is an overlapping range to the claimed percentage by weight range).
Regarding claim 63, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 62 above, and wherein the electrode material comprises the silicon at about 70% to about 100% by weight (Jung [0052] “the TiO2 nanoparticles and the silicon nanoparticles are mixed in a weight ratio of 0.1: 1 to 5: 1”, which is equivalent to a silicon nanoparticle percentage range of 16.7% - 90.9%, which is an overlapping range to the claimed percentage by weight range).
Regarding claim 64, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 59 above, and wherein the electrode comprises the electrode material (Jung [0023] “The negative electrode composition may be formed in the form of an electrode by coating the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery with the metal foil. Alternatively, the composition for the negative electrode of the secondary battery may be formed into an electrode shape by pressing the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery, Casting by a doctor blade method to form an electrode, And drying the resultant to form a negative electrode of the secondary battery”).
Regarding claim 65, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 64 above, and wherein the electrode is an anode (Jung [0023] “The negative electrode composition may be formed in the form of an electrode by coating the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery with the metal foil. Alternatively, the composition for the negative electrode of the secondary battery may be formed into an electrode shape by pressing the composition for a negative electrode of the secondary battery, Casting by a doctor blade method to form an electrode, And drying the resultant to form a negative electrode of the secondary battery”).
Regarding claim 66, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 65 above, and wherein the electrode material comprises 50% or more silicon by weight (Jung [0052] “the TiO2 nanoparticles and the silicon nanoparticles are mixed in a weight ratio of 0.1: 1 to 5: 1”, which is equivalent to a silicon nanoparticle percentage range of 16.7% - 90.9%, which is an overlapping range to the claimed percentage by weight range).
Regarding claim 67, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 66 above, and wherein the electrode material comprises the silicon at about 70% to about 100% by weight (Jung [0052] “the TiO2 nanoparticles and the silicon nanoparticles are mixed in a weight ratio of 0.1: 1 to 5: 1”, which is equivalent to a silicon nanoparticle percentage range of 16.7% - 90.9%, which is an overlapping range to the claimed percentage by weight range).
Regarding claim 68, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 59 above, and wherein said step of exposing the electrode material to the solution comprises exposing the electrode material to the solution comprising the SEI enhancement precursor subsequent to said step of exposing the electrode material to a low pH aqueous solution (Jung Fig. 3 where the indicated ‘Si NPs’ are exposed to the distilled water of the indicated ‘Droplet’ before it is exposed, or makes contact with, the indicated ‘TiO2’ particles).
Regarding claim 69, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 59 above, and wherein the SEI layer comprises nanoparticles of the SEI enhancement compound on the electrode material (Jung [0043] “The negative electrode active material for a secondary battery according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a silicon-titanium oxide nitride composite having a structure in which a hollow titanium oxide nitride surrounds silicon nanoparticles”).
Regarding claim 70, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 59 above, and wherein the SEI layer comprises a film of the SEI enhancement compound on the electrode material (Jung [0081] `“titanium dioxide coated silicon particles have a structure in which titanium dioxide (TiO2) surrounds the silicon nanoparticles”).
Regarding claim 73, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 59 above, and wherein the metal phosphide compound comprises TiP, Ni5P4, NiP3, NiP2, Sn4P3, MnP, FeP, Cu3P, or a combination thereof (Takenouchi “Phosphorus is considered to be present in the form of copper phosphide (CuP), nickel phosphide (NiP)” last paragraph of p. 18).
Regarding claim 74, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 59 above, and wherein the weight ration of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:1 to about 1:20 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an overlapping range to the claimed weight ratio range).
Regarding claim 75, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 74 above, and wherein the weight ratio of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:2.5 to about 1:15 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an overlapping range to the claimed weight ratio range).
Regarding claim 76, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 75, and wherein the weight ratio of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:5 to about 1:10 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an encompassing range to the claimed weight ratio range).
Regarding claim 77, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 76 above, and wherein the weight ration of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:5 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an encompassing range to the claimed weight ratio point).
Regarding claim 78, modified Jung discloses the method with all features set forth in claim 76 above, and wherein the weight ratio of the SEI enhancement precursor to the electrode material is about 1:10 (Jung [0108]-[0124] discloses that Example 1 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 0.5 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, Example 2 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 1 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, and Example 3 utilizes “1 g of the silicon nanoparticles, 2 g of the TiO 2 nanoparticles, and 5 g of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP) were added to 100 ml of a solvent”, which collectively discloses a corresponding SEI enhancement precursor to electrode material weight ratio ranging from 1:4 to 1:13, which is an encompassing range to the claimed weight ratio point).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 59 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721